Oracle APEX

Oracle APEX

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 9.1 out of 100
Oracle Application Express

Overview

Recent Reviews

Awesome APEX

10 out of 10
October 23, 2019
APEX is being used by our Financial department as well as HR supporting a variety of applications. It is a wonderful tool supporting a …
Continue reading

Snap! The future is here

10 out of 10
August 30, 2019
Oracle Application Express serves as a prime web and mobile application builder for our organisation. It is used internally to serve apps …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2019
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2018

Popular Features

View all 6 features

Reusability (21)

9.9
99%

Platform Security (21)

9.5
95%

Platform User Management (21)

9.1
91%

Drag-and-drop Interfaces (21)

7.6
76%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Oracle APEX, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Oracle APEX Application Development

$0.32

Cloud
OCPU per hour

Oracle Autonomous Transaction Processing - Exadata Storage

$118.40

Cloud
Terabyte storage capacity per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

Low-Code Development

9.3
93%

Product Details

What is Oracle APEX?

Oracle Application Express (APEX) Oracle APEX is a free feature of Oracle Database. It's an online low-code application builder that allows users to quickly develop a database-drive application, customize the application's UI, and then give their users access to the application via URL. Oracle APEX includes a suite of pre-built productivity applications and examples, such as a Survey Builder, Bug Tracking, P-Track project management, etc

Oracle APEX Competitors

Oracle APEX Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What are Oracle APEX's top competitors?

PostgreSQL are common alternatives for Oracle APEX.

What is Oracle APEX's best feature?

Reviewers rate Visual Modeling highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses Oracle APEX?

The most common users of Oracle APEX are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (94)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently we use Oracle Application Express in only one department, but looking at how easy and fast is to add more small apps solving different tasks I believe it will be broadly adopted by a large audience very shortly.
I want to share my experience in one app we did. We are maintaining a relatively large data warehouse, design in star schema. This was used as a source for few BI tools and standard reports presenting some parts of Data Warehouse, but there was always a need for people with no SQL knowledge to get look in some part of data warehouse not presented in existing reports and tools to explore new possibilities or just to verify data. So we need some kind of simple presentation layer that quickly and easily can expose the data model and provide access to end user where they can review data in form of tables or charts. APEX look like is the perfect environment for that.
Missing bit in APEX is built in functionality to define data model but that was easily solved by simple web forms where power user can define relations between fact and dimensions and store that metadata to enable dynamically SQL generation later by end users. The end users can generate dataset automatically using simple graphical interface, without the need to know SQL. Data presentation is power by a dynamically populated APEX interactive data grid. It appears that the solution was adopted by users well and we enriched it quite easily with adding functionality to organize access to app by user, roles and different permissions enabling user to share report definitions between them. This is app working internally but I created an instance of it in OCI where you can see how it works presenting a sample oracle star schema model.
https://simplebimple.com

Login with :
user: demo
pass: demo

  • Easily create web application
  • Rich , ready to use web interface components
  • Easy deploy and maintain application
  • Simple and powerful security configuration out of the box
  • Some of the configuration options are a bit hidden, probably a bit better organization of workspace and application settings would benefit development process
APEX is very well fit for solving fast some day to day activities in every organization.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At first, Oracle Application Express was used by only one department. However, after realizing the benefit, gradually it has been adopted by the whole organization. It addresses 90% of business cases, mostly on the operation and accounting side, such as building small ERP, workflow framework, tracking assets and licenses, issue tracking system, and also can be used to analyze and monitor various data, such as activity log and sales dashboard.
  • Fast. Nothing beats Oracle Application Express in terms of speed of development. Almost all common and must-have features for most application has been built into Oracle Application Express, and we only need to focus to the specific requirements.
  • Quality. Luckily, fast doesn't always translate to low quality. Even using basic wizard, within five minutes, we can build a quality application that has good security, a good user interface and good features, and this can be a very good standard for a company. It's not the best, but it's easy to tweak to achieve higher than standard quality.
  • Customization. The apps created are very customizable. You only need to understand Oracle SQL and PL/SQL, Javascript, and JQuery. Then, you can create nearly any application you have in mind.
  • Prototyping. When we are working for a client, sometimes it's hard to be on the same page when at first we only talk about the application concept. Using Oracle Application Express helps to create a prototype application and adjust it according to the client's input within minutes. This greatly helps bringing IT and non-IT clients on the same page faster.
  • It's tied up to Oracle Database only. If you don't have Oracle Database, forget Oracle Application Express.
  • I wish it has offline mode so it could be used in no-internet areas and sync it when it's back online.
  • It's not critical, but it would be nice if there were more choices of themes. I know Oracle Application Express has couple of themes, but in my opinion, currently only Universal Theme is the theme for Oracle Application Express.
The most suitable case for Oracle Application Express is any application, web desktop or mobile, that only needs to store and manipulate data in Oracle Database, and be accessed online all the time.

Other than that, avoid Oracle Application Express (e.g., apps which rely heavily to Javascript functionality, apps to analyze Twitter data, apps which need to manipulate OS files, apps to create complex and static reports).
No
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is being used by IT engineers. They build reports and small applications for our users in other departments, especially the marketing and financial departments.
  • Easy to use.
  • Easy to configure.
  • Easy for building reports.
  • Easy for building forms.
Oracle Application Express is good for easy and fast application and reports development. You can develop entire applications and you do not need another web server. However, you cannot access the source code of applications built in Oracle Application Express.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Lisandro Fernigrini | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Right now I created a small app to track pending/ongoing tasks using APEX on the newly available Oracle Cloud Free Tier. I decided to create it to simplify how I manage and execute my daily tasks in order to be able to both track advance and manage dependencies between tasks. I use Trello to keep boards with simple tasks but managing dependencies was something not simple to achieve, so I decided to try a solution that solved my problems while starting to use APEX.
  • The UI is very easy to use, and you can choose from a number of templates for each "screen" you design.
  • You can design basic CRUD screens without knowing the "details" (technology) under the hood.
  • It's easy to test. Just one click, and the page you are working on is executed.
  • Deployment on an OnPremise DB is not so simple. You need to follow many steps (that's why I used the Cloud version!).
I would definitively use APEX for small (department size) applications that can be developed and maintained by a small development team, without a complex design/develop/test/deploy process.
Also, to generate all basic CRUD on complex applications, rather than programming them using other languages (Java. c#, etc) and having more complex deployment processes.
Yes
I'm member of AROUG (Argentina Oracle User Group). As a member, I collaborate on the organization of events like the former OTN Tour (now Oracle Groundbreakers Tour) that visits Argentina each year. This allows me to interact with Oracle professionals from other parts of my country, and also with speakers that come from all around the world. It is a great experience that provides both "technical" knowledge but also a lot of new perspectives from people working in different countries.
I did not required support from Oracle, I used to community forums to get some details on specific things I wanted to do and was able to find what I was looking for.
October 23, 2019

Awesome APEX

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APEX is being used by our Financial department as well as HR supporting a variety of applications. It is a wonderful tool supporting a variety of interfaces.
  • Very rapid development of forms and reports.
  • Awesome GUI look and feel.
  • HTML 5 and CSS 3 compliant. The new version 19.2 now supports rest endpoints for forms and reports.
  • Integration with other databases like My SQL, etc.
Very well suited for medium enterprise applications.
Yes
ORacle users group
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First of all, it's very easy to use and within hours I can have an application made. I like that the interface is useable and easy to navigate. I also liked that there is a lot of configuration possibilities. I found a lot of plugins available for it, so it makes our development much easier.
  • Easy set-up.
  • Plugins.
  • Lot of configurable options.
  • Hard to use version control.
If you need rapid application development, this is the tool that you need. It is easy to use, and you can develop an application easily and fast. But they should really improve the version control, sometimes its hard to use.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express serves as a prime web and mobile application builder for our organisation. It is used internally to serve apps that we use on a daily basis and also build apps for clients. It has provided much needed security and a fast way to build apps by just focusing on the data, taking and presentation of that data to the client while still being fully integrated on the oracle platform with easy access to database and services.
  • Manages security well
  • Provides a responsive environment to build apps in
  • Easy connection to database services
  • Manages sessions very well
  • Javascript functionality
  • Mobile app development- more versatility required especially with the display of reports
  • More documentation that is easy to understand
  • More sample apps on configuration of services and authentication schemes
  • Make it easy to customize templates
  • More themes required
Best for web applications. Less appropriate, however, for mobile applications. Applications that deal with businesses are quite useful.
Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups
Oracle and MySQL groups.
I get the ability to gain a lot of experience from the great minds and also provide help to upcoming developers.
Christian Remy | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is used across the whole organization. We have a lot of simple report applications we use it for (A translation app, an administration app, and a lot more).
  • Easy to learn and to understand.
  • Low code. You can create really fast reports with just " SELECT * FROM TABLE".
  • People can work on reports simultaneously.
  • In Excel, you have to send the file via mail to other people and only one person can work it. Sometimes there are more than one version of this file. With Oracle, this does not happen.
  • Sorry but there are still no cons!
Oracle Application Express is great for small applications, where you have a few pages. You upload an excel file, create a interactive grid, create user authorization and everybody can work on this grid. You can develop an application in hours or a few days.

I think it's less appropriate when a customer has a lot of special front-end wishes. In this case, it would be better to start with Angular and generate the front-end all manually.
No
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Capturing, manipulating and enrichment of the data.
  • Creating screens for capturing the data takes less time.
  • Moving only few changes from 1 instance to another.
Capturing data and uploading documents. Easy design for the template.
No
Glenn Roberts III | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeeSar began using Oracle Application Express version 3.x in 2011 initially primarily for reporting, dashboarding, graphing in support of data warehouse/conversion processes toward migrating to more modern Oracle based systems supporting core operations. Since multiple applications have been created from small ancillary gap oriented to ones used across the whole organization supporting day-to-day mission critical business operations.
  • Oracle Application Express is tightly integrated with and thus leverages all the richness and power of the Oracle database - best RDBMS on the planet
  • Promotes declarative Rapid Application Development and thus provides tremendous business value by shortening development cycles
  • Can't think of any - the Application Express development team does a fantastic job adopting and supporting emerging trends with each new release.
  • Requires Oracle RDBMS; i.e., is not portable to other RDBMS platforms. On the surface this may seem like a con but it is as it should be - Oracle database is best RDBMS available and tight integration with Oracle RDBMS promotes creation of reliable performant apps.
It is appropriate for database application development supporting data driven processes, online transaction processing, BI/reports/analytics ... for addressing about any business data processing need I can think of. Oracle Application Express is fantastic for creating beautiful rich user interfaces with support for all major browsers rendering well on a range of devices. It is less appropriate for applications requiring native low level access to device peripherals and is less appropriate for applications that must execute offline without network/internet connection to supporting application and database servers.
Yes
I am a member of the ODTUG.

Worldwide Oracle APEX user community is a fantastic group of people, enthusiastic, passionate believers in this technology because it gets the job done and is a joy to work with!APEX community is active routinely sharing valuable knowledge to do with basic and advanced techniques, best practices and secrets for success.I've never found myself stumped unable to find some great help/assistance/example for even the most esoteric objective I might need to address.
Igor Filko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle APEX in production in over 10 applications across the whole organization. It has been implemented to serve various functions, from the web portal to the ticketing system. Calendar, business white and yellow pages, web portal, asset management, IT HelpDesk and ServiceDesk (ITIL) ticketing system, car reservations application, halls and rooms reservations application and more.
  • Extreme fast application build and production.
  • Single sign-on via multiple authentication sources.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • Easy to administer users.
  • Easy to administer authorizations.
  • Debugging on several layers.
  • Virtually everything is customizable.
  • Better CSS editing (WYSIWYG).
  • integrated URL masking or better integration via ORDS to make URL masking.
  • out-of-the-box ORDS load-balancing.
Although I don't utilize it very much, graphs seem less important but Oracle JET should give what you need.
Yes
I am a member of the Croatian Oracle User Group.
Boyd Timmerman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle APEX is used throughout the company on different levels. Within the company, APEX is used as a back-office management system, like registration of hours and billing. But also as a communication tool: the company news is spread through an APEX application. APEX is also used as one of the main tools to develop applications for our customers.
  • APEX is incorporated in the database, which gives it better performance then other tools.
  • Fast in implementing changes.
  • Out-of-the-box responsive applications thanks to the universal theme.
  • When you have an highly customized application upgrading can be a pain.
  • Single page applications are hard to build.
APEX is data-centric. When you have a data-driven company with large data flows, APEX is a great choice. Because APEX is installed directly in the database, the data is always available. The Universal Theme allows you to make responsive applications without the need to write extra code. So users can access the data even their phones/tablets when they're on location. Applications build with APEX are most of the times multi-page applications. Today single-page applications (SSA) are more popular. Building an SSA can be quite difficult with APEX.
No
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business has been using Oracle Forms for around 15 years for our in-house systems covering manufacturing, stock, transport, and sales activity. Oracle Application Express provides us with a low code and free means to modernize these systems, speeding up development in the process while reusing much of the existing code. It has also been used to replace legacy ASP sites and we are using ORDS as a means to provide REST services to an iPhone app used by our consultants.
  • Easy upgrade path from Forms, allowing reuse of code and a low learning curve for Forms developers.
  • Very quick to develop in. Ideal for prototyping or iterative development which is how we usually work.
  • Comes with cross browser and mobile compatibility out of the box.
  • Easy to incorporate other web technologies.
  • Development environment runs straight from a browser. This has proved to be a life saver when issues crop up on a weekend.
  • No built in printing solution for reports.
  • While being low code for many tasks, some web development skill is helpful for anything complex. I frequently need to use Javascript/CSS/HTML.
Oracle Application Express can essentially be used for any web application that needs to talk to an Oracle Database. Simple applications to view/edit data can be turned out in next to no time with the built-in reports allowing fine-grained control for the end user. It really shines when used for tasks such as dashboard management or basic manipulation of data, all of which can be done with next to no code.

For less standardized tasks, the architecture will allow the use of other web technologies. I have, for instance, incorporated Google Maps into Oracle Application Express in order to visually show data, such as the operating areas, for our consultants. Setting this up in the Application Express framework is relatively straightforward allowing me to concentrate on the heavy lifting in PL/SQL.

The only major area I've found that it isn't well suited in currently is outputting anything printable, typically requiring the use of some 3rd party hardware or Oracle BI (if money is no object). I have also run into issues when working with larger teams as it doesn't lend itself well to source control with all the pages being stored in the database itself.
No
Bernhard Fischer-Wasels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

tennisapp.bfw-design.de (Oracle APEX 4.2/5.2/18.2)

BIB-Lueneburg APP (Oracle APEX-Mobile)

BIB-Lüneburg - Fairground Booking system (Oracle APEX)

ESFA - Clubmember Administration and Bookkeeping (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2)

Facility Management with Financial Acconting (Oracle APEX 18.2)

KIS - Kundeninformationssystem (CRM + ERP + Controlling + HR) für Gutachterbüro - 200+ Mitarbeiter (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2)

Module: Enter Order (ERP), Sales (CRM), Controlling, Management/Reports, Training Planing, Complaint Management,
Vacation/Absence Administration with approval process and calendar visualisation
73 Tables, 309 pages, Accounting: hostet (cloud) application
In production sind August 2017 - daily entering of about 900-1000 orders by 200 employees, daily settlement.
Printing (PDF) based on Jasper-Reports.

Construction Company: Working hours collection/monitoring with Tablet/Smartphone inkcl. Interface to DATEV und external Salary calculation provider (Oracle APEX 18.2)

  • Ideal for quick prototyping
  • Ideal for quick amendments and enlargements
  • Numerous types of pages/regions (forms, lists, reports, diagrams)
  • Oracle JET integration
  • REST
  • Optional Jasper Reports integration (not OOTB)
  • Printing in good shape not so easy.
  • Diagrams, charts need more detailed explanation concerning the SQL queries needed (examples).
  • No more cons.
Almost any business requirement with data-centric aspects can be covered - no limitations.
ERP, CRM, HCM, Financials, mobile apps.
Yes
No - just meeetup.apex-hamburg and affiliated with DOAG.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm developing a new APEX application in order to cancel previous Oracle Forms applications and integrate some functionalities of another PHP application, to give users only one instrument.
  • Charts
  • Loading Excel files
  • Interactive reports and interactive grid
  • Automate email sending
  • Improve LOV features so that it could be more flexible
In our scenario, I think it is the best instrument for data correction and data validation.
No
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is the best solution for most customers I was working with over the last couple of years. If you need to create fast and intuitive applications for creating, editing or manipulating data in your Oracle Database - APEX is your tool to go with! Inside our consulting company, we're using APEX for vacation requests, travel requests and some service applications.
  • Rapid prototyping enables us to develop very fast.
  • Low code allows us to create applications in a declarative way without too much code written.
  • It's free!
  • You need to find ways to fulfill special customer requests that are not built in and a little bit more complex.
  • You need to have a running Oracle Database (possibly licensed if not XE).
Oracle Application Express is well suited if you have a big dataset which has to be visualized in a graphic manner or if you have to provide a good solution to create, edit or manipulate data by end-users in a web-application. It is also well suited if you need to create KPIs that might already be in place and they just have to be brought to the surface in the browser!
Yes
I am a member of the ODTUG.

The APEX user groups around the world are more than just 'there'. I'm actively contributing to ODTUG and DOAG and so are many many other people! If you need help - you get help from the community. This is by far the best community I've been involved in during my career.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization for the visualization of healthcare data. It makes date visible so employees can see trends and results in real-time.
  • Low code.
  • Runs on all devices.
  • Good charting and representation of data.
  • I can prepare some nice chart in seconds instead of using reports.
  • Trend and performance is visible in a scale from employees to organization.
  • Great productivity.
  • The interactive grid has great potential, but there's a lot of work to be done.
  • The interactive reports and interactive grid should share the same jet charts.
  • Easier integration of JET into APEX.
  • Tree grid.
  • The interactive grid would have easier navigation using the same principles as in interactive reports (filtering) when you navigate from page to page.
  • It would benefit from the possibility to print nice charts from IR or IG.
  • Needs a better choice of tool-tips.
It is very good when you have an application like Forms and need additional functionality (features) that you can't have in forms (dashboards, predefined IR with charts). It's a good use of external sources (web sources, REST API) and ata visualization. I haven't tried it yet, but I don't know how it functions in complex pages (a lot of client controls, few hundred fields). For example, we have physician reports or discharge summaries, and nurse documentation about the care of a patient.
Yes
They've had a great impact. I read everything developers write about APEX (apex.world, twitter, forums, etc.).Your list above is missing HrOUG (the Croatian oracle user group) and DOAG in Germany.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a renowned University and here, we build applications to attend to our clients that work in our department and our needs. Usually clients submit the desired project describing their needs on an Oracle Apex page, and after that we start to work on them. Even working in a small team, we build complex apps and make a difference.
  • Develop solutions faster
  • Everything can be done in a browser
  • Immediate Results
  • Version control
  • Oracle Dependency
No matter where you live, you can build scalable, secure enterprise apps. If you want to work in the same workspace as your team, you will need an Internet connection.
Yes
I am a member of the Oracle Applications Users Group.

The group is great, people help each other, and even give ready solutions.
Roel Hartman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express (APEX) is used by my organization to solve business problems for other organizations. APEX enables us to create data-centric web applications using a low-code development tool. Developed applications are fast, responsive, scalable and secure.
The business problems are totally diverse, ranging from HR, CRM, ERP, mobile apps and portals.
APEX is mostly used in an environment where an Oracle database is already present -- that could be for developing in-house applications, or hosting Oracle's own ERP systems like Oracle E-Business Suite or any other Fusion product. APEX is the tool of choice if you want to build extensions or customizations to these standard applications.
And APEX is by design "cloud ready" -- it always has been and will always be.
  • Fast development due to the low code approach.
  • Responsive out of the box due to the built-in Universal Theme.
  • Cloud enabled by design. You can build applications only using a web browser.
  • Scalable: if it runs inside the Oracle database, it uses the full power of that database.
  • Free: it is a no-cost option for the Oracle database.
  • It runs everywhere where Oracle runs, from a small (free) XE database on your laptop, to an Exadata machine.
  • The only languages you need to know are SQL and PL/SQL. Some JavaScript and CSS knowledge might be handy but not strictly necessary.
  • Version control. As all metadata is stored in the database, there are no files to store in a GIT or Subversion repository (unless you export from the database).
  • Lock in: you are locked in into the Oracle database, and that's why it is mostly used in an environment where that database is already present.
  • Oracle is not "popular" at the moment, so the average developer is somewhat older than the regular (JavaScript) developer.
It's well suited if you need to display (or enter/change) data from an Oracle database. If you (or your customer) think you definitely need a native app, then it is not a good fit. Creating a dashboard with different kinds of charts and KPI's is easy using APEX. If you need a real data-mining solution, then you better switch to Oracle Analytics. As APEX offers an easy interface for RESTful services, you can also create forms, reports, and charts upon any RESTful service that's available on the internet -- either within or outside your organization.
Yes
I am a member of the ODTUG and NL Oracle User Group.

NL Oracle User Group organises a yearly two-day event: APEX World. This is (still) the largest APEX-only event in the world with around 350 attendees. ODTUG offers webinars around APEX, and has around 45 APEX related sessions at its yearly conference in the USA. Both user groups do an excellent job in building the community.
February 11, 2019

Oracle Express

Jesse Boring | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole company. It is used for authentication and security purposes. It makes sure that we are all verified in each system that we access. It allows our developers to focus on the task at hand thanks to the suite of sample and productivity applications.
  • Eliminates the complexity involved with multi-faceted web applications.
  • Oracle Express supports enhanced productivity in low code apps.
  • It requires no complex build scripts to operate.
  • The software supports effortless customization and design.
  • Lack of a native app.
  • Installation time can be improved, it takes a while to download.
We have converted a lot of old SharePoint processes to Apex applications. We are developing new applications using this tool. Most of the applications are being utilized to transition old processes to make them more efficient. The worst part of the software is having to strictly follow the structure, we cannot put as many columns and items as we would like and we would enjoy that customization.
Yes
I am a member of the Atlanta Java User Group.

I am not a member of other user groups but have talked to some people who are. They enjoy how this product combines easily with theirs to make work easier on them.
Mathieu Meeuwissen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use APEX as the frontend application for our custom ERP system. In the old days we used Oracle Forms/Designer as our application. Nowadays we are migrating the Forms to APEX step by step, because we want to modernize the applications.
  • Development is done quickly. Any change to the application can be seen immediately. No generation time needed.
  • Compared to Oracle Forms/Designer this saves a lot of time.
  • The use of CSS and javascript to beautify the layout is easy.
  • There is a large community where you can ask questions or read about how other developerS solved certain issues.
  • Also the Oracle APEX team itself can be reached quite easily.
  • They listen carefully to the suggestions of their users.
  • As you have a lot of freedom where to put your code or how you code it, it is important to think well about standarisation.
  • Version control must be done in a separate tool like Subversion.
If you need an application linked to an Oracle database, use APEX.
Yes
I am a member of the Oracle Gebruikersclub Holland.

The usergroup organises every year a huge two days conference about Oracle in The Netherlands. The best place to meet your fellow developers and the APEX team members.
Katy A. Gray, M.S., PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses it for an employee tracking and data analysis system. HR has main access to all employees, with other managers having limited access to just their direct reports. We also use it for compensation analysis and reporting. I also use it to ensure that those employees who are listed as active and are not paid are either put in a leave status or terminated.
  • Organization - it helps streamline employee information.
  • User-friendly - very simple to use once you are trained on it.
  • Timely - system works quickly and efficiently.
  • Reporting - you have to use a certain code to run reports, and the reports will fail if you don't use the proper coding when requesting them.
  • System crashes - our server goes down once or twice a week.
  • Searching for employees - we can only search by last name, and sometimes it does not recognize the name the first time you enter it.
I feel like this system works well for most lines of business. It may not work well for organizations that only have a few people, but it is great when your organization is larger and/or spread out across multiple states. It allows for team members to have networking in that aspect.
No
Ryan Payne | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express can be used to serve many areas of the business and provide additional functionality for many applications. It is also robust enough to act as a standalone application platform. I have personally implemented it as a standalone inmate information management system. Employee survey and enrollment forms, accounting transaction entry and vendor information portal.
  • Lightweight
  • Flexible in it capabilities and uses.
  • Quick to learn with any Oracle or database background.
  • Easy to develop in.
  • Some specific utilities are not well documented.
  • Plugins could be expanded.
If a company is has a need to extend an existing Oracle rep, cis, CRM or other large platform. Also if a company has Oracle-familiar resources and would like to build their own applications or modules to interact with another application.
Yes
I am a member of the Northwest Oracle Users Group.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle Application Express for the improvements of our Business.The tool is being used in several departments to access different systems. The use of Oracle APEX has replaced use of paper-based and spreadsheet-based checking of data on a day to day basis.
  • Oracle APEX can be used as good replacement for Excel data entry sheets.
  • It provides high level of security about their personal information.
  • It is very easy to install.
  • As it is Oracle-specific, it is not suitable for other databases.
  • Everything is stored online, if there is no internet we can't access the tool.
Oracle APEX is a Versatile tool. Though it is database specific, it can be used with many other different technologies. Also, it is accessible from browser as well as mobile.
No
Federico Shortrede | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using APEX to develop extensions and improvements for our ERP, eBusiness Suite. The functionality developed with these tools is being used in different departments, including production, quality, reception of raw materials, etc. For instance, we have developed data entry forms, quick reports, functionality to declare industrial production, among other things.
  • It is an easy tool to adopt, which allowed us to replace developments in Oracle Forms in many cases.
  • It is very simple to develop different kinds of analysis, in a faster and more friendly way than running Oracle Reports.
  • It helped us to extend our approval workflow, in order to cope with difficult branches that were hard to solve with the standard workflow.
  • It was possible to develop web applications, to share information and transactions with our commercial partners.
  • Perhaps is our problem, since we haven’t explored it deeply, but I think that a better portability to mobile devices would help the adoption of APEX.
  • Applications weren’t as light as we thought, and we had to move the APEX server to the same data center where our data base was running, due to performance issues. When we started, we supposed that that situation would not be an issue.
  • At least in Argentina and Brazil, you can not find as many programmers with experience in APEX as you can find with other technologies.
It is a nice and inexpensive tool, ideal to extend the functionality of the systems, and offer users good reports, graphics and easy-to-use applications, developed with speed and low maintenance cost. We don’t use it when we have to customize standard processes in our ERP, mainly because we are SOX compliant, and it is more difficult to us to prove our auditors that we respect and accomplish with all the validations and controls they demand.
No