AutoCAD

AutoCAD

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.3 out of 100
Top Rated
AutoCAD

Overview

Recent Reviews

AutoCAD, benchmark software

8 out of 10
May 10, 2022
With AutoCAD you have the ability to quickly design just about anything, with blocks being easily generated, 3D capability helps with …
Continue reading

Well oriented tool

8 out of 10
December 27, 2021
This is one of the best software for preparing engineering drawings. It has many features for preparing drawings for clients. 1. Preparing …
Continue reading

AutoCAD is the best

10 out of 10
May 12, 2021
AutoCAD is used on a daily bases for making presentation line drawings, doing conceptual design, and some detailed design tasks for parts. …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2020

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of AutoCAD, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing

Single-User License

$210.00

Cloud
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is AutoCAD?

AutoCAD is a CAD product from Autodesk. It allows designers to work in 2D and 3D, and has extensive online collaboration tools.

AutoCAD Video

Introducing AutoCAD

AutoCAD Technical Details

Deployment TypesSaaS
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Reviews and Ratings

 (450)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 78)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With AutoCAD you have the ability to quickly design just about anything, with blocks being easily generated, 3D capability helps with those who find it difficult to visualize parts and or mechanisms. Once drawn and saved blocks ensure virtually faultless product development across all facets like laser cutting, bending and assemblies.
  • Blocks
  • User friendly
  • Intuitive
  • Scale ability
  • Cost
  • Adding a costing centre
  • Nesting capability
I have used a large number of CAD and other drawing packages like TurboCAD, CorelCAD, Draftsight, Inkscape and CorelDRAW to name a few. Although there are a number of free and cheaper options, AutoCAD is the industry standard or benchmark, user friendly GUI (Graphical User Interface), online help is usually easy to get.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD for making changes and additions to existing jobs as it was our legacy software before we switched to Visio. We have over 4,000 jobs with multiple AutoCAD files so it's a pretty extensive database, complete with customized templates for our equipment and controls. We use it for the design and creation of HVAC control drawings.
  • 2D drawing
  • Ability to run macros and custom templates.
  • User friendly interface.
  • Shortcut keys for legacy users who learned without using the mouse for everything.
  • Does not integrate changes across multiple files.
  • Does not compile data across multiple files.
  • Some menu options are from older versions and could be reorganized better.
If you are heavily invested in 2D design or need to make simple shop drawings or manufacturing of less complex parts, AutoCAD would be a good choice. It also works well for sketching ideas and is fairly customizable. You can build templates and run macros to suit your needs although there are better options out there for that specifically. If you are wanting 3d in any form, you will be disappointed with AutoCAD's capabilities.
Abhijeet Kumar | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AutoCAD for Bim modeling purposes. We create 3D models of building services like HVAC, plumbing, fire protection from this software. We create a spool drawing and 2d sheet for the construction site and a 2d sheet for detailed connection of plumbing and HVAC. We are using AutoCAD for basic training in designing.
  • HVAC duct design and modeling.
  • Fire protection pipe design and modeling and same for plumbing.
  • 2D sheet creation and spool drawing.
  • Software charges i think this software is to be free for learning purpose.
  • Student version should be add some more features.
  • Model should be glue with Bim blue like Revit.
This is a good platform to work and learn. We can do business in the BIM field like a whole project of modeling and creation of 2d sheets for constant and creating 3d models for coordination in Navisworks. We can give training to our trainees from this software because of its simple interface.
VIKAS RANA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD serves my design needs very well. The user interface is very elaborate. The tools are well positioned. The 2D modeling on this software is super powerful. I personally prefer AutoCAD for designing 2D drafts before developing 3D objects from them. I use it daily for developing all the drafts of new designs that come through me.
  • 2D drafting
  • Boundary-free designing
  • Integration with other programs
  • Easy to import and export files
  • The 3D design part of AutoCAD is not very proficient.
  • 3D render environment needs some improvements.
  • It is a bit expensive for a beginner's startup.
AutoCAD is best suited for people who are more interested in doing 2D drafting than designing the real part in a 3D environment. It is well suited to design pipeline layouts before installing pipelines in real time. It gives me the opportunity to rethink my layout design beforehand. On the other hand, AutoCAD is not at all suited to study the flow of fluid through the pipelines. I use other software for that purpose.
December 27, 2021

Well oriented tool

Mahmoud obaid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is one of the best software for preparing engineering drawings. It has many features for preparing drawings for clients. 1. Preparing 2D & 3D drawings which are good for drafting. 2. Conversation to pdf option is available. 3. One can easily share or upload the AutoCAD Design file with multiple people. 4. I can make engineering plans using AutoCAD. 5. Every detail of the plan can be shown using this software.
  • 2D & 3D Drafting.
  • Its interface is user-friendly.
  • Boundless area to create and design.
  • Using it for 3D models isn't easy and quite difficult.
  • While transferring Data from some other design software to AutoCAD, the layers won't be addressed correctly.
If you are planning for 2D drafting, then AutoCAD is the best option such as designing buildings, infrastructure, HVAC & MEP all related civil works. One of the amazing benefits is a boundless area to create and design anything you would like to do. Limitless possibilities for different designs. Unfortunately, using it for 3D models isn't easy and quite difficult since you need to add for each item a certain block, hence you will have a family. Using it for 3D projects won't help too much and clients don't like presenting their projects " if it was 3D" using AutoCAD.
November 02, 2021

2d AutoCAD design KING

DHIRAJ PATEL | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD for design [purposes] in [the] laser cutting industry. We design machine parts, covers, designer gates and windows, decorative items, etc. It is very handy software to do 2d and wireframe designing of objects and sheet metal parts that we can cut on a laser cutting machine. AutoCAD helps us to nest parts in metal sheet and give very efficient nesting work too.
  • 2d designing
  • Wire frame design
  • Sheet-metal work
  • Nesting
  • Dimension marking
  • Hatch function
  • Snap fuction
It is used for some complicated design work such as big sheet metal design parts. AutoCAD helps to [redefine] parts that were designed in 3d and it can flatten all parts [for] cutting and bending. Also, nesting parts in a specific [dimension] sheet is easy too. We can manage big design child parts very easily in AutoCAD.
kifaya lahham | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are at our company use AutoCAD program in our engineering Department, also we use it with other companies such as (subcontractors, consultant, suppliers for installation purposes,....) there are no major problems except that drawings in updated version cant be opened in older version so it will take some time to ask for any amendment especially if there is an urgent issue.
  • printing options in all paper sizes
  • custom object
  • array
  • AutoCAD 2D
  • Visibility mode
  • difficult to learn specially for students
  • some times drawing hang and may be crashed
As an electrical engineer in a construction company, this software helps too much in understanding any project. it easy to amend and redraw the shop drawings after execution in Jordan most contractors are using AutoCAD not other design programs it is easy to print the drawings in all paper sizes. less appropriate: when receiving a drawing in an updated version and can not open it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Autocad in my organization in the department of interior design for educational purpose. Autocad is a great learning software, which helps budding interior designers to enhance their design skills digitally and make their work easy and efficient.
  • Makes planning and layouts easy
  • 3D modelling and visualization
  • Accurate measurements of drawings
  • Provides blueprint of layouts
  • User interface can be more intuitive
  • More furniture templates should be added
  • Export and file formats are too limited
For planning layouts AutoCAD is the right choice, whereas for 3D visualizations it is not recommended.
Joyce Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I utilize AutoCAD for easy super fast engineering documentation, easy to manage multiple project drawings. On 2D drawing and drafting I recommend the tool to any engineers out there for a great drafting experience. AutoCAD also can be relied on for easy drawing, detailing and editing.
  • The easy drafting experience.
  • Engineering 2D documentation capability.
  • Easy implementation of the CAD tool.
  • Ability to import large files.
  • Large 3D design manipulation.
  • Misbehaving especially when installed on a less specifications machine.
AutoCAD capabilities like drafting and drawings detailing are effective and useful on project drawing detailing, and also 2D drawings production for various engineering projects. Importing other CAD tools files and the engineering project document and drawing management.
June 02, 2021

King of CADs

Alejandro Daniel Copati | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD Software is used practically throughout the company, developing layout models for industries. Our company sells machines and AutoCAD allows us to provide the service of accommodating them in the client's workshop, presenting detailed plans of where and what space each one occupies, thus improving the flow of raw materials and finished products.
  • Good workspaces
  • Tools are easy to use
  • Lot of Shortcuts
  • Accepted in the industry
  • Sometimes you have to have a very powerful PC to run some projects.
  • There are so many tools that sometimes it becomes difficult to find them.
AutoCAD is suitable for use in the technical office, where 2D plans of work plants, part diagrams, or any other type of CAD development are developed.
It is widely accepted in the industry so its use is practically universal when exchanging files with clients or suppliers.
However, due to its complexity of use and the amount of resources that the software uses, it is sometimes not so comfortable to use when making a quick sketch or for some real-time demonstration.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is being used directly by my department and indirectly by the whole organization. AutoCAD is used to show each floor's architectural, furniture, and equipment layout for each building. All the building floor layouts are then shown on a web-based Location Management System (LMS) where locations of assets (such as desks and equipment) are placed, which the whole organization references for their need.
  • AutoCAD has tools used to represent spaces and objects accurately and precisely
  • AutoCAD has been the foundation for other tools like Civil 3D, Revit and Inventor
  • AutoCAD has tools to help you draw, modify, and organize the spaces and objects you want to digitally represent
  • AutoCAD has straight and spline leaders. It is missing arc leaders.
  • AutoCAD can count instances of all or selected blocks (or symbols). It does not count dynamic blocks.
  • AutoCAD viewports have grips for stretching, moving, and changing scale. They are missing grips to add a vertex/segment and convert to an arc/line segment.
AutoCAD is appropriate for representing spaces and objects accurately, precisely, and to scale. It is not appropriate to free-hand sketching, drawing, or abstract painting. It is also not appropriate for information specific intelligent 3D modeling.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used on a daily bases for making presentation line drawings, doing conceptual design, and some detailed design tasks for parts. We also use AutoCAD to generate CNC plasma table cutting patterns for sheet metal parts. I use AutoCAD in nest planning and material usage estimation on some occasions as well.
  • Drafting
  • Drawing modification
  • Sheet metal part out
Perfect for 2D design tasks, object snap feature is nicely designed and very efficient, software is well optimized and runs quick with less lag--important for repetitive mouse strokes. UI design is well sorted so it's easy to start up as a first-time user. Working space is fully customizable and less buggy.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used on a large scale by hundreds of users. Basically, everyone is using 2D; some users also use Inventor for 3D needs. Some departments use AutoCAD to create detail and elevation drawings, other departments create [a] plan and title sheets, and others work on embedded files. All of these mentioned above are 2D drawings as required by architects. AutoCAD is also used to create sheet sets [that manage] the documentation very well. This workflow proved to be one of the best management solution[s] for Autocad. You can also use Vault Professional to escalate your management needs to the next level. AutoCAD / Vault workflow is great!
  • Dimensioning
  • Paper space
  • Layout plans
  • Good sofwtare to open any 2D dwg used in other software
  • Sheet set
  • It needs more help in 3D world, eventually some parametric support
  • Better connection with Revit or Inventor
  • Dynamic blocks could get some updates
  • Parameters can be more developed; excel capabilities could be added
  • Sheet set could be more evolved to support a workflow involving data management
AutoCAD is the best solution for a 2D drawing; also [a] great tool for a layout design. Our people create proficient details and elevation drawings without any difficulty. Some users use parameters to make it smarter and update faster. Excel capabilities could be added to enhance the results. AutoCAD provides a great solution in management files by using Sheet Set. Also using Vault Data management could be a viable solution. Using templates in AutoCAD is a MUST. If you [don't] use them you lose a lot. That automates your workflow adding stability to your work.
AutoCAD can be used as 2D sketches in Inventor to create 3D parts. AutoCAD drawings can be copied or referenced so the established relation helps the 3D to be automatically updated when AutoCAD 2D drawing changes.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[AutoCAD] is a great software with respect to its functionality. The 2d architectural function is commonly used in [the] company. [It is] being utilized for making layout of installation of new plants and their execution according to the dimensional working. The plot presentation option [is] also very good.
  • It has strong 2D and 3D design sketch pad which also can be used as isometrically.
  • It has has the great layout of the tools.
  • To convert drawing in PDF it requires the pdf software individually in the system however it should have [its] own pdf viewer in order to check the print view margins according to the printer.
AutoCAD is best suited for the engineering design industry who are [making] the conceptual research and development for executing the soft prototypes. It is best for architectural design, mechanical drawing, [and] civil works.
April 09, 2021

AutoCAD Review

Oliver Philippe Goulart Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used across most groups in the engineering department. In most groups it is used as the main design tool to produce drawings and deliverables. In my group it is used mostly to develop vehicles turn radius studies and to analyze traffic flow within a site. A secondary use our group has for AutoCAD is as a middle man for file conversions between many software with formats we cannot bring into Revit directly. So we export to AutoCAD and then load the DWG. files into Revit.
  • Precision dimensions.
  • Multi software compatibility.
  • Vehicle turn radius and traffic tools.
  • Easy export.
  • 2D and 3D are developed separately.
  • Fatal Error is common.
  • Limited integrated information to design.
I recommend AutoCAD as a universal receiver and donor for project file types.
Adrienne Gould-Choquette, P.E. | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As the Principal Engineer, I use AutoCAD daily for HVAC Design. I also use an AutoCAD addon called DesignMaster to perform specific HVAC Engineering tasks like load calculations, outside air calculations, and duct design and layout. AutoCAD allows my small business to produce high quality, easy to interpret engineering drawings for my clients.
  • The more I use it, the more I customize my drawings, the more beautiful they become.
  • AutoCAD has a seemingly infinite number of tools and features.
  • Because the user base is so large, there are so many resources to problem solve and learn new features.
  • AutoCAD can be very s-l-o-w. My computer spec's exceeded those listed on AutoCAD's website, but I think their requirements may be under specified.
  • It's a bit pricey - but for what it does, I really don't mind the investment.
  • Some glitches that AutoCAD knows about seem to never be resolved. Forums show the same question is asked over years of new releases.
  • Anyone in my industry not using AutoCAD is producing a sub-par product.
  • I recently had a tile installer ask what software I used to do the conceptual isometric of our bathroom renovation. I told her I used AutoCAD but certainly did not recommend it for her purposes based on the expense or the time required to learn the software. It is sophisticated software, not recommended if only using for simple sketches.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD to draw and edit technical drawings that aid our staff in accurate implementation of technical solutions. There are two main uses, technical floor plans/rigging plans or drawings for permanent installation work which is draw onto existing building plans. We use AutoCAD across the entire business although there are only a few who are our "Tech Drawers."
  • Fast drawing if you know what you're doing.
  • VERY flexible.
  • Keyboard commands and shortcuts keep users off the mouse.
  • Industry standard .DWG file type is easily transferable to other companies.
  • Steep learning curve for those with no CAD experience.
  • Text is generally a bit annoying, there are many options for size.
  • Going from 2d to 3d is a big step.
AutoCAD is great in situations where you need accurate technical drawing with industry standard markups, it helps us work with building and architect businesses as we are using the same software solution as them. For the basic uses that we do, for example, the floor plans, drawing these with AutoCAD is sort of like killing an ant with a hammer, while AutoCAD offers a great many features, we only use a portion of them in our day to day drawings. However, having the extra features and the skills with an industry standard software on hand is far more valuable.
April 09, 2021

AutoCAD review

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD mainly to keep track of our production environment floor plans and edit and swam equipment when we need to. It is really only a 2D software for us, as we use other 3D modeling software to visualize components and hardware. If a customer absolutely has to send us documentation in AutoCAD, we accept it and translate it to another software for use and manipulation.
  • 2D drawings and schematics.
  • Lab organization and layout.
  • Manufacturing floor layout and design.
  • Hard to use the 3D instance
  • Engineering of our products make s it difficult to draw from a model.
  • Other software is already set up and difficult to displace internally.
Mainly only suited for us in lab and manufacturing facility layouts. The general shape of objects and ability to drag and move them around is our main use of this software internally. We have much more 3D modeling work needed for our main products and have an easier time rendering them into a usable format for structural simulation and analysis in another software package. Due to this fact, I do not recommend for mechanical engineering work.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used for the development of architectural and interior projects, to represent plans in 2d, detailing furniture and construction elements, among others. It is widely used with main software among architects, engineers and designers and for this reason it is always better to operate through it to exchange files between teams.
  • Work with layers.
  • 3d representation.
  • Commands and shortcuts.
  • Software price.
  • Tools usability.
  • Files size.
AutoCAD is suitable for creating robust projects that will require interoperability between teams and that need to use common software and AutoCAD ends up being the most used in the market. When it is necessary to create a project that integrates 3D and material calculation, it becomes easier and less bureaucratic to use other software on the market.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AutoCAD for existing conditions documentation, 2D drawings and details, annotation, sheet layout, and PDF creation for architectural projects. It is an integral part of our office workflow and allows us to easily create templates and base drawings to export for use in 3D modeling software for design development.
  • Easy to use in field to quickly document existing floor plans.
  • Industry standard allows for easy collaboration with consultants.
  • The subscription model allows for easy scaling if personnel needs change based on workload.
  • Steep learning curve means downtime if training is needed.
  • Relatively expensive, especially if not the main software in office workflow.
  • Complex drawing files tend to become unstable and crash frequently, especially if hatching is used.
For all of its faults, AutoCAD is the industry standard for 2D CAD drawings. It is appropriate for single users, small offices, or large firms. CAD libraries are easily developed and shared over networks or via the cloud. Scaling and collaboration with consultants is easy.
April 01, 2021

AutoCAD 2D

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is used by electrical, mechanical and sales department at our organization. It's most used for electrical and pneumatic schematic designs. The sales team commonly uses AutoCAD to develop 2D plan views of proposed custom equipment. It provides an accurate, quick design or demonstration when a lot of fine detail is not required.
  • A lot of our customers are familiar with AutoCAD so it is a great platform to share information.
  • Great for electrical and pneumatic schematics.
  • Great for sales drawings where a lot of detail isn't available or required.
  • It would be great to be able to draw a rough sketch and then apply dimensions similar to Autodesk Inventor.
  • On complex shapes the hatch feature does not always work reliably.
  • When closing multiple drawings at once the program seems to crash frequently.
Great for schematics. Not the best for machine design. 3D design typically trumps AutoCAD.
Normand Whitehead | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use AutoCAD at my facility only. It is used to make PCB Mechanical drawings and Panel-forms, as well as some electrical meter items mostly in 2D. AutoCAD can be shared with many sub contractors and Assembly partner.
  • Using DXF format permits endless sharing.
  • Automatically dimension in imperial and metric units.
  • Automate Q&A on drawings using custom attributes.
  • LISP is hard to grasp.
  • Needs some training as some features are not intuitive or easy to use.
Well suited for 2D drafting in our case. GD&T tolerancing are somewhat easy to apply and makes drawings easy to standardize.
Matt Wipf | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to edit and clean up drawings we get from customers that draw projects in Revit. We also use it to draw 2D plans for walk-in customers that want a shed or a house that doesn't get too complicated. It is easier to train new employees on then some other software we have been using.
  • Easy to clean up drawings of unwanted layers.
  • Great how to videos when you have a question and hover over an icon.
  • Easy to use and learn.
  • Last but not least, you can get map data to scale when you want to create a site plan.
  • Sometimes I would like to delete certain layers that have things drawn on it and it will not let me do that. It would delete the layer and entities on it. A huge thumbs down on that.
It is easy to learn to use and navigate. It is a very powerful 2d drawing program to lay in flat work. A feature I would like is be able to delete layers that have stuff drawn on them. If you are stuck on how to do something, hover over the icon and a short how to video will start playing.
Jeff Prainito | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AutoCAD is a solid tool in our organization and has been for many years. Many of our customers require an AutoCAD DWG format for the As-Built drawings that we create. We mainly use it for creating blueprints of existing conditions and also new architectural designs.
  • Ease of use for us given there is no learning curve after all these years.
  • Flexibility to draw and represent what you see.
  • Extensive customized block library for creating blueprints.
  • There are many commands that are rarely or never used depending upon your industry. It does take some effort to create custom tool bars.
  • Dimension styles can be tricky to learn, other programs like Revit are easier in my opinion.
  • Navigating in 3D is difficult.
AutoCAD is great for quickly creating very detailed blueprints, site plans, and 2D elevations. We quite often import and scale PDF or Image files that can be "traced" to easily transfer needed information. By connecting laser measurement equipment via Bluetooth we are able to efficiently gather data in the field. Sometimes it is quicker to create basic floor plan in AutoCAD and import that into Revit.
April 01, 2021

AutoCAD does it best

Paul Li | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our firm uses AutoCAD across all 3 of our offices. We mainly use AutoCAD to layout two-dimensional plans for various building design projects. We first implemented the use of AutoCAD over 25 years ago to produce high-quality ink drawings to present to our clients.
  • AutoCAD is perfect to use when the graphic representation of objects are shown in multiple drawing locations. Then this graphic can be changed once and all occurrences will be automatically updated.
  • Using AutoCAD to draw plans is so much more efficient than drawing by hand. This is especially true when it comes to having to make changes. Everything can be done on the computer. There's no need to redraw or retrace the plan because with one command it's so easy to just make a digital copy of it.
  • AutoCAD supports not only two-dimensional drawings but also three-dimensional drawings. With a three dimensional model, a user can actually create walkthrus and flybys of the project instead of having to create a physical model.
  • AutoCAD cannot produce a drawing file that contains the needed building information for construction. It only offers various tools to create the needed drawings to communicate the design intent but not more than what is graphically shown.
  • Though AutoCAD offers many three-dimensional modeling tools, it is still not efficient. It is very difficult to stretch or modify three-dimensional objects especially after holes have been cut out of the object.
  • AutoCAD is missing a very important feature where it can be linked to third party spreadsheets like Microsoft Excel. Currently, there is no option where changes in an Excel spreadsheet can inform AutoCAD how to change the graphic objects to match.
AutoCAD is well suited for companies that need to mass produce lots of similar but different versions of a floor plan. With some minor tweaks and modifications, many floor plans can be generated that look very different graphically. But if you need to produce something that's very unique or an object that has a very odd and strange shape, then using AutoCAD would be less efficient.