Redis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
178 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 72)

Eric Mason | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're currently using Redis to support distributed caching and synchronization across our app. Our application runs on multiple servers so ensuring all infrastructure is in sync and key operations are atomic is critical. It's being used by the backend development team in core infrastructure. Redis is well suited to solve this problem as it offers both performance and reliability.
  • Atomic operations
  • Quick Lookups
  • Widely supported (there are many tools/libraries built over Redis)
  • We had some difficulty scaling Redis without it becoming prohibitively expensive.
  • Redis has very simple search capabilities, which means its not suitable for all use cases.
  • Redis doesn't have good native support for storing data in object form and many libraries built over it return data as a string, meaning you need build your own serialization layer over it.
Redis is a great tool for distributed caching and synchronization/locking in systems with multiple instances. It also works well for non-persistent data that doesn't grow over time, for instance, you might want to use Redis to manage a queue. It's a particularly good choice for pieces of data that are frequently updated.

Conversely, due to price/data I wouldn't recommend Redis for persisted or infrequently accessed data.
Read Eric Mason's full review
David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2019

Redis is Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used as our primary NoSQL key-based database store. In the specific platform that Redis is being used the most, we have PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Memcache for expiring key-based caching and Redis. The entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis but other departments are starting to use it as well given the ease of use, stability, and reliability.
  • Easy for developers to understand. Unlike Riak, which I've used in the past, it's fast without having to worry about eventual consistency.
  • Reliable. With a proper multi-node configuration, it can handle failover instantly.
  • Configurable. We primarily still use Memcache for caching but one of the teams uses Redis for both long-term storage and temporary expiry keys without taking on another external dependency.
  • Fast. We process tens of thousands of RPS and it doesn't skip a beat.
  • Autoscale. We've used Redis at RedisLabs and currently on AWS with ElastiCache plus previously I've self-hosted it and there are no real options for "serverless" or an operating model whereby I'm using only the resources needed to handle my current volume, instead, everything is provisioned and sized to your highest throughput needs. For us, that's only a few hours a day where we're at our peak, the other 16 hours could run smaller hardware but the system doesn't autoscale up/down seamlessly on any of the platform providers.
  • Management console. Some systems such as Riak have a built-in GUI for ops or Mongo runs their own Compass product but Redis seems to entirely rely on other OSS solutions, which is great, but having a built-in tool that's lock-step with the released versions would ease any quick troubleshooting that CLI-challenged ops teams could utilize.
  • Redis replication is asynchronous. Therefore, when a primary cluster fails over to a replica, a small amount of data might be lost due to replication lag.
Redis is great for queues (push/pop) and pub/sub. It can also be used for caching though take care of managing those expire settings and don't mix permanent keys with expired keys on the same hosts unless you want to spend some time troubleshooting unplanned evictions. When looking at open source solutions to messaging, queuing, background jobs, etc. - you'll find many solutions work with Redis out-of-the-box.
Read David Sommers's full review
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Redis for application data caching. Redis is used by more than one department and is an enterprise standard offering. We have since moved away from Redis as we were able to simplify our architecture given our more powerful database servers after our latest tech refresh. When we were using Redis, our application response times were too slow for certain transactions so we cached the data to improve performance. There are other use cases that we considered like caching of session data. Again our goal was to simplify our architecture and Redis was one of the products we eliminated, not because it wasn't a good product but because we no longer needed it for our application.
  • Application data caching.
  • Session data caching.
  • Managing cache misses better.
I think Redis is a great product. Our problem was we were using too many different products when we could have been just using one. We had Redis for application data caching, we were using Xtreme Scale to cache session data, when in fact Redis could have handled both. The decision was made to stick with Xtreme Scale but honestly I would have preferred to stay with Redis. Redis handles application data caching well. We had some issues with cache misses, but I think that was more of what we did and less of what Redis did (or didn't do). That being said, after some recoding, we had no issues. I think that the Redis product could be little easier to use there but again, it was probably a learning curve item for us and not so much the product.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Esteban Ignacio Masoero | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is used across all the organization. It is used by our main games to store user data, session data, game data, and indexing some information related to it.

Having backend systems that support casual games, like Trivia Crack, must support instant virtualization and big spikes that can happen during holidays, Christmas, and so on. Consequently, it is important to have a sub-millisecond database to be able to increase the requests rate very rapidly.
  • Answer requests at sub-millisecond latency: by having all the data in memory, the latency has no comparison to other disk based DBs.
  • Simplicity: it is incredibly simple and straightforward to use. You can download Redis and start using it during the next five minutes.
  • Reliable & scalable: when working with a cluster (and if you have a proper sharding strategy), your DB can scale to pretty high numbers and not to die in the middle of any spike.
  • Cost: by having all the data in memory, it can be very expensive. There should be an option for having some data stored on disk, at least initially (and with the tradeoff of some higher latency).
  • Lack of some basic permissions: there should be a way of having a user with restricted commands (i.e.: no keys *, now write commands, etc).
  • Multi-module available on the same Redis instance (as far as I know, this is not possible yet).
Everywhere speed and scalability is a must, Redis is the way to go. On the other hand, if you want to store huge amounts of data and do not need an extremely low latency, Redis might be too expensive for you. Also, if you are looking for some transactionality and consistency in your data, remember that Redis is a NoSQL database.
Read Esteban Ignacio Masoero's full review
Emiliano Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

Gets the job done!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis Enterprise helps us by making clustering, sharding, backups and some more very easy to set-up, control, and monitor. It's quite nice being able to sleep at night knowing that despite all your database is on volatile memory (RAM) or a hybrid solution (Redis on Flash), and still have the information clustered, sharded, replicated, and constantly being backed up, with just a few clicks. The support is really great, and the ease of use and set-up are also big selling points.
  • Ease of use and set-up.
  • Clustering and sharding.
  • Automated backups to remote storage (S3).
  • The documentation grows quite fast (200+ commands), perhaps they should have a most-used ranking.
  • Redis modules (Bloom, JSON, Search) are great, but only one can be active at a time.
Redis is fast, super simple and reliable. You need minimum security measures like having your data replicated and (at least daily) backups for emergencies. If you want to have all this done automatically by a simple UI, then Redis Enterprise is a must We have been working with Redis for over 5 years and we couldn't be happier.
Read Emiliano Perez's full review
Jeanette Kreutner | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is used by our organization to deliver schedules to the users of livestreams and playlists. We needed something that could deliver very high requests per second and also allow us database updates without impact to our customers. This has been accomplished with Redis.
  • The system is very reliable. The only times we had issues was when we hit database capacity limits.
  • There is continuing development on the technology (like Redis streams) that make it an even more attractive technology.
  • For systems that require many concurrent users, like several million watching the Super Bowl on their connected devices, it works and it works well.
  • None that I can think of
It is well suited where you need lots of calls to a database, not the best solution for long term storage
Read Jeanette Kreutner's full review
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis as a Cache DB in a microservices environment to store auth tokens, temporary data and sync flags to coordinate processes that are handled by multiple parties asynchronously.
The main problem it solves for us is to need to have a high-performance cache that also provides data persistence so we can restart instances and deploy new ones without losing data in the middle. This is very important for us because of the problem we're tackling. In the case of auth tokens, we don't want to make all users log in again after we restart an instance because the memory got cleared. The same applies for the sync flags that our processes depend on to complete.
  • High performance. Redis is FAST, really fast.
  • Data persistence. Having this feature was the main reason we chose Redis over Memcached.
  • Clustering. Distributing data between multiple instances is easy to do with Redis.
  • Data types. It isn't normal to have native data types supported on cache servers, but Redis covers many areas for this use case.
  • The data type collections aren't extensive and can fall short for some needs.
  • Single-threaded. Redis doesn't support multi-threading, so it won't benefit from multi-core CPUs. Instead, you need to deploy several single-core instances to scale horizontally. While this is a design decision, it may be a downside on some infrastructures.
  • Lack of UI. A visual UI can be a downer for some users.
Redis is great for any cache service with data persistence implementation. If you need a super-fast cache, you can always use the in-memory cache (without persistence) to improve performance and still get all the benefits of the service.
It's usually compared to Memcached, and in terms of performance I think they're very similar, and for some critical applications, Memcached may be a better option. But the feature-rich characteristics of Redis will position it in a more competitive place against many applications.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 14, 2019

Redis Rocks

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis as a cache for our Django application, and as the result storage for Celery, our distributed task runner.
  • Simple
  • Fast
  • Has a variety of data types
  • Transaction support
  • Automatic command when a connection closes
  • Negative acknowledgement support in streams
Redis is well suited for caching, as well as distributed coordination between workers. It doesn't work extremely well for cases where the data is highly interconnected, though RedisGraph may be a good solution to that (I'm not able to review it, because I haven't used it). Its variety of data types makes it possible to do some rather advanced things easily, and when combined with scripting, there are very few hard limitations on what is possible.
Read Ryan Hiebert's full review
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Redis in only one core internal application, however, this application handles around 90% of our company's internet traffic. This application load balances requests intelligently across multiple downstream server clusters. Prior to this, we used to frequently run into bottlenecks at the DB layer when web server scaling alone was insufficient.

The great thing about this is also that each cluster can be running a different version of our application allowing us to maintain a high level of robustness for our larger enterprise customers, while also allowing us to deploy frequently to other clusters that want the bleeding edge. With Redis, being able to determine the right cluster for the right request happens blazing fast.
  • FAST LOOKUPS. First and foremost, this is the bread and butter of Redis. It is our go-to for any highly performant lookups.
  • SCALE OUT. Helps build distributed applications that need to share data across geographies.
  • Better GUI clients. At the time of adoption, the choices for UI based clients were poor. Such tools are necessary for tier 1 support personnel who may not be entirely technically savvy.
I would highly recommend Redis as a hosted solution. We tried self-hosting initially but gave up on that due to the overhead of maintenance. We really want to use Redis in mission-critical projects and as such, reliability is paramount. Self-hosting leads to concerns with reliability—that's best left to services for whom that is their bread and butter.
Read Anush Ramani's full review
Davide Pedranz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis as a distributed cache for many internal tools across the entire organization. Some tool uses Redis as a filter to remove millions of duplicated jobs every day.
  • Really fast.
  • Data model simple to understand.
  • Very simple to use.
  • Support batches of operations to increase performances.
  • Nothing, it just works.
Well suited:
  1. Cache
  2. Filtering out duplicates
  3. Implement rate limits
  4. Store access tokens or revoked credentials
Not suited for:
  1. Storing complex data (go for a traditional database instead)
Read Davide Pedranz's full review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis to store data such as ID sessions, card tokens. We have a cluster with three servers in three different environments, and it's working very well.
  • Very scalable.
  • High performance.
  • Easy to use.
  • Management tool could be better.
  • Books in Spanish.
The best scenario for Redis is where fast response speed is required to have an optimal performance of the applications, or when it is required to have data that is consulted on a recurring basis.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Matthew Kuc | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Reduced costs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our development team uses it extensively.
  • Speeds up database searches.
  • Cloud-based without the need for on-prem.
  • High availability.
  • Support needs to be better, with chat support as an option.
  • Training material for new hire dev-ops.
  • Wiki-type documentation.
Redis is suited to database and back-end data processing.
Read Matthew Kuc's full review
Evan Sarmiento | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 24, 2019

Wow

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used across our entire organization. Redis provides us the ability to create distributed locks when requiring atomic operations on DynamoDB.
  • Queueing
  • Locking
  • Speed
  • Multi-user authentication
  • Built-in SSL support
  • Encryption at rest
For queueing, locking, and caching.
Read Evan Sarmiento's full review
Florent CLAPIÉ | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

Fan Redis user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Redis mainly to cache the database and as a message broker to avoid the hard work on the main server. It's used by our IT department, it's our first choice when we need a broker for messaging or cache data without persistence.
  • Cache layer
  • Transport layer
  • Store data with expiration time
  • None, it's perfect for us.
Perfect for caching the database and as a transport layer.
Read Florent CLAPIÉ's full review
Ajmal karuthakantakath | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

Cache in action

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis within a single group and across the enterprise.
  • We used cache data to speed up the processing power.
  • To do intersections of various sets and achieve a high performing solution.
  • To use it as a second-level cache for large data.
  • Luva script is a pain to work on
HTTP sessions, caching, and as DB for a decent size data.
Read Ajmal karuthakantakath's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used as our main nonSQL database store. We run PostgreSQL as the main relational data store, Our entire platform used within the business unit utilizes Redis and is also customer facing. The stability, reliability and scalability are great and it's also easy to easy to set up and implement.
  • Great reliability and great fail over capabilities
  • Easy to set up, implement and deploy
  • Can scale as you grow
  • Backups to AWS S3 are supported and are very easy to set up
  • Better UI interface for less technical support personnel
  • Wish Reids had a Chat support option
  • Better documentation in a wiki format
Redis is great at at reducing your reliance on SQL and the cost associated with running a SQL infrastructure.We have been able to scale out and improve performance on database requests. Reliability has also great improved over running a SQL infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis to run frontend caching, sessions and backend value store systems for our main web property. We are big supporters of the community and love watching it evolve over time. We've been early adopters in the NoSQL movement starting with Mongo and Couch. We're still using Redis, although we can't say the same for the others.
  • Key value storage
  • Session and Cookie management
  • Frontend caching
  • Third-party library support sometimes lags
  • Weak type support
  • Everything is in memory, so you need lots of RAM
Redis is well suited for front end caching of websites and apps. We also use it successfully to manage our web/app cookies and sessions. Everything in Redis is in your RAM, so if you need anything stored permanently you'll need to turn on the persistence options, which will slow down Redis a bunch since it has to write to disk.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

Redis is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Redis in many ways and across different departments in the organization. The most simple use case is to store locks so the backend services can reject duplicated API requests. A little more advanced use case is to use it as a buffer for queues of messages or requests. We're also exploring ways to use the new Graph type to support Data Science models in development.
  • Redis has many data types that suit a variety of use cases such as caching, message queues, graphs.
  • Redis is an open-sourced tool with a growing community, as well as 3rd party support (Amazon managed version) if you need additional help with the set-up.
  • Both the clients and the command line tool are easy to use and well-documented.
  • Scaling has always been an issue with Redis. Routing to shards is not automatic.
  • There's no GUI for managing the keys and values stored in Redis. The command-line tool is useful but not friendly to non-engineering users.
  • The data types as in data structures have many choices, but inside of the key-value pair, the content is always stored as a string.
Redis is a tool when you want to get a key-value store up and running in production quick without a lot of constraints. And it will keep the customer happy for a considerably long time. However, if the scaling is critical, Redis might not be the best choice available in the market.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis in our back end messaging platform for database, cache synchronization functions. Redis is being used throughout our entire organization and is the basis for our EMR messaging platform.
  • Great fail over capabilities for optimal up time
  • Very easy to set up and get running
  • Create backups to AWS S3
  • Clustering for greater performance is very easy
  • Able to scale is easy to set up and can build with your needs
  • Complete data sets tend to have some difficulty. But that's mostly on the type of code you're running
  • Only one module can be active at one time. Wish you could run multiple
Redis is great for any organization that requires data-intensive tasks that quire records or require large sets of data. Redis has greatly improved our messaging EMR performance at reduced costs compared to if we built our own solutions. If you require fast response speeds then Redis is your provider. Great for back end data base processing.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2019

The Redis Imperative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is used for transnational processing and scoring of customer data models for pub/sub-distribution to other models of data.
  • Redis provides the ability to score data quickly.
  • Redis provides the ability to distribute this info in a fast manner.
  • Redis provides an alternative method for data retrieval which lessens the load on the database access.
  • Greater emphasis on Pub/Sub capabilities more in line with Kafka.
Well suited for keeping track of scoring scenarios.

Poorly suited for long term storage of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 06, 2019

Redis Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used as a cache for real-time locations. It serves the last known location of users sharing their location with other users in real-time, thus being an essential part of our organization.
  • Storing geolocations - Redis has built-in geolocation storage capabilities, thus saving us the time of developing the logic ourselves.
  • Serving fast info for real-time apps - To anyone who works with real-time applications, fast information is the basis of good user experiences.
  • I think the documentation could improve. It's not always clear, especially for engineers that are new on Redis.
  • Redislabs admin interface could use a tune-up, maybe being more informative and with a better UI.
  • I think the main cons I see in Redis could be that it may be a bit too obscure to new users.
Redis is very useful for real-time scenarios where disposable recent information may be useful such as a location share app, mobile games or even a volatile chat. I must say, I haven't looked into Redis beyond these examples, so I couldn't recommend it for other use cases. The obvious less appropriate use would be for something such as a full database stack.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it in our backend DB for our custom CRM platform for Healthcare providers.
  • In-memory datasets.
  • Computing set intersection.
  • Automatic failover.
  • Tech support.
  • More user forums.
  • A Wiki-style support page.
Redis is great to eliminate on-prem infrastructure. It's less appropriate for international data security compliance protocols.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as one of our app supporting platforms (Resque & Rails).
  • Simple, fast Keystore.
  • Reliable.
  • Efficient storage.
  • Better handling if capacity is reached - sometimes it just crashes our server.
Good for a fast datastore if need something apart from memory. Not great if you have complex querying needs since it's a key-value store.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 27, 2019

Redis is battle-tested

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis as a distributed cache and distributed lock for our microservice environment. We have so many machines performing jobs that it's hard to make sure no task gets dropped or accidentally gets performed twice. And that's where Redis comes in--to store the global state or what jobs have been done in a fast, reliable way.
  • Helpful customer support.
  • Reasonable pricing.
  • Keeps Redis software secure and up-to-date quietly in the background.
  • Replies from customer support via could be a little faster. We're on the basic plan, and it can take up to 2 business days--it's not fast enough when your bugs need to be solved right away.
Honestly, I think whenever you need an in-network cache for a distributed system, Redis is a rock-solid option. There are no gotchas. It has been battle-tested by most engineering organizations over the past decade. And Redis Labs is the most experienced and cheapest provider for hosting it. It's not much more expensive than hosting it yourself.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis in many capacities. We use it as a caching layer, as a shared heap, as a datastore for lock contention, as a queue, and as a primary datastore. It provides low latency storage that can be used to persist data between web requests. The data structures available allow us to use it to manage contended data in a safe and predictable fashion.
  • Fast key value store
  • Serializable concurrent usage (by virtue of being single-threaded)
  • Wide library support
  • Failover is terrifying and its safety guarantees are misleading
  • Large sets (> 500k entries) have noticeable performance degradation on what is advertised to be a O(1) query pattern
  • Hardware costs are high
If you need a caching layer it's great. I am hesitant to use it as a canonical data store. If you're okay losing data, then it's hard to beat. Additionally, cold/hot data patterns are not very useful in Redis, as all the data still has to reside in memory. You'd be better off with Redis as a hot cache and storing cold data somewhere better designed for that.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (65)
9.2
Availability (65)
8.7
Concurrency (64)
8.6
Security (60)
6.8
Scalability (65)
8.6
Data model flexibility (58)
8.0
Deployment model flexibility (58)
8.2

About Redis

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients