Skip to main content
TrustRadius
Paylocity

Paylocity

Overview

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Empowers our Team

8 out of 10
February 22, 2024
Incentivized
tracking timecards, personnel information, company announcements, payroll, and working on more!

It helps bring multiple business/personnel …
Continue reading

Game Changer

9 out of 10
February 21, 2024
Incentivized
We use Paylocity as our HRIS platform. The system has an easy integration process with other platforms such as in our situation when it …
Continue reading

Would recommend

10 out of 10
February 21, 2024
Incentivized
We are a HR department of 2 servicing over 1300 employees. Paylocity has streamlined our work flows and reduced our paper intake …
Continue reading

10/10 for Paylocity

10 out of 10
February 21, 2024
Incentivized
We have a company set in Paylocity for four companies. We use it as an overall HRIS system, for payroll, for annual performance reviews, …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 48 features
  • Direct deposit files (733)
    9.0
    90%
  • Pay calculation (733)
    8.6
    86%
  • Update personal information (757)
    8.6
    86%
  • View and generate pay and benefit information (746)
    8.5
    85%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Paylocity

$2.00

Cloud
Per Employee Per Month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.paylocity.com/our…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

Human Resource Management

Organizing, tracking and providing instant access to critical employee data, job profiles, transfers, promotions, and benefits information.

7.8
Avg 7.8

Payroll Management

Provides for pay calculation and benefit plan administration, in addition to managing direct deposit, salary revisions and payroll tracking.

8.1
Avg 8.0

Leave and Attendance Management

Streamlines communication between HR and employees and facilitates efficient management of employee leave including requisitions, approvals, balance calculation, and annual carry-forward.

7.6
Avg 8.0

Employee Self Service

Employee portal allowing employees to view and update their personal information.

8.4
Avg 8.1

Asset Management

Maintaining a record of assets such as laptops, pagers, cell phones, etc. issued to employees. Record typically includes asset type, number, serial number and date of issuance.

7.5
Avg 7.7

HR Reporting

Pre-built and custom reports, and integration with external data.

7
Avg 7.5

Onboarding

Employee onboarding is the process of orienting new hires to the social and performance aspects of their jobs so that they are able to function in their new roles as quickly as possible.

8.2
Avg 7.9

Performance and Goals

Goal alignment is the practice of ensuring that all employees have clearly defined goals in support of the overall corporate strategy.

7.4
Avg 8.1

Performance Management

Performance management is the process of ensuring employees meet pre-determined objectives and goals through regular check-ins and appraisals.

7.4
Avg 7.9

Succession Planning

Succession planning is the identification and development of internal employees with the potential to fill key business leadership positions in the company.

7.2
Avg 7.9

Recruiting / ATS

Recruiting or Applicant Tracking Software is software used to manage the recruitment process electronically by handling job postings, applicant status, resume management, etc.

7.7
Avg 7.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Paylocity?

Paylocity is a software platform designed to give HR pros a way to manage daily tasks in payroll, benefits, talent, and workforce management. The vendor states their technology is backed by a culture that cares about client success, and that they take the time to get to know customers and understand their needs. Paylocity works with users to identify the solutions that will benefit a business today, while paving the way to a better tomorrow.

Paylocity Videos

Paylocity - Care at the Core
Ritch Price Operational Controller, New England Authentic Eats 2,200 Employees

Paylocity Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone

Frequently Asked Questions

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data management. Paylocity offers highly customizable payroll functionality, as well as HR, benefits administration, and time and talent management programs.

Paycom, Paycor, and Paychex Flex are common alternatives for Paylocity.

Reviewers rate Direct deposit files highest, with a score of 9.

The most common users of Paylocity are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(1421)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 801)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Hans Albers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization is a small to medium sized business. We currently perform payroll only, though we continue to work towards implementing Time and Attendance. We have been well trained by the Paylocity staff. We hope to utilize HR services going forward as our HR role is limited onsite.
  • Training and Implementation from the start of our relationship
  • Reporting, we value Paylocity's wealth of reporting options
  • ease of use, performing the payroll function has been seamless as always
  • Security - I have not had an issue in the 20 plus years I have utilized Paylocity
  • Service for requests - the follow up is not existenet, I have to prompt though responses do arrive
  • PTO calculations - this should be more simple with Illinois law in place now, we have a request to provide running totals of time earned and used still in process
I feel Paylocity is well suited for Mid Sized organizations, where HR is present within the organization. The platform needs a qualified administrator on the client side. For those organizations, certain other providers are simply too large and customer service falls off. Small organizations, absent an HR presence would be more difficult as that knowledge base is missing.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
My organization uses Paylocity extensively within the HR team to address various business challenges. We use it primarily for recruiting, onboarding, and managing the employee lifecycle. With Paylocity's features for job posting, applicant tracking, and digital onboarding, we are able to streamline our hiring process, reducing time-to-fill positions and improve the candidate experience.
  • Recruitment module - it's basic but sometimes less is more!
  • Onboarding - the same as recruitment, it's nothing fancy but it allows for a simple yet meaningful experience.
  • Fairly open API (Application Programming Interface)
  • Customer support - the account management structure does not seem to be effective, they are stretched thin between way too many clients. If you call support or use the chat feature, the answers you receive almost always differ.
  • The UI is still dated
  • Some functionalities need enhanced - like reporting, and manager self service
For medium to small-sized businesses that have maybe one or two locations, Paylocity is probably your best bet. Its interface is straightforward functionalities make it ideal for organizations with limited resources and personnel. Small HR teams can pretty easily navigate the system to handle essential tasks like payroll and time tracking. Additionally, Paylocity's affordability makes it a cost-effective choice for businesses operating on tighter budgets.

However, larger, more corporate organizations with multi-state operations could find Paylocity's features and options limited. Complex HR requirements, such as managing compliance across multiple states, may pose challenges within the platform.
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize Paylocity extensively for our business operations. Its payroll function ensures timely and accurate payments, while the timekeeping feature aids in tracking employee hours efficiently. Additionally, the recruiting tool simplifies our hiring process, and the staff engagement feature fosters a positive work environment, enhancing overall productivity.
  • Continual Product Updates
  • Integration offerings
  • Customer Support
  • Responsiveness to system issues
In theory, the platform will provide an abundance of integrations and efficiencies to organizations that use it. That being said, some of the features don't always work for everyone and customization is sometimes limited so it feels like you have to force a square peg into a round hole or just abandon using that feature overall.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for human capital management, time punch management including time clocks at all sites, PTO processing and tracking, benefits management and enrollment, learning management, garnishment services, and payroll processing. While Paylocity does have friendly and knowledgeable customer support, we are constantly finding issues and bugs within the system. There is also difficulty in getting assistance from their expert teams (tax team, garnishment team) as the initial inquiry filters through the general customer support team and there are no direct points of contact for the higher-level teams. Overall, it is a good system but they need a better process for working out issues that arise.
  • Our Account Manager provides excellent service
  • We are always able to get through to a rep when calling for assistance
  • The error audits provide great insights when processing payroll
  • Direct contacts for expert support teams (tax, garnishment, etc.)
  • All changes revolve around "Begin Check Dates" as opposed to effective dates, however, no changes are allowed for Begin Check Dates once a change is approved, which can leave bad data in an employee's profile. There should be an ability to make corrections to BCDs
  • Tax files pull live data as opposed to being a static file that was saved using the information at the time of processing. This means that we do not have access to all historical files as needed
  • Audit trails on employee profiles are not very user friendly and complicated to use
Less Suited: Looking for information in an employee's audit trail is complicated and user-friendly. It is frustrating when trying to research changes to determine what happened and why. The inability to edit "Begin Check Dates" can leave bad data in an employee's profile since the only way to correct it is to create new line items and delete the old ones. Well Suited: the integration between the modules available is pretty seamless.
February 22, 2024

Paylocity Review

Barrett Wolf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Payroll, employee management, performance, recruiting, benefits, onboarding, etc.
  • Integrates all areas of HR in once place
  • API's (Application Programming Interface) that integrate with other companies/vendors
  • Mobile app that lets our users see their basic information.
  • Bswift acts like a separate entity
  • Bswift doesn't treat our 401k like an employee benefit for some reason.
  • The time off process has been very difficult to setup and manage.
Paylocity is a great product to provide your employees a resource to see all their pertinent employment information. It also integrates well with other partners and has many functions for HR professionals.
February 22, 2024

Empowers our Team

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
tracking timecards, personnel information, company announcements, payroll, and working on more!

It helps bring multiple business/personnel needs into one location. Versus a separate time card app, payroll app, etc.
  • Time Tracking
  • Payroll Tracking and Reporting
  • Company Outreach (Community, announcements, etc)
  • Onboarding (Packets, all in one place)
  • HR and Tax forms: major issues this year with ACA reporting
  • integrations: "360" doesn't always truly mean this
  • Account management: clear when there's a lot of customers having issues because response time is much slower than ideal.
for time, payroll, and employee-management- fantastic all aroundfor benefits, 3rd party integrations/implementations- the fees stack up, and more than not, they are 180 integration or not a "true' 360 integration.Seems like once we've gotten through implementation, and need future assistance, answers happen slower and more directing to ask other people when it's something specifically- Paylocity's responsibility. 1095 reporting information- was told to ask our broker for issues but it was how Paylocity had setup our plans (incorrectly) initially that resulting in an issue.Took 2+ weeks to get help from our account manager on this, was working with other account managers who couldn't helpAccount managers don't have away messages- or even upcoming availability so when we reach out and don't hear from them for days and keep following up, we have no idea what's going on.
John Morone, MBA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Paylocity as our HRIS system of record, LMS, Talent Management, Talent Acquisition, and Employee Survey database. Paylocity truly provides a fully integrated and comprehensive suite of HR solutions.
  • Payroll Processing - Including all Tax Handling and Processing
  • Talent Acquisition Suite - Allows for the digital handling of candidate to onboarding. Fully integrated background, E-verify, drug screening
  • Established APIs with external vendors for Benefits and 401K
  • Survey Management - Customized surveys for Employee Engagement and Customer Satisfaction
  • Communities - Allows for online employee collaboration as well as site for employees to pull company documents such as policies and procedures.
  • Functionality of the Mobile App needs to match web portal. i.e. Employees unable to access self-appraisals for annual performance reviews on the app. Employees will have to use their browsers on the phone to access. Also, Employees are unable to adjust their State and Federal Tax withholdings via the App. They need to log into via their browsers.
  • Would like to see easier accessibility to establishing APIs (Application Programming Interface) from Paylocity to my own IT department. Attempted to do this and there was a PEPM (per employee per month) charge for this integration. Don't mind paying an initial set up but after that a PEPM seems a little steep. Be a better value-added partner with your clients in solving business problems. Huge area of opportunity and more than willing to discuss further with you.
  • Auto Assignment of Expense Management Rules. Currently have to refresh the Expense Management rules to ensure that all employees are part of it. This should be able to be automated much in the same way Attendance policies are managed for various employee populations.
Paylocity is great for small to medium size businesses that are looking to have a fully integrated HRIS system. Paylocity offers businesses the capability to greatly automate and help their HR function in the management of the entire employee life cycle.

One area that I am looking to better utilize Paylocity and where ADP or UKG has an advantage on them is the integration of time clock data with your own IT information systems for productivity management. We are in the Wholesale Distribution sector so one thing we would like to track and manage is the number of picks per hour for our employees. Our measurement of productivity. The integration has been difficult and only recently discovered a SFTP (Secure File Transfer Protocol) solution that will avoid an API integration for this data.
February 22, 2024

Best Platform EVER!

Mackenzie Lee | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity as a one-stop shop for our employees. We include their position title, supervisor, reviewer, employment status, etc. in the Employment tab. We also use the Pay tab to define their salary/hourly wage, if they receive merit increases or bonuses, tax forms, tax set-up, and their pay set-up like HSA or 401k. We use the Benefits tab and launch our benefits enrollment each November. This is an easy way to have all the employee's information in one spot. For benefits, we include medical, dental, and vision, and many voluntary benefits like critical illness, accident, hospital indemnity, STD, LTD, and Pet insurance. We also use the Surveys tab to launch New Hire surveys and Exit surveys. A module that I specifically use the most is the On-boarding module. This is the best way to set up a new hire in the system and you can custom make the event packets that you will launch to the new hires to fill out. We are going to implement the Compensation module in a few months and are excited to use it.
  • Having the Help button in the right corner with Knowledge Base. It allows me to search just about anything I have trouble with and learn new stuff about specific modules.
  • Customization. You can basically set your company up however you would like. I use the Configuration - Company Set-up tab just about everyday to add/change things to make it our own.
  • Timely responses. We are going through a merger and the implementation team has been a huge help. Even our Account Manager responds to any issues I have super quickly.
  • As a super admin in Paylocity, I would like the ability to not just archive items, but delete them completely. We would like to clean-up the space and get rid of some of the default items we do not use.
  • Not necessarily an issue, but for those people who have ever created an event packet in the on-boarding module know my struggle. It is not completely user friendly. I would like to see a preview of what the employee would see before launching the packets to new hires.
  • Benefits. When I change a new hire in the system before they have elected their benefits, it takes at least 24 hours to show up and doesn't always allow them to launch their open enrollment.
Paylocity is well suited in many ways. The pros definitely outweigh the cons. Specifically, the way you are able to customize just about anything is awesome. For example, we heavily rely on the Western Management Group surveys each year to determine which WMG job codes the employees fall under and what their pay grade is due to their degree and years of experience. I am able to add all these position codes to Paylocity along with the salary bands and it shows where the employee falls on the spectrum based on their salary.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for our timecard record keeping, Payroll processing and new hire onboarding functions.
  • Timecard records are very interactive for the employees and for management.
  • Dynamic reporting helps us in our compliance needs
  • Payroll processing is seamless and efficient.
  • Employees are able to login from their phones and see all of their pay/HR/timecard information at their fingertips. This keeps our employees engaged in the organization.
  • The paperless option can be more highlighted. Many emploess inadvertly select this in their accounts when they don't mean to.
  • The option for employees to login from their phones. If we can have that option but geolocated to particular company sites, that would be fantastic.
Our organization requires all employees to record their time worked during the week whether they are salaried or hourly. Paylocity in this function is very helpful. The timecards are very easy to use from both the supervisor and employee ends.

We have not had much success using Paylocity for the health insurance record keeping purposes as we use a third-party (The state if NJ) for our medical / dental insurance needs.
February 22, 2024

Easy to Use Platform

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I have worked with Paylocity for years at two different companies. I have always been a fan of the platform and their customer service team. I found Paylocity to help streamline our payroll processes. However, this past year we had a huge problem with the PTO mapping and struggled to have it fixed. They eventually fixed it, but it was a struggle. Otherwise, I would have rated them a 10.
  • Timekeeping
  • Phone Support
  • Easy to use platform
  • Initial set up and confirmation everything is correct
  • PTO mapping
  • Inconsistent solutions when running into a problem
  • Need someone who can advise on both Timekeeping and Payroll as they interset.
Paylocity is easy to use and easy to implement with employees.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity to process our company's payroll and to hire new employees. Employees can clock in and out on their phones through the Paylocity app, view their paystubs, and ask for time off. It is very user-friendly and easy for our employees to use the Paylocity app. Our employees like using the app on their phones and not having to go to a desktop computer for clocking in and out. In the past, the company's onboarding documents were all done manually and processed. The Paylocity onboarding process is quick and easy for employer and new employees. All new hire forms are processed and nothing is missed since it is all in Paylocity onboarding and not manual.
  • App to clock in and out! Saves our employees time.
  • Ability to approve and request time off in the App!
  • Check paystub or see W-2 from a click on the App!
  • New Hires can view and submit all tasks easily through Paylocity Onboarding!
  • Love Paylocity and can't think of any ways to improve it!
Paylocity is well suited for doing Payroll and managing time off requests for any size company.
February 21, 2024

Paylocity Success

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Payroll, HRIS, documentation management, and ATS
  • ATS system is efficient
  • App is user friendly for employees
  • Able to connect with outside vendors that we use for 401k, health benefits and more
  • Customer service can be slow to respond, and does not always answer the question asked.
  • There are weird limitations in payroll and some set up is complicated.
  • Employee file management could be cleaner and improved.
  • Currently, no way to send a document that needs to be signed to all or select employees. This is a simple feature that could easily be implemented.
I think that with better training of the system, it could be better. When the set up was done, it was all completed on the backend. There needs to be more hands on training with clients to set them up for success. It is a good system that can allow for a lot of complicated scenarios. But getting those set up can be difficult.
February 21, 2024

Game Changer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity as our HRIS platform. The system has an easy integration process with other platforms such as in our situation when it came to sharing information on employee benefits. The support team were able to understand what was needed and follow up accordingly.
  • LMS systems
  • HR & Payroll
  • Walkthrough Guides
  • Benefits essentials did not fully capture enrollments of employees causing some reporting errors. It has room for improvement.
  • Helping new start-up companies with compliance issues and taxes.
  • Having a single point of contact versus just a call-in number.
It's well suited for small-business owners who have to run payroll for salaried employees but can become a bit complicated when the employers start hiring hourly workers and there is the integration of timekeeping systems and the many features involved in that process can become overwhelming to new start-up companies.
February 21, 2024

Would recommend

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a HR department of 2 servicing over 1300 employees. Paylocity has streamlined our work flows and reduced our paper intake dramatically. Allowing us to be a very lean and efficient department.
  • Reduces paper in a paper heavy department
  • Constantly upgrading and improving
  • Program is flexible enough to meet our unique needs
  • Text to Apply in recruiting
  • Better FMLA and LOA tracking
  • More information in the Safety log
I have used quite a few HRIS/Payroll systems and this has been the most user friendly platform. The Mobile App is great and constantly improving. We have been able to customize workflows to meet our needs. Customer service has been great on the payroll side. We have had a few hiccups with Benefits, but I think they are worked out now.
February 21, 2024

10/10 for Paylocity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have a company set in Paylocity for four companies. We use it as an overall HRIS system, for payroll, for annual performance reviews, for tracking time and attendance, and for FSA. We have Paylocity integrated with two different 401K plans and the team works to help us keep that integration seamless. We also use Paylocity for payment of garnishments and child support payments.
  • Payroll - our payroll process works very well and the customer service team walks us through any issues or one-offs.
  • Time and attendance tracking - our staff love the time tracking, both online and in the app. Asking for time off is also a breeze.
  • Performance management - we have our annual performance reviews set up in Paylocity and we use the process every year. It works very well.
  • Customer service - we have an amazing customer service team and I have yet to speak to anyone when I call that isn't knowledgeable and helpful.
  • FSA - this is the one area that we have problems with every year. Enrollment is a pain, and usually on January 1 we have issues with people having access to their benefits.
  • Reporting - I would like to find a year end report that captures our data correctly for 5500/401K reporting. I usually have to pull several and compile the data.
Paylocity is a wonderful HRIS. It does a great job of tracking information for our employees and making that data easy to find and update. I like that our employees can update their own information through their Self Service Portal and don't have to rely on HR to make updates for tax and banking changes. Payroll through Paylocity works really well, and I am able to process payroll for all four of our companies in less than an hour, including approvals.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use it as our HRIS, timekeeping, payroll, performance management, recruiting, recognition
  • payroll
  • recognition platform
  • getting on the same page as the client to resolve issues the first time without a number of back and forth e-mails/calls; in my opinion, some reps don't know what they are doing
  • Changing GLs - shouldn't be so hard, I thought there was a change announced a year ago that we could make these changed ourselves
  • Sorting things, recruiting software, should be able to sort by applicants last name, not just their first name, how sorts anything by first name???
We have not had any issues with time and labor and hr and payroll talking to each other when processing payroll.
February 21, 2024

Paylocity is great

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I process Payroll for the company. Approve time cards and time off. Fix any missed punches.
  • user friendly setup
  • tabs are well marked
  • android users using the app to clock in and out
  • more details on the reports as far as description
The onboarding process is awful, It is very hard to process Payroll. lots of steps. Once you get past that process Paylocity is very user friendly.
February 21, 2024

Paylocity

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
HR files, process payroll, reports for payroll and for 3rd party vendors.
  • Record Keeping
  • Payroll
  • Having service that does not take forever to speak with.
  • some of the reports need to be easier to create
  • editing timecards
I love being able to get a rep on the phone quickly to be able to answer questions about any payroll issues that I have come across.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Payroll
Timeclock - Mobile ap
Recruiting
Onboarding

Paylocity gives our employees more access to control changes themselves without having to come to me to address. They can go to their ap to communicate with me as well instead of calling or emailing me to make changes or address an issue.
  • Mobile ap
  • recruiting process
  • onboarding process
  • transferring time into payroll
  • allowing employees to make more changes from the ap instead of computer ie; tax changes, direct deposit changes
Paylocity is very user friendly and I always get a timely response from someone when I email. Yes it was a difficult transition getting use to all the features and I still learn something new everyday that I didn't realize Paylocity could do for me. I love using Paylocity and I highly recommend it to anyone that is needing a Payroll or HR system change.
February 20, 2024

Paylocity Customer Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
I use Paylocity strictly for onboarding employees and processing payroll.
  • Payroll processing
  • Onboarding
  • Adding states as employees move
  • Payroll tax returns - state and federal
  • The order of onboarding seems off - you have to verify employee documents steps before where the documents are attached by the employee
  • The Docusign element of E-Verify doesn't keep up to where you are and makes you go through steps you don't need to
Most of my experience with Paylocity is payroll processing from hiring employees, to running payroll, to employee terminations. I don't have any complaints or suggestions for improvement.
February 16, 2024

Paylocity on a pay roll?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for payroll, onboarding, recruiting, and many other aspects. During our usage, we have encountered a few problems. There have been issues with different parts not working together in a correct manner. Granted, anytime we have an issue, Paylocity has made every effort to correct whatever issues there are in a timely manner.
  • Customer Service agents are always quick to reply and assist.
  • Programs run fast.
  • Very little down time.
  • Glitches in the system.
  • Letting more programs run together at one time.
  • Less switching of assigned agents.
There are other positive reasons to use Paylocity, as well. The website is very user friendly and rarely has any down time. In conclusion, I would say it is a very good program.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Paylocity is our HRIS, payroll system, and performance management system. Our employees use it to submit time sheets, request time off, see paystubs, access performance reviews, and occasionally take e-learnings. We also handle onboarding through Paylocity. We do not utilize the recruiting module or the survey module at this time.
  • Payroll
  • Performance Reviews.
  • Administrator Online Training.
  • Reporting
  • Employee Filters for Review Assignment.
  • Account Manager Knowledge/Customer Service.
  • Time-off for hourly vs. salary.
  • Change codes/reasons.
Paylocity is a great tool for Payroll and performance management. Where I find it lacks the most is its inability to organize employee changes in a way that is easy to report on. To pull a report on which employees have received a pay rate increase in the last year is a manual task of sifting through hundreds of changes. This needs to be improved.
Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used Paylocity as an HRIS, ATS, LMS, and for payroll.
  • I don't think it does anything particularly well.
  • In my opinion architecture and interface are poorly designed and confusing, particularly in HR and payroll.
  • I feel the LMS is underpowered and simplistic.
  • My experience with customer support is lackluster. Some reps and help articles are helpful, while others are not.
  • There's no proxy function. As an admin, I should be able to proxy as another user. This is a basic function that is missing.
It's an all-in-one system, which has certain advantages.
February 15, 2024

User-friendly HRMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Prior to implementing Paylocity, all personnel files were in paper form. Performance reviews were done on paper. Any changes were done via a paper form for signatures. Now, everything is automated. We scanned and uploaded personnel file documents into Paylocity. We are nearly paper-free, and everything is extremely efficient. Performance reviews are completed in the platform. Payroll is easy and integrates well with our various benefit carriers.
  • Integration with other platforms
  • User-friendly
  • Great customer service
  • Budget-friendly
  • At times, upgrades happen without prior notice. Advance notice would be preferred so we are prepared.
  • The mobile application has limited functionality for administrators.
Paylocity is a great platform for a small or medium-sized organization. If payroll is complex, requiring significant customizations, the platform may be too limited for the organization.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use Paylocity for our HRIS system and payroll. A huge piece is being able to streamline payroll by using a timekeeping system and running payroll electronically. This eliminates paper timesheets and allows for efficiency. The PTO tracking also eliminates having spreadsheets for every employee and allows for rollovers/balance resets to be done automatically.
  • Very responsive customer support.
  • The system is very user-friendly.
  • Reporting is easy to use.
  • The system offers a lot of functionality.
  • The help center articles are very useful
  • The time off calendar would be nice to "block" the time being used to offer more confidentiality for an employee's reason for absence.
  • Some of the PTO tracking with rollovers/resets can cause issues. We are able to do a "work around" but there could be some improvement.
I previously used ADP at my last employer and I have been very happy with Paylocity, its functionality, and great customer service. I always recommend this to my HR colleagues. If there are issues, my email is answered within 24 hours, and if they cant get the answer, they take the question to another team level.
Return to navigation