TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/1V/IC/G4TDX1KS1XRG.pngMajestic SEO: In-Depth Backlink Analysis for Large-Scale SEO ProgramsMajestic SEO is a cornerstone of solid SEO strategy. They're one of the best in the industry for monitoring and improving inbound website links. With Majestic you can track new, leaving, and existing inbound links, while weighing their overall value, so you can make positive recommendations for ongoing link-building strategies. Their Site Explorer and Trust Flow are an invaluable piece of SEO and have yet to be matched by other large SEO platforms.,Backlink review is really done well. Majestic set the standard when it came to creating a full historical backlink review platform as the highlight to their functionality. Competitor SEO Analysis is very useful with Majestic, being able to not only pull all SEO data, but historical information as well, which allows you to track the ongoing SEO efforts of your competition. The Search Explorer tool is really handy. It allows you to scan the Majestic index to see where certain keywords appear in SEO. This is extremely useful for very large websites that have a lot of evergreen content.,Many competitors to Majestic are adding the same functionality as Majestic, so it makes it hard to keep all the tools when they all have similar functionality. The Trust Flow and Topical Trust Flow are based on the Majestic standards. It would be nice if there was a standard practice to creating these SEO Ranks that could be used universally. There are extra features such as Subnets and IPs that I've never really found useful, but that doesn't mean they aren't. I would prefer if Majestic could stick to implementing new features for backlink acquisition if possible.,8,We've used Majestic to acquire new backlinks for clients by scanning competitors, reviewing their backlink profiles, and targeting some of the same domains. These backlinks have had solid performance improvements for client SERPS leading to increased conversions from organic. With many various tactics underway for SEO, it is hard to attribute exact value to Majestic, except knowing it's a critical tool in any SEO arsenal. We cannot say the $99 Pro Tools have attributed to a 10x ROI, for example. So it's a soft positive ROI, but definitely worth the price. Providing clients with in-depth SEO reporting gives clients the opportunity to review data to help bring about more positive SEO changes, primarily content, which can promote long-term organic growth.,Moz, SEMRush, Ahrefs Site Explorer, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins and Screaming Frog SEO SpiderMajestic SEO is a Great Tool for Medium to Enterprise BusinessesWe use Majestic SEO in the marketing department to help inform online content decisions. In conjunction with Moz and HubSpot, Majestic provides a valuable deep dive into how content is working on search engines. Majestic provides a clean and reliable database of links that are not mixed with irrelevant links. It enables us to see how content has performed over time, even before the Digital Media Specialist role existed.,Site and Search Explorer Historical backlink checker Powerful API for full customers,Pricing gets expensive, quick Historical charts could go back further, but this is a rather unique feature anyway. The tool can be difficult to get workable data from without another tool like Moz or SEMrush to cover its weak spots,8,ROI is difficult to ascertain in healthcare marketing, mostly due to privacy laws. Although, Majestic has improved our insight into our digital content, giving us data to work with on the primary site, which has led to an overall increase in organic search.,Moz, Ahrefs Site Explorer and SEMRush,Moz, SEMRush, Ahrefs Site Explorer,No,Product Features Product Reputation Third-party Reviews,We likely would not. There is nothing Majestic can do that would have helped us move any differently. I personally would have liked to have purchased the tool sooner, but that is because of internal red tape, not anything to do with Majestic,No,9,NoMajestic SEO is a Must Have for SEOsI am a very small agency and tools are super important to me. We use Majestic SEO to research and audit the SEO of our prospective clients and their competition. We also use it to measure our clients' progress. Majestic's proprietary metrics - Trust Flow and Citation Flow (TF-CF) - are the standard in the SEO world. It helps us analyze the strength of a domain and gives us clues as to what can/should be done to grow. The backlink analysis from Majestic is critical.,Topical Trust Flow Citation Flow Backlink Profile & History Anchor Text profile,Can be confusing to beginners until they start learning what they're seeing. Lots of confusion about what REALLY is Trust Flow and Citation Flow Some very valuable/critical tools are only available in the PRO level (minimum $99/mo). So it can be pricey if you're just getting started Free version is extremely limited.,9,great return when you are pitching SEO services great ability to compare domain strength vs. competitors. Pennies on the dollar when you consider the value of a new SEO client!,SEMRush, Moz, RankTrackr, SEOptimer, Screaming Frog SEO Spider, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, RavenTools and Ahrefs Site Explorer,SEMRush, Moz, Screaming Frog SEO SpiderGreat for your backlink analysis. But that's about itMajestic is most beneficial when I need to pull all backlinks for my SEO backlink analysis. I have yet to find a better tool that would provide this much and detailed data. We've used Majestic as part of our strategic analysis on a bi-weekly basis.,Provides the most comprehensive list of backlinks I have yet to find anywhere else.,While Majestic is a fantastic tool for discovering yours and competitors' backlinks, the rest of the features are not so useful, and I always have to use the tool in combination with Moz, SEM Rush, and Ahrefs.,5,It was very useful in terms of pulling those backlinks. However, we were essentially paying for that one functionality.,,SEMRush, Serpstat, DossierA Truly Majestic SEO ToolI use Majestic to find valuable domain properties that have relevant links and to determine if they may be penalized for spam. I usually evaluate these domain properties if they are newly expired so that I may acquire them and use them for relevant projects. Domains that I don't use can be resold for a profit or can be held until we need them.,Provides useful backlink profile. If you can see who is linking to a particular domain you can usually tell if the domain is worthwhile. Ranks trust factor of domains. Very useful in determine if the property is trustworthy and therefore more valuable. Give insight into competitors' linking strategies. It's always good to know what your competitors are up to.,The user interface could be a bit easier to navigate. I'd like to see a better explanation of terms used when exploring a domain.,9,I have been able to obtain some valuable domains. I do not have an exact return on investment but I can tell you that Majestic makes my work much easier and helps me acheive the results I am looking for.,,SEMRush, Moz, Ahrefs Site Explorer
Unspecified
Majestic SEO
43 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Majestic SEO Reviews

Majestic SEO
43 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 43 vetted Majestic SEO reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-18 of 18)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Aaron Metzger profile photo
December 12, 2018

Review: "Majestic SEO: In-Depth Backlink Analysis for Large-Scale SEO Programs"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic SEO is a cornerstone of solid SEO strategy. They're one of the best in the industry for monitoring and improving inbound website links. With Majestic you can track new, leaving, and existing inbound links, while weighing their overall value, so you can make positive recommendations for ongoing link-building strategies.

Their Site Explorer and Trust Flow are an invaluable piece of SEO and have yet to be matched by other large SEO platforms.
  • Backlink review is really done well. Majestic set the standard when it came to creating a full historical backlink review platform as the highlight to their functionality.
  • Competitor SEO Analysis is very useful with Majestic, being able to not only pull all SEO data, but historical information as well, which allows you to track the ongoing SEO efforts of your competition.
  • The Search Explorer tool is really handy. It allows you to scan the Majestic index to see where certain keywords appear in SEO. This is extremely useful for very large websites that have a lot of evergreen content.
  • Many competitors to Majestic are adding the same functionality as Majestic, so it makes it hard to keep all the tools when they all have similar functionality.
  • The Trust Flow and Topical Trust Flow are based on the Majestic standards. It would be nice if there was a standard practice to creating these SEO Ranks that could be used universally.
  • There are extra features such as Subnets and IPs that I've never really found useful, but that doesn't mean they aren't. I would prefer if Majestic could stick to implementing new features for backlink acquisition if possible.
Majestic is a really great tool if your company is spending considerable resources on ongoing SEO efforts. In general, Majestic isn't for beginner SEO users, but a more advanced tool to get into deep SEO tactics. I would recommend this for agencies that have a significant investment in SEO. If you're a small team or a small business looking to improve SEO for yourself or company, there are platforms that offer a variety of tools for new to moderate expertise.
Read Aaron Metzger's full review
Sean Pomory profile photo
December 12, 2018

Review: "Majestic SEO is a Great Tool for Medium to Enterprise Businesses"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Majestic SEO in the marketing department to help inform online content decisions. In conjunction with Moz and HubSpot, Majestic provides a valuable deep dive into how content is working on search engines. Majestic provides a clean and reliable database of links that are not mixed with irrelevant links. It enables us to see how content has performed over time, even before the Digital Media Specialist role existed.
  • Site and Search Explorer
  • Historical backlink checker
  • Powerful API for full customers
  • Pricing gets expensive, quick
  • Historical charts could go back further, but this is a rather unique feature anyway.
  • The tool can be difficult to get workable data from without another tool like Moz or SEMRush to cover its weak spots
Majestic SEO is best fitted to medium to enterprise businesses. Although they have a lower tier, I don't think this provides very usable information for single users. Especially if they are not experts. I would recommend Moz in that instance.

Otherwise, Majestic is a powerful that can be developed into custom apps if you have the team to make that kind of thing happen.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Scott Richardson profile photo
December 12, 2018

User Review: "Majestic SEO is a Must Have for SEOs"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a very small agency and tools are super important to me. We use Majestic SEO to research and audit the SEO of our prospective clients and their competition. We also use it to measure our clients' progress. Majestic's proprietary metrics - Trust Flow and Citation Flow (TF-CF) - are the standard in the SEO world. It helps us analyze the strength of a domain and gives us clues as to what can/should be done to grow. The backlink analysis from Majestic is critical.
  • Topical Trust Flow
  • Citation Flow
  • Backlink Profile & History
  • Anchor Text profile
  • Can be confusing to beginners until they start learning what they're seeing. Lots of confusion about what REALLY is Trust Flow and Citation Flow
  • Some very valuable/critical tools are only available in the PRO level (minimum $99/mo). So it can be pricey if you're just getting started
  • Free version is extremely limited.
This is a "must have" for anyone who sells SEO services. It is the perfect tool to research domains and show the health of a website to a prospective client. The metrics are industry standard and do a great job of breaking down the basics. It won't perform a full SEO audit for you...you'll need a different tool for that. But it does the best job of showing the importance of link-building and topical relevance.
Read Scott Richardson's full review
Ksenia Newton profile photo
August 14, 2018

Majestic SEO Review: "Great for your backlink analysis. But that's about it"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic is most beneficial when I need to pull all backlinks for my SEO backlink analysis. I have yet to find a better tool that would provide this much and detailed data.

We've used Majestic as part of our strategic analysis on a bi-weekly basis.
  • Provides the most comprehensive list of backlinks I have yet to find anywhere else.
  • While Majestic is a fantastic tool for discovering yours and competitors' backlinks, the rest of the features are not so useful, and I always have to use the tool in combination with Moz, SEM Rush, and Ahrefs.
You are working on re-engineering your competitors' backlink strategy.
You want to take a deep look into your backlink portfolio.

Read Ksenia Newton's full review
Todd Moss profile photo
February 05, 2018

User Review: "A Truly Majestic SEO Tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Majestic to find valuable domain properties that have relevant links and to determine if they may be penalized for spam. I usually evaluate these domain properties if they are newly expired so that I may acquire them and use them for relevant projects. Domains that I don't use can be resold for a profit or can be held until we need them.
  • Provides useful backlink profile. If you can see who is linking to a particular domain you can usually tell if the domain is worthwhile.
  • Ranks trust factor of domains. Very useful in determine if the property is trustworthy and therefore more valuable.
  • Give insight into competitors' linking strategies. It's always good to know what your competitors are up to.
  • The user interface could be a bit easier to navigate.
  • I'd like to see a better explanation of terms used when exploring a domain.
If I am looking at web properties or domains Majestic is well suited to determine if the site is trusted and if it's backlink profile is clean. Majestic is not well suited to doing heavy lifting like SEMRush but it's not meant to do the same work. They are different tools and very valuable in their own ways.
Read Todd Moss's full review
Christiaan Bollen profile photo
May 09, 2018

Majestic SEO Review: "Fast Website Impression"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic is the tool we use first to check out a website as a quick overview of the trust and citation. The topical trust overview gives us a bit of an insight in where backlinks come from and then we go further to the backlinks.
Majestic is fast and gives a good overview. To go deeper into the backlinks, other tools are better.
  • Fast website profile
  • Topical trust, information into topics/categories
  • Trust and Citation parameters
  • Majestic could have more backlinks
  • Some countries have less data than others
It is good for doing research into competitors, quick overviews of a website, and getting insight in expired domains. It is less appropriate if you want a full backlink profile.
Read Christiaan Bollen's full review
No photo available
March 21, 2018

Review: "Majestic SEO - Old School is the best school"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Majestic in Marketing department and it's mostly used to track backlink profiles of our competitors. Majestic provides the ability to track how backlinks of competitors websites change, so it easy to find out if a recent move in competitor rankings had anything to do with new backlinks. On top of that we can download those backlinks with a lot of additional information like theme of the website (very useful for identifying relevant links for your website) and other more common metrics.
  • I like Majestic's own metrics Trust and Citation flow, that are very representative of the real value of the website and it's potential effect on the rankings of the website it's linking to.
  • Also, theme (topic) of the website is very useful in the backlink report. This allows to easily identify backlinks relevant to your business.
  • The index of number of backlinks that is provided by Majestic is usually a lot bigger than the indexes of their competitors.
  • Lost link tracker is very useful for tracking dropped links of your projects (you can verify and track multiple domains). This allows to keep track on how many of your ads and articles stay live and sometimes we contact publishers to tell them that their changes on the website (i.e. updates) caused our article or link to go down.
  • UI is not the best, navigation in Ahrefs is a lot more intuitive.
  • Freshness of backlinks index is not always the freshest (it takes a couple more days to see new backlinks than in Ahrefs).
Majestic is great if you want to build your backlink profile, especially if you know competitors who have strong profiles and can be mimicked. Majestic allows to export a lot of backlinks and has a lot of parameters for filtering this data.

Another useful scenario is to track competitors over time and watch how their Trust and Citation flow are correlated to their rankings.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Review: "Majestic SEO is an essential tool for us!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a Search Engine Optimization company and we use Majestic SEO all the time. This tool is used across the whole organization and is like a swiss army knife for our team. For example, when we are doing a backlink audit of a website, we can check its backlinks with Majestic and quickly determine the number of referring domains, which tells us how many links website has.
  • Majestic SEO provides a detailed list of backlinks that a website has
  • It's great for backlink audits
  • Looking at the anchor text profile you can determine how "spammy" backlinks are of some websites if they use too aggressive and keyword rich anchor texts
  • Top linked pages can tell you which pages on the website got most links. This helps to determine which topic has a link earning potential.
  • Interface is quick and easy to use but it could be a bit nicer looking
  • Dates, when links were indexed, seem to show weird numbers sometimes. Old links are shown as freshly indexed.
  • Charts with backlink history are also sometimes showing weird graphs.
Majestic SEO is great for quickly reviewing the number of backlinks and referring domains a website has. This can help determine the SEO strength of a specific website. The more links website has the better it will rank. Majestic has some other features but the best part of the Majestic SEO is their Site, Explorer.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 13, 2017

Review: "Majestic SEO is an all in one tool. A must have for any SEO."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic SEO is primarily used by the SEO team. They use it for making sure we are not getting spammed and keep a close eye on the competitor activities. Majestic SEO can be very helpful in deciding the marketing strategy of the company as well as supporting the Sales team in market research.
  • Has a lot of data and pretty quick in updating the fresh as well as the historic database.
  • Cheaper compared to other tools.
  • Easy to use and the tutorial explains everything.
  • Data can be easily exported and analyzed further in Excel.
  • Can be slow sometimes, but depends on how much data is being loaded.
  • Has limit with respect to downloads.
What we use Majestic SEO for:
  • To detect and analyze the new incoming links to the website.
  • To look for spam and disavow shady backlinks (automated, spam attacks, competitors, etc).
  • To analyze the anchor text distribution.
  • Analyze geographical distribution of links for a local site.
  • Can check the IP addresses of the websites where the link originates and this can help reduce spam.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Colling profile photo
April 04, 2017

Majestic SEO Review: "Majestic - It just WORKS and it is AFFORDABLE"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Majestic for backlink analysis for our clients as well as for competitive analysis and for identifying prospective new clients for our business.
  • Majestic has one of the largest, if not in fact THE largest, inventory of internet links. For backlink analysis that's extremely important.
  • Majestic does everything we need at a MUCH more affordable price than their main competitor.
  • Their clique hunter tool is very interesting for identifying backlink opportunities.
  • Their Chrome browser extension is very clever and useful.
  • Their UI is dated and a bit hard to understand.
Definitely well-suited to backlink analysis and to backlink opportunity research.
Read Tim Colling's full review
Rahul Agarwal profile photo
March 24, 2017

Review: "Majestic SEO a powerful backlink profile checker tool! Every SEO must use it once!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic SEO, in my eyes is one of the pioneering tools in SEO landscape. We have been doing SEO for a long time and ever since I remember, we have used Majestic SEO for a long time now. We widely use the tool in consulting when doing SEO/backlink analysis for our clients.
  • One of the best uses of the tool is to find backlinks.
  • It's a great tool to get trust flow and citation flow that provides an overview about the health of the backlinks.
  • Also we love the anchor text option in the tool.
  • The tool is also very helpful in showing anchor text distribution.
  • Majestic SEO can do a better job in presenting the data in a better and more useful form.
  • Maybe Majestic SEO can refresh their database more often as often times there is a big discrepancy in the number of links found by the tool and its competitors.
  • Its too much focused on links. Other tools like SEMRush also show rankings etc.
It's well suited when you need to know your/competitors' backlink profile, number of referring domains, trust and citation flow to check the health of the links pointing towards the domain. Also, the tool shows links from educational and governmental domains as well. It does analysis of any URL on its root domain, subdomain and path URLs. The tool is not well suited if you want to do anything more than link analysis just like keyword analysis, SERP analysis etc.
Read Rahul Agarwal's full review
No photo available
May 30, 2017

Majestic SEO Review: "How do you improve SEO ranking?"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic SEO is being used by our marketing department. We use it as one of our tools in determining the quality of websites we interact with.
  • Majestic SEO provides accurate information for trust and citation flows which are very useful in our analysis.
  • It also provides relevant data for making conclusions and reports when needed.
  • I also find it very convenient since everything is one click away.
  • Sometimes, Majestic SEO can be slow, especially when used with a Chrome plug in.
As part of our SEO work, we need to know which websites will contribute in our page ranking. Majestic SEO was able to provide all I need with ease.
Read this authenticated review
Justin Kofron profile photo
August 27, 2015

Majestic SEO: "Review of Great Backlink Research Tool that SEOs will love"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our Sq1 SEO department uses Majestic SEO during our site audits for clients. This great SEO tools helps us analyze a client's backlink profile, determine their strengths, weaknesses and build a strategy to improve their visibility. Majestic provides informative graphs that help clients understand our presentation. We trust Majestic's data and this is important as we pass this data along to our clients.
  • Provides trust worthy data.
  • Engaging graphs that are easy to understand.
  • Breaks down data such as the % of anchor text used that no one else has.
  • Training, tips and tricks on how to better use product
Majestic SEO is very helpful for all digital marketers.
Read Justin Kofron's full review
Jesse Fogarty - Toronto Digital Marketing Specialist profile photo
June 03, 2015

Review: "Majestic SEO - Worthwhile Free but Paid.... Not So Much"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Being that Majestic SEO is a link-based SEO tool I found it's most effective use (aka when I'll subscribe) happens to be when I'm assisting in an SEO recovery.

When reviewing a backlink profile I will useMajestic SEO in addition to the Google Web Master Tools "latest links" export feature to ensure I've got a complete scope of my clients inbound link profiles. It's amazing to see what Majestic will have picked up that Google Web Master Tools hasn't yet. Without a doubt if you're reviewing a website's inbound link profile Majestic is a Must.

  • Extensive database of links. Coupled with GWMT link export will provide a near perfect link audit.
  • Provide a phenomenal historical link index, when picking up new SEO clients the historical data will prove to be vital in assessing previous optimization engagements.
  • Link your GWMT account to Majestic to receive free reports for all your verified GWMT websites.
  • PDF Reporting! I need not say more.
  • Needs much better support. Contact forms are simply not enough.
I would highly recommend Majestic SEO to any agency, or consultant. It is a vital tool in any digital marketers toolbelt. Remember, if you have your GWMT account linked to Majestic any websites verified in your GWMT receive free reports!
Read Jesse Fogarty - Toronto Digital Marketing Specialist's full review
Mackinley Levine profile photo
April 22, 2014

User Review: "Majestic SEO - Find all the links"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Majestic SEO to determine our own site's back link profile from month to month. While I have trained other members of the content team on this this software, I am the software's primary user.

Majestic helps us determine the quality of our own back links and the quality of competitors' back links so that we can refine our link building strategy to improve our search engine rankings. It also helps us track down and deal with spammy links that are created unnaturally without our approval.
  • Majestic has a "fresh" and "historic" index, which is fantastic because it allows us to compare our historical back link profile to our extant back links. This provides us with some decent metrics for getting a rough idea of how our back link profile has improved over time.
  • Majestic's crawl is one of the most comprehensive I have ever seen. MOZ and SEMRush (both services we pay for) have a crawler that finds back links, but it turns up only a fraction of what Majestic does in a given month.
  • Majestic's reports provide really handy flags for discovered links (mention, alt text, rel="follow"/"nofollow", etc.) that allow me to make judgment calls about each link without having to look at the site code. The reports the software spits out don't need to be cleaned up much in Excel, either--they're set up pretty logically already. This allows me to sort and filter by the presence or absence of these flags so I don't have to look at things on such a granular level.
  • Majestic is extremely generous with running reports on our own domain. All you need to do is add a .txt file to your root directory, allow Majestic to discover it, and then back link reports on your own domain become free. Reports on competitors' domains cost credits.
  • Majestic is powerful, but not particularly intuitive out of the box. Fortunately, they provide free training over the phone (first come, first serve) and their customer service is wonderful.
  • Majestic lacks features often present in other SEO suites like MOZ and SEMRush (think keyword research tools), but their back link crawl is so comprehensive that the software is well worth the money.
  • It's a little bit on the pricey side.
Are you interested in discovering virtually EVERY back link your site has? This is the software you want to buy. If somebody is targeting you with a black hat campaign you want to combat, or if you're dying to figure out what a competitor is doing back link-wise (and want to divine their strategy on an extremely granular level), Majestic is the tool you want.
Read Mackinley Levine's full review
Lindsay Bell profile photo
April 15, 2014

Majestic SEO: "Very accurate backlink analysis tool"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use this product to analyze backlinks
  • Displays historical backlink data
  • Displays current backlink data
  • Displays competitor data
  • Freezes on export
if you are not technologically savvy you may have difficulty understanding. It requires at least basic knowledge of seo reporting.
Read Lindsay Bell's full review
No photo available
May 17, 2016

Majestic SEO Review: "Must have SEO tool for Link Analysis and Link building"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
MajesticSEO is been extensively used when my team and I are performing link analysis on our brand and sometimes on our competitor sites. The tool definitely comes in handy to understand where my brand stands when it comes to link building and how much effort needs to be added to our roadmap for link earning initiatives.
  • Analyzing historic and recent links to a website
  • Researching on any link related Google penality
  • Monitoring link earning project performance
  • Link Audit
  • Link reporting
  • Project management for Link building initiaves
  • Identify links from penalized websites
  • Monitor to say how close are you to getting penalized by Google
  • General characteristics of spammy links from all the data that Majestic SEO has
Its a must need tool for SEO projects and monitoring progress.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 28, 2016

Majestic SEO Review: "Solid link analysis and presentation ready visuals"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Majestic SEO was brought on as another tool to analyze backlinks for current customers and prospects. It was used in addition to the information given in Google Search Console (GSE) and Moz's Open Site Explorer (OSE) to get the most accurate view of backlinks, as well as little more history on backlinks as well, which GSC and OSE can lack on. With past Penguin updates and an upcoming one, this is a good tool to help identify poor quality links.
  • It takes a more visual approach than other backlink tools which can be used for presentations or just simply analyzing the data in a new way. The anchor text word cloud is a favorite.
  • It dives into backlink history which is so useful when analyzing prospects. It's something not a lot of tools offer.
  • The pricing for the amount of info you get is reasonable.
  • It offers a lot of information but there's usually some training or reading that has to happen to understand what all of their terminology means and refers to.
  • While it does links well, it only offers that. In comparison, other tools don't offer as much detail, but enough to get by. And they have more functionality and analytics features.
  • Since it's only a link tool, it can be a hard sell on budget when you already have a tool like Moz's Open Site Explorer. OSE doesn't do as much but it can still do a lot.
If you are a company with a heavy focus on link building, cleaning up links for people or need to clean up your own links, Majestic SEO is a good tool to have in addition to other tools like Google Search Console and Open Site Explorer. For analysis and reports, Majestic SEO is one of the few that gets incredibly visual which is a strength over other similar tools.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Keyword analysis (12)
7.2
Backlink management (15)
9.5
SERP ranking tracking (7)
8.3
Page grader (10)
8.4
Competitive analysis (14)
8.9
Site audit / diagnostics (11)
7.8
Site recommendations (11)
6.8
Task management (4)
6.0
Local SEO (8)
8.2
Social SEO (6)
7.5
Mobile SEO (8)
7.9
Global SEO (12)
9.4
Multi-domain support (13)
9.4
Integration with web analytics tools (10)
8.6

About Majestic SEO

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No