TrustRadius
Piwik is an open source analytics platform that enables users to measure web and mobile apps as well as intranet portals. It protects the privacy of users through advanced privacy features and its approach to data ownership. Piwik offers On-premises and Cloud deployment options. Available in over 50 languages, it is fully customisable and vendor-independent. Piwik offers over 70 integrations with Content Management Systems, Ecommerce solutions, Forums as well as other mobile and web platforms. Piwik users can access analytics through the Piwik web interface, as well as mobile apps on iOS and Android.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/CS/fr/GIX87T41GI7K.PNGMatomo (formerly Piwik) reviewWe use the tool to track the daily users who visit our website and look at the visitor log to see what pages people are visiting and for how long.,Easy to track daily traffic Easy to monitor visitor traffic Can set up website goals and tie them to marketing campaigns,When looking through visitor log it only allows you to go back one day Cannot see how long the visitor spent on each page, only the total length of their visit Need to add real time visitors on your page to show if there are any active visitors on your page at the current moment, similar to Google Analytics,8,Ease of see who visits your page - Gives total number of users who visited your page in an easy to read chart. Ease of seeing how many people visit your page - Allows you to look at total visitors versus new visitors in a very readable chart. It makes it easy to demonstrate/display how well your website is visited. Ease of seeing the time you have the most traffic - Lays out in a readable chart the time when you have highest traffic.,N/APiwik let's you own your data!We used it in a couple of places where Google Analytics was limited in ways we could measure how people were using our website. It also provided a better depth of information and we also appreciated owning our data to use as we pleased.,Access to the raw data, and allowing us the ability to customize as needed. Painless install, for the most part. It was nice to be able to customize the interface. I really love the mobile app, which make it easy to get insights on the go. A perfect replacement for Google Analytics for us when we needed to know we were in control of the data.,I feel the upgrade process could be smoother. Sometimes the speed in the backend is a bit slow. I'd like to see the realtime get more detailed, and the design to be rethought, maybe with more real-time summaries.,9,It's hard to quantify exact ROI Piwik has provided us, but I can say I could not have the insights we have without it.,Google Analytics,WordPress, Concrete5, Vanilla ForumsPiwik Analytics for those who knowWe use Piwik as an alternative to Google Analytics for our clients who want to track their web site statistics and would rather not have their data hosted by Google. In addition, we use it to track our own website's data.,Multiple sites can be easily configured and tracked in one central dashboard. There is more than one way to track the site visits - javascript is not necessary (but is of course the easiest way to track) With the new version 2.0, various reports can be 'widgetized' and embedded in other web pages that are not necessarily part of the main Piwik domain (i.e. you can embed live reports in a client's intranet),Initial setup is simple, but you'll need to know something about your server environment. Importing raw data from server logs is not trivial, and takes a bit of work to get right.,9,As with any analytics program, Piwik has enabled us to look at where the traffic is going and how to optimize for that traffic. In particular, the nightly email reports keep the design and account staff engaged with the sites and give them a 'big picture' view.,,10,9Own Your Data, Know Your Users and Protect Their Privacy with PiwikPiwik allows us to have control over our own data instead of using a third party service to handle it for us. With it, we can access the raw analytics data if we want or write new modules to present the data in a new way. Piwik truly gives you full control and it's easy to implement.,You own your data. You are in full control of how you want your data presented. You show respect for your users privacy,Missing A/B testing. Missing insights into data. Better real-time reporting.,8,Better ROI on Google Adwords. Increased traffic to our content marketing efforts. Quicker identification of wasted marketing efforts.,,8,Implemented in-housePiwik: A perfect alternative to Google Analytics.Piwik was chosen after a move off of Google services was started. It was used to manage site metrics for all of our client sites.,Community edition available for no charge LDAP module available,User Interface could be cleaned up a little. It can be difficult to navigate between monitored sites.,8,The integration of Piwik into our sytem allowed us to better examine usage data from our client sites.,Google Analytics,10
Windows, Linux, Mac
Matomo (formerly Piwik)
35 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Reviews

Matomo (formerly Piwik)
35 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 35 vetted Matomo (formerly Piwik) reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-15 of 15)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
No photo available
April 03, 2018

Matomo (formerly Piwik): "Matomo (formerly Piwik) review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the tool to track the daily users who visit our website and look at the visitor log to see what pages people are visiting and for how long.
  • Easy to track daily traffic
  • Easy to monitor visitor traffic
  • Can set up website goals and tie them to marketing campaigns
  • When looking through visitor log it only allows you to go back one day
  • Cannot see how long the visitor spent on each page, only the total length of their visit
  • Need to add real time visitors on your page to show if there are any active visitors on your page at the current moment, similar to Google Analytics
This is a great tool for anyone looking to track who is visiting their site
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 21, 2017

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik let's you own your data!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used it in a couple of places where Google Analytics was limited in ways we could measure how people were using our website. It also provided a better depth of information and we also appreciated owning our data to use as we pleased.
  • Access to the raw data, and allowing us the ability to customize as needed.
  • Painless install, for the most part. It was nice to be able to customize the interface.
  • I really love the mobile app, which make it easy to get insights on the go.
  • A perfect replacement for Google Analytics for us when we needed to know we were in control of the data.
  • I feel the upgrade process could be smoother.
  • Sometimes the speed in the backend is a bit slow.
  • I'd like to see the realtime get more detailed, and the design to be rethought, maybe with more real-time summaries.
The best place to use Piwik is when you need complete control of your data including the IP addresses of your visitors. I have used it to identify troublemakers, and it's also great that you can use custom variables to identify users. It great to be able to see who is accessing the site, to see exactly what they are doing and make marketing and content decisions with this data.
Read this authenticated review
Erik Rühling profile photo
April 29, 2015

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik Analytics for those who know"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Piwik as an alternative to Google Analytics for our clients who want to track their web site statistics and would rather not have their data hosted by Google. In addition, we use it to track our own website's data.
  • Multiple sites can be easily configured and tracked in one central dashboard.
  • There is more than one way to track the site visits - javascript is not necessary (but is of course the easiest way to track)
  • With the new version 2.0, various reports can be 'widgetized' and embedded in other web pages that are not necessarily part of the main Piwik domain (i.e. you can embed live reports in a client's intranet)
  • Initial setup is simple, but you'll need to know something about your server environment.
  • Importing raw data from server logs is not trivial, and takes a bit of work to get right.
Perfect for those who want total control of their data and are savvy with web technologies.
Read Erik Rühling's full review
Stephan Miller profile photo
March 18, 2015

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Own Your Data, Know Your Users and Protect Their Privacy with Piwik"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Piwik allows us to have control over our own data instead of using a third party service to handle it for us. With it, we can access the raw analytics data if we want or write new modules to present the data in a new way. Piwik truly gives you full control and it's easy to implement.
  • You own your data.
  • You are in full control of how you want your data presented.
  • You show respect for your users privacy
  • Missing A/B testing.
  • Missing insights into data.
  • Better real-time reporting.
If Google Analytics is too complicated for you, than Piwik is probably not the best for you. If you are going to use Piwik like Google Analytics, at least you have control of your data. So I would recommend that. But if you are really into the stats on your website and don't mind getting your hands dirty, you can find no better analytics platform than Piwik.
Read Stephan Miller's full review
Andrew Meyer profile photo
December 18, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik: A perfect alternative to Google Analytics."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Piwik was chosen after a move off of Google services was started. It was used to manage site metrics for all of our client sites.
  • Community edition available for no charge
  • LDAP module available
  • User Interface could be cleaned up a little. It can be difficult to navigate between monitored sites.
Piwik can be used as a community replacement for Google Analytics. It also operates much faster than Google Analytics since it is not monitoring thousands of sites simultaneously.
Read Andrew Meyer's full review
Sharon Hurley Hall profile photo
June 04, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Rich Analytics with Open-Source Piwik"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I came across Piwik while looking for alternatives for Google Analytics and promptly installed it on two websites for a trial. It's a good tool for tracking visitor actions on your site, with some particular strengths in helping users analyze social and other interactions. This review is of the free version, though enterprise level packages are available.
  • One of Piwik's strengths is the provision of customizable widgets for different bits of analytics data. The ability to add and remove them, change dates and more makes this a flexible way to visualize data.
  • The visitor log section is also rich, providing date, keywords, actions and more in a single table, which makes it easy to identify your most effective content.
  • And the visitor actions table includes both bounce rate and time on site, so you can quickly tell which pages have the most engagement.
  • Data display is a strength for Piwik, as you have access to overview charts while simultaneously being able to drill deeper.
  • My impression is that you can do more with goals in other analytics packages, though the basic functionality works well in Piwik.
  • The WordPress integration can be buggy. Though it worked well most of the time, in one case I had to remove the Piwik code to fix a site error.
This software can be installed manually or via a third party installer. Those less happy with coding may prefer to check availability of Piwik via the web host before choosing it as a preferred option. That aside, the important issue when choosing any analytics package is whether it tracks the range of data that you need. Piwik is very rich in this respect.
Read Sharon Hurley Hall's full review
Jeff Wallace profile photo
May 29, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik Analytics - Funny name... Seriously good analytics!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Piwik Analytics as a supplement to Google Analytics and other minor WordPress Analytics plugins.

Right out of the "box" Piwik Analytics provides insights that either need to be set up in Google Analytics or (to my knowledge) do not exist. Piwik Analytics gives some tremendously useful and valuable granular insights broken down by individual sessions. I love having the ability to see the path a visitor took, where they went, spent their time and even what they downloaded.

Currently, Piwik Analytics is only used in the Marketing Department... specifically me. Although I do not have a lot of free time to really dive in, learn how to customized Piwik Analytics and set up custom reports; with very little effort I was able to quickly install the program and immediately fill the gaps in our current Analytics reporting. Additionally, having the WP-Piwik plugin loaded on all of our WordPress web sites gives me a very valuable, quick snapshot of the current state of affairs right from the WordPress Administrator dashboard.
  • Default Admin dashboard provides a ton of very useful information that is easily maneuvered around with "click-n-drag" to meet your preferences
  • Provides some very valuable granular insights by default without needing to do additional customizations
  • Breaks down insights into categories, then sub-categories which allow you to really drill down
  • Compiles and presents the data in a nice, visually friendly way
  • I wish there were some additional pre-formatted tiles/tabs to choose from
  • Creating custom data sets for tiles/tabs is not straightforward and there isn't much in the way of explanations on how to do it
  • I have clicked the "WP-Piwik - SEO" button in setting/statistics but can't seem to get the data to populate. Again, not much in the way of "Help" on the site to assist in figuring it out.
I would suggest Piwik Analytics to users that have a decent understanding of code and databases. I am not a coder, but I do have a good grasp of HTML, CSS, PHP, SQL and the how it is structured in relation to WordPress. If you are a novice, beginner or just starting out, you may find yourself in over your head very quickly.
Read Jeff Wallace's full review
Hendrik Schaper profile photo
May 28, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik - I liked it from the start!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Schaper Software is using Piwik to to analyze the usage of the majority of all projects. Piwik enables me, my associates and my clients to get quick and detailed views on statistics about visitor behaviour and helps finding navigation problems and other issues. The main reason to use Piwik has been the respectful privacy options and the open source concept.
  • Great customizable dashboard
  • Programming API for manually setting events
  • Privacy Features !!! (Data protection complies to German laws )
  • Quick and easy access to big statistical data
  • Moving single projects from one Piwik installation to another
  • Define customized views for clients
  • More flexibility and enhancements in eCommerce functionality
If you want to easily track visitor behaviour anonymously on any website, and have the possibility to enhance the data by a good API, Piwik might be just the right thing for you. Piwik is an open source project, where participation is possible and welcome. By installing Piwik on your own server you will have all your statistical data in your own place and not in any cloud space of a third party company.
Read Hendrik Schaper's full review
Maison Tan profile photo
May 10, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik is awesome and Everyone should use it!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Piwik for the marketing, sales and IT department. It assists the users in making and planning decisions that have an impact on the website such as finding out where the point of entry to the website is from, what type of browsers are visiting the website, what time visitors are visiting
the site, what keywords are being used to search for the site. With these extra info, we can better plan and forecast future developments.
  • Where the point of entry to the website is from. This allows us to redirect advertising funds to increase clicks.
  • What type of browsers are visiting the website. This assist in better allocating resources for future web development. If there are more mobile users, we might implement a better looking responsive site, or if more of our users that visit the site uses IE, we will need to make sure the site looks good in IE.
  • What time visitors are visiting the site. With this info, we can time competitions or schedule maintenance during the down time.
  • What keywords are being used to search for the site. This assists us in purchasing Google Adwords.
  • Instructions on how to better use the ecommerce functionality would be awesome.
  • how to better use the funnelling options and get more data out of it.
I always recommend using Piwik as a secondary option to Google Analytics, especially since Piwik comes built in with graphs. For someone who needs to present weekly or daily numbers of website statistics to upper management, Piwik provides an easier solution compared to Google Analytics. The home page also provides an overview of data which the user can easily identify any needs or changes with one quick view.
Read Maison Tan's full review
Mike Tihonchik profile photo
May 06, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik): "Piwik review by Mike Tihonchik"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Piwik to monitor customer interactions across several platforms in the organization, i.e. web and mobile apps. Initially, Piwik was selected as a top level analytic tool to show us simple stats such as mobile platform and devices (iOS & Android; iPhone and iPad) used, or user's browser selection. I have also created some custom plugins to provide specific information regarding visits to certain pages by users. Other than iOS and Android platforms, Piwik was used with JavascriptMVC web platform
  • Ease of integration into the environment
  • Easy to create custom plugins using PHP
  • Piwik was setup on our own servers (straight forward process), so we had more control over data, compared to NewRelic or Omniture
  • It's Open-Source... enough said...
  • I think Piwik could use a face-lift in the dashboard GUI department. I have used both NewRelic (best presentation in my opinion) and Adobe Omniture, and both seems to have a better flowing, modern-design dashboard GUI that is somewhat easier to navigate
  • Had to make sure analytics server that is running Piwik is always "up", as we hosted our own instances
I think the question whenever to pick or not to pick Piwik as an anlytics solution will largely depend on the skill-set of developers and current company's infrastructure. Obviously, Piwik has a vast amount of data available, comparing to the other big name analytic data providers, but I have worked in the company that preferred to host as little as possible on their servers, so Piwik would not be a good solution for them. Also, the price is a major factor. New Relic was super expensive, where Piwik was free (as far as I could remember)
Read Mike Tihonchik's full review
Preethi Menon profile photo
May 21, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik): "Piwik Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Piwik is used by my organization to track the active users on our website; it can track users by demographics, modules in our website that are frequently used by users etc. Piwik is very valuable in helping to grow our business.
  • Great tool for analytics
  • Able to customize the dashboard to make it more user friendly
Read Preethi Menon's full review
No photo available
May 30, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik as an AWStats replacement for hosting platforms"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my previous employment we used it extensively to drive designs of the websites to enhance the user experience. We also used it to track activity to specialized campaigns that were initiated by the Alumni Association and various donation campaigns. In my current organization we are testing it as a replacement for the aging AWStats implementation across multiple hosting platforms. The hope is to provide a better stats tracking experience for our disparate user base across multiple hosting platforms while maintaining a centralized stats pool. This will also enable us to track trends of usage across the different platforms that will help us to scale our platform to stay ahead of the usage curve.
  • Piwik does a great job of allowing customized campaign tracking to try and hit marketing or funding goals.
  • The robust plugin architecture allows for a large amount of custom development to track very specific needs. The availability of a REST API also allows you to build in support for Piwik to your in-house applications which can enable developers to track bugs with more precision.
  • The dashboard structure allows you to create specialized views for specific user roles so that you can give a specific focus to a small subsection of the reported data. This is an excellent way to show non-technical users only the portion of the data they are interested in without getting bogged down into the details.
  • From a user security standpoint it would be useful to provide users the ability to have two-factor authentication. While stats data is not necessarily sensitive in aggregate, some users may feel that certain portions need to be more secure.
  • It would be nice if there was a tighter integration with the Google search/referrer API so that "keyword not defined" would be replaced more often with the actual keyword that is being used to send a visitor to a site.
  • An easier branding method, maybe in the form of an API function set, that pulled branding URLs from a set of database fields would be great as well.
I found that implementation of the system overall was very easy and that providing custom URLs that hooked into a specific dashboard without requiring a login mechanism worked very well. This makes it easy to fold in a Piwik installation as a replacement within a hosting management system, such as CPanel.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Web analytics platform for experts and beginners."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Piwik is mainly used by our marketing deparment, but the insights we are able to take away from it are disseminated throughout the organization. Before having a web-analytics platform, we were not able to measure what was working, and what was not. With Piwik, we are able to recognize which topics/sections are of interest to visitors, and where we should focus our time.
  • Complete customization of analytics dashboard with movable widgets.
  • Data is easy to export.
  • Easy to filter data and create new segments.
  • Being able to compare one time period to another within a widget would be useful.
  • Real time data.
Piwik is useful for beginners to web analytics or those that have been using it for some time. It proivdes ready made reports and graphics that can get a point across easily, but also gives you a lot of raw data and allows you to dive deeper into the numbers if need be.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 20, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Piwik 1.8 - free analytics without giving your user data away."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Piwik to handle our analytics, being that we were an open-source project and trying to save tax dollars it seemed the perfect fit. Our main usage was to track which areas of our site were more popular, and to find out what areas of the world were where the concentration of where our users were. It was not the only product being used in our organization, but the only one that we worked with directly. We found it to be slightly more user-friendly than Urchin and the learning curve was very reasonable. After a short time we had the product up and running, we could produce the reports we needed and we were very happy with the general stability of the product.
  • Easy implementation
  • General stability
  • Robust features
  • Could be more customizable
Depending on the type of analytics research you are trying to attain, there are situations when perhaps another product might be more suitable. In general, especially for the price, this product seems to have all your basic needs, you can see what's popular, and geo locate your users. It all depends on your company's particular needs, and a newer version might have more functionality than I worked with.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 09, 2014

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Review: "Easy to use, open source Web Analytics"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Piwik to implement tracking on our Mobile Applications and Mobile Websites for our retail clients. It tracks customer visit, user agent data, page views, click-throughs, cart add, removes, edits, payment tracking, payment method on our mobile commerce platform.
  • Easy and simple implementation. Simple JS code addition.
  • Detailed Documentation, Online community for help.
  • Version update handling could be executed better
Read this authenticated review

About Matomo (formerly Piwik)

Piwik is an open source analytics platform that enables users to measure web and mobile apps as well as intranet portals. It protects the privacy of users through advanced privacy features and its approach to data ownership. Piwik offers On-premises and Cloud deployment options.

Available in over 50 languages, it is fully customisable and vendor-independent. Piwik offers over 70 integrations with Content Management Systems, Ecommerce solutions, Forums as well as other mobile and web platforms. Piwik users can access analytics through the Piwik web interface, as well as mobile apps on iOS and Android.

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Features

Has featurePrivacy Compliant Analytics
Has featureWeb, E-commerce, Intranet, App Analytics
Has featureCustomizable Dashboard
Has featureVisitor's Journeys
Has featureGoals and Conversion Tracking
Has featureEvent Tracking
Has featureContent Tracking
Has featureSite Search Analytics
Has featureReal Time Data Updates
Has featureStrong Focus on Software Security
Has featurePiwik PRO solutions: Cloud and Enterprise
Has featureWide Range of Free and Premium Plug-ins

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Screenshots

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Integrations

WordPress, Drupal, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento), WooCommerce, Shopify, Joomla, vBulletin, phpBB, Vanilla, iOS/Android SDKs, PHP, Java, Python, Overall 70+ integrations

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
Has featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?Yes
Entry-level set up fee?No

On-premise Edition is free. SaaS Edition (Cloud) starts from $65/month. On-premise Edition (Enterprise) starts from $5,900/year.

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Phone
Email

Matomo (formerly Piwik) Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android
Supported Countries:All
Supported Languages: Over 50 languages