Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Semrush

Semrush

Overview

What is Semrush?

Semrush is a relatively popular search engine optimization tool set from the company of the same name based in Pennsylvania and founded in 2008. Largely the platforms relies on competitive intelligence, and features SEO staples like backlink checking, keyword analysis…

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

SEMrush has proven to be an invaluable tool for users across various industries, helping them improve their SEO strategies and achieve …
Continue reading

Semrush Review

10 out of 10
April 12, 2022
Semrush is a great tool for Keywords research and also tracking keyword performance. The site audit report helps identify all the …
Continue reading

Semrush Is Awesome

10 out of 10
March 28, 2022
I used Semrush for my Marketing Analytics course at Dean College to better understand Search Engine Optimization. Semrush is a fantastic …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 14 features
  • Keyword analysis (148)
    9.3
    93%
  • Site audit / diagnostics (144)
    9.2
    92%
  • Competitive analysis (143)
    9.1
    91%
  • SERP ranking tracking (144)
    8.1
    81%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Pro

$129.95

Cloud
per month

Guru

$249.95

Cloud
per month

Business

$499.95

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.semrush.com/prices

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $129 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Semrush Domain Analysis Demo - Best SEO Tool 2023?

YouTube

Branalyzer Review, Demo + Tutorial | Low-Cost Semrush/Similarweb Alternative for Competitor Analysis

YouTube

Semrush Review + $9864 Bonus + With Free Trail

YouTube

SEMRush Review (SEMRush Best Features, Demo, Pros And Cons)

YouTube

Long Tail Keywords with SEMrush - Keyword Golden Ratio

YouTube
Return to navigation

Features

SEO

Core features related to search engine optimization

8.5
Avg 7.8

SEO Channels

Features related to optimizing your website for specific channels

7.6
Avg 7.6

SEO Platform & Account Management

Features related to scalability and integration of the SEO platform

8.5
Avg 8.4
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Semrush?

Semrush is an online visibility management software-as-a-service platform.

With over 55 products, tools and add-ons across online visibility management, including tools for search, content, social media and market research, data for more than 142 countries, seamless integration with Google and task management platforms, Semrush aims to be a critical solution for all companies who are serious about online presence.

Semrush in numbers:

  • Over 800 million unique domains monitored for 142 geo databases;
  • Over 43 trillion backlinks;
  • 21 billion keywords;
  • Over 10 million users who have tried Semrush

Semrush Features

SEO Features

  • Supported: Keyword analysis
  • Supported: Backlink management
  • Supported: SERP ranking tracking
  • Supported: Page grader
  • Supported: Competitive analysis
  • Supported: Site audit / diagnostics
  • Supported: Site recommendations
  • Supported: Task management

SEO Channels Features

  • Supported: Local SEO
  • Supported: Social SEO
  • Supported: Mobile SEO
  • Supported: Global SEO

SEO Platform & Account Management Features

  • Supported: Multi-domain support
  • Supported: Integration with web analytics tools

Semrush Video

Semrush Demo

Semrush Competitors

Semrush Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Semrush is a relatively popular search engine optimization tool set from the company of the same name based in Pennsylvania and founded in 2008. Largely the platforms relies on competitive intelligence, and features SEO staples like backlink checking, keyword analysis to refine SEO and PPC campaigning and locate low-cost / high-yield keywords, analysis of competitors who co-occupy desired ad and listing spaces, domain vs. domain analysis, as well as site audit and domain tracking. Semrush can be acquired for as little as $69.95 on a monthly basis (with a 7-day money back guarantee in place of a free trial) with the Pro pack, up to $549.95 per month with the Business pack; features and tools are the same across tiers, only usage limits change. Discounts are available for annual subscription. Semrush boasts well-known users, like Forbes, Paypal, Wells Fargo, and many marketing agencies.

Semrush starts at $129.

Ahrefs, Moz Pro, and Similarweb are common alternatives for Semrush.

Reviewers rate Keyword analysis highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Semrush are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(721)

Community Insights

TrustRadius Insights are summaries of user sentiment data from TrustRadius reviews and, when necessary, 3rd-party data sources. Have feedback on this content? Let us know!

SEMrush has proven to be an invaluable tool for users across various industries, helping them improve their SEO strategies and achieve measurable results. With SEMrush, even those without prior knowledge of SEO have been able to boost their rankings and organic visibility over the last 16 months. The software is widely used for campaign management and competitor analysis, particularly in the organic SEO space. Users rely on the Projects feature to track keyword visibility, identify site problems, and monitor link tracking. The Organic Research tab is a favorite among users for analyzing domain rankings and keyword rankings. SEMrush also excels in keyword research, providing users with valuable insights into volume, competition, and difficulty. It aids in determining article topics, optimizing headers, title tags, meta data, and body copy for informational landing pages. Tracking and reporting on rankings for high-value keywords as well as monitoring competitors' rankings are common use cases of SEMrush. The platform also serves as a powerful tool for higher-level industry research and gaining insights into the competitive landscape. Additionally, SEMrush is occasionally utilized for site health metrics and other technical data. Following an extensive adoption by SEO agencies, SEMrush has become the principal tool in their toolbox. This software provides unparalleled information to agencies and clients alike through its advanced features like competitor analysis reports. SEMrush enables agencies to benchmark their SEO campaigns, track progress over time, and gain a competitive advantage in the market. It plays a pivotal role in conducting website audits, formulating solid SEO strategies, creating content marketing plans, and training new SEO professionals on best practices. Furthermore, SEMrush offers comprehensive insights at a reasonable price when compared to other tools available in the market. Its rapid innovation and frequent updates add more functionality regularly, ensuring that users stay ahead of the curve and continue to benefit from cutting-edge features. Whether it's conducting keyword research or enhancing on-page optimization checks, SEMrush proves to be an essential tool for marketers looking to make data-driven decisions and achieve success in their SEO efforts.

Position Tracking: Highly Beneficial for Keyword Rankings Many users have found the Position Tracking feature of SEMrush to be highly beneficial for monitoring keyword rankings and tracking competitors. They appreciate the detailed insights provided by this tool, which allows them to stay informed about their SEO efforts and make data-driven decisions.

Comprehensive Site Audits: In-depth and Accurate Analysis The comprehensive Site Audits offered by SEMrush have been praised by many users. They find these audits to be in-depth and accurate, providing valuable information about areas that need improvement on their websites. This feature helps them optimize their websites for better performance and search engine rankings.

Local SEO Capabilities: Effective Optimization for Specific Locations Users have found the Local SEO capabilities of SEMrush to be helpful for analyzing and optimizing their clients' websites for specific locations. This feature assists them in improving their clients' local search visibility and attracting more targeted traffic.

Confusing User Interface: Some users have found the user interface of SEMrush to be confusing and not user-friendly, leading to difficulties in navigation and understanding the toolsets.

Technical Issues: There were reports of technical issues with the SEMrush website, including frequent crashes and periods of inaccessibility. These issues negatively impacted the overall user experience.

Steep Learning Curve: Several users mentioned that SEMrush has a steep learning curve, particularly for those who are new to SEO or SEM. It takes time for users to fully grasp all the features and functionalities of the software.

Based on user reviews, the following are the three most common recommendations for SEMrush:

  1. Take advantage of the trial and explore all parts of the software. Users recommend trying SEMrush before committing to the paid version. They suggest using the free trial to fully explore the software and take the time to set everything up properly. Users highly recommend utilizing SEMrush for keyword tracking and research.

  2. Consider SEO requirements and compare with other tools. Reviewers emphasize the importance of considering SEO requirements before choosing SEMrush. While they believe SEMrush is a great tool for competitor analysis, users suggest evaluating other options if comparable or superior tools are available at lower costs. They mention that SEMrush is a basic, free tool that does the job, but other tools may be more sophisticated, including the paid version of SEMrush.

  3. Leverage expert knowledge and resources. Users suggest working with a consultant or expert to fully understand SEMrush and leverage its insights for marketing efforts. They recommend taking advantage of webinars, video tutorials, and customer support to get the most out of the tool. Additionally, reviewers mention that there may be at least one element or tool in the toolkit that users may not realize they need, highlighting the need for expert guidance.

Overall, users highly recommend using SEMrush for obtaining large amounts of data on competitors and keywords. They find it helpful for evaluating their ranking through live data and true search listings. However, users also advise considering other options if comparable or superior tools are available at lower costs and stress the importance of understanding SEO requirements before choosing SEMrush.

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 148)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Billy Heany | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As an SEO manager, we use SEMrush alongside many other pieces of SEO software to provide recommendations, audits, and performance data for clients. This software is used across the SEO organization in this manner at a corporate level.
  • Analytics
  • Quick auditing support.
  • Deep dives into client accounts.
  • Competitive insights across an industry.
  • Competitive insights are limited and often follow the wrong competitors.
  • Estimated traffic estimates are nearly always way over the top.
  • Many tabs can be confusing for newer users.
It's best for both SEO professionals and low-level content writers or site owners who'd like to know how their keyword performance is tracking.
Alanna Hawley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it for our Earned Media/SEO department specifically. We use it to perform keyword research and perform competitive analyses.
  • Keyword research, ideation, and organization (with the Keyword Magic tool). The way this tool works really helps with our own internal process too
  • Process support - meaning it's very easy to incorporate SEMRush's various tools into a team's process. We are a new team and still building processes and find the workflows within SEMRush to be intuitive and helpful in building our team's processes
  • Competitive information - there are a lot of ways to dive into competitive research, which is great because that's always a big question from clients and from our team as well- what are competitors doing, how are they doing, etc.
  • I wish there was a way to upload a list of keywords you already have and see search volume, etc. This can be achieved through Site Audit or Projects (forget the exact terminology) but it's clunky to do it that bc there's a lot of other things you have to fill out
  • I just need to explore the features more, honestly! I know I'm not using SEMRush to its fullest potential
SEMRush is probably most useful for performing audits, especially during the sales process. Although we still use it for our ongoing clients, it seems less suited for retainer clients within an agency (where there are many clients). It seems to work much more "one-off" versus being able to wrap up a bunch of information for a client and save it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush provides a comprehensive suite for SEO and digital marketing analysis. I particularly appreciate its intent-based keyword research option, enabling users to align content strategy with specific user intents. With robust analytics and competitor insights, it's a powerful tool for enhancing online visibility. Its user-friendly interface makes it accessible for both beginners and seasoned marketers. Highly recommended for strategic digital campaigns.
  • Keywords Research
  • Backlinks Analysis
  • Pillar topic research
  • Local Grid
  • Accurate Position Tracking
Semrush excels in aiding competitive analysis, enabling businesses to understand their market positioning and identify strategic opportunities. It proves valuable for optimizing content strategies based on user intent, enhancing overall SEO performance. However, it may be less appropriate for businesses with limited digital marketing budgets, as its premium features may not be cost-effective for smaller scale operations.
September 29, 2022

Our Go-To Marketing Tool

Melissa D. Cooper, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush is used by both our Marketing team and our Editorial team. Reviewed's Marketing team uses Semrush for paid and earned marketing research, competitive analysis, and tracking performance. Our Editorial team uses multiple research and writing tools that help them make decisions about SEO.
  • Competitor Reporting
  • Keyword Research
  • Ranking Tracking
  • The trend graph in the Keyword Magic report is confusing and should stay static (showing in Jan-Dec order no matter what the month currently is)
  • Most of the data is a day delayed. That seems to be more related to Semrush data sources than anything else
  • Excited about the Top Stories tracking feature, but it's not without its errors. Looking forward to improvements there
Semrush is a great general Marketing tool with a strong focus on SEO and Content Marketing.
Ivan Briceño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Semrush is the ally SEO tool for any digital marketing agency. It unifies in a single platform the main SEO and Local SEO indicators. It allows day-to-day monitoring of the positions in the Google SERP considering the organic competitors. This is the basis of the reports sent to the clients of the SEO projects.
  • Make SEO reports quickly
  • Daily Google SERP SEO Alerts
  • Organic investigation of the competition
  • Reports of SERP's only of Local SEO
  • Checking local files for all countries
  • Improve reports On Page SEO Checker
Adequate: SEO consulting, SEO and SERP reports, reports with main KPI's Appropriate: Support local SEO projects. Support in SEO copywriting (it has it's own tool, but isn't good).
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We utilize Semrush for keyword research, competitive analysis, backlink audits, organic position tracking, and prospecting sites with digital PR potential. This implies that Semrush saves us time by providing us with all of the information we require for our daily tasks. It'd be as if we were working with our eyes closed if we didn't have it.
  • Keyword research
  • Backlink analytics
  • Technical site audit
We utilize Semrush to do health checks on our own and on our clients' websites. This tells us how our sites rank for certain keywords and where we may make improvements to our site's SEO. It's also how we come up with keywords for sponsored advertising. These features alone are worth the price of the membership.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used Semrush for keyword tracking, keyword analysis, backlink monitoring, and trends for main months. I follow up my websites to understand each section of problems to solve and get better results. I can set audit for my website to learn it's health and after audit, it is quite easy to navigate between sections to solve your website problem.
  • Backlink Analysis
  • Keyword Overview
  • SEO Audit
  • Toxic Backlink
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Semrush Sensor
  • PPC Keyword Volume
  • Semrush Trends
  • Seo Writing Assistant
SEO's and marketers can use Semrush for their marketing channel analysis and understanding website behaviour about current situation. You can understand all the things about your website to solve and make your marketing strategy in a different layer. It is easy to use dashboard and understand each section of the site.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Semrush to assess how relevant keywords that we think are relevant to our blog posts really are. We use it to see how people are accessing our content and where they are doing it from. It's super helpful for content creation and easy to use. I fully recommend it.
  • Traffic measurements
  • Relevant keyword search
  • Target market selection
  • Market consolidation
  • Menu navigation
  • More timely update of data
This is suited to plan for keywords in a single market, but it struggles when you need to consolidate several markets. It is well-suited to discover new keywords directly related to the ones being used currently to expand the content the company is creating to get better results.
Dragan Berak | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Semrush to conduct keyword research, competitive analysis, backlink audit, organic position tracking, and prospecting sites that have a potential for digital PR campaigns. This means that Semrush saves us valuable time by offering all the data we need in our everyday work. We'd be lost without it i.e. it would be as if we're working with our eyes closed.
  • Keyword research.
  • Organic traffic overview.
  • Backlink analytics.
  • Technical site audit.
  • Additional user seat policy.
  • Ability to connect Log File Analyzer to Amazon S3.
  • Ability to export reports easily to Google Data Studio.
Semrush does a great job when it comes to getting info about keywords. It is easy to distinguish user intent, keyword volume, and keyword difficulty, easy to check a snapshot of the search engine results page (SERP), and of course to see the URL keywords are ranking for. On the other hand, even though their technical site audit is quite extensive, sometimes it's way too hard to deal with all the issues their system is reporting after a crawl.
Todd Underwood | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Semrush to run audits on the health of our and our clients' websites. This shows us how our sites rank for specific keyphrases, and areas where we can improve on site SEO. We also use it to generate keywords for paid advertising. These features alone pay for the subscription.
  • Site audits and reporting.
  • Keyword generation for paid advertising.
  • SEO analysis of prospective clients' websites.
  • I haven't encountered any features that are hard to use or missing functionality.
Semrush allows us to keep an eye on the general and specific health of our clients' websites. We use it before taking on a website rebuild to tell us what is and isn't working about the current site, and we use it during the rebuild to optimize our work. The site audit tools are priceless. We also use the keyword generation tools for developing paid advertising keywords and the backlink audit tool for staying on top of toxic links.
Katie Wojciechowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
In this role, I used Semrush for keyword research to help determine Article topics for the editorial team Headers, title tags, meta data, and body copy for "core" informational landing pages on the site Keyword-rich templated title tags and headers for e-commerce pages I also used it to track and report on rankings for high-value keywords and those we selected/incorporated. Additionally, I used it to track our competitors' rankings for those same keywords. I also used it for higher-level industry research to get a better idea of the competitive landscape. Occasionally I used the platform to look at site health metrics and other technical data, but not on a super consistent basis.
  • Great visuals for keyword position tracking, love that you can see the page that is ranking
  • Enjoyed the auto-generated reporting feature (specifically in the context of keyword position tracking)
  • Shows many different and useful views for competitive research
  • Great templated keyword research tools for those who are not as hands-on with SEO
  • I LOVE the Keyword Magic Tool for honing in on longtail, high-opportunity keywords
  • The auto-generated reports don't get nearly as specific with drilled-down info as I would like. It seems the options are broad but shallow. Especially compared to how good some of the visuals and tables are in-app.
  • Some of the views/research features (like Organic Research/Keyword Gap) are a little redundant in my opinion.
  • I wish keywords for Position Tracking weren't so expensive
  • Some of the keyword data from Google - like volume - is slow to update, so you may be seeing data that is weeks old, which in certain scenarios can be a hindrance.
Semrush is not perfect, but in my experience, it's the one-size-fits-most SEO tool I would recommend to almost anyone (who works on a team/does not mind upgrading to a paid version). It's great for diverse teams - there are features that are basically plug and play, like the Content Marketing tools, that may be good for some team members, while more experienced SEOs can find a lot of value as well from research tools like the Domain Overview tool to take a deep dive into competitors. I'd say research and tracking functions are where Semrush shines. The reporting features will get the job done, but a lot of the data views are much more restricted in the generated reports than they are in-app, which I found annoying. I got a lot of questions in meetings about what some reporting data meant because the options were limited - ie, a "competitor organic performance" metric that was only month-over-month, and super vague, whereas in the app you could look at week-over-week, drill down on metrics, etc. The free version is just okay. I recommend this more for someone whose team is willing to pay for at least the Business level. A lot of the better, more unique functions, like Position Tracking for more than 10 keywords, costs more.
Mia Perez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush is an amazing company that provides the best SEO tool on the market. 100% worth the price. They also have a top-tier customer service team that always provides help whenever my company has a question. Reporting is seamless on this platform which saves us a lot of time when sending reports to clients. <br><br>Highly recommend. One of their team members, Valeriia Gerus, is one of the best employees ever!
  • SEO Tool
  • Customer Service
  • Reporting
  • Pricing
Semrush is one of the easiest SEO tools to use on the market. Whenever my boss is out of the office he has me run some of the reporting for it. All it takes is some simple SOPs and I can easily navigate the platform. Very easy to use for non-SEO people.
April 12, 2022

Semrush Review

Pemba Tshiring Sherpa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush is a great tool for Keywords research and also tracking keyword performance. The site audit report helps identify all the technical issues on the site as well, which are crucial for google rankings. The competitor's analysis tool also helps identify the weak points and opportunities that we can use to optimize our pages and make SEO plans accordingly.
  • Keywords Research
  • Site audits
  • Competitors analysis
  • backlink audits
  • more filter options on keywords research
Semrush is great for any SEO professional for managing the website's organic performance. The keywords research tool is one of the best tool I use personally and have found great success with. The position tracking tool also helps monitor my search performance and make necessary SEO changes if needed. I don't see any scenarios where I wouldn't use Semrush.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I use Semrush as a college student to practice discovering marketing insights and running SEO campaigns. I have never had an inside view of the software that helps companies run digital marketing strategies before, so having this opportunity with Semrush was amazing. One business problem that Semrush addresses is that many of the great features that they offer are only available through their Trends Subscription plan. I did find that this prevented me from exploring many of the tools and features that they have but at the same time I understand why I didn't have access to them because I did not pay any money for the subscription I currently have which is Pro.
  • Creates Simplified Reports
  • Easily Monitor and Manage Traffic Analytics
  • Allows you to Perform Advanced SEO Tasks with Ease
  • Semrush Only Provides Data for One Search Engine, Google
  • Some Competitive Analysis Features Cost an Additional $200 per Month Extra
  • Their Site is Hard to Use on a Mobile Device
Semrush is well suited for marketers that work in services like SEO, PPC, SMM, Keyword Research, Competitive Research, PR, Content Marketing, Marketing Insights, Campaign Management. As well as for college students in marketing who are learning the what it takes and what it means to be a marketing analysts.
March 28, 2022

Semrush Is Awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used Semrush for my Marketing Analytics course at Dean College to better understand Search Engine Optimization. Semrush is a fantastic tool that would be extremely beneficial to any company that wants to improve its marketing.
  • I love how easy it is to use Semrush. It is very use friendly.
  • I also loved the Competitive Analysis and Keyword Research course. That is a great tool to use when comparing your company with your competition.
  • The knowledge that you gain from each individual section of Semrush is truly fascinating.
  • I also am a big fan of the different keyword research knowledge that Semrush shares with you.
  • I only have one suggestion. Semrush was awesome.
  • The tests in the Competitive Analysis course were a little bit difficult at times so I would try to improve them a little bit but honestly, I really enjoyed using Semrush.
I think that Semrush is best suited for any business because Search Engine Optimization (SEO) is absolutely necessary for the success of a business and Semrush really can help improve SEO.
Amit Rana | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
As always, I have been analyzing SEO tools and have found the best SEO automation tools. This year the current list of the best SEO tools is headed by Semrush, a tool that was released a few years ago and quickly became the leader of the industry. Here are several reasons which make it the best SEO tool: It's one of the most comprehensive SEO tools on the market. It focuses mainly on the factors which Google and other major search engines use as indicators of high-quality content, so your content will be properly optimized. The tool has a wide range of analytical instruments. It includes a unique Content Explorer feature, which gives you the ability to find out what content on the web is ranking on top for the keyword you entered.
  • It's one of the most comprehensive SEO tools on the market.
  • It focuses mainly on the factors which Google and other major search engines use as indicators of high-quality content, so your content will be properly optimized.
  • It includes a unique Content Explorer feature, which gives you the ability to find out what content on the web is ranking on top for the keyword you entered.
  • The tool has a wide range of analytical instruments.
  • Interpret Site Audit results
I use SEMrush for keyword research for my clients. It's a good tool to have a few of your own ideas in mind but to also use it as a tool to help you find more keywords that you didn't think of. I was looking for a keyword research tool that was reliable and was able to give me solid data. This tool does both of those things. I was able to use it for all of my projects and it gave me a ton of data. I was able to get an idea of what keywords I should be targeting and what the competition was like for each of them. I recommend this for anyone who is looking for a great way to find keywords I was looking for an SEO tool that could analyze my web site's performance and compare it to the competition and I found this. SEMRush is software that can help you with all of your website's on and off-page SEO needs. It provides you with invaluable data that can be used to improve your website's performance. This software is a must-have for any serious online marketer.
February 08, 2022

A great SEO software

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I helped a couple of clients use Semrush. They needed an SEO tool and loved using this system. It worked great and provided a lot of valuable information.
  • Reporting
  • Competitor intelligence
  • Keyword research
  • Rank tracking
  • It takes a while to learn
  • Backlink tools
  • Its expensive
Semrush is very useful for finding the good and bad of your website, your client's website, or competitor websites. It was very useful to track keyword ranking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush is used by our entire team of over 150 individuals from 8 different SEO teams, including analysts, project managers, content creators, and website developers. We mainly use Semrush during pre and post-migrations. The 3 main features we use are market research, competitor analysis, and on-site SEO elements.
  • Organic research
  • Domain overview (trends, pages, competitors, keywords)
  • Site audits
  • Toxic backlinks - Semrush shows “toxic backlinks" meanwhile Google does not show them as harmful in Google Search Console.
Semrush is best suited for quick analyses of competition and current trends of overall keyword movement. It is not so appropriate for any conversion or revenue tracking.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush is used in our Marketing Analytics paper, meant for second-year undergraduate students. The tool is used to illustrate how data from third-party platforms can be used to inform marketing decision-making.
  • Easy to use.
  • Great support.
  • Certifications that complement the use of the platform.
  • Highly-recognised industry-level tool.
  • Access to students was a little limited, perhaps providing access that corresponds to the certification videos would be helpful.
  • The duration of the access for students could be extended.
The tool is great to use and provides students with the much-needed hands-on experience. The online certification courses complement the use of the Semrush platform in the classroom and provide students with an advantage in the job market. The Semrush team was very helpful throughout and provided us with great support.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Semrush keeps our SEM and SEO teams in sync with each other and provides a wealth of keyword, technical, and competitor intelligence. We previously used Semrush as an 'add-on' for other tools, but it has transitioned to our primary tool. An enterprise-level account has the added advantage of API access, which is another great feature of Semrush. We also use the organic research component very frequently to find out information about our own domain, as well as competitors'. The SEM team uses the paid search intelligence modules in Semrush to gain competitor knowledge as well as industry benchmarks.
  • Competitor intelligence
  • API access
  • Organic keyword research
  • Limits of account (ie. # keywords, etc)
  • Distinction between projects and research
  • Competitor identification
Semrush is excellent when you know a site that you want to get info on (ie. competitors). It is less effective in identifying the sites you should look at (but this is just a difficult thing in general to automate). Semrush is also great for keyword research when you know a general topic area and need keyword ideas around that topic.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization uses Semrush to assist us in the daily tasks and managing our clients in SEO programs. My favorite features are the reporting system that automatically sends out reports, the organic search research, and the position tracking. This system has made it easy for us because we can automatically schedule reports for the first of the month and can trust our clients are getting monthly results. Their other tools make it easier for us to reach our goal and complete their monthly SEO work. They are constantly updating and adding new features to keep up with the industry, which makes it an ideal tool for us.
  • Reporting
  • Organic research
  • Tools
  • No archiving for Projects
  • Difficult if multiple people need to log in to the same account
  • Great Features are added, but for more cost
Semrush is great for organizations looking for a tool to help them manage the daily tasks for their SEO Clients. Their projects management system is great for multiple clients. The only downside to their client management is there is no way to archive work if a client is seasonal. There are also additional add-ons for competitor research or more Google ads information, which is helpful for clients with SEM. I would recommend this to anyone who is looking for a good SEO tool.
Abdelaziz Musa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
You know the platform game from Squid Game? The one where glass panels either break and you die, or don't and you live? Well, we use SEMRush as one would use a pair of "cheat glasses" that highlighted the weak panels. Instead of worrying about whether the next step will send our clients rankings to their deaths, or leapfrog us over our competitors, our "cheat glasses" show us exactly what's missing, exactly what steps to take and exactly how to navigate to position 1.
  • Extremely well organized for agencies to navigate between tools and clients
  • Endless array of features, more importantly, constantly updating
  • INTENT! Talk about the ultimate effort optimiser.
  • Their social media. Shame on you other SaaS companies. You cower in the shadows of SEMRush's social media team.
  • There's lots of training documentation and tools, but sometimes hard to find. They should put more focus into marketing their academy.
Got a website? At least one. Want it to rank well so the right people see your product/service from the right locations at the right time? Planning on achieving this without the help of an SEO tool? Then you're crazy, this isn't 2005, the Big Daddy Update did happen, and so did the following 4,596 updates. You need a tool. Should it be SEMRush? Well, your other option is Ahrefs. It's a close call, but here's why you should choose SEMRush - Because when things don't work perfectly (as happens with all software ever invented since the beginning of time), they are there. Quickly. Like linebackers on a fumble. Plus, they're always listening and building features you need to stay on top.
Bostjan Tanko | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush has over 30+ different tools within one platform so, but let me mention a few we heavily use and are important for our workflow.
1. Audit tool - We use Semrush for various different tasks in our company. From running technical audits, so we know what fixes we need to implement for our clients in order to get a healthy website that Google will love, and the Semrush audit tool is great for that.
2. Keyword research - Keyword magic tool is a must to tool when it comes to kw research and getting new ideas for your blog
3. Rank tracker - for every client we set up rank tracker so we can focus on the main pages and their main KW
4. Reporting - Must have tool, to generate monthly reports that we can send to our clients
5. Social media scheduling... and much more...
  • Technical audit report with suggestions what to fix
  • Keyword research to find new topics
  • Rank tracker - to track organic rankings
  • Reporting - generating reports for clients or your own company
  • Local GEO Grids
  • Ai Content Creation
If you are serious about marketing (running a marketing agency or improving marketing for your own company) then Semrush is a must.
November 08, 2021

Excellent work Semrush

Pulkit Agrawal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is an absolutely critical tool in our organization. We rely on it heavily and use it on a daily basis. Especially the ability for us to track positions. We also use the client portal feature, however we are not very impressed with their lead generation tool. It needs a lot of improvement we believe.
  • Position tracking
  • Client Portal
  • Backlink Audit
  • Lead Generation Tool
It is a very good tool in comparison to others and we believe it can help any organization, direct businesses or agencies.
November 08, 2021

Top Software

Chris Giles | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Semrush has been the principal tool in our SEO Agency Toolbox for years now. So much so that we have recently upgraded to a higher package due to our growth. The information that Semrush provides for our clients is unsurpassed, particularly the competitor analysis reports. Clients have referred to this as 'industrial espionage' and one or two have asked "is this info you are getting legal?" Semrush allows us to benchmark and record the success of our SEO Campaigns. Plus, their support is top-notch. The company is uber-accessible. Quite frankly, we could not run our business without Semrush as it gives us such a competitive advantage. Anyone claiming to be an 'SEO Expert' who does not use this software, is an amateur.
  • Competitor Analysis
  • Backlink Analysis
  • Search Query Ranking
  • I still have not received any SWAG
Competitor Analysis
Return to navigation