Couchbase Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
147 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 68)

Daniel Olfelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2020

Couchbase works well, but isn't the only option

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase was chosen initially to solve the problem of global distribution of data for our authentication services. We wanted our auth data to replicate globally, be flexible, and easy to query. It also had to be fast so that we could quickly direct users to the correct data center where their data existed. Couchbase solved all those problems for us. It also included simple management consoles and automatics recovery when nodes became corrupt or went missing. It was used for this and several other products.
Read Daniel Olfelt's full review
Nathan Ekstrom | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 27, 2020

Couchbase, the right tool for the job.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is being used as a backend datastore for our document management SaaS system. We originally brought it in to replace aging technologies, such as E-Directory. As our experience with it has grown so has its use inside of our product. We are now actively migrating our systems that rely on SQL Server to it as well.
The biggest issues that Couchbase solved for us were scaling and data elasticity. As our user base grew we knew we needed a system that could scale horizontally so that we had more predictable capital expenditures that could be planned for. We also wanted to be able to update data models without having to perform difficult schema definition changes or table alterations. Couchbase met both of these objectives.
Read Nathan Ekstrom's full review
Kalinga Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Reliable and scalable database solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

According to my experience, this is the best database solution for NoSQL Databases. Therefore, we have been using it for several years. Both it's products, which are the Couchbase Database Server and the mobile database platforms, are essential and efficient. And to work on these, we need some previous knowledge and practice. However, the service that they provide is precious for us to achieve the success of our work. Our developing team using Couchbase for our customers' web-based and mobile app projects. We can easily work using Couchbase Database.
Read Kalinga Bandara's full review
Anjelo Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 19, 2020

Reliable Database Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is one of the famous database solutions, which is used at the enterprise-level mostly to manage NoSQL Databases. This comes with two products: Couchbase Database Server and the mobile application database platform. Clouchbase server is well suited for application management and the other Couchbase mobile application server is suited for mobile application development databases. This solution is used in departmental, mostly in the Applications Development department and the Cybersecurity department.
Read Anjelo Bandara's full review
Tharanga Wickramsinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 11, 2020

Suitable for enterprise apps.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is the most efficient database solution, which we are using for all kinds of NoSQL Databases. It is easy to learn, use, implement, and configure. This consists of a number of various features that can help developers to develop better apps. So in our organization, we are using Couchbase for developing web apps for clients and internal usage.

Read Tharanga Wickramsinghe's full review
Prasad Silva | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our organization, we are serving thousands of customers at the same time using web applications and mobile applications that have a high number of transactions. So we are using Couchbase for those applications, which fulfills our requirements. Another thing is we feel that it is easier to develop apps using Couchbase.
Read Prasad Silva's full review
Aruna Bandara | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

High performing NoSQL Databse

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is one of the best solutions for NoSQL databases. In our organisation, we use Couchbase for projects such as internal apps as well as client projects. I feel that this product is more comfortable to work than traditional databases. Can be used for web applications, mobile and IoT.
Read Aruna Bandara's full review
Chathuranga Amarasinghe | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2020

Couchbase

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is the most functional No SQL database management tool, and it can be implemented with any application that uses No SQL databases. Mostly this tool is used to manage databases easily and most suitable for developing mobile applications.
Read Chathuranga Amarasinghe's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Great at caching & raw performance, earlier versions have some gotchas, newer versions look pretty good (no longer a Couchbase user)

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase & SyncGatway were used to allow for rapid prototyping of our backend systems. However in the desire for rapid iteration we implemented things incorrectly that ultimately ended up hurting our ability to scale resiliently using the Couchbase view engine.

Couchbase would make a fine caching layer and the potential for N1QL looks interesting. However as we were using older versions of the product the effort to migrate to newer libraries resulted in us ultimately migrating off Couchbase.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 12, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is our favorite non-relational database when we implement Smart Cities projects in customer facilities. It is mainly used by the Development and Implementation team. It allows us to use large amounts of data thanks to its non-relational design, its high performance, and its JSON DB schema. In addition, its management is very simple and has great security.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2020

Couchbase as a technical enabler for delocalized and unstructured large-scale systems

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We at our company use Couchbase as the product database for customer-facing desktop and server applications, with high demand in performance requisites. Couchbase enables our product, not only to tackle all the business demands but also to leverage the new business models with the Couchbase Lite to Server connectivity framework.

Couchbase is a great product covering different usage scenarios, both for Backoffice/Backend intensive operations and client-side DB. Couchbase as well offers good integration with encryption services, fulfilling our security and privacy requirements.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Couchbase scales well

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is a key part of our software stack. We use it to store all of the information about the objects in our service. It is used by the entire company and customers. Several of our developers are trained on it and work with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 19, 2020

Couchbase is a winner for extreme performance requirements

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Used as a persistent cache, as well as for very quick storage and retrieval of large JSON docs. We are also storing some BLOBs (Binary Large Objects). This makes us able to react to changing requirements faster than if we were using a traditional relational database. We also use the ability to swap out the default serialiser in certain scenarios.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It's being used across the whole organization for document storage.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 25, 2020

Couchbase: DB All-in-One Solution

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase has been our solution to have high availability and scalability in a simple way.
With only one product we have replaced several technologies (JSON files, Memcache, Redis, MongoDB, Solr, Lucent).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Couchbase Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

[I've] used couchbase server for a session based database as well as storing some of the meta info we had for our analytical end of the database.
Read this authenticated review
Eduin Zuloaga | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Key-value and document database using Couchbase

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We used Couchbase on an important project named Phantom for customer and merchant referential. We are happy because this tool compiled our expectations and now we have an excellent non-SQL database. It was relatively simple to work with, the included groovy JDK seemed decently documented and wasn't a pain to work with. It was missing some key features (batch gets), however, so we had to write a service on top of their JDK.
Read Eduin Zuloaga's full review
Abigail Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

My favorite database manager

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

It is frequently used by my whole organization. Couchbase is an interesting application for the management of document databases at one single location. Moreover, I use this software as an alternative to No SQL database management. Apart from this, it has an open way to my scalable application. Furthermore, it has a perfect GUI that is effective enough to make all the right decisions. Another thing that I prefer in it is the ease of implementation and configuration.
Read Abigail Paul's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2020

Couchbase - Easy and Scalable Key-Value Delivery for Enterprise Deployment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In order to facilitate multi-site replication of key-value data and act as a caching layer for our source of truth databases (PostgreSQL), we decided to give Couchbase a shot, and we have not been disappointed. It made multi-site bi-directional replication of data a breeze for small and large data sets.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

Couchbase is a pleasure to use and is recommended

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Currently I am evaluating its use for the primary purpose of being the primary data store behind a series of microservices. These will in turn be used to synchronize to a large number of mobile users.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Superior performance

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our organization, we have multiple projects based on Smart Cities. These projects have a lot of data and in formats such as JSON. Couchbase is a database and non-relational engine that allows great performance with this type of data.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

Try Couchbase and N1QL

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Within our Smart Cities projects, we need to use relational and non-relational databases. One of the non-relational databases that we manage within the IT department is Couchbase, a very scalable and easy to manage database. You can use SQL for JSON, which makes it very intuitive. This data is used for operations with big data tools such as Hadoop.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Couchbase is the best NoSQL Solution Available

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Couchbase is being used to serve down data to our mobile apps across the entire organization as a revamp to our legacy database (PSQL). A common problem we have had is that some of our SaaS clients have very flexible data schemas that are difficult to adhere to in a relational database, and a NoSQL solution is a much better fit.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Performance (65)
8.5
Availability (64)
8.9
Concurrency (63)
8.7
Security (63)
7.7
Scalability (63)
9.1
Data model flexibility (63)
8.0
Deployment model flexibility (62)
8.9

About Couchbase

Couchbase is a multi-model NoSQL database for mission-critical applications. It is designed to help deliver ever-richer and ever more personalized customer and employee experiences. Built with NoSQL technology, the Couchbase Data Platform was architected on top of an open source foundation for the massively interactive enterprise. The geo-distributed Engagement Database promises to provide developer agility and manageability, as well as performance at scale.

The vendor states that current customers include industry leaders Amadeus, AT&T, BD (Becton, Dickinson and Company), Carrefour, Cisco, Comcast, Disney, DreamWorks Animation, eBay, Marriott, Neiman Marcus, Tesco, Tommy Hilfiger, United, Verizon, Wells Fargo, as well as hundreds of other household names.

Couchbase Features

Has featureMulti-Dimensional Scaling (MDS)
Has featureCross Data Center Replication (XDCR)
Has featureFlexible Schema (JSON + N1QL)
Has featureFull Text Search (FTS)
Has featureAnalytics
Has featureMobile & IoT Integration
Has featureMemory-First Architecture
Has featureBig Data & SQL Integration
Has featureKey Value
Has featureCloud Native
Has featureQuery

Couchbase Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Couchbase Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:No