APS Payroll

APS Payroll

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 7.5 out of 100
APS Payroll

Overview

Recent Reviews

APS Review

9 out of 10
April 30, 2019
We mainly use the Payroll, Time and Attendance, and basic employee enrollment features. It is used across our campus both by professional …
Continue reading

New to APS

9 out of 10
August 22, 2016
APS OnLine is being used across the whole organization. All of our employees have embraced the new system increasing the number of direct …
Continue reading

Popular Features

View all 46 features

View and generate pay and benefit information (32)

9.3
93%

Pay calculation (31)

9.0
90%

Direct deposit files (31)

8.7
87%

Report builder (32)

7.7
77%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of APS Payroll, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is APS Payroll?

APS is a national workforce management and cloud-based HR solution provider. The platform includes core HR, payroll, time and attendance (including manager and employee self-service), compliance tools, and onboarding.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee required
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.apspayroll.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

Alternatives Pricing

What is Oracle PeopleSoft HCM?

Oracle's PeopleSoft HCM is a complete, customizable suite including Global Core Human Capital Management, Workforce Management, Workforce Service Delivery, and Talent Management. PeopleSoft can be integrated to run on the Oracle Cloud.

N/A
Unavailable

What is ADP Workforce Now?

ADP Workforce Now is a cloud-based HR platform for mid-sized businesses. It features customizable modules of various HR services that businesses can tailor to their specific needs, as well as regulatory monitoring and alerts to help businesses remain compliant.

Features Scorecard

Human Resource Management

7.2
72%

Payroll Management

8.6
86%

Leave and Attendance Management

7.5
75%

Employee Self Service

7.7
77%

Asset Management

5.7
57%

HR Reporting

7.1
71%

Onboarding

9.3
93%

Performance and Goals

7.5
75%

Performance Management

6.9
69%

Succession Planning

5.0
50%

Recruiting / ATS

7.9
79%

Product Details

What is APS Payroll?

The vendor says that their mission is to make payroll and HR easier. They say that they provide their clients and partners with intuitive technology delivered with personalized service and support. Their unified solution is designed to simplify workforce management tasks and process payroll in hours, not days. Automate HR workflows to be more strategic. Elevate the employee lifecycle with a single-system platform. APS calls themselves your workforce partner.

APS Payroll Features

Human Resource Management Features

  • Supported: Employee demographic data
  • Supported: Employment history
  • Supported: Job profiles and administration
  • Supported: Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc.
  • Supported: Benefits information
  • Supported: Organizational charting
  • Supported: Organization and location management
  • Supported: Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.)

Payroll Management Features

  • Supported: Pay calculation
  • Supported: Support for external payroll vendors
  • Supported: Off-cycle/On-Demand payment
  • Supported: Payroll history for each employee
  • Supported: Benefit plan administration
  • Supported: Direct deposit files
  • Supported: Payroll tracking and auditing
  • Supported: Salary revision and increment management
  • Supported: Reimbursement management
  • Supported: Statutory form management

Leave and Attendance Management Features

  • Supported: Approval workflow
  • Supported: Email notifications
  • Supported: Balance details
  • Supported: Travel absence management
  • Supported: Annual carry-forward and encashment

Employee Self Service Features

  • Supported: Employee login
  • Supported: View and generate pay and benefit information
  • Supported: Update personal information
  • Supported: Request time off
  • Supported: View job history
  • Supported: View company policy documentation
  • Supported: View company news and information
  • Supported: Employee recognition

Asset Management Features

  • Supported: Tracking of all physical assets
  • Supported: Asset issue and transfer management
  • Supported: Asset return
  • Supported: Warranty and after-sales status maintenance contract tracking

HR Reporting Features

  • Supported: Report builder
  • Supported: Pre-built reports
  • Supported: Ability to combine HR data with external data

Integration with other HR capabilities Features

  • Supported: Additional HR capabilities (talent management, LMS, etc.) supplied by same vendor

Performance Management Features

  • Supported: Performance plans
  • Supported: Performance improvement plans
  • Supported: Review status tracking
  • Supported: Review reminders
  • Supported: Multiple review frequency

Onboarding Features

  • Supported: New hire portal
  • Supported: Manager tracking tools

Performance and Goals Features

  • Supported: Individual goal setting
  • Supported: Line-of sight-visibility
  • Supported: Performance tracking

Recruiting / ATS Features

  • Supported: Job Requisition Management
  • Supported: Company Website Posting
  • Supported: Publish to Social Media
  • Supported: Job Search Site Posting
  • Supported: Duplicate Candidate Prevention
  • Supported: Applicant Tracking
  • Supported: Notifications and Alerts

Additional Features

  • Supported: Scheduling
  • Supported: Benefits Administration
  • Supported: Carrier Connections
  • Supported: Performance Reviews
  • Supported: ACA Compliance and Reporting
  • Supported: Talent Management

APS Payroll Screenshots

Scheduling DashboardManager Self-Service DashboardAPS Hire - Applicant Tracking, Recruiting, OnboardingBenefits Administration DashboardHR DashboardPayroll DashboardEmployee Dashboard

APS Payroll Integrations

  • Time & Attendance Systems
  • Point-of-Sale Systems
  • Accounting and Reporting Software
  • Retirement Plans
  • Sage Intacct General Ledger

APS Payroll Competitors

APS Payroll Customer Size Distribution

Consumers0%
Small Businesses (1-50 employees)25%
Mid-Size Companies (51-500 employees)50%
Enterprises (more than 500 employees)25%

APS Payroll Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesUSA
Supported LanguagesEnglish

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is APS Payroll?

APS is a national workforce management and cloud-based HR solution provider. The platform includes core HR, payroll, time and attendance (including manager and employee self-service), compliance tools, and onboarding.

What are APS Payroll's top competitors?

Paycom, Paycor, and Namely are common alternatives for APS Payroll.

What is APS Payroll's best feature?

Reviewers rate Manager tracking tools highest, with a score of 9.5.

Who uses APS Payroll?

The most common users of APS Payroll are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees) and the Restaurants industry.

Reviews

(1-25 of 35)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Mary Donovan Pope | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have APS Online for HRIS/Payroll as well as APS Hire for recruiting and onboarding. And, we have also elected to use CypherWorx as our Learning Management System as an 'add-on' to APS, but it works directly with the APS database to enroll all new hires into APS for learning-based training information to be released to them upon hire.
  • The integrated database for all aspects of the system helps to eliminate having to enter and exit multiple sites and keeps administrative efforts more streamlined.
  • The dedicated support help at both APS Online and also APS Hire is fantastic!
  • I appreciate having a dedicated project manager with all new locations added because that allows me to be sure that the creation and implementation of a new payroll [are] done consistently and also gave me a contact with questions/concerns outside of simply reaching out to the dedicated helpdesk support group with questions that are more specifically related to organizational growth.
  • My sales representative is always 'checking in' with me and that lets me know that our business is important to APS!
  • I have had some issues with emails not populating on the user end for applicants which creates some 'glitches' in smooth applicant hire to onboarding to export.
  • It did not seem that in being introduced to the APS Hire product that enough was stated in clear enough terms to understand that unless my organization paid job boards outside of APS that our postings would not have [the] opportunity to 'headline' and our job openings were not always easily found by our prospective employees.
  • We've worked with part of the customer service and engineering group to help the system to support employees working at multiple locations (under separate EIN) than what the system was initially built to support. However, there are still some parts of the employee record that do not naturally transfer when a new record is built for the employee in a new payroll that could use some additional 'tweaking'.
For an organization like mine that is not terribly vertical in its management infrastructure, the APS system is just right because it is not as complex as an Ultimate Software/Kronos/PeopleSoft product. So, there isn't a huge learning curve in bringing non-HR managers and end-users up to speed on the best practice use of the system. However, there may be organizations with much thicker layers and internal specialization that may find this product to lack some of the sophistication required to really address some of the 'real time' concerns of a large and complex organization.
November 02, 2021

APS Rocks

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use APS Payroll for payroll and HR management, benefits, recruiting and onboarding.
  • Client Service
  • Ease of use-software
  • Well thought-out software design
  • Simple, but powerful
  • Some custom reporting is difficult
  • When you hire a candidate some of the documents like the resume and offer letter do not move into the employee record.
The software is easier to use than Paylocity, ADP, or Paychex. The payroll is very quick to do. Onboarding is super simple as well.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize APS Payroll & APS Hire. It is our HRIS, ATS, Payroll & eSelfServe system. My HR team utilizes the payroll system to process payroll and benefits on a weekly basis. My recruiting team utilizes the APS Hire system on a daily basis. All of our employees utilize eSelfServe to manage their time clocks, submit time-off requests and enroll in benefits. Overall APS Payroll I would rate as a 7 out of 10 for a payroll system. It is fairly user friendly and does most payroll tasks. The system is limited on what it can do. You can't pro rate pay automatically and its reporting is somewhat limited. Setting up a benefits file feed can be tough for the system, but their team is very helpful.

APS Hire I would rate as a 5 out of 10. It is a very glitchy system and has very limited options. eSelfServe is a good system that I would rate 9 out of 10. It has all of the necessary options, but it is also very easy to navigate. Overall I feel that APS is good system for a small to medium size company, but can be outgrown due to the lack of depth and efficiency it needs for a larger company. The cost is affordable which is also a factor in why you may choose it versus other options that are better quality.
  • Navigation of the program is simple and easy.
  • Affordability
  • eSelfServe is easy for employees to operate and for managers to track employees time.
  • Modern aesthetic and look.
  • Onboarding is fully customizable.
  • More robust HR reporting options and better customized report building.
  • Be able to have multiple recruiting pipelines that are tracked.
  • Less glitches in APS Hire. Especially with sending onboarding emails and applicants not being able to open them.
  • Better file feed communications and auto-updating to save time and add efficiency to processes.
I think APS is best suited for small to medium size companies. I believe larger companies who need a more robust program that has more processes needing managing through their HRIS/ATS will be better off going with a different program.
May 13, 2020

My APS Review

Jennifer Beck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS was used in the Human Resources and Payroll departments of my company.
  • New hire implementation.
  • News distribution and postings.
  • Employee reporting.
  • Recording training, this is tedious as you have to put it in individually and cannot put in a class of 150 all at once.
  • Onboarding, there is no onboarding program in APS.
APS is well suited for entering in new-hire information and creating reports with your employee information, such as birthdays/anniversaries, but difficult to do attendance tracking or perfect attendance programs. The worst thing I think would be training, entering in training classes was so tedious because each person has to be put in individually.
I loved APS support before they were bought out by Kronos, after Kronos took over it was TERRIBLE!
January 14, 2020

My APS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS is being used as our payroll/benefits/HR system. We use it to manage employees time daily with clocking in and out, benefits, accruals, etc. We used it during open enrollment. APS allows a single point for HR to get a glimpse of everything. It is what is used most with the HR department.
  • APS takes care of payroll taxes when I process payroll
  • APS allows one place to see everything going on with an employee
  • I have used some other systems that had more functionality, so it would be nice if a few more things were available, more frequent upgrades
  • The system times out too often and I have to enter my login information each time
APS is best (to me) for the one stop look at HR information. I'm able to see time and attendance. I am able to complete the benefits process during open enrollment. I am able to see the accruals, rates, deductions etc, all in one place.
I would like to see APS remember my login information and not stay logged in longer on a daily basis.
I had to learn APS on my own, and the support team held my hand. They are still there when I have an occasional question. Anytime I need support, I can call my rep or send an email and help is on the way, without failure. The support team is awesome
April 30, 2019

APS Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly use the Payroll, Time and Attendance, and basic employee enrollment features. It is used across our campus both by professional staff/faculty and students. It allows us to track employees and students, their time, payroll, personal info and vacation, and sick accruals.
  • Costumer service is fantastic
  • The system has been pretty customizable for what we need.
  • Easy to use
  • The system seems to throw glitches sometimes, not allowing things to save properly.
APS has worked great for our institution. It has allowed up to go completely digital with our time tracking and payroll processes.
August 22, 2016

New to APS

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS OnLine is being used across the whole organization. All of our employees have embraced the new system increasing the number of direct deposits and paperless vouchers. Primarily, it has increased the online time management in place of time cards for our outlying areas along with time off requests eliminating approximately 15 hours of manual data entry.
  • APS OnLine is a great end user product and very easy for our employees. They have quick access to all their information, their accrual balances, hours worked, etc. They are able to enter their time off requests in the system. Although our prior system had these capabilities, employees had difficulty accessing system. If they couldn't get in, they couldn't use it. More employees logged on to APS in the first two weeks of use than in the prior three years with former system.
  • Integration - Data is real-time. When you enter information in one area of the software, it is immediately present in the rest of the system. No waiting for overnight interface. Change log provides backup for any changes that have been made as well as safeguards in the approval process.
  • Administrative ease - The system is very straight forward, logical, and easy to operate from the administrative end. [There is a] designated representative to address questions as they arise. No sitting on hold.
  • Reporting - We have six different business units and the reporting is separate for all three. Most reporting I do requires information from all business units so am running six reports and then copying and pasting to get the report I need.
  • Multi-state taxes - We have a number of employees who live in New York and work in New Jersey. APS OnLine is designed to accommodate one state withholding so ability to have "worked in" state and "lived in" state taxes withheld went away. This was a shortfall.
  • The Carrier connection setup took much longer than expected. After a year, we are still having some issues with some items transferring over to the GL.
  • The CA overtime calculation does not calculate after 8 hours per day, only on the 40 per week so we override each week.
  • Reporting - when running Benefit reports, it recognizes employees who formerly carried the plan but may have dropped it. To get around this, we have to delete off the employee's record so the history is not readily available.
Our goal was to simplify our payroll process and make it more user friendly. Very happy with final outcome.
  • Online training
  • Self-taught
There is one primary account representative that we contact on a regular basis. If she is unavailable, there are others on her team. It does seem that our implementation was more complex than others that have been installed, so fixes are not as easily remedied.
John Bellini III | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize APS for all our HR and Payroll Management across the whole organization. They process all our paychecks, 100% of our employees use direct deposit and love the app that allows them to view their own information. We also utilize the secure doc storage to keep all records backed up in the cloud.
  • Ease of use of software
  • Intuitive step by step process for processing payroll
  • Reporting is easily customized
  • Nothing to complain about!
APS does a fantastic job of helping us with payroll processing and HR management. The software is easy to use. The multiple user access makes the various management approvals easy and the reporting helps out in multiple areas. We also backup all our HR records to the cloud with their secure docs module.
Sandy Wright | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use APS to process payroll for our whole organization.
  • Their customer service is fabulous. They are always very friendly and quick to answer questions.
  • Their website is easy to navigate. There are also customizable screens for faster navigation to items used more often.
  • Very easy to edit and add information about employees.
  • I would like to see a totals column on the page where I enter hours. For example "john" worked 36 regular hours and took 4 vacation hours. I would like a column showing 40 hours.
I ALWAYS get quick responses to my questions. And when I make mistakes, they are quick to fix them for me or show me how to do so.
Lynn Hooper, PHR | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS is our payroll service and we also use the HR and Benefit modules. All of our employees us the eSelfServe module to see their pay stubs, W2s, and to enroll in benefits. Our HR department uses the software to run payroll, for benefit administration, and to store other relevant employee information.
  • Customer Service! I have worked with them through three implementations one for use and two for associated companies. Even though we are not a large company I always felt like there number one priority.
  • Intuitive Software. I find the software easy to navigate and understand. You can tell the designers were experienced with payroll.
  • The updates are great! They keep getting better over time.
  • Their tax department is the weakest department. They are quick to respond but are not always right.
  • The benefit administration still needs works. It will not accommodate all of our benefits right now or special enrollments.
  • Some of the reporting can be inaccurate.
Robert W. Hartmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS OnLine is used by the entire University Health System including 2 hospitals and the system-level staff. APS OnLine is a timekeeping and payroll solution for small and mid-sized businesses that presents an easy-to-understand platform and a support staff available to address any technical issues quickly and to the satisfaction of the end-user.
  • Easy Set-Up process for new employees and terminating employees
  • Powerful reporting options to quickly create and retain reports that can be modified by time periods, departments, positions
  • Allows picture imports to be able to put a face with a name
  • Updates regularly correcting minor bugs along the way.
  • Friendly support staff
  • System can get bogged down when a lot of users are reviewing/correcting payroll hours, such as "Critical Monday", the day managers go in and review/approve times from the previous 2 week period.
  • I try to use on my Iphone 6 and IPad from home and am unable to run reports from those devices. I can see data in it's raw form but when you try to drill down, the device will not process the commands.
I would think that a large company might struggle with the system bog, although it very well could be our servers not pushing the data quick enough. For small and medium-sized business, it is a nearly perfect, easy to learn/use timekeeping and payroll solution. Highly recommend a demo to see for yourself.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS OnLine was purchased to replace the payroll module that was provided by our accounting software package. It is used for processing payroll in all departments for all employees. The decision to change to APS OnLine was due to the its ability to provide direct deposit for our employees; provide assistance with the ACA Compliance and assist with HR related functions, as well as being a complete source for all record keeping.
  • I believe that the most important thing that APS OnLine does is provided by the people who help with the initial setups, training with explanations of how everything works and the continuing support that their staff provides. They are very competent in their respective areas and are a pleasure to work with.
  • The actual payroll processing is excellent, especially with the ability of having online recording of employee clock-ins/outs and the ability to review employee timecards on a daily basis.
  • The Human Resources Console is also a big win for us as we are not a large corporation and do not have an actual Human Resources department. Our accounting department employees must handle both the accounting function and the administration of the Human Resources benefits. Having the HR Console makes it much easier to keep track of the benefits and who is receiving them.
  • I really don't have any complaints about APS OnLine. I had spent a lot of time reviewing several payroll services long before I decided on using APS OnLine. I am very satisfied that my decision was the right one for our organization.
I have had a lot of experience with processing payroll over the last 43 years, and after using APS OnLine for the past three months, I believe that this system is suitable for most payroll situations and solutions. I was very surprised and impressed with the initial presentation and all the "little things" that they offer as a normal part of the service. It is apparent that a lot of time and thought went into the creation of this software.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use APS OnLIne for payroll for both of our locations. They worked with my current POS provider and made things easy. They were able to set their software to interpret the reports that export from our POS software. It is a huge time saver and saves on data entry errors.
  • Software Integration
  • One on one support (Live Agent)
  • Quick Response Time from support
  • Nothing yet
Do you import punches?
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the payroll function and the HR function. We are using it across the entire organization and APS OnLine has allowed us to own our data better. It has been a very useful tool for our operations, payroll, and administrative staff.
  • The report function has become a critical tool in our daily life. APS Online has really created a user friendly system to run reports and create reports.
  • Customer Service -- every connection with APS Online has been great! We use the chat feature, submitted tasks, and contacted our manager. They are quick at resolving our issues and are so warm.
  • New Hire wizard -- makes hiring a breeze!
  • I wish the employee search bar was always open at top so I didn't have to go into the employee consul to search for an employee.
  • As much as I love the report manager, I wish the report builder would allow me to have access to ALL of my information to write a report. As it stands with the 5 main topics, I may have to run two reports to get the information that I need.
  • ACA reporting is helpful but I wish the FTE report would downloadable as a CSV or Excel file.
I would make sure to be very clear about what past history information you needed imported.
I have been thrilled with the Customer Service. I am giving the attention that gives me the confidence that I have a team behind me that wants me to succeed. I love the boutique feeling with APS. I feel like I've joined an exclusive club. We as an organization haven't looked back!
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
We know that they are listening to our ideas and concerns, they respond quickly and give us helpful solutions.
No
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use APS Online through out the whole business. We have employees who want their payroll deposited in their accounts. Some split the deposit to their savings and checking and others deposit it to only their checking. We also have employees who want the physical check. APS Online makes this a simple operation. We just enter the information once and the requested action is repeated each and every time we print payroll. If for some reason (holidays) we need to change the way the payroll is processed, it too is an easy adjustment; just with a few key strokes we can have all the payroll printed here in our office.
  • We do not have to deal with awaiting the arrival of paychecks through FedEx or UPS, which includes an extra expense. We print right here in our office, when we are ready.
  • Should we need to print an employee's check early, that is easily done as a miscellaneous pay check. And it is recorded as such for that employee.
  • We do not have to worry about payroll taxes as APS Online takes care of it and they send us a report.
  • I can't find a weakness. The customer support is there - even with simple things as well as any difficulty we may have in house. APS Online works with us!
APS Online does it all. There is no deficiency in the product or the customer service. If my contact person does not have the answer, she will find it out and call me. We can communicate with APS Online through e-mail or a phone call. They are always there and ready to help solve our problem.
Chanell Clayton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS is currently being used by the HR department for payroll, benefits and time management.
  • The employees at APS have always responded in a timely manner when I have questions or issues to address.
  • When I am experiencing difficulty with the system and unable to resolve on my own my account a representative will take care of it on her end and follow up to make sure the problem doesn't continue to occur.
  • A lot of items are manually entered especially in the time and attendance system. If the payroll system could automatically pull from time and attendance that would be great.
  • It would help if the Tab or Enter key would take you to the next entry where you could begin typing without having to backspace the keys to the beginning of the box.
Charles Olivier | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
APS OnLine is a great asset to our company as it handles our payroll needs. Without paying our employees correctly, accurately, and timely, we understand that we would struggle to keep our employees motivated. Your system merges well with our time sheet system to provide a seamless payroll structure for our company.
  • When we have a question or an issue that arises, our account manager with APS is a phone call away. They are alway helpful and friendly and help find an answer and a quick solution to our issue.
  • In my experience, I haven't seen any issues that can be improved on.
Because of the helpful staff that we have encountered at APS, I would definitely think that this is a great company to choose to work with to accomplish your payroll needs.
Tom Daly | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use APS for payroll and time tracking across the company. We are adding additional features like Event Tracking, Asset Tracking, Performance Reviews, ACA, Benefits Administration, etc., as we have the time internally. It provides us with a system (with multiple levels of manager and employee access) to capture, store and report on a tremendous amount of employment data.
  • Still has a dedicated personal support staff with broad product knowledge.
  • They do not release a feature until it has been fully vetted - much fewer bolt-on solutions.
  • Has embraced third parties (brokers, CPAs) as partners in using the platform.
  • Benefits Administration has pockets of plans that it cannot accommodate (age banded medical, benefit banks, etc.)
The UI could use an update. Companies that are fixated on the "look" of the platform may be drawn to other systems. Should do an annual users conference with industry-specific breakout sessions.
Ronald D. Tompkins | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We track time and attendance for 150 employees, use the HR module for quarterly appraisals, and store confidential documents for each staff member and corporate documents that must be esigned by each staff member. We create the ACA reports as well as W2 with APS. We have 150 staff members and we pay twice a month. Managers actually add their new staff, place them in the correct department, and then the HR manager doubles checks the file before employment begins. Managers approve the submitted time and attendance prior to the pay date, the HR manager gets reports on overtime, sick time, vacation and holiday time. Limiters are placed on the system so that any paycheck outside our boundaries is red flagged for the HR manager inspection.
  • It's fast and intuitive. Our previous contractors were ADP and Paychex and neither were intuitive. Our payroll runs have less errors now than with previous vendors. Payroll prep time is down from 5 hours with ADP to 2 hours with APS for the HR Manager.
  • The limiters are great. I'm always afraid of that error that no one caught. Let's assume that you add a $200 limiter to overtime. Any time that a staff member is about to receive more than $200 in overtime for that pay period, a red flag goes up for the HR manager to double check.
  • We have 3 programs in public schools that block certain ports. APS has a 2nd feature using GPS so that staff can only check in for their shift while they are in the designated GPS range. Great for someone who has to report to a remote location. Just add the GPS coordinates and they can't check until they get to the project.
  • Stratus Time lets you quickly scroll through the entire staff list. The APS system has an extra step. A small issue.
  • Stratus Time lets you create a template for a salaried staff and simply add days with that template. APS requires a hand created entry for each checkin
They are more suited to growing, nimble companies. They are soon adding employee approval to time cards and checkin by facial recognition. Additions and changes to improve functionality might not work for a very large company like GE.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using APS for two years and am very pleased. This software handles our HR and payroll needs. The switchover from our previous payroll system went off seamlessly. Training staff on the use of APS has been easy. And if we have an issue they have been quick to answer questions. I recommend them highly.
  • HR Function
  • Payroll setup
  • Tax reporting
  • Maybe a better discount for us non-profits
It handles our job costing for construction sites very well.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use APS bank wide, from viewing pay stubs to requesting time off. Within the next few months, we will be set up for the online evaluation process through APS. The report writing feature is used by HR, Financial Accounting, for auditing needs and cost center accounting.
  • Main thing: The thing that I find so helpful are the people who work at APS. I like the friendliness of the local (Shreveport, LA) staff and the quick turnaround to problem solving. They communicate!
  • The payroll program is easy to use, easy to correct with a user friendly viewing format.
  • Report writing program is very user friendly to technically challenged people like me.
  • I like the ongoing updates that APS is doing.
  • I have been disappointed in the communication between the programming department and its clients. I'm very impressed with the representatives such as Georgia, April and team, but not pleased with the turnaround time on solving issues. There was very little communication and only when I started the communication was there a reply.
APS is well suited for everyday payroll processing, time scheduling and report writing. I can't say enough good things about the representatives being local.
October 02, 2015

Give it a try

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use APS for Payroll, Timekeeping, and Document Access for Employees company wide. It helps us to keep all store forms current without having to email all locations every time an update is made. Employees can also access there pay stubs and w2's. It helps me to run reports for easy access when filing unemployment request or if I need at a glance information is needed.
  • Report Generator - Allows you to custom build reports
  • Documents Management - Allows you to link company wide documents to eselfserve for employee access. This helps to make sure that your employees are always using the most current forms available vs emailing and saving forms to the computer.
  • I do not have any suggestions at this time.
No
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Today was our first payday with APS Online. We are using it for payroll, timekeeping and HR throughout the entire organization. The use of the timekeeping module has eliminated the need for manual time sheets and streamlined the whole process for payroll. The HR module will reduce the amount of redundancy and use of various spreadsheets currently used to gather and store information.
  • The customer service with APS has been exceptional.
  • The transition from another payroll provider to APS Online was seamless.
  • The actual processing of the payroll was easy.
  • A suggestion would be within the payroll module - it does not automatically calculate the hourly rate for a salaried employee. The calculation must be done manually and entered into the system.
We are brand new to APS Online but so far I haven't found any scenarios that we haven't been able to figure out with our account manager.
I have a dedicated account account representative and she has been very responsive and supportive.
September 25, 2015

APS Online

Tina Archer | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In HR I use APS OnLine to manage employee information, process payroll, and monitor time and attendance for all employees. I also use the HR module to manage benefits.
  • Customer Support from account manager
  • Ability to create reports for items that are needed from management .
  • Ease of use for employees to monitor time and attendance and view pay vouchers.
  • No areas, as I have learned the software and needed assistance my account manager has always been there to assist me.
The payroll system is easy to use and if needed I am able to get assistance from the account manager.