TrustRadius
Pingdom, from Solarwinds since the May 2017 acquisition, is a website monitoring tool for maintaining uptime and measuring website performance, with website visitor / user data and analytics as well.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/2P/X2/NVR74W9228EV.pngMakes sure your sites are up as they should be!Our service providers use Pingdom to monitor website availability and up times and the impact various 3rd parties that aid our website operation have one this. For example, we were recently able to see that one of our CDN accelerators were causing down times on one of our websites and we could take the reports out of Pingdom to prove this.,User-friendly Screens Flexible reports Tracks website up time,Additional reports Historical view/ reports of up to 6 years Weekly/Monthly report from Pingdom to users and clients alike showing up times etc,7,Excellent site monitoring allowing us to take necessary steps instantly to address outage or downtimes, thus keeping steady up time for our website customers Detailed enough to get reasons of outages, which then lets us liaise with 3rd parties if necessary and to even get compensations in the event of missing SLAs Negative: we still need to rely on our technical team to understand the reports from Pingdom,New Relic and statusok,Qubit, RichRelevance, Salesforce Commerce CloudFirst line of defenseI used Pingdom at Qwiki where we added checks for various endpoints to ensure uptime and reasonable response times. It is by far the most simple monitoring tool. It doesn't provide you all the details an internal monitoring tool can provide but for most part, it's a good must have due to ease of setup and maintenance (or lack of!).,simple endpoint checks no maintenance on your end it works,keep it simple and don't add new things,9,It alerted us when the servers were down.,,PagerDuty, NagiosHighly available website monitoring at a reasonable price.We'd had issues with our website going down and no one knowing about it until someone called in to complain. We set up Pingdom to monitor the website and alert us whenever there was a problem so that we could address it quickly and make sure that our website was always available.,Website Monitoring Alerting Tracking Multiple Websites,I wish it was a bit cheaper, but it's not a terrible price for the service they offer. No real functionality complaints, it did what we needed it to do.,10,Increased website availability. Decrease response time Improve customer satisfaction due to higher website availability.,,OpenNMS, Zabbix, BMC Remedy IT Service Management SuitePingdom may be for you, if you need its featuresWe host many product and custom websites. We utilize Pingdom to confirm that websites we host are available to our customers. We have configured Pingdom to browse website URLs and look for specific text in the response. If Pingdom does not find the specified text in the response it sends an email to the appropriate stakeholders. We also use the monthly report Pingdom emails us to confirm our customer service level agreements are being met.,Simple website monitoring setup Simple failed monitor alert setup Meaningful online and emailed reports Full-featured API Responsive billing and technical support,Lacks monitoring servers in Asia-Pacific Features rolled-out without proper communication SMS functionality unreliable,4,Improved website up time Improved website dependency tracking and reporting Reduced operations website issue troubleshooting time Improved service level agreement reporting,,5,7,6,6Pingdom is indispensable!Pingdom is used by many departments within our organization for front-line monitoring of core public-facing services. It's often the first notice when something goes down.,Real-time monitoring of availability of important services Early notice 24/7 of potential problems Notifications to multiple destinations,Fewer restrictions on free demo service,9,Faster reaction to downed services, especially off-hours Shortens time to get services restored and staff on site Front-end users are effected for shorter durations,10
Unspecified
Pingdom
20 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
TRScore

Pingdom Reviews

Pingdom
20 Ratings
Score 7.6 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 20 vetted Pingdom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-7 of 7)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
February 01, 2018

Pingdom Review: "Makes sure your sites are up as they should be!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our service providers use Pingdom to monitor website availability and up times and the impact various 3rd parties that aid our website operation have one this. For example, we were recently able to see that one of our CDN accelerators were causing down times on one of our websites and we could take the reports out of Pingdom to prove this.
  • User-friendly Screens
  • Flexible reports
  • Tracks website up time
  • Additional reports
  • Historical view/ reports of up to 6 years
  • Weekly/Monthly report from Pingdom to users and clients alike showing up times etc
Pingdom is appropriate for site monitoring, website up times, website speed, DNS checks and also the convenience of accessing this on mobile apps. Its suitable for a support team, but it could be improved to make it more suitable for business users alike by having a skimmed version of it with less technical detailing and more layman-friendly reporting.
Read this authenticated review
July 15, 2016

Pingdom Review: "First line of defense"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Pingdom at Qwiki where we added checks for various endpoints to ensure uptime and reasonable response times.

It is by far the most simple monitoring tool. It doesn't provide you all the details an internal monitoring tool can provide but for most part, it's a good must have due to ease of setup and maintenance (or lack of!).
  • simple endpoint checks
  • no maintenance on your end
  • it works
  • keep it simple and don't add new things
It's the first line of defense for knowing when your endpoints aren't accessible.
Read Tommy Chheng's full review
December 14, 2015

Pingdom Review: "Highly available website monitoring at a reasonable price."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We'd had issues with our website going down and no one knowing about it until someone called in to complain. We set up Pingdom to monitor the website and alert us whenever there was a problem so that we could address it quickly and make sure that our website was always available.
  • Website Monitoring
  • Alerting
  • Tracking Multiple Websites
  • I wish it was a bit cheaper, but it's not a terrible price for the service they offer.
  • No real functionality complaints, it did what we needed it to do.
Pingdon was well suited to website monitoring and alerting. We were able to quickly identify the issues once we knew about them, but the hardest part was actually finding something that would notify us when there was a problem so that we could have the appropriate resources take a look at the website to figure out what the problem was.
Read Michael Wiley's full review
November 11, 2015

Review: "Pingdom may be for you, if you need its features"

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We host many product and custom websites. We utilize Pingdom to confirm that websites we host are available to our customers. We have configured Pingdom to browse website URLs and look for specific text in the response. If Pingdom does not find the specified text in the response it sends an email to the appropriate stakeholders. We also use the monthly report Pingdom emails us to confirm our customer service level agreements are being met.
  • Simple website monitoring setup
  • Simple failed monitor alert setup
  • Meaningful online and emailed reports
  • Full-featured API
  • Responsive billing and technical support
  • Lacks monitoring servers in Asia-Pacific
  • Features rolled-out without proper communication
  • SMS functionality unreliable
Pingdom is terrific for monitoring a website and alerting stakeholders. Pingdom recently added features for real-user monitoring and incident tracking that have made this core functionality less intuitive to setup. Additionally, the monitoring dashboard is terribly slow, puts down checks below up checks in the list and reapplies search criteria causing confusion.
Read Ted White's full review
September 29, 2014

User Review: "Pingdom is indispensable!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pingdom is used by many departments within our organization for front-line monitoring of core public-facing services. It's often the first notice when something goes down.
  • Real-time monitoring of availability of important services
  • Early notice 24/7 of potential problems
  • Notifications to multiple destinations
  • Fewer restrictions on free demo service
Pingdom is well suited to almost all network services environments.
Read Verdon Vaillancourt's full review
April 16, 2014

User Review: "Pingdom"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were able to write and build our own, very powerful monitoring solution that gives us deep application health checks with the use of Pingdom. It is being used across the entire company to make sure that vital public facing applications are up and running.
  • Alerting is very powerful, Email and SMS alerts help drive time to resolution down.
  • Monitoring is completely configurable, offering multiple ways of checking services at various intervals.
  • Extensible through their API's that they have opened up allows you to write your own custom dashboards with ease.
  • Pausing and unpausing alerts allows you to have maintenance windows that do not affect your uptime.
  • Some features like managing user groups are sometimes hard to find and configure properly.
  • Over the last 4 years I have noticed some small anomalies in monitoring data.
Pingdom is great at monitoring websites and other public facing web applications at a decent price. They use multiple nodes across the world to ensure that there is not a network problem on their end effecting your uptime negatively. In the event that they do detect a problem they alert the necessary people and automatically start running their own tests such as DNS Resolution, Trace routes, and content retrieval to help you diagnose what the exact problem is.
Read Britt Gresham's full review
July 25, 2016

Pingdom Review: "Handles Basics Well"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Pingdom to monitor over 40 different websites all on different servers. The websites had some fragile points that would cause them to either go down or slow down under certain circumstances.
  • Let's me know when my site is down and back up.
  • Quick view of response time to see if servers are responding as expected
  • Provides a quick way to check the status of many different sites compared to doing it manually.
  • Font looks poor on linux/chrome. It appears to be the font "Pingvetica" causing issues.
  • Website loads slowly at times.
  • Would be nice to be made more aware of new features as they are added to Pingdom.
It is well suited for monitoring the uptime of a website and also for notifying of outages. It handles this well because there are many servers from around the world constantly checking if your website is up and running. It is also good for monitoring if services are up for a website, it can check for a string on a custom webpage that might hit your database, queue manager, etc. It is not well suited as a way to inform users of outages and reasons of the outage. It is also not well suited for monitoring the overall health of a server (disk space, cpu usage, memory usage, etc).
Read this authenticated review

About Pingdom

Pingdom, from Solarwinds since the May 2017 acquisition, is a website monitoring tool for maintaining uptime and measuring website performance, with website visitor / user data and analytics as well.
Categories:  System Monitoring

Pingdom Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

Pingdom Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No