Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
107 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
April 09, 2021
Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're implemented Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for the services that needed to be always on initially. Nowadays, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is being used across the whole organization and being used by different departments and offering different services. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure allows to implement local and remote services, both providing a zero rate failure of these services.
  • Easy management
  • Always-on services
  • Free training
  • Development tools
  • Better regional services (especially in Brazil--South/North/Center)
  • Some of the services are not available in all regions
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is very well suited for services that require collaboration, database services, storing data, and setting up virtual machines on the fly. The control over your own resources is priceless and some of the reasons some companies will choose it over other solutions. With the possibility of creating your own VM, it's hard to say when Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is less appropriate.
Yes - Being an avid user of all of these services--Oracle, Linux, Java, and MySQL--it only adds to be part of a user group. Being a member allows you receive fast responses about the issues you're trying to solve.
Read Jean Franco's full review
April 07, 2021
Cameron Gable | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Both block and object storage are very useful to our business and our business needs. Oracle storage has several options and can support a number of our use cases. It is important for us to have some storage which supports NFS file systems and others that are not structured. We mostly use the basic tiers attached to our VMs but sometimes use higher performance options.
  • It is highly durable so data is not lost
  • The variety of tiers can fit many use cases
  • Snapshot backups are easily created
  • Could use more customizability for each storage service
  • Can always improve the UI to maintain the services
  • A more economical price point
We often use object storage for our needs. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure storage is well suited for our object storage needs because it is highly durable and easy to use using APIs from VMs we have up. Its block storage are also very good for disks attached to our VMs. We mostly use it for temporary storage of workloads.
Read Cameron Gable's full review
December 05, 2020
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using Oracle Cloud Infrastructure to create POC (proof of concept) for different solutions and services in the projects I'm currently involved. I usually employ the Free Tier offer to create one or two Oracle Database instances, and also volume storage and compute instances to install and configure the components I need to test / demonstrate.
  • The Free Tier offer allows to test basic configurations for Free
  • Easy to configure and deploy. Takes less than 10 minutes to create an Oracle Database instance
  • Really wide range of services available
  • More integration with other cloud solutions (besides Azure) would be great
Deploying Oracle [Cloud Infrastructure] databases are really straightforward, either choosing the Autonomous options (Autonomous Transaction Processing, Autonomous Data Warehouse or Autonomous JSON), virtualized servers or even Bare Metal. The Free Tier option allows to configure up to 2 Autonomous database instances.

Besides databases (that is Oracle strong point) there are plenty of compute and serverless options that allow easy deployment of any kind of applications into OCI
Yes - I'm a member of AROUG (Argentina Oracle User Group) and I really value the chance of sharing experiences with members of the group and with the entire community. I've participated since 2013 in former OTN Latin America Tour as a speaker, both in Argentina and Uruguay, and this year even at global level since the tour was done online
Read Lisandro Fernigrini's full review
March 26, 2021
Kavipriya Marimuthu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire organization is using Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (based on requirements). In our project, we worked on creating a new design for an application where we are moving our existing solutions to a cloud environment. We already have limited usage of [the] cloud. Now we are working on the enhancement phase of our application, where Oracle Cloud Infrastructure can perform much better than others, comparatively. We are working closely with Oracle-based products like Java and Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Storage. Using OCI gives more confidence when it comes to performance. We also planned to implement RPA solutions to make the process effective.
  • As we have seen, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is very stable
  • Availability
  • Resizing
  • Support
  • [The] user interface can be improved
  • Templates
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is well suited for the projects where they need [a] much stable environment as well as lesser [downtime.] [It's] also suitable for small and medium sized companies they no need to spend much for on-premises storage). It is less appropriate for the application where it won't be accessible anywhere (Internal application and small projects).
Yes - I am also part of Oracle user groups. It helps us to quickly identify the issues and resolve it with expert users and or with the Oracle user community. We cleared many doubts and got new ideas while using the Oracle user groups. I strongly recommend [it] to the user group for a quick resolution.
Read Kavipriya Marimuthu's full review
March 19, 2021
Charles Whittaker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This system, in general, was implemented for the company to maintain order with the amount of data and information. As a food company, we have too much information regarding sales & customers. We have had favorable results using their service since we can keep our data safe. It is extremely spectacular to maintain a single structure where we can enter and search for the information we need or simply save that data safely and securely. It is a system that is implemented all over the web.
  • Optimal structure and Really useful tool.
  • A service that details each tool and its proper use.
  • It is a service that can be installed quickly and that supports the computer and the oracle cloud service.
  • It can be expensive.
  • Oracle or third party help is needed to install.
The Oracle service is a cloud service, so if I would recommend it in a general way to those companies or users who wish to use a very detailed system for universities since it allows to keep data or group work protected. It works well to keep your data in an efficient system.
Read Charles Whittaker's full review
April 12, 2021
Zhun (Jack) Yang | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using [Oracle Cloud Infrastructure] across the whole organization. Our legacy systems are running out of date. Most of our legacy systems are pretty old and single instance of failure without High Availability and Redundancy. And Performance is degrading.
  • Oracle Database Exadata Cloud at Customer enables you to apply the combined power of Exadata and Oracle Cloud inside your own data center.
  • Oracle Autonomous Database is availabe on Exadata
  • Exadata Cloud at Customer Enterprise Edition Extreme Performance is a subscription model that includes all the features of Oracle Database Enterprise Edition, plus all the Oracle Database Enterprise Manager Packs, and all Database Enterprise Edition Options.
  • On Oracle OCI Console when any work request failure happens, there is not much detailed error information. It's hard to trouble shoot for the work request on the OCI Console.
  • Submitting a SR is a pain everytime when we have OCI operation failures. There are supposed to be some function at live chat who can address instant OCI operation failures.
[Oracle Cloud Infrastructure] is well suited for customers running Oracle databases for many many years and also other Oracle products like People Soft.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - Toronto Oracle User Group
Read Zhun (Jack) Yang's full review
December 12, 2020
Krishan Mohil | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for our project, including Oracle Autonomous Data Warehouse. It's always easier when you are using existing, on-premises Oracle applications to migrate into Oracle Cloud Infrastructure for higher performance and lower costs. This addressed reduced cost, high performance, high availability, security, auto patching, backups, and easy pathway to upgrade applications.
  • Easy and cost effective for customers to migrate on-premises Oracle applications to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure reduced overhead and operational costs, investments in hardware, and associated maintenance
  • Run large workloads at scale without a jump in pricing
  • Ability to scale to provide as much (or as little) compute power and storage as you require
  • Existing Oracle Cloud Infrastructure components are not enough to implement all cloud solutions
  • UI navigation needs improvement
  • The user interface has glitches and needs tags to be added to create services
  • Integration with other tools or cloud solutions is not straightforward or not available
  • Load balancing capability has limited functionality
If you have existing on-premises Oracle applications, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure would be an ideal solution to address reducing costs, increasing performance, improving availability, heightening security, adding auto patching, creating backups and providing your business an easy way to upgrade applications. Importantly, it helps eliminate some of the administrative costs.

If you have a combination of Oracle and other applications with heavy or low usage, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure might not help you or involve lots of initial gaps until Oracle Cloud Infrastructure comes up with many more upgrades or features to connect.
Yes - I am a member of Oracle and MySQL, and have been working with Oracle since beginning of my carrier. It's very, very useful--getting insights from other people on problems is always a plus to overcome challenges.
Read Krishan Mohil's full review
December 03, 2020
supriya prabhakara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We host all our Oracle PeopleSoft instances on the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Earlier, we hosted them on the Amazon Web Services. We moved to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure due to the cost-effectiveness of the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. The Return on Investment has been great with Oracle cloud infrastructure compared to the AWS. We also host many of our customers on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure and provide managed services.
  • The return on investment has been great with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure compared to the AWS.
  • Hosting ERP systems on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is very cost effective.
  • The new user interface has a lot of glitches and needs a lot of tags to be added to create services
  • The reliability is not very good - instances are not available sometimes
Well suited - It is well suited to host oracle cloud or Oracle ERP applications.

Less appropriate: Less appropriate for non Oracle workloads with integrations, especially when the hybrid cloud model is used.
Yes - Oracle Applications and Technology user group, Quest, Higher Ed user groups
Read supriya prabhakara's full review
April 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is being used to support our Oracle Production and Test environments. It's being used across our whole organization. The main business problem addressed is the affordability, scalability, and reliability of our Oracle environment. The Oracle Cloud Infrastructure products allow us to easily push out patches, assist our users, and scale up when needed - all at a great price!
  • Reliability - we have not had any issues with downtime since we migrated.
  • Scalability - the OCI environment provides options for additional modules and upgrades.
  • Affordability - the features provided would cost so much more in a different environment.
  • Reliance on Java in our current environment, though that's more to do with our older database.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is a fantastic product for most Oracle environments. As far as I know, it supports almost all of the Oracle environments. The only scenarios I could think of where it would be less appropriate to use this product would be if you have an Oracle environment that is outdated by quite a few versions, or if you couldn't afford migrating to OCI.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is used throughout my organization. We are working on many financial clients like banking and insurance, where data and security is utmost important, and we also need high computing power to access these/interacting with the on premises network. I am currently in a project where we need to move/integrate on premises application with some client application.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure accepts large volume of data.
  • All the software as a service items works well. To be simple adaptability.
  • Implementation in much easier for beginner level users.
  • Issues with database connectivity.
  • Interfaces can be improved.
  • We should customize what we need.
  • Need more templates.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is well suited for the projects which need to reduce the time, improve process efficiency and mainly to reduce the cost of the project, which give higher return on investment. Project[s] where there is not much Infrastructure, they can also prefer. It is less appropriate if the company already has on premises Infrastructure.
Yes - Yes. I am part of Oracle and Java user groups where we interact with expert users to solve our problems, which makes the process very smooth and easier. User group will help us quickly understand the issues with experts. Instead of waiting for the support team from Oracle, we can interact with user who face similar issues. They can provide idea[s] or suggestions for our problems, which helps to do things better.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by departments based on the project and customer needs. OCI provides easy access to compute and storage infrastructure at the right cost and in the required regions.
  • Reliable, affordable, and secure
  • Helps the developers to set up dev nd and test env in cloud quickly and easily.
  • Disaster recovery features and and backup options availability are excellent.
  • $ 300 free credit for the month should be increased to 2 months so that the credit can be utilized by trying all available services.
  • Needs more work in the AI and ML space with more services.
  • More regions are needed so that the PII data of customers remains in the region.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure meets stringent performance requirements and provides predictable, high bandwidth connectivity to customers. Oracle needs to provide opportunities to developers to learn the cloud by offering free certifications.
Yes - Mumbai Java User Group
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OCI offers multiple types of storage - Block Storage, File Storage, Object Storage. We use all these storage services based on the need. These are being used by all departments within an organization - kind of shared services. Block Volume storage offers up to 30K IOPS which is higher than most of the on-premises servers. IOPS can be decreased or increased based on the need and required performance. Also, block storage can be encrypted to meet multiple compliance requirements. The business problem that can be solved with block storage is to improve application performance. File Storage solves the problem of shared folders and plays a key role in HA applications. Object Storage is cheaper than competitors and provides durable storage across the organization.
  • Block Volume provides durability and stability to data. IOPS can be changed on the fly. Always stay true to the promised performance.
  • Block Volume can be encrypted with ease to meet compliance. Can also be easily integrated with OCI vault service for extra security.
  • Object Storage and File Storage are other forms of storage that are secure and extremely easy to configure. FSS is one of the best in the industry when it comes to reliability and performance.
  • SSD block volumes are persistent in OCI unlike many other clouds.
  • SSD's are offered only on certain instance types. This should really be expanded to all instance types.
  • There is only one type of Block Volume that covers all the scenarios. Like AWS, more storage types may pave the path to cheaper alternatives.
  • Object Storage does not have multiple tiers like AWS. All OCI got is Standard and Archive. Though Standard is cheaper than S3 standard, introducing multiple tiers may meet more use-cases.
If you are looking for a high performing block volume at a cheaper price, don't look beyond OCI block storage. If you want to encrypt your data between compute instance and block storage, it can be done with ease, and by the click of a button. You can always scale up storage on the fly. You can never go wrong with the sizing.

FSS is suitable for medium performing shared file systems. If your HA application is writing files at a rapid pace, FSS may not be for you (in any cloud). You should consider a marketplace solution like Storage Appliance.

Object Storage meets all the requirements of durability and reliability. If you want to store data at a cheaper price tag, this is for you.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups - I am interested in Cloud Infrastructure groups. I am a certified AWS professional, OCI professional, and GCP Associate.
Read this authenticated review
December 23, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My Banking Customer have migrated from legacy on-premise infrastructure to ORACLE Cloud Infrastructure OCI.In fact this is an Oracle SAAS (software as a service) offering / implementation: end-to-end right from infrastructure, virtualization layer, Operating System, Application Server (middle-ware tier), Orchestration, Database, Core banking solution (Oracle Lending product) as been delivered. Customer is delighted because of Consumption based pricing model which is very much cost effective and reliable when compared with any other Cloud provider in the market.
  • Real time dynamic dashboard (Oracle Managed Cloud dashboard) in order to monitor your SLAs (Service Level Agreements) various graphs / charts given in a widget for various features like Monitoring Application Server health, Database Server health checks.
  • The paramount is AUTO-SCALING feature in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure, during Black Friday and Cyber Monday we noticed huge volumes of request incoming which resulted in customer on-boarding without any Dollar loss. The Load Balancer up-scaled implicitly. At any given point of time the elasticity of the resources can be easily extended.
  • Managed services like Data guard makes the DB most reliable.
  • OCI global foot print having 21 OCI Regions live across the globe, single AD regions sooner should have with multiple ADs (Availability Domains).
Ensuring High Availability architecture,
Huge volumes of request/data is easily handled with oracle cloud and the availability of Green/Blue Application Server Clusters
always standby ensures the reliablity of connection.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute for spinning up Linux and Windows Server instances to provide development, preproduction, and UAT environments for the individuals to test their web applications to ensure they're working correctly, enhance production delivery, and create instances without worrying about infrastructure.
  • Secure access to your instance
  • Remotely accessible
  • Flexibility to chose your operating system without worrying about infrastructure
  • Allows full network isolation, leading to uncompromising workloads
  • Should focus on lowering costs on Windows Server computing instance
  • Very limited support for IIS web applications
  • Not recommended for beginners (requires extensive industry experience)
If seen from an organization perspective for startups or companies following remote work culture i would recommend this service as it is highly secure and provides network isolation.

It would not be appropriate for using it for the sake of technology or trial purposes but only use it if it fulfills the business value of an organization.
Read this authenticated review
December 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is used by the user profile and product catalog department of my company's e-commerce arm. We adopted Oracle Public Cloud to deploy Oracle services like Java Cloud Service, ExaData, etc. in the Cloud.
Since JCS is Oracle's SaaS extension to reduce the complexity associated with deploying and maintaining enterprise Java applications, we decided to deploy in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure to ensure a better and seamless vendor service
  • Works well with Oracle's SaaS
  • Oracle Cloud VMware Solution delivers the same VMware experience that enterprises have on premises
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure has cloud interoperability partnership with Microsoft Azure
  • UI navigation needs some improvement
  • Load balancing in OCI has limited functionality; it can be improved a lot
  • Existing Oracle Cloud Infrastructure components are not enough to implement all cloud solutions
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is good if intended to be used as IAAS/PAAS for standalone applications. The user interface has a lot of glitches. The reliability is not great, as instances can be unavailable sometimes. Load balancing capability has limited functionality, so it's not recommended when you can not predict high web traffic.
Read this authenticated review
December 11, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Have used and also currently using OCI Compute for testing, evaluation and deployment of different software. Definitely handy to use with a variety of distros in the service to deploy software across various versions to test and evaluate software. Always free cloud compute is easy and fast to setup and very beginner friendly.
  • Robust Creation and deployment
  • Various number of OS available
  • Easy to integrate with services
  • Cloud generated and managed keys are missing, it is hectic to create and allot a key for SSH.
  • Free tier bandwidth is comparatively low relative to other clouds.
Really great if you want to test and deploy different software on a plethora of OS and their versions. Definitely good if you are using paid tiers of OCI. The free tier is useful unless bandwidth speed is an issue for the software. Overall a useful tool for testing any errors.
Read this authenticated review
December 03, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is heavily used by our company. Being Oracle Partners helps our customers migrate to OCI and implement their solution.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of implementation
  • Robust and secure
  • Seen some network issues
  • There have been malware attacks
  • Credit monitoring app on the phone
Cloud is the way to the future. I would recommend OCI for all the Oracle Products in the Cloud.
Yes - Oracle user group. This keeps me updated on the latest products released.
  • Online training
Good rating. Always advancing.
Yes - Always on the latest versions
Read this authenticated review
February 07, 2020
Aissam Drai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is used across our organization to host our IAAS and PAAS resources and hence reduce the footprint of physical servers. Scalability and the speed of provisioning resources was an issue before but are no longer a problem with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)
  • Ease of scalability
  • Ease of resource provisioning
  • When initially launched, the solution was not compatible with EBS.
  • Integration with other tools such as WAF/IDCS is not straightforward.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is proper if intended to be used as IAAS/PAAS for stand-alone applications. However, we faced issues when using it with Oracle EBS either due to certification (this was in the very beginning with the classic version and is no longer the case) or performance.
Read Aissam Drai's full review
December 30, 2019
Michael Hu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide a fast backbone for hybrid clouds. OCI is part of our hybrid cloud solution.
  • Great designed API/SDK.
  • Stable infrastructure.
  • Regional IP support.
  • UI navigation needs some improvement - Network and computer should be easy to jump between.
  • Lacking filtering function in instance UI.
  • The instance summary page should show IP for each instance so that the user does not need to click each one to see IP.
The free tier is good for consumers, and it is a good platform for beginners. However, for big cloud consumers, it is lacking some automation like route propagation between VPC and DRG. VPC peering is super slow as well.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Michael Hu's full review
November 12, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is used for some of the R&D related, non-customer facing workloads including applications for AI / Deep learning training in the cloud (OCI). It is currently not used for consumer facing application workloads as our use is recent.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) was straightforward and easy to use to deploy containerized applications in Oracle Cloud (OCI) that makes it one of the top choices if you are already using OCI.
  • OKE can be accessed using the Kubernetes dashboard which is more or less the gold standard for Kubernetes based container deployments makes it easy to administer.
  • OKE is fully managed by Oracle and resides in the cloud that keeps the cost to manage the containers low without need for a lot of customization for performance.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is a fully managed service that makes it a little hard sometimes to fine tune HPC workloads, for example AI/Deep learning training where a lot of data transfer and compute is needed.
  • The initial setup can certainly be improved with less steps to make it faster and easier to deploy compared to the competition, for example Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE).
  • Documentation and best practice documentation for OKE can be improved especially since there are not a lot of customer references available for large scale deployments that need fine tuned performance.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is very well suited if you are interested in deploying cloud native applications on Oracle Cloud ( OCI ) and need container support. OKE does not work well when you have some memory and compute bottlenecks that may require configuring the underlying cloud infrastructure to work in a specific way with the Kubernetes engine through OKE since configuration is harder with OKE.
Read this authenticated review
January 17, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using Oracle Cloud Infrastructure as our main Infrastructure, as a service solution for the majority of our products. Oracle online services high-level APIs enable us to control operating systems, storage, and deployed applications, without managing or controlling the underlying physical cloud infrastructure hardware. Finally, all services can be provisioned completely on-demand, over the Internet.
  • Thanks to Ravello, deployment of existing VMware and KVM based data center workloads is possible.
  • It makes it very easy to monitor the path between users and resources to react to changes and eventual outages.
  • Load balancing capability has somewhat limited functionality.
  • Binary type for WebSockets protocol is not supported.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is great for running applications that do not have the performance requirements of a dedicated bare-metal server. It works really well for graphics-intensive workloads, but also for high performance demanding AI and machine learning algorithms. Moreover, you can manage complex organization structures and rules easily with logical groups and policies.
Read this authenticated review
September 19, 2019
Prathap Kondari | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this for multiple products and I use it to work on the Oracle Analytics Cloud - Essbase product. It was really good in terms of updating/upgrading products. We don't need to do anything as everything will be taken care of by Oracle. But, the UI should've been better for Oracle Analytics Cloud - Essbase.
  • Hassle-free patch updates.
  • Provides an extra layer of security.
  • We can opt to work with any of the Oracle products.
  • Definitely there should be some UI improvements.
  • File manipulation is complex.
  • Not sure if we can consider implementing the bulk copy/move across the folders in Oracle Cloud.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is well suited for working with Oracle Analytics Cloud-Essbase. Data processing is faster in Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute, and Essbase can work magic with the high loads of data by taking less time. Security is another added advantage of Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Compute.
Read Prathap Kondari's full review
September 18, 2019
Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are evaluating IAAS solutions, and we were interested in Oracle Cloud.
  • High-end machines: they are very fast and store data very fast.
  • Fast storage
  • The support is terrible: for the implementation process, if there is a problem, it can take days and multiple calls to get an answer—even when you have a mission-critical issue.
  • The response time to get an issue addressed is terrible.
It would be a terrific solution as long as you get committed engineers. Nowadays, you feel lonely and abandoned when there is an issue regarding the implementation. You are not a priority and it takes days to get an answer or a solution.
Read Holman Cárdenas, M.Eng, TOGAF®, ITIL®'s full review
September 17, 2019
Srinivas Pothana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use OCI for hosting our BI-related applications. All our data warehouse and BI applications are hosted in OCI CLassic. Applications are in OAC. Our BI apps are used across the organization on a daily basis and are critical for month-end and quarter-end reports. It is a centralized data warehouse loading data ETLs from different boundry systems.
  • Ease of provisioning.
  • Scalability to add CPUs or storage without depending on the infra team.
  • Visual builder is a great tool for end-users.
  • There are few limitations while extended file storage associated with database systems and is causing backup issues.
  • Room for improvement on object-level cloning in the database.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is easy to manage and easy to use. It needs some improvement in simplifying Network/Security setup across domains, as well as some improvements in disaster recovery and clone processes. Its bit slow and buggy while cloning databases from backup.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Srinivas Pothana's full review
September 16, 2019
Ahmed Hashish | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used to put the Oracle HTTP Server for our POS. It's used only by the IT department and specifically by the channels section. The problems we have include the permissions on OHS configuration files using OPC users. Also, Oracle needs to make a GUI for administrating instead of always using the commands. Sometimes we have unknown issues sent to support and are solved by only restarting the server.
  • When we have issues with OTD which is not serving our needs, it offered a solution to put OHS instead of OTD.
  • I would like to see an administration GUI instead of the command line.
It is well suited to be used for OHS.
Read Ahmed Hashish's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (39)
8.6
Dynamic scaling (38)
8.4
Elastic load balancing (35)
8.2
Pre-configured templates (37)
7.3
Monitoring tools (37)
7.5
Pre-defined machine images (35)
8.0
Operating system support (37)
8.2
Security controls (36)
8.4

What is Oracle Cloud Infrastructure?

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure combines the utility of public cloud with the granular control of on-premises infrastructure to deliver cloud infrastructure services. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure implements “off-box” or isolated network virtualization, which takes network and IO virtualization out of the server stack and puts it in the network. As a result, customers can provision self-service, dedicated hosts with no hypervisor overhead, noisy neighbors, or shared resources with a full software-defined layer 3 network topology. In addition, off-box network virtualization enables running bare-metal hosts side-by-side with any class of systems – from Virtual Machines to containers to optimized database systems like Oracle Exadata – all using the same set of APIs. With Oracle Cloud, customers can leverage unique Exadata capabilities (millions of IOPS, IO prioritization, columnar compression etc.) together with the cloud-native security and governance capabilities of a layer 3 virtual cloud network.

Since its launch in 2016, Oracle Cloud has expanded to more than 50 core services available in 24 cloud regions worldwide with a plan to reach 36 total regions by the end of 2020.

For more information visit:
https://www.oracle.com/cloud
https://www.oracle.com/cloud/economics/
https://www.oracle.com/cloud/architecture-center.html

Categories: Infrastructure-as-a-Service

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Features

Has featureCompute
Has featureNetworking, Connectivity, and Edge Services
Has featureStorage
Has featureSecurity, Identity, and Compliance
Has featureManagement and Governance
Has featureAnalytics and Big Data
Has featureIntegration
Has featureDatabase Management
Has featureApplication Development
Has featureApplied Software Technologies

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Screenshots

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Videos (2)

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Downloadables

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Competitors

Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is built for enterprises looking for higher performance, consistently lower costs, and easier cloud migration for their existing on-premises applications. OCI is consistently less expensive than AWS for a wide range of popular cloud workloads for several reasons: (1) in the area of networking, charges for outbound bandwidth are 74% less expensive than AWS, (2) for compute, Oracle delivers > 2X better price/performance over AWS for general purpose and memory-optimized instances. (3) for HPC workloads, AWS provides similar performance to Oracle, but is 44% more expensive and provides no local SSDs, half the RAM, no RDMS networking, and no performance SLA, and (4) for block storage, OCI offers as much as 20X the IOPS performance of AWS for less than half the cost. Check out these links to learn more: https://www.oracle.com/cloud/economics/ https://www.oracle.com/webfolder/workload-estimator/index.html

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Oracle Cloud Infrastructure?

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is Oracles's infrastructure-as-a-service (IaaS) platform which combines the utility of public cloud with the granular control, security, and predictability of on-premises infrastructure.

What is Oracle Cloud Infrastructure's best feature?

Reviewers rate Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime highest, with a score of 8.6.

Who uses Oracle Cloud Infrastructure?

The most common users of Oracle Cloud Infrastructure are Enterprises from the Information Technology & Services industry.