Hyper-V Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
167 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Jeffrey Rudacille | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 05, 2020

Hyper-V is the place to be for Virtualization if you are an SMB

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V has been our hypervisor of choice because of its fairly seamless integration with the rest of the Windows stack and its great price. We used it to consolidate our server farm into just a handful of actual physical servers. It is being used by our whole organization in that almost every piece of server infrastructure, except the hosts themselves, is hosted on a hyper-v server. Some are in clusters and some are standalone. It solves the need for additional hardware expense, space needed to house the servers and saves money when it comes to power consumption. In conjunction with Windows clustering, it also gives us an in-house live backup in that the virtual servers can run on any of our clustered hosts.
  • Hyper-V is both fairly easy to learn while being robust in its capability of taking one physical server and turning it into multiple functioning systems for user consumption.
  • One of the gigantic strengths of Hyper-V is the fact that it is included with Windows Server.
  • When used in conjunction with Windows Clustering, Hyper-V goes from just being a virtualization product to also being a Disaster Recovery product. Setting up multiple hosts in a cluster, if all of them have the capability of hosting all machines at once, allows one to know that if one host goes off line the other hosts will pick up the slack and keep the virtual instances running.
  • Since Hyper-V is free and a MS product there is copious free support for it on the web. Most issues and questions can be dealt with just by doing some searching.
  • Hyper-V's snapshot feature can sometimes be a little clunky and cause issues removing the snapshots. Most problems are easily rectified but it is a weak point of the software.
  • Host Servers that have Hyper-V installed on them, if there are a lot of servers, becoming fairly useless when it comes to being used for other functions...both in a literal sense and licensing sense.
  • Despite the product being free with MS server, the new licensing scheme MS has available makes it more costly to host Hyper-V instances when one wants more than two per physical host.
Hyper-V is well suited for shops that are not completely sold into using VMWare for its virtualization needs. There is some limitation on using some hardware with Hyper-V but when it comes to every day server user, the Hyper-V technology is so mature that almost any in house scenario can benefit from its use. Whether it is for space, power or DR reasons.

The only time I can think it would be less appropriate is the case where someone wants a server to have full, un limited access to a hardware based disc system and does not want any competition for the use of the system.
Read Jeffrey Rudacille's full review
Guillermo Villamizar | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Great virtualization alternative!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Hyper-V is a patented Microsoft technology that allows the users to create virtual server environments and manage multiple operating systems on a single physical server. As of today, our company has very few but very powerful physical servers, and we use Hyper-V for creating multiple virtual servers with different functions for each one of them.
  • Easy to create new VMs
  • Free virtualization solution
  • Conflict with other virtualization applications
  • Load balancing not available
With Hyper-V, you have the ability to virtualize and manage virtually every aspect of a service. It allows you to create screenshots of the state of the machine, in order to save the state of the machine up to a certain point and continue with a copy, leaving the previous version intact.
We still have not had the need to request support directly from Microsoft or a Microsoft partner, but there are a lot of resources online for Microsoft's Hyper-V (discussion forum, Microsoft service, etc.). The environment is very easy to set up and very intuitive to install and get up and running with no trouble.
Read Guillermo Villamizar's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Hyper-V vs VMware for Windows Shops

Score 4 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a consultant in the telecommunications industry. While we do not personally utilize Hyper-V on premise, I routinely support clients that have it deployed in their organization. All instances of Hyper-V that I have supported were organization-wide, or used in a development sandbox. Hyper-V is used to facilitate consolidation of server roles, or when Windows is the main operating system being deployed.
  • Hyper-V does not need to be installed as its own entity, it can be added as a server role.
  • Windows 10 virtualization is much more fluid than other competitors.
  • Management with System Center should be more fluid and intuitive.
  • There is significant overhead with Hyper-V compared to other alternatives.
In my opinion, if you are purely virtualizing and managing Windows VMs, Hyper-V is the clear winner. If you require a vastly diverse virtual infrastructure, other alternatives would be better suited for the lower overhead, and less frequent required host reboots. Hyper-V is also competitively priced, so if budget is the main concern Hyper-V is a solid choice.
I've never needed to open a support case for Hyper-V, as I've always been able to find remedies in documentation or forum posts. I think that speaks for how well the product performs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2019

A great built in Hyperviser solution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Hyper-V on a few servers to make best use of some of our hardware and to compartmentalize our infrastructure onto particular nodes. It was set up to help reduce hardware use. Specifically, we have Archicad in the office and it requires server nodes for each version, and we used to have a separate physical server for each version. We now have one with 2 VMs running on it.
  • Reduce hardware
  • Save money
  • Maximize investment on kit
  • Setup can be a little difficult and required some reading up on Hyper-v to get it all running properly
  • When we used failover clustering, we had some issues with performance so had to stop that
  • It can be tricky with updates
It's great if you already have a Windows server and need to create some more servers (using the 2 VM licensing allowance with server standard). It does pose an issue for backups though, as you have to be careful what and how you back them up. We've opted for Veeam and this seems to work well.
We haven't had to use any support with Microsoft for Hyper-V and tend to find all answers we need are relatively easy to find on user forums and help websites, so nothing else I can really report on here in terms of quality of support or my feelings towards it at the moment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Great product that you get as part of your Windows Server License.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using a hyper-v cluster to host my VMs for the past 7+ years. It is fairly reliable (i am using an older version) and the failover between nodes works well most of the time. The cluster hosts multiple virtual machines, some business-critical, some not. Management is very easy, as it uses standard MS management consoles. Modifying the VMs is very easy, as well as creating a new one. All round, it is a good product, considering full-featured version is included with Windows Server for free (as part of your licensing).
  • Ease of management
  • Ease of set up
  • Fairly reliable
  • Comes bundled with your windows server licensing
  • Failover does not always work
  • Can be a bit slower compared to the competition
  • linking to shared storage for the vms can be very confusing
If you do not want to pay for VMWare full license, Hyper-V is perfect for you. It is bundled with Windows Server (i believe from 2008 onwards), and it is getting better and better with every new release. It is a solid platform.
If you want world-class reliability, seamless failover, look somewhere else. This could be because I am running an old version (one of our partners use Windows Server 2019 and Hyper-V there is amazing)!
It is standard Microsoft technology, that is bundled, even with Windows 10 Pro! Anyone can use it, spool a VM and explore the benefits of virtualisation. The enterprise version, bundled with Windows Server is even better, as it offers advanced functionality, for example, real-time VM migrations, failover cluster, ease of use, reliability (for the most part) and, did I mention it is absolutely free (as part of your existing licenses)? I would recommend it to anyone exploring virtualisation, as the initial investment is very low and is overall a great product.
Read this authenticated review
Brian Sossamon | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Hyper-V

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We chose Hyper-V to create our virtual infrastructure for our on premise servers. Our current hardware was at end of life and had the opportunity to upgrade to newer hardware and have enough space for more servers.
  • Virtual Environment
  • Scale-ability
  • Ease of use
  • None that I have noticed.
We had limited space for physical servers and the hardware space needed for the virtual environment only utilized half of the space the on premise servers used.
Always willing to help when needed.
Read Brian Sossamon's full review
Michael Haberkern | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 07, 2019

Hyper-V: Free with Datacenter

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V was used across the enterprise at my previous job. It consisted of a three-host cluster with over 1TB ram and 200TB of production storage. It also included over 200 VMs running Windows Server 2016 RD Datacenter.
  • Hyper-V is better than having a lot of physical boxes and hardware.
  • Hyper-V is priced well; meaning if you buy a Datacenter center license its free for unlimited, the standard is up to 3 VMs.
  • You can buy single VM licenses to add to standard in lieu of Datacenter license. I think the cost equals out after 8 single VM purchases, so if you plan on running more than 8-10 VMs you may want to look at Datacenter.
  • Hyper-V is behind the curve in terms of live migration. I feel that the winner for this is VMWare.
  • This is a Microsoft based program, so getting support on it can prove more difficult than others. More than likely you'll get quicker support from your reseller.
  • Hyper-V was awful in 2008, it started getting better in 2012 and was pretty good in 2016, but still inferior to VMWare.
If you have a limited budget, this will be a tossup with KVM Open Source Hypervisor.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 17, 2019

Hyper-V is the happy middle point

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're a small IT operation in the higher education industry. We use Hyper-V as our primary production-grade virtualization tool. While it may not be as feature-packed as other options, it does what we need. At the end of the day we're just trying to virtualize infrastructure, and do not even need fancy high availability tools or near-real time replication. Just run more servers on less physical hardware.
  • Windows Server Virtualization
  • Windows Server Configuring
  • Uptime
  • Microsoft Licensing is Complicated
  • Harder to configure real-time migration
  • Focus on Microsoft products, support is weak for non-Microsoft systems
In education Hyper-V is still the best bet. In our case, it's included in our regular Microsoft licenses. VMware is a whole different issue when it comes to licensing and adds significant cost in our situation. The hardware requirements are also different for VMware. The big question is what you need versus what the virtualization software company wants to make you think you need.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Hyper-V built into Windows for free

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have configured stand-alone Hyper-V servers and failover Hyper-V clusters. All of our servers are currently running under Hyper-V. From a cost perspective, all servers running windows under the Hyper-V node are free as long as you have a Windows datacenter license. This helps us keep costs down, and allows us to spin up new servers without additional licensing costs for the OS.
  • Live migration.
  • High availability.
  • Easily create new VMS.
  • Dynamically adjust RAM.
  • Troubleshooting can be difficult.
  • Occasional live migration failures are causing all other VM's to fail.
  • A fair bit of setup is needed to get a cluster configured and up.
I've always had good success with Hyper-V. Since we moved to Windows 2016, we have had issues with Windows updates taking hours to install. The server will sit at "please wait," while updates are installed for hours. It used to be minutes with Windows 2012R2. As a result, updating our Hyper-V servers takes an entire day instead of hours. Hopefully, this issue will be resolved with Windows 2019 Hyper-V.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Hyper-V Review from a Technical Consultant

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is being used by consultants like myself in our organization. Consultants often work for multiple different clients, each of which has different parameters for connecting to their systems. Some use VPNs or VMware, but others have their own VMs that we can manage locally with Hyper-V. This way we can conform to whatever standards the client requires with an image that they provide.
  • Switch Manager. Once you get your Hyper-V Manager set up, it is pretty easy to use the Virtual Switch Manager to toggle between different connection types for different VMs. It even allows you to change that switch configuration on a running instance without rebooting.
  • Multiple VMs. It is very easy to maintain multiple VMs, hence the name "Manager" in Hyper-V Manager.
  • Metrics. It is very easy to see the metrics for any specific instance. For example, the allocated memory, checkpoints, security settings, etc.
  • Initial Setup. Adding in new VMs is not an intuitive process. Going through the boot file, the ISO, and figuring out how to get that initial configuration right can be challenging.
  • Stability. Overall, it's pretty stable, but I have had my VM crash unexpectedly more times than I expected. It's caused me to take certain precautions in how I handle the data that I keep on there.
  • Connectivity. Although the Switch Manager is easy to use, establishing that initial connectivity within the VM can be tough. In a few instances, I had to do a number of resets and reboots in order to get it to work properly.
Well-Suited
1) Multiple VMs to manage. It works well if you have multiple VMs to manage, and don't have external software to connect to them (and would rather maintain them locally).
2) Specific images required. In the consulting world, if a client requires a specific OS image for their work, Hyper-V is perfect for maintaining that image.

Less Appropriate
1) No image required. If the work that you do doesn't require a specific image, but rather just access to propriety data and systems, online portals might be a better option.
2) High levels of security. If you have a setup that requires token authentication, MFA, etc., maintaining all of that through an instance on Hyper-V can be challenging.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 04, 2019

Great Hypervisor for IT and More

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is our bare-metal hypervisors. Anything that we run on-premise resides on a Hyper-V virtual machine. Our Hyper-V implementation is simple, with local storage on the servers and no failover clustering.
  • Hyper-V is free. Totally free. No feature limits aside from the lack of a GUI on the server itself, but so long as you have a Windows workstation, you can manage it remotely.
  • Remote management is excellent, and the default way to interact with the hypervisor.
  • PowerShell is extensively supported and very powerful. If you have complex needs or like to get your hands dirty, the tools are very powerful.
  • It's a very stable platform. Our hypervisors require so little maintenance it's a dream. And the virtual machines are also stable and fast.
  • There are some options not present in the GUI tools. It seems features are implemented with PowerShell commands before being brought to the GUI.
  • Hyper-V will sometimes be a bit slower to pick up new virtualization technologies like GPU sharing, as compared with VMware or even Microsoft's own Azure.
Hyper-V has been a very reliable hypervisor for use in an IT organization. It's free, well documented, and powerful. Where it may fall short is in a Linux shop, where existing tools and skills would be better spent on a nix hypervisor. Virtual networking support on Hyper-V is also not as advanced as something like VMware, potentially important for web hosting projects.
Read this authenticated review
Michael Jipping | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2018

HyperV The Hypervisor Solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HyperV became the Virtualization choice to replace or migrate as many systems to a Virtual Environment. This decision spanned the entire company. The largest business problem it solved was the physical space and requirements needed to continue to use physical servers. It also addressed the increasing complexity of server management. High Density computing offers many advantage and can deliver a substantial cost savings when compared.
  • Virtual Machine Management and Resource Management is very good. You can adjust many resources while the VM is running and take Advantage of reducing impact to production. For example you can grow a virtual hard drive "hot", even when its larger than 2TB.
  • Cluster Management is very easy to set up and allows you to "live migrate resources" while in use not affecting production, minimizing downtime. This allows for many events such as maintenance tasks (software updates or firmware) or performance troubleshooting issues that need addressed.
  • Also enables you to perform rolling upgrades on your cluster nodes to upgrade you operating systems (ex 2012R2 to 2016).
  • Backup Strategies have the opportunity to leverage the Hypervisor vs agent based backups. This allows for you to avoid overtaxing individual VMs during backup operations. And removing agent based backups from your environment is going to lessen the software footprint that has the possibility to create contention on resources.
  • HyperV could use better native tools for user to look into VM performance and health. Tools do exist but need improved to be competitive.
  • Errors and Warning could be more visible in the Management View. Things like High CPU, Network peaks and Memory should be able to pop to the front when there is an issue.
HyperV is well suited for most environments. Most system engineers or business owners can take advantage of the quick learning cycle with the product. There are a lot of online resources available. It is a great functional, low cost and viable solution. Small Business or Enterprise can adopt this technology without much concern. If your Virtual Machines have a requirement to be hosted on a Linux based host then perhaps you should use a competitor software versus HyperV, but I have not seen this as an issue very frequently.
Read Michael Jipping's full review
Kenneth Hess | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2018

Hyper-V is friend to CFO and SysAdmin alike

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V in production as well as for testing. Hyper-V is handy because it's available on all Windows servers and it's free. Microsoft has created a pretty competitive product in the virtualization space. Its major competitor being VMware's ESXi. Hyper-V can be managed via SCVMM or individually on each host system. It has the native Windows look and feel to it, which is a real advantage for shortening learning curves and adoption. It's easy to implement, to use, and to manage. Microsoft has taken the financial sting out of virtualization by making it part of its server product. Hyper-V, like all virtualization technologies, makes business sense because it leverages hardware resources that would otherwise go wasted. For example, a standard database server might cost $8,000, but only might be utilized in the range of 30 to 40 percent. Virtualization takes that same $8,000 server and hosts many types of systems including the database system, which saves a lot of money on hardware infrastructure.
  • Hyper-V is native Windows, so it's optimized for the Windows platform. Virtual machines are very well behaved in this environment, which is a great benefit for administrators.
  • Hyper-V is very easy to implement and to use. A short learning curve is essential for maintaining a high level of productivity in a business. Even the newest of administrators can become proficient almost immediately with Hyper-V.
  • Hyper-V is flexible in which type of hardware you can use for host systems. This is especially cost-effective in businesses where IT budgets are already stretched. Being able to use a wide range of hardware systems as hosts helps maximize hardware utilization while keeping costs down because small shops don't have to go out and spend tens of thousands of dollars on the latest and greatest hardware. You can pretty much use what you have on hand, with few exceptions.
  • Hyper-V doesn't support some of the more cost-effective storage systems such as GlusterFS. It's unfortunate because while Hyper-V is certainly cost-effective, good leveraged storage solutions to support it are not.
  • I wish Hyper-V had the capability similar to VMware's DRS so that VMs could move about to balance utilization without having to use SCVMM and SCOM to get similar capabilities. SCVMM and SCOM are really too expensive and heavy for smaller shops that need DRS without the overhead.
Hyper-V is well-suited to smaller environments and those that have budgetary constraints. It's also very good for those businesses that need an inexpensive virtualization solution but also doesn't want to go open source. There are a few limitations with using Hyper-V but careful planning and good administration can overcome most of them. If I were asked to build a large (>100 systems) mission-critical environment, I wouldn't use Hyper-V. It's good for smaller installations, but VMware is really more scalable and better suited to large environments. Some might disagree that Hyper-V falls short but for my money, VMware is the better choice in those situations. I really like Hyper-V, but you have to be ready to make some concessions for its shortcomings.
Read Kenneth Hess's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

A Great VMware Alternative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V as our preferred virtual machine solution. It got our organization off of physical servers and onto a modern format. The ease of conversion and use made Hyper-V the best program available to us. I never have had any problems with the software and have been very pleased with it overall.
  • Make changes on the go
  • Easy to migrate to
  • Great technical support
  • More in-depth options for further control of VMs
  • Cost
  • Clearer outline of future goals
It is a great application if you are looking for an alternative to VMware. I honestly do prefer VMware but Hyper-V does a good job of getting the job done.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Gigliotti | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2017

Hyperactive Hyper-V Hyper-Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V across the entire organization. Everything that requires a server is virtualized, and Hyper-V makes it easy to configure a fault-tolerant cluster for a very low price. With replication, we also don’t worry as much about downtime or data loss.
  • Easy to configure.
  • Free with every copy of Windows Server
  • Dynamically adjustable memory on the VMs
  • Clustering can be tricky to configure
  • Replication sometimes fails and needs to be reconfigured.
  • Easy to lose track of VMs created.
  • Built-in backup tools inadequate.
Great for small to medium-sized offices with modest needs. Once you get to large businesses, managing and configuring your VMs requires dedicated staff.
Read Chris Gigliotti's full review
Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 24, 2017

Why Hyper-V might be for you

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V for development VMs as well as for production VMs. I run, manage and help developers use our 600+ development VMs including all the underlying infrastructure.
  • Use of scripting to create and automate VM creation and management. Powershell is one of the best scripting languages there is and Hyper-V like all Microsoft products supports it out of the box.
  • Integration via Virtual Machine Manager. The real power of Hyper-V is when you pair it with VMM. You then get easy templating and a lot of other more advanced features.
  • Since Windows Server 2016, Hyper-V clusters support automatic load balancing between nodes.
  • Hyper-V clusters are really not reliable enough if you need 24/7 operation. We encountered a lot of hardware failure which resulted in the cluster restarting all the nodes (even the nodes which were OK) which is kind of the opposite goal of clusters.
  • Poor support for less popular Linux OS like Arch Linux.
  • Practically no features when used without Virtual Machine Manager. No templates, no user management, no balancing (Except on Windows Server 2016), etc.
If you need a cheap hypervisor for development purposes or production which does not require 24/7 operation and are running mostly Windows VMs, Hyper-V is hard to beat but if you need reliability and performance, Hyper-V is not the right choice for you.
Read Marc-Olivier Turgeon-Ferland's full review
Kostyantyn Khomko | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 21, 2017

Native virtualization which saves your time and money

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Hyper-V for about half a year for creating clusters on Linux (RedHat, Ubuntu).
  • Very satisfied with the results: simplicity, reliability and its speed of work.
  • But found several cons: absence of drag-and-drop, clipboard also does not work, therefore there is no possibility to copy-paste files from my PC to Hyper-V. Can do this only via RDP but it takes some work: install XRDP, open ports. So, per my point of view it needs refinement to make such things easier.
Well suited for managing Windows Servers and also for Linux. Less appropriate for FreeBSD and MacOS.
Read Kostyantyn Khomko's full review
Daniel Hereford | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2017

Hyper-V Great for DR

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is being used as our hypervisor platform to support our disaster recovery/secondary data center operation. VMware runs our other data center. Hyper-V was implemented in DR to save licensing costs over VMware and also as a way for the bank to assess its capabilities in a slightly less critical operation. It has been a very successful project.
  • Included in Windows Server licensing with Enterprise Agreements. Leveraging value from the EA and saving money over main competitors like VMware is a key business strength of the solution.
  • Hyper-V is relatively easy to manage if you have experienced Windows engineers on staff.
  • I have found the solution to be very reliable (not your typical reboot every couple weeks kind of solution).
  • Monitoring the performance and uptime of the solution is still best achieved with third party tools.
  • Hypervisor replication like Zerto or VMware Site Recovery Manager are still superior products for high availability.
  • Great for branch office deployments even if your DC is VMware or other.
  • Great for leveraging a server purchase since Hyper-V is included.
  • Larger more complex infrastructures are still overwhelmingly supported on VMware from a market share perspective.
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
Bill Starling | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2016

Hyper-V Review by a Database Administrator/Developer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is used across R&D, IT, and support. Each department has their own Hyper-V server but can use VMs from another department's server if need be. We create Virtual Machines in Hyper-V for testing and quality control purposes and to recreate issues from clients in order to track down the proper fix for that issue. The business problem it addresses is having to recreate so many different environments for testing, quality assurance and support. We can test upgrades, patches, configuration setting, etc., with little overhead costs.
  • Make creation of VMs simple with a wizard that will walk you through each step. A brand new user to Hyper-V should be able to open Hyper-V and create a VM in a matter of minutes. Creating and using the VM are different but creating the actual VM is simple.
  • Taking snapshots of VMs is simple. Just choose the VM and choose to create a snapshot. The snapshots are easy to manage and are shown in a graphical 'tree' to show how they are related and what the order of their creation is.
  • Changing VM setting and configurations are simple within Hyper-V settings. You can change everything from the amount of RAM to the size of the hard drive along with how many processors a VM is allocated from the Hyper-V host. You can also add network 'cards' and drives to mimic different RAID and networking setups.
  • Migrating files from one Hyper-V host to another can be tricky if the VM has snapshots. In testing environments most VMs will have snapshots and it can be a headache to move a VM from one host to another.
  • Export/Import process is a bit clunky. There are various options when exporting and Hyper-V doesn't do the best job describing them for new users. Once you have done this a few times it is easier but the first few times may be more difficult.
  • Cloning VMs causes issues. This is more of an issue with Windows and the system ID that Windows has but cloning a VM is not as easy as just copying the files and pasting them in another folder. The VM setting will clone just fine but the VM hard drive (VHD or VHDX) could cause issues.
Hyper-V is great for having low overhead as far as physical systems go. You can spin up or get rid of VMs as needed for various IT needs. Testing environments that can be spun up quickly at various application levels is great to reduce the time to get testing going or to be able to respond to client issues in a timely manner. It is less appropriate for a company who does data processing and needs people at desktops to just process applications or some form of data.
  • Online training
  • In-person training
  • Self-taught
There is a lot of online support with Microsoft Technet that is available to everyone. It answers a lot of questions and allows a forum for users to ask customized questions where other users can share their experiences and knowledge. Since we are a Gold partner our support level is higher than normal and allows us a more direct path for support issues.
Yes - We upgraded from Windows Server 2008 R2 to Windows Server 2012 R2. The upgrade process was simple and straightforward and we just had to do the normal Windows upgrade and then go into the servers features and add the Hyper-V feature to access the Hyper-V management console. We then migrated our VM's to the host and began using the new Hyper-V features from Windows Server 2012 R2.
Read Bill Starling's full review
Igor Dobrogorskiy | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 13, 2016

Hyper-V for growing company.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V as for production as for our internal needs. We have several Hyper-V clusters for different departments in our organization - Dev, QA, Ops and IT. First three use Hyper-V for development, testing and deployment. IT uses Hyper-V for internal projects. We also provide solutions hosted on Hyper-V for our customers. Hyper-V helps us to keep our clustered environments reliable, scalable and highly effective.
  • Hyper-V is available. It won't take you much time to create your own virtualized environment.
  • It's easily scalable. Not a big deal to add more nodes to cluster.
  • It's reliable. High Availability goes out-of-the-box.
  • Not informative. It's hard to find how much of sources used.
  • Logs not so great. It's hard to troubleshoot issues.
  • Hard to operate with templates.
  • It's a challenge to deploy big amount of VMs at one time.
It's much better to use Hyper-V in the big clustered environment, were you do not need to deploy or remove big amounts of VMs everyday. It's also good to use it for personal use on a workstation.
Read Igor Dobrogorskiy's full review
Shane Trapp | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 29, 2016

HyperV Review

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is used for very specific workloads within our organization, generally dev and test only. It helps solve the need to virtualize workloads within our environment.
  • Hyper-V is easy to manage and has a fairly quick learning curve for people who are used to other hypervisor management software.
  • Hyper-V's high availability options are on par with any other hypervisor solutions available, however they do tend to be a little more difficult to configure.
  • Storage management is easy to do and the high availability works well.
  • We have seen hiccups when losing connectivity to either storage or a network that require manual intervention.
  • Would love to see a more striped down version of windows that the Hyper-V hosts get installed on.
Hyper-V is a decent product I am just not sure that it is up to the same standard as some of its competitors.
Read Shane Trapp's full review
Tim Starkenburg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 07, 2015

Easy and Cheap, what's not to love?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Hyper-V as the hypervisor at all of our company offices, with multiple clusters hosting approximately 150 virtual servers. We have recently replace dVMWare with Hyper-V due to cost considerations as well as ease of use. Hyper-V was already included in our Microsoft license agreement and includes features that were very expensive through VMWare. We have found that Hyper-V was very easy to use because its interface is built on Windows, which our technicians were already familiar with after using it on most of our servers.
  • Hyper-V allows you to do replicas to another hyper-v server.
  • Hyper-V in clustered mode is easy to setup and easy to manage.
  • Hyper-V allows you to seamlessly migrate servers to other Hyper-V instances even at other sites.
  • Hyper-V allows for seamless integration to Microsoft Azure for a could solution.
  • Occasionally there are issues that need to be resolved that prevent online migration of a single VM to another host.
  • SCVMM is needed to optimize a cluster and have it automatically spread the VMs out across a cluster.
  • Hyper-V supports SMB 3.0, but it must be a Microsoft SMB solution for backups and use of a quorum drive.
I would highly recommend having fast drives, such as SAS or SSD drives. It seems to lag a bit on an array of SATA drives, especially with speeds of 7200 or less. I have also found that dynamic memory does not work as well, and would recommend having enough memory in the server to have static ram for all your virtual server. Beyond this, I use Hyper-V for small businesses with only 2 VMs to large business clusters with 8 or more nodes hosting over 100 VMs.
It would be better if Microsoft offered instant support instead of call-back support, and it would be nicer if it were at no cost, but when you don't need to pay anything for the product, I can understand why they have to charge something. If I could have anything changed in support, it would be faster access to a technician and for support to be based in the US to make some of the communication easier as some technicians are hard to understand due to language barriers.
Read Tim Starkenburg's full review
Lee Weers | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 09, 2015

Hyper-V is awesome

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have 6 Hyper-V hosts and over 100 VMs. Most of the VMs are a Microsoft operating system from 2003 to 2012r2 and Windows 7, 8 and 10 for the vdi environment. We also have several Linux guests as well. We are migrating from 2008r2 hosts to a 2012r2 cluster. It has served us very well and saved the college thousands of dollars a year in software costs. We do use Virtual Machine Manager to manage the virtual environment and we will be implementing Hyper-V replicas for business continuity in the near future.

  • It is easy to get started.
  • If you are a Microsoft shop, you have to buy the server OS licenses any way and it saves the other hypervisor costs.
  • It works and just continues to run.
  • Permissions to individual VMs in a large environment can be difficult to get set up properly.
  • Third party integration is still developing.
  • Would like to see a broader adoption.
I have not found too many situations that Hyper-V is not a fit. It is great to get started with a test/dev environment to get familiar with it then start rolling it out to production. I like being able to just copy the virtual hard disk (VHD) from my desktop to the server and turn it on.
Read Lee Weers's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 30, 2018

Hyper-V - Microsoft's virtualization product

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hyper-V is being used at remote locations to run multiple server instances on one physical box. This is being used across the organization at all remote locations. The business problem it addresses is providing a FREE (without system center) way to virtualize your environment.
  • FREE way to run multiple servers on one box
  • Easy to use - Just copy/paste a virtual machine to the box, and get to configuring
  • Integrates with other Microsoft products such as Active Directory
  • Like most other Microsoft products - having to find support can sometimes be challenging
  • Wish there were more ways to interface with the host - i.e. using Hyper-V to see the computer as it boots up
  • Backups are sometimes a challenge - either the virtual machine works....or it doesn't
If your in-house talent is very good with Microsoft products, and comfortable with dealing with problems that come up themselves, and have a tight budget - Microsoft Hyper-V works well. If your company would prefer to have a more reliable support contact - then VMWare may be a better option.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2018

Hyper V working well!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to present multiple OSs on a single desktop, or on the network which is accessible to the entire company and employees. This is extremely useful to be able to use all platforms and all pieces of software we might need in order to customize scripts and coding the way we need to.
  • Running old software versions
  • Multiple operating systems
  • Testing and troubleshooting software apps
  • Virtual networking
  • The digital virtualization platform could certainly use some work
  • Bulk licensing
  • Discounts
Since Hypervisor technology is software on which multiple virtual machines can run, we use this very effectively for resource allocation to our virtual machines and our virtual desktop infrastructure platform, which is run on Nutanix, with Hyper V performing the sizing and allocation of compute, storage, and manual laborers that are needed.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (43)
7.5
Management console (50)
7.5
Live virtual machine backup (45)
8.2
Live virtual machine migration (48)
7.8
Hypervisor-level security (47)
8.0

About Hyper-V

Categories:  Server Virtualization

Hyper-V Integrations

Hyper-V Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No