Windows Server Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
595 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 39)

Aaron Pinsker | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2020

Windows Server - extremely powerful, but extremely complex

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Server is being used across 3 clients that I manage. It is primarily being used as a Domain Controller (with Active Directory), DNS server and file server. In addition, some clients are using the Hyper-V functionality built directly into Windows Server to create a virtual domain controller. In the organization that I manage that are using Windows Server, All business computers are apart of the Domain created by Windows Server and users are authenticated against the Active Directory.

Windows Server is an extremely large and complex piece of software capable of a LOT of different functionality, some of it good and some of it bad, thus creating a truly comprehensive review is difficult. This review consists primarily of how it is used as a Domain Controller and file server within an organization.
  • Windows Server acting as a domain controller allows for very comprehensive management of computers and workstations across an organization, specifically when it comes to Active Directory and Group Policy.
  • Active Directory allows for comprehensive managements of users within a domain (or organizational unit). User groups can be created with different permissions for various network resources, and users can be added to multiple different groups. In addition, login scripts can be created that are linked to each user allowing for automatic mapping of network drives and printers (among other items) every time a user logs in. As such, with the correct login script, a new user can login for the first time and have access to all the necessary resources within an organization.
  • Once a domain is created, adding computers to it is quick and easy. Any computer that is a part of a domain can be logged in by any domain user. Removing a computer from a domain, via Active Directory, immediately revokes all domain users ability to login to that computer.
  • Group Policy, an integral part of Windows Server, is a vast and comprehensive tool to push out settings to domain computers and users. Settings can be anything from adding or removing mapped network drives, adding or removing printers, turning on and off specific Windows settings. Group Policy can be managed on both a computer basis and a user basis.
  • Windows Server's built-in file sharing capabilities allow it to be used as a powerful file server. Permissions for shared folders can be set on a per-user basis and/or via group membership. Using advanced sharing features, a file or folder can be shared via multiple names with different permissions for each shared name.
  • Windows Server includes a powerful DNS server that works in conjunction with the Domain Controller functionality. The DNS server supports forward and reverse zones as well as manually adding items into a DNS zone.
  • Hyper-V is included with Windows Server, providing a powerful and first-party way to create virtual machines.
  • Windows Server includes a built-in DHCP server that can be used in place of a standard network router.
  • Windows Server includes a built-in web server hosting functionality via IIS (Internet Information Services)
  • Windows Server is extremely complex, and while newer versions have eased the initial setup process, setting up a server is still a very time consuming and difficult task.
  • The complexity of Windows Server also makes troubleshooting any problems that arise extremely difficult, both in tracking down the actual issue and then resolving the issue. Often times a problem can manifest itself in more than one way, making searching for the specific problem also difficult.
  • Windows Server is also very expensive, with complex and confusing licensing terms. In fact, Microsoft provides a 32-page PDF guide on Windows Server licensing, which is in and of itself dense and confusing to follow. To make matters more complicated, there multiple different version of Windows Server itself - Nano, Essentials, Standard and Datacenter edition, and each edition has different licensing terms. Licensing terms include items such as the physical processor's cores of the server, how many users will be accessing the server (called a CAL - client access license), and a plethora of other items.
  • Microsoft's support for Windows Server can be extremely frustrating at times. While Microsoft hosts a very active user forum, Microsoft employees who frequent those forums often provide only stock answers to questions (without actually reading the details) or no answers at all. For more in-depth - phone support can be quite expensive.
  • Upgrading a Windows Server from one major version to another (i.e. 2012 to 2016) is a frustratingly complex and dangerous procedure, as many things can go wrong during the upgrading, essentially breaking the entire setup. In fact, Microsoft doesn't even suggest doing an in-place upgrade, but to perform a backup of the existing server, doing a clean install of the new version, and migrating the information from the older version to the new version. In general, it is not even recommended to upgrade from one version to another as the risk significantly outweigh the benefits.
Windows Server excels as a Domain Controller with its comprehensive set of tools to manage users and computers. There isn't another software package out there that has the capabilities Windows Server does when it comes to Active Directory and Group Policy. In addition, Windows Server has a massive tool set, thus increasing both its functionality and flexibility.

Unfortunately, the flexibility and comprehensiveness of Windows Server causes it to be overly complicated to set up and manage, especially for a small organization. In addition, for things such as a file server, there are other options out there that are easier to use and more affordable - specifically in the NAS (network attached storage) space where both Synology and QNAP have very attractive options.

Perhaps the most frustrating aspects of Windows Server are the unnecessarily complicated and confusing licensing terms Microsoft has put forth. Sadly, this is not unusual when it comes to Microsoft, as the licensing even for their consumer-oriented products is burdensome.
Read Aaron Pinsker's full review
Chris Saenz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 25, 2020

Windows Server is built for stability and reliability.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Server is used in many ways at our organization. It is used for its native functionality like file and print services. It is used for essential network services like Active Directory, DNS, DHCP, etc. It also is used as a platform for many of our enterprise applications, student information system, financial systems, and other department services.
  • Stable operating system environment
  • Reliable file system (NTFS)
  • Native services like file, print, DNS, Active Directory, etc.
  • Native SSH support
  • Native configuration management
  • Some configuration locations mixed with old control panel are hard to find
Windows Server is well suited to support enterprise-grade systems and services. Its native services like Active Directory, DNS, DHCP, file, and print services are rock solid and support a host of features for availability and security. For other Microsoft services (Exchange, SharePoint, etc.), it is obviously the operating system of choice, but many enterprise-class software releases are built to run stable and effective in Windows Server.
Read Chris Saenz's full review
Kaitlyn Delacruz | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 17, 2020

Windows Server ease of use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Windows Server for active directory and website services for our company as a whole, and overall it addresses the ease of use for maintenance and sharing files over a secured network and allows us to have secured backups for our workstations.
  • User management.
  • Security polices.
  • Powershell.
  • Configurable.
  • Learning curve.
  • Maintenance costs.
  • Upgrade costs.
  • Cal licenses.
Windows Server is suitable for companies just starting up as they help maintain ease of use and security for a small network of computers and allows for secure backups of systems. It does have a drawback when you need to upgrade, as the costs increase tenfold after you exceed the number of licenses for an SBS license.
Read Kaitlyn Delacruz's full review
Ivan Sytchev | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2020

Has anyone not used Windows Server yet?

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Windows Server for almost all applications. We are a Microsoft based company, and the majority of our servers are running Windows. We run the basic stuff like domain controllers, DNS, DHCP, and IIS on these servers. We also run SQL, SharePoint, and Dynamics 365 as well. Whenever possible, we use Windows Server as the OS for most applications.
  • It's pretty much standard for all environments.
  • It supports a vast number of applications.
  • Some admin panels are not easily accessible.
  • It can be a resource hog compared to Linux servers.
Windows Server is suited for almost all scenarios. It can run almost any application, including some Linux-based applications either with official port or unofficial (not recommended). It is not the best solution if reliability of a Linux server is required. The added bloat of Windows "features" can cause issues in some environments, and maintenance can be a pain in some cases.
Read Ivan Sytchev's full review
Gabriel Krahn | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

The best AD solution ever

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Windows Server as the general server and AD solution, company-wide. Everything related to the AD server, GPOs, user-management, file and application hosting is based on Windows Server.
  • Active directory.
  • GPOs.
  • File hosting.
  • Comes at a very high price.
We are currently at the 10k+ users point. Windows Server has proven itself as the best way to manage all these users using the AD prompt, where we can link the user accounts with a lot of intern systems using the same user account. Furthermore, we are using Windows Server in our datacenters to store customer and user data, such as applications and general files.
Read Gabriel Krahn's full review
Esteban Rey | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Great choice

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use mainly for the active directory and for single sign on. With this we can manage all our users in minutes and be in compliance at the same time.
  • User management.
  • Active Directory.
  • Security.
  • Firewall.
In general, the server is a good choice. You have to be very careful with the security, the vulnerability. Always has to have a security endpoint.
Read Esteban Rey's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 08, 2020

Windows Server, the standard go-to operating system for most businesses.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Windows Server is our primary OS across the organization. We use it to host most of our applications, file shares, web sites, and of course we use active directory for user authentication and security. It is and has been a stable platform over the years to centrally manage an business at the enterprise level.
  • Hosting common business applications.
  • Easy file sharing and security.
  • Simple user management and authentication.
  • As a leader in the industry it is also a target for security flaws and exploits. Regular patching required.
  • At times there are things you would expect to be able to do from a GUI but have to do at the command line.
  • Cost, competitors in the Linux world can often provide a good value alternative.
The majority of our applications are Windows based and thus require a solid and stable Windows OS to run on. Microsoft has provided this with Windows Server. Things like our Antivirus, electronic fax, SQL databases, etc. all require Windows to run. On occasion we will need to deploy Linux based systems for specific applications but there are often provided by or configured by the software vendor.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 28, 2020

Windows Server Vs. FOSS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Server is implemented throughout our organization, as well as numerous clients that I do consulting work for. It is used for a variety of different tasks from Active Directory Domain Services/DNS/DHCP, Terminal Services, Backup Servers, to File Servers. It allows our clients to have one operating system that they are familiar with an almost catch-all for services that support day to day operations.
  • Permissions Management within Active Directory - It can be complicated, but it is as granular as you could ever want.
  • Management of the Server can be done with a GUI or CLI - this lowers the barrier of entry for learning the environment.
  • Roles and Features are installed within a wizard - this is safer than adding or changing repositories.
  • Windows Server normally could benefit from trimming. There are non-essential services that are enabled by default, and sometimes when they do not auto-start, it will trigger an alarm, which is false. Nobody wants to see anything but green across the board!
  • Windows Server's power comes from Active Directory - so if you want a server that is not tied to your domain, you will probably be crippling yourself if you choose windows outside of a few select use cases.
  • I would like to see a licensing shift from per core back to per socket. This makes HA environments tricky to license.
Windows Server you manage an organization, Windows Server cannot be beaten because of how powerful domains and active directory are. It is highly appropriate for managing updates, file sharing, mapped network drives, and backups. Windows wouldn't be the best choice if you were trying to spin up a DNS server or DHCP server as a standalone role, however. Something more lightweight like CentOS/RHEL or Ubuntu Server would be more appropriate for situations like that - they are lighter, and licensing does not come into play when you need a singular service.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

Windows Server - we all know it and love it (or not).

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been using Windows Server since its 2003 version. With my current employer, I have used it with 2003R2, and then we upgraded to 2008, 2008R2, 2012, and we are currently, for the most part running 2016. Windows Server has significantly evolved and remains easy to use and a very stable server OS. It is also the industry standard. In my org, we use it for pretty much anything - running our SQL servers, running network services, like printing, DNS for the domain-joined machines, DHCP, file shares, backups, applications, remote access, and so on.
  • Very easy to deploy and configure.
  • Industry standard, so plenty of resources available both online and for hire.
  • In the latest version, updates are almost forced on the admin. This should be more easily controllable by the Sysadmin.
  • Because of it's popularity, bugs and security vulnerabilities come for it first.
Windows Server is an excellent enterprise-level product. It is easy and cheap to maintain; MS licensing costs are relatively reasonable for the functionality you receive. It is stable and can run almost anything. The one thing I would not recommend Windows Server is for web hosting. IIS can be improved in more than one way; however, for basic, internal-only use, it is OK. Anything else runs well and is very stable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2020

Windows Server, the most reliable, robust and recognized server OS in the market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently over 150 Windows servers (a mixture of 2012 R2, 2016 and 2019) and I can comfortably say it is the best product to come out of Microsoft and it keeps constantly evolving to the point that it has become essential in most organizations around the world. Be it file sharing, databases, web servers or app server you can always rely on it.
  • Robustness
  • Reliable
  • Ease of deployment
  • Deprecate old technologies
You just can't go wrong with Microsoft Server in your infrastructure. Unless it is for a very specific purpose, Microsoft Server is a reliable, secure and trustworthy staple in every datacenter.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Full of options for small to large businesses

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Server the backbone of the entire organization. It controls our login security, user capabilities on the network, workstation configurations, and its very stable, not to mention compatibility with just about anything. Windows Server has been around a long time, so its dependable, and support is very easy to find online and with peers.
  • File Server
  • Domain login and workstation control
  • Windows Server can be high priced
  • Updates can sometimes cause issues, but not so much within the last several years.
Small to Large businesses can use Windows Server. Windows Server does have pricing levels to accommodate small to large companies. The security and single point of login would be the greatest part of this if you use its Domain capabilities. So keeping track of your users and what they can access can make things easier for admins or none admins. It has many add-ons to support your networking needs, some free and some not, but for small businesses, there is a lot it can do without breaking the bank.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 06, 2020

The best server operating system on the market today

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across both at the departmental level and also across the whole organization. At the organization level, it is being used to centrally manage Active Directory, and also centrally manage other software that is deployed to different departments. This includes SCCM, which is installed locally on Windows Server. It addresses the problem of having a good server operating system that is easy to set up, use (as compared to other servers OS's), and doesn't require a whole lot of back-end support to manage.
  • It is really good for running services such as DHCP, DNS, and Active Directory. In most environments, these are main services that run every day and are services that server administrators and other IT folks rely on in their everyday work.
  • It is good for pushing down policies to endpoints and offers a robust group policy management tool for getting this accomplished.
  • One thing that can be improved upon is making the overall OS of Windows Server more stable, meaning to avoid shutdowns or crashes, or the often need of rebooting the server to bring it to a "refresh" state.
  • It can also improve in the bootup time of when the Windows Server OS starts and is online. It seems like in many cases it can take a while for all services, etc. to be brought online and ready to use. This also affects when endpoints can connect to server resources.
Windows Server is well suited for environments that want an easier to use and configure server OS, as compared to some others on the market, which involve more from a set-up standpoint, and also require more ongoing maintenance on the back-end. It is less appropriate for organizations that want more control over custom configuring and setup/use of their server OS. It is also less appropriate in environments that don't have a majority of Windows endpoints, in which case another server OS might be more beneficial.
Read this authenticated review
Joseph Rounds | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 23, 2019

Developers review of WIndows Server

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to run to custom software as well as deploy it to customer sites to run custom software It makes a great base operating system that has easy customer adaptation.
  • Ease of use.
  • Stable OS.
  • Great support.
  • Wide reasources.
  • Cost of use.
  • Hardware requirments.
It is well suited for medium to large business uses that require a robust SQL server environment. It is a harder sell on small businesses that are worried about there bottom line and cost of use.
Read Joseph Rounds's full review
Jonathan Pauley | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2019

Windows Server Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
Windows Server is our primary server software platform. We use the Active Directory and Group Policy features as our primary user authentication and user policy control and enforcement system. Windows Server is also our primary internal DNS platform and file and print sharing mechanism.
  • File and print sharing.
  • User authentication via Active Directory.
  • User policy enforcement via Group Policy.
  • ADFS could be more easily configure for cloud integrations.
  • Nothing else comes to mind.
Window Server is fairly well suited for pretty much any scenario where an on-premise server is warranted. It is fairly easy for most users to administer compared to other server platforms that require much more in-depth knowledge to maintain and reliance on an open community for some support instances.
Read Jonathan Pauley's full review
Nick Allo | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

Windows server is mostly good

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
We use it to manage our users internally and our client's networks.
  • Manage users and computers.
  • Group policy.
  • File sharing.
  • Cal’s are expensive.
  • No upgrade path for essentials sku’s.
  • Training is difficult and expensive.
It's useful in most environments where you want a central way to manage users and data. Not good for a small environment where they do not need to manage it centrally.
Read Nick Allo's full review
Ben Frech | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 19, 2019

Windows Server is the best you can get until someone makes something better.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We've used Windows Server in one version or another since this company's inception in 2007. Windows Server is used company-wide for AD, file/print, RDS, and networking infrastructure. It enables us to provide secure file storage and access to staff, as well as secured, centralized print management. We use Windows remote desktop services for desktop/application virtualization. DNS is used in conjunction with AD, and DHCP, as well.
  • Active Directory--Just about every application has some sort of AD plug-in. Makes user and group management easier.
  • File services.
  • Large installed user/community base.
  • When set up correctly, DNS/DHCP.
  • Support-ugh. I have had some good support experiences in the past, but the past few years...?
  • QA testing for patches. Boot loops?
  • Licensing.
Windows server is suited for environments from small to large. It's an easy entrance point for many small businesses to start with. Many applications still require a Windows server to run the product.

It may not be as attractive to tech-centric businesses with employees well versed in Linux or Apple products. It may not be a good fit for cash-strapped businesses or start-ups.
Read Ben Frech's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Windows Server - The only way to manage your Microsoft Environment.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We rely on Windows Server for our corporate office network as we are a Microsoft-based organisation. We use it for everything from user and device management, group policy management, DHCP, local network DNS, ADFS for single sign-on for many systems and much more. Everything that is based in the Windows Server environment is as you would expect it and provides the functionality the business needs in a modern office environment with seamless integration into cloud platforms such as Office 365. For people like myself who have managed Windows servers for over 15 years, the latest version of Windows Server is efficient, streamlined and full of features that work in the "Microsoft" way that we are used to.
  • User and device management out of the box. Active directory is a proven system for doing this and works just as well as it always has.
  • ADFS providing integration into many third-party applications using SAML authentication. We use this heavily to make user experience as simple and straightforward as we can.
  • Local DHCP. It's another one of these systems that is very easy to setup and use out of the box and requires very little maintenance, if any. The system is almost unchanged throughout the years and so anyone with server experience can manage it.
  • Windows Updates! A fairly large amount of time is taken up by having to keep on top of Windows Updates. Having to reboot server after installation causes issues with critical systems and installing updates certainly in Server 2016 was a nightmare. This is improved however in 2019.
  • Drive space used by GUI installations is getting large and large as time goes on.
  • Licensing - as with all Microsoft products, licensing is a minefield however, if it didn't change every year they would give people a chance to get to used to it.
Any environment that uses Microsoft software and hardware should run with a Windows Server infrastructure behind it. I've worked in organisations in the past that have used Windows PCs and no server behind them and it causes a huge number of problems in terms of time to manage the use of devices and causes problems with security over the network and access to shared data. Whilst things are migrating towards being completely cloud based, there is still a need, at the moment in my opinion, for a Windows Server infrastructure for both end-user experience and admin maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Windows Server Review

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Windows Server for our domain controller as well as offering Windows Server OS's to a wide variety and range of our VPS and dedicated hosting clients, we do also provide Windows shared hosting which uses Windows Server as the base OS. Windows has also been a requested OS for hosting.
  • Runs applications built for Windows perfectly.
  • Provides management capabilities.
  • Has constant security updates.
  • Upgrades to a newer OS could be easier.
  • Since its a popular platform it can use additional security enhancements.
  • Costs are expensive to license.
The need for Windows Servers is becoming less popular but depending on your application needs, Windows could be great! For a domain controller, it is great with active directories and group policy' as well as providing great tools to enhance its overall functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 18, 2019

Windows Server - It's what everyone uses!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use an Active Directory configuration of Windows Server. We utilize many different Windows Server versions and configurations. We use it across the entire business. We use it for DNS, DHCP, Active Directory Services, utility servers, database servers, web servers, and application servers. Windows Server is the primary server operating system that is used within our organization.
  • Usability: there are lots of features that are available.
  • Industry-wide acceptance: it is very easy to find other people who have the same configuration or setup as you do.
  • Compatibility: Just about every single application supports it.
  • Lack of openness: Any Linux-based applications are not supported on Windows.
  • Microsoft provided support is non-existent. You need to find a trusted VAR to work with if you have issues.
It's really not necessary to recommend Windows Server to a colleague. Nearly all IT professionals have experience using Windows Server. It would be like asking a cow to recommend grass. It's just something that everyone uses and acknowledges that it is a requirement for being an IT professional. I would definitely discuss my positive and negative experiences, but recommending or not recommending this is not something that anyone, including me, would ever do.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 11, 2019

Windows Server: the mature and stable alternative

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows Server underpins our core domain and file server requirements. It is used to supplement our single sign-on technology and two-factor authentication technology. Application database servers are also built on Windows server OS including SQL server. Windows server solves our most critical and transparent business needs.
  • Option for minimalistic and low resource install
  • Robust and mitigative design
  • Mature
  • Improvement in Docker Containers to allow both Windows and Linux images to run concurrently.
  • During install the ability to offer the choice of configuring the OS and its policies to meet a desired standard template e.g, PCIDSS.
  • Make the Windows Firewall more like Azures Security Groups.
Windows file server is well suited to hosting on-premise and Azure connected domains. No other platform, in my opinion, is suited to this. I also find Windows file server offering SMB file sharing Microsoft implement this better than any third party solution such as SAMBA. Windows File server still has a built-in S3 storage client or server implementation and hopefully, this is on the product roadmap soon.
Read this authenticated review
Cameron Rainey | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

A must for any medium sized business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Windows Server as our OS for our DC. It allows our company to be centrally controlled by one server and sign in with any account that's created in AD. We also use it for DHCP and DNS as well as deploying updates to all of our workstations and laptops.
  • DHCP is done the best with Windows Server. Other software just gets in the way.
  • Nothing comes close to AD with Windows Server.
  • DNS can easily be controlled with Windows Server as well.
  • The install process could be a little easier.
  • Setting up an exchange is a little complex when it should be much simpler.
  • Test your OS updates more so our servers don't crash.
Perfect for an environment of 10 or more people. It makes managing not only user accounts but PCs much easier. It also makes managing the network just as easy because you can go to one place in order to control everything.
Read Cameron Rainey's full review
Andrew Schell | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2019

Microsoft is an architectural dinosaur in the world computing

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Windows server has turned into a dumpster fire of problems and miss configuration and security loopholes.

It’s like Microsoft hires people that can technically code but have zero ability to look at long-term impact of their decisions .
There’s so many problems with it constantly crashing or inability to handle massive amounts of data that it’s it’s just useless .

We got rid of windows server went over to a Linux server and an Oracle database and we haven’t had one crash in nine months.

Microsoft Windows NT was the last version of windows of any kind that was really stable I just can’t believe how buggy and leggy and just emotionally unstable the windows has become that it’s just unusable.

We were pumping terabytes per minute through the system and it just couldn’t handle data, now we pump that into the Oracle or the Linux and it’s just like no problem.
  • Windows has very good salesman
  • Windows has very good marketing teams
  • Stop making excuses for the inability to handle large data
  • Stop making excuses for how much your product is sucked in the past and fix the problems that it has now like crashing
  • Build the tools that I can use on our stable systems called Macintosh, build me a powerBI out that I can use on a Mac
Microsoft is well-suited for a small accounting office that has no mindset for growth.

Microsoft products do not belong in an organization that wants to grow or wants to keep its costs down.
Read Andrew Schell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 22, 2019

Windows Server was the perfect Solution for Hosting our Accouting Database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using a Windows server as a database server for our Accounting program. Before using the server, the database was hosted locally and was slow. When we made the switch to using a Windows Server, we saw an increase in the speed of the accounting program. The setup of the server was very easy, and auto updates, and so far has not been an issue. The server has been running for several years with little maintenance involved. We use a cloud-based software for backups, in addition to a locally attached hard drive, as safeguards in addition to the built-in Raid drive cloning.
  • Easy setup.
  • User-friendly for those used to the Windows GUI.
  • Low cost.
  • Had to buy Anti-virus specifically for Windows Servers, and it was pricey for only 1 license.
  • The attached Hard Drive backup took a lot of tinkering to get functioning properly, which shouldn't be the case in this day and age.
  • Some of the built-in settings and programs were bloatware.
In our case, if you needed a low-cost server that was already set up, this is a great solution for you. Such as, you can buy a low-end server via Dell or HP, and have it delivered with all the software and drivers already installed and tested. I know Linux is a good option for those who are more tech-savvy, but Windows does make it easy to buy it and be up and running quickly.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

A Story of Windows Server

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a software company, we develop our products and do integration projects for our customers. Since MS technologies are mostly used by the developers, MS infrastructure has to be used to test the builts. My company also is a software reseller and a solution partner. The vendors some of the modules require the Windows Server platform. Thus, we have to use Windows Server for self-study, tests, and experiments for pre-deployment and pre-implementation tasks. Briefly, the selected development and software infrastructure drove us to use Windows Server.
  • Having an integrated GUI eases management.
  • Windows Servers' uptime is fairly well.
  • There are many third-party management tools where there is no solution brought by Microsoft.
  • The requirement to restart after updates is the worst thing about Windows Server.
  • Windows Service infrastructure sometimes has issues to start an application as a service.
  • There is an event and troubleshooting mechanism which doesn't help much mostly. Also, IDs which were given for a problem are not user-friendly.
  • Some configurations require deep diving into the registry and sometimes it feels like it doesn't work due to complicated documentation.
If you prefer MS technologies for development, Windows Server is very well. MS development SDKs bring many tools that ease integrations, there are many companies that are well integrated with MS and there are many talented developers experienced on MS technologies. On the other side, if you need just a server for open technologies and you think Windows Server has a GUI and that makes it easy to manage, consider this again. Even Windows Server has a complete GUI, it still requires a high level of experience to have a well-managed server.




Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 15, 2018

Windows Server: sometimes you just have to use it.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization is using a mix o a Windows Server along with Linux; essentially picking which is cost and application appropriate. For the majority of our on-premise application servers, Windows Server is still fairly ubiquitous. We are seeing fewer and fewer web applications requiring us to deploy it, though.

Windows Server is crucial in allowing us to use various applications from contact center applications, accounting applications, and various other internally developed software. The management infrastructure provided by Microsoft (WSUS, GP, AD) all facilitate the ease of ongoing maintenance, reducing the amount of labor and overhead for our various environments.
  • The KB documentation of upcoming patches is exceptional.
  • The community around Windows Server is strong and forthcoming with information.
  • Since Server 2008, the OS has become much more modular in the deployment of roles and features which has made for significantly easier configuration.
  • The overall performance of server 2016's UI feels worse than previous versions (running on the same HW spec in the same virtual environment).
  • Versioning schemes could be more transparent (IIS versions across OS versions, MSSQL versions, etc) and easier to follow.
  • Managing some security settings via the server registry is fairly cumbersome. Third party applications and community created scripts exist to ease these issues, but with the emphasis on security today, they should have their own control panel section instead.
  • Microsoft's experience homogenization between their desktop OS and server OS has added a lot of "fluff" and graphical flare to the server OS that isn't really needed and feels like it gets in the way, to be honest.
Windows Server is well suited to applications that effectively require it, there's no way around it. They're also suitable if you don't have Linux proficient admins.

I would argue that with the robustness of nginix running on Linux, if you are deploying a web application, there isn't a lot of reason to deploy it on Windows via IIS rather than Linux unless you have specific vendor support requirements being that nginix is understood to handle more concurrent connections.
Read this authenticated review

About Windows Server

Categories:  Operating Systems

Windows Server Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No