Drupal Reviews

315 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 70)

Fred Bals | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Need a Content Collaboration Website at Low Cost. Try Drupal!

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Open source CMS use by our content team for collaboration and to share files. As the content team is scattered across three different geographies, Drupal allows us to communicate and collaborate quickly and easily through an intranet site. We find it ideal to edit collateral among several collaborators. The allocation of roles to each user allows a quick review cycle while lessening the chance of errors.
Read Fred Bals's full review
Lindsay Halsey | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 13, 2020

Drupal is Powerful at Scale

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As a search engine marketing agency, some of our customers' websites are powered by Drupal. We configure modules to ensure their websites meet search engine marketing best practices. Overall, we find Drupal to be a powerful content management [tool]. The initial learning curve can be steep, but once you understand how Drupal is organized, it's a solid CMS.
Read Lindsay Halsey's full review
Sumit Bachani | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 12, 2020

Really powerful tool to build websites with great themes and templates

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is used by my department as a content management tool to reach our target audience in multiple digital channels. We manage the educational author's key works, charities managed by them, their educational talks, the reader's page. All this is managed using the Drupal open-source framework for which we have a license. The ability to apply different themes for each website is useful in managing multiple authors and giving their websites a unique look all through Drupal's specific themes and skins which are applied through a few clicks.
Read Sumit Bachani's full review
Bobby Donohue | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2019

An all-powerful CMS with a steep learning curve

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Drupal as the primary platform for website design and development for my own company's websites, and all my clients as well. While some smaller client websites may be fine using something less complicated like WordPress, Drupal gives me several unique advantages:

  • All my websites use it, so every website I create an manage is on one platform.
  • Drupal is infinitely scalable, so as my clients' needs change, it's relatively easy to alter the current website rather than start from scratch.
  • Drupal has a feature called "Views", which enables me to create custom content display modes for each client, without reinventing the wheel every time.
Read Bobby Donohue's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

Unified, Robust and Responsive CMS/LCMS!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is used as a LCMS, and I have implemented the solution to many clients. Drupal is used by the banking and life science industries. The client will normally have an LMS and they want to build a unified, dynamic and scalable framework on top of it. Normally we build a Drupal portal as a front-end layer and integrate with LMS and other learning related applications. It becomes a landing page for the users/learners and from here the users can access LMS, Calendar, Analytics, Social media, video contents such as YouTube, open learning portals such as MOOC. It is used by the entire organization, sometimes includes external stakeholders as well.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Drupal, the CMS for large, data-rich websites

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal has been selected as the CMS for our new city website. It was time to replace the custom, home-grown CMS we've been using for almost 20 years, and we wanted something that could power a large, enterprise-wide website. We wanted something with a large user base and healthy ecosystem so that we could ensure that the software will be supported and maintained for years to come. Drupal fit the bill as one of the most popular open-source content management systems that is used by over a million websites, many of them government websites like ours.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Josh Howe | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2019

Trusted large scale content management system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company's website is built using Drupal. It is fast, scalable and easy to understand with just basic web knowledge. To be clear - I am not a developer - but work on the frontend building pages, adding events and modules. When I was in the job market - I did notice that a lot of large scale companies use Drupal.
Read Josh Howe's full review
Rose M. Warner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2019

Customizable, scalable and professional content manager.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is an excellent content manager since it handles large volumes of users and content. We use it in our web system and in the internal intranet. It allows us to create profiles of the users with details and excellent personalization. Besides the personalization, Drupal gives us the facility to add what we need through modules.
Read Rose M. Warner's full review
Kyle Reichelt | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 26, 2018

Do you deploy a lot of content daily? Do you have strong technical resources? Drupal 8 might be a fit!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company was recently hired to build out a fully integrated digital ecosystem for a large endurance brand; inclusive of a CMS, E-commerce Platform, Data warehousing, and a data normalization engine to tie it all together. For this, we selected Drupal 8, Magento, and AWS (Redshift and Lambdas).

Being a global brand, Drupal 8 was the CMS (built by developers for developers) that provided the most extensible launchpad with localization and language support, as well as great workflow and collaboration tools for content creators.

Drupal 8 is utilized by brand ambassadors to submit content for review, internal editors to review content, race directors to manage events and venues, as well as marketers to post landing pages. It ensures consistent branding across the board.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Jean Franco | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Drupal - Great Open Source CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Drupal for both commercial websites and also use it on intranets that will have no access to the internet. Drupal is great because you can integrate it with other resources, like single-sign-on so users can interact with the system logging in from LDAP for example.There is also a great variety of templates you can choose from, making this tool even awesome!
Read Jean Franco's full review
Ben McClure | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Possibly the most powerful and flexible CMS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are a marketing and web development company and creating Drupal sites is one of our specialties. We use it internally for several things, but also for most of our clients' projects when their needs fit the solution. It allows us to build sites ranging from small blogs or brochure sites all the way up to huge, scalable, custom e-commerce sites utilizing the same set of tools built by one of the best communities online.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

Drupal as a Solution for Clients

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I am, in addition to my organization title, a web developer. After many years of coding, I decided to look into CMSs as this allowed clients to access their sites and update content as needed. Some clients find that the use of Drupal is the solution to simplifying the updating process. Drupal is one CMS that allows the administrator to assign pages or content areas to specific personnel. This again is the solution to the problem of multiple people updating. Depending on the need, Drupal offers flexibility. As a full organization, departments can be given administrative or editor access and avoid even seeing other departments' pages. In my opinion, this is the best solution, especially for the price.
Read Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon's full review
Matthew Deakyne | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 21, 2018

Drupal works at scale, and is free.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is being used across the whole KU organization. It's the primary content management system, and pages are created for departments, units, and organizations on campus. It provides a supported solution for users to manage their own content, for web developers to help optimize and for marketing to track usage. Content is also exported in blocks to feed other systems with information, including important academic dates.
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
Nicholas De Salvo | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Drupal Can Be Great If You Know How To Use It

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal has powered our company website for multiple iterations over the passed 10 years. We have also used it in client projects during that time. What we have liked about it is the granular control it allows over your website out of the box.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Jimmy Mack | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Drupal is a good, moderately powerful CMS that isn't too confusing

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is used as the content management system for our organization's intranet. The intranet has hundreds of pages as well as image and document storage capabilities. It also has a number of custom integrations built by the organization's information technology department that have been integrated into the Drupal system for use. Users across the organization access Drupal.
Read Jimmy Mack's full review
Nate Dillon | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Drupal is a powerful but complicated CMS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I used Drupal in a previous organization to build websites for clients. Drupal was our primary CMS, and we used it to build about 12 websites per year. I currently use Drupal to build a few of my personal websites, as well as websites for friends. I also use Drupal to build and maintain a website for an organization that I am a part of.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
Sean Pomory | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 11, 2018

Drupal is the 777 of CMS'

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is used to manage our primary website. It is managed by the Marketing department, without any involvement from the IT department. It serves as a quick, effective and relatively inexpensive way to manage over a thousand pages of content. In addition, the direction towards API first has significant savings, allowing us to build a solution that integrates many technologies into one interface for content editors.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Stefanie Cash | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2018

Drupal Does What Is Intended

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

My company needed a new website that was responsive, allowed for an easy to manage content management system, and flexibility/scalability. Due to Drupal being open source and having the ability to create templates that are customized - it solved many of our business problems. Some of those problems being; dynamic response, loading forms, creating custom landing pages.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2018

Drupal: A Definite Recommend!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is the main development platform that we use at my company. We currently use versions 7 and 8. We are in the process of migrating all version 7 instances to version 8. We use Drupal to house and promote all of our various assets, promote events, track registrations via integration. Drupal is used by various departments within my organization but is run by one main group whereas all of the others are supporting it. Drupal is used to both promote our products as well as serve as a singular housing unit for all resources, forms, event information, and company information.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Drupal has many advantages for small and large businesses

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Drupal to create our business website. We were able to customize it to fit our needs and to create a way to showcase our work to clients, build a client base, and connect with clients and keep them up to date. It addressed our security needs as well as our ability to see websites scaled onto smaller platforms.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2019

Drupal for multipurpose websitex

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal is a well developed, well-known Content Management system, capable of handling a large volume of visitors, and can create a number of content pages. It can be used as a simple blog, can make interactive business sites, and can create an e-commerce site too. Can easily be customizable to meet one's needs. The theme system is another of the important features, as you can use the large number of free templates available if you do not want to build from scratch.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

QA Analyst's Review of Drupal

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The company I work for builds websites for higher education institutions. We use Drupal and another platform. We have plans to move away from the other platform and have all of our websites on Drupal. Drupal is easy to use, versatile, secure, and overall a great product. We have a wide variety of departments which use Drupal including our Developers, QA team, Content team, and UX team.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Hogan | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2018

Drupal: Titan of Open Source

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The global education services division is driven by websites designed to market and recruit online degree programs for prospective students and consumers. 95 percent of those websites are built with Drupal. Through these websites we gather information vital to the company's business strategies.
Read Charles Hogan's full review
Brian Nizinsky | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

If you love happy, giddy developers...

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Drupal hosts our main public website, which has hundreds of thousands of users visit it monthly. It is being used by the marketing department and we chose it for its flexibility and ease of use. We were stuck with an old CMS that was rigid and a pain to work with. Our developers hated it and it prevented us from being nimble. Drupal solves those problems for us.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (60)
9.2
API (54)
8.8
Internationalization / multi-language (48)
8.8
WYSIWYG editor (57)
8.1
Code quality / cleanliness (61)
8.2
Admin section (63)
8.1
Page templates (62)
8.0
Library of website themes (53)
7.7
Mobile optimization / responsive design (58)
9.0
Publishing workflow (62)
8.5
Form generator (59)
8.4
Content taxonomy (59)
8.4
SEO support (57)
8.3
Bulk management (56)
8.5
Availability / breadth of extensions (56)
8.8
Community / comment management (56)
8.6

About Drupal

Drupal is a free and open source content management system written in PHP that competes primarily with Joomla and Plone. The standard release of Drupal, known as Drupal core, contains basic features common to content management systems. These include a dashboard with a menu management system, RSS feeds, page layout customization and themes to aid this, and system administration tools. Drupal offers access statistics, more advanced search features, caching and feature throttling (to improve performance if needed), descriptive URLs, multiple users with controllable privileges, access control and restrictions, and workflow tools (triggers). There are over 30,000 addons or modules to expand Drupal's functionality.



Categories:  Content Management

Drupal Integrations

Drupal Competitors

Joomla!, Kentico Xperience, Plone, Magnolia (V5 and later versions)

Drupal Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No