TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bA/Jc/9JIBIHH8DKO0.pngRevit - Such a great tool for 3D Models!We use Revit to build the 3D models and perform the estimates of all the construction projects. Also, we use it to send the isometric models to the project management team so they can build the takeoff with the drawings of AutoCAD and the 3D models of Revit. We use it every day to mark up the changes on every construction model for condos, townhouses and custom lots.,For 3D rendering it's just the best option in the market, the library can take your model to the next level. It has a magnificent library of preset objects, you can download families of libraries into a project or save them externally. The auto desk drive gives you the chance to securely store, preview, and share your 2D and 3D design data using data storage designed for individuals and small teams. Turning on your projects into collaborative resource tools all your Revit models will be stored in the and cloud ready for your team.,Revit is mainly focused on structural design, this can take it into a way far complex level that will require specialized training. It has an odd & difficult perspective editing because Revit isn’t the easiest software to use if you want to work on building interiors from a different perspective. It's not popular among other Auto Desk tools. Revit fans are going to always choose AutoCAD, since it has a lack of familiarity that means that it doesn’t yet have the same support community built around it that some other software packages have. Its BIM component is not very popular and the companies sometimes get shy about it. This will also have an impact on the total cost of ownership. Revit isn't cheap. If you start using it now, you’ll be ahead of the curve. You may need the proper training tool set to get the most from this great application.,10,Revit has provided the a singular view for drafting and design hours improving the accuracy upon details and finishes. Revit also allows you to calculate the phase efforts since all the details that you get from the 3D models and enables you to set the estimates with extreme accuracy. The productivity gained once you set the proper training to the end user can take up to 50% of the budget of investment. So be careful with this.,SketchUp, Space Designer 3D and AutoCAD,SketchUp, AutoCAD 360, AutoCADRevit - stay currentOur clients are using Revit in their consulting engineering practices. As a result - we seek candidates skilled and experienced in this software. We work with people that are in production and consult using the latest software. This is the industry standard people are seeking. In the pursuit of excellence, we seek people up to date on their skills.,provides a collaborative environment focuses on the architectural market and focuses on their specific needs resolves software issues by managing the 2D and 3D drawings.,sometimes its difficult to edit perspective - not the easiest for building interiors sometimes struggles with competing with CAD in popularity structural design is predominate focus,9,collaboration reduces redundancy ability to collaborate remotely / across offices reduces travel Time to production reduced,Microsoft Dynamics 365 (formerly Microsoft Dynamics CRM), Microsoft Access, Zoho RecruitWidely used multi-disciplinary BIM software - not necessarily the best for everythingI have used Revit both as part of my teaching at the university (alongside other software) and as part of our consulting offerings (also alongside other software). We follow the tools as used by our clients and Revit is widely used in our projects. It is used in the majority of BIM-related projects, which can be project management, but also custom development and as part of standardisation and educational activities.,Revit is a decent BIM-modelling software, as it supports architectural, structural and technical design Revit can be customised and extended via its API and other means Revit has a broad toolset and is a professional modeling and authoring system for BIM,Revit is single-platform. To run it on my Mac is less than ideal (I use Bootcamp and Parallels). Revit is complex software and has a very deep and layered system of view filters and overrides. You can get lost. Revit projects tend to have a huge need for custom Family development, which makes it a huge effort in projects. Shared or Project parameters are linked to every element of a category and cannot be limited to only certain elements. You can not display Rooms in a 3D window. IFC import is still a bit hit and miss. Export has improved a lot. No backward compatibility. You can never downgrade a file to an older version. A dialog in a dialog within a dialog. Heavy burden on the system (huge installation requirements, lots of additional software gets installed). Expensive.,8,Many of our clients need Revit knowledge, so it is a huge part of our business as consultants There is a significant license cost Yearly updates and frequent changes in feature sets and services make it sometimes difficult in long-term projects,ARCHICAD and VectorWorks,SketchUp, AutoCAD, Microsoft Office 365,Constraint based modelling Developing basic schedules Export to Navisworks,Full view template setup Editing a more complex family Multi-category schedules (as they expose so many limitations),No,7Revit for ArchitectsAutodesk Revit is being used by the organization in the construction and project department. It addresses the problems related to quantities and takeoff. We are mainly a construction company, so we recreate the projects plans in great detail to get accurate quantities list that we link to an estimate to get the final budget for the construction projects. For any changes we change the model, which is easy to do, and it will automatically refresh all the final pricing related to the quantities.,Easy and friendly to architect, it is software developed specially for architects. Creates very detailed quantities sheet, drawing plans and documentation and everything is linked to the 3d models, so there is no place to make a mistake. If you make a good model everything else will just work fine and detailed. You can develop a entire project from the very beginning starting from scratch with a mass model to develop the design, and then you can take it a step further and add details like walls, windows, doors, roof, floors and materials to set it to a final project for construction. You can also do high quality renderings and you can implement 3rd party renderers like Vray from ChaosGroup. You can collaborate so you can have a complete office working on a same project with the worksharing features.,Really there is no missing functionality, but the internal rendering engine can be improved to match something similar like vray without the need to purchase Vray also. There are some functions that make some confusion like the curtain walls always attached to another wall if they are in contact, but once you understand the software you will know that you need to disable the join feature so the curtain wall will not attach to near walls. The parametric features and components that offers a lot of power and creative possibilities are difficult to use, will be great if it possible to make this easy to understand to most people.,10,revit has three big returns on investment - the first is that the office is much more productive, we can do with two architects the same job that with other methods required 5 or 8 architects We avoid construction intersection and the quantities are so exact that we don't buy more than what we need. We can accurately show client how the project is going to look like, and how much it will cost, much quicker than any other methods.,AutoCADRevit, the future!It is starting to be used in collaboration with engineers in big projects, such as residential towers and the F1 paddocks.,coordination between different disciplines updates automatically facades and sections understanding of the spatiality with the 3d being done at the same time as the 2d,details: very hard to implement hatches junctions between different type of walls/curtain wall sometimes is super hard,10,more efficiency a little bit more of $$$ investissement.,AutoCAD,AutoCAD
Unspecified
Revit
42 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
TRScore

Revit Reviews

Revit
42 Ratings
Score 8.8 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 42 vetted Revit reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Victor Arana profile photo
June 26, 2018

Review: "Revit - Such a great tool for 3D Models!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Revit to build the 3D models and perform the estimates of all the construction projects. Also, we use it to send the isometric models to the project management team so they can build the takeoff with the drawings of AutoCAD and the 3D models of Revit. We use it every day to mark up the changes on every construction model for condos, townhouses and custom lots.
  • For 3D rendering it's just the best option in the market, the library can take your model to the next level.
  • It has a magnificent library of preset objects, you can download families of libraries into a project or save them externally.
  • The auto desk drive gives you the chance to securely store, preview, and share your 2D and 3D design data using data storage designed for individuals and small teams. Turning on your projects into collaborative resource tools all your Revit models will be stored in the and cloud ready for your team.
  • Revit is mainly focused on structural design, this can take it into a way far complex level that will require specialized training.
  • It has an odd & difficult perspective editing because Revit isn’t the easiest software to use if you want to work on building interiors from a different perspective.
  • It's not popular among other Auto Desk tools. Revit fans are going to always choose AutoCAD, since it has a lack of familiarity that means that it doesn’t yet have the same support community built around it that some other software packages have.
  • Its BIM component is not very popular and the companies sometimes get shy about it. This will also have an impact on the total cost of ownership. Revit isn't cheap.
  • If you start using it now, you’ll be ahead of the curve. You may need the proper training tool set to get the most from this great application.
For construction detailed projects where the estimates matter the most, Revit can help you out to set every single complex detail, giving you the chance to obtain better results and the most realistic 3D model, with measures, textures, and precise square feet. Will also allow you to test and preview materials using its vast library.
Read Victor Arana's full review
No photo available
June 08, 2018

User Review: "Revit - stay current"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our clients are using Revit in their consulting engineering practices. As a result - we seek candidates skilled and experienced in this software. We work with people that are in production and consult using the latest software. This is the industry standard people are seeking. In the pursuit of excellence, we seek people up to date on their skills.
  • provides a collaborative environment
  • focuses on the architectural market and focuses on their specific needs
  • resolves software issues by managing the 2D and 3D drawings.
  • sometimes its difficult to edit perspective - not the easiest for building interiors
  • sometimes struggles with competing with CAD in popularity
  • structural design is predominate focus
We only work with consulting engineers. We recommend our clients and candidates become well versed in this software to be marketable and current. Specifically - our architectural candidates must have this experience to be considered for employment. Those that are only using AutoCAD or manual processes will find themselves behind the curve.
Read this authenticated review
Stefan Boeykens profile photo
April 17, 2018

Revit Review: "Widely used multi-disciplinary BIM software - not necessarily the best for everything"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Revit both as part of my teaching at the university (alongside other software) and as part of our consulting offerings (also alongside other software). We follow the tools as used by our clients and Revit is widely used in our projects. It is used in the majority of BIM-related projects, which can be project management, but also custom development and as part of standardisation and educational activities.
  • Revit is a decent BIM-modelling software, as it supports architectural, structural and technical design
  • Revit can be customised and extended via its API and other means
  • Revit has a broad toolset and is a professional modeling and authoring system for BIM
  • Revit is single-platform. To run it on my Mac is less than ideal (I use Bootcamp and Parallels).
  • Revit is complex software and has a very deep and layered system of view filters and overrides. You can get lost.
  • Revit projects tend to have a huge need for custom Family development, which makes it a huge effort in projects.
  • Shared or Project parameters are linked to every element of a category and cannot be limited to only certain elements.
  • You can not display Rooms in a 3D window.
  • IFC import is still a bit hit and miss. Export has improved a lot.
  • No backward compatibility. You can never downgrade a file to an older version.
  • A dialog in a dialog within a dialog.
  • Heavy burden on the system (huge installation requirements, lots of additional software gets installed).
  • Expensive.
When all project partners are using Revit, it makes it more straightforward to collaborate using the same software. However, you also need to ensure that everybody is using the same version and organise model setup to aid collaboration.

It is well suited to multi-disciplinary building projects, especially if Structure and MEP are also fully elaborated as BIM models.

It is, however, complex and expensive software and for particular scenarios, not always the best software: for architectural design, ARCHICAD has some advantages, for structural design, Tekla and Allplan offer more refined toolsets. Moreover, modeling in Revit requires a lot of Family editing and development, which increases development cost and hugely increases file sizes. Ensure you have lots of RAM and CPU speed (high-frequency CPU is more important than having lots of cores which run slower).
Read Stefan Boeykens's full review
Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil profile photo
November 28, 2017

User Review: "Revit for Architects"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Autodesk Revit is being used by the organization in the construction and project department. It addresses the problems related to quantities and takeoff. We are mainly a construction company, so we recreate the projects plans in great detail to get accurate quantities list that we link to an estimate to get the final budget for the construction projects. For any changes we change the model, which is easy to do, and it will automatically refresh all the final pricing related to the quantities.
  • Easy and friendly to architect, it is software developed specially for architects.
  • Creates very detailed quantities sheet, drawing plans and documentation and everything is linked to the 3d models, so there is no place to make a mistake. If you make a good model everything else will just work fine and detailed.
  • You can develop a entire project from the very beginning starting from scratch with a mass model to develop the design, and then you can take it a step further and add details like walls, windows, doors, roof, floors and materials to set it to a final project for construction.
  • You can also do high quality renderings and you can implement 3rd party renderers like Vray from ChaosGroup.
  • You can collaborate so you can have a complete office working on a same project with the worksharing features.
  • Really there is no missing functionality, but the internal rendering engine can be improved to match something similar like vray without the need to purchase Vray also.
  • There are some functions that make some confusion like the curtain walls always attached to another wall if they are in contact, but once you understand the software you will know that you need to disable the join feature so the curtain wall will not attach to near walls.
  • The parametric features and components that offers a lot of power and creative possibilities are difficult to use, will be great if it possible to make this easy to understand to most people.
revit is well suited for every scenario, when you need speed and accuracy, because the most of the work relies on the 3d model which needs to be done once and can be done in collaboration if you like. You can collaborate on the cloud, and after you have the model completed, making the plans and elevations is just as easy as dragging and dropping to an also easy to create drawing sheet, so you can make a project of any scale at a glance.
Read Nelson David Sanchez Villasmil's full review
Giselle Bouron profile photo
January 29, 2018

User Review: "Revit, the future!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is starting to be used in collaboration with engineers in big projects, such as residential towers and the F1 paddocks.
  • coordination between different disciplines
  • updates automatically facades and sections
  • understanding of the spatiality with the 3d being done at the same time as the 2d
  • details: very hard to implement
  • hatches
  • junctions between different type of walls/curtain wall sometimes is super hard
It is well suited: we are a very small company with big projects. Passing 15 hours to update facades and sections is very long and demands a lot of extra hours with AutoCAD. Revit is the solution for that. It is perfect for collaborating with other professionals when they used Revit as well
Read Giselle Bouron's full review
No photo available
February 19, 2018

User Review: "Revit for the Masses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Revit is being used everyday in our company for everything from schematic design concept drawings to construction documents. I have started with programming in Revit with color diagrams and general space planning and have moved my project through the design process and construction documents all the way to construction administration. I use Revit for working through technical details that arise throughout the project and area take offs are made very easy.
  • Scheduling of doors, windows and the sheet index
  • Ease of building and the information that is stored in the model
  • Accuracy of site topography design
  • Smoothness of site topograph - the vectored lines always present a problem when exported to AutoCAD
  • Cleanup of walls in non-orthogonal designs
  • Cleanup of materials in non-orthogonal designs
Revit is my daily program. If I have to do a project in AutoCAD, the thought of drawing every line and the program not cutting sections for you is daunting and arduous. Revit allows me to work through design issues with the consultants and fly through the model. Revit also lets me break out all disciplines into different models, so I can turn on and off disciplines like structural and mechanical.
Read this authenticated review
Matthew Warren profile photo
September 14, 2017

"Revit in Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Revit is our primary design tool for creating construction documents. It is used on 100% of our projects and all of the departments use it. The main problems Revit addressed was the turn around time for drafting buildings. Since Revit is a design tool and not a drafting tool. The process from idea to finished documents has shortened.
  • Real time collaboration between design teams. With the ability to have multiple users in one file. The coordination between team members is more effective.
  • embedded information about the parts and pieces of a building. With shared parameters associated with every component in a Revit model the team is able to convey the design better.
  • Family Management. Revit organizes the parts and pieces (or families as they are called in Revit) in a logical manner with categories. This allows the users to better control visibility of parts and helps with quality control for the construction documents.
  • Visibility control in views. Between the categories, view ranges, filters, worksets, and detail level you can basically make anything look the way you want it to look.
  • Text. This is the biggest issue Revit has. It handles text boxes horribly. Though release Revit 2017 has made improvements to this issue, the program still has a long way to go to get to good text box.
  • Applying materials to components. This process is a difficult and clunky process.
  • Aligning to a shared coordinate system. Despite all the training and info videos, this is still one the most difficult things to master in Revit.
It is well suited in situations where you have a large team working on a building at once. Or when multiple design teams are collaborating on a design of a space and taking the design all the way through construction. Some areas that Revit is weak in is planning and general schematics. It does not handle any form of schematic by nature design well, the program only works well for literal design. If you are doing a planning only exercise or any form of one line diagrams a different program would be better.
Read Matthew Warren's full review
Benjamin Wyszynski profile photo
July 19, 2017

Review: "Revit is the all in one program for your architecture needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Revit is used by our firm to generate drawings and renderings for a client as they have hired us to design their building. This program allows us to keep all of our drawings in one file while allowing us to link in consultant models so that we can coordinate design issues.
  • Revit's organization abilities are second to none as we are able to organize a set of drawings a particular way.
  • Revit also allows us to work in 3D so we can really analyze problems that originate with in the design community.
  • I think Revit causes the designer to lose some design intent based on the rigid drawings components that don't offer much flexibility.
  • Revit also creates a file size problem, the more detail you add, the more complex your model becomes and thus creating a slower model.
Revit is well suited during the construction document phase as you are generally coordinating with other industries such as mechanical, electrical and plumbing. We are able to link in their models so that we can see where we have clashes. I think it is less appropriate at the beginning programming and layout phases.
Read Benjamin Wyszynski's full review
Branden Adams profile photo
November 09, 2017

Revit Review: "In Love with BIM Modeling!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
With any BIM product, the ability to see conflicts in a multi-dimensional space [is necessary].

Revit, in particular, has assisted our firm in understanding concepts and being able to relay that information to clients that don't see in 3D like the design team does.
  • Instant feedback on conflicts.
  • Updating the schedules.
  • Organizing files and allowing multiple access to those files.
  • Transition from a base model to a detailed model
  • In the early design process for clients.
  • Then in the construction phase to allow for communication of conflicts in disciplines.
Read Branden Adams's full review
Ethan Dunkle profile photo
July 10, 2017

"Revit Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Revit is primarily used within the VDC department in our organization. We use it for a variety of different things such as building a model in Revit and taking it into Navisworks to do BIM/MEP coordination, utilizing it for small design projects or, or just utilizing its 3D capabilities to better explain a project to a client or partner on the project.
  • It does a great job of creating a smart model where the plans/elevations/sections are all linked to the 3D model.
  • It has the ability to do rendering straight out of the program.
  • Being able to link to other models as well as there being a library of models out there to import into your own.
  • Sometimes can be hard to do some finishing details and modify your model in custom ways.
  • When making actual details/there is much more work to be done after cutting the section.
  • The renderings turn out good if you know what you're doing but can take a long time to do.
Revit is great for explaining things to someone who has a hard time visualizing 3D. You can build your model using the 2D feature as well as the 3D and in the end, you're able to produce a nice model that can be used for many different things such as putting together construction documents or just showing some isometric views of the model.
Read Ethan Dunkle's full review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

User Review: "Estimator & Revit"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. We typically use Revit to analyze a model which has already been designed. It's often used as a step stone to get models into other programs such as Navisworks, Assemble, Synchro, etc. Sometimes there is some editing done in Revit, but from my experience as an estimator, this is very rare.
  • It is by far the most commonly used software by architects to design.
  • It exports very easily into other programs (I personally spend more time with these other programs than I do with Revit).
  • It is easy to look at phasing, worksets, etc.
  • It is not a user-friendly software. Because I don't use Revit on a daily basis, it's very difficult to stay on top of things to maintain good productivity.
  • When looking at items which are imported from Rhino, the objects lose their data. As an estimator trying to get quantities, this is very frustrating.
I chose a rating of 10 because like I said in previous answers, Revit dominates the design market and it seems that almost everyone is using Revit these days. If you do not have Revit, then in my opinion you are at a great disadvantage. As an estimator, models are being used more and more for doing quantity takeoff and 95% of projects I work on come are designed in Revit.
Read this authenticated review
Mike Petrich profile photo
January 24, 2017

Review: "Revit is saving us time and money in design phases."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Revit is being used in coordination and design for new and remodel projects for our HVAC Mechanical company. Our detailing department is designing jobs, planning installs, coordinating layouts with other trades and generally solving all sorts of design issues before construction in the field. This saves time for field personnel for them to basically just verify instead of spending field hours designing and working around other trades.
  • Revit is great for getting a 3D view of how ductwork and equipment is going to fit into the building spaces. It helps us plan for existing conditions and framing and how we are going to work around it.
  • Revit also has been great for BIM coordination with other trades. Helps us 'fight for our space' in tight quarters when trying to get ductwork into areas with fire sprinkler, electrical and other processes involved in the project.
  • We also submit drawings on our projects for approval before building, in the Revit format. Nice thing there, is it allows us to 'claim our space' so there's less fighting for room with other trades that may skip the design/Revit process. Saves much labor and material money.
  • There is a steep learning curve. We have our detailers take upgrade classes and stay up on the latest training. The person using it really has to be knowledgeable in their craft to make sure they're using construct-able design.
  • It's not inexpensive to implement from a hardware standpoint. Solid State drives, lots of memory are needed, but if you keep that in mind, plan accordingly and invest in the right hardware, it functions flawlessly.
  • It could use better ductwork setup (more specific to HVAC industry). We pair with a companion program sysque to alleviate that.
It's really cutting edge for 3D modeling and building design. If people aren't using it, they will find themselves behind the times quickly. Its very well suited specifically to our design build business, as it really becomes a sales tool as well as design for how we plan to address the building needs.
Read Mike Petrich's full review
Chris Metropulos profile photo
March 29, 2017

Review: "Revit - An unmatched software, the future of the construction industry."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As Revit becomes more sophisticated not only in 3D modeling, but materials and project management, the Architect - Engineering communities are becoming more inclined towards working with manufacturers who can comply to their technological demands. If you're seeking to stay ahead of your competition, contractors and manufacturers alike realize they need to invest in new BIM technologies such as Revit to gain an edge.
  • Information Developed Instantly - Imported Materials from Manufacturers populates in schedule which allows for easy planning/ordering.
  • Information Developed Instantly - While you're building a 3D model, elevations and sections are created in parallel making you work efficiently many times over.
  • Sophisticated Building Information - Several Iterations of Building Feasibility Study each in regards to Structure or Environmental areas.
  • General Excellence in Data Categories and Building Features. For example, adding more compliance features for environmental construction demand. Changes in compliance should be built into new versions.
  • Adding more plugins for products. Autodesk Seek is OK but really need a plugin built into the system which updates itself when the database changes. The database should be a cloud database. Such a sophisticated software should have something more than just a link to a page to download products manually.
  • At times, it's difficult to model with some strange snaps being pre-selected or simple drawing features limiting you.
Construction Companies, Contractors, Engineers, Architects, Product Manufacturers, and anyone involved with the construction community should have some level of working knowledge with Revit. The best advice I can share is for leaders in any of the above businesses to become involved in training and implementing Revit into standard work. Those who already have integrated Revit can always learn new ways to optimize their processes by attending seminars, webinars, or contacting Autodesk (whom is a fantastic resource).
Read Chris Metropulos's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (11)
8.4
Plan markups & sharing (9)
7.7
Issue tracking & punchlists (7)
6.5
Photo documentation (4)
7.1
Jobsite reports (4)
6.6
Document sharing (11)
7.6
RFI tools (6)
6.7
Collaboration & approvals (10)
7.9
As-built drawings (11)
8.5
Mobile app (4)
6.0

About Revit

Revit is a Building Information Modeling (BIM) solution from Autodesk.
Categories:  Construction

Revit Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No