TrustRadius
Windows Azure is a cloud computing platform and infrastructure for building, deploying and managing applications and services through a global network of Microsoft-managed datacenters.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/OP/Ix/PIX9CZUSJUE4.PNGAzure is like the other Microsoft products, good and user-friendly, but not the most efficient thing in the worldMicrosoft Azure is used by departments to manage larger data sets across entities. The software addresses the need for multiple users to have access to multiple different data sets simultaneously. The software makes this relatively easy by making Microsoft Azure similar to the user-friendliness of other Microsoft products. Users point their analytical tools at Azure for data visualization and analytics. Some analytics is also done in Azure itself.,Perhaps the biggest advantage of Microsoft Azure is its ease of integration with other Microsoft products. If you're used to using Excel, Access, SQL Server, and other Microsoft products, Azure will fit in nicely. Azure does a good job at pointing the user into user-friendly methods for data capture and analysis. In fact, I think Azure does the best job at this compared to competing tools. Microsoft Azure has recently made strides in implementing advanced analytics, such as machine learning. Their advances are great and integrate nicely with the tool.,Microsoft Azure's movement into machine learning and other advanced analytics are somewhat behind the curve. Other tools that have been doing this for a long time have set up easier user interfaces. Azure seems to run slower than other big data housing tools. I think this might be because of Microsoft's attempt to make Azure more user-friendly. I think Azure could improve its product by making it even more like Microsoft Excel. I know that's not what Azure if for, but hey, it's Microsoft, they could make it more spreadsheet-ish.,10,In the sense that capturing big data makes a difference to the bottom line, as it has for my business objective, the implementation of Microsoft Azure was a positive ROI. I feel like I've moved into the 21st Century with Azure. For analysts that have a long history of using Excel and Access, Azure has a bit of a learning curve. We're all on the learning in one sense, just some are still on the steeper part of the learning curve after a few months. Microsoft Azure has been a positive ROI in that it has afforded users the ability to create real-time updating visualizations and analytics, something that should be second nature in the analytics field by now.,OpenShift, Google App Engine, Google App Maker, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Elastic MapReduce, Amazon DynamoDB, GoDaddy, CloudStack and Akamai,OpenShift, Google App Engine, Google App Maker, Mirantis OpenStack, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Amazon Elastic MapReduce, Google Compute Engine, CloudStack, AkamaiAzure CI in a Dynamic EnvironmentWe are currently using Microsoft Azure across the whole organization. However department by department are choosing what functions to utilize or not. Some of the main functions we are using are Dev Ops for code storage and continuous integration, Power BI, Data Lake and reporting functions, SQL, IIS, App services and more are also in use across the organization,Wealth of white papers and documents for support Every function or process you could need is there frequent upgrades and updates to fix any issues,Sometimes its a bit overwhelming as to the volume of functions The layout could be more intuitive While there are a lot of support docs it could be laid out a bit better to help you get where you need to go,10,For any applications that we have running in the Azure space the ROI has been though the roof We have decommissioned numerous physical servers saving hard dollars each year In Addition to the hard dollars the soft dollar ROI has been fantastic. We can run deployments and analytics at anytime matching the speed of our clients,AWS Cloud9, AWS CodePipeline, AWS Config, AWS Device Farm and AWS Lambda,Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft SQL Server, K2 PlatformUseful range of products!We use select Microsoft Azure products and APIs to complete some of our more machine learning-oriented tasks off-premise. This includes modeling data we receive from magnetometer sensors, recognizing environmental effects in data during hardware testing, and some other backend-related tasks like modeling traffic and parking behavior. Using these products allows us to move tasks that require lots of processing power to cloud products that are optimized for this purpose.,Scalable pricing -- The Azure pricing scales with usage, so the cost per month becomes very clear early on, and the ML-related products for Azure are quite competitively priced. Security management on Microsoft Azure is better compared to other cloud platforms I've seen, and it's really easy to configure. Startup Programs -- It's easy to get credits to try out Microsoft Azure through the Microsoft/Azure for Startups program. No other service provides this access and support for startups for free.,Poor documentation -- Microsoft's documentation can take a while to get used to, as the format and tutorials are a bit different compared to AWS and other cloud computing platforms. Some code interfaces/SDKs are not well-designed. Specifically, the Python and Java SDKs can be quite difficult to integrate. It's difficult to onboard, due to the lack of beginner-oriented documentation for some of the ML products. Some of the products require extensive knowledge of how to use Azure in production.,9,Positive -- Offloading specific ML-related tasks like Azure Machine Learning Studio was great for optimizing our general compute instances infrastructure. Negative -- Difficult to onboard and poor documentation, integrating some of the Azure products took significantly more time than necessary. Positive -- The pricing for some of the Azure products is quite competitive at greater usage.,Probably the best cloud experience everI was using Microsoft Azure as a part of the hybrid infrastructure. Part of our services were stored on-premise and lots of them were based on Microsoft Azure platform. A few that we used were Microsoft Azure Active Directory services, virtualization services, all the cross-connected with Office 365 services. Plus I had experience with a fully cloud-based Microsoft infrastructure with VPN tunnels from the local network to Microsoft Azure services.,The best and the easiest integration with other Microsoft services. Great Web console interface -- good for all advanced and beginner IT specialists. Regular security and functionality upgrades. Options to try the product/solution absolutely for free to understand if it works for your current environment and company needs. Cloud computing -- one of the best options for your virtual environment on the market and if your company has Microsoft based infrastructure - integration with other MS services make this solution the best one. And you pay only for what you are using!,MS technical support -- in most cases is horrible. Unless you use the support of MS partners, but that makes the cost higher. Comparing to other competitors on the market, customization of the virtual servers is not the most strong side of Microsoft Azure. Prices of services. That needs to be improved. In a small environment it is only so critical, but when you start growing it becomes a significant cost raise. We had issues transforming legacy servers and services from physical to virtual based on Azure. We had to use third-party solutions.,9,We've got an opportunity to create new systems and application quicker and easier using Microsoft Azure comparing to doing the same on-premise. That saves time and money on the people and hardware resources. Not necessary to monitor for hardware, decreased downtime for systems and services, and better backup options brought a lot of positive impact to IT and the company. Build fast and reliable test and dev environment. Pay only for the time that you use it -- what can be better?,Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2) and Google Compute Engine,G Suite, Microsoft Office 365, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2), Windows Server, Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft ExchangeWhy I wouldn't migrate to Azure againWe use Azure to host our SaaS financial healthcare application built on asp.net MVC + SQL + ESB architecture. We currently use base IaaS, Azure SQL, Azure web apps, load balancers, and analytics. We migrated to Azure from a small cloud vendor for flexibility, cost savings and ease of meeting various security requirements.,Azure Web app seems to be fairly decent Some Azure employees really care,High VM failure rate and limited options in many regions. Azure SQL is the single worst product Microsoft has created. Lots of basic things can take 45 min (changing the config of a gateway/load balance for example). Low pricing flexibility makes AWS 2-3X cheaper. VMs with less than 4c/8GB often can't even run windows update or take hours to do so. AKS especially flaky with DNS issues, random downtimes. Often misses SLAs and requires the customer to ask for credit. Lots of recommended solutions for PaaS apps essentially require turning off your firewall. API, CLI, ARM are incomplete with diff gaps. Docs are out of date and incomplete. AG groups put on single node clusters that receive firmware updates at the same time. Azure apps for docker require non-TLS termination, violating most security controls by forcing unencrypted traffic from their internal LB to the app workers.,1,After having spent about $250k moving to Azure, and more than $1M on Azure, we are moving to another solution.,
Unspecified
Microsoft Azure
434 Ratings
Score 8.2 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Microsoft Azure Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Microsoft Azure
434 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.2 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2018
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 434 vetted Microsoft Azure reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 45)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Thomas Young profile photo
February 16, 2019

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure is like the other Microsoft products, good and user-friendly, but not the most efficient thing in the world"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Azure is used by departments to manage larger data sets across entities. The software addresses the need for multiple users to have access to multiple different data sets simultaneously. The software makes this relatively easy by making Microsoft Azure similar to the user-friendliness of other Microsoft products. Users point their analytical tools at Azure for data visualization and analytics. Some analytics is also done in Azure itself.
  • Perhaps the biggest advantage of Microsoft Azure is its ease of integration with other Microsoft products. If you're used to using Excel, Access, SQL Server, and other Microsoft products, Azure will fit in nicely.
  • Azure does a good job at pointing the user into user-friendly methods for data capture and analysis. In fact, I think Azure does the best job at this compared to competing tools.
  • Microsoft Azure has recently made strides in implementing advanced analytics, such as machine learning. Their advances are great and integrate nicely with the tool.
  • Microsoft Azure's movement into machine learning and other advanced analytics are somewhat behind the curve. Other tools that have been doing this for a long time have set up easier user interfaces.
  • Azure seems to run slower than other big data housing tools. I think this might be because of Microsoft's attempt to make Azure more user-friendly.
  • I think Azure could improve its product by making it even more like Microsoft Excel. I know that's not what Azure if for, but hey, it's Microsoft, they could make it more spreadsheet-ish.
Of all the big data warehousing tools I have used, Microsoft Azure was the easiest to learn and implement on big data warehousing. Microsoft Azure is well suited for situations where you have multiple users needing access to multiple datasets simultaneously. It's also useful for situations where you want to capture very large data sets on a continuous basis.
Read Thomas Young's full review
Kyle Kochtan profile photo
February 15, 2019

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure CI in a Dynamic Environment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Microsoft Azure across the whole organization. However department by department are choosing what functions to utilize or not. Some of the main functions we are using are Dev Ops for code storage and continuous integration, Power BI, Data Lake and reporting functions, SQL, IIS, App services and more are also in use across the organization
  • Wealth of white papers and documents for support
  • Every function or process you could need is there
  • frequent upgrades and updates to fix any issues
  • Sometimes its a bit overwhelming as to the volume of functions
  • The layout could be more intuitive
  • While there are a lot of support docs it could be laid out a bit better to help you get where you need to go
We are currently moving all of our custom code and deployments over. For any new projects it has been seamless and allows us to be super responsive to our business needs. We are also migrating our legacy applications over as well, but this has been more time consuming as each app seems to need something custom. Some type of migration tool would be nice. Over all we are extremely pleased with the ease of use once set up
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Fedor Paretsky profile photo
January 30, 2019

Microsoft Azure Review: "Useful range of products!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use select Microsoft Azure products and APIs to complete some of our more machine learning-oriented tasks off-premise. This includes modeling data we receive from magnetometer sensors, recognizing environmental effects in data during hardware testing, and some other backend-related tasks like modeling traffic and parking behavior. Using these products allows us to move tasks that require lots of processing power to cloud products that are optimized for this purpose.
  • Scalable pricing -- The Azure pricing scales with usage, so the cost per month becomes very clear early on, and the ML-related products for Azure are quite competitively priced.
  • Security management on Microsoft Azure is better compared to other cloud platforms I've seen, and it's really easy to configure.
  • Startup Programs -- It's easy to get credits to try out Microsoft Azure through the Microsoft/Azure for Startups program. No other service provides this access and support for startups for free.
  • Poor documentation -- Microsoft's documentation can take a while to get used to, as the format and tutorials are a bit different compared to AWS and other cloud computing platforms.
  • Some code interfaces/SDKs are not well-designed. Specifically, the Python and Java SDKs can be quite difficult to integrate.
  • It's difficult to onboard, due to the lack of beginner-oriented documentation for some of the ML products. Some of the products require extensive knowledge of how to use Azure in production.
Azure, and specifically the ML-related products, are great for startups that are looking to move tasks requiring greater processing-power off of on-premise machines. Azure has some great products, and if one of the use-cases greatly benefits your company's backend infrastructure optimization, then it's definitely a must-have. Otherwise, it is worth looking at other cheaper, more general cloud computing services, like Google Compute Engine and DigitalOcean.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Valery Mezentsau profile photo
February 20, 2019

Microsoft Azure Review: "Probably the best cloud experience ever"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I was using Microsoft Azure as a part of the hybrid infrastructure. Part of our services were stored on-premise and lots of them were based on Microsoft Azure platform. A few that we used were Microsoft Azure Active Directory services, virtualization services, all the cross-connected with Office 365 services. Plus I had experience with a fully cloud-based Microsoft infrastructure with VPN tunnels from the local network to Microsoft Azure services.
  • The best and the easiest integration with other Microsoft services.
  • Great Web console interface -- good for all advanced and beginner IT specialists.
  • Regular security and functionality upgrades.
  • Options to try the product/solution absolutely for free to understand if it works for your current environment and company needs.
  • Cloud computing -- one of the best options for your virtual environment on the market and if your company has Microsoft based infrastructure - integration with other MS services make this solution the best one.
  • And you pay only for what you are using!
  • MS technical support -- in most cases is horrible. Unless you use the support of MS partners, but that makes the cost higher.
  • Comparing to other competitors on the market, customization of the virtual servers is not the most strong side of Microsoft Azure.
  • Prices of services. That needs to be improved. In a small environment it is only so critical, but when you start growing it becomes a significant cost raise.
  • We had issues transforming legacy servers and services from physical to virtual based on Azure. We had to use third-party solutions.
Easy to deploy a new infrastructure. Great for a testing environment that is running in parallel with your production environment. Microsoft Azure has great options for integrating different pieces of your services into one. Well suited for Web hosting platform. Tons of built-in deployment tools for the virtual environment. A good choice for all levels and sizes of businesses if pricing is not the first and most critical question. Great solution for migrating from onsite data centers to fully virtualized and protected solutions. I chose 9 from 10 only because it could be cheaper to use solutions from competitors.
Read Valery Mezentsau's full review
No photo available
May 04, 2019

Microsoft Azure: "Why I wouldn't migrate to Azure again"

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure to host our SaaS financial healthcare application built on asp.net MVC + SQL + ESB architecture. We currently use base IaaS, Azure SQL, Azure web apps, load balancers, and analytics. We migrated to Azure from a small cloud vendor for flexibility, cost savings and ease of meeting various security requirements.
  • Azure Web app seems to be fairly decent
  • Some Azure employees really care
  • High VM failure rate and limited options in many regions.
  • Azure SQL is the single worst product Microsoft has created.
  • Lots of basic things can take 45 min (changing the config of a gateway/load balance for example).
  • Low pricing flexibility makes AWS 2-3X cheaper.
  • VMs with less than 4c/8GB often can't even run windows update or take hours to do so.
  • AKS especially flaky with DNS issues, random downtimes.
  • Often misses SLAs and requires the customer to ask for credit.
  • Lots of recommended solutions for PaaS apps essentially require turning off your firewall.
  • API, CLI, ARM are incomplete with diff gaps.
  • Docs are out of date and incomplete.
  • AG groups put on single node clusters that receive firmware updates at the same time.
  • Azure apps for docker require non-TLS termination, violating most security controls by forcing unencrypted traffic from their internal LB to the app workers.
Well suited for smaller applications, Azure web apps is a pretty good service overall and can reduce security and operational burden. Other services that are more dynamic in nature, such as Hadoop/Spark may also benefit. Overall though those can be found cheaper and with more reliability and better documentation at AWS or GCP.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 22, 2018

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure can meet your needs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our financial institution, we are currently using Microsoft Azure to deploy thin client applications and web services, and provide access to SQL databases. The usage of this great tool is mainly throughout our IT department. Other areas of the organization do not need to have access to the administration portion of the console. It has greatly helped us deploy applications and web based services in a centralized cloud environment.
  • Active Directory integration. Azure allows for solutions outside your environment to pull your AD information in a non-intrusive fashion to help you automate certain functions such as single sign-on.
  • Great for deploying new applications without having to stand a server or develop a system in-house.
  • Cloud computing at its best. So many features available to accommodate your networking needs with great security and resilience.
  • Cloud based technologies always have some type of risk associated. Microsoft has addressed the lack stability of frameworks, libraries, etc.
  • There is no local stored data available for easy access. No offline access to the system in case of a major system outage.
Azure can be beneficial to any organization if planned appropriately. One of its great benefits is that you pay only for what resources you use. Easy to deploy and manage. Perhaps not suitable for your organization if you already have in-house systems that accommodate your needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 23, 2019

Review: "Microsoft Azure: Next Step to Cloud Hosting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Azure for our application hosting. Earlier we had a thirty party vendor which took care of our hosting. Later on, we explored and found out that Microsoft Azure was a very good option for our cloud. Gradually we moved almost all of our applications to Azure by end of 2018. We have different flavors like Web-apps, API Apps, Azure functions and Azure VM as well. As mentioned earlier we have on-premise thirty party hosting now that we have moved to being self-controlled by using Azure Cloud.
  • When we use Azure Web apps, it provides a PAAS solution for our hosting.
  • If we have specific tasks to be executed after intervals or continuous work, it provides Web jobs.
  • We can move our DB to No SQL as well, which is also very useful.
  • For storage purposes, we can use Azure Storage, like blobs in which we can create containers just like S3 buckets in AWS.
  • Some times in Web apps we faced an issue that gives us an error while code swapping like it's already in use.
  • Azure should provide more detailed errors for activity, also for activity logs. Logs should be searchable on the basis of time duration rather last 3 months.
  • Syncing for two different Azure tables should be done parallel to one another.
For .net applications, it's very well suited. We have different applications and other products in which we have used it—Web apps, API apps, Web Jobs and a few cloud services. Azure storage is also one of the options where we can store our images in the cloud as cloud is always good these days for hosting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 19, 2019

User Review: "Microsoft Azure: a great IAAS partner"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a marketing services provider, we have lots of legacy applications that were built atop the .NET framework. As we expanded to offer cloud services to better serve our clients, we decided to go with Microsoft Azure as the PAAS partner. Not only does it allow us to use Microsoft servers in the backend but also Linux as part of our backend infrastructure. We use SQL Database servers for our data layer and it was an easy choice for us to leverage Microsoft Azure as the common platform.
  • Using Microsoft Azure we now have the ability to expand our product offerings using this cloud service.
  • Being elastic in the cloud means, we only have to pay for data and usage as per our consumption needs.
  • Using Microsoft Azure as IAAS means that we are freed from the needs of hosting our hardware locally. Important considerations like security and software patching are all handled remotely.
  • The pricing for their services need to be made more competitive in comparison to Amazon AWS.
  • The product requires a large learning curve and the technical documentation can sometimes be difficult and cumbersome to follow.
With Microsoft Azure we now have the ability to develop and deploy cross-platform web and mobile applications in a short turnaround. Along with this, the data is stored seamlessly in a secure fashion all in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 13, 2019

Microsoft Azure Review: "No need of on-prem!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure is used for our farm of servers. It enables us to have servers up 24/7 without any interruptions. We can upgrade CPU/RAM on the fly as needs come up.
  • We can access our server from the dashboard easily.
  • No windows license issues.
  • Server restarts are really quickly.
  • It would be nice to have better level 1 support. As we are in IT, when we are reaching out it is because we have done everything we could.
It does well for an applications server. Maybe not so much for a print server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 14, 2018

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure is one of the best in the market, I would prefer it before AWS (end of story)."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Azure for our research on Learning Analytics for the University. For now, it is being by only a department but we plan to deploy it in other departments as well. We are mostly using ElasticSearch and Machine Learning service since we need it for our predictive analysis and prescriptive analysis and also trying to use for our apps.
  • It is great for all services like
  • Iaas, Paas, Saas.
  • It has an awesome speed of deployment, operation, and scalability which makes the work productive.
  • Easy data migration makes it easier to integrate into the system and since all of our systems is Windows based it was much easier.
  • Fully integrated Delivery Pipeline.
  • Definitely the price. It is expensive when compared to its other competitors
  • Another improvement that can be done is in the area of Application. Application insight can be made more to easy to migration to the logging from on-premise to cloud.
  • Since it is huge it has got a number of bugs which sometimes troubles. So more documentation and the bug-free system would be an area of improvement.
  1. It helped in the migration of data.
  2. Testing our sites, services, and applications.
  3. Since we are more focused on research and development of our Analytical system its server reliability and ease of deployment makes our life easier.
  4. And also being used in the only department we have a small number of people so anyone able to deploy helps.
  5. Since we are working with excel or you can say Office 365, Azure work with it seamlessly which makes it an ideal solution.
Read this authenticated review
Charlize Lai profile photo
January 26, 2018

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure is...."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For cloud deployment, for continuous integration. Saving TCO of IT infrastructure, reduce business downtime. Having satisfied customers. Azure is a reliable cloud service for whom would like to achieve 0 downtimes. We are going to explore what Azure can do on Machine Learning and AI for the trading platform and predict the business impact.
  • high interoperability
  • less cost
  • high performance
  • should make it more affordable
  • lack of technical support
  • function complicate for decision makers
For trading platform hosting, for continuous integration.
Read Charlize Lai's full review
No photo available
February 23, 2018

Microsoft Azure Review: "Awesome Experience with Azure compare to Other Provider"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Its been used at an organizational level. We used the trial pack to evaluate Azure.

It has addressed many issues. Compared to other cloud service providers, the Azure Management Console is far simpler to monitor. Since we migrated our server to Azure haven't faced any downtime. The second point is that Azure SQL as a Service has helped to optimize the cost and increase performance.

The response time of Azure customer service is amazing; I would usually get a callback from them within three hours.
  • SQL as a Service is very cost effective and easier to manage. There are other vendors who provide SQL as a Service at cost higher than Azure
  • Compared to AWS and Google, the Azure portal is easier to manage
  • Its up to you when you want to scale your infrastructure . This is not the case with AWS for which you need to ask permission to access regions. Also if you want to upgrade RAM it takes 2 days to get it done
  • There is no option to customize RAM which you can do with Google
  • Customization of processors such as core , GPU etc. is not possible currently, and we have to choose from available options
  • A few Technical queries should be allowed in the basic subscription
It's well suited for startups and other small business vendors.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 22, 2017

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure is good"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
One of the great benefits of any cloud based computer is the fact that you don't need to maintain your own hardware. No need to think about updates. No need to worry about disaster striking at the hardware level. No need for your own dedicated IT crew. Just sit back and enjoy the computers which are maintained by Microsoft themselves.
  • Webhosting
  • Test environment
  • High availability
  • Making parallel things (such as nic and legacy network) which behave differently.
  • Enable downtime for VPN portal.
  • Build your own server.
One of our customers needed a solution where several users could simultaneously use the same computer, but did not have anywhere near the budget to buy a proper server. He also needed a good solution for backing up his data off site. Using Azure he managed accomplishing both those needs at once.
Read this authenticated review
Rich Mephan profile photo
June 27, 2017

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure - The future is here"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure is currently being used by the research & development department for things such as ElasticSearch and Cortana Analytics to add into our applications. Our managed services team is also using Azure for Application Insights - an application monitoring system which tracks usage of our application. Our migration team uses Azure for hardware resources, spinning up multiple server instances to complete migrations.
  • The new portal is easy to use.
  • The ability to have free trials of the new features such as Cognitive services/Cortana Anaytics is great.
  • The elasticity of spinning up new hardware and only paying for what you use is really helpful for us.
  • The templates for spinning up new hardware are not flexible enough.
Obviously difficult to answer as Azure has so many features now, some which are suitable for our organisation and some which aren't.

Cognitive Services is great and a real breakthrough in terms of AI and application insights provide us with real-time application monitoring at a fraction of the price of some of the other big players in this space.
Read Rich Mephan's full review
No photo available
October 04, 2017

"Microsoft Azure Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Azure services for our apps team. We build dev/testing servers; server provisioning is very easy and quick.
  • Few clicks and servers are ready in a few minutes
  • Cost effective, don't have to manage monitoring as you will get the alert as per your requirements
  • Never have any performance issues, boosts the performance as per your needs
  • The on-premise backup and restoration
  • Disk encryption for critical apps/data
  • Cost
Well Suited:
Easy and quick provisioning
No need to monitor the services

Not Suited:
Low bandwidth
Without accelerated traffic
Without network appliance
Read this authenticated review
Aditya Sabadra profile photo
March 03, 2017

User Review: "Microsoft Azure Flying High In Cloud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Azure in our organization but I work for implementing Azure services and replatforming and Migrating application to Azure at our clients. It solves various problems from easily deploying application to production, reducing overhead of infrastructure cost and its management. It speeds up deployment, operation and scalability. Azure has data centers all across the globe and is one of the leading player in having the most number of data centers around the globe, so it helps users' data to be easily reachable with less cost and overheads. So data is presented to the user from within the region where he resides or requests for. Azure has a fully integrated development environment making it easy for developer to the tools and development services. It has an integrated IOT platform and IOT is the next big thing in IT world. Azure provides Agility and gives developers, Architects, and Consultants an easy to use service required for applications. Azure also helps with DevOps; it has a fully integrated pipeline which gives DevOps Capabilities implementing CI/CD. Azure also helps in disaster recovery. We can also achieve High Availability due to Azure presence all over the globe. Azure is complaint so for example finance companies can rely on Azure to do the heavy lifting of data back and forth from on prim data centers to cloud. Using most of the capabilities of Azure, it is helping us implementing scalable and reliable solution at clients and at different organizations.
  • One of the Main Offerings that Azure provides is PaaS which is quite mature compared to other cloud providers in market.
  • PaaS support in from developing an application to cloud till deploying it. PaaS support complete life cycle of an application: Building Testing, Deploying, Managing and Updating.
  • Microsoft operates across the globe and has the highest number of data centers. It operates in 34 regions and are about to open 4 more regions. This is one of the biggest advantages over all the competitors.
  • Azure has the hybrid capability unlike AWS cloud [which has] only approach. Azure provides us the ability to create hybrid environments allowing us to leverage on premise resources and the benefits of cloud. Azure can also help in building Hybrid applications.
  • Pricing is the most important thing I would consider that needs improvement, pricing will play one of the important criteria in deciding between other cloud providers. It will also play a part in growth and adoption of Azure across the industries. So I think pricing is the area that needs improvement.
  • Azure has the space of improvement in PaaS offering, it can bake and integrate many services and tools which other PaaS provider excel in that space. PaaS is the next big thing Azure should focus on developing.
  • Integrating more developer specific features I would suggest need improvement. With a focus on cloud migration services and providing them, Azure should also focus on providing capabilities for developers focusing on development of cloud native application which will not just run perfectly on cloud but will excel in each space and will be efficient, resilient and scalable on cloud.
Microsoft Azure is well suited in the IOT space. It has one of the best IOT tools and services currently on the cloud. With the capabilities of running small business and mission critical applications, it excels in the IOT space and leaves all the competitors behind. Microsoft Azure is compliant so it removes the overhead of data migration. It's highly secured and even federally regulated. It is well suited for helping clients in the complete application lifecycle by using its PaaS offerings. Azure is expensive, but it offers packages for small to medium businesses which will be for free for some years or at really very less cost but it may come at the price of compute, data, space, memory etc. Azure is across the globe, it serves in 34 regions and 4 more regions in production so you can imagine the scale of Azure. It's highly available and scalable. Even though there are a number of improvements and developments to be done in Azure, Azure is one of the leaders in cloud giving a tough fight to AWS and maintaining its position closer to Amazon.
Read Aditya Sabadra's full review
Stênio Pereira Filho profile photo
February 22, 2017

"Microsoft Azure Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our department is using Microsoft Azure as an extension of our private cloud. We are a public university and we have difficulties in buying hardware to expand our infrastructure. We use a public cloud as part of the process of having temporary expansion until the end of the buying process. We offer researchers an IaaS cloud and for now, we also use Microsoft Azure to host applications developed for PaaS clouds.
  • The possibility to link github repositories in deployments slots
  • Use of staging slots to deploy a web application with zero downtime
  • Datacenter in Brazil
  • The user interface works slowly on moderns browsers like Chrome and Firefox.
  • In some cases, it is hard to find what we want in the user interface.
  • Sometimes terminating (shutting down) a virtual machine does not succeed properly and the VM remains running in the background, billing it.
Microsoft Azure is well suited to host virtual machines and applications, but not for a high-performance cluster to run parallel jobs for scientific research.
Read Stênio Pereira Filho's full review
Brad Magyar profile photo
February 14, 2017

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure? More like Fantazure! ...okay, I'll leave."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used across the whole organization via Active Directory, but our primary use is for hosting our websites. It provides a lot of customizability and functionality that most web hosts don't offer, and it gives us the flexibility that we need, with a great balance of performance and price. It's pretty bleeding edge and they provide solutions for pretty much anything you can think of through their marketplace. Highly recommended.
  • Customizability. Compared to other cloud providers, it's incredibly easy to make large, complex deployments rather quickly, and it gives you very granular control over every aspect of your deployment. Additionally, with PowerShell integration, you can do massive, system-wide changes via shell scripting.
  • Stability. VM stability is excellent. We've been on them for over 2 years, and haven't had a single outage that affected us, and any time we've had downtime, it was due to mistakes on our end.
  • Ease of use. Everything is really easy to find and configure. Fantastic UI.
  • Support. Their support is exactly as you're used to with Microsoft. Difficult to get a hold of, and we've had issues with tickets being lost and issues not being solved in a timely manner.
[It is well suited for] website hosting, high-performance cloud-based SQL Server databases. [It has] deployment templates,
advanced features such as load-balancing, high availability groups, web apps, serverless architecture (Azure Functions), other bleeding-edge features and excellent documentation.
Read Brad Magyar's full review
Hans Davenport profile photo
February 13, 2017

Microsoft Azure Review: "It's Microsoft. It's Cloud. What else would you use?"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Microsoft Azure has served a need with our company in being able to provide a scalable platform for our customers to be able to host managed services applications. Azure allows for predictable billing, placing resources in the right geographical location, and instant scaling for when we need to provide more horsepower for processing high volume blips.
  • Azure has allowed us to provide a platform that is easily resellable both from a management perspective as well as having the Microsoft name behind it, which is typically a trusted name for companies.
  • The billing platform is great for breaking down hosted solutions across multiple customers and the ability to geolocate servers through its multiple data centers allows for seamless service providing to customers around the US and internationally.
  • Resource scalability is a very powerful feature allowing us to pay the bare minimum during low periods and instantly expand our processing capacity when needed.
  • It is easy to spin up a new environment with the many different VMs available through the Azure marketplace.
  • Cost. Azure is much more costly than other platforms but that comes as a tradeoff with features and functionality.
  • The platform is easy to manage once configured and set up properly. The initial dive into the platform can be daunting for even the most seasoned Microsoft administrator.
If you are looking for a hosting platform that is guaranteed to fill all government and regulatory platforms Azure is the way to go. There is a guarantee that any of your customer's requirements can be met or exceeded using this platform.
Read Hans Davenport's full review
Hernán Silva profile photo
November 28, 2016

Microsoft Azure Review: "Great scalability. Server visibility to attackers needs improvement."

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Windows Azure platform was used to host several web services for a marketing and software development company I worked for. Azure's scalability allowed the company to move away from several hosting providers to a single cloud hosting infrastructure. The major problem with Azure was replicating specific legacy environments for some projects.
  • Scalability: You can easily scale services and plans on the platform.
  • Very easy to start with.
  • I ran into some issues related to security: seems like Azure servers were being targeted by unidentified attackers. This is not Azure's fault on its own but it was trickier to fix due to the visibility Azure's servers have.
  • Trying to replicate legacy environments (CentOS 4, PHP 5.1 and the such) is not a pleasant experience, Azure presented a handful of barriers doing so. Modern environments had no such obstacles.
  • Use it to start a project from scratch or to deploy modern environments.
  • Legacy Linux environments have difficulties to start and run smoothly.
Read Hernán Silva's full review
Sean Lavery profile photo
September 16, 2016

Microsoft Azure Review: "Moving in-house servers to the cloud with Azure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we have started migrating some of our aging in-house servers to being hosted in Azure. This allows us to save on the cost of new hardware, licenses, and maintenance of having these servers physically hosted on site. With Windows Server 2003 going end of life this past year we realized we needed to upgrade or replace a bunch of our servers and we were looking at a substantial investment in new hardware and licenses. Azure allowed us to get around a lot of those issues, plus allowed us to gain some cloud replication for DR purposes.
  • Allows us to replicate our active directory to the cloud, giving us the ability to recover in the event of an issue with our local AD server.
  • Allows us to quickly spin up new servers to test software and get projects moving.
  • Has all the licenses and tools needed built right in so there are no extra fees... and you only pay for what you use so we can spin up a new server and grow it as needed.
  • There is a lot of constant change with the interfaces and not all of the features are always available in the newest iteration of the portals. For some things we still need to log in to the old portal. Change is good and it's great to see it continually evolving but it's sometimes hard to keep up with all the changes and to know which version of the portal you need to be working in.
  • It is dependent on your internet connection so if your current connection isn't fast, you could notice some lag and/or performance issues.
  • Documentation is sometimes lacking.
For us it has been well suited for moving single use servers to the cloud. We were able to quickly replicate some in-house servers and move their functionality to the new Azure hosted servers.

We have some servers that we haven't moved as of yet though because of concerns over the speed of the connection (i.e. opening large CAD files over the connection).
Read Sean Lavery's full review
Michele Coler profile photo
August 15, 2016

Microsoft Azure Review: "Azure....It's a good thing!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure services for our entire company. We have many users who are remote and it is a terrific way to collaborate. We love that we only have to pay for the capacity that we are actually using instead of having a rack of servers that aren't always being tapped, but are always running. It also saves on the costs of real estate for the server room and additional money that would have to be spent to upgrade and update the servers.
  • Capacity on demand: only pay for the space you need
  • Software licensing: It is cheaper to license and easier to license with cloud computing
  • Ease of Use: It is so easy to stand up applications on the cloud. The abilities for speed are far beyond that of on-premise.
  • Security: Although in reality it just a perceived issue that security is harder to manage in the cloud, the subject needs to be addressed and proven to not be a problem more often.
  • Old School Thinking: One of the biggest hindrances to the process. There are still people who just can't get their heads around Azure.
Microsoft Power BI, it is easier to set up and implement with SharePoint when you use Azure services. It allows for easier licensing: you can marry your SQL, SharePoint, Power BI licenses all into one place to purchase, implement and get them stood up and running as well.
Read Michele Coler's full review
Dominic Cheah profile photo
August 15, 2016

Microsoft Azure Review: "Windows Azure cloud solution is cool."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Azure was used (by the previous organization that I was at) for emails and also for engineering development purposes. The business problem was to work on developing a software solution that would run in the Azure cloud.
  • Windows Azure console was intuitive. Easy to pick up and start rolling the solution out.
  • I like the fact that if you were previously familiar with Windows AD, this was all very easy to use to manage user access and grant privileges to specific products.
  • Hassle free. For example, deploying a SQL servers were a cinch. There's no need to deal with prereq. especially if you want to quickly deploy and run dev tests etc.
  • Security can always be improved. No matter what cloud product we use, security is always paramount to ensure the adoption of a cloud solution.
Windows Azure is well suited for:
  • A corporate infrastructure that can be managed offsite (i.e. mail servers, etc).
  • Development and tests.
Read Dominic Cheah's full review
Matthew Hardesty profile photo
April 30, 2016

Microsoft Azure Review: "Easier to spin up VMs for your MySQL databases"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Internally, we have Ubuntu and Windows virtual machines deployed on Azure that support our hosting and internal application services (like JIRA and Confluence). We also use it for a variety of storage services. This helps us keep equipment costs at an overall minimum when compared to other hosting and virtual machine services.
  • Azure makes it very easy to spin up new websites with the web apps, virtual machines, sql databases, and more.
  • It's a great tool to test a prototype without committing to a hardware purchase.
  • The interface for browsing the available cloud services is very easy to use.
  • MySQL instances are provided by a third party. This is not covered by credit offered by programs like Microsoft BizSpark.
  • Billing status, while not obfuscated, is not always easy to see or predict.
  • Deleting a cloud instance can be cumbersome (and may take some time).
Azure can help agencies deploy cloud applications swiftly and maintain a great deal of control over configuration.
Read Matthew Hardesty's full review
Matthew Ambroziak profile photo
October 16, 2015

Microsoft Azure Review: "Great for Developers but Two management portals makes me want to break the screen"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement a cloud management platform and Windows Azure is one of the many cloud providers we integrate with. We deploy custom workloads to be provisioned which also integrate with configuration management solutions such as Puppet. It is used within our department only for testing and our clients use it for development workloads.
  • Easy to deploy workloads with Visual Studio.
  • Debugging is great with IntelliTrace integration.
  • The ability to switch deployment slots makes going live to production easy and seamless.
  • Setting up auto-scaling of instances isn't as nice and intuitive as AWS.
  • Storage groups isn't necessarily difficult to work with, but it's more complex than it has to be.
  • The two management portals (original and new) have disparate levels of functionality and is very confusing if you don't know which has what you are looking for. This will resolve it self in the distant future, but in a competitive space such as this it's a turn off compared to AWS.

It is well suited when subscribing to Microsoft solutions from the marketplace. It is also very strong from a development perspective and integration with Visual Studio 2010.

From a usability perspective... sad to say, but the interface is overwhelming for new users that just want to spin up virtual machines and making simple changes can throw errors on the screen. Changes take time to take effect, so its hard to zip around and do what you need to do.

Read Matthew Ambroziak's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (23)
8.3
Scalability (29)
8.4
Platform management overhead (27)
7.3
Workflow engine capability (23)
7.0
Platform access control (29)
8.2
Services-enabled integration (27)
7.8
Development environment creation (26)
8.3
Development environment replication (24)
8.1
Issue monitoring and notification (28)
7.4
Issue recovery (26)
7.4
Upgrades and platform fixes (28)
7.6

About Microsoft Azure

Windows Azure is a cloud computing platform and infrastructure for building, deploying and managing applications and services through a global network of Microsoft-managed datacenters.

Microsoft Azure Integrations

Stackify, APM+

Microsoft Azure Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No