PagerDuty

PagerDuty

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
PagerDuty

Overview

Recent Reviews

VMWARE Pager Policy

10 out of 10
November 17, 2021
We are using PagerDuty and R&D and IT Department and it's helping out very well. Integration Pagerdurty with third-party software services …
Continue reading

Great for the use case!

9 out of 10
September 25, 2021
We use it for critical service alerts and to make sure our systems work correctly. It is being used across our whole organization, and it …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of PagerDuty, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Free

$0

Cloud
per month

Professional

$19

Cloud
per 5 users/per month

Business

$39

Cloud
per user/per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.pagerduty.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is PagerDuty?

PagerDuty, Inc. (NYSE:PD) provides digital operations management. Boasting organizations of all sizes as customers, PagerDuty aims to help them deliver a perfect digital experience to their customers, every time. PagerDuty helps identify issues and opportunities in real time, and brings together the right people to fix problems faster, and to prevent them in the future. PagerDuty's ecosystem of over 350+ integrations, including Slack, Zoom, ServiceNow, AWS, Microsoft Teams, Salesforce, and more, allow teams to centralize their technology stack, view the health of their operations, and optimize efficiency within their toolsets. To learn more and try PagerDuty for free, visit www.pagerduty.com.

PagerDuty Screenshots

Manage and respond to incidents via the mobile app on both iOS and AndroidWork incidents from wherever you are (shown: Similar Incidents [Apple iPad], Open Incidents [iPhone 8], On-Call Schedule Menu [Apple Watch])Get a full view into your teams’ on-call schedules via the PagerDuty web and mobile app to ensure an incident is never missed.Better understand related incidents using Machine Learning with Technical Service DependenciesKeep a pulse on team productivity via the Team Health Dashboard (shown in the Slack integration)Get a glimpse of service health and team performance via PagerDuty’s Intelligent Dashboards.

PagerDuty Videos

PagerDuty Overview - Your Fastest Path To Incident Resolution
The Operations Command Console & Intelligence Applications

Watch Twilio - IT teams are the backbone of customers reliable customer experience

PagerDuty Integrations

PagerDuty Competitors

PagerDuty Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is PagerDuty?

PagerDuty is an IT alert and incident management application from the company of the same name in San Francisco.

What is PagerDuty's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 10.

Who uses PagerDuty?

The most common users of PagerDuty are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (178)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 96)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is integrated with our infrastructure and used for real-time alerting systems.
  • Precise
  • Accuracy
  • Less False Alarming
  • User Friendlly
  • Minimize false alarms
  • Cost
PaperDuty is handy when it comes to monitoring real-time infrastructure and endpoints. Also, PaperDuty provides a wide range of integration facilities for other systems as well.
PaperDuty has been configured on most of the Engineer's Mobile devices and it's handy when we run on-call rosters.
Good support systems. But would like to have more self-enabled systems. Eg: for reporting.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used to schedule alert notifications for technical support staff. Different SMEs are listed on a schedule for the Monitoring team to be able to reach the proper staff member to resolve issues. Not all staff are available at the same time and this tool allows us to reach someone who is available immediately. In our organization there are systems that need to be available on a 24/7 basis. The systems often run without fail. However when there is a glitch or some type of issue it is very important that it gets resolved as soon as possible. PagerDuty allow us to reach out any time of day or night to right support people. The product is very customizable as far as programming and changing days and times etc.
  • Allows for large teams to share the on-call load.
  • Is easily customizable and allows for many scheduling options.
  • It's also fairly easy to set up once your user profile is created.
  • I would like to see a schedule by voice added so that I can just tell it what to do.
  • Not sure if you have online chat while using but that would be good to offer.
I'm sure most IT support organizations need to use this tool or one like it to be able to alert people for assistance in outage situations. Multiple times we have had servers or even network devices giving us trouble and degrading service to our end customers. I am usually one of the multi-team staff that get paged to check devices for power, activity lights, and/or error logging. Not sure what else to say here. It's pretty straight forward to me.
I have not used PD support so I cannot rate this one.
Chris Kloepping | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We user PagerDuty with support escalations, mostly in an automated fashion. It is imbedded within our major incident process and integrated with Salesforce. Additionally, we have all our support teams using PagerDuty for oncall setup.
  • Makes sure oncall is being responded to
  • Easy to setup and use, including the app
  • Integration with other tools
  • Can be a little confusing to find a PD and determine what transpired
  • Setup is flexible and overall easy, but for first time users the learning curve can be a little difficult
Awesome for all things oncall, since it will send you a text, email and phone call all at once. Easy to integrate via the email setup into key tools, such as Salesforce. We have a separate case management tool, so not using it outside of its core function.
Never had to use PD support
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used to send notifications to required team members who are needed to give support on urgent issues. For SaaS companies, if there is any incident, different team members are required to be called upon a technical bridge. With pager duty, we are able to send notifications easier to the group on call and don't need any manual notifications or calls.
  • Faster communication.
  • Easy to connect with team.
  • Customizable alerts.
  • Timezone set up.
  • Setting individual holidays.
  • Auto muting alerts after one accepts the notification.
PagerDuty is best suited for reaching out to the on-call support team in case of urgent issues. we can set up a call schedule for different team members working from different locations. One can easily push notification and individuals gets notification based on their alert rules. this allows the team to jump on quickly and saves a lot of precious time. this results in eventually faster resolution of urgent issues and customer satisfaction.
Yes, this is really useful. We mostly use it to send push notifications and these notifications can be sent to different groups based on what level of support we need. Automated workflows help with faster response to incidents.
PagerDuty is reliable and easy to set up. It gives an effective way to notify the team about critical incidents which results in a faster turnaround time on issues. users can customize their alerts rules based on their preferences. Overall it's effective and easy to use which adds great business value.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It manages the on-call rotation schedule and escalation. It provides alerts/pages when an issue happens. It allows to resolve the case, acknowledge, assign to another user, snooze, etc. Many integrations are available, such as with Slack, Jira, email, etc. It is quite good at the task that it's designed to do.
  • Alerting by different means on the phones.
  • Schedule management.
  • Escalation.
  • Mobile app could be improved, especially scheduling.
  • Alert sequence (which device goes first, etc.) settings are hard to find and manage.
  • Documentation could be improved.
It works great when managing an on-call rotation and having people on-call, especially in a corporate setting with multiple teams. It works well for issues with software and hardware being down, as well as network equipment. Works great with integration and accepts alerts via email, API, slack, etc. It may be less appropriate in very small settings where only one person is on-call.
We get an alert on the phones, see how relevant it is. If it's not urgent or relevant we can snooze it or resolve it. Otherwise, we can acknowledge, work on the issue, and resolve it if appropriate. If other teams need to be involved, it's easy to reassign to someone else.
Have not dealt with support so far.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PagerDuty with our SaaS monitoring system to perform advanced alerting, in our case, specifically for critical alerts so that they can escalate to cell phone calls for the on-call engineer(s) and then escalation to the manager. We have various schedules set up so that the right alerts are routed to the right teams at the right times.
  • Immediate calls to mobile phones
  • App integration so you can ACK issues without a phone call
  • Setting up the scheduling
Great for both large and small teams with a lot of features and customization. Also since it's so popular, pretty much every major monitoring system integrates with it. API setup is very easy. The only environments where it might not be necessary are non-critical operations or where IT support is minimal, given it is significantly complicated to set up beyond the most basic use case; however, once it is set up properly, it is mostly set-it-and-forget-it.
We are not using the more advanced incident response or runbook features, though our IT users have the app installed on their Android and Apple iPhones for even easier acknowledgment of issues and other capabilities. We are a fairly small team, so we need only the entry-level portion of the tool's advanced features.
I have only used support once initially and they were very helpful. Not much more I can say about it.
November 30, 2021

A reliable game changer

Magnús Halldór Pálsson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our on-call team uses Pager Duty to set up shift schedules, provide overrides as needed and receive alerts from our monitoring system if any errors are detected in our systems. We have set up 3 layers of response, with the 2nd layer getting alerts shortly after the first one in case that person is not able to ACKnowledge the alert. After 15 minutes the third layer is alerted, and that is everyone who is on rotation.
  • Alerts are super reliable. This is the most important thing.
  • It is easy to provide overrides in the case when someone needs to fill in for a limited time during a shift.
  • The mobile app is par excellence.
  • When you have several layers of respondents and go to the web app, it is not easy to see at a glance who is currently active on-call (1st layer) because the 2nd layer is on top.
The alerts are super reliable, which is important. It is good to be able to configure a few layers of "on-call" shifts because it might be "bad" to alert everyone if someone is too slow to hit the ACK button.
With no downtime that I can think of, I can't rate this lower than 10/10.
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used across the operations, support, and dev organizations but is primarily used by operations. We use PagerDuty in operations for all alerting from our monitoring systems as well as coordinating service incident response. Dev/Support use PD for responding to service incidents.
  • Delivers high-urgency notifications with confidence
  • Easy to use web UI
  • Easy to use mobile app
  • Response plays is a problem - notification tones are not configurable at all.
  • When multiple escalation policies are notified for the same incident, the first party to acknowledge cuts off the escalation policy and notification preferences of the other responders, leading some to claim they did not get a notification as to the reason for not showing up to a service incident.
Historically, I would be a 10 on PagerDuty. I have used PD for a very long time at multiple companies. However with our recent pain, while attempting to implement response [plans] as a way to notify multiple parties without stopping escalation policies or notification preferences, the highest I can go is a 6. The reason for the 6 is I know that this is an NPS survey and 7/8 is thrown out. I'm not a promoter at this time and am barely a detractor. If PD provides a solution to response play pain that we are experiencing, I'll be back at a 10.
We do not use the modern incident response package. Upon the last look at it, it was cost-prohibitive for us.
Normally PD support has been great over the years. However, lately, we have had some struggles in terms of having to repeat the problem we are facing multiple times to the support rep.
November 17, 2021

VMWARE Pager Policy

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PagerDuty and R&D and IT Department and it's helping out very well. Integration Pagerdurty with third-party software services is seamless and very effective in getting the alerts monitoring via Pager. While managing the incident we required all the mandatory teams to be engaged and using the PagerDuty helped to triage the incident within time and track the details with timelines.
  • Provide Timelines of events which is getting triaged.
  • It works really well with escalation policy where we do not have to call people rather page to policy and it will take the appropriate level call and escalation.
  • Integration with other tools is seamless and very helpful to monitor critical application events.
  • it helps us for tracking purposes. Priorities can be set up on PD itself so all teams will be aware of the criticality.
  • Setting up the Priority automatically can create the Service Desk ticket.
  • Sms notification should be more clear and option to read the complete message
  • user profile should not be accepted without Mobile number.
While monitoring the critical alerts it worked really well and send out an alarm in time. It helps all teams to cross collaborate and take down the data for a total number of incidents and work on the fix for the repetitive issue. It creates the respective ticket to track the incident using integration.
Yes, we are using the feature which will just take the call and push further if there is no response using the playbook.
Overall it's good to support from PD.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our org, only the Operation team (my team) uses PagerDuty, as it is an incident notification and escalation management tool. As an on-call schedule, PagerDuty will send email, SMS, and a call on mobile for on-Call agents depending on their shift timezones for critical/P1 issues, which helps to mitigate the issues within SLAs.
  • Sends email, SMS & call to the on-shift agent w.r.t their working time zones configured
  • If the on-call person, for some reason, can't make the request, he has the option to escalate that incident to the next level engineer
  • Incident history to make incident reports with timestamps
  • PagerDuty alerts website dashboard has room for improvement, it is extra colorful than needed
  • The alert details on the website are too much detailed, there should be some compact version to view incidents easily
  • The same goes for PagerDuty email alerts, it gives a detailed message which is good, but there should be a compact version too
Honestly, PagerDuty has almost all positives:
1) Prompt Call, Mail, SMS, and PagerDuty App notification (if installed in mobile) for critical incidents to be acknowledged and mitigated
2) Incident history to make incident reports
3) Very well suited options to On-Schedule changes
4) Easy to configure alerts

To be improved:
1) Compact website dashboard for Alerts
2) Compact version for emails
Integrations being used currently:
1) Alert Site -> PagerDuty -> On-call engagement (Call, SMS, Mail alerts and PagerDuty Notifications)
2) Logic Monitor -> PagerDuty -> On-call engagement (Call, SMS, Mail alerts and PagerDuty Notifications)
3) Up Trends -> PagerDuty -> On-call engagement (Call, SMS, Mail alerts and PagerDuty Notifications)
4) Salesforce ticketing tool -> PagerDuty -> On-call engagement (Call, SMS, Mail alerts and PagerDuty Notifications)
For PagerDuty's always availability. Because if PagerDuty is working, then our on-call engineers are relaxed unless they receive any call for critical alerts.
October 22, 2021

PagerDuty does its duty.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is being used for on-call teams throughout the organization. When issues arise, whether it be with SQL or the network, alerts are sent to PagerDuty, which are then transmitted to the on-call engineer via an API call. It also houses the on-call schedules and contact numbers for all teams.
  • Network outage alerts
  • SQL outage Alerts
  • Contact tree notification
  • Automated escalation
  • When getting a phone call, PagerDuty doesn't seem to allow acknowledgments of alerts through the phone, which it says it does. I constantly receive a message that it was updated by another person - when in reality, it wasn't.
  • Smarter notifications. If an alert was snoozed for a time, when it comes back, it sends out another alert. It should, I think, send a message asking if the alert is still an issue and give the option to close.
  • Make schedule changes more intuitive.
  • One button to acknowledge and close an alert.
PagerDuty is great for network alerts. However, it is necessary for parent/child device relationships to be formed correctly. If that is not done, on-call personnel will be flooded with alerts, especially in the event of a power outage or network outage. PagerDuty is also well suited for alerting when critical servers go down or are unreachable. In this scenario where parent/child is less important, PagerDuty really shines in letting the engineers know something is down and providing a single pane of glass for who to contact on other teams, if necessary.
The PagerDuty phone application is very, very good. In fact, it is the primary access method for most engineers in my company. Our escalation procedures are time-based. If an alert is not acknowledged within set time limits, different processes are invoked. For our team, we have two notifications via pager set before a phone call. If the alert is not acknowledged after the phone call, the escalation process begins.
While it is exceedingly rare, whenever an issue has come up with PagerDuty, it has always been quickly addressed by their support team. Furthermore, they are very much aware of what is happening and will often times proactively alert users of issues and notify them when those issues are resolved.
September 25, 2021

Great for the use case!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for critical service alerts and to make sure our systems work correctly. It is being used across our whole organization, and it solves the problem of using people to make the on-call process work. We automatically rotate our call lists.
  • Automation
  • Integration
  • On-call automation
  • UI
  • Initial configuration
  • Specification of priorities
I think it is very well suited for any business that does not have the bandwidth to hire someone on-call all the time for managing the queues and monitoring. I believe there is a great use case with a tightly integrated monitoring solution and the ability to automate alert escalation and on-call.
When we have issues that are not resolved after a certain amount of time, the alert will automatically escalate to a manager.
They have been good to work with.
September 25, 2021

PagerDuty - Set and forget!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for off-hours support and managing notification schedules of off-hours support staff. It simplifies management with notification of schedule hand-off and backup coverage.
  • Flexibility in notification modes with phone, SMS, and email
  • Integration with Slack
  • Ease of use
  • I would like a dark mode
PagerDuty is best used for support teams and notifying the right people when there's an issue that needs to be addressed.
Many integrations are available such as AWS and Datadog, if we need them.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PagerDuty in addition to our monitoring software. When an issue is being escalated, we use PagerDuty to let us know by text, email, and phone call that the issue has risen and to look into it. It helps us monitor software/hardware when no one is monitoring our devices online.
  • Notification
  • Escalation
  • Timetable schedule
  • I hope it will be easier to navigate our system
PagerDuty works 24/7 and monitors hardware when we are online or offline. Online is when we are busy, so it lets us know there is an issue we didn't notice. Offline is when there is no one in the office or data center to immediately respond to an issue.
Each person on the team has their own rules of how they are escalated, but we can inform each other in case of an issue. First, when an alert is detected on our monitoring system, it is sent to Slack. Then if it has to be escalated, we receive phone calls and texts.
I have not used support, so it is hard for me to provide an opinion here. Based on the product and what I hear from my coworkers, the support is good. The response time is quite fast, and solutions are provided as soon as possible.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PagerDuty extensively in the IT department. We roll out a lot of projects all the time, and each of them is managed by a small number of people, so it's important for us to be alerted as quickly and efficiently as possible should something go wrong. Our projects also have different technical stacks and, as such, different monitoring tools (AWS Cloudwatch, Azure Monitor, Prometheus, Grafana, etc.). Therefore, PagerDuty acts as the last point where all alerts are gathered, independently of where they came from.
  • Integration with all of the monitoring tools we need
  • Excellent mobile application to receive alerts
  • Email, SMS, and phone alerts if needed
  • Escalation policies are really great
  • The web interface needs some love
  • Initial setup might be a bit complicated in the beginning
  • Having an advanced way to chart past alerts would be nice. It would allow us to have a graphical visualization of where most issues happen. The existing report charts are not very customizable.
We are currently using PagerDuty a lot for technical alerts like high resource usage, a website that goes down, or an API with higher than usual response times. However, we are not using it at all for business scenarios, as we did not have any clear use case for it.
We often use the escalation feature of PagerDuty since we have some critical apps used by people around the world. Therefore, we need to send alerts to the right person depending on the day, hour, and location. We have not really used the automated incident response yet, since most of our issues require human interaction to be resolved.
In years of usage, we haven't had any interaction with PagerDuty support because we have never needed to. Therefore, I am unable to rate them. The only time we had to interact with the folks from PagerDuty was when we needed to buy more seats to add new people to the platform. That usually goes smoothly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is connected to our internal Slack messaging system and is used by our support engineers to respond to cases during off-hours. We have alerting set up for Severity 1 incidents that ping us in Slack, as well as the on-call engineers. It helps us get notifications for incidents when we are not online, so we can act quickly to resolve them.
  • Alerting for incidents
  • Integration with Slack
  • Integration with Support Portal
  • I am an end-user, so from my use it seems to be sufficient
PagerDuty is great for alerting us to incidents when they are logged as support cases. It is integrated with our support portal and our Slack instance, so it can alert entire teams as well as individual engineers on-call.
I am not sure if we use these systems; I am an end-user and just receive the messages to act upon.
Thanks to the wide support of this software, the systems we have connected PagerDuty to have all integrated seamlessly. Wide support leads to simpler integration, making it faster to market.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is one of the notifications and alert management platforms used in our organization for support teams and technicians to provide notifications and alert messages to other departments and teams. If there are any alarms, it offers a variety of communication choices. We used to keep Alerts and On-Call Schedules that were business-critical in several products. The PagerDuty application is also useful for checking and resolving alerts from any location.
  • Handling various alert messages and notifications
  • Easy configuring call and message scheduling system
  • Analytics report generating feature
  • Overall user interface needs to be improved
  • PagerDuty mobile application functionalities and restrictions
Our team can manage our on-call cycles by utilizing the flexibility and power of the PagerDuty scheduler. The scheduler's escalation functionality ensures that our team is always reachable. It also features great integration points with other tools used in the firm, allowing it to integrate with all essential workflows effortlessly.
We designed a few automated incident response workflows last year. Especially for monitoring each module in some periodic time cycle, and if any issue occurs, it will alert specified resources on the mobile device. Using mobile applications, we can open and work with the issue; then finally, we can close it from anywhere, any time.
We use PagerDuty for everything, including providing 24/7 technical support. We staged the email integration of PagerDuty to ensure our team is always reachable. It has improved our support and business growth.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pager Duty is used in our technology segment, to provide team and user contact information as well as our on-call rotation for all teams within the segment. Pager Duty is also used for alerting and notification of system outages. It provides a tiered communications approach in notifying specific on-call users when a system outage is identified. Additionally, it will contact users within a group if the designated point of contact is not reached or does not acknowledge the notification. It also provides us the ability to initiate a tech bridge and communicate them to all applicable users.
  • Alerting notifications is its best attribute; it will continue to make contact until the alert is acknowledged by a user.
  • The calendar view provides valuable information regarding who is on call by the team and their full contact information.
  • The application also lets you initiate a tech bridge meeting instantly and notifies all on-call users.
  • The calendar is sometimes difficult to parse through when you are looking for a specific team or contact.
  • Adding additional responses to the automated alerts would be helpful; the options are currently limited. A suggestion would be to have an option that indicates you are aware and working on the issue rather than just acknowledgment which keeps calling you.
As far as my experience is concerned, Pager Duty works better than previous solutions. I would recommend Pager Duty before any other product. It is functional, configurable, and provides good options for a 24 x 7 company. The alerting and contacting feature is very good. It is a great repository for teams and specific contacts, and the over-ride feature is another great component where you can create an over ride to have someone else cover a block of time during your absence.
I can't honesty respond because I haven't had the need to reach out to support in years, and, when I did, I was given assistance with the interface and features I needed. Based on my limited exposure to support, the service was responsive and excellent.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used by all of our operational support teams to alert of customer outages, track on-call assignments and schedules, and also ad hoc team alerting. It allows us to effectively send automated alerts when applications or servers are in trouble and also quickly know who to contact and how to contact any other support staff on other teams.
  • On-call schedule management by teams. Very flexible in allowing changes to a full week, daily, or hourly.
  • Ad hoc notification to all the team when needed.
  • Incident assignment and tracking.
  • Easier linking to contact information when you're looking at the on-call schedule.
Very good at notifying an on-call person when an alert is received.
Sam Kemp | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty handles all our alert management for our support team. Initially we just used it to handle critical alerts for the on-call people and started super cheap by only setting up one account and on-call techs rotate through it. However we started getting to the point where that wasn't an option anymore so we put all our tech in and moved to the team plan which has saved a ton of time for us.
  • Alert Management. This is where it shines. We are just starting to get into parsing types of alerts and more advanced API drive events.
  • Integrations with hundreds of applications
  • Team Schedule automation
  • They don't have integrations with some of our key support tools but I don't think that's a problem with PagerDuty but more so the other toolsets.
  • Price. As you continue to add features the cost of the product can get rather pricey. Still worth it just have to be watched.
This is a fantastic product for an MSP where on-call rotations and alerts are critical keeping happy customers. One man shops, even though its cheap may not have be the best use of money.
I haven't worked with support too often but when i have they are prompt and I didn't leave the conversation with more questions or concerns.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used mostly by our engineering team but also some of our client support teams. The Support team uses it to get quicker feedback if something goes wrong so they can either take action or know when issues arise immediately. Our company manages a data warehouse so we rely on getting data from various sources on an hourly, daily, weekly, and monthly basis. If we receive alerts, our Support team can reach out to our vendors to find out what the issue is. They can also inform our clients if there are any delays.

Our Engineering team uses it to monitor our 200+ processes. We would be able to keep track if we had to backfill any data but we now use an open-source data flow management tool to automatically trigger data backfills. PagerDuty is still useful for being aware of the ongoing issues whether it is on our side or the vendor/client-side.
  • We get real-time notifications from our applications so we can immediately take action.
  • The escalation policies are useful for setting certain engineers responsible right away or having a backup available.
  • The UI is very simple and easy to use. Easy for non-technical employees to manage alerts.
  • I wish use groups were not a premium feature. This is such a basic feature to me.
  • Better grouping of alerts from the same services. In the UI, sometimes a process can trigger many alerts and it would be helpful if the UI could organize them.
Our team wrote our own Python wrapper using PagerDuty's opensource library. The wrapper captures the entire python error message and we post that to our alerts. This allows us to react faster and figure out what the issue is. The UI is simple and easy enough for non-technical folks to use.
We wrap our data pipeline processes so that when an error occurs, it will trigger a PagerDuty alert and allows to keep an oversight of all of our data. Prior to using an open-source data flow management tool, we would rely on PagerDuty so that we could backfill any data when possible. Our open-source data flow management tool now handles that backfills for us automatically so we mostly use PagerDuty for oversight.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PagerDuty is used as the notification and escalation service across the company for technical issues. Our service operations center uses it to escalate to the on-call engineers based upon team-based schedules. For higher severity issues, it is used to do broad notifications to both technical, business, and leadership roles of an issue. We have personal in multiple areas of the world and have been able to leverage PagerDuty globally.
  • Coverage where we need it.
  • Ability to manage complex on-call schedules with multiple layers.
  • Multiple notification methods and the user ability to configure those.
  • Adjusting a schedule when people join or leave a team can be annoying when attempting to get a schedule to put a certain person on a certain calendar week.
  • While it has gotten better, there were issues with PagerDuty coming as new numbers and users thinking it was spam and ignoring/blocking the numbers. Took some user training.
  • Even when you know where the schedules are in PagerDuty, navigating to them from the main page takes some effort.
PagerDuty is well suited for automated and manual notifications to on-call personal. It has made our on-call notifications much more reliable. We've been able to push the management of the on-call schedules to the individual teams rather than have the service operations center try to manage every team's schedule. PagerDuty has many integrations such as Slack that allow for higher productivity.
Our organization uses PagerDuty, in part, to broad notification and escalation to multiple technical and business teams during high severity incidents that are customer impacting. That workflow has allowed a single automated process to streamline and simplify the work of the service operations center as they do not have to worry about if someone has responded (PagerDuty handles that) and escalating if they have not (PagerDuty handles that). It gives a console that they can consult at a glance to see that the appropriate parties are all engaged. It allows for even complex high severity incidents that involve many teams to be engaged quickly and effectively.
Engagement with PagerDuty Support has been better than expected and it felt like they've taken our feedback and used it to add features we requested in years past.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PagerDuty within our Service Operations department helping us with after-hours on-call management. We have a team of 8 analysts. Before PagerDuty, we were using a paging type system where Service Desk would call a common number and leave a message. The on-call analyst will call the messaging system and retrieve the message. This caused unnecessary steps and delays in response. PagerDuty helped us streamline the process and shorten the response time.
  • Built-in scheduling.
  • Flexibility to responders who he/she wants to get notified.
  • Ability to share notes within incident logs.
  • Quick acknowledgement of incidents and page outs.
  • Live calling from the Service Desk or others should be a standard feature.
  • Ability to change escalation on a schedule basis.
  • Ability to manage multiple instances to activate standby analysts.
Its a cloud-based solution, so in a event our internal infrastructure is affected by the incident, Service Desk can still reach out to the right responder. Building and maintaining a schedule is very easy along with escalation processes. Analysts can pick and choose how they wanted to be notified of the incident.
We are using Automated Response for low priority incidents, where based on some keywords, the system automatically acknowledges the incident and waits for a predefined time before escalating it to an actual human responder. If a second all-clear email is processed within that waiting time period, it closes the original incident as resolved.
I can reach support via email or online chat functionality. It helped me in the initial configuration and also how to best setup. The response time is very fast for any question I brought forward. The support analysts were very knowledgeable about the products and its functionality. They were respectful of what stage of use the customer is at.
August 07, 2020

PagerDuty Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PagerDuty as our main alerting tool, coupled with Datadog monitors. PagerDuty is used company-wide for all of our product infrastructures. It allows us, to ensure 24/7 support of all our products, and be able to react when there are issues or downtimes. For 5 years we have used PagerDuty, and I can't recall a single downtime of their service, so thumbs up for it!
  • 100% availability of their service
  • API access for extra customized setups
  • Integration with main players like Datadog
  • Maybe improve the UI. UX could be improved--feels like an older product
For any use cases in which you are required to support mission-critical infrastructures, PagerDuty is one of the best options out there. For us, 100% API availability and PagerDuty has great integration with monitoring tools like Datadog.
This is mostly a personal decision. In my case, I use Android's PagerDuty app to pick, snooze, and resolve incidents as needed.
Lucky for us, we've never needed PagerDuty support. It works out of the box, and we've never had issues.
So, I give them a 10.
Brian E Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as a notification system for engineers and technicians on call, receiving alarms from many other feeds including but not limited to network monitoring systems. We are looking to expand its use beyond our division to other IT components, such as middleware teams, data center techs, upper management teams for COOP and DR.
  • Escalation policies.
  • Configurable on-call preferences.
  • Separation of teams when necessary for compliance
  • Allowing for other teams to be contacted or notified of an issue
  • Billing/legal agreements.
  • Maintenance renewal.
  • More cost effective licensing for state Educational units
In a situation where you have various teams supporting multiple services and you want a centralized way to allow different team leads to build and maintain their own escalation policies for support notifications while maintaining administrative oversight, PagerDuty is an excellent solution. PagerDuty is not a CRM tool, so it is not well suited to provide a public/customer-facing interface.
We have automated alarms from tuned network monitoring stations, These alarms will be suppressed depending on their severity and level of criticality to the infrastructure for some number of minutes to allow for alarms to clear without intervention. We have escalation policies ion place to allow for alarms to be propagated after a reasonable amount of time without clearing so appropriate staff on call can be reached. Our on call staff appreciates PagerDuty for the mobile application capabilities. It is easy to use, easy to annotate an alarm with additional text information, and easy to acknowledge an alarm without booting up a computer in the middle of the night.
I have had really great success in working with PagerDuty support. Quick responses, friendly staff, and if they don't know the answer they don't try to snowball you, they tell you that they are seeking the people who can help resolve the issue or answer your questions. I like the fact they don't try to read off a script or go through some standard set of questions. They just help you get to the point of the problem and help you to the person that can fix it if it isn't themselves.