TrustRadius
Drupal is free and open source content management system written in PHP that competes primarily with Joomla and Plone. The standard release of Drupal, known as Drupal core, contains basic features common to content management systems. These include user account registration and maintenance, menu management, RSS feeds, page layout customization, and system administration.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/VY/sL/Q3RSF71IHEXA.JPEGDo you deploy a lot of content daily? Do you have strong technical resources? Drupal 8 might be a fit!My company was recently hired to build out a fully integrated digital ecosystem for a large endurance brand; inclusive of a CMS, E-commerce Platform, Data warehousing, and a data normalization engine to tie it all together. For this, we selected Drupal 8, Magento, and AWS (Redshift and Lambdas). Being a global brand, Drupal 8 was the CMS (built by developers for developers) that provided the most extensible launchpad with localization and language support, as well as great workflow and collaboration tools for content creators. Drupal 8 is utilized by brand ambassadors to submit content for review, internal editors to review content, race directors to manage events and venues, as well as marketers to post landing pages. It ensures consistent branding across the board.,Content Types... these are amazing. Whereas a more simplistic CMS like Wordpress will basically allow you to make posts and build pages, Drupal 8 gives you the ability to define different types of content that behave differently, and are served up differently in different areas of the website. Extensibility... it scales, ohhhh does it scale. They've really figured out server-side caching, and it makes all the difference. Once a page has been cached, it's available instantly to all users worldwide; and when coupled with AWS, global redundancy and localization mean that no matter where you're accessing the site, it always loads fast and crisp. Workflows... you have the ability to define very specific roles and/or user-based editorial workflows, allowing for as many touchpoints and reviews between content creation and publication as you'll require.,This is NOT the most intuitive CMS. You really need to take the time to understand how Drupal 8 works--how content is served up--if you're going to administer a site. Whereas Wordpress is very "flat" and simple, Drupal 8 is much more dynamic. You utilize Views to access your content/data and "blocks" to build out beautiful landing pages (similar to widgets in Wordpress). I had to prepare a TON of documentation for the client--so many user guides. It is not very friendly to engineers. It probably took 3 to 4 times longer to build out a Drupal 8 site as opposed to had we built it as a static site with perhaps a Wordpress back-end (though you would have required multiple Wordpress instances to manage localization and other things, which is what we were replacing). It seems that the Drupal 8 consortium (or whatever) is trying to push the ball forward a little too far, rather than consistently maintaining a solid foundation. There were many times when my engineers had to build entirely custom modules to compensate for known bugs in Drupal 8. I have good engineers and we still lost weeks to deploy a workaround. Your organization might not be so lucky as to have an appropriate caliber of engineers, though I hope it is!,8,The client was very happy with the website, and with the work we put into bringing it to life. I hope that it's had a positive impact on their core business, but this isn't something I have visibility into.,WordPress, Wix, Magento Commerce Cloud (formerly Magento) and Squarespace,Adobe Premiere Pro, iMovie,Developer,100-1,000 pagesDrupal - Great Open Source CMSWe use Drupal for both commercial websites and also use it on intranets that will have no access to the internet. Drupal is great because you can integrate it with other resources, like single-sign-on so users can interact with the system logging in from LDAP for example.There is also a great variety of templates you can choose from, making this tool even awesome!,Great templating, there's a wide variety of free and commercial ones Great formatting, be it with fonts or images Great support, specially when it comes to security,We could use more templates Easier installations Easier ways to upgrade,10,Very positive ROI There's a learning curve on how to manage it, but the return is immediate Very positive look and feel websites, promoted and customized to fit different businesses,WordPress and Joomla!,Matomo (formerly Piwik), Proxmox VE, Citrix Hypervisor (formerly XenServer), Cisco Catalyst Switches, Juniper Enterprise Routers,Content Author / Administrator,100-1,000 pagesPossibly the most powerful and flexible CMSWe are a marketing and web development company and creating Drupal sites is one of our specialties. We use it internally for several things, but also for most of our clients' projects when their needs fit the solution. It allows us to build sites ranging from small blogs or brochure sites all the way up to huge, scalable, custom e-commerce sites utilizing the same set of tools built by one of the best communities online.,Drupal is great at managing any amount of content, and any type of content. Its flexibility and customizability are two of its greatest strengths. Drupal isn't just a CMS, Drupal lets you build the CMS that website editors will be using. Its backend customization and admin features are awesome and are being expanded by the community all the time. There are thousands of contributed modules and themes freely available. Not only is Drupal open source, but all the best modules and themes people have built are available for free as well! Drupal's community is big, prolific, and welcoming. Not only can you use other's community contributions, but the community is always happy to help others building their own Drupal sites or custom modules and themes for the rest of the community. If you ever get stuck, the forums or Drupal Slack are incredible resources for assistance.,Drupal's admin side is very powerful and flexible, but it's a little bit harder to wrap one's mind around. If a customer is familiar with using a basic WordPress site, showing them the full Drupal back-end might be overwhelming and confusing at first. Luckily you can easily limit and customize the admin pages that each role sees. Drupal is huge and complex. Doing simple things is generally simple, but more advanced capabilities of Drupal have a higher learning curve (as can be expected). You can build a Drupal site quickly, but don't expect to build your dream site with loads of custom features in a week. Ready-made themes are more sparse than something like WordPress. If you're most interested in simply plugging an existing theme in and using it, you won't find as many professional-looking themes out of the box. There are some, but with Drupal, the best results are usually achieved by finding a good base theme and creating your own child theme based off of it.,10,Drupal has allowed us to build up a library of code and base sites we can reuse to save time which has increased our efficiency and thus had a positive financial impact. Drupal has allowed us to take on projects we otherwise would not have been able to, having a further impact. Drupal has allowed us to build great solutions for our clients which give them an excellent ROI.,WordPress, Joomla!, Epicor CMS, Titan CMS and Umbraco CMS,WordPress, Trello, LiquidPlanner, BugHerd,Developer,1,000-10,000 pagesDrupal: Excellent CMS for Corporate useDrupal is the primary platform that all of our customer's company websites are built on. We build landing pages, customer portals, and our brochure style pages on Drupal.,Responsive web design Fast loading page speeds SEO,Slow learning curve Could improve CMS experience,9,Excellent web design and support center Easy to use API integrations Leveraging multiple platforms through Drupal,Content Author / Administrator,1,000-10,000 pagesDrupal as a Solution for ClientsI am, in addition to my organization title, a web developer. After many years of coding, I decided to look into CMSs as this allowed clients to access their sites and update content as needed. Some clients find that the use of Drupal is the solution to simplifying the updating process. Drupal is one CMS that allows the administrator to assign pages or content areas to specific personnel. This again is the solution to the problem of multiple people updating. Depending on the need, Drupal offers flexibility. As a full organization, departments can be given administrative or editor access and avoid even seeing other departments' pages. In my opinion, this is the best solution, especially for the price.,Very flexible CMS (Content Management System) Coding is not required; however, could be useful Offers various levels of control Themes for layout and color schemes are available at reasonable prices,Drupal does have a learning curve that requires time, especially if new to CMSs. Therefore, before starting one should be prepared by making a site on their own time prior to offering Drupal as a service. Documentation is lengthy but thorough. Some of this gets complicated and the community of users is not as large as some others, such as WordPress or HTML, JS, JQuery, CSS etc. The languages used to develop Drupal are a variety and they are multiple. Therefore, if the developer would like to use it and tweak the code, they must know a number of web programming languages.,9,In a positive sense, I can develop sites using Drupal for non-profit organizations that may not afford me to keep their sites up to date, so they can now do it themselves. This is just as applicable to any type of organization for that matter. The negative impact this has had has been that of being called on when the client becomes confused with accessing their account. If I charge for this small favor, I received a negative review, if I do not charge, then I receive calls, seemingly forever. All in all, the ROI is positive. Drupal is worth the time and effort to learn and offer.,,WordPress, Yoast Wordpress SEO Plugins, Adobe Photoshop, Snagit, screenflow, Adobe Premiere Pro,Developer,10-100 pages
Unspecified
Drupal
292 Ratings
Score 7.8 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Drupal Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Drupal
292 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 292 vetted Drupal reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 64)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Kyle Reichelt profile photo
December 26, 2018

Review: "Do you deploy a lot of content daily? Do you have strong technical resources? Drupal 8 might be a fit!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company was recently hired to build out a fully integrated digital ecosystem for a large endurance brand; inclusive of a CMS, E-commerce Platform, Data warehousing, and a data normalization engine to tie it all together. For this, we selected Drupal 8, Magento, and AWS (Redshift and Lambdas).

Being a global brand, Drupal 8 was the CMS (built by developers for developers) that provided the most extensible launchpad with localization and language support, as well as great workflow and collaboration tools for content creators.

Drupal 8 is utilized by brand ambassadors to submit content for review, internal editors to review content, race directors to manage events and venues, as well as marketers to post landing pages. It ensures consistent branding across the board.
  • Content Types... these are amazing. Whereas a more simplistic CMS like WordPress will basically allow you to make posts and build pages, Drupal 8 gives you the ability to define different types of content that behave differently, and are served up differently in different areas of the website.
  • Extensibility... it scales, ohhhh does it scale. They've really figured out server-side caching, and it makes all the difference. Once a page has been cached, it's available instantly to all users worldwide; and when coupled with AWS, global redundancy and localization mean that no matter where you're accessing the site, it always loads fast and crisp.
  • Workflows... you have the ability to define very specific roles and/or user-based editorial workflows, allowing for as many touchpoints and reviews between content creation and publication as you'll require.
  • This is NOT the most intuitive CMS. You really need to take the time to understand how Drupal 8 works--how content is served up--if you're going to administer a site. Whereas WordPress is very "flat" and simple, Drupal 8 is much more dynamic. You utilize Views to access your content/data and "blocks" to build out beautiful landing pages (similar to widgets in WordPress). I had to prepare a TON of documentation for the client--so many user guides.
  • It is not very friendly to engineers. It probably took 3 to 4 times longer to build out a Drupal 8 site as opposed to had we built it as a static site with perhaps a WordPress back-end (though you would have required multiple WordPress instances to manage localization and other things, which is what we were replacing).
  • It seems that the Drupal 8 consortium (or whatever) is trying to push the ball forward a little too far, rather than consistently maintaining a solid foundation. There were many times when my engineers had to build entirely custom modules to compensate for known bugs in Drupal 8. I have good engineers and we still lost weeks to deploy a workaround. Your organization might not be so lucky as to have an appropriate caliber of engineers, though I hope it is!
It is great if you're a medium to large-scale operation that is heavily reliant on always having fresh content deployed to your web properties. It is particularly great if you need to localize your website in different countries (landing pages, languages, etc). It can save you a lot of time that would otherwise be spent maintaining separate websites, and deploying often redundant content to the different websites. Every human touchpoint has the potential for error.

It is not great if you just need a static website, and you aren't deploying more than just a simple blog. It's not great if you don't have senior-level developers to maintain the site. If you're the type of company that needs your website to be "done" then you've come to the wrong place. A Drupal 8 website is itself a living organism that requires an ongoing commitment.
Read Kyle Reichelt's full review
Jean Franco profile photo
December 21, 2018

User Review: "Drupal - Great Open Source CMS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Drupal for both commercial websites and also use it on intranets that will have no access to the internet. Drupal is great because you can integrate it with other resources, like single-sign-on so users can interact with the system logging in from LDAP for example.There is also a great variety of templates you can choose from, making this tool even awesome!
  • Great templating, there's a wide variety of free and commercial ones
  • Great formatting, be it with fonts or images
  • Great support, specially when it comes to security
  • We could use more templates
  • Easier installations
  • Easier ways to upgrade
One can use Drupal to solve several problems, especially implementing sites and portals. Drupal has great integration with different authentication tools, making it great for intranets. It's hard to say when it would be less appropriate, since it's so flexible.
Read Jean Franco's full review
Ben McClure profile photo
December 21, 2018

Drupal Review: "Possibly the most powerful and flexible CMS"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a marketing and web development company and creating Drupal sites is one of our specialties. We use it internally for several things, but also for most of our clients' projects when their needs fit the solution. It allows us to build sites ranging from small blogs or brochure sites all the way up to huge, scalable, custom e-commerce sites utilizing the same set of tools built by one of the best communities online.
  • Drupal is great at managing any amount of content, and any type of content. Its flexibility and customizability are two of its greatest strengths.
  • Drupal isn't just a CMS, Drupal lets you build the CMS that website editors will be using. Its backend customization and admin features are awesome and are being expanded by the community all the time.
  • There are thousands of contributed modules and themes freely available. Not only is Drupal open source, but all the best modules and themes people have built are available for free as well!
  • Drupal's community is big, prolific, and welcoming. Not only can you use other's community contributions, but the community is always happy to help others building their own Drupal sites or custom modules and themes for the rest of the community. If you ever get stuck, the forums or Drupal Slack are incredible resources for assistance.
  • Drupal's admin side is very powerful and flexible, but it's a little bit harder to wrap one's mind around. If a customer is familiar with using a basic WordPress site, showing them the full Drupal back-end might be overwhelming and confusing at first. Luckily you can easily limit and customize the admin pages that each role sees.
  • Drupal is huge and complex. Doing simple things is generally simple, but more advanced capabilities of Drupal have a higher learning curve (as can be expected). You can build a Drupal site quickly, but don't expect to build your dream site with loads of custom features in a week.
  • Ready-made themes are more sparse than something like WordPress. If you're most interested in simply plugging an existing theme in and using it, you won't find as many professional-looking themes out of the box. There are some, but with Drupal, the best results are usually achieved by finding a good base theme and creating your own child theme based off of it.
Drupal is well-suited to pretty much any web project requiring a CMS-like experience or a lot of admin control. If you need a CMS, I would strongly encourage you to evaluate the latest version of Drupal for your needs.

On the other hand, if all you need is a small static site, and you don't need to let people edit content or control the site on the web, then Drupal might be overkill. Simply utilize a code framework or a static site generator, and you can save time and money in that case.
Read Ben McClure's full review
Akande Davis profile photo
January 01, 2019

"Drupal: Excellent CMS for Corporate use"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is the primary platform that all of our customer's company websites are built on. We build landing pages, customer portals, and our brochure style pages on Drupal.
  • Responsive web design
  • Fast loading page speeds
  • SEO
  • Slow learning curve
  • Could improve CMS experience
If you are a corporate entity with multiple websites that need to be managed with a robust team of developers, Drupal is likely the platform that you need to use. If you are looking to develop a quick and easy to use website for a small business or a business that does not have a dedicated developer, I would not recommend Drupal.
Read Akande Davis's full review
Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon profile photo
December 22, 2018

User Review: "Drupal as a Solution for Clients"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am, in addition to my organization title, a web developer. After many years of coding, I decided to look into CMSs as this allowed clients to access their sites and update content as needed. Some clients find that the use of Drupal is the solution to simplifying the updating process. Drupal is one CMS that allows the administrator to assign pages or content areas to specific personnel. This again is the solution to the problem of multiple people updating. Depending on the need, Drupal offers flexibility. As a full organization, departments can be given administrative or editor access and avoid even seeing other departments' pages. In my opinion, this is the best solution, especially for the price.
  • Very flexible CMS (Content Management System)
  • Coding is not required; however, could be useful
  • Offers various levels of control
  • Themes for layout and color schemes are available at reasonable prices
  • Drupal does have a learning curve that requires time, especially if new to CMSs. Therefore, before starting one should be prepared by making a site on their own time prior to offering Drupal as a service.
  • Documentation is lengthy but thorough. Some of this gets complicated and the community of users is not as large as some others, such as WordPress or HTML, JS, JQuery, CSS etc.
  • The languages used to develop Drupal are a variety and they are multiple. Therefore, if the developer would like to use it and tweak the code, they must know a number of web programming languages.
If I have a colleague that is technically sound, I would recommend Drupal for web development. I would particularly do this if they are short of time to keep there site up to date. If they lack the time or willingness to put much effort into the updates or any type of changes after the site goes live. In addition to the matter of content management, the language(s) and development of Drupal help it to be a more expedient page load. Of course, at times, the theme could factor on this matter.
Read Dr. C. Michael Sturgeon's full review
Matthew Deakyne profile photo
December 21, 2018

User Review: "Drupal works at scale, and is free."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is being used across the whole KU organization. It's the primary content management system, and pages are created for departments, units, and organizations on campus. It provides a supported solution for users to manage their own content, for web developers to help optimize and for marketing to track usage. Content is also exported in blocks to feed other systems with information, including important academic dates.
  • Managing content blocks. Drupal is very effective at providing a standard way to move content across systems.
  • User management of content. Users have complete control over their spaces. It requires some training, but users can update content and create alerts without the need for a web developer.
  • Overall design. Drupal looks pretty good, and provides a good structure for simple text, graphics, and links.
  • Drupal is not intended for visualizations or other interactive content - this is an emerging field that could be better.
  • While mobile responsive, I wouldn't call Drupal the most modern design. It's functional, but not beautiful.
  • Users have control over their content, but it can be difficult to figure out how to do what you are trying to do.
Drupal is very good for basic content that can be managed by the end user. It's less suited for interactive content and does require training for end users to be effective. There are other products that are more beautiful, or easier to use - but it scales well for an organization of our size (~10,000 employees, many more students).
Read Matthew Deakyne's full review
Nicholas De Salvo profile photo
December 17, 2018

Review: "Drupal Can Be Great If You Know How To Use It"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal has powered our company website for multiple iterations over the passed 10 years. We have also used it in client projects during that time. What we have liked about it is the granular control it allows over your website out of the box.
  • Easily create custom content types which can be used and reused in multiple views around a website.
  • Granular control of websites on a per page basis.
  • Allows tiered user access to support users having different access to content and administration capabilities.
  • Steep learning curve
  • Resource intensive
  • Making a development mistake can result in hours of debugging trying to figure out what went wrong.
Drupal offers powerful content administration, tiered user accounts, and modular content building. It is a good step for an organization who has started to outgrow WordPress, is managing a lot of content, or can build content types administration into views they’re looking for. The downside is that it’s not really an intuitive experience-- site administration requires technical skill, and it can take a long time to learn how to do things.
Read Nicholas De Salvo's full review
Jimmy Mack profile photo
December 11, 2018

"Drupal is a good, moderately powerful CMS that isn't too confusing"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is used as the content management system for our organization's intranet. The intranet has hundreds of pages as well as image and document storage capabilities. It also has a number of custom integrations built by the organization's information technology department that have been integrated into the Drupal system for use. Users across the organization access Drupal.
  • It has a document repository that makes it easy to store necessary documents
  • It has an image repository where users can store images
  • it has the ability to have many users across the organization
  • it can be a bit buggy at times
  • it's not the most intuitive user experience
  • while it's nice there is a photo repository, the folder structure could be formatted a bit better
Drupal is a good basic CMS for people who are looking to have more advanced features that a CMS like WordPress but aren't looking for an enterprise level CMS. In my experience, Drupal has worked great for small or mid-sized companies, non profits, etc. The recently released Drupal 8, which I have not yet used, looks to be a big improvement in user experience.
Read Jimmy Mack's full review
Nate Dillon profile photo
December 11, 2018

Review: "Drupal is a powerful but complicated CMS"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Drupal in a previous organization to build websites for clients. Drupal was our primary CMS, and we used it to build about 12 websites per year. I currently use Drupal to build a few of my personal websites, as well as websites for friends. I also use Drupal to build and maintain a website for an organization that I am a part of.
  • Very powerful out of the box
  • Highly customizable
  • Secure
  • Good community
  • Steep learning curve
  • Resource intensive
  • Custom coding and templates can be difficult
  • Painfully slow for features and fixes to be added to Drupal core
Drupal is well suited for websites that need a large amount of customization, such as several different types of content. It also works well for sites that will require a large amount of control over users and permissions. It would be less appropriate to use on smaller, simpler sites. Also, you should be cautious using it on shared hosting servers, as it can tend to use quite a lot of server resources.
Read Nate Dillon's full review
Sean Pomory profile photo
September 11, 2018

User Review: "Drupal is the 777 of CMS'"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is used to manage our primary website. It is managed by the Marketing department, without any involvement from the IT department. It serves as a quick, effective and relatively inexpensive way to manage over a thousand pages of content. In addition, the direction towards API first has significant savings, allowing us to build a solution that integrates many technologies into one interface for content editors.
  • Content Management
  • Document and Media Management
  • SEO Management
  • API Integration
  • Easy to manage updates
  • User management
  • Can be extremely difficult to ramp up to production
  • If built poorly, nearly impossible to fix without a full rebuild
  • Drupal core updates can be a pain in the butt.
Drupal truly is a CMS that can do everything you would want a CMS to do. The only downside is that you typically have to have a good agency build the site so that it's easily usable by content editors. Drupal's security is widely known at this point so it serves as a useful tool in government, finance and healthcare.
Read Sean Pomory's full review
Stefanie Cash profile photo
September 27, 2018

User Review: "Drupal Does What Is Intended"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company needed a new website that was responsive, allowed for an easy to manage content management system, and flexibility/scalability. Due to Drupal being open source and having the ability to create templates that are customized - it solved many of our business problems. Some of those problems being; dynamic response, loading forms, creating custom landing pages.
  • Content storage
  • Easy backend navigation
  • Ability to add users with ease
  • WYSIWYG
  • Rich Text Editor
  • Containers
I find Drupal is only suited for individuals who are savvy with content management systems. It is not a difficult learning curve to overcome, but without experience, it does make the navigation hard. Loading up content and physical management of said content is a breeze. Scalability also makes Drupal a solid go-to for website development.
Read Stefanie Cash's full review
No photo available
September 28, 2018

User Review: "Drupal: A Definite Recommend!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is the main development platform that we use at my company. We currently use versions 7 and 8. We are in the process of migrating all version 7 instances to version 8. We use Drupal to house and promote all of our various assets, promote events, track registrations via integration. Drupal is used by various departments within my organization but is run by one main group whereas all of the others are supporting it. Drupal is used to both promote our products as well as serve as a singular housing unit for all resources, forms, event information, and company information.
  • Drupal integrates very well with all of our technology, ie. Salesforce, Marketo, etc.
  • Drupal's interface allows us to easily update and push out new material with ease.
  • Drupal is a very well known technology that has made it easy for us to find talent that is familiar with it.
  • There are certain limitations in the amount of information that can be passed from Drupal to Salesforce, specifically in areas of how long viewers are on a particular page.
  • Drupal uses up a ton of memory space, due to how large our sites are, it has been costly to add in the required hardware.
Drupal is great for a company of any size. It can support incredibly large companies or small ones. It was incredibly easy to install and supports many different resource assets that have been instrumental in growing our existing brands as well as the new ones we continue to acquire. Drupal also has the ability to create many different user roles so that we never have to worry about someone having access to something they should not have. Though this is not something new to Drupal, we have recently integrated it with Google Analytics and are finally leveraging this integration to its full potential.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 08, 2019

Review: "Drupal has many advantages for small and large businesses"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Drupal to create our business website. We were able to customize it to fit our needs and to create a way to showcase our work to clients, build a client base, and connect with clients and keep them up to date. It addressed our security needs as well as our ability to see websites scaled onto smaller platforms.
  • Customizable to fit our needs.
  • Scalability.
  • Cross-device seamless content.
  • Loading time for heavy content could be slightly improved.
It was great to be able to easily and seamlessly show our content from different mobile platforms, different web browsers, and different sized screens and that suited our business. I feel Drupal is appropriate for all of our needs and the needs of most businesses.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 05, 2019

User Review: "Drupal for multipurpose websitex"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is a well developed, well-known Content Management system, capable of handling a large volume of visitors, and can create a number of content pages. It can be used as a simple blog, can make interactive business sites, and can create an e-commerce site too. Can easily be customizable to meet one's needs. The theme system is another of the important features, as you can use the large number of free templates available if you do not want to build from scratch.
  • Handling a large number of users easily.
  • Can get easy themes, modules, as it is available for free too.
  • Can create large sites, dynamic blogs, e-commerce, interactive sites.
  • Can be difficult to deal with for a non-technical person.
Drupal is a highly used product among developers to create different types of websites, blogs, e-commerce sites. It includes shopping carts, help desks, live chat features, and inventory management. Drupal has a very strong community, so it's easy to get your problem solved. It can be connected with other tools like facebook, twitter, chat systems etc.
Features :
Advanced User Management
Open Source
Plugins
Support
Collaboration with other tools etc.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 12, 2018

"QA Analyst's Review of Drupal"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The company I work for builds websites for higher education institutions. We use Drupal and another platform. We have plans to move away from the other platform and have all of our websites on Drupal. Drupal is easy to use, versatile, secure, and overall a great product. We have a wide variety of departments which use Drupal including our Developers, QA team, Content team, and UX team.
  • Customization.
  • Wide variety of add-on features/functionality.
  • Easy to learn and use.
  • While easy to use, you do have to have some development skills.
  • Installing needs to be done by someone with technical skills.
  • Upgrading can be troublesome.
It is well suited for information-based websites. I have some experience with e-commerce sites and Drupal, as well. It was a little bit more challenging using Drupal for the e-commerce sites.
Read this authenticated review
Charles Hogan profile photo
March 03, 2018

User Review: "Drupal: Titan of Open Source"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The global education services division is driven by websites designed to market and recruit online degree programs for prospective students and consumers. 95 percent of those websites are built with Drupal. Through these websites we gather information vital to the company's business strategies.
  • Drupal is an open source CMS and has a vibrant community supporting it.
  • Drupal's core package offers a great out-of-box product that can easily be modified to meet any business need.
  • The community dedication to contrib modules is second to none. There's a module for just about everything you could imagine, want, or need on a website.
  • Excellent administrative framework and user-based interface allows for custom role creation and specific access levels based on credentials.
  • Being open source, there isn't a company solely dedicated to it, which can sometimes represent challenges for bugs associated with specific modules.
  • Frequent releases require upgrading to maintain support for active components.
  • Flexibility and options are vast, but not necessarily intuitive for the non-experienced or web novices.
  • Requires a developer.
Drupal is suited for every web-based scenario my company has thrown at it. It's produced a reliable, quality product for many years, and it's only getting better with time.
Read Charles Hogan's full review
Brian Nizinsky profile photo
December 13, 2017

Drupal Review: "If you love happy, giddy developers..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal hosts our main public website, which has hundreds of thousands of users visit it monthly. It is being used by the marketing department and we chose it for its flexibility and ease of use. We were stuck with an old CMS that was rigid and a pain to work with. Our developers hated it and it prevented us from being nimble. Drupal solves those problems for us.
  • Drupal separates data from presentation, which is very important when you are trying to build a website. It is great at letting the back end developers focus on data structure and the front end focus on presentation.
  • You can change anything you need to, or find someone who already has. Since its open source you can find a developer who can help you with a problem.
  • Its been around for a long time and there are many mods that have been created to solve many problems.
  • It can be daunting to a developer who has no experience with Drupal at first. There is a learning curve and it may not be for everyone.
  • Because there are so many choices for mods and add-ons its hard to pick which ones are the best.
  • There are not as many people with Drupal 8 experience out there even though its been over a year since its release.
Drupal works well when you have to build a website but don't always have all the info on specs, or the specs change quickly. It allows the developers to write less code and use native Drupal features to get that type of work done.

I think it's less appropriate if you do not have developer support for it. Drupal isn't for the faint of heart or people who are used to something like Wordpress.
Read Brian Nizinsky's full review
Andrew Shannon profile photo
December 12, 2017

Review: "Drupal - flexible CMS with a huge community behind it"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Drupal to create our own custom learning management system for the company, which helped us digitally distribute our software packages and limit the amount of time users had access to them, thus making them subscription products, which was something we were never able to do before. Customers loved the move because it did away with having to use a DVD disc in their computer and remember to bring it with them when they needed their kids to do their homework. We also made a secure online space for kids under the age of 13 to interact with their teachers on homework and class discussions, thus adding another digital layer of interface between teachers and kids for better communication.
  • User management was great in Drupal, we were able to create custom roles for users and assign them special permissions based on their roles.
  • Customization of Drupal was a real strength, we were able to customer our site to look exactly the way we wanted and mocked up in our early brainstorming sessions. There is a vast array of add-ons available to Drupal for themes and customization that anyone can take advantage of.
  • Add-on modules were the real strength of drupal, because anyone in the world could develop and offer new add-on functionality for drupal and those developers could share it with the whole drupal community and help each other advance the add-on module together.
  • The community is really the best part of Drupal, there is a huge pool of developers all contributing and helping each other to advance Drupal with new features and better security all the time.
  • The one thing that Drupal could improve on are the upgrade paths for updating the system between each major release of the software, when drupal moved from version 7 to version 8, most people could not do the upgrade for many months, while they waited on the add-on modules they used to be updated to work with version 8 as well. I think involving the module developers earlier on, on new major update releases could help fix this.
  • Add-on modules can sometimes be slow to update or fix problems because some developers aren't that active in updating their add-on modules
  • Some module developers build modules that only serve their own immediate need and are not willing to update or advance their modules to expand its functionality to serve others similar needs. Other developers are usually offered to take over and customize the project for their own needs but sometimes the documentation for existing modules can be lacking, depending on the developer.
Drupal is great for companies looking for a really customizable and affordable Content Mangement System (CMS) with a huge developer base so that they can build their own custom website to meet their needs.

Drupal may not be the best option for a company looking for a really simple and easy to update website with minimal functionality though, those companies may want to look into a WordPress site instead.
Read Andrew Shannon's full review
No photo available
February 05, 2018

"Graphic Designer and Web Designer's Drupal Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our college and entire university have been using Drupal to create web pages. It provides an easy web working environment for both web professionals and non-professional users. For the professional users, you can work directly in a code mode and write your own CSS style. For the non-professional users, you can use the default functions and use it as simply as you are using a Word application. Drupal also gives different users different roles. You can assign a less experienced user a lower role, he/she can draft the initial page and wait for an experienced user to approve and publish the page.
  • Work fine for both code writers and non-experienced web content creators
  • Easy to start with
  • Easy to manage different users
  • WYSIWYG editor
Drupal is a good content management system for a large organization which has maybe more than a couple of hundreds of pages. It might not worth it if your website has a few pages.
Read this authenticated review
Elizabeth Foust profile photo
March 07, 2017

Drupal Review: "DSMM Guru"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The program that I manage within the school of medicine uses Drupal to maintain our individual website. I manage and maintain all edits, updates, and links on our web page. We use our webpage to provide knowledge to potential students who are interested in participating in our 9-month training program.
  • Easy access and more often than not, our student's are able to navigate through our webpage and find exactly what information they need.
  • Drupal Customer Service agents are extremely helpful, polite and knowledgeable.
  • Direct communication on edits/updates to software to the customer (myself, etc.) rather than our IT department that doesn't always relay information.
Read Elizabeth Foust's full review
Joel Tanzi profile photo
March 06, 2017

Review: "Drupal: Still the One for Robust Site-Building"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my work with a digital agency, I was building Drupal sites, adding features or modifying existing sites, or debugging Drupal sites for our customers. It was a foundation for most of our site building projects and was used across the company. Drupal's importance as a content management system cannot be overstated as it remains one of the most powerful tools for building robust sites that deliver rich, complex content types with well-designed layouts. It abstracts away much of the code that would need to be written to wireframe a website and allows one to focus on the higher level requirements of the site including design, content management, user management and security without having to spend hours writing baseline HTML, CSS and PHP code.
  • Drupal has the most flexible and robust site building tools available for quick site-building; it is possible to have a Drupal site up and running in your local development environment within a minute and immediately get to work.
  • It expertly uses a modular approach to extending your site, with the Drupal core shipping with most of the ones you will need, but with a vast array of modules available in the Drupal space to quickly and easily add features such as Google Maps, powerful layout designers, block management, menus, and more. Many times you can install a theme that fits the needs of your site and greatly reduce the amount of styling necessary to get a terrific-looking site, as well as the amount of JavaScript necessary to create things like slideshows.
  • It makes user management a breeze with the ability to easily create new user accounts and assign roles that govern access to content types and overall site management. It is therefore much easier to hand off a Drupal site to your customers and be confident they won't break it, while still finding it easy to manage their content.
  • Drupal's flexibility comes at the cost of having a fairly large footprint. It can take up much more space than a site developed using JavaScript, CSS and HTML that has been optimized; it is much harder to reduce the folder size of your Drupal site due to the number of moving parts required.
  • Drupal has many dependencies that can conflict with your local development environment at times and it can therefore be cumbersome to set up a Drupal site on a new machine or one that has other development environments on it that may use different PHP versions or paths to the PHP executable.
  • Drupal lags behind WordPress in terms of the number of themes and modules available, due to its smaller user base.
  • It has a much higher learning curve than WordPress, and to use it to the utmost you will need to pick up some degree of understanding about SQL, PHP, CSS, and Drupal components.
Drupal works very well for enterprise sites with complex content types that require multiple content managers to maintain it. It may also work very well for something like a corporate intranet. Developers for small business sites may find it better to build on a simpler system using JavaScript, PHP, HTML, CSS, and frameworks like Angular or React, but Drupal's ability to make content and site management easy for your clients still drives its use for small businesses.
Read Joel Tanzi's full review
Shane Sevo profile photo
November 11, 2016

Review: "Drupal - still the king of enterprise grade opensource content management systems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal is an integral tool in every aspect of our business. Commercial Progression has been developing Drupal powered websites for a variety of industries since 2007. We love being a contributing member of the supportive and vast opensource community that has come together to build this amazing content management system. Of course we leverage Drupal to manage our front facing business websites, but it is also powerful enough to integrate with our CRM and build back office business management tools for ERP systems. Drupal excels at delivering enterprise grade integrations with large organizations that have a long range technology roadmap. Being able to scale with the complexity of any web development project makes Drupal the ideal tool for handling the most challenging web application projects.
  • The Drupal core ships with a granular, field level content construction toolset. The very popular views module is now part of the core Drupal CMS and enables the creation of complex content types, it's way more than a blogging tool.
  • Drupal is especially adept at integration with enterprise grade CRM and ERP systems. Because all of the data in Drupal is naturally available for mapping at the field level, there is a ready environment for connecting to restful API systems.
  • Drupal scales exceptionally well with multisite and multiuser environments. Large universities can standardize on a common codebase of Drupal and then roll it out to the entire campus. Individual colleges can customize their themes and content but do not need to worry about figuring out their own module stack.
  • Drupal is complex, it will take time and expertise to shape it into the tool you need it to be for your use case. WordPress can be installed and is ready to go for blogging out-of-the-box, but Drupal will need more setup up front to build out the functionality needed.
  • Finding strong Drupal expertise can be challenging for companies. Although the developer community is over a million strong, there are still few companies that truly have an expert Drupal developer on staff.
  • Drupal can be overkill for small websites with just a few pages or limited functionality. Many new flat file responsive tools can do well to build a basic brochure site without the overhead of a CMS like Drupal.
  • Security is an ongoing struggle for all users of opensource CMS solutions. If you choose Drupal for your website, you will need a plan for security updates to ensure you are one step ahead of the hackers.
Drupal is excellent in adapting to larger enterprise use case scenarios. Websites that need to be deployed with a multisite or multiuser setup will benefit from Drupal's common codebase delivery options. Building complex websites with involved workflows and custom backend administration tools and dashboards are ideal for Drupal. Drupal is more of a web application development framework than a blogging or brochure website builder. Of course you can build a powerful blog or brochure website, but unless you augment the functionality to include content management workflows and integrations with marketing automation, ERP, and CRM systems; you will not be getting the full benefit of Drupal.
Read Shane Sevo's full review
Armen Danielyan, PMP profile photo
September 23, 2016

User Review: "Drupal as a framework"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small department (in a big non-profit organization) that supports organization's international and domestic development projects through consulting and implementation of ICT solutions. We develop websites and web applications such as online databases, digital libraries, data collection and visualization platforms, communities of practice and many more for these projects. We switched to Drupal in 2011 and never looked back. For most of the websites and applications we develop Drupal is a perfect fit. The development on Drupal is very efficient and most of the time is as easy as selecting right modules and configuring them to work together. In 90% of cases we don't have to write a single line of custom code. We do create custom themes based on custom design though.
  • Databases. Drupal is a great choice for building an online database. It has great tools for creating advanced data structures out of the box. With help of a few contributed modules the possibilities are limitless.
  • Digital Libraries. Drupal is also a perfect solution for digital libraries. With integration with search engines such as Solr, faceted search, and document preview we can build searchable and filterable digital libraries of any scale.
  • Websites. Being a content management system in the first place Drupal is a perfect platform for websites - large to small. It's extendable with more than 12,000 open source modules that can do almost anything. There is a famous answer to almost any question in Drupal community - "there is a module for that".
  • Content management. Content management is perhaps the strongest part of Drupal. You can easily create and place your content anywhere on your website, reuse and aggregate it in many different ways.
  • There are not many areas where Drupal needs improvement that haven't been already address in Drupal 8. However there is one feature I want to mention that could have been implemented better -- the Forum (or discussion board). Although with a few contrib modules and a little of custom code the forum functionality in Drupal can be fine tuned to be almost as powerful as Google Groups, it requires a lot of effort to make it work as expected.
  • Out of the box theme in Drupal does not look professional enough. Most of developers will want to replace it with something else. Thankfully there are hundreds of free themes available for Drupal for free, and many more can be purchased online.
So far my positive experience way outweighs the negative. Most of the issues we faced were solvable with a little to medium effort. Many people complain about a steep learning curve of Drupal. However I think it is not always true, especially if you are a professional developer. In any case the effort you make to learn Drupal will pay off in full.
Read Armen Danielyan, PMP's full review
Eric Batson profile photo
July 28, 2016

Review: "Drupal - Standardizing Our Intranet Sites"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Drupal was the software used to create many of our organization's intranet sites. It was used across the majority of the organization. Each operating unit used it to create sites that conveyed who they were, the work they did, and other basic information. We used it so the operating units' sites would be uniform in their look and feel. Consequently, information would be be found in predictable locations across the operating unit sites.
  • You don't need to be a developer to use Drupal. You just need to learn its functions.
  • We were able to train people with various non-computer backgrounds to use Drupal. It can be learned by a range of people who are not "technical".
  • Drupal sites can include APIs, webforms, slideshows, parent and child pages, and more.
  • The option to compare older site page versions with the current version could be easier to decipher from a visual standpoint.
  • It would be great if the various customizable features included descriptions of how they function for the many non-technical users who work on Drupal.
  • It can be tough for users to find previously added slides (in the slideshow carousel) to edit them.
It is good for organizations like mine where standardization and clarity were the main goals. If you want a fancy and dynamic site then this may not be the solution. This is also a good option if non-technical people will be tasked with its regular maintenance. A little training can go a long way with Drupal.
Read Eric Batson's full review
Alex Lada profile photo
August 09, 2016

"Drupal review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a digital agency that serves some clients who require Drupal expertise. They either come to us for help with Drupal, or we recommend Drupal to them based on their business needs. It solves the issue of providing a powerful and extensible open source CMS.
  • Drupal provides a robust and powerful open source CMS platform. Due to this, it has a wide community of supporters and contributors and a vast library of modules that have already been produced.
  • Drupal is free to use, which makes it a great choice for our clients that need something more powerful than WordPress, but cannot afford the licensing fees of system like Sitecore.
  • As of Drupal 8, Drupal provides good admin tools for configure data and content architecture and relationships.
  • Drupal's admin section, especially before Drupal 8, can be fairly confusing to navigate. This is tough for developers as well as content authors.
  • Drupal traditionally has been a little constrictive with regards to front end templating, although it has gotten easier over the years.
Drupal is a very good choice for our clients that require a powerful, robust, extensible, and open sourced CMS system that has no licensing fees. It allows for complex data structures and efficient site performance without the cost of something like Sitecore. It provides much greater performance and is easier use when modeling complex data structures and relationships than another free CMS like WordPress.
Read Alex Lada's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Role-based user permissions (52)
8.8
API (48)
8.4
Internationalization / multi-language (41)
8.2
WYSIWYG editor (50)
7.8
Code quality / cleanliness (54)
7.9
Admin section (55)
8.3
Page templates (54)
7.8
Library of website themes (45)
6.3
Mobile optimization / responsive design (51)
8.4
Publishing workflow (54)
8.4
Form generator (52)
7.6
Content taxonomy (51)
8.1
SEO support (50)
8.0
Bulk management (48)
8.0
Availability / breadth of extensions (48)
8.2
Community / comment management (48)
8.4

About Drupal

Drupal is a free and open source content management system written in PHP that competes primarily with Joomla and Plone. The standard release of Drupal, known as Drupal core, contains basic features common to content management systems. These include a dashboard with a menu management system, RSS feeds, page layout customization and themes to aid this, and system administration tools. Drupal offers access statistics, more advanced search features, caching and feature throttling (to improve performance if needed), descriptive URLs, multiple users with controllable privileges, access control and restrictions, and workflow tools (triggers). There are over 30,000 addons or modules to expand Drupal's functionality.




Categories:  Content Management

Drupal Integrations

Drupal Competitors

Drupal Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No