TrustRadius
Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/N7/OG/GE6NPTP63INR.PNGRedis : Effective cache management solutionFirst, I would like to clarify that Redis is not being used in production by my organization currently. Right now, I am involved in an R&D project, where I am experimenting on how to induce Redis on various modules. I am planning to use Redis as a cache management solution in our application for now. On successful implementation, we will extend Redis usage to manage other functionality as well.,Cache management: Redis is the best solution out there for cache management. It out marked Memcache in latency. Redis gives better flexibility when comes to data storage techniques. For example: Instead of storing objects as serialized strings, we can use a Redis Hash to store an object's fields and values and manage them using a single key. Replication: Redis has the best build in replication feature. For example, It allows slave Redis instances to be exact copies of master instances. The slave will automatically reconnect to the master every time the link breaks and will attempt to be an exact copy of it regardless of what happens to the master. Pub/Sub- It's Publish & Subscribe system of Redis. Where Publish broadcast content to all its subscribers simultaneously. There are various use cases of Pub/Sub. Developers are using it for triggering scripts based on Pub/Sub events. There are various chat ecosystems built on the Pub/Sub module.,Redis is super fast but it comes with a cost. Whole dataset resides in RAM. So it can be costly as primary memory is more costly, then secondary ones. Persistence issues: To achieve it, Redis uses a memory dump to create a persistence snapshot, that's cool. But it requires some Linux Kernel tweaking to avoid performance degradation while the Redis server process is forking. This further causes latency. Master-slave structure side effect: Master-slave architecture comes with its own side effects. Please note that there will be only one master with multiple slaves for replication. All writing goes to the master, which creates more load on the master node. So, when the master goes down, the whole architecture does.,10,The positive impact is increased availability of contents on a slow network due to effective cache management & service. Another positive impact is it saving us a round trip to the server. Redis has increased the performance of the application.,Currently, Redis is in an experimental phase in my organization. As I already mentioned that it's yet to be deployed in a production environment. We will study its impact when Redis will get involved in the real transaction process. So, far we have calculated that we can fetch some latency issues but, we are yet to establish it.,No,Product Usability Prior Experience with the Product Analyst Reports Third-party Reviews,Yes, we are surely being benefited by Redis features. Redis is a easy to use and maintain software. I have personally been able to manage & develop various cache & message broker related solutions easily. Production-grade deployment is also easy because I have tested it in semi prod environments, which is almost like our prod.,Oracle Database 12c, Eclipse, Oracle Java SEDead-Simple Configuration and Scary-Fast PerformanceOur organization uses Redis for two main tasks at our organization. First, Redis is used as a traditional in-memory key/store warehouse for a cache system that contains over 400 million items, on average. Using Redis with modern DDR4 memory, we have seen incredible latency savings when it comes to keystore look-ups. Second, we use Redis to manage a distributed queue, such that numerous worker nodes can subscribe to tasks and complete them in an organized way.,Key/Value datastore. Redis is incredibly fast when it comes to simple "phone book-style" lookups. Queue orchestration and management when there are many nodes in a system that need to all be on the same page. Dead-simple installation process. It takes about 3 minutes to install Redis and get the service started.,I am unable to come up with any legitimate cons, but one thing to note is that Redis, by default, will be installed with no password, leaving it open to the world if the host is not locked-down with a firewall.,10,Redis requires very little in terms of host hardware, and we have Redis running on tiny servers (2GB of memory and 2 cores, for example). Redis has also replaced multiple traditional datastores like MySQL and PostgreSQL, especially when it comes to logging and caching.,The in-memory aspect of it obviously is the main selling-point of Redis, in that it can immediately decrease latency for any service or application. Moreover, multi-platform support makes it trivial to interact with Redis, and we have never encountered a programming language that did not have very high quality documentation for the Redis SDKs and libraries. As far as stability, we have never had Redis cause a server to "crash" or have had the Redis server "crash" itself. It is dead-simple to manage.,Yes,Price Product Features Product Reputation,App development frequently involves decentalized systems, and we use Redis to centrally manage all the tasks and queues that feed these nodes. Redis allowed us to get rid of multiple hardware hosts, as well as scale-down other hosts because of its incredibly small footprint and almost nonexistent network overhead. The only limiting factor is the amount of RAM on the host, because of course, that is where Redis stores the vast majority of the data.,CouchDB and Cassandra,Laravel PHP Framework, Slack, PhpStormRedis is fast, great at set-operations, and easy to implement.We are currently using Redis to store sets of object-based information and lists. We query an external system and generate lists in Redis based on the query responses. Because Redis is great at set operations this speeds up the time it takes to make set-based calculations. This Redis cluster supports the a large aspect of the whole application.,Redis is easy to install and maintain. Redis is very fast, especially with set operations. Redis is cost effective.,Clustering, especially with multiple write nodes, can be difficult to configure. Configuring extremely high availability can be difficult.,9,We run on the cloud, where you usually pay for the time you use. Every second counts. Having a fast-acting Redis cluster helps defray hosting costs. Redis is free to install, meaning you can quickly spring up test proof of concept modules using Redis with minimal issues. Redis is usually "set it and forget it" so you can focus on other aspects of your business.,At my organization, speed is of the essence. We are processing a very large amount of data over a very short period of time. In order to be able to process this data quickly, we use Redis to store and process the intermediate data to be processed. The speed and stability of Redis of is vital to the operation of the platform as a whole. Should either suffer, the whole platform suffers.,No,Price Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation Third-party Reviews,Redis has a very easy to use programmable interface that allows us, no matter what implementation language is chosen for development, to be able to interact with the DB store. Because of this, we are able to implement functionality, test new features, and run Redis in multiple environments with ease and at minimal cost.,Riak, MongoDB and Elasticsearch,Riak, MongoDB, Elasticsearch, Node, AWS Lambda, AWS Elastic Beanstalk, Amazon Web Services, Docker, GitHub, Bitbucket, Gitlab, Ubuntu LinuxRedis: the best cache store you can get!Redis is being used by our product engineering team. We use it for caching and as a store for our background processing engine.,High-speed access for a database where the size is generally well-known. If you display real-time stock prices, you can use Redis to rapidly get the latest stock price by its key and get it displayed to the user. Support for data structures such as scalars, sets, hashes, and lists.,Persistence can impact performance since Redis will use memory dump to create snapshots used for persistence. Redis supports only basic security options. Redis doesn't provide any access control. There is no internal full-text search support and it is difficult to model relationships using Redis.,10,Increased server throughput. Faster & better user experience.,We use it for caching and being in-memory, it's quite fast. Since we also use it for background processing store, its high-speed access, stability gives our pipeline the consistency that it needs to process millions of jobs daily.,No,Product Features Product Usability Product Reputation Vendor Reputation,Redis has been designed to simplify app development by providing a development architecture that results in cleaner code, faster execution time, better application performance and network utilization.,MongoDB, PostgreSQL, Amazon DynamoDBRedis and its CSATWe have used Redis in an in-memory key-value store.,Binary key-value store support Simple data structures Very well documented,Nested use of data structures GUI tool in better shape More courses on Redis,8,The productivity increased Needs more security aspects Performance has improved tremendously,After using the Redis in my implementation the performance has increased over 90 percent. This is only because of Redis. I compared Redis with other similar technologies but Redis stood out in reading performance. I selected Redis for my implementation. Redis performed as expected and I got a good name in my company.,No,Price Product Features Product Reputation Third-party Reviews,Developing applications with Redis is never a difficult task in our organization.,CodeIgniter,CodeIgniter
Windows, Linux, Mac
Redis
95 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Redis Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Redis
95 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 95 vetted Redis reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Manjeet Kumar profile photo
May 21, 2019

Review: "Redis : Effective cache management solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
First, I would like to clarify that Redis is not being used in production by my organization currently. Right now, I am involved in an R&D project, where I am experimenting on how to induce Redis on various modules. I am planning to use Redis as a cache management solution in our application for now. On successful implementation, we will extend Redis usage to manage other functionality as well.
  • Cache management: Redis is the best solution out there for cache management. It out marked Memcache in latency. Redis gives better flexibility when comes to data storage techniques.
  • For example: Instead of storing objects as serialized strings, we can use a Redis Hash to store an object's fields and values and manage them using a single key.
  • Replication: Redis has the best build in replication feature.
  • For example, It allows slave Redis instances to be exact copies of master instances. The slave will automatically reconnect to the master every time the link breaks and will attempt to be an exact copy of it regardless of what happens to the master.
  • Pub/Sub- It's Publish & Subscribe system of Redis. Where Publish broadcast content to all its subscribers simultaneously. There are various use cases of Pub/Sub. Developers are using it for triggering scripts based on Pub/Sub events. There are various chat ecosystems built on the Pub/Sub module.
  • Redis is super fast but it comes with a cost. Whole dataset resides in RAM. So it can be costly as primary memory is more costly, then secondary ones.
  • Persistence issues: To achieve it, Redis uses a memory dump to create a persistence snapshot, that's cool. But it requires some Linux Kernel tweaking to avoid performance degradation while the Redis server process is forking. This further causes latency.
  • Master-slave structure side effect: Master-slave architecture comes with its own side effects. Please note that there will be only one master with multiple slaves for replication. All writing goes to the master, which creates more load on the master node. So, when the master goes down, the whole architecture does.
Well suited scenarios: Cache management, real-time analysis of events, and leaderboards/counting. Less appropriate scenarios: Persistence and clustering.
Read Manjeet Kumar's full review
D. Marshall Lemcoe Jr. profile photo
March 20, 2019

Redis Review: "Dead-Simple Configuration and Scary-Fast Performance"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses Redis for two main tasks at our organization. First, Redis is used as a traditional in-memory key/store warehouse for a cache system that contains over 400 million items, on average. Using Redis with modern DDR4 memory, we have seen incredible latency savings when it comes to keystore look-ups. Second, we use Redis to manage a distributed queue, such that numerous worker nodes can subscribe to tasks and complete them in an organized way.
  • Key/Value datastore. Redis is incredibly fast when it comes to simple "phone book-style" lookups.
  • Queue orchestration and management when there are many nodes in a system that need to all be on the same page.
  • Dead-simple installation process. It takes about 3 minutes to install Redis and get the service started.
  • I am unable to come up with any legitimate cons, but one thing to note is that Redis, by default, will be installed with no password, leaving it open to the world if the host is not locked-down with a firewall.
Redis is the perfect tool if you are looking to increase the speed of a key/value datastore or cache, as well as centralizing your queue management tasks to a dead-simple and incredibly fast database.

That said, it is not well-suited to tasks that have historically been reserved for relational datastores like MySQL or Postgres. Redis lacks relational database features and does not have a dynamic language like SQL to interact with.
Read D. Marshall Lemcoe Jr.'s full review
Adam Stern profile photo
March 13, 2019

Review: "Redis is fast, great at set-operations, and easy to implement."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using Redis to store sets of object-based information and lists. We query an external system and generate lists in Redis based on the query responses. Because Redis is great at set operations this speeds up the time it takes to make set-based calculations. This Redis cluster supports the a large aspect of the whole application.
  • Redis is easy to install and maintain.
  • Redis is very fast, especially with set operations.
  • Redis is cost effective.
  • Clustering, especially with multiple write nodes, can be difficult to configure.
  • Configuring extremely high availability can be difficult.
Redis is great at fast operations, especially set-based operations. It is great as an object storage mechanism, such as a cache server or a fast key-value object store. Redis is easily installed and maintained, and setting up clustered instances isn't too terrible. Because the basic installation is open source, it is easy to experiment with before deciding to go with Redis long term.
Read Adam Stern's full review
Kiran Narasareddy profile photo
May 08, 2019

Review: "Redis: the best cache store you can get!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used by our product engineering team. We use it for caching and as a store for our background processing engine.
  • High-speed access for a database where the size is generally well-known.
  • If you display real-time stock prices, you can use Redis to rapidly get the latest stock price by its key and get it displayed to the user.
  • Support for data structures such as scalars, sets, hashes, and lists.
  • Persistence can impact performance since Redis will use memory dump to create snapshots used for persistence.
  • Redis supports only basic security options. Redis doesn't provide any access control.
  • There is no internal full-text search support and it is difficult to model relationships using Redis.
Well suited for a real-time stock price ticker. Not well suited for eCommerce search.
Read Kiran Narasareddy's full review
Gunasekar Duraisamy profile photo
April 20, 2019

User Review: "Redis and its CSAT"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Redis in an in-memory key-value store.
  • Binary key-value store support
  • Simple data structures
  • Very well documented
  • Nested use of data structures
  • GUI tool in better shape
  • More courses on Redis
It is well is suited as an in-memory key value store for applications which require very little response time. The data can be stored and retrieved from Redis in minimal time when compared to traditional databases. It is not suitable when the data cannot be stored in memory completely.
Read Gunasekar Duraisamy's full review
Bagaskara Wisnu Gunawan profile photo
April 18, 2019

Redis Review: "Performant In-Memory Database"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is a vital part of our organization as it enables us to process a whole load of queues that our tools have to process. It provides so much value for us since most of our tools require queues to call APIs, etc. We used Redis because of its simplicity of setup and its fast performance. We loved Redis and sure you'd love it too!
  • Quick and Easy Setup
  • Fast Performance
  • Does its job well!
  • Setting up a cluster in Redis is a bit confusing and hard for the first time.
It simply has a lot of use cases, but, for our case, we always use Redis for our Laravel queue driver and also for our application's cache driver because it runs so fast and we just couldn't ignore that. We use Redis for dispatch Jobs, storing the cache, working on queues, etc.
Read Bagaskara Wisnu Gunawan's full review
prakash ps profile photo
April 17, 2019

User Review: "Redis on high scalability world"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use redis and recommend for our clients. The key areas Redis outsteps all others are:
1) Scalability
2) Unique and flexible key value db structure
3) They use Ssd Flash for their instances

They also provide session management capabilities to be implemented in any huge projects without much headache. Their db instance also provides a high number of read write per second, which makes it a leader.
  • Session Management
  • Key value pair DB structure
  • High scalability
  • Flash instances
  • Failover Replicas
  • Data Consistency
Redis is particularly suited when you want to mesh millions of data and get a unique statistics or a child dataset out of it. Then Redis is the only viable product with the highest number of read and write per second. It increases my speed drastically so that I am able to put 10k records per second and successfully retrieve at same speed.
Read prakash ps's full review
Rahul Chaudhary profile photo
December 13, 2018

User Review: "Redis is goooood!!!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is a basic, but extremely fast, key-value storage. We made a decision to use Redis because our use case didn't require a full blown database. We needed something to hold the data temporarily and loss of that data wouldn't lead to any issues. Redis was perfectly fitting our use case, and since then we are a bunch of happy Redis users.
  • Being a non-SQL database, it does not require any structure. Perfect for unstructured data like key-value pairs.
  • Redis is extremely fault tolerant. As soon as we write a record, it gets saved to the disk, without any performance issues.
  • Redis is very lightweight. In docker it takes less than 30MB, so it is so easy to run multiple containers in cluster without taking too much power.
  • Redis has a very good query API, and they are in their website each operation is clearly mentioned with its time complexity. This gives you a clear picture of performance. We didn't in fact do any performance testing because we trusted their site with all the information.
  • Redis has a very strong community around it. We have never found an issue for which a solution didn't exist beforehand.
  • A cluster in Redis was a little hard to understand and deploy, but this is a one time thing to learn, no worries.
Redis is extremely well suited for storing key-value kind of data. Flat and static values are around which they are built. There is no headache of indexing, or maintaining formats like other databases have.

I can also vouch for Redis's pub/sub notification. You can basically set expiration or event hooks around your keys, and Redis will trigger a notification for those events.

But Redis is ill-suited for treating it as a proper database. For instance, this is not a replacement for elasticsearch or mongo.

To assess if you need Redis, in my opinion, just think if you need to query values. If yes, don't use redis. If you are only concerned with key operations, then go with Redis.
Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
Bob Bennett profile photo
March 27, 2019

Review: "Blazing performance, excellent stability, and really nothing to dislike make Redis a must look at solution"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being leveraged to address big data, temporal data and session state challenges across the software stack. New opportunities to leverage it are continually being investigated and identified. It addresses data consistency and concurrency issues and provides amazing speed to what could be slower operations if handled without it.
  • Cache speed
  • Support for high volume of transactions with elegant handling of data sets
  • Ease of use - well structured and easy to implement
  • Price per shard is a bit high but over all there are no issues worth mentioning
  • I've heard some wishing it supported complex queries but this is asking the solution to support operations it wasn't intended for
Redis is well suited for:
  • Big data manipulation
  • Temporal data index structures
  • Distributed solutions
  • Publish/Subscribe model based solutions
Read Bob Bennett's full review
Leonel Quinteros profile photo
March 22, 2019

Review: "Get a cache server on steroids with Redis and get rid of those Memcached instances"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis as a Cache DB in a microservices environment to store auth tokens, temporary data and sync flags to coordinate processes that are handled by multiple parties asynchronously.
The main problem it solves for us is to need to have a high-performance cache that also provides data persistence so we can restart instances and deploy new ones without losing data in the middle. This is very important for us because of the problem we're tackling. In the case of auth tokens, we don't want to make all users log in again after we restart an instance because the memory got cleared. The same applies for the sync flags that our processes depend on to complete.
  • High performance. Redis is FAST, really fast.
  • Data persistence. Having this feature was the main reason we chose Redis over Memcached.
  • Clustering. Distributing data between multiple instances is easy to do with Redis.
  • Data types. It isn't normal to have native data types supported on cache servers, but Redis covers many areas for this use case.
  • The data type collections aren't extensive and can fall short for some needs.
  • Single-threaded. Redis doesn't support multi-threading, so it won't benefit from multi-core CPUs. Instead, you need to deploy several single-core instances to scale horizontally. While this is a design decision, it may be a downside on some infrastructures.
  • Lack of UI. A visual UI can be a downer for some users.
Redis is great for any cache service with data persistence implementation. If you need a super-fast cache, you can always use the in-memory cache (without persistence) to improve performance and still get all the benefits of the service.
It's usually compared to Memcached, and in terms of performance I think they're very similar, and for some critical applications, Memcached may be a better option. But the feature-rich characteristics of Redis will position it in a more competitive place against many applications.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
victor pease solano profile photo
March 21, 2019

User Review: "Easy enterprise caching with Redis"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to have most of our web apps accessing our database backend directly, and this was very resource consuming, especially in catalogs and details. This was more critical in our e-commerce storefront. With Redis, we were able to update our webs in order to cache all the queries with resources displayed frequently. In that way, we freed our servers of a huge load. The auto-expire function lets us use the Redis cache and not have to continuously monitor it.
  • It's an incredibly fast database with restrictions. It only has key-value combinations but good anyway.
  • For caching, at the first request-> write to the cache and read from it since DB query is expensive.
  • Persistence, It's like having your session active any time you want.
  • Software-based so the high availability configuration is a little bit tricky.
  • The expire function is manually managed, so keep all your variables well documented.
  • Better to create a Proxy service to deal with Redis values in order to isolate your app from the complexity (not too much anyway).
Redis is a specialized key-value store, so it's best suited for session variables storage and cache'ing. Redis helps you identify database queries that are repeated exactly the same (for instance, combo lists, product catalogs, configurations, etc).

Redis is atomic, that means you don't have to deal with variables to being blocked to ensure concurrency. So it's great for dashboards, leaderboards, and apps like that.

Redis is not a common database, so don't use it as your repository for data entry or visualization. Yes, it's fast but not that way.
Read victor pease solano's full review
Guljar Prasad profile photo
April 19, 2019

Review: "Redis makes your application super fast."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Redis for one of our clients. We wanted to find a way to handle huge amounts of data for every user search and their MySQL was not able to handle it quickly. We were discussing going more toward NoSQL. After more R&D, we chose Redis. Now it is handling data in an excellent way. It's for a travel product where we are searching hotels and flight for queries given by users, and Redis is rocking here.
  • Handles huge data without any loss
  • more number of request at same time
  • node replication
  • Since this is in-memory database but when you use it as persistence DB then pricing will increase.
  • Does not support query like SQL
Read Guljar Prasad's full review
Roberto Luna Rojas profile photo
April 18, 2019

Review: "Redis is the DB you didn't know you need."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are starting to move towards using Redis as our primary storage for performance and simplicity reasons. We have been using it for the last 5 years as a Caching and Session storage mechanism, but last year we started to implement it across multiple services.
  • High Performance. Compared to other similar technologies Redis is blazing fast.
  • Built-in Data Structures. Redis facilitates the creation of Counts, Leaderboards, & Logs.
  • Scale Out. Other technologies claim to do Active-Active replication but while rebalancing, the Cluster goes irresponsive. With Redis, this does not happen and requests are still being served.
  • Management console still not quite polished.
  • No built-in GUI for Debugging keys and values.
  • Pricing model.
Redis is well suited for applications with well-defined data usage within the NoSQL space, that is counters, queues, leaderboards, time-based, key-value hashes, or for anything that requires many secondary indexes. Still, for a tabular view, a relational DB would make more sense. In the case of full-blown JSON lookup, maybe other NoSQLs could perform as well as Redis.
Read Roberto Luna Rojas's full review
Berkant Ipek profile photo
April 18, 2019

User Review: "Redis is a nice transition to take"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small company with a small engineering team. We are actually DevOps based entirely and working actively with Redis as a key-value storage and a backing service for caching. We love its stability, trustworthiness, and speed.
  • Basic Storage
  • Caching
  • Queues
  • Scripting is sometimes cumbersome
Redis is well suited when a multithreaded environment is needed or you're low on memory resources.
Read Berkant Ipek's full review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

User Review: "Redis: Simple and Fast"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Redis for cache storage for data that we need to serve quickly. It is used across the whole organization. It has helped scale up our company and continue to server larger amounts of traffic. Getting data quickly is always a difficult challenge while growing your company, and Redis allows us to serve users quickly and efficiently.
  • Simplicity combined with power. The Redis API is very simple to use, but it also excels at handling large amounts of traffic.
  • Redis is scalable and can seamlessly scale outwards to store and retrieve larger amounts of data.
  • Redis has an incredibly strong community and tool suite. There is an ample amount of tutorials and connections, making it a great choice regardless of your tech stack.
  • It would be better if there were some more advanced tooling. It doesn't feel quite as robust as some data storage options.
  • It's unclear how much the core team is doing to advance the product. I'm not a hardcore follower, and there is little news about what is happening.
  • Sometimes things can feel a little too abstracted. I've used it for a long time, but rarely know what is happening underneath the hood.
Redis is well suited for any startup or larger company that wants to cache data and scale it out seamlessly. Cacheing is needed when you have data that is frequently accessed or when your queries are expensive. Redis allows you to store objects in memory making it fast and efficient to access them and server the data to large amounts of users without clogging up your server.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

User Review: "Redis is a hammer in search of a nail."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our organization, Redis is being used as a temporary cache for ephemeral data. This solves the problem of needing to store cached data in a centralized place that is accessible by multiple devices and can be retrieved quickly. In general, nothing is stored in Redis that can't be reproduced from another resource on demand. For example, if we have a process that creates summaries of data from multiple data sources and is costly or very time consuming, we would cache those results in Redis for an appropriate period of time to make it available to other applications in a timely manner without having to rerun the original process. This reduces the time/cost normally incurred to review that data set.
  • Speed: Redis is, generally speaking, very fast. I typically place Redis somewhere within my internal network so the major factor in the speed of retrieving data is the size of the data cached.
  • Configuration: Redis is very configurable to the point where you can utilize it as simply as a single instance running with no backups to a multi-tiered cluster running with permanent storage, data backups, and replication.
  • Documentation: Redis has done a good job of documenting all of its capabilities as well as providing guidance in terms of what client libraries exist to help the developer's application(s) interface with it.
  • I, as a rule, don't use Redis for persistent data, but it would be nice if Redis had an option to persist data to another data source such as MySQL or PostgreSQL.
  • This is more a wish list item than a con but, it would be nice to have the ability to configure Redis as a write-through proxy. This is generally done by having a processor processes write-data to Redis, another process then reads the data from Redis and writes it to a database, and then finally the keys that have been written are flushed out of Redis.
Redis is well suited for storage of ephemeral data that could be used by multiple processes. For example, a multi-server website that sits behind a load balancer could use Redis to store session information that might typically be stored on the filesystem. This would allow all the website nodes to share session information without having to resort to sticky sessions.

I generally try to avoid using Redis as a primary data source for critical data.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 21, 2019

Redis Review: "Enhancement of Data Structure"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis provides support for database analysis and integration of many functions and programs. It is mainly used by our backend team and data analyst. It helped us to grow and expand our business a lot. The tools they provide for the system are the best thing for our organization. Our whole organization is fond of using it and is praiseworthy by our whole team. Many projects that we have done are due to Redis.
  • Introduction to new things like sorted list and hyper logs.
  • Speed of deployment for programs.
  • Data structure it has given.
  • Data scaling
  • User interface
Redis supports different kinds of data structure like sorted list, geospatial indexes with radius queries, and streams, etc. It helps us show usable data to our customers.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 18, 2019

Review: "Some points about using Redis in small and medium products"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Redis in our development department, as a layer on top of regular databases (MongoDB, MySQL), as cache, and for other critical data storage.
  • The main point: speed.
  • Easy to use and integrate with the rest of the components of our system.
  • Full-text search support
  • GUI tools
  • Pricing
I think it is perfect for managing temporary auth tokens and for caching.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 24, 2019

Redis Review: "Instant database for instant user experience"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In Anzu technologies Pvt Ltd we used Redis for multiple reasons. We developed a social app which allows the user to bookmark the video and internet contents. Performance was an important factor so we implemented user timelines using Redis sorted sets. We implemented the whole notification system using Redis. Our developed micro services architecture using Redis. Caching was another common challenge where Redis performed very well. We just love Redis.
  • Caching
  • Instant response
  • Easy to use
  • Very light footprint
  • Nested JSON indexing
  • Fragmentation
  • Nothing else
Redis hyperlog, bloom filters are much lighter than sorted sets for different business use cases. Streams are a complete replacement for the Kafka data pipeline.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 18, 2019

User Review: "Redis is fast and just works!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In our project (high load web application with 10k+ users) we used Redis as a user session store, as a distributed cache for web front end servers (with PubSub notifications for changes propagation), and for notification service.
  • PubSub notifications: easy to use and just works.
  • Redis has a lot of different data structures and it's easy to find the best one for any problem.
  • Simple lightweight protocol.
  • It just works and works fast!
  • Single threaded nature of Redis can hurt if you not following best practices. For example, small values, don't use heavy blocking commands.
  • Expiration can be set only on a key level, and cannot be set for a hash item.
Best scenarios: distributed caching, session storage, and PubSub scenarios in the distributed environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 18, 2019

Review: "Don't look for any other tool for caching if you know about Redis"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is our primary caching database. We cache most of our intermediate results for backup and scan operations using Redis. Of late, we have also been using it as a message queue. The performance is excellent and features like automatic failover and cluster management are very helpful. All necessary data structures like lists, maps, etc. are supported.
  • Automatic failover
  • Exhaustive set of data structures
  • If you want some simple messaging service, Redis pub/sub is excellent.
  • It's difficult to understand the use cases initially. The website should talk about "why Redis" first, then "how".
Caching is its primary use case. If you need lightweight pub/sub support, then Redis is good.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 17, 2019

User Review: "Our experience with Redis Enterprise"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a country wide application for generation of an Electronic Way bill for the specific consignment/movement of goods from one place to another, either inter-state or intra-state and of value more than INR 50,000, required under the current GST regime in India typically showing the names of the consignor and consignee, the point of origin of the consignment, its destination, and route. We have specifically used Redis for Caching of user profile information used for authentication of the supplier, recipient, and the transporter. Redis has also been used to cache the Items and their Codes. In the future we also propose to use Redis for authentication and session management. The e-Way Bill replaces the Way Bill, which was a physical document and existed during the VAT regime for the movement of goods. The countrywide roll-out of the e-way bill system is targeted to reduce tax evasion with proper invoicing of the goods and to stop the practice of bogus invoicing of goods. It also plays an important part in the tracking of Goods with the use of robust technology like (RFID) Radio Frequency Identification Devices. Redis was implemented as a cache for all transporter data stored on the GSTN (Good and Services Tax Network). When a transporter entered their GSTIN (Goods and Services Tax ID Number) number into the system, their data was fetched from the cache and used to populate the bulk of the e-way bill.
  • Adoption of Redis, gave us the ability to realize our goal of digitally transforming the process of filing returns, generating bills, and tracking the movement of goods across states.
  • Using Redis Enterprise, we were able to reduce the time it took to generate an e-way bill by more than 85%. Just as important, we were able to dramatically reduce the burden on our SQL database and API calls.
  • Highly available persistent caching solution recognized for its seamless compatibility with Microsoft SQL Server and Consistent end-to-end response times below 40ms.
  • Flexible data structures and commands for efficient application in use cases beyond caching.
  • Session management is currently being handled in memory by our SQL server, but as the number of concurrent sessions during peak times moves from today’s average of 50,000 to an expected 100,000, we’ll need to implement more efficient session and authentication management likely within Redis Enterprise.
  • Manage the complexity of data in many different structures ranging from relational, to logs, to raw text. Handling of Streaming data, large volume of transactions/requests and data movement.
  • The functionalities like Joins (inner/outer join), Set operations (Union/Intersect/Minus), Transactions, Full ANSI SQL support, Constraints (like RDBMS) are not easily supported.
Redis has its advantages in the 3Vs viz. Volume – Scale from TB to Zeta Bytes (Billion TB), Variety – Manages the complexity of data in many different structures –Ranging from relational, to logs, to raw text and Velocity –Streaming data, large volume of transactions/requests and data movement. Redis is ideally suited for data caching, authentication and session management. Redis' advantage is in handling Scale, Performance and Flexibility (schema-less). It has also has its advantages in Replication of every data element to another node and Sharding and Partitioning so as to Distribute data across nodes in a "share nothing" approach.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2019

User Review: "Redis: More than just cache"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is used as a cache layer for our high read data as well as a database layer for write-intensive data. It's used in the entire engineering department as the de-facto caching layer for all services being built. The read and write speeds are unmatched because of the simplicity of the design.
  • Simple Key Value storage
  • Easy interface compared to other databases
  • Reliable performance characteristics
  • Redis needs better distributed support. I know this is not the point, but a distributed Redis with some CAP tradeoffs would be useful
  • Redis should be more clear on its pooling capabilities. Should you use a pool or just use a single connection?
  • It would be nice if Redis had a better CLI
Good for key value storage. Simple as that. If you need something that has relational data or need more complex data structures, don't use Redis.
If you need something that can be written and read by multiple services, that is as fast as possible, use Redis. The simplicity is its biggest strength, and making it more complex will just ruin the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 27, 2019

"Redis Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is being used extensively by our Web/Cloud department, of which I am a part of. We use Redis essentially for cache'ing but we pretty much try to use it for as much as we possibly can. Almost any information retrieval that we can offload to Redis will save as money, as well as reducing our response times. That is, any time we know that our data requirements are simple enough for a key/value setup to suffice, we use Redis - and in my opinion, anywhere we do not do this is a mistake.
  • Response time - the time taken to store or retrieve something from Redis is minuscule compared to most of the alternatives that we are aware of.
  • Value for the money - every time we offload data storage to Redis it saves us money, compared to using something like MongoDB or AWS.
  • Better documentation.
It is well suited for cache'ing or anything involving simple key-value data storage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 18, 2019

"Redis Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Redis is, at a high-level, an in-memory data store largely setup at a key-value store (although it can persist data to disk, and supports more complex data structures). Redis is generally used as part of a cache layer and has a number of additional use cases that it fills well (messaging and task queues).
  • Very, very fast due to the in-memory data store, which makes it highly scalable on rational-sized hardware.
  • Fills a number of different use cases: can build message broadcast, task queues, sorted sets (i.e. leaderboards), and database caching all with the same tool.
  • A robust third-party ecosystem of deployment options (like AWS) and libraries in a number of common programming languages.
  • Can be difficult to set up as it scales past a single write node.
  • While Redis can preserve state by writing to the file system in a couple of ways, it can still be cumbersome to standup a cluster with history.
For caching, task queues, and messaging, Redis is amongst the best implementation choices. Redis shines when very high throughput is required and very low query times are a necessity. Redis is also a great choice for storing data that can be automatically removed once it expires and should be stored somewhere else. While it is a data structure store, it is not a good choice for highly structured data that should be written to a disk instead (where a traditional RDBMS or NoSQL option is likely a better choice).
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (32)
9.3
Availability (32)
8.9
Concurrency (31)
8.9
Security (29)
6.7
Scalability (32)
8.6
Data model flexibility (29)
7.7
Deployment model flexibility (30)
8.0

About Redis

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

Redis Features

NoSQL Databases Features
Has featurePerformance
Has featureAvailability
Has featureConcurrency
Has featureSecurity
Has featureScalability
Has featureData model flexibility
Has featureDeployment model flexibility
Additional Features
Has featureIntegrated modules
Has featureActive-Passive Geo Distribution
Has featureCluster Architecture
Has featureLinear Scaling
Has featureDurability
Has featureBackup and Disaster Recovery
Has featureReliability

Redis Screenshots

Redis Video

Redis Downloadables

Redis Integrations

Apache Spark, OpenShift, CData, Pivotal Cloud Foundry

Redis Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

Redis Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

Redis Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported Countries:Global
Supported Languages: https://redis.io/clients