Microsoft Visual Studio Code Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
408 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.2 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2021

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 82)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 30, 2021
Moris Mendez | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently our department is using Microsoft Visual Studio Code as the main tool for the development of programs and systems that help meet the objectives of our department, in addition to being of great help for the maintenance of systems that are already implemented.
Although Microsoft Visual Studio Code is one of the best options for developing systems, it still does not have the desired presence throughout our organization because many are unaware of the potential of this tool.
  • Code analysis of applications or systems already implemented is of great help to detect syntax errors or functions that are obsolete
  • The automatic linking of functions or procedures installed in programming blocks is fantastic, since we must not remember the address or the name of the file where the definition of the function or procedure is.
  • The customization of the entire environment provides accelerated productivity by being able to choose the extensions or plugins that best suit our development pace
  • The customization of key combinations should be more accessible and easier to change
  • The auxiliary panels could be minimized or as floating tabs which are displayed when you click on them
  • A monitoring panel of resources used by Microsoft Visual Studio Code or plugins and extensions would help a lot to be able to detect any malfunction of these
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is highly recommended for the development of systems and / or complex applications entrusted to work teams under a specific methodology, and its use is also recommended for the maintenance of previously developed applications.
It is not recommended as a learning environment for developers with little experience as the learning curve would be too high
Read Moris Mendez's full review
June 29, 2021
Mark Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team is using Visual Studio Code to develop Angular web applications. Visual Studio Code was chosen because it's built to work with Git. The previous version of our product was developed in Visual Studio NS used Team Foundation Server for source control. Since the team decided to switch development to pure Angular instead of a hybrid model, Visual Studio Code and GIT were no-brainer choices.
  • Lightening fast UI.
  • Very easy to prototype individual components and later roll those up into larger ones.
  • Vast array of free add-ons available from the public.
  • Easy integration with Git.
  • Easy to learn what monthly updates were delivered.
  • Lack of button bar like ones found in Visual Studio.
  • Lack of integrated help that could link to YouTube, Channel 9, or other Microsoft videos on how to learn about features.
  • Integration with Team Foundation Server.
  • Would like to see it having some sort of integration into a Web API testing harness.
If your Source Control Software is Team Foundation Server then skip Visual Studio Code. If you're using GitHub and are creating small projects Visual Studio Code is the way to go. If you need to create a large, enterprise-level application, Visual Studio Code makes it easier to set up interactions between related projects (client & server). If you're interested in getting back to the old way of using the command line to create projects and you know what to enter in the console window then Visual Studio Code is great. Visual Studio Code is a better choice if you don't know the console commands and prefer to make selections from a menu.
Read Mark Orlando's full review
June 28, 2021
Jude Allred | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[Microsoft Visual Studio Code is] used widely by engineers across our organization. Since it's a free and trusted tool, it has easy adoption. It works well as a general purpose text editor for code and configuration files, as well as an IDE for more sophisticated coding projects. Some projects are written to use VS Code heavily, others are written to use other IDEs but are still compatible with VS Code. It's a strong part of any engineer's toolkit.
  • Very accessible -- it's compatible with all platforms and environments, free to install, and fast to open
  • Strong native support for many languages, and very strong extensibility to provide advanced language features
  • Git integration is top-notch, often displaying a better history, diff, and merge interface that is otherwise available in version control systems
  • It's a fantastic generalist product and the only areas where it falls short are when its ecosystem of extensions aren't widely available for unpopular languages... but even in those cases its basic text editing abilities are so strong that it remains compellingly useful.
  • If you're using a legacy version control system, VS Code won't have native integrations out of the box... but there will be extensions for them.
Every software engineer has a text editor in their toolkit. Long ago "Vim" and "emacs" were the champions, and are still well-loved by many. For a while, Notepad++ and Sublime were very popular. These days, VSCode is the answer. When you're editing code or configuration files, you'll either reach for this.

In addition to being well suited for general cases, VSCode's extension framework makes it very well suited to managing entire codebases-- compiler integrations, autoformatters, linters, quality checkers, etc., all abound in the ecosystem. On top of that, there's a very strong Git integration, seamlessly embedded in the editor that just comes to life when the information is available.

And it's completely free and fast to install. Everyone should try it.
Read Jude Allred's full review
April 29, 2021
Ryan McGarry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visual Studio Code for writing and debugging our Python and Java based applications. Visual Studio Code is a useful tool that assists us with quickly writing and updating our scripts. It is lightweight and has a number of nice built-in features, such as automatically highlighting the same variables in the interface.
  • Nice built-in features like auto-highlighting repeating variables
  • It's lightweight
  • Helpful for quick script modification
  • It would be nice to have the option for a Spyder-style UI
  • More advanced debugging features would be helpful
  • Including a built-in screen for package management
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is excellent for quick modification or working with scripts that you may have in your code base. As an example, I would often conduct experiments using scripts that were based on PsychoPy, and on a number of occasions, I had to quickly update a script or two shortly before a participant was tested with their particular code or counterbalance number. Most scripting programs would take a significant amount of time to make a simple modification, and would be bogged down with a heavy UI, but Visual Studio Code make this process quick and painless.
Read Ryan McGarry's full review
April 13, 2021
Shion Song | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft [Visual Studio] Code is a featured-packed code editor that works with many different languages and has the flexibility to be as extensive or as simple as needed. It is perfect for developers who often need to work with many different languages at the same time. "IntelliSense" code completion along with robust debugging tools make it easier and faster to fix errors in the code. Above all, its extensive extension library allows for integration with many different programming environments and allows for customization as you see fit. For instance, we can run Python code right inside VS Code split-screen tab without needing to open another IDE.
  • Incredible tabbed window management that allows grid-based split screen
  • Application functionality can be expanded through many different extensions/plugins available
  • Decently fast and easy to use
  • Themes are customizable to liking
  • Some plugins/extensions that are available can cause stability issues especially if they are installed together
  • Extension management can sometimes get complicated
  • The app does from time to time consume more resources than necessary but a restart usually fixes it
[Microsoft] Visual Studio Code is perfect for those who need a little more than notepad++/barebones text editors but also don't need the bloat that comes from pricier alternatives such as dreamweaver CC.
[Microsoft Visual Studio Code] is also perfect for web developers as they are more likely to be working within different programming environments at the same time. With VS Code, it is possible organize all of your code (JS, HTML, CSS, PHP, etc) all in a single window by making use of its docking features. It is also free so smaller businesses can benefit from no upfront licensing costs. There is however a bit of a learning curve for those interested in making use of its extension library to add functionality. These extensions can cause issues or cause the app to run slow if they are not of good quality/out of date
Read Shion Song's full review
April 08, 2021
John Crumpton | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Microsoft] Visual Studio Code when building or updating websites for clients. I can edit websites pulled from GitHub.

We changed from Sublime Text about three years ago. We used Sublime Text for nearly a eight years.

[Microsoft] Visual Studio Code is very similar to Sublime Text and the next generation of developers are using this over Sublime.

  • Compare two files
  • Autocomplete
  • Code highlighting
  • Could load a little bit quicker
[Microsoft] Visual Studio Code is an excellent code editor, helping me to be a better coder through it auto closing feature.
Read John Crumpton's full review
April 02, 2021
Ben Williams | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use [Microsoft Visual Studio Code] as a more lightweight application to review pieces of code with the ability to easily write and correct pieces of code In a variety of different languages. It even has the autocomplete for a variety of languages to help with hints on how to complete the current line you are looking to write. It allows us to put this across the business on a lot of different machines and now that it isn’t too weighty and won’t slow the machine down for simple functions and reviews.
  • It’s lightweight
  • Able to handle a large variety of coding languages
  • Has the relevant colour notation to make writing code easier
  • Auto complete of some functions
  • Easier download of other languages or plug ins.
  • Able to download what you like into the initial instal in packages
  • Clearer customisation of the UI
[Microsoft Visual Studio Code] works well for us to give to users who don’t need [Visual Studio] professional licenses but need to review and amend code infrequently. In our organization supervisors and managers have access so that they can review work if needs be. We can even provide this to users who want to try something outside their usual role, as it’s a full suite for most users.
Read Ben Williams's full review
July 14, 2021
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Visual Studio Code is a default editor for the developer groups who are working mostly on Python, Javascript, Docker, C++ and PowerShell in our organization. The VS Code supports the day-to-day development activities like programming, debugging and source code management (Bitbucket). The flexibility that VS Code brings is a tempting lot of developers to migrate towards it in our organization.
  • Excellent customization available for Text Editor, Keyboard shortcuts, Syntax highlighting and Workspace view.
  • Lots of Extensions available for different languages which make code even more versatile.
  • The debugging tools are really matured and help to put breakpoints, conditional breakpoints, local variables view, class variable view, immediate resolution of expressions, and call stack for function call. It also supports multi-threaded debugging as well.
  • It is light weight and efficiently manages big workspaces even with machines with lower configurations.
  • Direct support of major repositories make the code management much easier.
  • Multiple workspaces can be operated in parallel.
  • Setting interface is bit complex. It should be way more simpler as compared to the current one.
  • The plugins needs to reviewed more. Few plugins causes the VS Code to hang/crash.
  • Sometimes Auto suggestion and Syntax highlighting makes VS Code sluggish.
This is one of the best editors and supports most of the development work. I would highly recommend to go for the Visual Studio. I have not come across any scenarios where I feel that the editor is not appropriate. The only thing that requires a little more attention is the usage of any third-party extensions. Sometimes they cause the VS Code to hang/crash. Apart from that, it is the de-facto choice for me.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
June 19, 2021
Balázs Kiss | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Visual Studio Code as an alternative to our main IDE in the company. With the new features and progression of the IDE lately, we accept it as a same-value alternative for any coding task. We use VSCode for education purposes as well, and as a built-in IDE in browser-based examples during lectures. Visual Studio Code personalization and plugins are widely used in our company.
  • Code compilation.
  • Low resource-costs.
  • Highly customizable.
  • Fast programming and debugging experience.
  • Performance bottlenecks.
  • Third party plugin loading sometimes crash.
  • Navigation options.
As it is very easy to install, completely free, and very intuitive overall, it's really good for beginner programmers. Highly customizable, easy to use, and has tons of quality of life improvements to serve as a serious IDE as well. This is one of the two, maybe three IDEs we use for any web-based programming (but not only just for those). Visual Studio Code is one of the de-facto IDE you should use in 2021.
Read Balázs Kiss's full review
May 13, 2021
Tharsanan Kurukulasingam | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Microsoft Visual Studio Code for all my JavaScript-related development. My day-to-day activity involves SVN, as It is easier to commit the files using Microsoft Visual Studio Code. The SVN plugin in this software is very easy to use, we can see the diffs easily, and it's very fast.
  • A lot of plugins available to try out based on your need.
  • Simple and light weight. It wont eat up your machine power.
  • I personally like the UI its simple and easy to use.
  • I am trying to find a good Intelli-Sence plugin for auto-completion and autosuggestion but I have not found a good one yet.
If you want to edit a file real quick, it's really easy to use 'code' just have to type "code file path " it will pop up immediately. It's easy to commit multiple files through visual code. I personally use this and love it. But sometimes the integrated terminal act strange or buggy, but this is not a big deal.
Read Tharsanan Kurukulasingam's full review
April 28, 2021
Nadyan Pscheidt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the company I work for, Microsoft Visual Studio Code is definetly the most loved IDE for software development and we use it across all companie's departments. This IDE has a great variety of add-ons and it will surelly have what you need, doesn't matter if you work with web development or scientific research, it will have it, I guarantee!
  • Great color schemes and themes
  • Big variety of addons
  • Clean and user friendly interface
  • Integrated terminal
  • Its free
  • Big RAM consumption
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is an IDE projected for all kinds of purposes and users. It will mostly satisfy 99% of the users, so it will perform great on virtually any scenario, but if you have a low end machine it can cause you some performance issues, since the IDE requires lots of RAM to run, but nowadays almost any computer can handle it easily.
Read Nadyan Pscheidt's full review
April 14, 2021
Theodore K. Langston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a freelance designer developer I use Microsoft Visual Studio Code as a primary component in my web development workflow. It is an essential code editor that I use exclusively for web development. The feature set and additional add-ons make it a fundamental tool in my development stack.
  • Code editing
  • git and versioning
  • autocomplete
  • formatting
  • Sometimes too many options
  • more focus on terminal
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is well suited for your code writing, editing and compiling needs. Error handling and troubleshooting can be made easier with add-ons. A wealth of programming languages are supported. Terminal integration along with git repository handling are a welcome feature. It is not yet a code-in-browser solution.
Read Theodore K. Langston's full review
April 03, 2021
Saad Moumen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is mainly used in the IT department of our company as an IDE for programming languages ranging from JavaScript to Python and for web application development as well as Devops and AI related code.
  • Intuitive UI
  • Fast and reliable RAM management
  • Rich community provides a multitude of plugins
  • Remotecode editing
  • Git conflict resolving UI
  • Better support for the Java Ecosystem
  • Better intellisense
  • Database management
VS Code is the go-to IDE for Web development and anything in JS / TypeScript world ranging from Backend NodeJS applications to Angluar/React/Vue front-end applications. It handles Python and Yaml files (Kubernetes, Helm etc..) really well too.

For a classic Java or C# application with a database I would rather use Intellij or Microsoft VS
Read Saad Moumen's full review
April 01, 2021
Sudha Govindaraju | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I work as a C# developer at my present company. I am the only C#/.NET developer in our company and I regularly use Microsoft Visual Studio Code for application development. It allows me to open one or more directories, and then save in work-spaces from where I can re-access for future use.
  • Fast
  • Cross-platform
  • Support for a variety of programming languages
  • Embedded git isn't powerful enough
  • Slow launch time
  • Bad auto import
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is an extremely fast source code editor that can be helpful for hundreds of programming languages. There are many plug-ins that could be used to extend its functionality. I've used both Sublime Text and Microsoft Visual Studio Code, but sometimes I've noticed that the launch of Visual Studio Code is extremely slow compared to the latter.
Always updates VS Code frequently and the code editor has been evolving over time.
Read Sudha Govindaraju's full review
July 06, 2021
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is used by our developers on projects of many different language types. It is used when building .Net Core WebAPIs, Angular SPA, and React front end pages. It is also used for Python development with some of our hardware and ML/AI needs. With it available on all computing platforms, it is our most used tool and can be shared by all team members.
  • Powerful
  • Lightweight
  • Extendable
  • Free
  • In-depth debugging
Visual Studio Code is well suited for nearly any coding project imaginable. Its ability to do powerful multi-line select and regular expression searching makes it an amazing text editor as well. With all the extensions available, it can even be used as a small SQL explorer tool and Jupyter Notebook. The only thing it might not be suitable for is an application where you need in-depth debugging or performance profiling, but I would not be surprised if those tools are on the way.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
June 16, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use [Microsoft] Visual Studio Code as a web application developer performing a variety of programming tasks. As a solo consultant and in my capacity as a member of a team I choose Visual Studio Code as my primary tool. This software is robust, features a fantastic plugin architecture, and a plethora of customization options; the fact that it is also a free download is icing on the cake.
  • Robust plugin architecture replete with fantastic add-ons that make developer life delightful.
  • Integrated Terminal window allows you to stay in one application to perform most required tasks.
  • Customization options are robust. It is easy to modify VS Code to your own specifications.
  • It's free! Hard to believe such a well made, well maintained, robust software is a free download.
  • Command+P/Command+Shift+P key commands will improve your workflow dramatically.
  • Inconsistent methods to change settings. Sometimes must be done in the JSON file. Sometimes in the UI.
  • Application error messages sometime appear without enough information to resolve them.
  • Does not have built in functionality to display SVG file preview.
[Microsoft Visual Studio Code] is a great tool for any web application developer to use whether a beginner or advanced coder. The large variety of plugins that expand functionality are wonderful. There are many tutorials online that utilize VS Code reinforcing the choice. It has an attractive design and It's free! Doesn't get much better than that.
Read this authenticated review
May 18, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
IDE choice is entirely up to engineers' personal preference within my organisation, but an overwhelming majority of my colleagues choose to use Microsoft Visual Studio Code. The quality of the editor in itself is fantastic to start with, but when combined with plugins (of which there are many in the ecosystem) it becomes truly invaluable for us in maintaining code quality and speeding up development through its various in-built and extended features. This means that coding can remain pretty consistent amongst engineers (at least in terms of conventions) and that configuration in certain languages and projects can be shared and enforced with relative ease, for example when linting various filetypes.
  • Free, quick and easy to install
  • Extensive plugin ecosystem and support
  • Extensible in configuration and personalisation
  • Personal settings can easily be synced to a personal or group source code management platform
  • Intuitive to use
  • Some plugins can be inconsistent in quality
  • Performance can be affected with many plugins running (especially linting or hinting)
  • Can be a bit of a "one size fits all" rather than specialised
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is suitable for almost any coding needs, though it is specifically best for web-based projects. As far as I'm aware is very commonly geared towards the relatively recent explosion in javascript, TypeScript and similar languages, with some other competitors possibly being more suitable for lower-level languages (e.g. Java, C# etc). Certainly a lot of the plugin ecosystem appears to centre around frontend language features for the various languages and frameworks, this is generally what I personally use it for, and so I don't know with any great confidence that it's particularly unsuitable for other languages, rather that I've not used it for other purposes.
I generally would, and have, recommend Microsoft Visual Studio Code to any web engineer who is not already using it.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio [Code] is currently being used to develop our internal system and clients database. Through it, we maintain our current software and develop new features as required by the operations team, and as the business changes through time. All personnel uses the applications being developed using Visual Studio.
  • Easy to use user interface.
  • Good integration to code repositories.
  • Cood integration with third party components.
  • Integration to new Git repositories can be better.
[Microsoft Visual Studio Code] is very flexible and you can code in your preferred language, from C, C++, C# to Visual Basic. It integrates well to third party developed components that make your coding faster. The programs that can be coded using Visual Studio can be run on desktops (Windows Forms), browsers (ASP.NET) or on servers as command line routines. If you are lacking development time and monetary resources to buy components, there maybe other development frameworks that could suit your business better.
Read this authenticated review
April 12, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Software engineers in our organization use Visual Studio Code by their own choice, and usually to develop software as per their job requirements. Although, our engineering department makes available licenses for full-fledged IDEs like IntelliJ RubyMine for that purpose, many developers choose editors like Code because of its lightweight nature and extensibility.
  • It is fast and snappy in most cases, unlike IDEs (IntelliJ, Eclipse etc.) that take quite a lot of time to start up and are sluggish even during use (including on high-end Macbook Pros).
  • It provides great and top-notch support for a huge number of languages and web development frameworks. This support is either built-in or provided using first-party (Microsoft) or third-party extensions. E.g. Microsoft provides its own extension for Python, and Golang provides an official Visual Studio Code extension.
  • Microsoft keeps continuously improving Code with new features and performance improvements.
  • Unlike for most languages I have used, Ruby and Rails support available for Code users isn't great. The most popular Ruby extension is unofficial, and leaves much to desire. As an example, code navigation even with language server Solargraph installed isn't as good as IntelliJ's RubyMine.
  • Even there is quite good support for a language or a framework, it is almost never as good as a dedicated IDE for it. In terms of the sheer number of features available, IntelliJ IDEs handily beat Code.
  • Microsoft has close-sourced some of the extensions it develops for Code itself, e.g. Pylance for Python, and that has not been perceived as a good move for open-source.
If you want a snappy text editor that can handle almost any language you throw at it, provides decent code navigation, is not memory-intensive and can do without advanced support for your particular language that you would expect from an IDE, you should go for it. Keep in mind that even if you like IDEs more, you may end up paying a lot for your subscription, while Visual Studio Code is free.
Read this authenticated review
April 09, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I can speak for my team. We use [Microsoft Visual Studio Code] to develop [a] variety of applications. Its a feature rich ide with support for plugins, themes, voice chats and collaboration tools as well. Basically, all of our web application development work is done in [Microsoft Visual Studio Code]. It has great integration with github which is also a staple requirement of any developer today.

I am pretty sure it is also used throughout the organization but I can speak for myself and the team only.
  • Github integration
  • Plugin support
  • Integration with all command line tools
  • Collaboration features
  • Debugging tools
  • Visually attractive
  • A little bit heavy on system but so are other ide.
  • Java support is a bit clunky
For ANY development work, just go with [Microsoft Visual Studio Code]. It supports syntax highlighting for all languages, has great debugging tools, has tight integration with github. For example, you don't have to use ides for specific languages or purpose such as pycharm or webstorm. [Microsoft Visual Studio Code] has tons of plugins to cater development in a specific programing language or domain.


I think all this is great for any developer.
Read this authenticated review
June 03, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Visual Studio Code for coding and testing purposes. Mainly our IT department is using the software because it is built for developers. It is easy to use, supports multiple languages at the same time so you do not need to switch the apps for development and testing purposes. It has built in terminal which is one of the most useful feature.
  • Multiple Coding Languages Support
  • Easy to use
  • Built-in Git Support
  • Multiple Projects at same time
  • No support for Database
  • Development for Mac/iOS is not supported
It is useful in almost all the scenarios, it has supports [for] multiple languages so you don't need to switch the IDE every time while coding. There are so many extensions which makes coding easy and seamless like Beautifier of code etc. It is very light-weight so starts very easily and runs on any config devices.
Read this authenticated review
May 17, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across different departments for various use.
For our team, we use Visual Studio Code for different types of software developments.
  • Support numerous plugins for different usages
  • Available in multiple platforms
  • Powerful yet lightweight
  • Nil
It is very suited for development use at the developers' workstations. As mentioned in the previous sections, it provides a lot of conveniences for different kinds of development uses.
It is less suitable for on-the-fly file editing in the production machines, which is both over-kill and inconvenient. Built-in editors like Vim will be more suitable for that job.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft Visual Studio Code for coding all kinds of software and web applications. From building web forms to coding software and mainly PHP because that is not supported by Visual Studio IDE. So, this is the best fit for that. It is free so that is also a big plus.
  • Works with all coding languages
  • Free to use
  • Easy to integrate with git
  • I wish it was easier to compile code
  • Can't think of many issues, it is honestly very good
It is best if you need a light weight IDE to manage and write code, edit a single file on the fly or even store some note. Super light and support all coding languages syntax. It is not the best choice if you want to manage a full C# project for example In would use Visual Studio for that.
Read this authenticated review
April 08, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VSCode as our primary IDE for front-end software development, especially for Angular, and as a general-purpose text editor for nearly anything. It's especially used in my web development department but also used to a lesser degree in other software development groups in my organization. It allows us to have a consistent dev environment that's easy for new folks to learn while still being flexible enough for us to add our own plugins.
  • It's free & open source
  • Intuitive UI
  • Time-saving keyboard shortcuts
  • Large library of plugins
  • Integrates well with a large number programming languages.
  • Lighter-weight/faster than full Visual Studio.
  • Improvements/updates are rapid.
  • The debugger isn't as powerful as full Visual Studio.
  • It doesn't understand C#/.NET as well as Visual Studio.
  • It doesn't have built-in support for running unit tests.
  • Certain plugins like ReSharper aren't available.
For front-end web development, and even for some other tasks, like node.js development, or really anything that runs in Javascript/Typescript, I don't think there is any IDE better than Visual Studio Code. Between the plugins available to add support for various frameworks, and the excellent support for HTML and other web languages built into it, it's an excellent experience. Some other IDEs may be better suited if doing development in a language that VSCode doesn't support very well, or if you want a very heavy-weight IDE with extensive profiling features and tools to resolve memory leaks.
Read this authenticated review
April 06, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my company, we use Microsoft Visual Studio Code as one of our IDE options in our development group. We let each developer choose which IDE they prefer. Most often, we are developing with PHP and JS. Microsoft Visual Studio Code is very helpful for its Intellisense, git integration, and debugger. Further, its supported extensions allow for integration with several other third-party applications that can significantly speed up projects on a case-by-case basis. While we use it for PHP and JS development, it supports many other languages as well and really brings in a lot of the feeling of traditional Visual Studio.
  • Intellisense significantly speeds up coding process.
  • Debugger allows for stepping through code and more easily identifying issues.
  • Git integration saves time by not requiring running a separate application or command line.
  • Indexed code allows for better navigation of your repository and libraries when learning new code bases.
  • I personally have some trouble setting up the code linting. I have had a slightly easier time of that with PHP Storm.
  • Sometimes the Intellisense autocomplete seems to be missing functions. I presume this is due to something I have not set up properly within the code repository, but I have yet to figure out why.
Microsoft Visual Studio Code is particularly well suited to larger projects that tie in several libraries. It is especially helpful when needing to discover how a library or a plugin works, as you can easily navigate through the various functions and files and see how they tie together. This is especially helpful when dealing with a mishmash of well structured vs not as well structured code, where things are not always placed where you would expect. It has also helped with large version upgrades (particularly Drupal) where functionality can change drastically and must be knit back into the project.

I would not say there is a coding situation where Microsoft Visual Studio Code is not appropriate. It can be a little bit of overkill on a small, simple HTML project or JS app, but even then you are not losing anything with it. I would not choose to something like Sublime Text in these situations, but I could see why some people would.
Read this authenticated review

What is Microsoft Visual Studio Code?

Microsoft offers Visual Studio Code, a text editor that supports code editing, debugging, IntelliSense syntax highlighting, and other features.
Categories:  Text Editors

Microsoft Visual Studio Code Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Enterprise$250.00Per User Per Month
Professional$45.00Per User Per Month

Microsoft Visual Studio Code Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Microsoft Visual Studio Code?

Microsoft offers Visual Studio Code, a text editor that supports code editing, debugging, IntelliSense syntax highlighting, and other features.

What are Microsoft Visual Studio Code's top competitors?

Notepad++, NetBeans, and Spyder are common alternatives for Microsoft Visual Studio Code.

What is Microsoft Visual Studio Code's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 9.4.

Who uses Microsoft Visual Studio Code?

The most common users of Microsoft Visual Studio Code are from Enterprises and the Computer Software industry.