Skip to main content
TrustRadius
AutoCAD

AutoCAD

Overview

What is AutoCAD?

AutoCAD is a CAD product from Autodesk. It allows designers to work in 2D and 3D, and is available on Windows and Mac, but with extensive online collaboration tools.

Read more
Recent Reviews

TrustRadius Insights

AutoCAD is a versatile software widely used in various industries for its ability to create detailed 2D and 3D models. Many users rely on …
Continue reading

AutoCAD Review

10 out of 10
October 26, 2023
AutoCAD is one of the most used software for desigining and and preparing the civil Engineering design in my firm. As of AutoCAD I use it …
Continue reading

A review of AutoCAD

9 out of 10
September 18, 2023
We use AutoCAD for 2D drafting, and creating drawing deliverables for multiple clients. We import data from other engineering/design …
Continue reading

Well oriented tool

8 out of 10
December 27, 2021
This is one of the best software for preparing engineering drawings. It has many features for preparing drawings for clients. 1. Preparing …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Monthly Subscription

$245

On Premise
per month per user

Yearly Subscription

$1975

On Premise
per year per user

3-Year Subscription

$5925

On Premise
3 years per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.autodesk.com/products/autoc…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Starting price (does not include set up fee)

  • $245 per month
Return to navigation

Product Demos

AutoCAD 2010 Demo: Block Tables

YouTube

AutoCAD 2010 Demo: 3D Printing

YouTube

Demo AutoCAD 2010 en Español

YouTube

AutoCAD 2010 Demo: PDF Output

YouTube

AutoCAD 2010 Demo: PDF Underlay

YouTube

AutoCAD Architecture 2010 Demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is AutoCAD?

AutoCAD is a CAD product from Autodesk. It allows designers to work in 2D and 3D, and is available on Windows and Mac, but with extensive online collaboration tools.

It can be used to
  • Design and annotate 2D geometry and 3D models with solids, surfaces, and mesh objects
  • Automate tasks such as comparing drawings, replacing blocks, counting objects, creating schedules, and more
  • Create a customized workspace to maximize productivity with add-on apps and API

AutoCAD includes 7 toolsets:

  • Architecture toolset
  • Mechanical toolset
  • Map 3D toolset
  • MEP toolset
  • Electrical toolset
  • Plant 3D toolset
  • Raster Design toolset

Key Features of AutoCAD 2024 now include:

  • Smart Blocks - Automatically place blocks based on previous placements or quickly find and replace existing blocks
  • My Insights - Faster project completion with helpful tips and features from My Insights
  • Floating windows - Displays drawing windows side by side or on multiple monitors within the same instance of AutoCAD
  • Activity Insights - Keeps the user informed of recent changes to a shared DWG through an activity log
  • Drawing History - Comparison of past and present versions of a drawing to see how work has evolved
  • Sharing - A controlled copy of a drawing can be sent to teammates and colleagues for viewing or editing from anywhere
  • Markup Import and Markup Assist - Imported feedback from paper or PDFs and add changes automatically, without altering an existing drawing
  • AutoCAD anytime, anywhere - CAD drawings can be created, edited, and viewed with a browser using AutoCAD on mobile or on web
  • Push to Autodesk Docs - CAD drawing sheets can be pushed as PDFs directly from AutoCAD to Autodesk Docs

AutoCAD Videos

Introducing AutoCAD
Introducing AutoCAD 2023
Introducing AutoCAD 2024

AutoCAD Competitors

AutoCAD Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise
Operating SystemsWindows, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

AutoCAD is a CAD product from Autodesk. It allows designers to work in 2D and 3D, and is available on Windows and Mac, but with extensive online collaboration tools.

AutoCAD starts at $245.

ZWCAD, BricsCAD, and FreeCAD are common alternatives for AutoCAD.

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.

The most common users of AutoCAD are from Small Businesses (1-50 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(548)
Loading...

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 82)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
October 26, 2023

AutoCAD Review

Osman Shaikh | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AutoCAD is one of the most used software for desigining and and preparing the civil Engineering design in my firm. As of AutoCAD I use it daily for projects. The pros of software are- It helped me prepare drawings on large scale with ease and in short period of time. the commands are easily acessible. Most of the basic drawings or say the first ever drawing of project to be prepare is done on AutoCAD. And the cons I would like to say is a large projects gets hang using hatches on large scale and aslo the 3D modelling in AutoCAD also lags some time with respective of quantity of project. the hatch lag is the most problem I face. I hope it changes soon
  • Well I love the way its all commands work
  • The Layers and properties style is very helpful for differentation
  • The page setup and Layout styles plus the use of dynamic Blocks
  • It need to work on lags caused due to Hatches
  • Need to work on 3D modelling material renders and its animations
  • Also for 3D modelling it has to prepare some easy shortcuts keys abd the command acces
Well for me I regulary use AutoCAD as I all my clients prefer AutoCAD to complete their drawings. So based on Data AotoCAD is used for Engineering Designs and most use it as logo provigind service as well. So mostly AutoCAD is used as Desigining and drafting software as you can Draft anything using it. Well the less appropiate for creating 3D models as pepole prefer high defination details of models so. i wouls say a 3D model in AutoCAD would be less useful.
September 18, 2023

A review of AutoCAD

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use AutoCAD for 2D drafting, and creating drawing deliverables for multiple clients. We import data from other engineering/design programs that don't have great (or any) drafting capabilities to output clean, readable prints for clients to use in office or out on site. AutoCAD accepts many different inputs and allows for great collaboration between other disciplines.
  • Design and Drafting
  • Site Planning
  • Quantity Estimation
  • Visualisation and Rendering
  • User Interface Customisation: AutoCAD's user interface could benefit from more robust customisation options. Allowing users to rearrange toolbars, menus, and panels according to their specific workflows and preferences would enhance productivity.
  • Enhanced 3D Modeling Tools: While AutoCAD is capable of 3D modeling, it's not as intuitive or feature-rich as dedicated 3D modeling software. Streamlining the process and adding more advanced modeling tools would be a welcome improvement.
  • Enhanced Collaboration and Version Control: AutoCAD could improve its collaboration tools, such as real-time editing and version tracking, to facilitate smoother teamwork, especially in multi-disciplinary projects.
  • Intelligent Object Libraries: AutoCAD could benefit from an expanded and more intelligent library of standard objects and components. This would save time for designers who often have to create custom components from scratch.
I think AutoCAD is great for creating precise site plans that show the layout of buildings, roads, parking lots, and other features on a piece of land. you can use it for designing roads and highways, including lane configurations, intersections, signage, and pavement markings, as well as for designing utility systems like water, sewer, and stormwater drainage. Engineers can create detailed layouts and profiles for these systems. However, I think it is less appropriate for advanced 3D modelling tasks compared to dedicated 3D modelling software, BIM (Building Information Modelling), advanced geospatial analysis.
Janeil Harricharan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I used AutoCAD in the period to be accept for employment at a mechanical and electrical engineering company. They were using the software to design electrical solutions for their company, such as circuit boards, breaker boxes and circuit diagrams. An engineer would take client specifications, come up with a design then hand it over to the AutoCAD drafter to visualize the design. Once it looked operable, their shop team would then build the end product.
  • Drafting
  • Clear System Requirements
  • Keyboard Shortcuts
  • Visual Standard to older versions
  • System optimization
  • User Interface
  • User Intuitive
  • Flexibility of end user
AutoCAD is a good applicant for most technical drawing needs. The additional version of the software cover electrical wiring, and even architectural design. Someone who knows what they're doing and has a good grasp of the software will be able to create the appropriate solutions that they need.

This software is not suited for beginners, someone less technologically inclined and someone who doesn't memorize shortcuts, workspace setups and understands system requirements. Simple things such as viewports and layers can confuse a new user and even one with basic understanding of AutoCAD. Training and education is required to use this software.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
In my workflow the use of AutoCAD is extremely important, not only on the beginning of every project but also on the development of the following steps. At this point, the resourcefull library of commands available on AutoCAD makes the drawing process much easier and intuitive in comparison to other drawing software. This one of the main reasons why I have always choose to work with AutoCAD on the development of my projects.
  • simple but very well organised interface for users
  • very intuitive comands that make the workflow with the software very easy, also for starter users without too many experience
  • the software responds very well to large and hard to read files, without slowing down or interrupting the workflow due to reading erros that normaly disrupt users and make the experience with the software more stressfull
  • improvements on the 3D modelling area, making the interface easier to deal with
  • an easier possibility to change the language settings of the software
  • improving the array command, making it more easier to handle with, considering that it often causes unespected erros to the software, interrupting the constant worflow
when it comes to almost all drawing components of an architectural or engineering project, AutoCAD is definitely one of the most suitable softwares in the world to use, due to its very intuitive and well organized layout and user interface, making the workflow with the software very easy. Otherwise, when it comes to the 3d visualization of projects, it is necessary to use other software like ARCHICAD and Revit, which are more oriented to the 3D components of a project and therefore are more suited for this type of visualization
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We do our construction sets on AutoCAD. We draw our plans, sections, elevations, and detailing all from the same file.
  • Plans
  • Elevations
  • Sections
  • Sheet layouts
  • Library storage
  • 3D Rendering from plans
It takes a longer time than other programs because you have to draw line by line. Whereas other programs allow you to draw plans and the program itself generates a model that allows you to get elevations and sections. Works well with other people opening the same file.
Ashish Mathur | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are using Autocad for 2D drafting purposes first of all and after that, we are using the extension of it called Autocad Fabrication. We are solving construction-related problems with the help of this software. We are using it to convert the 2D floor plans of a building and its associated services like Plumbing, HVAC, and Fire protection to 3D models with the help of the Fabrication Database. The scope holds the use in construction help by generating real-time model and associated bill of materials for various building installations. It is helping greatly in reducing the construction time as well as cost by determining various future problems of the construction.
  • Detail drawing.
  • Shop drawings.
  • Bill of material.
  • Spool drawings.
  • Model export.
  • Automating the processes a bit.
  • Decrease number of steps for execution.
  • Working multiple people on single files at realtime.
This software suits best at accuracy which is required in fabrication work. As the parts needed to fabricate they need to be dimensioned up to the parts of inches and that work is done perfectly with the help of the fabrication part. Although the manual commands need to execute each task are way lengthier than other similar platforms. This meets the requirements in terms of output required but lacks in automating the processes.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
With AutoCAD you have the ability to quickly design just about anything, with blocks being easily generated, 3D capability helps with those who find it difficult to visualize parts and or mechanisms. Once drawn and saved blocks ensure virtually faultless product development across all facets like laser cutting, bending and assemblies.
  • Blocks
  • User friendly
  • Intuitive
  • Scale ability
  • Cost
  • Adding a costing centre
  • Nesting capability
I have used a large number of CAD and other drawing packages like TurboCAD, CorelCAD, Draftsight, Inkscape and CorelDRAW to name a few. Although there are a number of free and cheaper options, AutoCAD is the industry standard or benchmark, user friendly GUI (Graphical User Interface), online help is usually easy to get.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use AutoCAD for making changes and additions to existing jobs as it was our legacy software before we switched to Visio. We have over 4,000 jobs with multiple AutoCAD files so it's a pretty extensive database, complete with customized templates for our equipment and controls. We use it for the design and creation of HVAC control drawings.
  • 2D drawing
  • Ability to run macros and custom templates.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Shortcut keys for legacy users who learned without using the mouse for everything.
  • Does not integrate changes across multiple files.
  • Does not compile data across multiple files.
  • Some menu options are from older versions and could be reorganized better.
If you are heavily invested in 2D design or need to make simple shop drawings or manufacturing of less complex parts, AutoCAD would be a good choice. It also works well for sketching ideas and is fairly customizable. You can build templates and run macros to suit your needs although there are better options out there for that specifically. If you are wanting 3d in any form, you will be disappointed with AutoCAD's capabilities.
Abhijeet Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We used AutoCAD for Bim modeling purposes. We create 3D models of building services like HVAC, plumbing, fire protection from this software. We create a spool drawing and 2d sheet for the construction site and a 2d sheet for detailed connection of plumbing and HVAC. We are using AutoCAD for basic training in designing.
  • HVAC duct design and modeling.
  • Fire protection pipe design and modeling and same for plumbing.
  • 2D sheet creation and spool drawing.
  • Software charges i think this software is to be free for learning purpose.
  • Student version should be add some more features.
  • Model should be glue with Bim blue like Revit.
This is a good platform to work and learn. We can do business in the BIM field like a whole project of modeling and creation of 2d sheets for constant and creating 3d models for coordination in Navisworks. We can give training to our trainees from this software because of its simple interface.
VIKAS RANA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
AutoCAD serves my design needs very well. The user interface is very elaborate. The tools are well positioned. The 2D modeling on this software is super powerful. I personally prefer AutoCAD for designing 2D drafts before developing 3D objects from them. I use it daily for developing all the drafts of new designs that come through me.
  • 2D drafting
  • Boundary-free designing
  • Integration with other programs
  • Easy to import and export files
  • The 3D design part of AutoCAD is not very proficient.
  • 3D render environment needs some improvements.
  • It is a bit expensive for a beginner's startup.
AutoCAD is best suited for people who are more interested in doing 2D drafting than designing the real part in a 3D environment. It is well suited to design pipeline layouts before installing pipelines in real time. It gives me the opportunity to rethink my layout design beforehand. On the other hand, AutoCAD is not at all suited to study the flow of fluid through the pipelines. I use other software for that purpose.
December 27, 2021

Well oriented tool

Mahmoud obaid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
This is one of the best software for preparing engineering drawings. It has many features for preparing drawings for clients. 1. Preparing 2D & 3D drawings which are good for drafting. 2. Conversation to pdf option is available. 3. One can easily share or upload the AutoCAD Design file with multiple people. 4. I can make engineering plans using AutoCAD. 5. Every detail of the plan can be shown using this software.
  • 2D & 3D Drafting.
  • Its interface is user-friendly.
  • Boundless area to create and design.
  • Using it for 3D models isn't easy and quite difficult.
  • While transferring Data from some other design software to AutoCAD, the layers won't be addressed correctly.
If you are planning for 2D drafting, then AutoCAD is the best option such as designing buildings, infrastructure, HVAC & MEP all related civil works. One of the amazing benefits is a boundless area to create and design anything you would like to do. Limitless possibilities for different designs. Unfortunately, using it for 3D models isn't easy and quite difficult since you need to add for each item a certain block, hence you will have a family. Using it for 3D projects won't help too much and clients don't like presenting their projects " if it was 3D" using AutoCAD.
November 02, 2021

2d AutoCAD design KING

DHIRAJ PATEL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We use AutoCAD for design [purposes] in [the] laser cutting industry. We design machine parts, covers, designer gates and windows, decorative items, etc. It is very handy software to do 2d and wireframe designing of objects and sheet metal parts that we can cut on a laser cutting machine. AutoCAD helps us to nest parts in metal sheet and give very efficient nesting work too.
  • 2d designing
  • Wire frame design
  • Sheet-metal work
  • Nesting
  • Dimension marking
  • Hatch function
  • Snap fuction
It is used for some complicated design work such as big sheet metal design parts. AutoCAD helps to [redefine] parts that were designed in 3d and it can flatten all parts [for] cutting and bending. Also, nesting parts in a specific [dimension] sheet is easy too. We can manage big design child parts very easily in AutoCAD.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I am using Autocad in my organization in the department of interior design for educational purpose. Autocad is a great learning software, which helps budding interior designers to enhance their design skills digitally and make their work easy and efficient.
  • Makes planning and layouts easy
  • 3D modelling and visualization
  • Accurate measurements of drawings
  • Provides blueprint of layouts
  • User interface can be more intuitive
  • More furniture templates should be added
  • Export and file formats are too limited
For planning layouts AutoCAD is the right choice, whereas for 3D visualizations it is not recommended.
Joyce Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I utilize AutoCAD for easy super fast engineering documentation, easy to manage multiple project drawings. On 2D drawing and drafting I recommend the tool to any engineers out there for a great drafting experience. AutoCAD also can be relied on for easy drawing, detailing and editing.
  • The easy drafting experience.
  • Engineering 2D documentation capability.
  • Easy implementation of the CAD tool.
  • Ability to import large files.
  • Large 3D design manipulation.
  • Misbehaving especially when installed on a less specifications machine.
AutoCAD capabilities like drafting and drawings detailing are effective and useful on project drawing detailing, and also 2D drawings production for various engineering projects. Importing other CAD tools files and the engineering project document and drawing management.
June 02, 2021

King of CADs

Alejandro Daniel Copati | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD Software is used practically throughout the company, developing layout models for industries. Our company sells machines and AutoCAD allows us to provide the service of accommodating them in the client's workshop, presenting detailed plans of where and what space each one occupies, thus improving the flow of raw materials and finished products.
  • Good workspaces
  • Tools are easy to use
  • Lot of Shortcuts
  • Accepted in the industry
  • Sometimes you have to have a very powerful PC to run some projects.
  • There are so many tools that sometimes it becomes difficult to find them.
AutoCAD is suitable for use in the technical office, where 2D plans of work plants, part diagrams, or any other type of CAD development are developed.
It is widely accepted in the industry so its use is practically universal when exchanging files with clients or suppliers.
However, due to its complexity of use and the amount of resources that the software uses, it is sometimes not so comfortable to use when making a quick sketch or for some real-time demonstration.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD is being used directly by my department and indirectly by the whole organization. AutoCAD is used to show each floor's architectural, furniture, and equipment layout for each building. All the building floor layouts are then shown on a web-based Location Management System (LMS) where locations of assets (such as desks and equipment) are placed, which the whole organization references for their need.
  • AutoCAD has tools used to represent spaces and objects accurately and precisely
  • AutoCAD has been the foundation for other tools like Civil 3D, Revit and Inventor
  • AutoCAD has tools to help you draw, modify, and organize the spaces and objects you want to digitally represent
  • AutoCAD has straight and spline leaders. It is missing arc leaders.
  • AutoCAD can count instances of all or selected blocks (or symbols). It does not count dynamic blocks.
  • AutoCAD viewports have grips for stretching, moving, and changing scale. They are missing grips to add a vertex/segment and convert to an arc/line segment.
AutoCAD is appropriate for representing spaces and objects accurately, precisely, and to scale. It is not appropriate to free-hand sketching, drawing, or abstract painting. It is also not appropriate for information specific intelligent 3D modeling.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD is used on a daily bases for making presentation line drawings, doing conceptual design, and some detailed design tasks for parts. We also use AutoCAD to generate CNC plasma table cutting patterns for sheet metal parts. I use AutoCAD in nest planning and material usage estimation on some occasions as well.
  • Drafting
  • Drawing modification
  • Sheet metal part out
Perfect for 2D design tasks, object snap feature is nicely designed and very efficient, software is well optimized and runs quick with less lag--important for repetitive mouse strokes. UI design is well sorted so it's easy to start up as a first-time user. Working space is fully customizable and less buggy.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD is used on a large scale by hundreds of users. Basically, everyone is using 2D; some users also use Inventor for 3D needs. Some departments use AutoCAD to create detail and elevation drawings, other departments create [a] plan and title sheets, and others work on embedded files. All of these mentioned above are 2D drawings as required by architects. AutoCAD is also used to create sheet sets [that manage] the documentation very well. This workflow proved to be one of the best management solution[s] for Autocad. You can also use Vault Professional to escalate your management needs to the next level. AutoCAD / Vault workflow is great!
  • Dimensioning
  • Paper space
  • Layout plans
  • Good sofwtare to open any 2D dwg used in other software
  • Sheet set
  • It needs more help in 3D world, eventually some parametric support
  • Better connection with Revit or Inventor
  • Dynamic blocks could get some updates
  • Parameters can be more developed; excel capabilities could be added
  • Sheet set could be more evolved to support a workflow involving data management
AutoCAD is the best solution for a 2D drawing; also [a] great tool for a layout design. Our people create proficient details and elevation drawings without any difficulty. Some users use parameters to make it smarter and update faster. Excel capabilities could be added to enhance the results. AutoCAD provides a great solution in management files by using Sheet Set. Also using Vault Data management could be a viable solution. Using templates in AutoCAD is a MUST. If you [don't] use them you lose a lot. That automates your workflow adding stability to your work.
AutoCAD can be used as 2D sketches in Inventor to create 3D parts. AutoCAD drawings can be copied or referenced so the established relation helps the 3D to be automatically updated when AutoCAD 2D drawing changes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
[AutoCAD] is a great software with respect to its functionality. The 2d architectural function is commonly used in [the] company. [It is] being utilized for making layout of installation of new plants and their execution according to the dimensional working. The plot presentation option [is] also very good.
  • It has strong 2D and 3D design sketch pad which also can be used as isometrically.
  • It has has the great layout of the tools.
  • To convert drawing in PDF it requires the pdf software individually in the system however it should have [its] own pdf viewer in order to check the print view margins according to the printer.
AutoCAD is best suited for the engineering design industry who are [making] the conceptual research and development for executing the soft prototypes. It is best for architectural design, mechanical drawing, [and] civil works.
April 09, 2021

AutoCAD Review

Oliver Philippe Goulart Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD is used across most groups in the engineering department. In most groups it is used as the main design tool to produce drawings and deliverables. In my group it is used mostly to develop vehicles turn radius studies and to analyze traffic flow within a site. A secondary use our group has for AutoCAD is as a middle man for file conversions between many software with formats we cannot bring into Revit directly. So we export to AutoCAD and then load the DWG. files into Revit.
  • Precision dimensions.
  • Multi software compatibility.
  • Vehicle turn radius and traffic tools.
  • Easy export.
  • 2D and 3D are developed separately.
  • Fatal Error is common.
  • Limited integrated information to design.
I recommend AutoCAD as a universal receiver and donor for project file types.
Adrienne Gould-Choquette, P.E. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
As the Principal Engineer, I use AutoCAD daily for HVAC Design. I also use an AutoCAD addon called DesignMaster to perform specific HVAC Engineering tasks like load calculations, outside air calculations, and duct design and layout. AutoCAD allows my small business to produce high quality, easy to interpret engineering drawings for my clients.
  • The more I use it, the more I customize my drawings, the more beautiful they become.
  • AutoCAD has a seemingly infinite number of tools and features.
  • Because the user base is so large, there are so many resources to problem solve and learn new features.
  • AutoCAD can be very s-l-o-w. My computer spec's exceeded those listed on AutoCAD's website, but I think their requirements may be under specified.
  • It's a bit pricey - but for what it does, I really don't mind the investment.
  • Some glitches that AutoCAD knows about seem to never be resolved. Forums show the same question is asked over years of new releases.
  • Anyone in my industry not using AutoCAD is producing a sub-par product.
  • I recently had a tile installer ask what software I used to do the conceptual isometric of our bathroom renovation. I told her I used AutoCAD but certainly did not recommend it for her purposes based on the expense or the time required to learn the software. It is sophisticated software, not recommended if only using for simple sketches.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use AutoCAD to draw and edit technical drawings that aid our staff in accurate implementation of technical solutions. There are two main uses, technical floor plans/rigging plans or drawings for permanent installation work which is draw onto existing building plans. We use AutoCAD across the entire business although there are only a few who are our "Tech Drawers."
  • Fast drawing if you know what you're doing.
  • VERY flexible.
  • Keyboard commands and shortcuts keep users off the mouse.
  • Industry standard .DWG file type is easily transferable to other companies.
  • Steep learning curve for those with no CAD experience.
  • Text is generally a bit annoying, there are many options for size.
  • Going from 2d to 3d is a big step.
AutoCAD is great in situations where you need accurate technical drawing with industry standard markups, it helps us work with building and architect businesses as we are using the same software solution as them. For the basic uses that we do, for example, the floor plans, drawing these with AutoCAD is sort of like killing an ant with a hammer, while AutoCAD offers a great many features, we only use a portion of them in our day to day drawings. However, having the extra features and the skills with an industry standard software on hand is far more valuable.
April 09, 2021

AutoCAD review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use AutoCAD mainly to keep track of our production environment floor plans and edit and swam equipment when we need to. It is really only a 2D software for us, as we use other 3D modeling software to visualize components and hardware. If a customer absolutely has to send us documentation in AutoCAD, we accept it and translate it to another software for use and manipulation.
  • 2D drawings and schematics.
  • Lab organization and layout.
  • Manufacturing floor layout and design.
  • Hard to use the 3D instance
  • Engineering of our products make s it difficult to draw from a model.
  • Other software is already set up and difficult to displace internally.
Mainly only suited for us in lab and manufacturing facility layouts. The general shape of objects and ability to drag and move them around is our main use of this software internally. We have much more 3D modeling work needed for our main products and have an easier time rendering them into a usable format for structural simulation and analysis in another software package. Due to this fact, I do not recommend for mechanical engineering work.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
AutoCAD is used for the development of architectural and interior projects, to represent plans in 2d, detailing furniture and construction elements, among others. It is widely used with main software among architects, engineers and designers and for this reason it is always better to operate through it to exchange files between teams.
  • Work with layers.
  • 3d representation.
  • Commands and shortcuts.
  • Software price.
  • Tools usability.
  • Files size.
AutoCAD is suitable for creating robust projects that will require interoperability between teams and that need to use common software and AutoCAD ends up being the most used in the market. When it is necessary to create a project that integrates 3D and material calculation, it becomes easier and less bureaucratic to use other software on the market.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use AutoCAD for existing conditions documentation, 2D drawings and details, annotation, sheet layout, and PDF creation for architectural projects. It is an integral part of our office workflow and allows us to easily create templates and base drawings to export for use in 3D modeling software for design development.
  • Easy to use in field to quickly document existing floor plans.
  • Industry standard allows for easy collaboration with consultants.
  • The subscription model allows for easy scaling if personnel needs change based on workload.
  • Steep learning curve means downtime if training is needed.
  • Relatively expensive, especially if not the main software in office workflow.
  • Complex drawing files tend to become unstable and crash frequently, especially if hatching is used.
For all of its faults, AutoCAD is the industry standard for 2D CAD drawings. It is appropriate for single users, small offices, or large firms. CAD libraries are easily developed and shared over networks or via the cloud. Scaling and collaboration with consultants is easy.
Return to navigation