Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Reviews

65 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

supriya prabhakara | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2020

Save time and cost by moving to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We host all our Oracle PeopleSoft instances on the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. Earlier, we hosted them on the Amazon Web Services. We moved to Oracle Cloud Infrastructure due to the cost-effectiveness of the Oracle Cloud Infrastructure. The Return on Investment has been great with Oracle cloud infrastructure compared to the AWS. We also host many of our customers on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure and provide managed services.
  • The return on investment has been great with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure compared to the AWS.
  • Hosting ERP systems on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is very cost effective.
  • The new user interface has a lot of glitches and needs a lot of tags to be added to create services
  • The reliability is not very good - instances are not available sometimes
Well suited - It is well suited to host oracle cloud or Oracle ERP applications.

Less appropriate: Less appropriate for non Oracle workloads with integrations, especially when the hybrid cloud model is used.
Yes - Oracle Applications and Technology user group, Quest, Higher Ed user groups
Read supriya prabhakara's full review
Aissam Drai | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) with EBS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is used across our organization to host our IAAS and PAAS resources and hence reduce the footprint of physical servers. Scalability and the speed of provisioning resources was an issue before but are no longer a problem with Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)
  • Ease of scalability
  • Ease of resource provisioning
  • When initially launched, the solution was not compatible with EBS.
  • Integration with other tools such as WAF/IDCS is not straightforward.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI) is proper if intended to be used as IAAS/PAAS for stand-alone applications. However, we faced issues when using it with Oracle EBS either due to certification (this was in the very beginning with the classic version and is no longer the case) or performance.
Read Aissam Drai's full review
Michael Hu | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Great platform to get started on your cloud journey

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We provide a fast backbone for hybrid clouds. OCI is part of our hybrid cloud solution.
  • Great designed API/SDK.
  • Stable infrastructure.
  • Regional IP support.
  • UI navigation needs some improvement - Network and computer should be easy to jump between.
  • Lacking filtering function in instance UI.
  • The instance summary page should show IP for each instance so that the user does not need to click each one to see IP.
The free tier is good for consumers, and it is a good platform for beginners. However, for big cloud consumers, it is lacking some automation like route propagation between VPC and DRG. VPC peering is super slow as well.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Michael Hu's full review
Srinivas Pothana | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 17, 2019

Oracle leads the industry

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we use OCI for hosting our BI-related applications. All our data warehouse and BI applications are hosted in OCI CLassic. Applications are in OAC. Our BI apps are used across the organization on a daily basis and are critical for month-end and quarter-end reports. It is a centralized data warehouse loading data ETLs from different boundry systems.
  • Ease of provisioning.
  • Scalability to add CPUs or storage without depending on the infra team.
  • Visual builder is a great tool for end-users.
  • There are few limitations while extended file storage associated with database systems and is causing backup issues.
  • Room for improvement on object-level cloning in the database.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is easy to manage and easy to use. It needs some improvement in simplifying Network/Security setup across domains, as well as some improvements in disaster recovery and clone processes. Its bit slow and buggy while cloning databases from backup.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read Srinivas Pothana's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Fully management container service for OCI

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is used for some of the R&D related, non-customer facing workloads including applications for AI / Deep learning training in the cloud (OCI). It is currently not used for consumer facing application workloads as our use is recent.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) was straightforward and easy to use to deploy containerized applications in Oracle Cloud (OCI) that makes it one of the top choices if you are already using OCI.
  • OKE can be accessed using the Kubernetes dashboard which is more or less the gold standard for Kubernetes based container deployments makes it easy to administer.
  • OKE is fully managed by Oracle and resides in the cloud that keeps the cost to manage the containers low without need for a lot of customization for performance.
  • Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is a fully managed service that makes it a little hard sometimes to fine tune HPC workloads, for example AI/Deep learning training where a lot of data transfer and compute is needed.
  • The initial setup can certainly be improved with less steps to make it faster and easier to deploy compared to the competition, for example Google Kubernetes Engine (GKE).
  • Documentation and best practice documentation for OKE can be improved especially since there are not a lot of customer references available for large scale deployments that need fine tuned performance.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Container Engine for Kubernetes (OKE) is very well suited if you are interested in deploying cloud native applications on Oracle Cloud ( OCI ) and need container support. OKE does not work well when you have some memory and compute bottlenecks that may require configuring the underlying cloud infrastructure to work in a specific way with the Kubernetes engine through OKE since configuration is harder with OKE.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

A Brilliant Infrastructure as a service platform for all your needs!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is using Oracle Cloud Infrastructure as our main Infrastructure, as a service solution for the majority of our products. Oracle online services high-level APIs enable us to control operating systems, storage, and deployed applications, without managing or controlling the underlying physical cloud infrastructure hardware. Finally, all services can be provisioned completely on-demand, over the Internet.
  • Thanks to Ravello, deployment of existing VMware and KVM based data center workloads is possible.
  • It makes it very easy to monitor the path between users and resources to react to changes and eventual outages.
  • Load balancing capability has somewhat limited functionality.
  • Binary type for WebSockets protocol is not supported.
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is great for running applications that do not have the performance requirements of a dedicated bare-metal server. It works really well for graphics-intensive workloads, but also for high performance demanding AI and machine learning algorithms. Moreover, you can manage complex organization structures and rules easily with logical groups and policies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 02, 2019

OCI: Next Generation Market leader

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is heavily used by our company. Being Oracle Partners helps our customers migrate to OCI and implement their solution.
  • Ease of use
  • Ease of implementation
  • Robust and secure
  • Seen some network issues
  • There have been malware attacks
  • Credit monitoring app on the phone
Cloud is the way to the future. I would recommend OCI for all the Oracle Products in the Cloud.
Yes - Oracle user group. This keeps me updated on the latest products released.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 18, 2019

OCI Rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Oracle Govt Cloud Gen1 as a pilot since it's inception and we were very new to this cloud environment at the time. We had significant issues using Oracle Cloud Gen1. Also, due to lack of support from Oracle and lack of understanding from our staff, we had to cancel our efforts to pilot in the cloud. Our experience was very painful and we decided not to use Gen1.

Moving forward, when Oracle introduced Gen2 cloud it looked very promising. We are in the process of getting Oracle Cloud Gen2 for piloting a few applications and based on our experience will decide to migrate the rest of the apps.

  • Autonomous is a great feature.
  • We can focus more on business needs and less on operations.
  • Very scalable environment.
  • Provide OEM by default if you create DB instance.
  • Multitenant setup.
OCI is well suited for those who need to focus on their business needs and want to provide their user community with the best experience possible in an agile manner.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 16, 2019

Good product!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Identity and Access Management is the single system being used in our company for all identity and access management related uses. It was internally deployed for all application accesses and providing employees the needed access to the applications. It is being used by all the managers to provide access for their teams and other users to have access to the internal company applications.
  • Easy to use, great user interface and available on all interfaces like web and mobile.
  • It is on the cloud, so it's always available.
  • Quick access to the application.
  • Need better management on access parts of the application.
  • Need interfaces and integration with other company infrastructure.
  • Better admin UI and control.
It is a good software if you need multiple interfaces, including web and mobile. It also provides good functionality overall for managers to provide access to all application users.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Read this authenticated review
Sirish Vadala | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Cost Effective Cloud Solution

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization planned to migrate from legacy systems for better scalability, faster development, better compliance, and robust security. Initially, we had issues with networking during set up. It's a perfect cloud interface match for existing PeopleSoft systems. The pricing model is very cost efficient and easy to understand. It took some time to get trained, but once on board, it was a smooth ride.
  • Easy integration with existing PeopleSoft systems.
  • The volume of data that can be created and attached to a new or existing instance.
  • Extremely cost effective to build a dedicated platform with a lot of memory and computing power.
  • Improved support from Oracle to resolve any issues with the configuration for enterprise-level customers.
  • Some of the cloud solutions are bare-bones and not as efficient when compared to what AWS offers.
  • Existing components are insufficient to implement all solutions successfully.
Compared to AWS Oracle is slightly more cost-effective, especially when the implementation doesn't require a wide range of services. The out of the box functionality is minimal compared to AWS or Azure. The technology is advanced especially when it comes to hosting the database. Customer support is not up to the mark compared to other vendors.
Read Sirish Vadala's full review
Ray Hirte | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2018

Our OCI adventure

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using the OCI for our PeopleSoft Upgrade Manager (PUM) and our PeopleSoft demo databases. We are evaluating the network set up and firewall rules we can apply to the environment. We are planning on putting all our non-prod environments into OCI. PeopleSoft is an enterprise application so for testing, it will be used across the organization as well as for DR/BC in the future. For our business, we are hoping it will be cost neutral and provide easy provisioning for our environments as well as scalability for our non-prod environments.

  • Provisioning for environments
  • Scalability for our environments
  • Data backup
  • Understanding what services will incur additional charges when you set up the environment not after the charges start to be incurred.
  • Better PeopleSoft support for lift and shift. We are having a consultant help us with the move.
We don't feel confident enough in OCI to put our production environment in there yet. It may be well suited however we need to do our due diligence. Also as a government agency we need to ensure that our data is never located outside of the US at any time. We do feel it will be well suited for our PUM, Demo, Dev, Test and staging environments in the cloud. Our strategy is to get our staff working on more high value tasks and offload the mundane things on the OCI environment. We may even outsource our server patching. The additional items that come in the cloud purchase make it particularly appealing. These items include data masking, goldengate and the backup and recovery services.
Yes - I am a member of the Higher Education User Group HEUG, Quest International User Group and Upper Midwest Regional User Group.

Insight into what is coming with some small ability to set the direction of the PeopleSoft direction of Oracle. My staff have also used these groups to make a network across the US with other government agencies. these connections have helped us share information as well as deployment strategies. For example through one of our user groups we were able to get the different fields they were using for DB encryption as well as the process they used to encrypt their DB. This saved us a lot of time and energy to re-invent the wheel. We have also gotten good information from different private sector companies around security and 3rd party products.
Read Ray Hirte's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2018

Use PeopleSoft? Then look at Oracle OCI

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
[It's] Used internally to provide access to Oracle applications for all our consultants for development, design, training, demo, and pre-sales work.
  • The only supported platform supported by PeopleSoft Cloud Manager
  • Consistent and predictable performance
  • Underlying technology design is built for resilience and performance.
  • Visual network designer would assistant in ensuring configuration matches intended design.
  • Automatic and seemless migration of VMs from OCI Classic to OCI would show that Oracle is taking cloud infrastructure service seriously.
  • Better, faster support. Traditional methods of filing SRs date back to the 1980s. Online realitime chat with support that know what they're doing is critical.
  • One click template image load from Oracle Cloud Marketplace is basic omission. It's available for oci-c but not oci.
Well suited to running Oracle database workloads. Native Microsoft SQL Server support would allow it to seriously compete in the IaaS market.
Yes - I am a member of the UK Oracle User Group.

Exposure to customer stories and experiences
Read this authenticated review
Adriana Grama | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2018

My Experience with Oracle IaaS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small consulting software services company that implements custom APEX applications for the Romanian market. We use Oracle IaaS for our developing environments and also for some of the production environments. Usually, these are internal applications for 5-20 users on an Oracle stack, but not only, we also have some WordPress/Drupal instances running on Oracle IaaS.
  • a la lot of distinct services that instantiate Oracle products in the cloud
  • a good interface that offers many features
  • reliable SLA and good global content network delivery
  • a good prices and possibility to migrate licenses in cloud
  • still buggy on some screens
  • a little bit behind with versions of software, but they usually make upgrades once in a trimester
  • can take time to learn the documentation, but it has plenty

- for developing environments it is accessible from anywhere

- for demo environments, it is easy to ramp up and to decommission

Yes - I am a member of the Romanian Oracle User Group.

I follow up with Romanian Oracle User Groups events and I learn a lot from their speakers.
Read Adriana Grama's full review
Daniel Willmott | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2017

Keep Your Head in The Cloud(s)

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Cloud IaaS across the whole organization to deliver new products for clients quickly.
It really helps avoid the need to procure additional hardware in order to initiate projects.
  • Rapid development
  • Flexible pricing
  • Agile
  • Ease of use
  • Centralized deployment
Any time that a project or prototype needs to gather some momentum then Oracle IaaS is a no brainier as it allows you to develop something real in a matter of weeks rather than months
Read Daniel Willmott's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2018

Oracle Cloud IaaS Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Oracle Cloud in development environments, production environment for internal applications and demonstrative and proof of concept environments. Mostly I like its actionable insight reports and customizable dashboards.
  • It is easier to operate a workload without having to buy, manage and support the underlying infrastructure.
  • It is reliable, fast, quick to access and easy to customize.
  • Billing can become a problem due to the fact that it is extremely granular and is broken out to reflect the precise usage of services.
Well suited for production environment and accounts. Less appropriate for financial reporting requirements of certain geographies.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 20, 2016

Oracle IAAS - Future of server administration

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IaaS (Infrastructure As a Service) is being used to upgrade from our current ERP system to the next one which is entirely cloud based. Our servers(web, application, database, monitoring servers etc. )will be maintained on Oracle's cloud infrastructure. Whether this will be a pubilic or private cloud will depend on type of environment, stake holder's involved and facilities offered for both these clouds.
  • Reduction in cost as no scalability is required from an IT infrastructure side.
  • Pre-configured, engineered and simple in nature. This helps in reducing complexity on the IT side.
  • Less number of workers needed. Helps in effectively reducing man power and using comp.
  • IAAS (Infrastructure as a Service) is not a customizable solution. It's a pre-configured system which sometimes fits in customer expectation but largely differs in diversity.
  • More improvements are being worked on by Oracle to improve cloud computing, Oracle systems do not share computing resources and need to be scaled in those areas.
  • Third, Oracle private clouds are not delivered “as-a-service”. This solution is a rental which can be modified, but is nonetheless bound by hardware and software parameters, for a specified rental period.
Oracle's IAAS might work well for small organizations with less cloud computing and scalability requirements. This will result in less manual labor and considerable reduction in IT costs.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Service-level Agreement (SLA) uptime (16)
8.1
Dynamic scaling (15)
7.4
Elastic load balancing (14)
7.5
Pre-configured templates (16)
6.6
Monitoring tools (16)
7.4
Pre-defined machine images (16)
7.2
Operating system support (15)
7.3
Security controls (15)
7.3

About Oracle Cloud Infrastructure

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure combines the utility of public cloud with the granular control of on-premises infrastructure to deliver cloud infrastructure services. Oracle Cloud Infrastructure implements “off-box” or isolated network virtualization, which takes network and IO virtualization out of the server stack and puts it in the network. As a result, customers can provision self-service, dedicated hosts with no hypervisor overhead, noisy neighbors, or shared resources with a full software-defined layer 3 network topology. In addition, off-box network virtualization enables running bare-metal hosts side-by-side with any class of systems – from Virtual Machines to containers to optimized database systems like Oracle Exadata – all using the same set of APIs. With Oracle Cloud, customers can leverage unique Exadata capabilities (millions of IOPS, IO prioritization, columnar compression etc.) together with the cloud-native security and governance capabilities of a layer 3 virtual cloud network.

Since its launch in 2016, Oracle Cloud has expanded to more than 50 core services available in 24 cloud regions worldwide with a plan to reach 36 total regions by the end of 2020.

For more information visit:
https://www.oracle.com/cloud
https://www.oracle.com/cloud/economics/
https://www.oracle.com/cloud/architecture-center.html

Categories: Infrastructure-as-a-Service

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Features

Has featureCompute
Has featureNetworking, Connectivity, and Edge Services
Has featureStorage
Has featureSecurity, Identity, and Compliance
Has featureManagement and Governance
Has featureAnalytics and Big Data
Has featureIntegration
Has featureDatabase Management
Has featureApplication Development
Has featureApplied Software Technologies

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Screenshots

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Videos (2)

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Downloadables

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Competitors

Amazon Web Services, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure is built for enterprises looking for higher performance, consistently lower costs, and easier cloud migration for their existing on-premises applications. OCI is consistently less expensive than AWS for a wide range of popular cloud workloads for several reasons: (1) in the area of networking, charges for outbound bandwidth are 74% less expensive than AWS, (2) for compute, Oracle delivers > 2X better price/performance over AWS for general purpose and memory-optimized instances. (3) for HPC workloads, AWS provides similar performance to Oracle, but is 44% more expensive and provides no local SSDs, half the RAM, no RDMS networking, and no performance SLA, and (4) for block storage, OCI offers as much as 20X the IOPS performance of AWS for less than half the cost. Check out these links to learn more: https://www.oracle.com/cloud/economics/ https://www.oracle.com/webfolder/workload-estimator/index.html

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No