TrustRadius
Google Search Console is a search engine optimization software solution offered by Google.Great Compliment to Google Ads and Google AnalyticsGoogle Seach Console is helping us monitor our Analytics in our sites to help us improve our search engine optimization where Analytics doesn't. Analytics is good for monitoring where people are clicking, where they are located in the world, their demographics, etc, but Google Search Console will help tell us why they are searching for us, what keywords they were using, etc.,Search engine optimization. Analyze data. Audience targeting.,Implementation, User-friendliness, Ease-of-Use.,8,No cost to set up. Helps adjust and improve Ads budget. Free to use monthly/yearly.,SEMRush,Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe InDesignA Necessity for Site Owners and Digital FirmsAs a marketing and web development firm, we utilize Google Search Console to improve and monitor our clients SEO performance. Google Search Console gives search analytics that are vital in tracking and reporting Organic search growth. It also shows which pages could perform better with some SEO changes, especially with metadata. Finally, the Search Console has some other tools, such as Change of Address, URL Inspection, and Robots.txt tester, that are very important to the web development and Search Engine Optimization process.,Reporting on Search Performance: monitor, track and research your organic performance over time or compare time frames. Meta Data Testing and monitoring: make sure your product, events, AMP, and other meta tags are properly configured. Monitoring Security and Manual Actions: ensure that Google is not reducing your ranking for security issues or SEO errors. Producing suggestions for SEO improvements: Search Console provides links to resources to help improve the way Google crawls, indexes, and shows your website in search results.,Reporting is strong, but could benefit from some additional functionality, such as sorting by % changed. Some functionality is lost in the "New" Search Console, forcing you to revert to the old version to get things done. Because the "Old" version doesn't have the same functions as the "New" one, you're forced to switch back and forth between both platforms to get many things accomplished. Many of the "Warnings" and Suggestions aren't very clear on how to fix the issue, or are vague in their explanation of what is wrong.,10,As aforestated, Search Console is a necessity for SEO and digital marketing firms. Its ease of use may be a slight "negative" as it takes some of the mysticism away from SEO firms. This tool helps prioritize which problems to fix, and gives suggestions on how to fix them.,Bing Webmaster Tools, Google Analytics, SERPs.com and MozTorch Bearer on the Patch of Search PerformanceIt is being used by the Marketing and Research Department. Google Search Console mostly helps our Marketing Team to decide where to put our efforts in organic marketing. We use it to track keywords which are getting impressions but lacking on clicks, so we can tweak it on-page to gain more CTR and traffic. Moreover, we get notifications if something goes wrong and might affect our search appearance. Who else can judge your visibility more than Google? Search Console is a platform provided which bridges this gap.,70% of our traffic source is Google and Search Console gives bird eye view of our performance. Keeping track of mishappenings on site related to indexing. Tips and suggestions help improving cross-device visibility.,Vital information columns like competition/CPC goes missing in some properties without notice. Severe warnings are sometimes a problem on the bot-crawling part and show nothing on the webmaster's side.,9,Search Console is like a torch bearer, it unveils data and opportunities which were otherwise hidden. Only positive outcomes, I must say because it is easy to implement and free of charge.,LastPass, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Perfect AudienceBare-Bones and Easy for non-technical individuals to improve SEOGoogle Search Console is first used to submit sitemaps when adding new pages, completely redoing websites, or after making a new site from scratch to notify Google to crawl it as soon as possible so we can start ranking on the Google SERPS. It's then used to track progress on SEO initiatives and find which pages and keywords are working best for us to get organic traffic and high CTRs when gaining impressions.,Sitemap submission Easy performance insights Clean UI/UX Easy Setup with Integration with Google Analytics or DNS,Wish you could do keyword research or competitor research inside the tool Fixing Crawl errors are at times not clear and have to Google what it means,10,Free so doesn't add to marketing costs Has helped increased our rankings across the board to get about 3x more web traffic That organic web traffic has led to about 30% of our reservations,Serpstat, SEMRush and Ahrefs Site Explorer,SEMRush, Ahrefs Site Explorer, Screaming Frog SEO SpiderA no-brainer for all webmasters (of non-enterprise size businesses)Our company uses Google Search Console to track our websites organic keyword rank. Along with analyzing any trends post-on page SEO tests. Google Search Console is used by our Marketing department only, not our Sales team nor the Product Development team. For us, Google Search Console addresses our organic keyword rank, any canonicalization errors, soft 404 errors, duplicate content, website crawling/indexing, and robots.txt file upload.,One of Google Search Console's strength is having a robots.txt file submission location. Rather than hoping Google finds the file, one can automatically submit for them to crawl, especially if changes are made often. Another major benefit to Google Search Console is being able to submit a sitemap by simply adding the /sitemap.xml into the Sitemaps tab and having Google crawl the website. Lastly, being able to see the organic keyword position is important to know if you need to create any content or add the keyword to the on-page SEO to move up the SERPs. Google Search Console shows position over time of keywords with their simple performance chart.,As of recently, Google Search Console has switched to a new design interface and in the new design interface, it's extremely difficult to add new users to a property, along with find the rich snippets and schema tabs. On the surface, it appears that Google Search Console removed some features from the old design. Difficulty verifying domain... On multiple occasions, I have been revoked access to Google Search Console data and have had to re-verify the domain DNS. I follow the step-by-step process of verifying the domain and the results are very inconsistent. Sometimes Google Search Console recognizes the DNS update and the majority of the time it does not.,9,Google Search Console has allowed our business to focus content curation on specific keywords that will drive organic clicks. A positive impact Google Search Console has had on our business is helping us identify soft 404 pages that we are able to create 301 redirects and not sure our domain authority/page rank. Google Search Console has also made it extremely easy for us to submit robots.txt files and our website sitemap for Google to crawl and index.,Serpstat, SEMRush and Bing Webmaster Tools,ActiveCampaign, Calendly, ZapierQuick, Easy and FreeWe use Google Search Console to monitor the organic rankings and site optimization of our client's websites. There are plenty of tools out there that can do the same thing, but GSC has the advantage of being a Google product, which means it directly integrates with their other marketing platforms. Plus it's free, which is always a good thing.,Easy-to-use UI Makes time period comparisons quick and easy Easy integration with a wide variety of marketing tools,The mobile usability error section needs to provide more specific details about what exactly the errors are.,10,Google Search Console has had a positive effect on our ROI. Because the platform is free to use, it saves us from having to invest money into other similar tools.,SEMRush,Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Bing Ads, SEMRushGoogle Search Console ReviewGoogle Search Console is used in both marketing and web development. Marketing is able to gain valuable incites to improve SEO and the development team is able to detect and improve errors in a fast and efficient manner.,Provides inbound keywords that can be linked directly to your Google Analytics account Quickly update sitemaps and remove pages from search results The fetch and render tool is very helpful to ensure your pages are appearing correctly in search results,It can be a little difficult to navigate More training resources would be an asset. A beginner is given the power to completely destroy a sites search results at the push of a button. Likewise it is a powerful tool to enhance search results also. An option to take care of multiple versions of the same site simultaneously would be helpful. An option to use the same validation script across all versions and administer them simultaneously would be a time save (i.e. non-www, www, http://, and https:// versions of the same site).,10,I have used Search Console for every web project I have worked on. The results have always been outstanding. Surprising insights can be gained from the keyword analysis. I have discovered multiple profitable channels that weren't even on the radar. AMP has been a game changer over the last few years and this tool makes it extremely simple to ensure your pages are mobile friendly.,SEOquake, SEMRush and Screaming Frog SEO Spider,HubSpot, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Squarespace, WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Facebook for Business, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Hotjar, Salesforce.comYou shouldn't be without Google Search ConsoleWe use Google Search Console to monitor every one of our websites. We use it in conjunction with Google Analytics as both a search optimization tool and to make sure everything is healthy web development-wise. It has proved especially helpful since the update. Tracking what keywords are actually being used by the people who visit our site and knowing the ins and outs of our link profile are the top use cases for Google Search Console.,Lists keywords that users find our site with. Features how your site appears to site crawlers Shows any issues in indexing,Not the most intuitive UI but greatly approved since the update. Gets difficult to manage when domain changes take place or if you have multiple versions of one site Needs more resources for SEOs. Training or something to help navigation easier.,10,Gives focus to what keywords we should be focusing on or how we should adjust our SEO to show up for the queries we would like to show up for. You can't get better than free. Once you understand how to navigate Google Search Console, it is quick and easy to get data.,Google Analytics, HubSpot, SEMRush and Screaming Frog SEO Spider,SEMRush, CyfeWhy wouldn't you use it??Google Search Console is used to get better insight into our website as well as client's websites. It's really the only way to understand how the website is performing in Google search and what needs to be improved or changed. It also gives us the ability to see what keywords are being searched and clicked on.,Organic search insight Keyword data Issue identification,Wish there was just a combination of Analytics and Search Console. Not sure why they need to be separate tools.,10,Good ROI Better SEO,LinkedIn Sales Navigator, Facebook for Business, RavenToolsMust-have Tool for Optimizing your Website for GoogleWe use Google Search Console to measure website organic performance for all our SEO and website development clients. We also use the platform internal to monitor and diagnose any performance issues for our own site. Google Search Console helps to monitor website health when it comes to crawl budgets, html issues, schema/structured data validation and organic search performance monitoring for clicks, impressions, CTRs and Average position for specific keywords and pages on site.,High-level reporting on important factors that affect organic search position Easy to understand how Google indexes and crawls your site gives you an assessment on how most web crawlers are crawling your site Many tools to validate and optimize website performance with structured data, google data highlighter, AMP, re-index pages, sitemap verification,Difficult to navigate new UI in 2018, prefer old version so I'm constantly having to switch back Can be challenging to work with if you're new to the platform and don't understand technical SEO, website optimization,9,Measuring and Optimizing CTRs over time has led to over 200-300% increase in pageviews for many clients. Using Google Search Console as a data source in our SEO dashboards helps improve transparency with clients. The tools available in GSC improve productivity for our team allowing us to do more efficient work.,Bing Webmaster Tools, Ahrefs Site Explorer and SEMRush,Ahrefs Site Explorer, Tableau Desktop, DashThisGoogle Search Console (Google Webmaster Tools) - An Essential Part of Every Website.Google Search Console and Google Webmaster Tools are being used by our marketing department. Verifying and analysing the data from Google Search Console is the first step in client acquisition. You get the overview of your website's heath. This tool shows you major issues about the website and based on its findings your marketing department can create an SEO strategy.,Get alerts about issues and learn how to fix them. Understand how Google sees your website. Optimize your website using AMP, mobile usability and rich snippets. Optimize your content with search analytics.,UI/UX has recently changed and not for the better. The new Google Search Console relies on the old version, so sometimes you don't get all the data, unless you switch back to "old view." New Google Search console is not as fast or reliable as the old version and often shows issues when there are none.,10,Optimizes the crawl budget so it saves you money on server time/load. Gives you UI/UX optimization tips so it improves your conversion rate and increases revenue. Optimizes your content for the right set of keywords, so you can reach more people and extend the volume of targeted traffic. The negative thing is that it sometimes shows very limited data when it comes to offsite metrics, such as inbound links so if your website is penalized (Penguin), then you wouldn't know which links did that, and you need to pay for other tools and agencies, which is a shame, since Google knows all your inbound links it just chooses not to show them.,Google Analytics,Google AnalyticsThis is a great free tool, no reason NOT to use it!Google Search Console is mainly being used by the SEO team in my organization, so about 5 persons in my company use it on a regular basis. Then, the analytics team uses that data, too, to investigate issues, traffic spikes or provide recommendations. The PPC team is starting to use it more when creating cross-team/cross-channel strategies.,This is a great tool to know what organic keywords are being used to enter your site, and you can compare them over time to see improvements of your SEO efforts. The new interface is more user-friendly, clean, and nice to use than the old version. You can slice and dice keyword data, use filters, get granular on dates, pages, and devices. It offers a lot of valuable information, and it's totally free! You can see keywords data for images, website, or videos!,I wish you could aggregate keyword data for images, website, and videos to see the total number of impressions and clicks. I guess Google is still working on it, but I hope to see all the options that were available in the old version. It's still limited for some of our accounts.,10,GSC has impacted our company positively because we can create entire SEO strategies based on real website data, knowing what our visitors are truly asking.,SEMRush and Ahrefs Site Explorer,Zoom Video Webinar, Asana, Google Drive, Google PageSpeed InsightsGoogle Search Console - Another great tool for managing SEOI use the Google Search Console for every single website that I manage. As part of initial website development plans, the Google Search Console is a default setup task along with Google Analytics. I find this an important piece that ties to Google Analytics to monitor traffic, specifically search traffic so we know what keywords are working and what users are searching for.,Providing Search Terms for what real people are searching for Providing Appearance Rankings for where my websites appear in search results Providing what problems may exist with indexing sites,Does not accept .html formatted xml sitemaps. I don't think indexing is always complete for websites I've submitted,10,Allows better use of my time which deceases my client's costs I can explain keywords and how they are useful with data,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and HubSpot,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), WordStream, Slack, Freshdesk, Camtasia, Wix, Weebly, WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO PluginsThe Console We've Been Searching ForGoogle Search Console is used by the marketing department to get a better understanding of who is coming to our site by using what keywords. This information provided by Google Search Console dictates our marketing spend for Google Adwords and Display Network,Organization of information Detailed data Troubleshooter,I cannot think of anything,10,ROI Keyword tracking Backlink management,,Backlink management Understanding keywords Ensuring site is mobile friendly,Nothing is difficult, Search Console is a super simple navigate and understand,10Necessary - But Not Great!I use Google Search Console to support public-facing websites within a single unit in our organization. Linked with Google Tag Manager, Analytics and Ads, it provides a powerful resource for us to: Identify Google indexing and crawling errors, track our organic search performance, identify and address optimization issues, submit sitemaps to Google, check security status of the site, demote links and maps that we no longer want promoted, among others.,Demote sitelinks Submit sitemaps to Google Review structured data elements on the Listing external and internal links on the site Disavow bad links Fetching as Google,Poor UI Significant data discrepancy between Analytics and Search Console Unclear messaging around when a sitemap was submitted and when it was processed Terrible support Massive learning curve,10,Free to use, has low ROI Just the beginning of the funnel, mandatory to have a CRM to track how users came to the site Can provide useful ROI analytics, only in conjunction with other tools. Nothing in the tool itself is useful on its own.,Moz, Ahrefs Site Explorer, Majestic SEO and Screaming Frog SEO Spider,Moz, Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Majestic SEOAn absolute must have for the basicsGoogle Search Console is the first tool our company uses to understand the performance of our marketing site when it comes to indexing and SERPs within Google, along with backlinks to our site. We also make sure all of our clients that we develop websites for are aware of it, and help them understand the data and use it to their advantage.,Provides details on what other sites contain backlinks to your site, along with the page they direct to within your site Displays impressions and click throughs for Google search queries Individual page performance by location and device category as it pertains to generating clicks leading to your site Basic indexing and readability issues within your site The new interface that just rolled out is much easier on the eyes,There are no real cons other than it is a basic website performance tool that should definitely not be used alone to improve your site. The new interface took a little getting used to as I was very comfortable with the old interface, but the sleek design definitely outweighs this. Syncing Search Console with Google Analytics is not the most intuitive thing,10,Provides us with the basics we need to understand what queries/keywords are generating clicks/leads to our site and client sites from Google Provides a quick idea of content that shows up in SERPs and leads to click throughs for all sites that we work on to be able to lead strategy at a high level without much effort It is a free product, so the only way it wouldn't provide ROI is if it weren't used,SEMRushA unique insight into your SEO performanceOur marketing uses Google Search Console to improve our search engine optimization (SEO) strategy. It helps us in a number of ways: - It tells us whether our web pages indexed, and lets us submit them for indexing if needed. - It gives insight into which search terms lead visitors to our site.,It gives you a list of which search queries lead people to your site, and ranks them by number of clicks through and impressions. This helps you tailor content to what you rank for, and perhaps more importantly, what you don't rank for yet. It lets you analyse each query and see how it performs over time and by country. We use this to plan our content - if we get a lot of queries from Germany, we might translate into German to increase on-page conversions. It lets you upload a sitemap, which makes your website easier to read for Google's crawler bot, and hopefully leads to better placements in search results.,I wish it offered more integration with other SEO optimisation tools, such as Google PageSpeed Insights. It's a small one, but I'd like to compare three search types (web, image and video) at once. It currently only lets you compare two at a time. I'd like it if Google offered a certification for Search Console, like they do with Analytics and Ads.,10,It integrates well with Google Analytics, so we see more of our marketing data in one place. It helps us to optimise our technical SEO and hopefully rank better on Google. It shows us how people find our site, which helps us plan content.,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), MozGoogle communicates to users through search console. 'nuff said.I primarily use Search Console, however, I am trying to get others within my department to use it more as a data resource for site performance & troubleshooting. We manage several, relatively smaller sites that don't often encounter manual actions, but if something comes up, it's important we move quickly for our clients to address it.,Performance analytics are much better than they were in the previous webmaster. Being able to go back 16 months to see trends forming has been really helpful to see where we are doing well & where we aren't. Sitemap submission is very easy. Literally, 1-2 clicks and you're done. Mobile usability feature makes monitoring very simple & clearly identifies any issues that needs to be fixed. Mobile user experience is really important to our business (and our users), so knowing how each of our clients' sites are doing on mobile is helpful.,Features that are missing, in my opinion, are the ability to remove URLs, structured data, crawl errors, fetch as Google, and HTML improvements. I haven't encountered anything that is necessarily difficult to use. But there are a few features that are lacking in depth of details that I wish would provide more information. I would like to see when different bots crawl our clients' sites, such as the Google Smartphone.,9,Google incorrectly flagged several of our clients' sites as "hacked". I'm not sure why they did, but they sent me an alert through Search Console and I was able to clear up the manual action. If I didn't have search console, I would have never known why the rank was dropping all of the sudden. A WordPress plugin accidentally created a series of 404 errors on all of our images. Through Search Console, I was able to see an increase in errors that made me look into it & catch the issue faster than others in my field.,Moz and SEO PowerSuite,Google Analytics, InVisionFind what you're looking for.As a web development company, we design and build websites for clients. After launch, we manage and maintain search rankings and search engine optimization (SEO) if a client contracts us for ongoing work. Part of this ongoing work includes submitting the sitemap to Google's webmaster tools and monitoring performance through Google's search console.,The search console ensures a website's sitemap is working properly and identifies any inconsistencies or errors in the sitemap like 4XX errors or 5XX errors and gives you an opportunity to fix the issues. Gives users a high-level look at their analytics without having to deep dive into Google analytics. Shows analytics like impressions, click-throughs, etc. that Google analytics doesn't do as well.,Search queries are nice to see but could be more detailed as far as if a user typed that in and actually clicked through or if they just saw it in the results. Would be nice if you could do more keyword research in this tool rather than having to use Google AdWords to find keyword research.,8,Google search console takes the guesswork out of sitemap performance and quickly identifies pages that aren't working properly or being crawled to the best of their ability.,SEMRush, Moz, Google Analytics and Google Ads (formerly AdWords),Google Ad Manager, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Google Analytics, Hotjar, SEMRushAn Insightful Tool Everyone NeedsIt's mainly for the marketing team. It helps us monitor our site health, such as if we have broken links to fix, if our pages are mobile friendly or not, etc.,Good tracking on the broken links Great insights on how you can fix the pages to make them mobile friendly,For some broken links, they have limited information of where it came from, so it's difficult to locate the real issue and fix.,7,It's been helping us a lot for website cleaning and health monitoring We are able to fix most of the broken links We are able to catch the website issues in time,A good first step to understanding and addressing search performanceWe use Google Search Console to support our public-facing website within a single unit in our organization (though it may also be in use on other sites). It serves a few different purposes: identifying and solving Google indexing and crawling errors, tracking our organic search performance, and identifying and addressing optimization issues.,Clearly flags areas where there are technical errors or "low-hanging fruit" we can address, such as duplicate title tags, security issues, or crawl errors. Provides an easy way to keep Google up to date on our content/site organization - for example, the ability to upload/update sitemaps. Offers sortable search analytics that allows us to determine if we're ranking for terms we think we should be, find unexpected search terms, or identify areas of underperformance. This helps us strategize around what content to create/optimize and potentially feeds into our paid search strategy.,I'd like more instructions about how to respond to certain errors I see - it can be difficult to understand when you see a red error message what it really means and how to fix it. I'd appreciate warnings being 'ranked' somehow to understand what's really a big deal, and what might be a minor issue. Search analytics is helpful but not comprehensive - you can only go back so far in the data, and can't see all the search terms that are sending traffic to your site.,9,Given that this is a free tool, the return on investment has been particularly high - we've identified and addressed a few site issues that could have meant a reduction in search traffic. Our organic search traffic has been on the rise in part due to the insights gained from the search traffic analytics provided within the console.,Google Analytics, Moz, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins and Screaming Frog SEO Spider,WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Google Tag ManagerGoogle Search Console Keeps My Sites HealthyGoogle Search Console is used across my whole organization and my client base. I use it to find crawl errors, test structured data, check the links to and within my sites, and much more. Google Search Console helps me keep my sites healthy and findable on the web. I have Google Search Console connected to Google Analytics and to third-party tools like SEMRush to give me a detailed view of how my sites are seen and indexed by Google.,Google Search Console lets me know if there are any crawl errors on my sites, so that I can fix them. Google Search Console tells me when I have errors in my structured data. This is particularly helpful, because structured data can be extremely intricate. It's nice to have Google looking at the whole thing while I'm lost in the details. Google Search Console helps me keep track of the links coming to my sites and the links within them. Both back-linking and cross-linking are necessary strategies for good SEO, so I appreciate being able to check them at a glance.,Google Search Console can be difficult to use when you first start. There's a bit of a learning curve, but Google also does a nice job of providing training and help docs. As with anything that involves Google, I always wish that I could contact a human being when I have questions I can't answer or problems I can't solve. Unfortunately, contacting Google is next to impossible sometimes. Google Search Console does an excellent job of detecting errors in structured data, but it can be very difficult to find instructions for fixing those errors.,9,Google Search console has helped my business achieve our objectives of increasing our online presence and findability. Google Search Console has also helped us to remain competitive within our market by adding structured data to everything from our job posts to our blog articles. Google Search Console has helped us increase our SEO and the SEO of our clients through quality back-linking and cross-linking strategies.,Google Analytics, SEMRush, Crazy EggGoogle Search Console - finally updated!I've used Google Search Console for all companies I worked for. It's a great FREE tool for tracking keyword positions, impressions, clicks and CTR and other metrics for your websites. The good part is that the ranking data is coming directly from Google (while ALL other tools pull it through Google's API).,Rankings tracking for pages and keywords on Google. Impressions, clicks and CTR tracking for separate keywords and pages on Google. Comparing rankings, impressions, clicks, and CTR for different time periods. It shows information about recent Google and GSC updates on the graph.,They used to have a limitation on how far back you can go with data (the limitation was 90 days), meaning you couldn't see data from 100 days ago. However, the new version (I think it's in Beta now) doesn't have this limitation anymore. Also, it's not possible to group keywords and pages and track performance for groups. Tools like Conductor Searchlight have this function.,9,I'd say there is no business in the world that had negative ROI from GSC, since it's completely free, super easy to implement and has a great value for people with a brain. All of the companies I worked for in the last 10 years were using it and all of these companies had positive ROI.,Conductor Searchlight, SEMRush, Majestic SEO, Moz, AdWords, Ahrefs Site Explorer and Google Analytics,Google Tag Manager, Screaming Frog SEO Spider, SEOquakeFree Is A Very Good PriceWe've used Google Search Console since it was introduced as Google Webmaster Tools as a way to upload sitemap information about websites. For years, it has been a standard line item in our website launch checklist as a vital resource for any site owner. Here you can interact with Google on how your site should be displayed, view any problems that may come up, see how Google views your website, and seemingly countless other useful things.,Verify site ownership with Google. Upload real-time sitemaps to alert Google to new content on your website. Review your website's search health. View how Google looks at your website with specific page granularity.,I think the standard con here is that Google is a big business with lots of access to your data. We hope they behave responsibly with it, but there isn't as much transparency with how they analyze data or position your website as we might like.,10,The Search Console is completely free to use, so the biggest investment we put into it is time, and using it saves a lot of time in the long-run. Help you identify problem areas, diagnose problems, access important search analytics. What would improved search positioning mean to your business? Since it's a free resource and the time commitment is minimal, I would say that you can't afford not to use it.,Google Analytics and Google Analytics Premium,Google Analytics, Insightly, FunctionFox, ReportGardenSearcherGoogle search is easy to use and it finds many related links. It also 'remembers' your search history and I find this feature is helpful especially when I forget how I found a particular site in the past. The only downside I can think of is that it's difficult to find less popular items/links.,Search a location nearby Search particular items Search reviews of a particular item or establishment,Searching less popular items/reviews is a challenge.,9,Able to find info we need most of the time.,
Unspecified
Google Search Console
103 Ratings
Score 9.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Google Search Console Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Google Search Console
103 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 103 vetted Google Search Console reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 29)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Todd Dodge profile photo
July 18, 2019

Great Compliment to Google Ads and Google Analytics

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Seach Console is helping us monitor our Analytics in our sites to help us improve our search engine optimization where Analytics doesn't. Analytics is good for monitoring where people are clicking, where they are located in the world, their demographics, etc, but Google Search Console will help tell us why they are searching for us, what keywords they were using, etc.
  • Search engine optimization.
  • Analyze data.
  • Audience targeting.
  • Implementation,
  • User-friendliness,
  • Ease-of-Use.
Google Search Console help tie Google Analytics and Google Ads together and give you a more complete overall picture of not only your budgeting costs and results from Ads, and the demographic and behavior from Analytics, but also the search engine behavior and trends that neither Ads nor Analytics offers insights to.
Read Todd Dodge's full review
Scott Walker profile photo
July 16, 2019

A Necessity for Site Owners and Digital Firms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a marketing and web development firm, we utilize Google Search Console to improve and monitor our clients SEO performance. Google Search Console gives search analytics that are vital in tracking and reporting Organic search growth. It also shows which pages could perform better with some SEO changes, especially with metadata. Finally, the Search Console has some other tools, such as Change of Address, URL Inspection, and Robots.txt tester, that are very important to the web development and Search Engine Optimization process.
  • Reporting on Search Performance: monitor, track and research your organic performance over time or compare time frames.
  • Meta Data Testing and monitoring: make sure your product, events, AMP, and other meta tags are properly configured.
  • Monitoring Security and Manual Actions: ensure that Google is not reducing your ranking for security issues or SEO errors.
  • Producing suggestions for SEO improvements: Search Console provides links to resources to help improve the way Google crawls, indexes, and shows your website in search results.
  • Reporting is strong, but could benefit from some additional functionality, such as sorting by % changed.
  • Some functionality is lost in the "New" Search Console, forcing you to revert to the old version to get things done.
  • Because the "Old" version doesn't have the same functions as the "New" one, you're forced to switch back and forth between both platforms to get many things accomplished.
  • Many of the "Warnings" and Suggestions aren't very clear on how to fix the issue, or are vague in their explanation of what is wrong.
To be completely honest, every site owner or digital firm should be monitoring their Google Search Console. As a free service, there's no reason not to monitor it, and the information it provides is pivotal for good SEO and search performance in the modern era. Since most Analytics programs (including Google Analytics) do not provide a full list of keywords, Search Console can offer some additional insight into search performance.
Read Scott Walker's full review
Rohit Langde profile photo
July 04, 2019

Torch Bearer on the Patch of Search Performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the Marketing and Research Department. Google Search Console mostly helps our Marketing Team to decide where to put our efforts in organic marketing. We use it to track keywords which are getting impressions but lacking on clicks, so we can tweak it on-page to gain more CTR and traffic. Moreover, we get notifications if something goes wrong and might affect our search appearance. Who else can judge your visibility more than Google? Search Console is a platform provided which bridges this gap.
  • 70% of our traffic source is Google and Search Console gives bird eye view of our performance.
  • Keeping track of mishappenings on site related to indexing.
  • Tips and suggestions help improving cross-device visibility.
  • Vital information columns like competition/CPC goes missing in some properties without notice.
  • Severe warnings are sometimes a problem on the bot-crawling part and show nothing on the webmaster's side.
Whether you are targeting search marketing or paid ads, Search Console will help you to be on the right path and align with your goals. It is a must and a few of the first things to do for any webmaster. I do not see any scenario where it is not suited because it is free and doesn't require any special attention. Website performance on the search engine is automatically tracked and reports can be used to optimize it.
Read Rohit Langde's full review
Evan Laird profile photo
May 08, 2019

Bare-Bones and Easy for non-technical individuals to improve SEO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is first used to submit sitemaps when adding new pages, completely redoing websites, or after making a new site from scratch to notify Google to crawl it as soon as possible so we can start ranking on the Google SERPS. It's then used to track progress on SEO initiatives and find which pages and keywords are working best for us to get organic traffic and high CTRs when gaining impressions.
  • Sitemap submission
  • Easy performance insights
  • Clean UI/UX
  • Easy Setup with Integration with Google Analytics or DNS
  • Wish you could do keyword research or competitor research inside the tool
  • Fixing Crawl errors are at times not clear and have to Google what it means
Every website on the internet should have a Google Search Console account and submit their sitemaps. It's absolutely free and takes only 5-10 minutes to submit your sitemaps and being able to track progress. Helps SEO and ranking higher on Google with really no effort at all and will quicken your results.
Read Evan Laird's full review
Sam Lepak profile photo
May 08, 2019

A no-brainer for all webmasters (of non-enterprise size businesses)

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses Google Search Console to track our websites organic keyword rank. Along with analyzing any trends post-on page SEO tests.

Google Search Console is used by our Marketing department only, not our Sales team nor the Product Development team.

For us, Google Search Console addresses our organic keyword rank, any canonicalization errors, soft 404 errors, duplicate content, website crawling/indexing, and robots.txt file upload.
  • One of Google Search Console's strength is having a robots.txt file submission location. Rather than hoping Google finds the file, one can automatically submit for them to crawl, especially if changes are made often.
  • Another major benefit to Google Search Console is being able to submit a sitemap by simply adding the /sitemap.xml into the Sitemaps tab and having Google crawl the website.
  • Lastly, being able to see the organic keyword position is important to know if you need to create any content or add the keyword to the on-page SEO to move up the SERPs. Google Search Console shows position over time of keywords with their simple performance chart.
  • As of recently, Google Search Console has switched to a new design interface and in the new design interface, it's extremely difficult to add new users to a property, along with find the rich snippets and schema tabs. On the surface, it appears that Google Search Console removed some features from the old design.
  • Difficulty verifying domain... On multiple occasions, I have been revoked access to Google Search Console data and have had to re-verify the domain DNS. I follow the step-by-step process of verifying the domain and the results are very inconsistent. Sometimes Google Search Console recognizes the DNS update and the majority of the time it does not.
Google Search Console is well suited for any business that is looking for basic web traffic analytics (SERP, on-page SEO, etc.), mainly because it's free and integrates extremely well with Google Analytics.

Apart from that, if you are a larger company and use enterprise analytics and need more advanced tools then I would look elsewhere.
Read Sam Lepak's full review
Joseph Lesho profile photo
July 02, 2019

Quick, Easy and Free

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to monitor the organic rankings and site optimization of our client's websites. There are plenty of tools out there that can do the same thing, but GSC has the advantage of being a Google product, which means it directly integrates with their other marketing platforms. Plus it's free, which is always a good thing.
  • Easy-to-use UI
  • Makes time period comparisons quick and easy
  • Easy integration with a wide variety of marketing tools
  • The mobile usability error section needs to provide more specific details about what exactly the errors are.
Google Search Console is a great tool for businesses of all size. From an independent entity to large enterprises, GSC offers great value and insight.
Read Joseph Lesho's full review
Adam Lumley profile photo
December 20, 2018

Google Search Console Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used in both marketing and web development. Marketing is able to gain valuable incites to improve SEO and the development team is able to detect and improve errors in a fast and efficient manner.
  • Provides inbound keywords that can be linked directly to your Google Analytics account
  • Quickly update sitemaps and remove pages from search results
  • The fetch and render tool is very helpful to ensure your pages are appearing correctly in search results
  • It can be a little difficult to navigate
  • More training resources would be an asset. A beginner is given the power to completely destroy a sites search results at the push of a button. Likewise it is a powerful tool to enhance search results also.
  • An option to take care of multiple versions of the same site simultaneously would be helpful. An option to use the same validation script across all versions and administer them simultaneously would be a time save (i.e. non-www, www, http://, and https:// versions of the same site).
This is an essential tool for any website in my opinion. Google is the dominant search engine and this gives you the ability to directly influence how your site's pages, descriptions, etc appear in search results.
Read Adam Lumley's full review
Megan Lemons profile photo
January 25, 2019

You shouldn't be without Google Search Console

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to monitor every one of our websites. We use it in conjunction with Google Analytics as both a search optimization tool and to make sure everything is healthy web development-wise. It has proved especially helpful since the update. Tracking what keywords are actually being used by the people who visit our site and knowing the ins and outs of our link profile are the top use cases for Google Search Console.
  • Lists keywords that users find our site with.
  • Features how your site appears to site crawlers
  • Shows any issues in indexing
  • Not the most intuitive UI but greatly approved since the update.
  • Gets difficult to manage when domain changes take place or if you have multiple versions of one site
  • Needs more resources for SEOs. Training or something to help navigation easier.
In looking for software that will aid in the basics of website SEO, Google Search Console is perfect. Knowing queries, links, device usage, and indexing information is essential to keeping a healthy website and improving the site's ranking.
Read Megan Lemons's full review
Dustin Brackett profile photo
January 22, 2019

Why wouldn't you use it??

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used to get better insight into our website as well as client's websites. It's really the only way to understand how the website is performing in Google search and what needs to be improved or changed. It also gives us the ability to see what keywords are being searched and clicked on.
  • Organic search insight
  • Keyword data
  • Issue identification
  • Wish there was just a combination of Analytics and Search Console. Not sure why they need to be separate tools.
This is really a no brainer. Every business should be using Google Search Console. It is a free tool that gives you a ton of insight into your website and organic search presence. If you don't already have it, do it now. There is literally no downside to having an account.
Read Dustin Brackett's full review
Nick Kretz profile photo
December 18, 2018

Must-have Tool for Optimizing your Website for Google

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to measure website organic performance for all our SEO and website development clients. We also use the platform internal to monitor and diagnose any performance issues for our own site. Google Search Console helps to monitor website health when it comes to crawl budgets, html issues, schema/structured data validation and organic search performance monitoring for clicks, impressions, CTRs and Average position for specific keywords and pages on site.
  • High-level reporting on important factors that affect organic search position
  • Easy to understand how Google indexes and crawls your site gives you an assessment on how most web crawlers are crawling your site
  • Many tools to validate and optimize website performance with structured data, google data highlighter, AMP, re-index pages, sitemap verification
  • Difficult to navigate new UI in 2018, prefer old version so I'm constantly having to switch back
  • Can be challenging to work with if you're new to the platform and don't understand technical SEO, website optimization
Well suited for website optimization projects especially when it comes to organic search. It is important for anyone who is managing website content or structure to assess the health of the website and identify critical issues that may affect performance. Good for an analytics-minded professional who is comfortable interpreting raw data or exporting files to build reports or dashboards. Not well suited for paid advertising professionals or executives. More of a tool for the people working on implementation and SEO/development related website projects.
Read Nick Kretz's full review
Dragan Nikolic profile photo
December 11, 2018

Google Search Console (Google Webmaster Tools) - An Essential Part of Every Website.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console and Google Webmaster Tools are being used by our marketing department. Verifying and analysing the data from Google Search Console is the first step in client acquisition.

You get the overview of your website's heath. This tool shows you major issues about the website and based on its findings your marketing department can create an SEO strategy.
  • Get alerts about issues and learn how to fix them.
  • Understand how Google sees your website.
  • Optimize your website using AMP, mobile usability and rich snippets.
  • Optimize your content with search analytics.
  • UI/UX has recently changed and not for the better.
  • The new Google Search Console relies on the old version, so sometimes you don't get all the data, unless you switch back to "old view."
  • New Google Search console is not as fast or reliable as the old version and often shows issues when there are none.
Claiming your website properties and verifying Google Search Console is the first thing any webmaster/owner/SEO should do. By doing this you get a window into Google's world and SEO algorithm.

If you're a startup company, you should do this to find out which keywords get you traffic and optimize your website for those, so Google Seach Console helps your content.

If you're an SEO agency, you should ask for GSC access to check the overall health and fix major SEO issues, etc...
Read Dragan Nikolic's full review
Vanessa Suarez profile photo
December 08, 2018

This is a great free tool, no reason NOT to use it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is mainly being used by the SEO team in my organization, so about 5 persons in my company use it on a regular basis. Then, the analytics team uses that data, too, to investigate issues, traffic spikes or provide recommendations. The PPC team is starting to use it more when creating cross-team/cross-channel strategies.
  • This is a great tool to know what organic keywords are being used to enter your site, and you can compare them over time to see improvements of your SEO efforts.
  • The new interface is more user-friendly, clean, and nice to use than the old version. You can slice and dice keyword data, use filters, get granular on dates, pages, and devices. It offers a lot of valuable information, and it's totally free!
  • You can see keywords data for images, website, or videos!
  • I wish you could aggregate keyword data for images, website, and videos to see the total number of impressions and clicks.
  • I guess Google is still working on it, but I hope to see all the options that were available in the old version. It's still limited for some of our accounts.
Google Search Console is well suited for any company that runs their website on their own, or that uses all of the other Google products. It's free and easy to install, so why not take advantage of it! I would say it's not as suited for very large companies that use analytics tools other than GA. They should find a solution that connects with their tool to try to have all the data under the same house, in my opinion.
Read Vanessa Suarez's full review
Erin Harris profile photo
December 02, 2018

Google Search Console - Another great tool for managing SEO

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the Google Search Console for every single website that I manage. As part of initial website development plans, the Google Search Console is a default setup task along with Google Analytics.

I find this an important piece that ties to Google Analytics to monitor traffic, specifically search traffic so we know what keywords are working and what users are searching for.
  • Providing Search Terms for what real people are searching for
  • Providing Appearance Rankings for where my websites appear in search results
  • Providing what problems may exist with indexing sites
  • Does not accept .html formatted xml sitemaps.
  • I don't think indexing is always complete for websites I've submitted
I manage eight websites which are implementing the Google Search Console as a tool for keywords, analytics and SEO. Understanding the traffic information that this tool provides, helps me adjust SEO and plan ads.

Some of my websites have many pages so it's great to see how the individual pages appear in search results (ranking). This is important because every site owner wants their pages to appear in that magic number one spot and often don't understand that not everyone can be #1. Being able to see the keywords that people are using to get the results that they do.

For some of my site owners, they get it once they can see the data. Others need more help.
Read Erin Harris's full review
Stefanie Cash profile photo
February 01, 2019

The Console We've Been Searching For

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used by the marketing department to get a better understanding of who is coming to our site by using what keywords. This information provided by Google Search Console dictates our marketing spend for Google Adwords and Display Network
  • Organization of information
  • Detailed data
  • Troubleshooter
  • I cannot think of anything
Google Search Console helps you understand how users interact with your site, what makes them get to you, where all your backlinks of coming from, and a bunch of other useful features such as a mobile usability checker
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
Sean Pomory profile photo
November 16, 2018

Necessary - But Not Great!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Search Console to support public-facing websites within a single unit in our organization. Linked with Google Tag Manager, Analytics and Ads, it provides a powerful resource for us to: Identify Google indexing and crawling errors, track our organic search performance, identify and address optimization issues, submit sitemaps to Google, check security status of the site, demote links and maps that we no longer want promoted, among others.
  • Demote sitelinks
  • Submit sitemaps to Google
  • Review structured data elements on the
  • Listing external and internal links on the site
  • Disavow bad links
  • Fetching as Google
  • Poor UI
  • Significant data discrepancy between Analytics and Search Console
  • Unclear messaging around when a sitemap was submitted and when it was processed
  • Terrible support
  • Massive learning curve
Google Search Console is good. It is a solid tool that provides great analytics in many use cases. But it has many failings. To be clear, Marketers and Developers should certainly use Google Search Console, just in conjunction with other tools. I don't believe you can't recommend the tool in the SEO space because of its direct integration with Google. If you want to submit a site to Google directly, this is the only way to do it. So, business large and small, should use it.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

An absolute must have for the basics

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is the first tool our company uses to understand the performance of our marketing site when it comes to indexing and SERPs within Google, along with backlinks to our site. We also make sure all of our clients that we develop websites for are aware of it, and help them understand the data and use it to their advantage.
  • Provides details on what other sites contain backlinks to your site, along with the page they direct to within your site
  • Displays impressions and click throughs for Google search queries
  • Individual page performance by location and device category as it pertains to generating clicks leading to your site
  • Basic indexing and readability issues within your site
  • The new interface that just rolled out is much easier on the eyes
  • There are no real cons other than it is a basic website performance tool that should definitely not be used alone to improve your site.
  • The new interface took a little getting used to as I was very comfortable with the old interface, but the sleek design definitely outweighs this.
  • Syncing Search Console with Google Analytics is not the most intuitive thing
It is a basic tool that all website owners should be aware of and know how to use as it is an absolute basic necessity to understanding performance on Google. Other tools provide what Search Console does and more, so it can be bypassed. However, I always rely on Search Console as the ultimate source of truth for our site's performance on Google because, well, it's owned by Google.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 04, 2019

A unique insight into your SEO performance

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing uses Google Search Console to improve our search engine optimization (SEO) strategy. It helps us in a number of ways:
- It tells us whether our web pages indexed, and lets us submit them for indexing if needed.
- It gives insight into which search terms lead visitors to our site.
  • It gives you a list of which search queries lead people to your site, and ranks them by number of clicks through and impressions. This helps you tailor content to what you rank for, and perhaps more importantly, what you don't rank for yet.
  • It lets you analyse each query and see how it performs over time and by country. We use this to plan our content - if we get a lot of queries from Germany, we might translate into German to increase on-page conversions.
  • It lets you upload a sitemap, which makes your website easier to read for Google's crawler bot, and hopefully leads to better placements in search results.
  • I wish it offered more integration with other SEO optimisation tools, such as Google PageSpeed Insights.
  • It's a small one, but I'd like to compare three search types (web, image and video) at once. It currently only lets you compare two at a time.
  • I'd like it if Google offered a certification for Search Console, like they do with Analytics and Ads.
Google Search Console is an invaluable tool for any digital marketer. It gives you valuable insights into how well you perform for certain queries, which pages convert impressions into clicks best and whether your organic presence (as a whole) is increasing or decreasing over time. It also offers you some technical SEO tools, such as the ability to upload a sitemap and index pages. I feel like it could offer more technical optimization advice.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 25, 2019

Google communicates to users through search console. 'nuff said.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I primarily use Search Console, however, I am trying to get others within my department to use it more as a data resource for site performance & troubleshooting. We manage several, relatively smaller sites that don't often encounter manual actions, but if something comes up, it's important we move quickly for our clients to address it.
  • Performance analytics are much better than they were in the previous webmaster. Being able to go back 16 months to see trends forming has been really helpful to see where we are doing well & where we aren't.
  • Sitemap submission is very easy. Literally, 1-2 clicks and you're done.
  • Mobile usability feature makes monitoring very simple & clearly identifies any issues that needs to be fixed. Mobile user experience is really important to our business (and our users), so knowing how each of our clients' sites are doing on mobile is helpful.
  • Features that are missing, in my opinion, are the ability to remove URLs, structured data, crawl errors, fetch as Google, and HTML improvements.
  • I haven't encountered anything that is necessarily difficult to use. But there are a few features that are lacking in depth of details that I wish would provide more information. I would like to see when different bots crawl our clients' sites, such as the Google Smartphone.
If your goal is to get organic traffic through Google, you need to be on Search Console. It's not necessarily a direct communication tool to/from Google, however it is a sure way of getting notified by Google if they have major issues with your site. I don't trust the average position metric (underperformance), so I wouldn't use Search Console as the only way of tracking rank, but the ups/downs are decent indications of how your site is performing overall.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

Find what you're looking for.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web development company, we design and build websites for clients. After launch, we manage and maintain search rankings and search engine optimization (SEO) if a client contracts us for ongoing work. Part of this ongoing work includes submitting the sitemap to Google's webmaster tools and monitoring performance through Google's search console.
  • The search console ensures a website's sitemap is working properly and identifies any inconsistencies or errors in the sitemap like 4XX errors or 5XX errors and gives you an opportunity to fix the issues.
  • Gives users a high-level look at their analytics without having to deep dive into Google Analytics.
  • Shows analytics like impressions, click-throughs, etc. that Google Analytics doesn't do as well.
  • Search queries are nice to see but could be more detailed as far as if a user typed that in and actually clicked through or if they just saw it in the results.
  • Would be nice if you could do more keyword research in this tool rather than having to use Google AdWords to find keyword research.
If you are interested in understanding how users interact with your website but don't want to get "into the weeds" with Google Analytics and in-depth information, this offers a great high-level approach to understanding your web content better.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

An Insightful Tool Everyone Needs

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly for the marketing team. It helps us monitor our site health, such as if we have broken links to fix, if our pages are mobile friendly or not, etc.
  • Good tracking on the broken links
  • Great insights on how you can fix the pages to make them mobile friendly
  • For some broken links, they have limited information of where it came from, so it's difficult to locate the real issue and fix.
Overall it is very useful for almost every organization. And if I remember correctly it is free to the public. So why not have it?
Read this authenticated review
Ben Rubenstein profile photo
June 21, 2018

A good first step to understanding and addressing search performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to support our public-facing website within a single unit in our organization (though it may also be in use on other sites). It serves a few different purposes: identifying and solving Google indexing and crawling errors, tracking our organic search performance, and identifying and addressing optimization issues.
  • Clearly flags areas where there are technical errors or "low-hanging fruit" we can address, such as duplicate title tags, security issues, or crawl errors.
  • Provides an easy way to keep Google up to date on our content/site organization - for example, the ability to upload/update sitemaps.
  • Offers sortable search analytics that allows us to determine if we're ranking for terms we think we should be, find unexpected search terms, or identify areas of underperformance. This helps us strategize around what content to create/optimize and potentially feeds into our paid search strategy.
  • I'd like more instructions about how to respond to certain errors I see - it can be difficult to understand when you see a red error message what it really means and how to fix it.
  • I'd appreciate warnings being 'ranked' somehow to understand what's really a big deal, and what might be a minor issue.
  • Search analytics is helpful but not comprehensive - you can only go back so far in the data, and can't see all the search terms that are sending traffic to your site.
I think Google Search Console is a very useful tool for someone/a team charged with managing a website and ensuring that it's set up to perform well in Google search. It does not cover everything, and you'll often need other tools or expertise to address issues that it might flag, but it's certainly a good starting point to find what might be holding your site back.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review
Greg Dungan profile photo
March 28, 2018

Google Search Console Keeps My Sites Healthy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used across my whole organization and my client base. I use it to find crawl errors, test structured data, check the links to and within my sites, and much more. Google Search Console helps me keep my sites healthy and findable on the web. I have Google Search Console connected to Google Analytics and to third-party tools like SEMRush to give me a detailed view of how my sites are seen and indexed by Google.
  • Google Search Console lets me know if there are any crawl errors on my sites, so that I can fix them.
  • Google Search Console tells me when I have errors in my structured data. This is particularly helpful, because structured data can be extremely intricate. It's nice to have Google looking at the whole thing while I'm lost in the details.
  • Google Search Console helps me keep track of the links coming to my sites and the links within them. Both back-linking and cross-linking are necessary strategies for good SEO, so I appreciate being able to check them at a glance.
  • Google Search Console can be difficult to use when you first start. There's a bit of a learning curve, but Google also does a nice job of providing training and help docs.
  • As with anything that involves Google, I always wish that I could contact a human being when I have questions I can't answer or problems I can't solve. Unfortunately, contacting Google is next to impossible sometimes.
  • Google Search Console does an excellent job of detecting errors in structured data, but it can be very difficult to find instructions for fixing those errors.
Google Search Console is an absolute must if you build, manage, or maintain websites. It's also helpful is you deal in a company's business analytics. Whether you're in sales or marketing, you should be keenly aware of the information Google Search Console provides regarding your website and your company's online presence.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
No photo available
May 04, 2018

Google Search Console - finally updated!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Google Search Console for all companies I worked for. It's a great FREE tool for tracking keyword positions, impressions, clicks and CTR and other metrics for your websites. The good part is that the ranking data is coming directly from Google (while ALL other tools pull it through Google's API).
  • Rankings tracking for pages and keywords on Google.
  • Impressions, clicks and CTR tracking for separate keywords and pages on Google.
  • Comparing rankings, impressions, clicks, and CTR for different time periods.
  • It shows information about recent Google and GSC updates on the graph.
  • They used to have a limitation on how far back you can go with data (the limitation was 90 days), meaning you couldn't see data from 100 days ago. However, the new version (I think it's in Beta now) doesn't have this limitation anymore.
  • Also, it's not possible to group keywords and pages and track performance for groups. Tools like Conductor Searchlight have this function.
Great starting tool for any small to mid-sized business. It provides all internal SEO information that you need, including on-site improvement suggestions and backlink information (on top of the most popular functions like positions and click tracking).
Read this authenticated review
Nicholas De Salvo profile photo
October 12, 2017

Free Is A Very Good Price

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Google Search Console since it was introduced as Google Webmaster Tools as a way to upload sitemap information about websites. For years, it has been a standard line item in our website launch checklist as a vital resource for any site owner. Here you can interact with Google on how your site should be displayed, view any problems that may come up, see how Google views your website, and seemingly countless other useful things.
  • Verify site ownership with Google.
  • Upload real-time sitemaps to alert Google to new content on your website.
  • Review your website's search health.
  • View how Google looks at your website with specific page granularity.
  • I think the standard con here is that Google is a big business with lots of access to your data. We hope they behave responsibly with it, but there isn't as much transparency with how they analyze data or position your website as we might like.
I mentioned earlier that Google Search Console is a standard item on our website checklist because we believe that you need tools to be able to interact with Google if you expect to do business online. Every website should have this, and we do not say this about many tools.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
John Lam profile photo
February 22, 2018

Searcher

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google search is easy to use and it finds many related links. It also 'remembers' your search history and I find this feature is helpful especially when I forget how I found a particular site in the past. The only downside I can think of is that it's difficult to find less popular items/links.
  • Search a location nearby
  • Search particular items
  • Search reviews of a particular item or establishment
  • Searching less popular items/reviews is a challenge.
Look for a particular store nearby.
Read John Lam's full review

Google Search Console Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (24)
8.3
Backlink management (23)
7.9
SERP ranking tracking (24)
8.4
Page grader (18)
6.4
Competitive analysis (9)
6.8
Site audit / diagnostics (24)
8.6
Site recommendations (23)
7.7
Task management (10)
6.6
Local SEO (21)
8.2
Social SEO (12)
7.5
Mobile SEO (26)
8.5
Global SEO (22)
8.7
Multi-domain support (26)
9.0
Integration with web analytics tools (26)
9.4

About Google Search Console

Google Search Console is a search engine optimization software solution offered by Google.

Google Search Console Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No