AutoCAD Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
263 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 55)

Frank Genese | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 21, 2020

How AutoCAD helps our practice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD extensively in pour practice. It is generally the most common program entry-level architects are taught in school, so when they arrive here, they have a general understanding and proficiency with it. We generate concepts that can then be converted into 3D presentations by using programs that can integrate with it.
  • Ability to make changes quickly.
  • Used by our sub-consultants and contractors.
  • Some templates are difficult to use.
  • Output drawings do not always match screen images.
As mentioned earlier, the use of AutoCAD allows us to produce more work and make changes much faster. This translates into savings for our clients since the work uses less billable hours. It allows us to transmit drawings to subs and contractors, who also use it, and can give us quick cost take-offs and shop drawings.
Read Frank Genese's full review
Brij Purohit | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Great design tool for your MEP projects

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used widely in my organization for design and development purposes. It is used to develop drawings for various disciplines such as mechanical, electrical, plumbing, fire alarm systems, fire safety, technology, security, etc. It is rarely used to view drawings developed in 3-D view but in some instances comes in handy.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Ease of commands.
  • 3-D view.
  • Slow to operate.
AutoCAD is well suited for applications that involve easy and simple floor plan drawings. It can also be used for developing various disciplines in one file. It is not recommended to use AutoCAD for applications that involve intense design drawings and applications where the user needs to design 3-D view.
Read Brij Purohit's full review
Abdul Rehman Ayub | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Most versatile in features and easy to use 3D modeling software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is being used in our engineering department at Sui Northern Gas Pipelines Limited (SNGPL), the largest gas transmission and distribution company in Pakistan.
We prepare 3D models of gas installations and fittings for upgrading and modification assessment. With the help of AutoCAD and its built-in 3D models library time is being saved and we also get the bill of material as per international acceptable codes. For presentation purposes this software also offers animations and rendering.
  • Versatility of 3D modeling features available in a single modeling software.
  • With the help of cloud rendering we can get the renders quickly even though we don't have high-quality hardware resources for computer.
  • It has many output formats which can be exported and used with other software.
  • Its animation facility and easy to use functions.
  • For oil and gas industry its built-in library misses salient fittings and equipment which I think should be added.
  • It requires very high-level hardware resources for big models which I think must be optimized.
  • Its cost the is same for a large corporation or small business. I recommend that there should be price slabs for the purpose for which it is being purchased.
For engineering services, operations and research & development it is highly suitable. For human resources, accounts and other administrative services it is not required.
Read Abdul Rehman Ayub's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

Outdated but still useful

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used by architects and designers to draw details, review consultants drawings, and to convert files. In general, AutoCAD has been replaced by Revit for the production of large complex document sets, and by Rhino and SketchUp for early conceptual studies. It is still used often for tasks that do not require the BIM complexity of Revit.
  • Lots of control over graphic style, line weights, etc
  • Easy to use; easy to draw without constraints
  • 3D functionality is rudimentary
  • Lacking tools for complex geometry.
AutoCAD has been surpassed mainly by Revit for the production of architectural document sets. It severely lacks in 3D modeling tools and "intelligent" features that make Revit such a robust tool for building design. However, the complexities of Revit mean that it is ill-suited to "sketching" or early-stage concept work that AutoCAD excels at. AutoCAD places no constraints on drawing, and so it can be useful as a tool for drawing details and sketching quick ideas and design options, where Revit is overconstrained and challenging to use for these purposes.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

An indispensable tool for any engineer involved in a construction project!!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is a must-have tool for any engineer and more so if that engineer is a civil engineer or is involved in construction/project management. At my company, this tool is used across a very wide range of departments. It is used to create/edit and use drawings for different projects.
  • AutoCAD has so many add-ins which take care of most of your design needs and what you need to show.
  • It has different variances for different range of users and is very customizable.
  • AutoCAD is a very useful tool but it can be very complicated to use, the help menus can improve.
  • Maybe having different modes for different range of experience, experienced, beginner, novice, etc. would be great for efficiency and learning experience.
AutoCAD is suited for making any civil, mechanical, instrumental drawing or P&ID and is indispensable for construction projects. It is probably less suitable for relatively simpler projects. for the bigger projects, you usually need a person drafter fully dedicated to working through the tool, creating and editing drawings. It is a skill and an art to use AutoCAD.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 14, 2020

AutoCAD for 2D Drafters

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, AutoCAD is being used throughout my organization across all departments, including architecture, interiors, and construction administration. In the past four years or so, it has slowly been phased out of architecture in favor of other programs like Autodesk Revit and Rhino. However, our interiors department is still using it to do their construction drawings, given their complex geometric design and AutoCADs ability to give the designer more control. It solves our issues of creating drawings when automation does not give the correct information.
  • Control Drawings
  • Universal Platform across disciplines
  • 3D Modeling
  • User Interface
While I would recommend any company has AutoCAD available, I would shy away from beginning new projects in AutoCAD, given the transition towards AutoDesk Revit. AutoCAD is excellent for interiors projects where we need to convey complicated furniture plans or details that cannot easily be modeled and drafted accurately. However, for larger architectural projects that require substantial coordination, I would much rather use BIM software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 05, 2020

AutoCAD: Nobody does better, but too many bugs!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to design yacht interiors, furniture designs, architectural drawings in general. It works, but has too many crashes.

  • Layers management
  • Dimensions and annotations
  • Layout
  • The hatches have always worked badly, there is no tolerance on the closures, everything must be perfect.
  • If you attack more than 10 Xref, everything becomes too slow, unmanageable.
  • The printing of many layouts, even in the background, is a nightmare. It's too slow, even with very powerful machines, in the AutoCAD engine it can be seen that it does not use the CPU.
  • There is no command to block the insertion of objects on zeta equal to 0, or an automatic command that brings an entire design and all its entities to z = 0. Other programs such as Rhinoceros, Microstatio, do have this.
  • The management of the scale of the hatches between layout and model is not simple. Most users with experience cannot use it.
  • The transition from model to layout is incredibly slow even on €8000 workstations, just like on a € 500 machine.
  • Many functions, rewrites in OS X work much better than in Windows.
AutoCAD is well suited for designs with few Xref and is not too heavy. Well suited for designs that do not have entities imported from other programs, such as Rhinoceros. Spline management is too limited. It's ideal for simple designs, not too complicated and without complex hatches.
Read this authenticated review
Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

AutoCAD does it best

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our firm uses AutoCAD across all 3 of our offices. We mainly use AutoCAD to layout two-dimensional plans for various building design projects. We first implemented the use of AutoCAD over 25 years ago to produce high-quality ink drawings to present to our clients.
  • AutoCAD is perfect to use when the graphic representation of objects are shown in multiple drawing locations. Then this graphic can be changed once and all occurrences will be automatically updated.
  • Using AutoCAD to draw plans is so much more efficient than drawing by hand. This is especially true when it comes to having to make changes. Everything can be done on the computer. There's no need to redraw or retrace the plan because with one command it's so easy to just make a digital copy of it.
  • AutoCAD supports not only two-dimensional drawings but also three-dimensional drawings. With a three dimensional model, a user can actually create walkthrus and flybys of the project instead of having to create a physical model.
  • AutoCAD cannot produce a drawing file that contains the needed building information for construction. It only offers various tools to create the needed drawings to communicate the design intent but not more than what is graphically shown.
  • Though AutoCAD offers many three-dimensional modeling tools, it is still not efficient. It is very difficult to stretch or modify three-dimensional objects especially after holes have been cut out of the object.
  • AutoCAD is missing a very important feature where it can be linked to third party spreadsheets like Microsoft Excel. Currently, there is no option where changes in an Excel spreadsheet can inform AutoCAD how to change the graphic objects to match.
AutoCAD is well suited for companies that need to mass produce lots of similar but different versions of a floor plan. With some minor tweaks and modifications, many floor plans can be generated that look very different graphically. But if you need to produce something that's very unique or an object that has a very odd and strange shape, then using AutoCAD would be less efficient.
Read Paul Li's full review
Austin Tuck | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

AutoCAD for Fire Suppresion

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is being used currently by our in house design team. Whether it be through BIM coordination, uploading models to our project management software or working through models as a group, AutoCAD has a primary function for our design team to complete the design for a Fire Suppression System.
  • All encompassing tool for designers to see and dissect models.
  • Is useful for Civil, Mechanical and Electrical systems.
  • It requires good training to get used to the tools.
  • Most problems cannot be solved through online help, but must schedule a time to meet with customer service.
Our company has started using Procore as a project management tool and we are having issues with Procore reading our PDFs we are creating from our AutoCAD drawings. Using the OCR requirement that Procore requires, we have created the PDFs through the publish command and also through Bluebeam and it works perfectly with AutoCAD to deliver timely information to the guys in the field.
Read Austin Tuck's full review
Daniel Quinn | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2019

AutoCAD review from a casual user

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used on a per case basis as required for an event. Typically as a business, we use 3D modeling software and pull AutoCAD out when complex 3D designs need to be completed more accurately. I prefer to design and measure in AutoCAD and export out for fancier rendering requirements. AutoCAD is a great design tool when accuracy is required.
  • Architectural design.
  • System flow design.
  • Material design and application.
  • The user interface has an extremely steep learning curve.
  • Blocks/symbols integration is sometimes hard to understand.
  • Limited material database.
AutoCAD isn't suited for abstract modelling and rendering work, where more artistic input is required with less accuracy. There are better products for that.
Read Daniel Quinn's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

AutoCAD, the universal standard in CAD drafting

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is widely used at my company. It is out main program for CAD drafting. Anything from detailed drawings to very schematic plans.
  • Precise line drawings.
  • Organization with sheets.
  • Freezing with hatching and other tasks.
  • Not great for 3D work.
Great for architects and designers for detailed construction drawings. Less suitable for conceptual/ pretty images.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Great for 2D!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is being used as the primary program for sending out construction sets and designing residential buildings within the firm. It is a small company, therefore there aren't a whole lot of departments, but it is being used by both the design team and the interior design team. It addresses design and construction problems for everyone on the team.
  • Produce construction drawings.
  • Lineweights and detailing ability.
  • 3D interface.
  • Ease of custom page size output.
I think that AutoCAD is very well suited when producing construction documents and drawings in 2D, like plans, sections, and elevations. I think it also needs to be implemented after the conceptual design phase is complete and you move more into the schematic design and have a more rigid idea of what the overall design will be. Also, it is not appropriate to use when outputting 3D models or drawings that are better suited coming from a 3D model.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

Easy to use and versatile 2D software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD as our primary 2D software and have been producing drawings and layouts for 30 years with it. It is mainly used in the engineering department, but other departments such as production and inspection use it as a tool to take measurements or produce their own layouts. It provides us with a stable platform to share CAD information between designers, engineers, and manufacturers.
  • Stable program without glitches or errors.
  • Versatile with other file formats.
  • 3D drafting is difficult and it can't compete with bigger 3D modeling software.
  • Problems with printing and setting up a plotter for all users to have access to.
AutoCAD is well suited to any engineering firm that has a need for 2D drawings. Even if 3D if the preferred style, not everything can be done in 3D. Quick layouts and charts will have to be done in a 2D format. Architectural firms can also have a huge use for AutoCAD since using a library or block is very easy to use and helps quite a bit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 28, 2019

AutoCAD, gets the job done

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used for floor drawings for our asbestos and lead inspections and abatement projects. It is also used for our engineering department for remediation design plans and to show where soil and groundwater contamination is expected on a site. We also use AutoCAD for Soil Management Plans, our Phase I and Phase II Environmental Site Inspections.
  • Allows for different layers to be turned on and off which allows more efficient drawing times.
  • Allows a border to be created that can be carried out onto multiple layouts, so when information is changed or added to the template, it is changed and matches all the other layouts so you save time when creating multiple drawings.
  • Can change the color of a layer which will change everything in that layer, so you don't have to go through and change objects one by one.
  • Making page setup/changing a page layout easier would be nice, now it is a challenge to change a page layout.
  • Switching from layers, turning layers on and off from the drop down option is frustrating because once you click on a layer to turn it on, the drop down box goes away, so you have to reclick on it, then find our layer again and continue what you are trying to do. Would be nice if the drop down box stayed open until you clicked outside of the drop down box.
Suited for floor plans and building plans as well as showing utilities, landscaping locations and blueprints of a site. Would be nice if it could geolocate so that the drawings are in almost a "real" setting. I know you can link your drawing to a Bing basemap, but the basemap doesn't always work or you need to update and if you are past the period that you can update then you are just out of luck.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

AutoCAD is not bad

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used by our design staff only. We use it to construct signal flow diagrams and for building plan overlays.
  • Precision
  • Industry standard
  • Expensive
  • Steep learning curve
AutoCAD is the undisputed industry standard for architectural or engineering work. It does exactly what you think it would.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 20, 2019

The Industry Standard

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Teaching students how to utilize software for both large projects and rapid prototyping. Developing skills that can be utilized in the real world. All students pursuing a career in engineering should definitely know how to use AutoCAD software, not only for personal use but as a skill to use for their company.
  • Great at creating cross sectional views of a wide variety of parts, showing both consumers and employees the design.
  • AutoCAD can be used to make creations for games, movies, but most importantly, the professional industry.
  • Many detailed and specific tools in AutoCAD allow one to easily create complex geometry and surfaces to help rapidly model creations.
  • Ease of isometric designing
  • Circle Creation Tool not performing as the user may want
It could be used for both commercial and consumer architectural design, personal design of small projects on is working on, or if somebody is doing a DIY project they found online. It's also great for creating quick designs that you want to laser cut in order to rapidly prototype manufactured parts for a product.
Read this authenticated review
Tony Dang | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 22, 2019

AutoCAD for the drawings

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is being used by our organization to produce engineering drawings for client approval and construction purposes. It is only being used by the drafting department, where all the engineers pass on their project details to get their ideas on paper. The business problem autoCAD addresses is the ability to provide formal documentation that is of a quality standard to the client.
  • 2D Engineering drawings.
  • Has a great ability to reference other documents within a drawing.
  • The ability to export the final drawing for client approval.
  • File size limitation for embedded objects.
  • User interface and customization.
AutoCAD is well suited to an office type environment where drawings are constantly being produced. Where it is less appropriate is for smaller organizations where drawings are not as vital, but CAD is required. The reasoning behind this is the fact that Autodesk has phased out perpetual licenses, making the cost of the software unjustifiable.
Read Tony Dang's full review
Bob Diaz | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 25, 2019

What happen with the Drafting Board?

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been teaching AutoCAD for over 30 years at the College of Southern Nevada. My students learn multiple disciplines to prepare them for their field of study.
  • Autodesk listens to users for improvements. AUGI submits a yearly wish list for improvements.
  • Backward compatibility. You can save drawings to most versions that have been around for over 15 years.
  • Can also save or export to multiple formats.
  • Multi-discipline
  • AutoCAD can be used for most engineering.
  • Cost
  • Keeping up with the changes.
  • 3D editing is a challenge
AutoCAD is the industry standard and is in demand for most companies looking for a CAD operator. Students learning AutoCAD will give them an advantage to getting hired. Although other CAD software is available, AutoCAD is in higher demand.
Read Bob Diaz's full review
Saransh Dikshit | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

Review for AutoCAD

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using AutoCAD for my research at Iowa State University. I used it for making 2D and 3D sketches of various things for which I later carried out finite element analysis. I used it to make buildings, towers and poles.
  • It has very good graphical user interface.
  • It has very good forums and help sections.
  • It gives you complete control over what you want to draw.
  • One can also code and draw sketches in it.
  • I think the help section could be improved.
  • For a beginner, there is a learning curve. Video tutorials can help combat this problem.
  • Other than this, I find that this software is really powerful and useful.
I have used it to make intricate drawings of buildings and poles. For making engineering drawings with different views of the model, this software is very well suited. It can be used to mark very fine details in your drawings by adding engineering annotations which signify the different components in a model. I didn't like this software for making 3D solids that much. I had issues with extruding the solids and getting a good representation of the model.
Read Saransh Dikshit's full review
Tyler Grudowski | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 25, 2019

AutoCAD -- the ONLY option for 2D CAD work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We do a lot of laser cutting at NoMo Diagnostics Inc. To do this, I use AutoCAD a lot. I draw out everything that I want to laser cut using AutoCAD before I print it. This is to make sure that what I am looking to laser cut looks correct and that it will cut correctly. The AutoCAD files are also used to send to the laser cutter to make it run.
  • AutoCAD allows you to output many different file types for all kinds of different functions.
  • It allows for the quick design of 2D parts if you do not want to load up SOLIDWORKS for larger, 3D parts.
  • The software helps you use a variety of shop tools, such as laser cutters and the shopbot.
  • AutoCAD could be easier to use; sometimes processes are very complicated.
  • I do not like the giant cursor that you use while drawing things in AutoCAD, it can get difficult to create smaller parts.
  • I also don't like the way that you select everything. Sometimes it is very hard to select all the things that I need to without selecting many other parts of a drawing as well.
AutoCAD is great if you do a lot of 2D drawings. It is also fantastic if you do a lot of laser cutting or use a shopbot or any other type of shop tool. It is the best program to get files drawn up to send over to one of these machines. You can also print straight from AutoCAD itself, which is extremely helpful.
Read Tyler Grudowski's full review
Mohit Prasad | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 23, 2019

Best for 2D Drafting work

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use this for designing different models and drafts of our project prototype. We also provide training in the field of design to engineering students. This is mainly used by the Mechanical and Electrical Design Department for 2D and 3D drafting as well as rendering. This helps us to provide proper dimensions for prototype development, training students about design concepts and 2D drafting.
  • Command line as well as GUI helps both new and professional users.
  • Simple commands and ribbon menu.
  • Block and data importing is easy.
  • Requires training for getting started with AutoCAD.
  • The use of TEXT and MTEXT properties are confusing.
For designing the 2D drafts it is one of the best software. But when it comes to detailing the drawing and designing the 3D models, the software can be bit improved. For getting started with the design work, I generally recommend this software so that people get familiar with the basics of the design process.
Read Mohit Prasad's full review
Tracy Burton | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2019

Solid software, industry standard for design work.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used for our design projects. It is used along with other software that does the 3D portion of designs but AutoCAD does the 2D portions. It works well and the administration side of things is extremely easy to manage.
  • 2D design work
  • Compatibility which was a big problem in older versions of the software.
  • It's what is taught in educational arenas which makes it easy to find employees with experience.
  • It can be a bit of a resource hog with multiple drawings open at once.
  • Sometimes getting new licenses takes a few days.
Works very well for our usage of the program. Compatibility and it being an industry standard makes it an easy choice.
Read Tracy Burton's full review
Nick Tanner | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 06, 2019

AutoCAD - Good introductory Design Application.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company uses AutoCAD to supplement other construction workflows. If and when digital plan files for projects are not done in a 3D workflow, we receive 2D DWG files. Survey and layout teams start with AutoCAD Civil files to establish points for project control. The Virtual Design and Construction Department uses CAD files from Mechanical, Electrical, Structural and Architectural disciplines for an overlay style coordination. Our Estimating Department will then have DWG files received from the design teams converted to PDF, so that they can do a quantity take-off review.
  • Layer management and organizing lots of information in one spot. This is helpful to see how things 'stack' up the various levels in a building.
  • File size usually remains fairly small.
  • External reference linking of other files, so that many people can work on different parts of a project at the same time.
  • For its primary use as a 2D design application, it works well.
  • Autodesk has done a great job of improving the product over its very long product lifecycle.
Its a great application for quick sketches or basic layouts of something where simple linework would be the best scenario.
Read Nick Tanner's full review
Arlex Guzman | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

The aroma of first love

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used AutoCAD since 1998 when I was finishing high school. I started with the version of AutoCAD 12 for MS DOS. I found it fascinating, when the Windows version came I loved it even more. I specialized, I got to develop routines and programs in AutoLISP. In 2004 when I used SolidWorks, AutoCAD happened to play a more specific and less preponderant role in my professional career. Today in our company the use of AutoCAD focuses on the development of 2D drawings in the .dxf format required for the CNC application of a TRUMPF punching machine, which makes it a very important tool for the manufacturing of sheet metal parts.
  • AutoCAD is one of the oldest CAD platforms, AutoDesk owes its success and prestige to it.
  • Its use is very simple.
  • It is necessary to understand that AutoCAD is a non-design drawing platform.
  • AutoCAD has evolved and matured but I think that AutoDesk must decide if it continues to strengthen its 3D modeling capabilities or if it definitely leaves those functions to Autodesk Inventor.
It's simple, I see AutoCAD being introduced to users need to CAD and/or any industry where 2D drawing plays an important role, such as in the fabrication of sheet metal components.
Read Arlex Guzman's full review
Todd Butts | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

AutoCAD - Love to hate it!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use AutoCAD pretty much every day, whether it's for customers or something internally. We use it to for different reasons. Sometimes it's just to explain a process or steps to do something more clearly, and other times it's submitting to customers to solve a problem.
  • AutoCAD gives the user the flexibility to do whatever they want. It can be as simple as possible, or conversely very detailed and complicated.
  • AutoCAD pretty much does what you tell it to do. You have to know how to manipulate the settings, in order for AutoCAD to do what you want.
  • AutoCAD dimensions with 100% accuracy, allowing precise information to the user.
  • The help section is very detailed. Showing steps and images. AutoCAD has a huge learning curve, and a person just cannot remember it all. It's a really good reference.
  • One major flaw in AutoCAD is hatching. It gets confused when calculating the areas that you want to hatch. When the area is not closed, it hatches too much, or errors out. There should be a setting to be able to still hatch the area intended when it's not closed with a tolerance setting. Kind of like fill the gaps smaller than .0625".
  • When editing MTEXT, AutoCAD automatically edits in uppercase or lowercase, depending on what it was previously set to. Sometimes, you want the opposite. If you have a line of text in uppercase, but you want a word in lowercase, you have to hold down shift.
  • One of my rules is to never explode dimensions. But, sometimes you have to. There should be a way to explode a dimension, do your edit, then reattach all the entities of the dimension. This would be a really nice feature.
AutoCAD can be used for 2d drawings as well as 3d drawings for anything that you need to draw, in all levels of detail. It can be very simple or very complex. It's all up to the user.
A scenario where it would be inappropriate is collision detection. Entities cannot tell when another entity is touching.
Read Todd Butts's full review

About AutoCAD

AutoCAD is a CAD product from Autodesk. It allows designers to work in 2D and 3D, and has extensive online collaboration tools.

AutoCAD Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No