TrustRadius
Datadog is a monitoring service for IT, Dev and Ops teams who write and run applications at scale, and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools and services into actionable insight.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/GT/VA/JE9H8ZIFRSGR.PNGDatadog Can Lead the PackDatadog is currently used by the Operations departments (DevOps and ProdOps) to monitor application performance, create dashboards to analyze the performance in real time when trying to debug issues, and trigger alerts in situations where manual intervention is needed. As a cloud-centric product, Datadog fits well into the organization and has very low operational overhead.,Monitoring application performance Easy to read and modify dashboards Lightweight agent on machines,Speed/performance of monitoring agents (reducing delays) Easier configuration of alerts (including moving averages, etc. so that the math becomes easier) Improved security (custom certificates, pinning, etc.),7,Improved monitoring capability has lead to reduced downtime. Historical performance searching capability has decreased debug times. Graphing options has lead to decreased report generation times.,New Relic APM,Sumo Logic, Terraform, NS1Datadog toolDatadog is implemented as APM of choice for our organization at the platform level. Any team across the company opting to use the platform gets Datadog to gain insights into the platform with metrics like ELB, container & network stats, memory usage etc. This integration comes out of the box for the clients which they can use for monitoring their services,Easy to setup and use offers wide variety of integrations with third-party services and systems Cheaper than competitors,No custom query language which can be handy Initial setup and configuration can be painful at the start Additional reporting capabilities missing,9,It helps in maintaining our service SLA Has been easy on wallet to the company,New Relic APM and Splunk Enterprise,New Relic APM, Splunk Enterprise, Microsoft AzureSimplest UI in monitoring market and tool than enchances constanlty for usersWe are Premium MSP partner for AWS so our DevOps engineers, Managers user them, We also have a product for Cloud Management Platform where we are working on parsing information from Datadog to our SaaS platform to present monitoring data much graphically.,Monitors resource metrics well always prompt simple UI customizations available for metric visualization,no Oracle integration increased data retention of metrics Support for more custom intergrations like Kubernetes etc. go easy on pricing a bit!,8,Good user managment Monitor to any level Provide good insights to catering customers,Opsview Enterprise and Nagios,Nagios, Splunk Enterprise, Opsview EnterpriseGreat tool in a complex architecture worldDatadog is being used in the whole company to monitor all the instances we have. Used to be in private cloud and now it is used in AWS instances also.,Datadog is great for monitoring CPU, memory and all the resources Combined with New Relic and Opsgenie you have all the alerts you need Datadog has a long time history to compare over time,Sometimes the graphics are a little bit confusing,10,We cannot be so confident in our infrastructure whitout datadog It is very trustworthy Very useful for detecting memory leaks,,OpsGenie, New Relic APM, New Relic Browser, New Relic InsightsWatch and monitor clustered applications easilyIt's being used by all engineers. We have scaled our e-commerce, and Datadog makes easier to look at each cluster. One great point of Datadog is how easy it is to identify an unhealthy box. Also, another great one, is to watch important metrics like CPU and memory. It's way easier to watch it on Datadog rather than AWS itself.,Monitoring unhealthy box instances Watch CPU usage Watch Memory Usage,Monitoring logging issue. To do that, we need other kinds of tool, such as Splunk. It takes a time to create a dashboard from scratch. It's easy to set up by a senior user, but it is not for beginners.,9,Aggregate info in a way to make quick decisions It makes it easier to watch important metrics from each instance,New Relic and App Dynamic,New Relic APM, AppDynamics
Windows, Linux, Mac, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS/RedHat, Fedora, CoreOS, Docker, Kubernetes, Openshift, SmartOS, Chef, Puppet, Ansible
Datadog
30 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Datadog Reviews

Datadog
30 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 30 vetted Datadog reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-9 of 9)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Stephen Groat profile photo
September 25, 2018

User Review: "Datadog Can Lead the Pack"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is currently used by the Operations departments (DevOps and ProdOps) to monitor application performance, create dashboards to analyze the performance in real time when trying to debug issues, and trigger alerts in situations where manual intervention is needed. As a cloud-centric product, Datadog fits well into the organization and has very low operational overhead.
  • Monitoring application performance
  • Easy to read and modify dashboards
  • Lightweight agent on machines
  • Speed/performance of monitoring agents (reducing delays)
  • Easier configuration of alerts (including moving averages, etc. so that the math becomes easier)
  • Improved security (custom certificates, pinning, etc.)
Datadog is very well suited for cloud-centric customers that are looking for an agent-based performance monitoring solution. While a lot of configuration and work must be done to turn Datadog into a true application monitoring and performance solution, the flexibility that the tool offers is great for organizations with creative engineers. The price and configuration can be very "right" for this solution.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Rahul Narula profile photo
August 04, 2018

User Review: "Datadog tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is implemented as APM of choice for our organization at the platform level. Any team across the company opting to use the platform gets Datadog to gain insights into the platform with metrics like ELB, container & network stats, memory usage etc. This integration comes out of the box for the clients which they can use for monitoring their services
  • Easy to setup and use
  • offers wide variety of integrations with third-party services and systems
  • Cheaper than competitors
  • No custom query language which can be handy
  • Initial setup and configuration can be painful at the start
  • Additional reporting capabilities missing
We are using Datadog to send Hystrix metrics of various service there and had setup various monitors and alerts which alerts on any underlying issue ahead of time before a major failure. Also created a dashboard quite similar to Hystrix Dashboard with ability to look back in time. It has worked well for us.
Read Rahul Narula's full review
Girivaru Tarun profile photo
August 04, 2018

Datadog Review: "Simplest UI in monitoring market and tool than enchances constanlty for users"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are Premium MSP partner for AWS so our DevOps engineers, Managers user them, We also have a product for Cloud Management Platform where we are working on parsing information from Datadog to our SaaS platform to present monitoring data much graphically.
  • Monitors resource metrics well
  • always prompt
  • simple UI
  • customizations available for metric visualization
  • no Oracle integration
  • increased data retention of metrics
  • Support for more custom intergrations like Kubernetes etc.
  • go easy on pricing a bit!
Datadog is best for evaluating performance of applications and identifying bottlenecks. It has support for custom metrics. It has a good UI and constant enrichment of feature set which helps admins and users solve infrastructure issues quickly. Compared to 2-3 years before Datadog now has significant change and is well suited to the cloud environment. Improving very fast. Good job!

Sometime the agent has issues and causes CPU spikes but was fixable.
Read Girivaru Tarun's full review
Mariano Koldobsky profile photo
March 23, 2018

Datadog Review: "Great tool in a complex architecture world"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is being used in the whole company to monitor all the instances we have.
Used to be in private cloud and now it is used in AWS instances also.
  • Datadog is great for monitoring CPU, memory and all the resources
  • Combined with New Relic and OpsGenie you have all the alerts you need
  • Datadog has a long time history to compare over time
  • Sometimes the graphics are a little bit confusing
It succeeded in complex architecture and infrastructure
Read Mariano Koldobsky's full review
No photo available
April 13, 2018

Datadog Review: "Watch and monitor clustered applications easily"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by all engineers. We have scaled our e-commerce, and Datadog makes easier to look at each cluster. One great point of Datadog is how easy it is to identify an unhealthy box. Also, another great one, is to watch important metrics like CPU and memory. It's way easier to watch it on Datadog rather than AWS itself.
  • Monitoring unhealthy box instances
  • Watch CPU usage
  • Watch Memory Usage
  • Monitoring logging issue. To do that, we need other kinds of tool, such as Splunk.
  • It takes a time to create a dashboard from scratch. It's easy to set up by a senior user, but it is not for beginners.
It's well suited for any scaled application. During peak time, we can scale up our application, and start watching it via DataDog. Doing so, DataDog provides us a hand dashboard to watch (un)healthy box instances. Last time, it pointed some instances that had a severity memory leak. By identifying those instances, it makes easier to replace that unhealthy instance quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Kevin Van Heusen profile photo
August 01, 2017

Datadog Review: "Offers great insight into system and website performance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog provides great visibility into how our server infrastructure is performing. There is support for a huge variety of integrations, pretty much any service you can think of has a supported integration. Our organization uses the dashboard functionality to get a quick view as to the current state of our environment. If there's a server or website issue, everyone hops onto Datadog to get a view as to what's happening.
  • The dashboard is easy to customize and understand for our organization to consume various site metrics.
  • The integration support is very strong, pretty much any service you can think of is supported. Also can create custom metrics.
  • Datadog customer support is helpful and responsive. Can generally help with workarounds to any issues.
  • User interface could be improved in some areas, looking for host information and the agent install link takes a bit of time.
  • Configuration of the agent is generally done via a config file which is a pro and a con. It would be nice to have some UI to configure various agent options.
  • Billing isn't entirely straightforward, they could use more reports to figure out the source of your monthly costs.
Datadog is the best application we have come across for displaying website and server metrics as well as alerts. Datadog can consume events from a whole host of systems and configure alerts when issues appear. Datadog has both Windows and Linux support, so it can handle posting metrics from pretty much any server.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
No photo available
August 18, 2017

Datadog Review: "Good solution for cloud monitoring"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog for monitoring our public cloud. We integrate it with some of the AWS components and monitor our instances on the cloud. It's a great solution for cloud-based monitoring with APIs.
  • Dashboards are so great.
  • Rest API functionality makes this one of the best monitoring tools on the market.
  • With the integration it provides with cloud watch, there is an option to monitor even without the agent installation.
  • We need to automate the agent installation, otherwise, it's a tedious job to do manually.
  • The integration with AWS had some issues in the past, but that seems better now.
  • This product has a steep learning curve at the beginning.
It's well suited for monitoring instances in the cloud. Good pricing. But I feel that the performance monitoring and instrumentation is still better in New Relic.
Read this authenticated review
Deepshikha Gandhi profile photo
February 15, 2017

Datadog Review: "All the DevOpsy things"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog helps us monitor our applications and ensure uptime. It is widely adopted by the entire engineering organization. When it comes to gathering performance metrics and tuning of our software applications, Datadog is just what we need. It ensures our infrastructure is highly available with fast and reliable services to our customers.
  • Metric and time series data collection
  • Integrations with other tools like PagerDuty, Slack and AWS
  • Creation of monitors to trigger alarms and notify teams
  • Easier way to create new dashboards and a way to implement them as code
  • Datadog needs to be woven into application's code which creates dependencies
  • Make the datadog agent more robust and reliable
Datadog fits your use case perfectly if you're writing, testing and running applications generating huge amounts of data and want a way to view this information graphically. Datadog has valuable features like sharable dashboards, Slack integration, CloudWatch integration and alerting.
It might be less appropriate for monitoring system and process level metrics. It can certainly do those but there are other tools out there like Zabbix, Nagios and Icinga.
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
No photo available
May 10, 2016

User Review: "Datadog - A good solution."

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is being used to pull variable information from an agent on each of our servers and sent to a centralized location so we have a one stop place to understand how well our servers and services are doing. It is being used by the operations team as well as developers. It addresses getting having to go many places to get the same information.
  • Centralized data.
  • Quick easy graphs.
  • Customization.
  • Many other products out there like it.
  • Not as dynamic as some other open source tools.
  • Pricey compared to open source tools.
Datadog can be used by any company that wants to get a deeper understanding of their systems and services. It's great for each project to determine what quantifiable data would lead to success. It would be less appropriate to use it for financial information as there are lots of better tools for that.
Read this authenticated review

Datadog Scorecard Summary

About Datadog

Datadog is a performance metrics and events monitoring service for IT and Dev/Ops teams who write and run applications at scale and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools, and services into a unified view of IT infrastructure. With 120+ turn-key integrations (including AWS, Docker, Chef, and PagerDuty), Datadog seamlessly aggregates metrics and events across the full DevOps stack. Datadog's capabilities are provided on a SaaS-based data analytics platform that enables multiple teams to work collaboratively on infrastructure issues.

Datadog Features

Has featureReal-time customizable dashboards
Has featureGet alerted on critical issues
Has featureGet a single view into on-premise and clouds
Has feature120+ turn-key integrations
Has featureSlice and dice graphs and alerts by tags, roles, and more
Has featureSampling intervals of 10 seconds
Has featureFree trial, no credit card needed
Has featureFull API access in more than 15 languages
Has featureOverlay metrics and events across disparate sources
Has featureOutlier detection for hosts behaving abnormally

Datadog Screenshots

Datadog Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, CacheFly CDN, MongoDB, PagerDuty, Bitbucket, Slack, HipChat, Cassandra, Microsoft IIS, PostgreSQL, MySQL, OpenShift, VictorOps, Splunk Enterprise, Ubuntu OpenStack, Pingdom, Hadoop, Puppet Labs, StatsD, Microsoft Azure, Google Cloud Platform, GoLang, GitHub, ActiveMQ, Apache, Node.js, Python, Java, Ruby, OpsGenie, HAProxy, CentOS, CoreOS, debian, kafka

Datadog Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
FreeUp to 5 hosts
Standard$15/hostUp to 500 hosts
EnterpriseCustom500+ hosts

Datadog Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Datadog Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS/RedHat, Fedora, CoreOS, Docker, Kubernetes, Openshift, SmartOS, Chef, Puppet, Ansible
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English