Paylocity Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
71 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.0 out of 101

Do you work for this company?

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 36)

Sandy Breihan Sinclair profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Paylocity Web Pay is our current HRIS system. It is administered by our Human Resources Department for our HR and Payroll needs. This includes timekeeping, benefits information and employee portal. It is used across our whole organization in regards to the employee portal portion of the system. The business problem this is addressing are as follows:

  • Payroll and tax filing
  • Human Resources - New hire reporting, benefits administration, terminations, leaves of absence
  • Time tracking - All company paid holidays and other paid time off types are recorded here
  • Employee self service - Employees may view their information, record time off, request tax/direct deposit changes, change their own demographic information, view/print check stubs
  • Payroll processing is very streamlined within the Paylocity pay grid. The ability to customize it helps a great deal. This is a time saver.
  • The check calculator feature, although not intuitive, is used by our administrators and employees. We love this feature. The fact that employees can use this tool themselves is another time saver for administrators.
  • We have always had our own customer service representative.
  • Their pricing is very competitive.
  • The Web Time product does not always communicate well with the Web Pay product which causes issues at times.
  • The check calculator tool is not the easiest to use. The set up screen is not intuitive.
  • This comment is both good and bad: The dedicated customer service representatives often get promoted (the good part) and therefore, our dedicated rep has changed over quite a bit. It seems just when someone really gets to know our company, they're no longer our rep and often their replacement is very new and not always well trained.
The Web Pay product worked really great for us until recently (last November) when we added the Web Time product. Since adding Web Time, we've had issues with things that we have often had to chalk up to system glitches since the two products don't seem to communicate very well at times.
Read Sandy Breihan Sinclair's full review
Kirk Lewis profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paylocity is utilized across the entire organization to fulfill the HR and Payroll needs for employees. This allows employees to have a streamlined source for personal and job information, performance reviews, time off and payroll information. HR department employees are given an easy to use web interface to quickly and accurately add and update information for the company and its employees. Paylocity gives a lot of relief for the workload required to manage an organization with nearly 1,000 employees!
  • The web interface is easy to use for both HR representatives and employees of the organization.
  • Employees have the ability to update personal and tax information with a user-friendly interface that updates quickly.
  • Paylocity provides quality customer support, guiding HR and employees in the helpful direction needed.
  • Paylocity could improve guiding users on links to what they are looking for (hovering over the link and getting additional info about what it is).
  • Paylocitys timeclocks could use an update to allow more integration with the computer software.
  • The on-boarding process seems a bit strenuous for new employees, making it more difficult on the trainers to respond to questions.
Paylocity is well suited for any sized organization and meets HR and employee needs.
Read Kirk Lewis's full review
Meg White profile photo
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity as our sole HRIS and payroll system. Our benefits administration is also handled in Paylocity. Essentially, we use Paylocity for all employees from on-boarding to off-boarding!
  • Very user friendly.
  • Great customer support.
  • Administration is fairly straight forward.
  • Reporting. They recently updated their reporting dashboard and it is even more confusing than it was before. Creating custom reports is either time consuming, costly or both.
  • Benefits is in a separate portal. This means once you make a change to an employee's personnel file, you must wait overnight for the information to populate into the benefits portal.
  • Customer service is great and nice, but sometimes issues take a while to get resolved. Recently we had a payroll reporting issue and it took more than 36 hours for an initial response and over a week for the report to get fixed. The customer service team did what they could and were able to generate what we needed on the back end, but it was frustrating.
Paylocity is up there in my favorite HRIS platforms. None are perfect, but they make up for it in customer service and user interface.
Read Meg White's full review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity to track our PTO, sick days, days we swap our work from home days, payroll, and insurance. It helps each of us to stay on top of our bi-weekly payroll. In addition to the days we have taken off so far and how many we have left at the end of the year.
  • User interface
  • Organization
  • Simpleness
  • The way the sidebar comes in and out can make it a bit more challenging to get back to the previous page you are on.
  • In the beginning, when our company was setting up Paylocity, some areas were locked to edit, and we had to reach out to customer service to have them unlock them (mistake on their part).
It's well suited if you are a smaller company and only want to use Paylocity for elementary functions (payroll and PTO). Besides that, I think the way it is organized would make it a bit more challenging to have more complex and detailed information. It can be confusing to swap between all of the tabs, which is why I don't think it would be easy to use if there was much more information on it.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2019

Paylocity for the win!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We recently started using Paylocity this year. Previously we used ADP Workforce. We use Paylocity across the board for all employees.
The primary function we use Paylocity for is to track employee's PTO, sicks days, out of office days, or things of that nature. Along with the primary purpose of using it to keep track of pay stubs.
  • It is very user-friendly when you are on the website.
  • They also have a mobile app that is simple to use and very identical to their website.
  • They have fun tools aside from PTO requests and seeing your pay stubs, such as giving shoutouts to employees internally.
  • There was a lag period of manually inputting employees PTO, request time offs, sick days, etc.
  • Every quarter it requires us to change our password; although the reasoning behind this ultimately is best for the employee to maintain their privacy, it becomes tedious.
  • Company ID is a required field when signing in, and you are not able to have it as a saved, unlike username and password.
Paylocity is excellent, especially in comparison to ADP portal due based on the following reasons
  • Their online website is user-friendly, and it is also easy on the eyes. Previously when I used ADP portal, it would take a long time to sign in because there were so many options when signing in.
  • They have a mobile app which is excellent in this day and age. The mobile app is also simple to use and helps you keep track of when you will get paid, pay stubs, and requesting time off.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity to manage most retail HR functions, from punch-in/punch-out for hourly employees to managing time off and generating tax forms. It is used across the entire agency and allows our somewhat modest HR team (1.5 FTE) to focus their efforts on bigger projects than printing out pay stubs or manually processing time off requests.
  • Punch in/Punch out for hourly employees and a very user-friendly interface that works well with mobile. Easy to remember URL for punching in offsite.
  • Handling time off requests! Really easy to check balances and submit requests.
  • Self-generated tax forms and pay stubs were extremely useful a few months ago when I was looking at new apartments and needed new pay stubs printed on a regular basis.
  • Overall, user interfaces are well designed, clean, and user-friendly.
  • The UI with past timesheets can be difficult to locate, it's a basic enough function to be highlighted more prominently.
  • Delineation of functions nested within the three main sections ("Self Service Portal", "HR & Payroll", and "Time & Labor") are difficult to learn and retain. As a result, I spend more time than I'd prefer clicking around the interfaces to find the page I'm looking for. That said, the interfaces are all so clean and user-friendly that I'm always able to find what I'm looking for eventually.
Hourly employees will love it for clocking in and clocking out, and I'd definitely recommend it to any manager/department/organization that is struggling with spreadsheet timesheets or time-intensive approval processes. I think it's specifically valuable to us as an organization with a lopsided employee: HR staff ration (~200+ employees for 1.5FTE of HR staff), as it lets them dedicate their energies to urgent/important matters and let us grab our own timesheets or pay stubs as desired.
Read this authenticated review
Suzy Vera, MBA profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using PAYLOCITY in two of our five current concepts (whole organization) and plan to move the other 3 towards the end of the year.

It addressed the total failure that ADP software caused. The software is smart, well coded, simple, and clear- all things ADP didd not provide. Mostly it has addressed payroll issues we had.
  • Admin platform is easy to use and navigate
  • Implementation is organized and they follow up
  • Recruiting section is effective and clear
  • Smart Email templates
  • The on-boarding area could be a bit less tedious- starting a new hire from recruit to hire is a bit tedious but you get used to it
  • The time clocks need to be hardwired to a running computer at all times- very old technology, even ADP lets us hardwire it to our network (so we do not have to rely on our clocks running on computer)
As far as payroll and ATS systems go this is the best I have used. It does have it flaws of course but they seem to be adaptable to changing client needs, up with the industries and times, and good agents. We run a group of restaurants and use them for ATS, HR, payroll and time clocks for 2/5 concepts now- they are leaps and bounds ahead of ADP. The only thing they could improve on is their biometric time clock; it needs to be hooked up to a computer 24/7 to effectively function. The former is not adaptable for a restaurant setting so we had to switch to another time clock solution- although we like it we would have preferred the biometric clock.
Read Suzy Vera, MBA's full review
Erin Holm profile photo
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paylocity is our organization's payroll and HR service portal. It's used across the organization, with each employee having access. We heavily use the reporting functions. We made the switch to Paylocity in 2017. It has allowed us to place a lot of our internal information in one place, such as employee contact information, company directories, and organizational charts, tax filing information, PTO and leave requests, etc.
  • Time tracking and integrating with payroll - payroll can be done quickly.
  • The interface is user-friendly for employees. It can be a little overwhelming for new employees, but once they get used to where things are, it's nice to have so much information in one place.
  • During tax season, the digital W2/tax forms are easy to access.
  • Within the self-service portal, employees can acknowledge and congratulate one another. It's always great to have a platform to encourage fellow employees.
  • Does have a reporting dashboard that provides helpful, but basic reports.
  • Pricing is decent, compared to similar platforms.
  • Customer service - although you do get a dedicated rep, they seem to change quite a bit. Additionally, responses have not been timely for us. We often find ourselves continually reaching out. When we do reach someone, it seems we get a lot of "I can't help you now, but let me find someone who can and get back to you", then no one does. We've gone around and around on several issues.
  • It doesn't seem to be as customizable as it claims to be/should be. One tweak in the system and things seem to be thrown off. We've had issues, such as making pay rate changes, that seem to become bigger issues than necessary.
  • We've had trouble with features/links either moving or no longer being visible. We've had employees who have trouble submitting PTO because the link is not visible. When they log in at a future time, it's there. It has been an odd issue no one seems to be able to explain.
It's a suitable platform if you're looking for a self-service portal for employees. Fairly easy to use, has all of the information they'll need. It does have SOME quality reporting options, but it does leave a lot to be desired. We've often found ourselves wondering why there isn't more customization for that particular area.

If everything is functioning properly, requesting time off is easy for employees.

It is not a 100% error-free platform (what is?), so you will have to deal with various issues along the way.

Read Erin Holm's full review
Jamie Powers, PHR profile photo
Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity across the entire organization as our HRIS and payroll vendor.
  • The main thing that Paylocity does well is the self-service portal for employees. It is aesthetically pleasing, easy to use and full of information for employees.
  • Another thing is the "impressions" that employees can give to each other to say "job well done" for something.
  • There are many areas where Paylocity can improve. Customer service is definitely one of them. They are very slow to respond, if at all. They put no sense of urgency on matters. They tell you they will find out an answer and get back to you then they don't.
  • There is so much missing functionality between this system and my last (Paycor) that I can't even remember everything.
  • Switching to Paylocity was the worst decision I've ever made in my career.
In 2019 while using my current system, Namely, I'm updating my rating of Paylocity to 4. I thought Paylocity was bad, but there is definitely worse out there. I will still never recommend Paylocity to anyone.
Read Jamie Powers, PHR's full review
Elaine Oakman profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Paylocity to pay 35 Biweekly and Semi-Monthly employees. It is also used when we need employees to sign off on an HR document. Every employee in the organization has access to Paylocity to review Paystubs, make tax changes, and sign HR documents
  • I love that Payroll can be run within 2 days of the pay date.
  • I love the fact that you can call Paylocity and they are very responsive when you need to make crucial Payroll changes.
  • I love the check calculator feature of Paylocity which allow employees to see what effect changes they make will have on their pay.
  • You can add up to 3 banks.
  • For our organization we were having problems with the Time Tracking portion of the system; we disabled this feature and went to an outside tracking system.
  • In terms of Time tracking, Paylocity representatives were not very helpful in offering solutions.
  • More Integration of the HR feature in Paylocity.
For running Payroll, I feel that Paylocity is a great system. However, when it is integrated with other aspects such as time tracking; there is not a clear/cohesive integration. I believe that Paylocity should work better on integrating other aspects of its' software; so that it is seamlessness from the users' perspectives.
Read Elaine Oakman's full review
No photo available
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paylocity is being used enterprise wide across the entire organization for functions such as web pay, time cards, vacation accruals and balances, performance management, etc., but some employees and some departments have more access to its additional features than others. For example, people managers have more functionality than individual contributors during merit season or for promotions and equity adjustments. But organization wide, we all use it on some level. It solves the business need of having a more robust and effective HRMS, we previously used an Oracle product that was outdated.
  • It has a very cool and easy to use recognition function called impressions. Instead of a simple instant message or email saying thank you, you can offer an impression saying thanks that can be categorized and made public the rest of the company when they access Paylocity. It's just a cool function that spreads thanks and engagement across the organization with little cost and effort.
  • The self service portal for employees is easy to use as well. If you need to access vacation accrual and balances, PTO requests, pay check stubs, pay information, need to change your address or name, etc. it's very easy to find and navigate. You don't need to dig or click everywhere.
  • The journal entry function is useful too for 1:1 meetings or check in meetings for manages and their direct reports. It gives an easy module to record notes, discuss topics, attach documents, or make notes of items that need to be followed up on. Not everyone here uses it, but it does help organize meetings and keep them on track.
  • The performance management function is good, but it could use some improvement. Some of the fields and functions can be cumbersome or confusing - if you don't need to go too deep into performance management it's fine, but if you really want to customize things or get in deeper it can be difficult.
  • The integration of Paylocity with our current applicant tracking system has been very difficult and drawn out. We'd like to integrate the two systems so we can create a smoother onboarding process, but for some reason it's been very difficult to get the two to "talk" to each other. If this integration can be improved, that would be great.
  • This is a minor issue, but confirming when vacation hours have been executed or approved can sometimes be confusing because you get more emails than you would expect and sometimes these emails are confusing. A simple message saying approved or not approved or the hours have been taken out of this current pay period would eliminate this confusion, but again, this is a minor thing.
Paylocity is great for easily recognizing coworkers or saying thank you. It doesn't take a lot of time, doesn't cost extra, but is effective and more personal than just an email or message. The main functions for vacation requests, looking at pay check stubs, journal entries for 1:1 meetings, performance management, etc. are great too. They are mostly intuitive and helpful.

Paylocity may not be best suited for extremely large or global companies. Although it has good capabilities and mostly is easy to use, this platform may not offer all the customization that would be needed for workforces that are very diverse and scattered.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All administrators from HR and Accounting have access to Web Pay. We use it to run payroll, to run reports for labor allocations - especially helpful for grant management and for all aspects of the HR department including new hires, benefits management, terminations.
  • Reports are amazing- a great database of system reports. Reports Writer is extremely helpful to use when you want to modify a system report or if you want to create a report to meet your particular needs.
  • The phone support from Paylocity is outstanding - anytime we have called we have been able to talk to real people. They are always so helpful and super friendly.
  • There are a lot of wizards that guide you through setup - for example, setting up a new garnishment is extremely easy when you follow the add a wage wizard- it asks you all questions necessary from setting up a new agency to calculating the new garnishment deduction.
  • There is room for improvement when you are navigating from the HR tab that has all the benefits and the other tabs such as payroll. If I am searching for an employee and I am checking their payroll set up, I don't have access to their HR benefit deductions - I have to switch searches to get to that part.
  • When we run payroll, if there is a person that is hired on 03.25.2019 and it is set up on auto-pay/exempt and our next payroll is on 03.29.2019, it still picks it up in the payroll batch even though the 03.29.2019 is for pay period 03.10-03.23.2019. It's very easy to make the mistake of paying a new hire when they haven't even submitted a time sheet.
  • Managing employee groups in Web Time and Web Pay is a very tedious job- it seems like both Web Pay and Web Time are not communicating completely since we need to navigate between the two to update employee groups.
It is very user-friendly and it has amazing online training webinars that are free. The customer support has been tremendously helpful and is available 5 days a week. This tool has great reporting features and can provide a very detailed record of each employee. If one employee leaves, the record can be retained and then if the same employee is rehired, it is super easy to make them active again.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 06, 2019

Poor

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization. I am one department in the organization
  • Employees can track their time
  • Employees have access to necessary forms
  • Their training is non existent. They tried a phone training that was did not go well at all.
  • There is no follow up with the customer
  • I have had so many issues and they have yet to contact me directly for assistance
In concept it is great if you work a straight 40 hours per week. I have employees who work varied shifts, 7 days a week, 24 hours a day. They sell it as up to date, when the reality is, it isn't. I can only post current times two weeks out of the month. They still have not added employee paid time off so the system does not allow me to do my job properly and it has doubled my work time with Paylocity.
Read this authenticated review
Todd Forsythe profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company currently uses Paylocity for our entire organization. We began using Paylocity at the first of the year and so far it has proven to be far better from the previous payroll program that we were using. We use it for our employees to track their time, and we use it for our benefit elections.
  • Tracking time, both online and through the phone app.
  • Employee annual benefits selection.
  • Time off requests.
  • Paystub filing.
  • Approving time through the phone app
Paylocity works well for employees that are on the go and often out of the office as well as those that are in the office.
Read Todd Forsythe's full review
No photo available
December 05, 2017

Paylocity is Simplicity

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paylocity is used fleet-wide in our organization; that includes 8 cities on the east coast and our headquarters in Chicago. It is used for payroll for all employees (hourly and salaried) as well as for benefits for our full time employees. Only full time employees have access to Paylocity, so in order for our hourly employees to get copies of paystubs or tax documents, I'm the go-to person in our city to procure those records when requested.
  • Benefits Portal. Extremely easy to use and almost mistake proof. It will not let you elect benefits until the form has been filled out completely, ensuring that you do not miss anything.
  • Check History: It's complete and easy to find. Also easy to print or save as PDF. I also appreciate that it can be password protected when downloaded as a PDF.
  • Time Off: Easy to request, change or cancel. Also easy for supervisors to approve/deny. Notifications are sent to both the requester and supervisor when a request is made, which means supervisors don't need to regularly be checking in for requests.
  • Time Off Balance: I've found it confusing since I started using it. The number has been off before leaving me to believe I had used more time than I had, and then scrambling to try to use up my PTO before it expired. You can pull a PTO report that I have found to be accurate, but the number on the dashboard can be misleading.
  • Reporting: Clunky and not customize-able enough for our business needs. The reporting dashboard is slow.
  • The link placement for our benefits portal is hidden. I've had to walk numerous employees through finding it, even after sending out a detailed how-to guide.
From a payroll standpoint, it's easy to process and reprint pay stubs and monitor live checks. The benefits portal is very user friendly which is a huge plus during enrollment when everyone has a million questions. Reporting leaves a lot to be desired, and if you're looking for a time and pay management system with great reporting capabilities, Paylocity may not fit your needs.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity as our web pay program across our whole organization.
  • Paylocity is very user friendly.
  • The app is also really easy to use and is frequently updated.
  • It makes breakdowns really clear and also is an easy way to access pay information on the go.
  • There are no needed improvements that I can think of.
It works really well for us in a school and is a bit more user-friendly than our previous software.
Read this authenticated review
Shawn M. Henderson profile photo
Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Pros: sorta easy to use, customer service can be really good (it can also be frustrating). Might be good for a company with office workers (small law firms, etc), NOT recommended for Restaurants.

Cons: There are A LOT. Let's start with the basics. If your employee gets locked out, YOU are the one they call. Paylocity does not offer support to staff. Some of the basic reporting does not work properly. Time-off tracking can't be auto-assigned to new employees, it's another step in the hiring process. When hiring a person using the templates, Paylocity's system can't accurately calculate salaries (seriously...this is a basic function and Paylocity can't perform it). If you have Spanish speaking employees, Payocity does not support them through their platform, but they will still charge you for them. There is a "work-around" (by the way, this their favorite phrase), but ONLY if you use a desktop and ONLY if you use Chrome's translate webpage feature. It's not practical. There is a form for just about everything you want to do unless you ask the right questions. If you know what to ask, you can usually find the right answer.
  • Work-arounds they do really well
  • Customer service reps are usually VERY willing to help find that work-around.
  • The entire platform needs improvement.
If all you need is a payroll company to run your checks, this is for you. DON'T plan on using them for anything else.
Read Shawn M. Henderson's full review
Jason Magill profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity Web Pay across our entire organization to process payroll and to provide HR self-service access to our employees. We also use it for areas such as OSHA reporting, ACA compliance, workforce analytics, performance management, and onboarding. The self-service portal addresses the specific need to limit the amount of manual processes and paper forms that must be completed.
  • Customer service. We're assigned a dedicated account manager, but there is also a broader team that is aware of our account and can assist with the Account Manager is not available. I've always found them to be very knowledgeable and helpful.
  • User friendly. Both our management team and employee users have found the platform to be more user friendly than our past systems. I have to answer very few questions about how to access areas of the site.
  • Many options. We started with Web Pay's base services, but were able to add advanced HR functions, performance management, and onboarding within the same platform. It's nice to have a single solution rather than multiple vendors pieced together.
  • Leave tracking. It's possible, but it's not intuitive. There are many back and forth steps that could be improved.
  • Applicant tracking. The additional module is available, but it's not comparable to other solutions out there. I tested it out during the beta phase and chose to go with an outside vendor that integrates with Paylocity instead. Not seamless, but it's worth it to get the better product.
  • Tablet friendly pages. I understand that many employees will access the self-service portal through their tablets, but when the system was made "tablet friendly" it took some of the user friendliness away as well. More clicks (or taps) are needed to access basic functions when before they were just right there in front.
As a mid-sized company, we need an enterprise-style system but without the cost and development associated with custom software. Paylocity gives us the functionality of many of the enterprise-level systems out there but at a more reasonable price and without the development requirements. With that said, there are some unique situations for our business that the system cannot handle and Paylocity will not adopt them because of their unique nature.
Read Jason Magill's full review
Matt Brager profile photo
April 24, 2017

Your pay your way

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across the whole organization. It provides an effective means for employees to provide electronic timesheets that integrate with Payroll processing. It also provides a system for government tax reporting, W2 reporting and payroll recordkeeping that provides reports to integrate with our General Ledger through import of information. The system provides employees with their individual payroll information by check and all leave balances real time. Set up to provide needed information for General Ledger information is an involved process that takes step-by-step communication with Paylocity to meet your needs.
  • Paylocity's timesheet set up flexibility permits for set up to meet the unique needs of our company in which some employees report to multiple supervisors on an inconsistent basis and different costs centers need to be charged in addition to timesheet approval from multiple sources.
  • Paylocity has good reports tools and provides a report writer that permits getting information out of the database for any analytical needs, reports that can be downloaded to MS Excel and manipulated as needed.
  • Paylocity provides an easy to use access for all employees to timesheets, benefit time balances and time off requests processed interactively through the system.
  • Paylocity provides for input of a wide range of information related to employees to meet a wide range of needs -- including labor allocation information, management of employer benefit and retirement match costs, etc.
  • Paylocity needs to improve significantly in working with new clients in the setup and migration process. Paylocity does almost nothing in leading the conversation of discovering new clients needs, what information will be migrated forward in the most efficient manner and helping the new client be aware of what the responsibilities of the new client will be in the new set up. Too much in the process of transition is discovery of what isn't functioning as it needs to be and then conversation exchanges to determine fixes. A more involved upfront process could highlight for Paylocity these client needs and move the transition process forward with less bumps in the road. Setup for Employer Retirement Match, Workers Comp and other ancillary measurements associated indirectly with payroll processing have suffered from this inefficient process.
  • Paylocity provided for too rapid transition of account reps during the set up process, considering some of the inefficiencies in their aid process. Also a change in personnel hampered our company's onboarding to their systems as projects for updates were sometimes left hanging or needing to be addressed anew.
  • The Paylocity system indeed has great flexibilities and seems capable of handling all our needs -- eventually. You have to push for solutions at times because some of the account reps are learning their system themselves and give the answer something can't be done as a solution, but it can be. Some of the ancillary measures related to payroll -- Retirement Match, Workers Comp and nonprofit funding for Unemployment costs are examples in which we were told what we were seeking couldn't be done, but as further answers evolved, the system can provide for our needs.
My biggest reluctance in recommending Paylocity is not with the product that seems very robust and our unusual needs as a nonprofit grant accounting company certainly test it. However, I think Paylocity needs to evolve its process in onboarding new clients, really get familiar with the extent of needs the client has, understand them and help lead the new client in how they can transition. Paylocity knows their product -- [as they] should -- and their experts would be in the best position to help the client explore how that client will get the finished product they need in a much more streamlined fashion -- without the constant discovery of what fixes need to be explored to meet needs.
Read Matt Brager's full review
Robert Nottingham profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Paylocity Web Pay and Web Time to manage time clock and time approval for multiple departments at Tervis. It's very easy to use and understand and train staff on. We have the ability to lock out time on calendars during season and blackout periods; all staff submits their requests electronically and we can approve or deny on a case by case basis or automatically every day as they are submitted. We have documents on the site where staff can easily obtain an employee handbook and other information.

Paylocity is easily accessed via a mobile app which makes its user interface and ability to use easily available to staff and managers.

This is a very nice system for payroll time punches.
  • Easy to access via mobile phone app or on computers
  • Has reports and does everything electronically no paper
  • Very easy to use user interface on the app and web
  • Looks like it does everything needed for payroll and time punches for scheduling and time off.
During season when we have a lock out period, we can prevent people from putting in for time off without approval and it's easy to manage on a case by case basis.
Read Robert Nottingham's full review
Bonny O'Neill profile photo
February 03, 2016

Payroll Specialist

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this software as a timekeeping system for hourly employees, and it is used as our HR database for new hires. We use it to process a semi-monthly payroll for 450+ employees. The software is mostly used by our HR team, but I am in accounting and I utilize the software also. Our employees are able to access the system in order to keep track of their time as well as to access their pay receipts, make time off requests, and self service their personal data.
  • Paylocity provides sufficient quarterly tax filings filed in a timely manner.
  • Paylocity has some customizable features and some custom reporting that can be useful to a company.
  • Their timekeeping system is clunky and hard for managers to navigate through and use- I wish there was more flexibility for timekeeping management.
  • They don't seem to have a lot of other systems that they interface with well and sometimes trying to get them to work with outside vendors is complicated.
  • I feel that their customer service is lacking. I can't tell you how many times I have called regarding urgent issues and I felt that it took a very long time have someone get back to me, and in some cases they didn't get back to me at all.
I think if you have a very small company with a very uncomplicated payroll, this might work for you- or if the company is interested in having a product that is very manual, I think it could also be effective.
Read Bonny O'Neill's full review
Sheila Bibbs profile photo
June 17, 2015

Paylocity on top!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Paylocity is used across the entire organization. We use it for payroll and time keeping.
  • The time keep system is very easy to use. We don't use the punch clock feature so they set up our system so that employees just enter their total hours worked. I like this because we told Paylocity what we wanted and they gave it to us.
  • Setting up a new employee is hassle free. You decided in your initial set up what fields you want to include and also what you want to allow the employee to do. Even if you didn't decide in the beginning you can make changes later which is very convenient.
  • When processing payroll you can make changes within the batch. Say you forgot to add a deduction, you would just go right to that persons main file and make the adjustment and keep processing your payroll. This is my favorite feature of all.
  • If your organization is anything like mine you have employees that forget to put in time. Well even if you have locked the payroll you can unlock it before you process it and let that person enter the time missed. You can then close it and proceed with what you were doing.
  • The one thing I usually have an issue with is the time it takes for a service rep to get back to you when resolving a problem. I feel it's all about follow up. If they won't be able to get back to you right away then they should at lease send a message saying they are working on the issue and hope to get back with you soon.
Read Sheila Bibbs's full review
Amy Beausoleil profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Paylocity at one of my prior jobs. After researching multiple systems, no other Co could compete (ease of use, price, an all in one system that didn't have multiple disjointed modules). Paylocity really helped to streamline our business processes, which ultimately reduced the number of manual processes. Having an all in one system, eliminated all of the manual spreadsheets we were doing to track things (disciplinary actions, injuries, etc). Their reporting capabilities are outstanding (although the dashboard is limited) and their system really helped with the accuracy of our reports. One of the prior payroll Co's we were with never had accurate reports - you had to wait a whole day to retrieve your payroll files and half the time they were corrupt. Paylocity has on demand reports and the report writer is super easy to use.
  • All in one system - Payroll, HRIS, Applicant Tracking, Onboarding, Benefits, ReportWriter, Safety/OSHA, Timekeeping. You don't have multiple disjointed systems/modules. Everything is a seamless integration, whether you use their modules or not.
  • Easily Integrates with other systems. You can swap out ATS or use theirs, easily integrates with other timekeeping systems, as well as other Learning Management Systems.
  • Easy to use for HR and Employees
  • Electronic Signatures for forms, handbooks, documents, etc
  • PAYLOCITY CUSTOM FIELDS - You can easily utilize over 140 custom fields that are available (payroll/HR custom drop-downs, text fields, check box, date fields, and text fields). In addition to the ability to easily create a custom field without ever having to rely on Paylocity for setting it up; all custom fields can be reporting on.
  • ReportWriter - dashboard is limited to headcount, employee status, would be nice if the functionality was expanded.
  • Implementation - Unfortunately we ended up with an incompetent Rep who didn't understand our payroll or our codes. He was responsible for getting everything uploaded from the old system to the new system. He made multiple mistakes, most of which I had to catch on my own! They do not offer a dedicated Rep for implementation (unless you are a large Co). I would suggest asking for one, regardless of size!

I would definitely recommend Paylocity to anyone who is considering a new Payroll/HRIS. If you have other systems that you currently use, such as timekeeping, I would recommend finding out how the integration works. It might be easier to purchase their module than to use your own.

Another important question to ask when researching Paylocity is customizations - What is the client allowed to customize in the system vs. what Paylocity can do. Some Co's out there don't allow for customizations or they charge you every time you want to change something (Ultimate Software, NOT Paylocity).

Read Amy Beausoleil's full review
Yolanda Dunleavy profile photo
March 13, 2015

Paylocity Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my prior position as payroll administrator we used WebPay with WebTime to process payroll for hourly, weekly, and salary semi-monthly payroll for the corporate and field offices.
  • Processing payroll for 900+ employees became a lot quicker with Paylocity; once time was approved by managers you imported the batch and processed.
  • Entering data was very easy and user friendly
  • Uploading employee paperwork into their profile is the best
  • Maybe some improvement on the badge number situation. If possible, Paylocity could work on something so that when you enter a termination date the badge number goes back to the employee number automatically
  • Setting up security roles for reports was a little challenging, it works, but took some time
I would definitely recommend Paylocity because of its ease, no matter where you are. If you have a computer, you can approve timecards or process payroll.
Read Yolanda Dunleavy's full review
Karli Balash profile photo
February 07, 2015

Paylocity review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WebPay for payroll, and reimbursements mostly. We also input employee information. It is used by the accounting and HR departments.
  • Employee information and input. Easy to use and complete, easy to change information.
  • Run payroll reports
  • Access - kicks us out all the time!
Ease of transfer of data
Read Karli Balash's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Employee demographic data (26)
7.4
Employment history (24)
6.8
Job profiles and administration (20)
6.9
Workflow for transfers, promotions, pay raises, etc. (23)
6.6
Organizational charting (24)
6.8
Organization and location management (23)
7.1
Compliance data (COBRA, OSHA, etc.) (18)
6.6
Pay calculation (30)
7.7
Support for external payroll vendors (16)
6.6
Benefit plan administration (22)
7.1
Direct deposit files (28)
8.4
Salary revision and increment management (20)
7.7
Reimbursement management (12)
7.5
Approval workflow (22)
8.4
Balance details (25)
6.6
Annual carry-forward and encashment (18)
7.5
View and generate pay and benefit information (30)
7.8
Update personal information (28)
9.4
View company policy documentation (21)
8.5
Employee recognition (21)
8.4
View job history (14)
7.6
Tracking of all physical assets (8)
7.8
Report builder (24)
5.7
Pre-built reports (22)
6.0
Ability to combine HR data with external data (16)
5.4
New hire portal (11)
7.6
Manager tracking tools (9)
7.1
Corporate goal setting (5)
6.5
Individual goal setting (6)
7.4
Line-of sight-visibility (4)
7.0
Performance tracking (7)
6.8
Performance plans (9)
7.0
Performance improvement plans (9)
6.8
Review status tracking (10)
6.6
Review reminders (10)
6.7
Multiple review frequency (7)
7.3
Create succession plans/pools (4)
6.8
Candidate ranking (4)
7.3
Candidate search (3)
7.0
Candidate development (4)
6.5
Job Requisition Management (3)
7.9
Company Website Posting (3)
7.4
Publish to Social Media (3)
7.7
Job Search Site Posting (2)
7.5
Duplicate Candidate Prevention (2)
6.0
Applicant Tracking (3)
6.9
Notifications and Alerts (3)
7.7

About Paylocity

Paylocity provides 24/7 access to your online payroll and human resource data. Paylocity offers highly customizable functionality for such things as General Ledger and Accruals, along with self-service capabilities and advanced report writing features.

Features include:

Online Payroll Processing

- Paycheck Calculator
- Pre-Process Register
- Quick Data Entry
- Custom Calculations
- Online Reporting
- Comprehensive Labor Distribution
- Third-Party Checks/Direct Deposit
- Effective Dating/Point-In-Time Reporting

Standard Human Resources

- Rate History
- EEO Tracking & Reports
- Retirement Plans
- Dependent Tracking
- Employee Biography
- Company Directory
- Work Eligibility/Authorization Tracking
- Emergency Contacts
Categories:  Payroll,  HR Management

Paylocity Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No