AWeber Reviews

76 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 34)

coll kirk | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 27, 2020

Great for Mid Sized companies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber is being used for email communication in B2B and B2C. It includes behavior-based campaigns as well as monthly newsletters and ad-hoc campaigns. Overarchingly we use it to move consumers and customers down the funnel into conversion.
  • List Management and segmentation
  • Automation
  • Sales Tracking or conversion tracking - okay but needs work
  • Price compared to competitors
AWeber is an excellent tool if you are more engaged and able to do some light coding, as well as develop massive campaigns based on behavior. It is a step up from some of its competitors and is an advanced level. It is lighter than a full-service agency, but the support team is beneficial if you run into an issue. For large corporations with eCommerce, this won't do the heavy lifting, but if you are smaller and mainly focused on brand awareness, it is good.
Read coll kirk's full review
Mukesh K. Singhmar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Simple easy to use email marketing software! Great inbox deliverability.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We, SeeResponse, are a full-service B2B marketing agency that specializes in email marketing. We provide managed email marketing services and use AWeber to help our valued customers build, launch and manage their email marketing campaigns. These campaigns let our customers promote their products and services and also send informational content like blogs, articles, webinars, and newsletters. The frequency of these emails ranges from daily to monthly. But most of the emails are on a weekly cadence. Though most of our campaigns run on a periodic basis, we also leverage AWeber to send out one-off broadcasts. These usually are product launch emails, corporate announcements, and press releases or news bulletins. The business problem that AWeber helps us and our customers solve is that it eliminates the complexity associated with sending out email marketing campaigns a great deal and provides an easy and simple email outreach solution at a rather inexpensive price point.
  • AWeber provides great email deliverability. Emails get into the inboxes.
  • AWeber's reporting feature and the dashboard view.
  • The default view that's associated with a list vs. the account or campaigns.

It is a rather strong email marketing software. We love the fact that they provide great email deliverability. We also like their dashboard view. Their reporting interface displays account overview, subscriber stats, metrics from your recent campaigns, and stats from your lists. From the dashboard itself, one can look up a contact from the "list stats" section and can also update contact status or unsubscribe a contact. This saves you additional steps.

AWeber can work on making better the default view that's associated with a list vs. the account -- which is different from most email software out there. To elaborate, the default view will always be associated with a list of what they refer to as "Current List". From a user perspective, this means that you have to skip between the lists to see campaigns send to that list. This as opposed to the more standard campaign list view that most other email software have is a little tricky to get used to, especially when you are starting off new on AWeber.

Read Mukesh K. Singhmar's full review
Nkululeko Caiphas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2020

Most Amazing Email Marketing Software I ever used! The simplicity is outstanding

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber is a great email marketing software for us. As a digital agency we use AWeber to collect for our clients. We also use Aweber into other businesses of ours. It is great platform for automation. We do not have to set up day-by-day emails. We're able to set up and schedule our email campaigns all at once.
  • It is very easy to use and it has friendly user interface.
  • Following up series - set up follow-up emails series so that whenever a subscriber enters into your list they start to receive emails from you.
  • Landing page - basically now if you are tight on budget to psu for landing pages software, on AWeber you can create your own landing page to collect leads.
  • It gives you a 30 day free trial to test things out.
  • AWeber does not have a free plan.
  • There are some keywords that are not allowed to be used in your emails otherwise AWeber shuts down your account.
  • You're not allowed to import the subscribers that have been bought from third party.
AWeber is suitable for any Internet marketing business whether you are beginner or pro. It has everything you need for Internet marketing. It even supports affiliate marketing some other auto responders do not support. If you are still starting out or completely a newbie, AWeber customer support delivers an outstanding service.

It helps to keep track on the campaigns we're sending out to our clients by showing us real-time reports and analytics. We're able to know the performance of our campaigns by showing Open Rates % and Click Rates %.
Read Nkululeko Caiphas's full review
Nancy Boyd | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2020

We're a big fan of AWeber

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it across the whole organization, for marketing, creating meaningful connections with prospects and existing customers, and to generate sales. It solves the problem of engagement, connection, outreach, and marketing. The platform is versatile enough to carry the weight of multiple tasks across most of our customer relationship needs. We've been very pleased with it from the start.
  • AWeber keeps its platform updated to include tools for engagement in multiple ways, which is a huge bonus for us in customer relationship management.
  • Their customer service is top-notch and unbeatable. Their staff is well trained, courteous, and available when we need them. If we need something off-hours, their help resources and tutorials are easy to follow and almost always cover the problem we are trying to solve. We always feel supported and encouraged to perform at highest standards with AWeber behind us.
  • If I had a wishlist, I'd ask for 24/7 phone support; but honestly, even without that, their customer support has been well thought out and gives us most of what we need.
  • When they upgrade their platforms (which is frequent, because of the rapid changes in technology) it sometimes becomes difficult to learn how to use the things that are new. All told, though, I'd rather they keep adding to their resources for us even if it means a steeper learning curve in how to integrate and use the new tools. The tradeoff is worth it.
AWeber is great for small to medium-size businesses or startups, who need a robust customer relationship management system for lead generation, warming up prospects, educating buyers and prospects about the benefits and features of products and services, and to maintain healthy connections with current customers and target markets. Situations, where AWeber might not be well suited, could be for managing extremely large databases that are using media such as video and online delivery of information products, such as webinars and telesummits.
Read Nancy Boyd's full review
Jackie Bassett | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 25, 2019

AWeber - To Trust & Automate Marketing Campaign Subscriptions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber is a must-have for any company seeking to capture the most from email marketing campaigns, and we run several. I had used AWeber at other companies but this time I needed it for one of our strategic business units, Creating The Future Today.Life.

We also have a newsletter so needed the best tool to manage and automate subscriptions, especially in the days of GDPR. Permissions matter! They've been the go-to tech for this for years and have all the required compliance expertise designed into the product that we were looking for.
  • Subscription management
  • Multiple brand/product launches
  • Audit recordkeeping of permissions
  • Templates - there's always room for more choices and more agility
  • More video training for really new users, even though AWeber has been around a long time
It is absolutely the best when you want to/need to get permissions and authenticate subscribers. It's an easy audit-recordkeeping system and must-have for marketing compliance, so automation by these experts is perfect!

Campaigns can be personalized much better using AWeber. There's nothing worse than sending a campaign out with either inaccurate or generic titles or messages. Global audiences are hyper fragmented. Agility in personalization makes a measurably greater impact.
Read Jackie Bassett's full review
Craige Hardel | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 15, 2019

Reliable email marketing tool

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
AWeber was just to send list broadcasts and also to put new subscribers through a drip sequence to become familiar with our brand to purchase our products.
  • Great customer support.
  • Simple to use and set up.
  • Trial period. They allow you to try their service and provide really good supporting material.
  • Intuitive UX.
  • List segmentation could be more seamless. They make it so confusing because they still use a list based tagged system.
  • Have subscribers confirm their emails by default when you import a list. I found that a bit sneaky.
  • Add a workflow builder to create even more complex sequences.
AWeber is suited for the small business owner who is getting started and the experienced campaigner who wants a tried and true solution. Their support is great and they really go the extra mile to help. AWeber is really good for someone just getting starting selling products and services online as it provides a gentle introduction to email marketing. It wasn't suitable for myself wanting to set up more complex dynamic automation sequences where email sent are determined by behavioral conditions.
Read Craige Hardel's full review
Suzanne Glorie | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 04, 2019

Great tool for running campaigns

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWeber to run all our e-mail marketing campaigns. It helps us to stay in close contact with our target audience and to streamline our campaigns.
  • Easy to use.
  • Set up drip campaigns.
  • Managing distribution lists.
  • Creating a funnel.
  • Setting up the connection with Gravity forms in WordPress was a bit of a hassle.
  • When creating plain text messages I have trouble including the links.
Great tool if you want to run email campaigns.
Read Suzanne Glorie's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

AWeber gets email done!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using AWeber for nurturing leads and our periodic newsletters that are part of our overall marketing strategy.
  • Easy to use.
  • Great features.
  • Interface is somewhat dated.
  • Not many integrations.
As a straightforward email marketing solution, AWeber performs well. If the user is trying to integrate with landing pages, CRM systems or other types of integration there may be some challenges because the platform isn't great at doing that.
Read this authenticated review
Ruby Javaid | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2019

AWeber is an all around great email tool with excellent list management and reporting tools!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I currently use AWeber to send out email newsletters for a client. The client has compiled a list of over 7k people over the years, and one of the easiest ways for him to get his phone ringing is to send out a newsletter every month. Usually, each mailing yields several big projects.
  • List compilation -- I can make as many different lists as I need to on AWeber and send out newsletters to a certain group or segment easily. In addition to having the ability to create multiple lists, each list can be further broken down by adding tags to each subscriber
  • Email reliability -- Emails from AWeber typically make it to the inbox and have a lesser rate of going to spam
  • Content elements -- While there are design limitations, there are plenty of options to choose from on what kind of content you can add in your mailing
  • Content elements design/layout for newsletter -- getting things to look exactly as you want them takes some work. This is probably not an issue for the average user, but for a web/graphic designer perspective, it's more complicated than it should be to add columns or sections or styling in some instances.
Email newsletters for audiences of over 2,000 subscribers work well with AWeber. The most well-known competitor, Mailchimp, is free for up to 2k subscribers, so I would go with that option if the list size is small.
AWeber also has a better spam/unsubscribe tolerance. Mailchimp is very strict and will shut down your account if you have too many people marking your email as spam. AWeber lets you know that you need to do something about it if your spam count is high, but will give you time to work out your issues rather than close down the account.
Read Ruby Javaid's full review
Ibrahim Campos | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 08, 2019

A great tool for marketing through emails.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is an application that the company has been using to create marketing campaigns efficiently and quickly through emails. It facilitates the work that was carried out within the company to reach all customers through emails to bring some news or promotion of a product. It has options that allow us to see who has read our emails and also allows us to know what is most interesting to them.
  • It is a program that allows us to have good interactions with the created contact list.
  • It allows us to have control of who is interested in the email we send.
  • AWeber has a great variety of templates, much better than other similar programs. They have a great capacity for personalization and they allow you to save your created templates to use them when necessary.
  • It allows you to automate sending emails.
  • It can be difficult to learn how to use this program since its interface can be confusing. It is necessary to follow a guide to know this program.
  • Faults can occur when sending emails, arriving in a different way than we thought it would.
  • It can be complicated when it comes to automating the sending of emails since it is not easy to understand. Finding the tools that this program offers can be difficult.
AWeber is a perfect program for small or medium companies. It is perfect for companies that do not send large amounts of emails and has the necessary capacity for these companies, whether to do marketing, inform different customers, or send information about different promotions. It works perfectly for small businesses that need something quick without so much customization or so many steps to start using.
Read Ibrahim Campos's full review
Haley Fox | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

AWeber - The Perfect tool for email Leads and Marketing - but Not for the Newbies

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber is an essential daily marketing platform. It is used to gain new followers, engage in sales or promotions and even get feedback for our clients. It solves many problems, like knowing when the best time of the day to send an email is, finding out when a client has read an email, which titles get opened more, etc.
  • Email design
  • Email layout with suggestions
  • Best times to send emails
  • When emails are opened
  • Engagement testing
  • The price should be free up to a certain amount of followers, like MailChimp.
  • The back office can be a tad confusing for my clients and I have to usually spend several hours with them over the phone explaining how to navigate, but saying this, I have the same problem with all of the other email marketing platforms as well.
  • Drop and Drag is a great feature, but it doesn't seem to work perfectly on certain templates, where it does on others. It should work the same across all of them.
When I have a client that only has a few 100 followers, I always recommend MailChimp as they are free until you get to 2000 followers. If the client doesn't care about money and doesn't want to move them over later, then this is the platform I will recommend.
Read Haley Fox's full review
Joe Gatto | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

The best email marketing software for marketing pros

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use AWeber to build our email list and stay in touch with prospects and customers. We know who is engaging with us and can give them extra attention, which leads to sales. It's used across the whole organization. AWeber makes it as easy as possible to build an email list, and then keep in touch with people, as it provides useful analytics.
  • AWeber makes it as easy as possible to build an email list, and then keep in touch with people, as it provides useful analytics.
  • I can track who clicked on certain links to determine their level of engagement. This is important because I can follow up with a phone call to the best prospects.
  • It's easy to save templates and reuse them, which saves time.
  • It's a bit clunky and slow sometimes.
  • I wish it didn't count duplicates as unique subscribers.
  • I wish I could set a default font and style.
AWeber is perfect for building an email list for SAAS companies, e-commerce stores, paid newsletter writers, local businesses, tourism businesses, and other types of digital marketers.

For example, a tourism business could send guests an email in various languages encouraging guests to leave a review on the major booking sites — TripAdvisor, Agoda, Booking.com, etc., and send it to guests after checkout. It's easy for customers to sign up in person too with AWeber's Atom app for a smartphone or tablet.

Read Joe Gatto's full review
Mohammed Anzil | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2018

Simple Yet Powerful email Marketing Tool

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber helps us to connect with our readers easily. We have been using AWeber since 2016 and it feels the best email marketing tool out there. It integrates perfectly with other services.

We have a list of 2000+ subscribers and get 100% inbox rate. AWeber's landing pages are simple yet powerful and easy to customize. They have plugins for different CMS - that means AWeber is available for anywhere at any time.
  • Easy to Use
  • Great Inbox rate
  • Plugins available for different CMS
  • Nice Templates
  • A little more expensive
  • Customer Support is not good
  • Drag and Drop Editor doesn't work sometimes
  • Not beautiful designs for your email
If you have enough budget and you are ready to spend good amounts for email marketing campaigns, AWeber could be a good companion for you. What we like the most on AWeber is its awesome eEmail analytics. If you are a blogger, you can easily email your articles to your subscribers. Also, you will like AWeber's email scheduling, it works perfectly.
Read Mohammed Anzil's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2018

Definitely Worth a Look for SMB B2Bs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I currently use AWeber on behalf of a client company in the training and management consulting space. We use it to send out weekly blog updates to opt-in subscribers as well as periodic campaigns such as webinar registrations. AWeber makes it easy to build an opt-in subscriber list from the client's website, segment the list, stay in touch with current subscribers, and encourage subscribers to take additional actions (such as viewing a video or scheduling an appointment).
  • List building: AWeber makes it easy to grow opt-in subscribers through customizable signup forms as well an integration with tools like Sumo and Hustle Pro.
  • List segmentation: with a little more information about each subscriber, it's easy to create custom segmented lists based on different criteria.
  • Deliverability: AWeber enforces opt-in rules to keep spammers out of its system and improve deliverability rates for reputable users. We rarely have issues with our messages from AWeber being routed to spam folders.
  • Double opt-in: AWeber makes it easy to set up double opt-in to make extra certain you have a high-quality mailing list.
  • Pricing for very small companies: While AWeber's pricing is competitive overall, it would be nice if there were a free level for beginners and those just starting to build a list, and if the lowest pricing tier had a higher ceiling on subscribers, such as 2,000 instead of 500.
  • Standard template design: Though it's possible to send beautiful emails with AWeber, their "out of the box" standard designs for templates and forms are somewhat dull and outdated.
  • Reporting glitches: We've occasionally had issues with the reporting not being accurate, but these instances are the exception rather than the rule, and AWeber support is generally very responsive in solving these issues.
AWeber is best suited for small to midsized B2B companies and smaller ecommerce suppliers who don't have huge mailing lists (20,000 or fewer subscribers) and don't need sophisticated automation sequences or personalization. Because of its pricing model (based on subscribers, but no limit on emails) it's great for vendors who do multiple mailings each month but to a reasonably small list. Larger companies will likely look for a more sophisticated offering or bring this in-house with marketing automation software.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

AWeber is a great investment for mass email marketing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber was previously used by my organization for our email marketing needs. This was being implemented specifically by the marketing department, but was used for advertising services deployed by our organization as a whole. For us, it solved the problem of getting out sharp, eye-catching marketing emails while being able to access analytics about those emails. In the end, this allowed us to pinpoint what was working with our emails and what wasn't.
  • Their customer service was pretty great. I was able to get answers to my questions fairly quickly, which was helpful when I was under a deadline
  • Their pre-built email templates are customizable. This is fairly standard across most email marketing sites now, but I preferred AWeber's templates to ones I found on other sites. There was more variety and more options for customization
  • The analytics provided for each email were, for the most part, comprehensive. They worked well for what our organization needed at the time, and it was helpful to see open rates, click rates, etc.
  • I'd love to see more extensive analytics options become available. It would be great to see tracked emails where I could see when someone opened one of my emails, forwarded that email, etc. Details like this would help our organization better hone in on when our target audience is active.
AWeber is great for launching mass email marketing campaigns. If you have a large database you need to reach all at once, a service like AWeber is ideal. The only scenario where I think a service like this would not be appropriate is if you are sending more personalized emails to 1 person (or a small group of people).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2018

AWeber does the job and emails with ease

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AWeber to send emails to students about different housing events and important housing information. It helped us manage our mailing list for each semester as well as helped us create templates and use those for each of our emails. It also provided the students a way to unsubscribe from our list.
  • Easy to use
  • Great list segmentation
  • Automation capabilities
  • Templates could be improved
  • Tagging could be more robust
  • Automation could have more triggers
AWeber is great for larger email lists that need to be segmented, but not for online marketing if you want fancy templates or automation. AWeber sends emails fast and has a streamlined backend, but that doesn't give me all of the flexibility that I get from other email service providers.
Read this authenticated review
Greg Dungan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2018

AWeber is a Feature-Packed Product at a Reasonable Price

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
Aweber is used by several of my clients to manage their mailing lists. It is connected to the opt-in forms on their websites and it is the utility used to send and track their newsletters and other broadcasts. Some of my clients have Aweber connected to their blogs so that an email goes out to their mailing list every time they publish a new post. Other only use it for sending messages periodically.

Aweber is an affordable, feature-packed tool that allows companies of any size to nurture their customer relationships and provide extra value through publishing. The fact that it can send immediate messages or pre-scheduled autoresponder messages makes it both versatile and valuable.
  • Aweber manages mailing lists particularly well. By this I mean that it handles subscribe and unsubscribe requests automatically, so you never have to worry about annoying people by accidentally sending them information they opted out of.
  • Aweber provides reliable scheduling of messages. This works for newsletters that you want to write and schedule in advance as well as auto-responder sequences that you create for a specific campaign. It also connects directly to your blog and social media profiles so that you can post in one location and have it show up on all your profiles. That's really handy!
  • Aweber provides detailed analytics for all of your broadcasted messages without overcomplicating things. You can easily see who received, opened, and clicked the links within your messages, so that you can consistently refine your marketing efforts.
  • Aweber is also affordable. Some mailing list applications cost an arm and leg, but Aweber can easily fit into just about any budget. It's reasonable cost also allows it to pay for itself very quickly.
  • Aweber would be even better if it had the ability to host landing pages. I have to use a tool like landingpages.net to do this if I don't want to create the landing pages as part of my client's website. If I manage their site, it isn't a problem, but it keeps me from using Aweber for clients who manage their own sites or dont' have one.
  • Aweber would greatly benefit from a more robust reseller program. Firms like mine have multiple clients and, with each client needing an individual Aweber account, it would be nice to have access to margin so that we could resell the services.
  • Along the lines of a reseller program, it would be great of Aweber allowed resellers to white label the interface and administrate multiple accounts from one agency account.
Aweber is particularly suited to small to medium businesses and organizations who need to manage their mailing lists and communicate periodically with their customers or members.

Aweber is not particularly suited to agencies who need to broker and provide these services to multiple clients. It's mainly an end-user application.
Read Greg Dungan's full review
Nicole Steen, M.A. | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2018

When there are so many better options, why choose this one?

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to create sign up forms and email campaigns. It allows us to send targeted emails and analyze campaign results which we can then use to enhance and improve our subsequent campaigns. Its interface is a bit outdated and the design options are too. It works well, though but probably not worth the price, given there are so many other email management software available.
  • Email segmentation - helpful for sending more targeted campaigns
  • Drag and drop email builder - standard interface, not bells and whistles, good for those who like it simple
  • Design options - very limited here, nothing like Constant Contact or MailChimp
  • User interface - the way the lists are separated is a bit unintuitive, having to remember to change the list you are in before creating an email was tough
It is well suited for bare bones type of people who don't need advanced design options. It is not suited for people who are not technologically savvy as the interface is not intuitive which can increase the learning curve.
Read Nicole Steen, M.A.'s full review
Gene Sower | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2018

The Email Marketer's Email Marketing Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aweber several ways: to send out newsletters for our own business. We also set up clients with their own Aweber accounts so we can use it on their behalf. The other way we use it is as an integration with Lead Pages to capture opt-ins for lead magnets on landing pages.
  • Autoresponders
  • Custom opt-in/sign up boxes
  • Third-party API integration
  • List segmentation
  • Great phone support
  • So many features that sometimes it's hard to find things.
  • Can't put lines or outlines around the actual newsletter templates when you make them from scratch. There should be a way to easily outline boxes/areas within the newsletters. There isn't like there is with some other email tools we use.
  • Can't upload messy lists of email addresses like I can with other programs we use. For instance, in other programs, I can upload a text file with names, addresses, punctuation, etc and the program will pull all the emails out of that mess into a nice neat list. Aweber can't do that.
Well suited to use in conjunction with an ebook or special report in terms of opt-ins and downloads. Less appropriate for newbies due to its increasing complexity and many features that not everyone will use.
Read Gene Sower's full review
Vilhelm Kruse | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 02, 2018

AWeber - kind of does the job

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Aweber to
  • manage contact list and campaigns
  • automate email sequences for webinars and small courses
  • handle subscribers to newsletters
  • as a hub between signing up and a website and adding a lead to a list
  • keep track of event participants for off and online workshops
  • segmenting our leads
  • part of our sales funnel
  • Managing subscribers and sending out bulk information as in newsletters. This is what it is built for and it is what it does best.
  • Automation. The automation is straightforward and easy to use. We use it for automated workshops where the participant gets an email every third day throughout the year.
  • I find segmenting lists hard to do with Aweber. There is the possibility of tagging, but last time I checked it was still in Beta.
  • I have found no real way of allowing my leads to self-maintain their information and self select which lists they are opted in on.
  • The UI feels outdated.
For a basic option and sending out newsletters, Aweber does the job and the automation is also straightforward to use. However, I feel I keep hitting the ceiling as to what it can do. For a company with a limited need for bulk email - free alternatives like MailChimp look very appealing.
Read Vilhelm Kruse's full review
Andy Ryan | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 13, 2017

Engineering Minded Design: AWeber Will Deliver

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AWeber as our email marketing software for a few online product launches. It was used as the sole email marketing platform for a few years. It was used because it had multiple integrations with other software that we were using at the time. It also allowed us to collect lead information. We used it to automate emails to our email lists.
  • AWeber is good at integrating with other software such as LeadPages.
  • AWeber is good at organizing your contacts for email marketing.
  • AWeber is good at setting up automation for your email lists.
  • Overall, it takes some getting used to. The graphic user interface is a bit dated. It looks like multiple software engineers worked on it. It doesn't have a consistent flow and can be difficult to navigate.
  • It's not really easy or intuitive to get the automation set up.
  • The composing of the email section is strange. We had problems with how it looked on our screens vs. how it looked when we sent it out.
I would say AWeber is well suited for someone who is task oriented minded. Someone who is more of an engineer type brain. I wouldn't recommend AWeber for creatives or people who like their software to be pleasant to look at. It does its job well, but it isn't pretty.
Read Andy Ryan's full review
Anne Theriault | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 15, 2017

Aweber Rocks! My Honest Review As A Customer For 8 Years

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Aweber to build relationships with my customers as well as provide value through blogging and mentoring. I also use Aweber to send out surveys to allow my clients to give me feedback on what their needs are. It's a great system as I can send hundreds of e-mails with a simple click. It allows me a great time saver and the system is very easy to use.
  • Aweber has a very simple platform with great tutorials on the site as well as up to date articles on the latest new developments and features.
  • Aweber has a superior customer service team. They are incredibly knowledgeable and always pleasant to speak with.
  • Aweber provides a tremendous library of pre-made templates, saving you a lot of time. It also allows you to customize the templates with simple drag and drop button, such as adding photos, coupons, logos, social media links and signature.
  • Deleting inactive subscribers after a certain period of time would be an added benefit.
  • Their price could be reduced to attract those just starting out online.
  • I cannot think of anything else. They are a great company.
Aweber is very well suited for anyone looking to build a subscriber list in order to market to their customers or clients. Whether you have an online business or an offline business, as long as you are collecting customer e-mails, you can and should be using AWeber to connect with, build relationships with, and provide value to your customers.
Read Anne Theriault's full review
Andreas Jones - LSSGB, CPP, CSCS | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

Aweber delivers Best-in-Class service and experience

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Aweber has been extremely helpful with increasing productivity. Aweber has allowed me to improve communications with my clients. My client experience has improved, I am able to segment and direct messages to right customer at the right time. Sales have increase with our ability to communicate with our customers more efficiently and effectivelty
  • User interface and user experience
  • Segmenting
  • Follow ups
  • Intuitiveness
  • Pricing options
  • Mobile accessibility
Aweber is well suited to provide great customer experience with follow-ups, broadcasts and segmenting
Read Andreas Jones - LSSGB, CPP, CSCS's full review
Yvonne Herbst | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 01, 2015

Why I prefer Aweber over Constant Contact and Mail Chimp

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
I am an independent marketing consulting agency offering website development and email marketing services for clients. I have used AWeber for my own email newsletters and set up client newsletters on aweber as well.

Business problems addressed: Growing a customer database / email list and communicating with prospects and customers efficiently.
  • Gets email past spam filters and into recipients' email inboxes
  • Customer support is great - love the telephone support when I have a question or am stuck.
  • Makes it easy to identify who has opened emails, who has not, and send emails to list segments based on opens / non-opens
  • Allows you to segment lists by other criteria, such as birthday. We have used Aweber to send out birthday offers to people on the list who have birthdays that month.
  • I like the wide selection of ready made opt in form designs that can be customized and embedded on client websites
  • I like the hosted opt-in form option where you can send people a link to an opt in form without having to host it on your own website .. great for people who need to build a list but don't have a website yet.
  • Double opt-in requirements. While I understand the rationale for double opt-in, I wish Aweber did not require double opt-in when importing email addresses from the client's existing client database as I feel we end up losing a good number of people who are existing customers and have given the business permission to email them but who either don't notice or don't take the extra step to confirm their subscription to the Aweber list.
  • The user interface when designing and setting up html newsletters is not as clearcut and obvious as Constant Contact; it takes more time to get the newsletters to "look right" using Aweber's existing templates.
  • I wish Aweber made it easier to embed a video message simply by inserting the video link or embed code into the email body. The process it seems to require (the last time I tried) was to create a screenshot of the video or insert the video thumbnail image and then link to the video in the right column link section .. it's a 2 step process and would be nice if it were a one click process. Not a deal breaker but I just feel like it could be faster and more efficient to embed video messages in an email.
Read Yvonne Herbst's full review
Nichol Skaggs | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2014

Why I like AWeber

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWeber is being used to build lists and contact leads, for example newsletters, blog, telesummit or free giveaway. It is also being used for delivery of follow ups and broadcasts after a product is purchased, for example a coaching program.
  • AWeber keeps your lists organized well and gives you many customization abilities for individual lists.
  • AWeber makes it easy for you to cut and paste from word and pdf documents into the editor without first having to strip code which saves time.
  • AWeber keeps a library of images for you so you can easily insert them each time.
  • AWeber gives you many options to create nice looking opt in boxes and forms with custom branding and images for each individual list.
  • AWeber has excellent customer service.
  • AWeber has an intuitive work flow.
  • AWeber could use some improvement in the functionality and range of what options they provide in the editor. For example, it would be nice to have more font choices and if the editor would remember font color choices that are most used (it refreshes after saving). Sometimes the editor doesn't hold your font choice and so you have to go back and select your font choice again.
  • AWeber's editor functionality takes a little getting used to. Sometimes you have to line your image or paragraph blocks up differently than it looks in the editor. I always TEST my emails to make sure images and text aline nicely in the final email, overall it is a good layout and is still easier and less time consuming than writing html newsletters:)
  • It would be nice if AWeber created more customizable social media share buttons you could insert (as an option) that can be used when creating newsletters and blogs.
  • The url/link button could use some improvement as far as work flow goes, it is easy to link text or make a url live, but not easy to break the link on words, usually you have to delete and re-write the words.
  • AWeber should move the pop up image edit box over to the right more for a better work flow, so it doesn't overlap the editor, it makes it hard to delete and move blocks when it is overlapped with the pop up editor.
  • AWeber blog broadcasts are not very appealing visually.
  • It would be nice if AWeber provided more plain/customizable templates for your own branding that allows for background colors that match your branding for newsletter and blogs.
AWeber provides integration with other programs and gateways which makes it more versatile. You can integrate it with Paypal, WordPress, WordPress eStore, LeadPages, WishList, Etsy, Facebook and many other applications and systems. If you are looking for a communications/list building/email system at a fair price that will integrate with each of these pieces then AWeber would be a great choice.
Read Nichol Skaggs's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

WYSIWYG email editor (27)
8.2
A/B testing (4)
6.2
Mobile optimization (23)
8.5
Email deliverability reporting (28)
9.6
List management (28)
8.5
Triggered drip sequences (23)
8.3
Dashboards (24)
8.4
Standard reports (28)
8.7
Custom reports (23)
8.0

About AWeber

AWeber is comprised of email marketing and automation tools which the vendor says are trusted by over 100,000 entrepreneurs and small businesses. The vendor aims to help companies turn passive prospects into loyal customers with mobile-friendly HTML email newsletters, engaging autoresponder campaigns, subscriber segmentation and management, RSS-to-email features, signup forms for your website or blog, and more. Live customer support, 100 app integrations and free mobile apps to grow and manage email lists are included.

AWeber Features

Email & Online Marketing Features
Has featureWYSIWYG email editor
Does not have featureDynamic content
Does not have featureAbility to test dynamic content
Does not have featureLanding pages
Does not have featureA/B testing
Has featureMobile optimization
Has featureEmail deliverability reporting
Has featureList management
Has featureTriggered drip sequences
Reporting & Analytics Features
Has featureDashboards
Has featureStandard reports
Has featureCustom reports
Pre-Send Testing Features
Does not have featureURL Validation
Does not have featureLink Tracking
Does not have featureImage Validation
Does not have featureInbox Display
Does not have featureEmail Accessibility Tools
Does not have featureSpelling and Grammar Check
Does not have featureSpam Testing
Does not have featureEmail Previews
Does not have featureAssign Reviewers
Does not have featureEmail Version Control
Does not have featureTask Lists
Does not have featureReview Status Updates
Additional Features
Has featureSubscriber segmentation

AWeber Screenshots

AWeber Integrations

WordPress, Leadpages, Drupal, Cyfe, by Traject, Geckoboard, RavenTools, Rafflecopter, Antavo, Shopify, Woobox, unbounce, Instapage, KickoffLabs, ManyContacts, Salesforce.com, Zendesk, Wistia, Eventbrite, MeetingBurner, ShortStack, 2Checkout, WooCommerce, Wishpond, Zapier, Vzaar, SumoMe, EZ Texting, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), Facebook, PayPal, Rainmaker, Launch Effect, Heyo, ViralSweep, Gleam, Contest Domination, Clickbank, Zaxaa, Etsy, Moonclerk, @Pay, Selz, Ultracart, StoreYa, OptimizePress, Meg, Lander, OptinMonster, Digioh, MailMunch, PadiAct, Justuno, Elevatr, OnSpot Social, Pippity, SplashPost, AddThis, Privy, Member Mouse, aMember Pro, Member Sonic, Wishlist, AW Pro Tools, Viewbix, FormGet, CallLoop

AWeber Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

After a 30-day free trial, pricing is determined based on the total number of subscribers in your account. Pricing starts as low as $19/mo. Additional savings are available by paying quarterly or annually.

AWeber Support Options

 Free Version
Phone
Live Chat
Email
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar

AWeber Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android