Datadog Reviews

77 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-19 of 19)

Rajeshh Raghavan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2020

Datadog is a great monitoring tool!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is used by couple of departments within the organization. We are using it to monitor our infrastructure such as the servers, containers, processes, storage health as well as to load and look into the metrics.
  • Single stop for monitoring various database types and their infrastructure.
  • Easier to look into metrics history.
  • Managing downtime for various resources is simple.
  • It would be good if there were a way to remove resources from Datadog faster.
An organization that has multiple types of NoSQL databases and different applications can definitely use Datadog to have as a one-stop solution to monitor resources as well as metrics.
Read Rajeshh Raghavan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Datadog offers excellent value as a distributed application monitoring solution.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is an excellent infrastructure management tool. It provides a variety of tools for monitoring infrastructure and applications. It's APM tool offers a unique insight into application errors, while it's tracing can help with identifying hotspots and predicting growth in a variety of ways. It also provides an integrated log solution that aggregates and can map logs across applications and back to traces. It's up to date, with libraries and integrations for many tools and languages.
  • Application Monitoring
  • Log Management
  • Events Tracking
  • Infrastructure flow visualization
Datadog serves as an excellent tool for applications that deserve significant monitoring, mainly if they are distributed applications. It can help with tracing requests through multiple applications, and it's log management tools can make integrating logs for dynamically scaling services simpler and easier to follow. It is overkill for simple applications or applications that are unlikely to expand beyond a single or a small number of machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

Datadog - a Single Pane of Glass for monitoring and logging

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are testing and using Datadog in the e-commerce applications we are creating in a project to re-engineer our existing legacy applications, and transform them into a micro services based architecture hosted on several different cloud platforms. Datadog is helping us to monitor all the applications and the logging within a single pane of glass.
  • APM monitoring.
  • Logging.
  • Alerts.
  • Cost.
  • Training.
  • Documentation.
Datadog is well suited to monitoring applications in the cloud.
Read this authenticated review
Dmitry Pashkevich | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

A must-have for any cloud-based software company that will scale with your monitoring needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog to monitor all kinds of application metrics: errors, network stats, response times, queues, and a bunch of application-specific metrics. We also have alerts set up that notify us of changes in production application performance. We also get a lot of metrics "for free" from all kinds of third-party tools (e.g. ElasticSearch, GitHub, Heroku, Cloudflare, etc).
  • Thanks to the tool's versatility and a huge ecosystem around it, you can use it to track virtually anything.
  • Powerful alert and warning configuration let you drastically reduce false positives.
  • Runbooks give your team members guidance on how to act on alerts.
  • Powerful data analysis features: you can slice and dice your data, almost the same way you can do it in a behavioral analytics tool. This means you can efficiently refine your metrics as your business grows.
  • Overwhelming to use for newcomers.
  • Even when you're familiar with the tool, finding the right metric or dashboard can be challenging unless you know exactly what you're looking for.
If you're a cloud-based software company, you should use Datadog, period. They're a strong leader in the space for a reason. Datadog will scale with your company's data needs, and if there's something it can't do today, it probably will in the next few months or a year. It might be an overkill if your product/business is very small.
Read Dmitry Pashkevich's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2019

A lifesaver in server monitoring

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our DevOps team utilizes DataDog to be aware of any abnormalities across our infrastructure, whether hosted or local. We can look in one place to see stats and alarms across all infrastructure, independent of hosting provider's console. Being a software company, we can also send events to DataDog via their API to generate alerts for certain activity within our applications.
  • Server resource usage
  • Multi-stage alerts based on configurable thresholds
  • Custom Dashboards of all accumulated data
  • We had a couple "integrations" that had some issues during setup, but Support addressed them very quickly
  • Unnecessary alerts about DataDog components...by the time I see them, they're almost always also fixed
  • I wish there was a DataDog mobile app that would have dedicated alerts (configurable per alert to override Do Not Disturb setting) instead of relying on emails notifications that could be overlooked in the midst of many incoming emails around the same time.
Datadog is a no-brainer for any environment that relies on multiple servers. Even for one server, it's so much better to use for monitoring and alert capability than anything else I remember looking at before we started using Datadog. Teams can even use it to track their progress of investigating an alert so multiple people aren't unknowingly looking into the same exact issue unnecessarily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

Data Dog Wins at Monitoring and Alerting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our IT department uses Data Dog to monitor critical server uptime as well as switches and routers over SNMP. We also use the Data Dog API to write critical events for alerting and monitoring. We don’t currently use the application monitoring features, but I could see us using them in the future.
  • Price.
  • Functionality/extensibility.
  • Support.
  • Community.
  • Documentation is lacking in some places.
  • Some features could be easier to set-up.
  • Favors customization over simplicity.
Data Dog is great product for modern tech stacks on cloud technology. Might not be as good of a fit for non tech companies or older tech stacks. This being said we use it to monitor some old windows servers and some old sql server instances. We also appreciate the custom API and use it for some of our apps to write alerts of issues to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

Very easy tool to adapt and to use!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We had very complex monitoring requirements for APIs related to IoT and mobile app users. There were several different tools, no reliable results and we were losing credibility in the stability and reliability of our infrastructure. Also, all tools were very difficult to manage, implement and support, not to mention expensive.
  • API monitoring
  • End-user experience
  • Easy to implement
  • Agent-based
  • Initial learning curve
  • Azure integration could be easier
Cloud, API and end-user monitoring. Complex monitoring situations where multiple platforms are involved. Love also the integration with other solutions like Slack. I cannot see any specific situation where it doesn't fit—for those particular platforms mentioned before. I do not consider the price to be expensive, but that's my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Gabriel Samaroo | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

DataDog: Great Tool for Enterprise Monitoring, Alerts, Metric Aggregation, and Dashboards/Graphs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering/dev-ops teams use DataDog as the tool of choice for monitoring our applications/servers, and for aggregating logs. All of our applications and micro-services use the DataDog Rest API to send metrics to, so that we can monitor performance and CPU usage, and setup alerts in case any issues arise.
  • Great UX. Good looking dashboards and advanced graphs.
  • Simple Rest API allowing integration with basically any service/application. Allows for the creation of a centralized source of data.
  • Good API documentation and very responsive customer service.
  • Good pricing model for micro-services. Can handle getting data from many sources without having to pay as much as alternatives.
  • Limitation on what you can do with reporting and analytics. If you need to do very advanced mathematical/graphing operations, might need to use data in another BI Tool to accomplish.
  • Good amount of upfront work to install and configure across your entire application/software stack. Heavy learning curve.
  • Logging capabilities not as robust as alternatives like Splunk.
Datadog is great when you have a complex software system, with multiple applications and micro-services. If you have the resources to do the upfront work of integrating with your platform(s), it will be a great tool to handle monitoring/alerts. It also has nice features for log aggregation. The graphs and dashboards also make Datadog a useful tool to others, such as Managers and non-Engineers, not only for Dev-Ops and Engineers directly using it. If you want something to use quicker out-of-the-box or don't want to spend any money there are quicker/cheaper options.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Datadog Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog on almost all of our production systems to give us granularity into how systems are running, and additionally, use Datadog's logging feature to aggregate all of our logs across systems in real time. Datadog's simple dashboards enable visibility from different providers to be displayed all in one place, even if systems are not from the same vendor.
  • Does a good job at log management with full search, live-access, and automatic archiving to S3 is also simple.
  • APM is fantastic and gives great insights into production machines, but is not cheap.
  • Because APM is billed by instance, it can be very expensive -- perhaps even more than the cost of the underlying instances depending on the kinds of systems you are running.
  • While it's not difficult to deploy, it certainly has quirks owing to the limits of cloud platforms -- we wish it was easier to set up for some services.
For organizations that understand and require the value-add of Datadog, it's a great choice for log management, APM, and system visibility. Because of its costs, it's not well suited to smaller organizations, or organizations running lots of small workloads on inexpensive VMs, where you are stuck paying the same price that an organization would pay for a server 100x the size.
Read this authenticated review
Anthony Zappala | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2018

DataDog at Wayfair!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
DataDog is currently being used by Wayfair's Monitoring, Network Ops, and Critical Incident teams to provide a variety of data to provision, manage and maintain the existing infrastructure for internal and external sites and applications. It is a critical input to how these teams identify, tag, and respond to alerts within the company. We use Datadog for the current day to day provisioning tasks and well as prior/after any maintenance.

It has a key plug-in with ServiceNow and this is a key integration at Wayfair. ServiceNow is used as the reporting platform to store and index all DataDog alerting. Further, we have built several notification systems to piggy back off DataDog alerts for clear and wide-spread notifications to all stakeholders of a particular stack of technology.

The visuals and simple interface provides a clean and ready-made application in which to address the business and technical needs, for a rapidly evolving infrastructure. Wayfair has a tremendous amount of growth and we rely on this tool to grow and adapt alongside us. The Platform as a Service approach has proven to provide what we need, without the dependencies to support the infrastructure, which is a big bonus for our teams.
  • APIs, the ability to interact with the data we pull into data dog is key. We port the information over to Servicenow, so the ability to pull everything into DataDog, then Servicenow, is a key component of our success here at Wayfair.
  • Simple Interface - clean, useful, effective. Allows users to use DataDog for one reason, get work done.
  • Lightweight agent on hosts
  • Reducing the delays in monitoring agent response time
  • Configuration of aggregate metrics, allow us to compile / aggregate data faster and with more ease
  • Improvements in Security policies
DataDog is well suited for an environment that requires low-level investment on supporting infrastructure, a cloud-based approach or something that is priced at a fair enough level where you can grow the business with your footprint without sacrificing on features.
Read Anthony Zappala's full review
Stephen Groat | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2018

Datadog Can Lead the Pack

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is currently used by the Operations departments (DevOps and ProdOps) to monitor application performance, create dashboards to analyze the performance in real time when trying to debug issues, and trigger alerts in situations where manual intervention is needed. As a cloud-centric product, Datadog fits well into the organization and has very low operational overhead.
  • Monitoring application performance
  • Easy to read and modify dashboards
  • Lightweight agent on machines
  • Speed/performance of monitoring agents (reducing delays)
  • Easier configuration of alerts (including moving averages, etc. so that the math becomes easier)
  • Improved security (custom certificates, pinning, etc.)
Datadog is very well suited for cloud-centric customers that are looking for an agent-based performance monitoring solution. While a lot of configuration and work must be done to turn Datadog into a true application monitoring and performance solution, the flexibility that the tool offers is great for organizations with creative engineers. The price and configuration can be very "right" for this solution.
Read Stephen Groat's full review
Rahul Narula | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Datadog tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is implemented as APM of choice for our organization at the platform level. Any team across the company opting to use the platform gets Datadog to gain insights into the platform with metrics like ELB, container & network stats, memory usage etc. This integration comes out of the box for the clients which they can use for monitoring their services
  • Easy to setup and use
  • offers wide variety of integrations with third-party services and systems
  • Cheaper than competitors
  • No custom query language which can be handy
  • Initial setup and configuration can be painful at the start
  • Additional reporting capabilities missing
We are using Datadog to send Hystrix metrics of various service there and had setup various monitors and alerts which alerts on any underlying issue ahead of time before a major failure. Also created a dashboard quite similar to Hystrix Dashboard with ability to look back in time. It has worked well for us.
Read Rahul Narula's full review
Girivaru Tarun | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

Simplest UI in monitoring market and tool than enchances constanlty for users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are Premium MSP partner for AWS so our DevOps engineers, Managers user them, We also have a product for Cloud Management Platform where we are working on parsing information from Datadog to our SaaS platform to present monitoring data much graphically.
  • Monitors resource metrics well
  • always prompt
  • simple UI
  • customizations available for metric visualization
  • no Oracle integration
  • increased data retention of metrics
  • Support for more custom intergrations like Kubernetes etc.
  • go easy on pricing a bit!
Datadog is best for evaluating performance of applications and identifying bottlenecks. It has support for custom metrics. It has a good UI and constant enrichment of feature set which helps admins and users solve infrastructure issues quickly. Compared to 2-3 years before Datadog now has significant change and is well suited to the cloud environment. Improving very fast. Good job!

Sometime the agent has issues and causes CPU spikes but was fixable.
Read Girivaru Tarun's full review
Mariano Koldobsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 23, 2018

Great tool in a complex architecture world

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is being used in the whole company to monitor all the instances we have.
Used to be in private cloud and now it is used in AWS instances also.
  • Datadog is great for monitoring CPU, memory and all the resources
  • Combined with New Relic and OpsGenie you have all the alerts you need
  • Datadog has a long time history to compare over time
  • Sometimes the graphics are a little bit confusing
It succeeded in complex architecture and infrastructure
Read Mariano Koldobsky's full review
Kevin Van Heusen | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 01, 2017

Offers great insight into system and website performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog provides great visibility into how our server infrastructure is performing. There is support for a huge variety of integrations, pretty much any service you can think of has a supported integration. Our organization uses the dashboard functionality to get a quick view as to the current state of our environment. If there's a server or website issue, everyone hops onto Datadog to get a view as to what's happening.
  • The dashboard is easy to customize and understand for our organization to consume various site metrics.
  • The integration support is very strong, pretty much any service you can think of is supported. Also can create custom metrics.
  • Datadog customer support is helpful and responsive. Can generally help with workarounds to any issues.
  • User interface could be improved in some areas, looking for host information and the agent install link takes a bit of time.
  • Configuration of the agent is generally done via a config file which is a pro and a con. It would be nice to have some UI to configure various agent options.
  • Billing isn't entirely straightforward, they could use more reports to figure out the source of your monthly costs.
Datadog is the best application we have come across for displaying website and server metrics as well as alerts. Datadog can consume events from a whole host of systems and configure alerts when issues appear. Datadog has both Windows and Linux support, so it can handle posting metrics from pretty much any server.
Read Kevin Van Heusen's full review
Deepshikha Gandhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2017

All the DevOpsy things

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog helps us monitor our applications and ensure uptime. It is widely adopted by the entire engineering organization. When it comes to gathering performance metrics and tuning of our software applications, Datadog is just what we need. It ensures our infrastructure is highly available with fast and reliable services to our customers.
  • Metric and time series data collection
  • Integrations with other tools like PagerDuty, Slack and AWS
  • Creation of monitors to trigger alarms and notify teams
  • Easier way to create new dashboards and a way to implement them as code
  • Datadog needs to be woven into application's code which creates dependencies
  • Make the datadog agent more robust and reliable
Datadog fits your use case perfectly if you're writing, testing and running applications generating huge amounts of data and want a way to view this information graphically. Datadog has valuable features like sharable dashboards, Slack integration, CloudWatch integration and alerting.
It might be less appropriate for monitoring system and process level metrics. It can certainly do those but there are other tools out there like Zabbix, Nagios and Icinga.
Read Deepshikha Gandhi's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2018

Watch and monitor clustered applications easily

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by all engineers. We have scaled our e-commerce, and Datadog makes easier to look at each cluster. One great point of Datadog is how easy it is to identify an unhealthy box. Also, another great one, is to watch important metrics like CPU and memory. It's way easier to watch it on Datadog rather than AWS itself.
  • Monitoring unhealthy box instances
  • Watch CPU usage
  • Watch Memory Usage
  • Monitoring logging issue. To do that, we need other kinds of tool, such as Splunk.
  • It takes a time to create a dashboard from scratch. It's easy to set up by a senior user, but it is not for beginners.
It's well suited for any scaled application. During peak time, we can scale up our application, and start watching it via DataDog. Doing so, DataDog provides us a hand dashboard to watch (un)healthy box instances. Last time, it pointed some instances that had a severity memory leak. By identifying those instances, it makes easier to replace that unhealthy instance quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 18, 2017

Good solution for cloud monitoring

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Datadog for monitoring our public cloud. We integrate it with some of the AWS components and monitor our instances on the cloud. It's a great solution for cloud-based monitoring with APIs.
  • Dashboards are so great.
  • Rest API functionality makes this one of the best monitoring tools on the market.
  • With the integration it provides with cloud watch, there is an option to monitor even without the agent installation.
  • We need to automate the agent installation, otherwise, it's a tedious job to do manually.
  • The integration with AWS had some issues in the past, but that seems better now.
  • This product has a steep learning curve at the beginning.
It's well suited for monitoring instances in the cloud. Good pricing. But I feel that the performance monitoring and instrumentation is still better in New Relic.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2016

Datadog - A good solution.

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Datadog is being used to pull variable information from an agent on each of our servers and sent to a centralized location so we have a one stop place to understand how well our servers and services are doing. It is being used by the operations team as well as developers. It addresses getting having to go many places to get the same information.
  • Centralized data.
  • Quick easy graphs.
  • Customization.
  • Many other products out there like it.
  • Not as dynamic as some other open source tools.
  • Pricey compared to open source tools.
Datadog can be used by any company that wants to get a deeper understanding of their systems and services. It's great for each project to determine what quantifiable data would lead to success. It would be less appropriate to use it for financial information as there are lots of better tools for that.
Read this authenticated review

About Datadog

Datadog is a performance metrics and events monitoring service for IT and Dev/Ops teams who write and run applications at scale and want to turn the massive amounts of data produced by their apps, tools, and services into a unified view of IT infrastructure. With 120+ turn-key integrations (including AWS, Docker, Chef, and PagerDuty), Datadog seamlessly aggregates metrics and events across the full DevOps stack. Datadog's capabilities are provided on a SaaS-based data analytics platform that enables multiple teams to work collaboratively on infrastructure issues.

Datadog Features

Has featureReal-time customizable dashboards
Has featureGet alerted on critical issues
Has featureGet a single view into on-premise and clouds
Has feature120+ turn-key integrations
Has featureSlice and dice graphs and alerts by tags, roles, and more
Has featureSampling intervals of 10 seconds
Has featureFree trial, no credit card needed
Has featureFull API access in more than 15 languages
Has featureOverlay metrics and events across disparate sources
Has featureOutlier detection for hosts behaving abnormally

Datadog Screenshots

Datadog Integrations

Amazon Web Services, Docker, CacheFly CDN, MongoDB, PagerDuty, Bitbucket, Slack, HipChat, Cassandra, Microsoft IIS, PostgreSQL, MySQL, OpenShift, VictorOps, Splunk Enterprise, Ubuntu OpenStack, SolarWinds Pingdom, Hadoop, Microsoft Azure, GitHub, OpsGenie, HAProxy, CentOS, Puppet Labs, StatsD, Google Cloud Platform, GoLang, ActiveMQ, Apache, Node.js, Python, Java, Ruby, CoreOS, debian, kafka

Datadog Competitors

TrueSight Pulse, SolarWinds AppOptics (formerly Librato), CopperEgg

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
FreeUp to 5 hosts
Standard$15/hostUp to 500 hosts
EnterpriseCustom500+ hosts

Datadog Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone

Datadog Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Debian, Ubuntu, CentOS/RedHat, Fedora, CoreOS, Docker, Kubernetes, Openshift, SmartOS, Chef, Puppet, Ansible
Mobile Application:No
Supported Languages: English