TrustRadius
Google Search Console is a search engine optimization software solution offered by Google.Google Search Console ReviewGoogle Search Console is used in both marketing and web development. Marketing is able to gain valuable incites to improve SEO and the development team is able to detect and improve errors in a fast and efficient manner.,Provides inbound keywords that can be linked directly to your Google Analytics account Quickly update sitemaps and remove pages from search results The fetch and render tool is very helpful to ensure your pages are appearing correctly in search results,It can be a little difficult to navigate More training resources would be an asset. A beginner is given the power to completely destroy a sites search results at the push of a button. Likewise it is a powerful tool to enhance search results also. An option to take care of multiple versions of the same site simultaneously would be helpful. An option to use the same validation script across all versions and administer them simultaneously would be a time save (i.e. non-www, www, http://, and https:// versions of the same site).,10,I have used Search Console for every web project I have worked on. The results have always been outstanding. Surprising insights can be gained from the keyword analysis. I have discovered multiple profitable channels that weren't even on the radar. AMP has been a game changer over the last few years and this tool makes it extremely simple to ensure your pages are mobile friendly.,SEOquake, SEMRush and Screaming Frog SEO Spider,HubSpot, Salesforce Marketing Cloud Email Studio, Squarespace, WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Facebook for Business, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), Hotjar, Salesforce.comMust-have Tool for Optimizing your Website for GoogleWe use Google Search Console to measure website organic performance for all our SEO and website development clients. We also use the platform internal to monitor and diagnose any performance issues for our own site. Google Search Console helps to monitor website health when it comes to crawl budgets, html issues, schema/structured data validation and organic search performance monitoring for clicks, impressions, CTRs and Average position for specific keywords and pages on site.,High-level reporting on important factors that affect organic search position Easy to understand how Google indexes and crawls your site gives you an assessment on how most web crawlers are crawling your site Many tools to validate and optimize website performance with structured data, google data highlighter, AMP, re-index pages, sitemap verification,Difficult to navigate new UI in 2018, prefer old version so I'm constantly having to switch back Can be challenging to work with if you're new to the platform and don't understand technical SEO, website optimization,9,Measuring and Optimizing CTRs over time has led to over 200-300% increase in pageviews for many clients. Using Google Search Console as a data source in our SEO dashboards helps improve transparency with clients. The tools available in GSC improve productivity for our team allowing us to do more efficient work.,Bing Webmaster Tools, Ahrefs Site Explorer and SEMRush,Ahrefs Site Explorer, Tableau Desktop, DashThisGoogle Search Console (Google Webmaster Tools) - An Essential Part of Every Website.Google Search Console and Google Webmaster Tools are being used by our marketing department. Verifying and analysing the data from Google Search Console is the first step in client acquisition. You get the overview of your website's heath. This tool shows you major issues about the website and based on its findings your marketing department can create an SEO strategy.,Get alerts about issues and learn how to fix them. Understand how Google sees your website. Optimize your website using AMP, mobile usability and rich snippets. Optimize your content with search analytics.,UI/UX has recently changed and not for the better. The new Google Search Console relies on the old version, so sometimes you don't get all the data, unless you switch back to "old view." New Google Search console is not as fast or reliable as the old version and often shows issues when there are none.,10,Optimizes the crawl budget so it saves you money on server time/load. Gives you UI/UX optimization tips so it improves your conversion rate and increases revenue. Optimizes your content for the right set of keywords, so you can reach more people and extend the volume of targeted traffic. The negative thing is that it sometimes shows very limited data when it comes to offsite metrics, such as inbound links so if your website is penalized (Penguin), then you wouldn't know which links did that, and you need to pay for other tools and agencies, which is a shame, since Google knows all your inbound links it just chooses not to show them.,Google Analytics,Google AnalyticsThis is a great free tool, no reason NOT to use it!Google Search Console is mainly being used by the SEO team in my organization, so about 5 persons in my company use it on a regular basis. Then, the analytics team uses that data, too, to investigate issues, traffic spikes or provide recommendations. The PPC team is starting to use it more when creating cross-team/cross-channel strategies.,This is a great tool to know what organic keywords are being used to enter your site, and you can compare them over time to see improvements of your SEO efforts. The new interface is more user-friendly, clean, and nice to use than the old version. You can slice and dice keyword data, use filters, get granular on dates, pages, and devices. It offers a lot of valuable information, and it's totally free! You can see keywords data for images, website, or videos!,I wish you could aggregate keyword data for images, website, and videos to see the total number of impressions and clicks. I guess Google is still working on it, but I hope to see all the options that were available in the old version. It's still limited for some of our accounts.,10,GSC has impacted our company positively because we can create entire SEO strategies based on real website data, knowing what our visitors are truly asking.,SEMRush and Ahrefs Site Explorer,Zoom Video Webinar, Asana, Google Drive, Google PageSpeed InsightsGoogle Search Console - Another great tool for managing SEOI use the Google Search Console for every single website that I manage. As part of initial website development plans, the Google Search Console is a default setup task along with Google Analytics. I find this an important piece that ties to Google Analytics to monitor traffic, specifically search traffic so we know what keywords are working and what users are searching for.,Providing Search Terms for what real people are searching for Providing Appearance Rankings for where my websites appear in search results Providing what problems may exist with indexing sites,Does not accept .html formatted xml sitemaps. I don't think indexing is always complete for websites I've submitted,10,Allows better use of my time which deceases my client's costs I can explain keywords and how they are useful with data,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords) and HubSpot,Google Analytics, Google Ads (formerly AdWords), WordStream, Slack, Freshdesk, Camtasia, Wix, Weebly, WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins
Unspecified
Google Search Console
86 Ratings
Score 9.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Google Search Console Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Google Search Console
86 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 86 vetted Google Search Console reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-18 of 18)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Adam Lumley profile photo
December 20, 2018

"Google Search Console Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used in both marketing and web development. Marketing is able to gain valuable incites to improve SEO and the development team is able to detect and improve errors in a fast and efficient manner.
  • Provides inbound keywords that can be linked directly to your Google Analytics account
  • Quickly update sitemaps and remove pages from search results
  • The fetch and render tool is very helpful to ensure your pages are appearing correctly in search results
  • It can be a little difficult to navigate
  • More training resources would be an asset. A beginner is given the power to completely destroy a sites search results at the push of a button. Likewise it is a powerful tool to enhance search results also.
  • An option to take care of multiple versions of the same site simultaneously would be helpful. An option to use the same validation script across all versions and administer them simultaneously would be a time save (i.e. non-www, www, http://, and https:// versions of the same site).
This is an essential tool for any website in my opinion. Google is the dominant search engine and this gives you the ability to directly influence how your site's pages, descriptions, etc appear in search results.
Read Adam Lumley's full review
Nick Kretz profile photo
December 18, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "Must-have Tool for Optimizing your Website for Google"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to measure website organic performance for all our SEO and website development clients. We also use the platform internal to monitor and diagnose any performance issues for our own site. Google Search Console helps to monitor website health when it comes to crawl budgets, html issues, schema/structured data validation and organic search performance monitoring for clicks, impressions, CTRs and Average position for specific keywords and pages on site.
  • High-level reporting on important factors that affect organic search position
  • Easy to understand how Google indexes and crawls your site gives you an assessment on how most web crawlers are crawling your site
  • Many tools to validate and optimize website performance with structured data, google data highlighter, AMP, re-index pages, sitemap verification
  • Difficult to navigate new UI in 2018, prefer old version so I'm constantly having to switch back
  • Can be challenging to work with if you're new to the platform and don't understand technical SEO, website optimization
Well suited for website optimization projects especially when it comes to organic search. It is important for anyone who is managing website content or structure to assess the health of the website and identify critical issues that may affect performance. Good for an analytics-minded professional who is comfortable interpreting raw data or exporting files to build reports or dashboards. Not well suited for paid advertising professionals or executives. More of a tool for the people working on implementation and SEO/development related website projects.
Read Nick Kretz's full review
Dragan Nikolic profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "Google Search Console (Google Webmaster Tools) - An Essential Part of Every Website."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console and Google Webmaster Tools are being used by our marketing department. Verifying and analysing the data from Google Search Console is the first step in client acquisition.

You get the overview of your website's heath. This tool shows you major issues about the website and based on its findings your marketing department can create an SEO strategy.
  • Get alerts about issues and learn how to fix them.
  • Understand how Google sees your website.
  • Optimize your website using AMP, mobile usability and rich snippets.
  • Optimize your content with search analytics.
  • UI/UX has recently changed and not for the better.
  • The new Google Search Console relies on the old version, so sometimes you don't get all the data, unless you switch back to "old view."
  • New Google Search console is not as fast or reliable as the old version and often shows issues when there are none.
Claiming your website properties and verifying Google Search Console is the first thing any webmaster/owner/SEO should do. By doing this you get a window into Google's world and SEO algorithm.

If you're a startup company, you should do this to find out which keywords get you traffic and optimize your website for those, so Google Seach Console helps your content.

If you're an SEO agency, you should ask for GSC access to check the overall health and fix major SEO issues, etc...
Read Dragan Nikolic's full review
Vanessa Suarez profile photo
December 08, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "This is a great free tool, no reason NOT to use it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is mainly being used by the SEO team in my organization, so about 5 persons in my company use it on a regular basis. Then, the analytics team uses that data, too, to investigate issues, traffic spikes or provide recommendations. The PPC team is starting to use it more when creating cross-team/cross-channel strategies.
  • This is a great tool to know what organic keywords are being used to enter your site, and you can compare them over time to see improvements of your SEO efforts.
  • The new interface is more user-friendly, clean, and nice to use than the old version. You can slice and dice keyword data, use filters, get granular on dates, pages, and devices. It offers a lot of valuable information, and it's totally free!
  • You can see keywords data for images, website, or videos!
  • I wish you could aggregate keyword data for images, website, and videos to see the total number of impressions and clicks.
  • I guess Google is still working on it, but I hope to see all the options that were available in the old version. It's still limited for some of our accounts.
Google Search Console is well suited for any company that runs their website on their own, or that uses all of the other Google products. It's free and easy to install, so why not take advantage of it! I would say it's not as suited for very large companies that use analytics tools other than GA. They should find a solution that connects with their tool to try to have all the data under the same house, in my opinion.
Read Vanessa Suarez's full review
Erin Harris profile photo
December 02, 2018

Review: "Google Search Console - Another great tool for managing SEO"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use the Google Search Console for every single website that I manage. As part of initial website development plans, the Google Search Console is a default setup task along with Google Analytics.

I find this an important piece that ties to Google Analytics to monitor traffic, specifically search traffic so we know what keywords are working and what users are searching for.
  • Providing Search Terms for what real people are searching for
  • Providing Appearance Rankings for where my websites appear in search results
  • Providing what problems may exist with indexing sites
  • Does not accept .html formatted xml sitemaps.
  • I don't think indexing is always complete for websites I've submitted
I manage eight websites which are implementing the Google Search Console as a tool for keywords, analytics and SEO. Understanding the traffic information that this tool provides, helps me adjust SEO and plan ads.

Some of my websites have many pages so it's great to see how the individual pages appear in search results (ranking). This is important because every site owner wants their pages to appear in that magic number one spot and often don't understand that not everyone can be #1. Being able to see the keywords that people are using to get the results that they do.

For some of my site owners, they get it once they can see the data. Others need more help.
Read Erin Harris's full review
Sean Pomory profile photo
November 16, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "Necessary - But Not Great!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Search Console to support public-facing websites within a single unit in our organization. Linked with Google Tag Manager, Analytics and Ads, it provides a powerful resource for us to: Identify Google indexing and crawling errors, track our organic search performance, identify and address optimization issues, submit sitemaps to Google, check security status of the site, demote links and maps that we no longer want promoted, among others.
  • Demote sitelinks
  • Submit sitemaps to Google
  • Review structured data elements on the
  • Listing external and internal links on the site
  • Disavow bad links
  • Fetching as Google
  • Poor UI
  • Significant data discrepancy between Analytics and Search Console
  • Unclear messaging around when a sitemap was submitted and when it was processed
  • Terrible support
  • Massive learning curve
Google Search Console is good. It is a solid tool that provides great analytics in many use cases. But it has many failings. To be clear, Marketers and Developers should certainly use Google Search Console, just in conjunction with other tools. I don't believe you can't recommend the tool in the SEO space because of its direct integration with Google. If you want to submit a site to Google directly, this is the only way to do it. So, business large and small, should use it.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
No photo available
December 05, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "An absolute must have for the basics"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is the first tool our company uses to understand the performance of our marketing site when it comes to indexing and SERPs within Google, along with backlinks to our site. We also make sure all of our clients that we develop websites for are aware of it, and help them understand the data and use it to their advantage.
  • Provides details on what other sites contain backlinks to your site, along with the page they direct to within your site
  • Displays impressions and click throughs for Google search queries
  • Individual page performance by location and device category as it pertains to generating clicks leading to your site
  • Basic indexing and readability issues within your site
  • The new interface that just rolled out is much easier on the eyes
  • There are no real cons other than it is a basic website performance tool that should definitely not be used alone to improve your site.
  • The new interface took a little getting used to as I was very comfortable with the old interface, but the sleek design definitely outweighs this.
  • Syncing Search Console with Google Analytics is not the most intuitive thing
It is a basic tool that all website owners should be aware of and know how to use as it is an absolute basic necessity to understanding performance on Google. Other tools provide what Search Console does and more, so it can be bypassed. However, I always rely on Search Console as the ultimate source of truth for our site's performance on Google because, well, it's owned by Google.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 17, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "Find what you're looking for."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a web development company, we design and build websites for clients. After launch, we manage and maintain search rankings and search engine optimization (SEO) if a client contracts us for ongoing work. Part of this ongoing work includes submitting the sitemap to Google's webmaster tools and monitoring performance through Google's search console.
  • The search console ensures a website's sitemap is working properly and identifies any inconsistencies or errors in the sitemap like 4XX errors or 5XX errors and gives you an opportunity to fix the issues.
  • Gives users a high-level look at their analytics without having to deep dive into Google Analytics.
  • Shows analytics like impressions, click-throughs, etc. that Google Analytics doesn't do as well.
  • Search queries are nice to see but could be more detailed as far as if a user typed that in and actually clicked through or if they just saw it in the results.
  • Would be nice if you could do more keyword research in this tool rather than having to use Google AdWords to find keyword research.
If you are interested in understanding how users interact with your website but don't want to get "into the weeds" with Google Analytics and in-depth information, this offers a great high-level approach to understanding your web content better.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 18, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "An Insightful Tool Everyone Needs"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly for the marketing team. It helps us monitor our site health, such as if we have broken links to fix, if our pages are mobile friendly or not, etc.
  • Good tracking on the broken links
  • Great insights on how you can fix the pages to make them mobile friendly
  • For some broken links, they have limited information of where it came from, so it's difficult to locate the real issue and fix.
Overall it is very useful for almost every organization. And if I remember correctly it is free to the public. So why not have it?
Read this authenticated review
Ben Rubenstein profile photo
June 21, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "A good first step to understanding and addressing search performance"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console to support our public-facing website within a single unit in our organization (though it may also be in use on other sites). It serves a few different purposes: identifying and solving Google indexing and crawling errors, tracking our organic search performance, and identifying and addressing optimization issues.
  • Clearly flags areas where there are technical errors or "low-hanging fruit" we can address, such as duplicate title tags, security issues, or crawl errors.
  • Provides an easy way to keep Google up to date on our content/site organization - for example, the ability to upload/update sitemaps.
  • Offers sortable search analytics that allows us to determine if we're ranking for terms we think we should be, find unexpected search terms, or identify areas of underperformance. This helps us strategize around what content to create/optimize and potentially feeds into our paid search strategy.
  • I'd like more instructions about how to respond to certain errors I see - it can be difficult to understand when you see a red error message what it really means and how to fix it.
  • I'd appreciate warnings being 'ranked' somehow to understand what's really a big deal, and what might be a minor issue.
  • Search analytics is helpful but not comprehensive - you can only go back so far in the data, and can't see all the search terms that are sending traffic to your site.
I think Google Search Console is a very useful tool for someone/a team charged with managing a website and ensuring that it's set up to perform well in Google search. It does not cover everything, and you'll often need other tools or expertise to address issues that it might flag, but it's certainly a good starting point to find what might be holding your site back.
Read Ben Rubenstein's full review
Greg Dungan profile photo
March 28, 2018

Review: "Google Search Console Keeps My Sites Healthy"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used across my whole organization and my client base. I use it to find crawl errors, test structured data, check the links to and within my sites, and much more. Google Search Console helps me keep my sites healthy and findable on the web. I have Google Search Console connected to Google Analytics and to third-party tools like SEMRush to give me a detailed view of how my sites are seen and indexed by Google.
  • Google Search Console lets me know if there are any crawl errors on my sites, so that I can fix them.
  • Google Search Console tells me when I have errors in my structured data. This is particularly helpful, because structured data can be extremely intricate. It's nice to have Google looking at the whole thing while I'm lost in the details.
  • Google Search Console helps me keep track of the links coming to my sites and the links within them. Both back-linking and cross-linking are necessary strategies for good SEO, so I appreciate being able to check them at a glance.
  • Google Search Console can be difficult to use when you first start. There's a bit of a learning curve, but Google also does a nice job of providing training and help docs.
  • As with anything that involves Google, I always wish that I could contact a human being when I have questions I can't answer or problems I can't solve. Unfortunately, contacting Google is next to impossible sometimes.
  • Google Search Console does an excellent job of detecting errors in structured data, but it can be very difficult to find instructions for fixing those errors.
Google Search Console is an absolute must if you build, manage, or maintain websites. It's also helpful is you deal in a company's business analytics. Whether you're in sales or marketing, you should be keenly aware of the information Google Search Console provides regarding your website and your company's online presence.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
John Lam profile photo
February 22, 2018

Google Search Console Review: "Searcher"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google search is easy to use and it finds many related links. It also 'remembers' your search history and I find this feature is helpful especially when I forget how I found a particular site in the past. The only downside I can think of is that it's difficult to find less popular items/links.
  • Search a location nearby
  • Search particular items
  • Search reviews of a particular item or establishment
  • Searching less popular items/reviews is a challenge.
Look for a particular store nearby.
Read John Lam's full review
No photo available
May 04, 2018

Review: "Google Search Console - finally updated!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Google Search Console for all companies I worked for. It's a great FREE tool for tracking keyword positions, impressions, clicks and CTR and other metrics for your websites. The good part is that the ranking data is coming directly from Google (while ALL other tools pull it through Google's API).
  • Rankings tracking for pages and keywords on Google.
  • Impressions, clicks and CTR tracking for separate keywords and pages on Google.
  • Comparing rankings, impressions, clicks, and CTR for different time periods.
  • It shows information about recent Google and GSC updates on the graph.
  • They used to have a limitation on how far back you can go with data (the limitation was 90 days), meaning you couldn't see data from 100 days ago. However, the new version (I think it's in Beta now) doesn't have this limitation anymore.
  • Also, it's not possible to group keywords and pages and track performance for groups. Tools like Conductor Searchlight have this function.
Great starting tool for any small to mid-sized business. It provides all internal SEO information that you need, including on-site improvement suggestions and backlink information (on top of the most popular functions like positions and click tracking).
Read this authenticated review
Nicholas De Salvo profile photo
October 12, 2017

Google Search Console Review: "Free Is A Very Good Price"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Google Search Console since it was introduced as Google Webmaster Tools as a way to upload sitemap information about websites. For years, it has been a standard line item in our website launch checklist as a vital resource for any site owner. Here you can interact with Google on how your site should be displayed, view any problems that may come up, see how Google views your website, and seemingly countless other useful things.
  • Verify site ownership with Google.
  • Upload real-time sitemaps to alert Google to new content on your website.
  • Review your website's search health.
  • View how Google looks at your website with specific page granularity.
  • I think the standard con here is that Google is a big business with lots of access to your data. We hope they behave responsibly with it, but there isn't as much transparency with how they analyze data or position your website as we might like.
I mentioned earlier that Google Search Console is a standard item on our website checklist because we believe that you need tools to be able to interact with Google if you expect to do business online. Every website should have this, and we do not say this about many tools.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Roel Timmermans profile photo
October 13, 2017

Google Search Console Review: "Must have, but not too great of a tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to support our SEO efforts. Initially it was a main tool to work with sitemaps and update newly added pages. The latter is still a good option to manually submit new pages.

Mainly it's a useful addition to Google Analytics, which itself offers more value than Search Console.
  • Submit pages
  • Measure inbound links
  • Measuring indexed pages
  • Should be included in Analytics
It's a must have if you want to do well in SEO. Manually submitted pages and linked pages is a plus, submitting sitemaps as well. Overall though it offers too little to be a standalone product. Google should embed this into Analytics.

It often seems to show different information compared to Analytics and Google itself.
Read Roel Timmermans's full review
No photo available
December 20, 2017

Review: "Pros and Cons of using Google Search Console"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Search Console all the time. One of my clients had once a case of Negative SEO when a competitor tried to lower their site's rankings in the search engines. It was really easy to disavow those untrusted links though GSC. This task cannot be accomplished anywhere else. You can get a list of bad links with other softwares but you can only disavow those links with this platform (GSC).
I also suggest adding your Google Console to your Yoast SEO plugin (if you don’t have you should have it) so you can track how Google is indexing your website.
  • Disavow bad links.
  • Search Analytics – so the viewer can quickly find all the search terms, pages and position of each term that brings traffic to the site.
  • Fetch as Google so you can test how Google crawls your site.
  • Google Search Console provides a list of HTML errors it discovered in the course of crawling your site but sometimes this feature is not up to date. Sometimes it shows errors that had been previously fixed.
Google Search Console is great for disavowing bad links and make sure there are no major issues when you launch a major update to your existing site.

One scenario that is less appropriate to use GSC is the Index Status section.
Because GSC allows you to authorize the http, https, www, and non-www version of your site independently, it can be confusing as to what is included in the Index Status metric.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 28, 2017

Google Search Console Review: "Should be part of any SEO toolkit"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console is used by several teams across the whole of the organization. These teams generally sit within Marketing departments. The tool is used primarily by those involved in SEO efforts, but it has also proven beneficial for detecting user experience issues that happen to impact SEO such as broken links on websites.
  • Google Search Console is a good resource for learning which keywords are driving organic traffic to our websites. We realize that much of that data is actually not made available by Google, but even the data we get is worthwhile.
  • GSC is also the primary method we use for submitting brand new or significantly revised pages to Google for indexing.
  • GSC also helps us identify issues on our websites which impact not just SEO but also other areas.
  • As mentioned, the keyword data available is far from complete. Like most people involved in SEO, I would love to see all the other data not shown.
  • It's unfortunate that users can only look back at the last 90 days of data at any point in time. Fortunately we are able to integrate GSC with other tools that store this data for future reference.
  • GSC does occasionally flag warnings that have been applied to our sites' presences in search results. Often, these warnings are unnecessary and GSC makes it possible to have them reviewed and removed, but it is annoying that unnecessary warnings are visible even for a short time.
Anyone working in SEO should be looking at Google Search Console data, ideally connecting it to Google Analytics in order to enjoy the flow of data from one tool to another. But the tool was originally named Google Webmaster Tools and to be honest there are several tools available that any webmaster/front-end web developer would find useful for monitoring the health of their site.
Read this authenticated review
Amber Stanley-Kruth profile photo
April 10, 2017

Google Search Console Review: "The VIP Pass for Google Search Engine Results Page"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Search Console (Webmaster Tools) is the flip side of Google Analytics. Analytics gives you data on your website from the user's point of view, as well as aggregate data on user behavior. Search Console gives you data from Google Bot or the search engine view, from simple to read search query data to more technical features like AMP and structured snippets. Like other Google platforms, there is a plethora of easy to find step by step instructions and explanations of how to use Search Console. It isn't used by or necessary for everyone in the company and is used only by the individuals that need this technical data to make sure the website is performing without errors and taking advantage of the multifaceted options to be visible and on good standing with Google Search.
  • Submit sitemap and robots.txt to make sure Google indexes the most recent version of your website and there aren't errors.
  • View, sort and filter search queries that provide your website with impressions and clicks. Also see the average position and click through rate of those keywords.
  • Take advantage of more advanced SERP features like AMP, structured snippets.
  • Discover crawl errors, duplicate/missing HTML elements, pages blocked from bots.
  • The interface is not as user-friendly as Analytics.
  • The additional features, like snippets, is (or seems) too confusing to use without advanced knowledge.
  • Crawl errors need better guides/explanation for how to resolve.
  • It would be nice to have a customizable report that could be used to archive and share this information.
If you're just starting out, this is useful for syncing to Analytics to get the "Search Console" data. Also pretty easy to submit a sitemap (go to your website URL and add "/sitemap" to your root domain - www.mysite.com/sitemap) and the extension (e.g. ".xml") will appear. Copy "/sitemap.xml" and paste into Search Console. For more intermediate/advanced web designers/developers this is essential for seeing what the Google bot sees and making the necessary changes for better search performance and taking advantage of enhanced SERP features.
Read Amber Stanley-Kruth's full review

Google Search Console Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (16)
7.9
Backlink management (16)
7.2
SERP ranking tracking (15)
7.8
Page grader (11)
5.2
Competitive analysis (6)
5.9
Site audit / diagnostics (14)
8.0
Site recommendations (13)
7.4
Task management (5)
5.7
Local SEO (13)
7.3
Social SEO (7)
5.8
Mobile SEO (15)
8.0
Global SEO (13)
8.1
Multi-domain support (16)
8.4
Integration with web analytics tools (16)
8.9

About Google Search Console

Google Search Console is a search engine optimization software solution offered by Google.

Google Search Console Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No