TrustRadius
https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/5z/eP/10TQLRGR6TE9.PNGBe a Rock Star Developer with Oracle RAD StackLeeSar began using Oracle Application Express version 3.x in 2011 initially primarily for reporting, dashboarding, graphing in support of data warehouse/conversion processes toward migrating to more modern Oracle based systems supporting core operations. Since multiple applications have been created from small ancillary gap oriented to ones used across the whole organization supporting day-to-day mission critical business operations.,Oracle Application Express is tightly integrated with and thus leverages all the richness and power of the Oracle database - best RDBMS on the planet Promotes declarative Rapid Application Development and thus provides tremendous business value by shortening development cycles,Can't think of any - the Application Express development team does a fantastic job adopting and supporting emerging trends with each new release. Requires Oracle RDBMS; i.e., is not portable to other RDBMS platforms. On the surface this may seem like a con but it is as it should be - Oracle database is best RDBMS available and tight integration with Oracle RDBMS promotes creation of reliable performant apps.,10,There have been numerous cases where solution development using Oracle's "RAD Stack" (ORDS, RDBMS & APEX) has saved many ten's of thousands of dollars in cost that would have otherwise been incurred by following vendor recommendation and/or other alternatives. Impact on overall business objectives has been completely positive: low cost of maintenance, seamless easy upgrades, reduced development time,Yes,,Visual Studio IDE, Oracle SQL DeveloperAPEX covers all - quick and efficient development and implementationtennisapp.bfw-design.de (Oracle APEX 4.2/5.2/18.2)BIB-Lueneburg APP (Oracle APEX-Mobile) BIB-Lüneburg - Fairground Booking system (Oracle APEX)ESFA - Clubmember Administration and Bookkeeping (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2) Facility Management with Financial Acconting (Oracle APEX 18.2) KIS - Kundeninformationssystem (CRM + ERP + Controlling + HR) für Gutachterbüro - 200+ Mitarbeiter (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2)Module: Enter Order (ERP), Sales (CRM), Controlling, Management/Reports, Training Planing, Complaint Management, Vacation/Absence Administration with approval process and calendar visualisation 73 Tables, 309 pages, Accounting: hostet (cloud) application In production sind August 2017 - daily entering of about 900-1000 orders by 200 employees, daily settlement. Printing (PDF) based on Jasper-Reports. Construction Company: Working hours collection/monitoring with Tablet/Smartphone inkcl. Interface to DATEV und external Salary calculation provider (Oracle APEX 18.2),Ideal for quick prototyping Ideal for quick amendments and enlargements Numerous types of pages/regions (forms, lists, reports, diagrams) Oracle JET integration REST Optional Jasper Reports integration (not OOTB),Printing in good shape not so easy. Diagrams, charts need more detailed explanation concerning the SQL queries needed (examples). No more cons.,10,Positive: quick development and delivery. Positive: inbuilt documentation. Positive: can be used in the cloud. Positive: can be accessed from anyware in the world (if Internet connection).,Yes,Oracle BPM Suite, Oracle Database and Oracle WebCenter Portal,AWS IoT, WordPress, SQL DeveloperOracle APEX or Oracle Climax?We use Oracle APEX in production in over 10 applications across the whole organization. It has been implemented to serve various functions, from the web portal to the ticketing system. Calendar, business white and yellow pages, web portal, asset management, IT HelpDesk and ServiceDesk (ITIL) ticketing system, car reservations application, halls and rooms reservations application and more.,Extreme fast application build and production. Single sign-on via multiple authentication sources. Easy to maintain. Easy to administer users. Easy to administer authorizations. Debugging on several layers. Virtually everything is customizable.,Better CSS editing (WYSIWYG). integrated URL masking or better integration via ORDS to make URL masking. out-of-the-box ORDS load-balancing.,10,Only positive. How about building your own application with your own specs in a matter of days for free instead of buying some software which you either have to pay for customization or get stuck with what you buy? No need for outsourcing. Runs on already existing infrastructure.,Yes,Toad for Oracle, Oracle Database 12c and Oracle SQL Developer,Toad for Oracle, Oracle SQL DeveloperOracle Application Express: the pinnacle of data driven softwareOracle APEX is used throughout the company on different levels. Within the company, APEX is used as a back-office management system, like registration of hours and billing. But also as a communication tool: the company news is spread through an APEX application. APEX is also used as one of the main tools to develop applications for our customers.,APEX is incorporated in the database, which gives it better performance then other tools. Fast in implementing changes. Out-of-the-box responsive applications thanks to the universal theme.,When you have an highly customized application upgrading can be a pain. Single page applications are hard to build.,9,The time to market has improved significantly.,No,OutSystems,Oracle SQL Developer, Sublime TextWith low code high productivityIt is used across the whole organization for the visualization of healthcare data. It makes date visible so employees can see trends and results in real-time.,Low code. Runs on all devices. Good charting and representation of data. I can prepare some nice chart in seconds instead of using reports. Trend and performance is visible in a scale from employees to organization. Great productivity.,The interactive grid has great potential, but there's a lot of work to be done. The interactive reports and interactive grid should share the same jet charts. Easier integration of JET into APEX. Tree grid. The interactive grid would have easier navigation using the same principles as in interactive reports (filtering) when you navigate from page to page. It would benefit from the possibility to print nice charts from IR or IG. Needs a better choice of tool-tips.,9,The ROI has been only positive. It is one very compact BI for free. Employees who are responsible for various processes in an organization can follow the data in real-time and make decisions. Physicians and nurses can analyze diseases, the use of drugs, LOS, waiting times for the ER, and other expenses.,Yes,Oracle DatabaseLow code development that flies high : Oracle Application ExpressOracle Application Express (APEX) is used by my organization to solve business problems for other organizations. APEX enables us to create data-centric web applications using a low-code development tool. Developed applications are fast, responsive, scalable and secure. The business problems are totally diverse, ranging from HR, CRM, ERP, mobile apps and portals. APEX is mostly used in an environment where an Oracle database is already present -- that could be for developing in-house applications, or hosting Oracle's own ERP systems like Oracle E-Business Suite or any other Fusion product. APEX is the tool of choice if you want to build extensions or customizations to these standard applications. And APEX is by design "cloud ready" -- it always has been and will always be.,Fast development due to the low code approach. Responsive out of the box due to the built-in Universal Theme. Cloud enabled by design. You can build applications only using a web browser. Scalable: if it runs inside the Oracle database, it uses the full power of that database. Free: it is a no-cost option for the Oracle database. It runs everywhere where Oracle runs, from a small (free) XE database on your laptop, to an Exadata machine. The only languages you need to know are SQL and PL/SQL. Some JavaScript and CSS knowledge might be handy but not strictly necessary.,Version control. As all metadata is stored in the database, there are no files to store in a GIT or Subversion repository (unless you export from the database). Lock in: you are locked in into the Oracle database, and that's why it is mostly used in an environment where that database is already present. Oracle is not "popular" at the moment, so the average developer is somewhat older than the regular (JavaScript) developer.,9,As web applications can be built much faster (about 10x faster than using plain Java or JavaScript) we have way more value for the buck. All Oracle developers are already familiar with SQL and PL/SQL, so switching to APEX was easy -- it's a very efficient learning curve. The tool is available on Oracle free of charge. So there are no additional or hidden costs!,Yes,Oracle APEX, build with loveOracle Application Express is used across the whole organization. We have a lot of simple report applications we use it for (A translation app, an administration app, and a lot more).,Easy to learn and to understand. Low code. You can create really fast reports with just " SELECT * FROM TABLE". People can work on reports simultaneously. In Excel, you have to send the file via mail to other people and only one person can work it. Sometimes there are more than one version of this file. With Oracle, this does not happen.,Sorry but there are still no cons!,9,When a department gets in touch with Oracle Application Express, they love it and they have a lot of business cases & applications they want it for. The development speed is incredible.,No,Angular JSVery satisfied with APEXI'm developing a new APEX application in order to cancel previous Oracle Forms applications and integrate some functionalities of another PHP application, to give users only one instrument.,Charts Loading Excel files Interactive reports and interactive grid,Automate email sending Improve LOV features so that it could be more flexible,9,It has a fantastic productivity,No,,SQL DeveloperThe ideal tool for quickly creating web applications on an Oracle database.Our business has been using Oracle Forms for around 15 years for our in-house systems covering manufacturing, stock, transport, and sales activity. Oracle Application Express provides us with a low code and free means to modernize these systems, speeding up development in the process while reusing much of the existing code. It has also been used to replace legacy ASP sites and we are using ORDS as a means to provide REST services to an iPhone app used by our consultants.,Easy upgrade path from Forms, allowing reuse of code and a low learning curve for Forms developers. Very quick to develop in. Ideal for prototyping or iterative development which is how we usually work. Comes with cross browser and mobile compatibility out of the box. Easy to incorporate other web technologies. Development environment runs straight from a browser. This has proved to be a life saver when issues crop up on a weekend.,No built in printing solution for reports. While being low code for many tasks, some web development skill is helpful for anything complex. I frequently need to use Javascript/CSS/HTML.,9,It has increased our development output over Forms greatly. For instance, when starting at my current company, I was able to replace our aging ASP Intranet site within 4 months when our IT manager had budgeted over a year for the task. We've been able to standardize under one technology, incorporating previously unsupportable disparate systems under one roof. It's free with an Oracle Database so the only investment was our time, something we now have more of thanks to Application Express.,No,Oracle DatabaseOracle Apex - You need to try itI work for a renowned University and here, we build applications to attend to our clients that work in our department and our needs. Usually clients submit the desired project describing their needs on an Oracle Apex page, and after that we start to work on them. Even working in a small team, we build complex apps and make a difference.,Develop solutions faster Everything can be done in a browser Immediate Results,Version control Oracle Dependency,10,If you are a small company, it's better to host your application elsewhere You develop fast, so you can have more projects Everything can be done by web Apps can be accessed on any device,Yes,SQL Developer, Slack, Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Gitlab, TIBCO JaspersoftFast, cheap, and easy application developmentFirst of all, it's very easy to use and within hours I can have an application made. I like that the interface is useable and easy to navigate. I also liked that there is a lot of configuration possibilities. I found a lot of plugins available for it, so it makes our development much easier.,Easy set-up. Plugins. Lot of configurable options.,Hard to use version control.,10,Positive ROI in that it is a quick development tool. Cheaper development process. It is a free tool so we do not incur extra costs and we solve quickly. Positive ROI in that we own the tool as a consequence of using Oracle RDBMS.,No,Oracle Java SE,Oracle SQL Developer, Oracle Java SE, MySQLAwesome APEXAPEX is being used by our Financial department as well as HR supporting a variety of applications. It is a wonderful tool supporting a variety of interfaces.,Very rapid development of forms and reports. Awesome GUI look and feel. HTML 5 and CSS 3 compliant. The new version 19.2 now supports rest endpoints for forms and reports.,Integration with other databases like My SQL, etc.,9,I think overall positive impact as the application was very rapid.,Yes,Oracle Warehouse Builder and Oracle eBusiness Suite,Oracle eBusiness SuiteSnap! The future is hereOracle Application Express serves as a prime web and mobile application builder for our organisation. It is used internally to serve apps that we use on a daily basis and also build apps for clients. It has provided much needed security and a fast way to build apps by just focusing on the data, taking and presentation of that data to the client while still being fully integrated on the oracle platform with easy access to database and services.,Manages security well Provides a responsive environment to build apps in Easy connection to database services Manages sessions very well,Javascript functionality Mobile app development- more versatility required especially with the display of reports More documentation that is easy to understand More sample apps on configuration of services and authentication schemes Make it easy to customize templates More themes required,10,Great return on investment Able to meet objectives with apps being rolled out faster Satisfying customers daily,Not yet, but I'm interested in Oracle user groups,Oracle Data Visualization Cloud,Oracle Visual Builder Cloud, Oracle Data Visualization Cloud, Oracle Cloud Infrastructure (OCI)Exhilarating Trip to the Apex WorldCapturing, manipulating and enrichment of the data.,Creating screens for capturing the data takes less time.,Moving only few changes from 1 instance to another.,9,Helps maintain scalabilty.,No,Beehive Enterprise Collaboration Server,AT&T Synaptic Storage as a ServiceHonest, enthusiastic and right on the point!Oracle Application Express is the best solution for most customers I was working with over the last couple of years. If you need to create fast and intuitive applications for creating, editing or manipulating data in your Oracle Database - APEX is your tool to go with! Inside our consulting company, we're using APEX for vacation requests, travel requests and some service applications.,Rapid prototyping enables us to develop very fast. Low code allows us to create applications in a declarative way without too much code written. It's free!,You need to find ways to fulfill special customer requests that are not built in and a little bit more complex. You need to have a running Oracle Database (possibly licensed if not XE).,10,We've had a great ROI. Almost no software costs besides our existing database. Fast development with very little man power.,Yes,WordPress and MS SharePoint,Microsoft Visual Studio CodeOracle APEX: off the shelf extensibilityOracle Application Express can be used to serve many areas of the business and provide additional functionality for many applications. It is also robust enough to act as a standalone application platform. I have personally implemented it as a standalone inmate information management system. Employee survey and enrollment forms, accounting transaction entry and vendor information portal.,Lightweight Flexible in it capabilities and uses. Quick to learn with any Oracle or database background. Easy to develop in.,Some specific utilities are not well documented. Plugins could be expanded.,8,Increased capabilities. Increased business efficiency. Reduced maintenance cost.,Yes,MS SharePoint, Microsoft Application Server and Oracle E-Business Suite Procurement Contracts,Oracle Planning and Budgeting CloudAPEX: A versatile development platform, ideal for developing or improving applications at low costWe are using APEX to develop extensions and improvements for our ERP, eBusiness Suite. The functionality developed with these tools is being used in different departments, including production, quality, reception of raw materials, etc. For instance, we have developed data entry forms, quick reports, functionality to declare industrial production, among other things.,It is an easy tool to adopt, which allowed us to replace developments in Oracle Forms in many cases. It is very simple to develop different kinds of analysis, in a faster and more friendly way than running Oracle Reports. It helped us to extend our approval workflow, in order to cope with difficult branches that were hard to solve with the standard workflow. It was possible to develop web applications, to share information and transactions with our commercial partners.,Perhaps is our problem, since we haven’t explored it deeply, but I think that a better portability to mobile devices would help the adoption of APEX. Applications weren’t as light as we thought, and we had to move the APEX server to the same data center where our data base was running, due to performance issues. When we started, we supposed that that situation would not be an issue. At least in Argentina and Brazil, you can not find as many programmers with experience in APEX as you can find with other technologies.,9,Easy and fast adoption It allowed us to shorten the development deadlines. It had no impact on our budget, beyond a training course for our programmers.,No,SQL DeveloperOracle - Recommended for Professionals Like YouMy company uses it for an employee tracking and data analysis system. HR has main access to all employees, with other managers having limited access to just their direct reports. We also use it for compensation analysis and reporting. I also use it to ensure that those employees who are listed as active and are not paid are either put in a leave status or terminated.,Organization - it helps streamline employee information. User-friendly - very simple to use once you are trained on it. Timely - system works quickly and efficiently.,Reporting - you have to use a certain code to run reports, and the reports will fail if you don't use the proper coding when requesting them. System crashes - our server goes down once or twice a week. Searching for employees - we can only search by last name, and sometimes it does not recognize the name the first time you enter it.,7,It's made it to where we can track our employees in a more efficient manner. We are able to run reports to help with various metrics for our employees. Implementing Oracle has allowed for an across the board efficiency with employee maintenance.,No,iCIMS Talent Acquisition Software Suite, UltiPro, Microsoft Office 365, Skype for BusinessOracle ExpressIt is being used across the whole company. It is used for authentication and security purposes. It makes sure that we are all verified in each system that we access. It allows our developers to focus on the task at hand thanks to the suite of sample and productivity applications.,Eliminates the complexity involved with multi-faceted web applications. Oracle Express supports enhanced productivity in low code apps. It requires no complex build scripts to operate. The software supports effortless customization and design.,Lack of a native app. Installation time can be improved, it takes a while to download.,8,It has helped us keep track of things that need to be done a lot easier and we are able to better manage our time.,Yes,Oracle PeopleSoft HCMUsing Oracle APEX is the way to goIn our company we use APEX as the frontend application for our custom ERP system. In the old days we used Oracle Forms/Designer as our application. Nowadays we are migrating the Forms to APEX step by step, because we want to modernize the applications.,Development is done quickly. Any change to the application can be seen immediately. No generation time needed. Compared to Oracle Forms/Designer this saves a lot of time. The use of CSS and javascript to beautify the layout is easy. There is a large community where you can ask questions or read about how other developerS solved certain issues. Also the Oracle APEX team itself can be reached quite easily. They listen carefully to the suggestions of their users.,As you have a lot of freedom where to put your code or how you code it, it is important to think well about standarisation. Version control must be done in a separate tool like Subversion.,9,The user interface is more friendly with APEX compared to Oracle Forms Development is done more quickly Old fashion SQL/PL/SQL developers can easily learn to code APEX applications. It is way easier than learning JAVA,Yes,,Toad for Oracle, Apache Subversion, JIRA Software, Atlassian ConfluenceOracle APEX: A quick tool for building responsive Web pagesWe used Oracle Application Express for the improvements of our Business.The tool is being used in several departments to access different systems. The use of Oracle APEX has replaced use of paper-based and spreadsheet-based checking of data on a day to day basis.,Oracle APEX can be used as good replacement for Excel data entry sheets. It provides high level of security about their personal information. It is very easy to install.,As it is Oracle-specific, it is not suitable for other databases. Everything is stored online, if there is no internet we can't access the tool.,7,Well, for the new users license is free and comes with Oracle database. It is very easy to learn and use.,No,Oracle API Manager and Oracle Database,Oracle API Manager, Oracle DatabaseAPEX can do it for you!We have an APEX application that serves the entire research administration organization across the UC Berkeley campus. Contracts and grants funding projections are created in APEX. The application pulls data from our HR system, to assist users with creating accurate projections. It automatically calculates benefits on personnel and indirect cost recovery. It saves TONS of time over the Excel projection models of the past. The data is viewable instantly in OBIEE reports.,Allow you to use data from your Oracle Database to pre-fill forms or reports. It allows you to write data back to the Oracle Database. It is extremely fast! We have over 100 concurrent users in our APEX application and never get complaints about performance. It is highly configurable and can be used to create all kinds of different applications.,You can only use APEX if you own Oracle Database.,10,We were able to reduce our research administration organization by 8 FTE when we implemented the APEX projection system to replace manual Excel work. APEX enabled the campus to standardize the creation of research spending projections based on HR data. APEX allows reporting users to view updated projections in real time.,Yes,PeopleSoft Financials, Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance ManagementOracle APEX is the apex of software database environmentsWe started using Oracle APEX as a quick means of getting a user application platform up and running once we switched to a more robust database system. Our department was the one to set it up and implement it; though, it was being used across the entire organization to access the different systems we had.,Very easy to create a dashboard-like app platform with minimal coding knowledge. Implementation went off without any issues and the connected systems worked very well. Users can create their own reports very easily.,While we were transitioning to more Oracle based services, we did find that APEX was locked to only Oracle products. So if you are not fully committed, it will have limited functionality. No version control and so make sure to keep communication open between developers.,10,Smooth transition between systems with no lag time or decrease in report delivery. Customer and end-user satisfaction surveys increased 15% in positive feedback,YesDesign and develop dynamic data driven appsWe have used Oracle Application Express to design and develop dynamic and responsive web applications that heavily rely on an underlying database. We have used as we are upgrading our system to perform better.,Support for dynamic data driven applications Easy connection to SIS Helpful support team,Steep learning curve,9,Improved reliability on the platform Improved scalability of applications,NoAPEX? Live happy, deploy happy!We use APEX for internal applications that provide services to users within the institution.We used APEX to implement systems that would solve the problems, for example, lack of internal controls, lack of indicators that show the amount of work performed through informal requests by email or phone calls.Due to the high level of requests, a web tool was chosen to allow the design, development, and deployment of applications quickly and agilely. Without incurring excessive licensing costs, we take advantage of the fact that APEX is a tool that is part of the internal Oracle database engine, so its use does not imply any extra cost than what we currently pay for support.,It's free: it can be used with the different versions of the ORACLE database including the Express Edition. It has authentication and authorization features within the development environment, which is totally web. High availability in environments with Oracle RAC. Installation and configuration of APEX are simple. No extensive programming experience is required, the interface is very intuitive and there is a lot of information on the web and on the official site of Oracle. It allows exporting interactive reports to different formats: PPT, PDF, HTML, among others. The ability to include graphs for the dashboard simulation is very attractive and quite complete, up to the level of simulating a drill-down, by clicking on a portion of the graph to redirect to a detail table.,Developing collaboratively can be a challenge because there is no version at the level of pages or applications. There is an opportunity for improvement in the way data is exported from the interactive report to PowerPoint format. Improve the way to optimize the performance of the application in the database separately from the engine.,10,Incredibly beneficial because we are getting a double benefit of the payment for the support of the licenses of the Oracle databases that we have in place. It is a free tool so we do not incur extra costs and we solve quickly.,No,Oracle Java SEUnspecified
Oracle Application Express
68 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Oracle APEX Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Oracle APEX
68 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.8 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Glenn Roberts III profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
LeeSar began using Oracle Application Express version 3.x in 2011 initially primarily for reporting, dashboarding, graphing in support of data warehouse/conversion processes toward migrating to more modern Oracle based systems supporting core operations. Since multiple applications have been created from small ancillary gap oriented to ones used across the whole organization supporting day-to-day mission critical business operations.
  • Oracle Application Express is tightly integrated with and thus leverages all the richness and power of the Oracle database - best RDBMS on the planet
  • Promotes declarative Rapid Application Development and thus provides tremendous business value by shortening development cycles
  • Can't think of any - the Application Express development team does a fantastic job adopting and supporting emerging trends with each new release.
  • Requires Oracle RDBMS; i.e., is not portable to other RDBMS platforms. On the surface this may seem like a con but it is as it should be - Oracle database is best RDBMS available and tight integration with Oracle RDBMS promotes creation of reliable performant apps.
It is appropriate for database application development supporting data driven processes, online transaction processing, BI/reports/analytics ... for addressing about any business data processing need I can think of. Oracle Application Express is fantastic for creating beautiful rich user interfaces with support for all major browsers rendering well on a range of devices. It is less appropriate for applications requiring native low level access to device peripherals and is less appropriate for applications that must execute offline without network/internet connection to supporting application and database servers.
Read Glenn Roberts III's full review
Bernhard Fischer-Wasels profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

tennisapp.bfw-design.de (Oracle APEX 4.2/5.2/18.2)

BIB-Lueneburg APP (Oracle APEX-Mobile)

BIB-Lüneburg - Fairground Booking system (Oracle APEX)

ESFA - Clubmember Administration and Bookkeeping (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2)

Facility Management with Financial Acconting (Oracle APEX 18.2)

KIS - Kundeninformationssystem (CRM + ERP + Controlling + HR) für Gutachterbüro - 200+ Mitarbeiter (Oracle APEX 5.2/18.2)

Module: Enter Order (ERP), Sales (CRM), Controlling, Management/Reports, Training Planing, Complaint Management,
Vacation/Absence Administration with approval process and calendar visualisation
73 Tables, 309 pages, Accounting: hostet (cloud) application
In production sind August 2017 - daily entering of about 900-1000 orders by 200 employees, daily settlement.
Printing (PDF) based on Jasper-Reports.

Construction Company: Working hours collection/monitoring with Tablet/Smartphone inkcl. Interface to DATEV und external Salary calculation provider (Oracle APEX 18.2)

  • Ideal for quick prototyping
  • Ideal for quick amendments and enlargements
  • Numerous types of pages/regions (forms, lists, reports, diagrams)
  • Oracle JET integration
  • REST
  • Optional Jasper Reports integration (not OOTB)
  • Printing in good shape not so easy.
  • Diagrams, charts need more detailed explanation concerning the SQL queries needed (examples).
  • No more cons.
Almost any business requirement with data-centric aspects can be covered - no limitations.
ERP, CRM, HCM, Financials, mobile apps.
Read Bernhard Fischer-Wasels's full review
Igor Filko profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Oracle APEX in production in over 10 applications across the whole organization. It has been implemented to serve various functions, from the web portal to the ticketing system. Calendar, business white and yellow pages, web portal, asset management, IT HelpDesk and ServiceDesk (ITIL) ticketing system, car reservations application, halls and rooms reservations application and more.
  • Extreme fast application build and production.
  • Single sign-on via multiple authentication sources.
  • Easy to maintain.
  • Easy to administer users.
  • Easy to administer authorizations.
  • Debugging on several layers.
  • Virtually everything is customizable.
  • Better CSS editing (WYSIWYG).
  • integrated URL masking or better integration via ORDS to make URL masking.
  • out-of-the-box ORDS load-balancing.
Although I don't utilize it very much, graphs seem less important but Oracle JET should give what you need.
Read Igor Filko's full review
Boyd Timmerman profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle APEX is used throughout the company on different levels. Within the company, APEX is used as a back-office management system, like registration of hours and billing. But also as a communication tool: the company news is spread through an APEX application. APEX is also used as one of the main tools to develop applications for our customers.
  • APEX is incorporated in the database, which gives it better performance then other tools.
  • Fast in implementing changes.
  • Out-of-the-box responsive applications thanks to the universal theme.
  • When you have an highly customized application upgrading can be a pain.
  • Single page applications are hard to build.
APEX is data-centric. When you have a data-driven company with large data flows, APEX is a great choice. Because APEX is installed directly in the database, the data is always available. The Universal Theme allows you to make responsive applications without the need to write extra code. So users can access the data even their phones/tablets when they're on location. Applications build with APEX are most of the times multi-page applications. Today single-page applications (SSA) are more popular. Building an SSA can be quite difficult with APEX.
Read Boyd Timmerman's full review
Ozren Pestic profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the whole organization for the visualization of healthcare data. It makes date visible so employees can see trends and results in real-time.
  • Low code.
  • Runs on all devices.
  • Good charting and representation of data.
  • I can prepare some nice chart in seconds instead of using reports.
  • Trend and performance is visible in a scale from employees to organization.
  • Great productivity.
  • The interactive grid has great potential, but there's a lot of work to be done.
  • The interactive reports and interactive grid should share the same jet charts.
  • Easier integration of JET into APEX.
  • Tree grid.
  • The interactive grid would have easier navigation using the same principles as in interactive reports (filtering) when you navigate from page to page.
  • It would benefit from the possibility to print nice charts from IR or IG.
  • Needs a better choice of tool-tips.
It is very good when you have an application like Forms and need additional functionality (features) that you can't have in forms (dashboards, predefined IR with charts). It's a good use of external sources (web sources, REST API) and ata visualization. I haven't tried it yet, but I don't know how it functions in complex pages (a lot of client controls, few hundred fields). For example, we have physician reports or discharge summaries, and nurse documentation about the care of a patient.
Read Ozren Pestic's full review
Roel Hartman profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express (APEX) is used by my organization to solve business problems for other organizations. APEX enables us to create data-centric web applications using a low-code development tool. Developed applications are fast, responsive, scalable and secure.
The business problems are totally diverse, ranging from HR, CRM, ERP, mobile apps and portals.
APEX is mostly used in an environment where an Oracle database is already present -- that could be for developing in-house applications, or hosting Oracle's own ERP systems like Oracle E-Business Suite or any other Fusion product. APEX is the tool of choice if you want to build extensions or customizations to these standard applications.
And APEX is by design "cloud ready" -- it always has been and will always be.
  • Fast development due to the low code approach.
  • Responsive out of the box due to the built-in Universal Theme.
  • Cloud enabled by design. You can build applications only using a web browser.
  • Scalable: if it runs inside the Oracle database, it uses the full power of that database.
  • Free: it is a no-cost option for the Oracle database.
  • It runs everywhere where Oracle runs, from a small (free) XE database on your laptop, to an Exadata machine.
  • The only languages you need to know are SQL and PL/SQL. Some JavaScript and CSS knowledge might be handy but not strictly necessary.
  • Version control. As all metadata is stored in the database, there are no files to store in a GIT or Subversion repository (unless you export from the database).
  • Lock in: you are locked in into the Oracle database, and that's why it is mostly used in an environment where that database is already present.
  • Oracle is not "popular" at the moment, so the average developer is somewhat older than the regular (JavaScript) developer.
It's well suited if you need to display (or enter/change) data from an Oracle database. If you (or your customer) think you definitely need a native app, then it is not a good fit. Creating a dashboard with different kinds of charts and KPI's is easy using APEX. If you need a real data-mining solution, then you better switch to Oracle Analytics. As APEX offers an easy interface for RESTful services, you can also create forms, reports, and charts upon any RESTful service that's available on the internet -- either within or outside your organization.
Read Roel Hartman's full review
Christian Remy profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is used across the whole organization. We have a lot of simple report applications we use it for (A translation app, an administration app, and a lot more).
  • Easy to learn and to understand.
  • Low code. You can create really fast reports with just " SELECT * FROM TABLE".
  • People can work on reports simultaneously.
  • In Excel, you have to send the file via mail to other people and only one person can work it. Sometimes there are more than one version of this file. With Oracle, this does not happen.
  • Sorry but there are still no cons!
Oracle Application Express is great for small applications, where you have a few pages. You upload an excel file, create a interactive grid, create user authorization and everybody can work on this grid. You can develop an application in hours or a few days.

I think it's less appropriate when a customer has a lot of special front-end wishes. In this case, it would be better to start with Angular and generate the front-end all manually.
Read Christian Remy's full review
Fabrizio Delli Priscoli profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm developing a new APEX application in order to cancel previous Oracle Forms applications and integrate some functionalities of another PHP application, to give users only one instrument.
  • Charts
  • Loading Excel files
  • Interactive reports and interactive grid
  • Automate email sending
  • Improve LOV features so that it could be more flexible
In our scenario, I think it is the best instrument for data correction and data validation.
Read Fabrizio Delli Priscoli's full review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our business has been using Oracle Forms for around 15 years for our in-house systems covering manufacturing, stock, transport, and sales activity. Oracle Application Express provides us with a low code and free means to modernize these systems, speeding up development in the process while reusing much of the existing code. It has also been used to replace legacy ASP sites and we are using ORDS as a means to provide REST services to an iPhone app used by our consultants.
  • Easy upgrade path from Forms, allowing reuse of code and a low learning curve for Forms developers.
  • Very quick to develop in. Ideal for prototyping or iterative development which is how we usually work.
  • Comes with cross browser and mobile compatibility out of the box.
  • Easy to incorporate other web technologies.
  • Development environment runs straight from a browser. This has proved to be a life saver when issues crop up on a weekend.
  • No built in printing solution for reports.
  • While being low code for many tasks, some web development skill is helpful for anything complex. I frequently need to use Javascript/CSS/HTML.
Oracle Application Express can essentially be used for any web application that needs to talk to an Oracle Database. Simple applications to view/edit data can be turned out in next to no time with the built-in reports allowing fine-grained control for the end user. It really shines when used for tasks such as dashboard management or basic manipulation of data, all of which can be done with next to no code.

For less standardized tasks, the architecture will allow the use of other web technologies. I have, for instance, incorporated Google Maps into Oracle Application Express in order to visually show data, such as the operating areas, for our consultants. Setting this up in the Application Express framework is relatively straightforward allowing me to concentrate on the heavy lifting in PL/SQL.

The only major area I've found that it isn't well suited in currently is outputting anything printable, typically requiring the use of some 3rd party hardware or Oracle BI (if money is no object). I have also run into issues when working with larger teams as it doesn't lend itself well to source control with all the pages being stored in the database itself.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work for a renowned University and here, we build applications to attend to our clients that work in our department and our needs. Usually clients submit the desired project describing their needs on an Oracle Apex page, and after that we start to work on them. Even working in a small team, we build complex apps and make a difference.
  • Develop solutions faster
  • Everything can be done in a browser
  • Immediate Results
  • Version control
  • Oracle Dependency
No matter where you live, you can build scalable, secure enterprise apps. If you want to work in the same workspace as your team, you will need an Internet connection.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First of all, it's very easy to use and within hours I can have an application made. I like that the interface is useable and easy to navigate. I also liked that there is a lot of configuration possibilities. I found a lot of plugins available for it, so it makes our development much easier.
  • Easy set-up.
  • Plugins.
  • Lot of configurable options.
  • Hard to use version control.
If you need rapid application development, this is the tool that you need. It is easy to use, and you can develop an application easily and fast. But they should really improve the version control, sometimes its hard to use.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 18, 2019

Awesome APEX

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APEX is being used by our Financial department as well as HR supporting a variety of applications. It is a wonderful tool supporting a variety of interfaces.
  • Very rapid development of forms and reports.
  • Awesome GUI look and feel.
  • HTML 5 and CSS 3 compliant. The new version 19.2 now supports rest endpoints for forms and reports.
  • Integration with other databases like My SQL, etc.
Very well suited for medium enterprise applications.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express serves as a prime web and mobile application builder for our organisation. It is used internally to serve apps that we use on a daily basis and also build apps for clients. It has provided much needed security and a fast way to build apps by just focusing on the data, taking and presentation of that data to the client while still being fully integrated on the oracle platform with easy access to database and services.
  • Manages security well
  • Provides a responsive environment to build apps in
  • Easy connection to database services
  • Manages sessions very well
  • Javascript functionality
  • Mobile app development- more versatility required especially with the display of reports
  • More documentation that is easy to understand
  • More sample apps on configuration of services and authentication schemes
  • Make it easy to customize templates
  • More themes required
Best for web applications. Less appropriate, however, for mobile applications. Applications that deal with businesses are quite useful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Capturing, manipulating and enrichment of the data.
  • Creating screens for capturing the data takes less time.
  • Moving only few changes from 1 instance to another.
Capturing data and uploading documents. Easy design for the template.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express is the best solution for most customers I was working with over the last couple of years. If you need to create fast and intuitive applications for creating, editing or manipulating data in your Oracle Database - APEX is your tool to go with! Inside our consulting company, we're using APEX for vacation requests, travel requests and some service applications.
  • Rapid prototyping enables us to develop very fast.
  • Low code allows us to create applications in a declarative way without too much code written.
  • It's free!
  • You need to find ways to fulfill special customer requests that are not built in and a little bit more complex.
  • You need to have a running Oracle Database (possibly licensed if not XE).
Oracle Application Express is well suited if you have a big dataset which has to be visualized in a graphic manner or if you have to provide a good solution to create, edit or manipulate data by end-users in a web-application. It is also well suited if you need to create KPIs that might already be in place and they just have to be brought to the surface in the browser!
Read this authenticated review
Ryan Payne profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle Application Express can be used to serve many areas of the business and provide additional functionality for many applications. It is also robust enough to act as a standalone application platform. I have personally implemented it as a standalone inmate information management system. Employee survey and enrollment forms, accounting transaction entry and vendor information portal.
  • Lightweight
  • Flexible in it capabilities and uses.
  • Quick to learn with any Oracle or database background.
  • Easy to develop in.
  • Some specific utilities are not well documented.
  • Plugins could be expanded.
If a company is has a need to extend an existing Oracle rep, cis, CRM or other large platform. Also if a company has Oracle-familiar resources and would like to build their own applications or modules to interact with another application.
Read Ryan Payne's full review
Federico Shortrede profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using APEX to develop extensions and improvements for our ERP, eBusiness Suite. The functionality developed with these tools is being used in different departments, including production, quality, reception of raw materials, etc. For instance, we have developed data entry forms, quick reports, functionality to declare industrial production, among other things.
  • It is an easy tool to adopt, which allowed us to replace developments in Oracle Forms in many cases.
  • It is very simple to develop different kinds of analysis, in a faster and more friendly way than running Oracle Reports.
  • It helped us to extend our approval workflow, in order to cope with difficult branches that were hard to solve with the standard workflow.
  • It was possible to develop web applications, to share information and transactions with our commercial partners.
  • Perhaps is our problem, since we haven’t explored it deeply, but I think that a better portability to mobile devices would help the adoption of APEX.
  • Applications weren’t as light as we thought, and we had to move the APEX server to the same data center where our data base was running, due to performance issues. When we started, we supposed that that situation would not be an issue.
  • At least in Argentina and Brazil, you can not find as many programmers with experience in APEX as you can find with other technologies.
It is a nice and inexpensive tool, ideal to extend the functionality of the systems, and offer users good reports, graphics and easy-to-use applications, developed with speed and low maintenance cost. We don’t use it when we have to customize standard processes in our ERP, mainly because we are SOX compliant, and it is more difficult to us to prove our auditors that we respect and accomplish with all the validations and controls they demand.
Read Federico Shortrede's full review
Katy A. Gray, M.S., PHR profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company uses it for an employee tracking and data analysis system. HR has main access to all employees, with other managers having limited access to just their direct reports. We also use it for compensation analysis and reporting. I also use it to ensure that those employees who are listed as active and are not paid are either put in a leave status or terminated.
  • Organization - it helps streamline employee information.
  • User-friendly - very simple to use once you are trained on it.
  • Timely - system works quickly and efficiently.
  • Reporting - you have to use a certain code to run reports, and the reports will fail if you don't use the proper coding when requesting them.
  • System crashes - our server goes down once or twice a week.
  • Searching for employees - we can only search by last name, and sometimes it does not recognize the name the first time you enter it.
I feel like this system works well for most lines of business. It may not work well for organizations that only have a few people, but it is great when your organization is larger and/or spread out across multiple states. It allows for team members to have networking in that aspect.
Read Katy A. Gray, M.S., PHR's full review
Jesse Boring profile photo
February 11, 2019

Oracle Express

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the whole company. It is used for authentication and security purposes. It makes sure that we are all verified in each system that we access. It allows our developers to focus on the task at hand thanks to the suite of sample and productivity applications.
  • Eliminates the complexity involved with multi-faceted web applications.
  • Oracle Express supports enhanced productivity in low code apps.
  • It requires no complex build scripts to operate.
  • The software supports effortless customization and design.
  • Lack of a native app.
  • Installation time can be improved, it takes a while to download.
We have converted a lot of old SharePoint processes to Apex applications. We are developing new applications using this tool. Most of the applications are being utilized to transition old processes to make them more efficient. The worst part of the software is having to strictly follow the structure, we cannot put as many columns and items as we would like and we would enjoy that customization.
Read Jesse Boring's full review
Mathieu Meeuwissen profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our company we use APEX as the frontend application for our custom ERP system. In the old days we used Oracle Forms/Designer as our application. Nowadays we are migrating the Forms to APEX step by step, because we want to modernize the applications.
  • Development is done quickly. Any change to the application can be seen immediately. No generation time needed.
  • Compared to Oracle Forms/Designer this saves a lot of time.
  • The use of CSS and javascript to beautify the layout is easy.
  • There is a large community where you can ask questions or read about how other developerS solved certain issues.
  • Also the Oracle APEX team itself can be reached quite easily.
  • They listen carefully to the suggestions of their users.
  • As you have a lot of freedom where to put your code or how you code it, it is important to think well about standarisation.
  • Version control must be done in a separate tool like Subversion.
If you need an application linked to an Oracle database, use APEX.
Read Mathieu Meeuwissen's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Oracle Application Express for the improvements of our Business.The tool is being used in several departments to access different systems. The use of Oracle APEX has replaced use of paper-based and spreadsheet-based checking of data on a day to day basis.
  • Oracle APEX can be used as good replacement for Excel data entry sheets.
  • It provides high level of security about their personal information.
  • It is very easy to install.
  • As it is Oracle-specific, it is not suitable for other databases.
  • Everything is stored online, if there is no internet we can't access the tool.
Oracle APEX is a Versatile tool. Though it is database specific, it can be used with many other different technologies. Also, it is accessible from browser as well as mobile.
Read this authenticated review
Teal Sexton profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have an APEX application that serves the entire research administration organization across the UC Berkeley campus. Contracts and grants funding projections are created in APEX. The application pulls data from our HR system, to assist users with creating accurate projections. It automatically calculates benefits on personnel and indirect cost recovery. It saves TONS of time over the Excel projection models of the past. The data is viewable instantly in OBIEE reports.
  • Allow you to use data from your Oracle Database to pre-fill forms or reports.
  • It allows you to write data back to the Oracle Database.
  • It is extremely fast! We have over 100 concurrent users in our APEX application and never get complaints about performance.
  • It is highly configurable and can be used to create all kinds of different applications.
  • You can only use APEX if you own Oracle Database.
If you use Oracle Database and want to create an application that uses your data, this is a free development tool and it's amazing what it can do.
Read Teal Sexton's full review
Joseph R. Sweeney profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using Oracle APEX as a quick means of getting a user application platform up and running once we switched to a more robust database system. Our department was the one to set it up and implement it; though, it was being used across the entire organization to access the different systems we had.
  • Very easy to create a dashboard-like app platform with minimal coding knowledge.
  • Implementation went off without any issues and the connected systems worked very well.
  • Users can create their own reports very easily.
  • While we were transitioning to more Oracle based services, we did find that APEX was locked to only Oracle products. So if you are not fully committed, it will have limited functionality.
  • No version control and so make sure to keep communication open between developers.
We needed an app system pronto and so with our switch to Oracle it worked out perfectly for us. We had been developing our database systems beforehand and so we were ready for the roll out without having to add any additional time or stress. APEX would not be well suited to any company that is not wholly committed to Oracle, though.
Read Joseph R. Sweeney's full review
Mwangi Wanjohi profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Oracle Application Express to design and develop dynamic and responsive web applications that heavily rely on an underlying database. We have used as we are upgrading our system to perform better.
  • Support for dynamic data driven applications
  • Easy connection to SIS
  • Helpful support team
  • Steep learning curve
Oracle Application Express is best suited for web applications that are data-driven, requires high reliability and intended to be scalable.
Read Mwangi Wanjohi's full review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use APEX for internal applications that provide services to users within the institution.
We used APEX to implement systems that would solve the problems, for example, lack of internal controls, lack of indicators that show the amount of work performed through informal requests by email or phone calls.
Due to the high level of requests, a web tool was chosen to allow the design, development, and deployment of applications quickly and agilely. Without incurring excessive licensing costs, we take advantage of the fact that APEX is a tool that is part of the internal Oracle database engine, so its use does not imply any extra cost than what we currently pay for support.
  • It's free: it can be used with the different versions of the ORACLE database including the Express Edition.
  • It has authentication and authorization features within the development environment, which is totally web.
  • High availability in environments with Oracle RAC.
  • Installation and configuration of APEX are simple.
  • No extensive programming experience is required, the interface is very intuitive and there is a lot of information on the web and on the official site of Oracle.
  • It allows exporting interactive reports to different formats: PPT, PDF, HTML, among others. The ability to include graphs for the dashboard simulation is very attractive and quite complete, up to the level of simulating a drill-down, by clicking on a portion of the graph to redirect to a detail table.
  • Developing collaboratively can be a challenge because there is no version at the level of pages or applications.
  • There is an opportunity for improvement in the way data is exported from the interactive report to PowerPoint format.
  • Improve the way to optimize the performance of the application in the database separately from the engine.
I would recommend it completely if you need the production of functional sites quickly. Simple approvals flow through different hierarchical levels can be simulated through groups and roles, but if the need is more complex flows for robust systems, I would advise opting for other programming frameworks.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (17)
7.5
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (17)
7.7
Platform Security (17)
8.3
Platform User Management (17)
8.6
Reusability (17)
8.6
Platform Scalability (17)
8.4

About Oracle APEX

Oracle Application Express (APEX) Oracle APEX is a free feature of Oracle Database. It's an online low-code application builder that allows users to quickly develop a database-drive application, customize the application's UI, and then give their users access to the application via URL. Oracle APEX includes a suite of pre-built productivity applications and examples, such as a Survey Builder, Bug Tracking, P-Track project management, etc.
Categories:  Low-Code Development

Oracle APEX Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No