Skip to main content
TrustRadius

Overview

What is .NET?

Microsoft's .Net is an open source, freeware application infrastructure.

Read more
Recent Reviews

Dot Net

8 out of 10
May 29, 2021
Incentivized
.Net (Dot Net) is a platform which provides a wide range of methods and interfaces upon which to build quality software. It consists of …
Continue reading

Awesome .NET

9 out of 10
April 29, 2021
Incentivized
The .NET ecosystem is used to fulfill the requirements of modern applications. With [the] release of .NET core, [...] many more innovative …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons
Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is .NET?

Microsoft's .Net is an open source, freeware application infrastructure.

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting/Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

4 people also want pricing

Alternatives Pricing

What is Mirantis Kubernetes Engine?

The Mirantis Kubernetes Engine (formerly Docker Enterprise, acquired by Mirantis in November 2019)aims to let users ship code faster. Mirantis Kubernetes Engine gives users one set of APIs and tools to deploy, manage, and observe secure-by-default, certified, batteries-included Kubernetes clusters…

What is NGINX Plus?

NGINX Plus is presented as a cloud‑native, easy-to-use reverse proxy, load balancer, and API gateway, from F5.

Return to navigation

Product Demos

Visual Basic to C#.NET Migration Demo

YouTube

Microservices Architecture and Step by Step Implementation on .NET with Quick DEMO

YouTube

.NET Obfuscator - ConfuserEx Anti-Decompiler Demo and Review

YouTube

Demo - Create .NET console app to work with users in the organization with Microsoft Graph

YouTube

.NET Reactor Obfuscator String Obfuscation Demo and Review

YouTube

Authenticate MVC .Net Core Application with Azure AD | Live Demo

YouTube
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is .NET?

.NET Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Microsoft's .Net is an open source, freeware application infrastructure.

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 9.7.

The most common users of .NET are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews and Ratings

(136)

Attribute Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 26)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.NET is used as the basis for most applications developed at my organisation. These applications are used across the entire organisation and some are publicly available. .NET was originally chosen as my organisation is traditionally a Microsoft shop and it seemed the logical choice. It provides an excellent foundation for our applications and is an extensive framework to use, allowing us to address all business problems with it.
  • Solid foundation
  • Good support from Microsoft and the community
  • C# is an excellent language to use, it is well designed and likable
  • Fairly performant
  • Integrates well with SQL Server
  • Integrates well with IIS
  • Convoluted and complex class hierachy
  • Feels a bit dated (it comes from the Java era after all)
  • Microsoft has started ending support for older versions of the framework
  • Can be slow to develop with initially, as setting up the required scaffolding takes time
  • Documentation can be a bit hit and miss nowadays
  • Feels a bit boring and uncool when compared to newer tech
.NET is well suited for any general purpose solution to a business problem, though if we are talking strictly the framework version - you have to be more or less tied to Microsoft Windows to run it. If this isn't a problem, then it will be able to address and solve any programming project you have.
Henrique Tedeschi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use .NET as our main framework for back-end development. We use it to develop APIs and other things related to it. We have many different tools that all the portfolio companies use, and maintaining all of them is hard when they're not in the same scope or platform. We use .NET and its powerful tools in enterprise-level of development because it gives us the tools and direction needed to work with robust back-end solutions. With .NET Core, we can deploy in Linux environments and save in hosting. Really robust tool, solves our back-end problems.
  • Multi-threading.
  • Robust development.
  • Linq.
  • Object oriented development.
  • Garbage collection.
  • It's not lightweight.
  • Needs special tools to execute.
  • Quick deprecation of older versions.
.NET is very strong with any calculation heavy, communications over the wire, and back-end solutions, such as microservices or API development. We can quickly implement an API with secure authentication methods in just a few minutes. We can quickly implement multiple instances of the deployed application having a lot more strength and capacity. Unfortunately, .NET is not the strongest in the front-end development on the web, but with its strong MVC model, you can still develop a great tool using all .NET.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We currently use .NET for our microservices and cloud initiatives across the enterprise, but we have a multi-decade history with .NET, using it since the first beta in year 2000, and it was the platform for all our custom in-house software development of web-based and native Windows line of business applications. We selected .NET as our preferred platform for application development and designed and deployed an n-tier architecture for delivering web-based secure internet-accessible business applications based on .NET, ASP.NET, COM+, and SQL Server.
  • Provides a modern memory managed multi-language platform and framework for software development
  • Supports modern web and mobile application development
  • Provides performance approaching that of a compiled ahead of time language
  • The .NET framework class hierarchy is incredibly large and complex
  • Performance is slow on first use due to just in time compilation
  • Memory use is high and non-deterministic due to garbage collection
.NET is well suited for use in environments Windows is the primary platform for the development of a line of business applications. It is not well suited for data analytics or exploratory or experimental prototyping, as it gets in the way of getting ideas into code quickly due to static typing, complex class hierarchy, and admittedly extensive but barely useful documentation (that appears to be autogenerated rather than written with care).
Sean Patterson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.Net is our most widely used framework for building applications. Its ability to build applications for the web, desktop and even console/terminal-based apps makes it amazingly flexible. The C# language underpinning the framework is powerful and relatively easy to pick up. The frequent updates to the framework allow us to develop with the confidence that the necessary features and security updates will always be at the forefront. Microsoft's dedication to open source by open-sourcing .Net is a testament to the quality of code and products it seeks to support.
  • Power
  • Versatility
  • Community
  • Cross-Platform
  • Documentation
  • Desktop Support
.Net is well suited for nearly any project you need. Thanks to the .Net Core CLI and Visual Studio / Visual Studio Code, you can get the initial scaffolding for any kind of project in seconds. The powerful debugging tools available allow you to work through problems easily. With a powerful language base, you can easily create reusable libraries that can span across web/mobile/desktop applications. If you're looking for a dynamically typed language or one with stronger multi-platform desktop support, then .Net might not be the best right now, but there are constant improvements being made.
Rama Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use .Net for many purposes for both our clients and our own purposes. Generally, we are hosting the .Net applications in AWS or MS Azure virtual servers or web apps. At times we have written .Net code for our clients and deployed it to their own server, to get behind their firewall and access their data. Most of the time we deploy it to our own servers and host it on behalf of our clients. Some of the projects are for custom data integrations or ETL, others are for a custom web portal or UI to work in conjunction with different databases.
  • Compiles the code so users cannot see the source code, and we can keep our IP protected.
  • Works well with JavaScript, CSS, HTML, and other code languages.
  • Can be hosted on powerful servers and process very large data sets
  • It could use more responsive UI components, to allow UI components to work well on multiple device types with different resolution.
For code handling large data sets.
When server-side code is needed to process data that cannot be processed client side.
When scheduling code to run in the back end, on a custom time interval.
May 29, 2021

Dot Net

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.Net (Dot Net) is a platform which provides a wide range of methods and interfaces upon which to build quality software. It consists of two parts:
1. The end-user part which when installed enables software build upon it, to run on the computer. This comes preinstalled on most Windows platforms, but you still are highly advised to download and install needed security updates, as well as upgrades to newer versions (current version is 5).
2. The programmer's part, which comes as a package with the Visual Studio IDE, and enables the developer to build their program/app upon its platform.
  • Has many methods, allowing for easy programming.
  • Is regularly updated to ensure security.
  • Is very widely used and has lots of information readily available online.
  • It is quite a big package.
  • When using it to build a program, it requires the package to be installed in order for the software to work.
It is very suited as a basis for programming in a variety of programming languages and on a variety of platforms. Starting from C, C++, via C# and HTML with CSS through to the modern languages such as Python. It supports platforms such as PC, tablet and smartphone as well as cloud, whether based on Microsoft, Linux, Android or iOS and more.
Emeka Opara | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Net is one of the key framework used across the company that offers a range of programming languages starting from C++, C#, VB.Net, SQL Tools and helps in code joining.
  • It has a large community of developers who are always contributing to it.
  • It has great customer service.
  • It is intuitive to use and makes it easy to create new projects.
  • The pricing can be high depending on the project requirements.
  • May require the installation of the entire framework to run.
  • Sometimes has dependency issues with other software.
Microsoft .NET is excellent for creating custom applications that can integrate between non custom applications.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.NET is used across my department, it is used for [mission-critical real-time applications], for the manufacturing. It supports other software that run[s] in Windows O.S. so .NET can access [the] very easily and natively to the OS features. I use it even for integrating different systems, accessing DB, exporting data through web API, rest, etc.
  • Pure [object-oriented] programming
  • Super fast in developing time
  • Robustness
  • Reusability of code
  • Access windows API easily
  • Database accessing could be easier
  • Interfaces
  • Web services are confusing (at least classic .NET ones)
Useful for background application, console, server-side. If you already know JAVA the migration would be seamless. a must if used in [a] windows environment. the developing and releasing time is very good, integration with source control systems like GIT is native, if you do not have visual studio professional, visual studio code is free.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We are a consulting firm and use >net to implement solutions for our clients. .NET is flexible and powerful. We can [use] it to implement a wide variety of solutions and technologies to fit our [client's] needs.
  • Cloud Integration with Azure and AWS
  • Xamrarin Forms Cross-Platform Mobile Development
  • .NET Core Server-side Implementations.
  • Front End Web Development
.NET is excellent for building web services that can be used [cross-platform] and in the cloud. Especially great when trying to integrate with Azure.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Most of the applications we have build are web apps using Ruby on Rails, however when the need arises for a desktop application or utility, .NET is our go-to. When we need to automate data transfer to and from laboratory instruments and computer systems, we use .NET to build these out, either as a one-button utility or a GUI application using WPF.
  • Speed of development - Visual Studio takes care of all the boilerplate
  • Cross-platform compilation - develop for any platform
  • Easy GUI design for even the least frontend-inclined developers
  • Code can be slower and heavier than writing it natively
  • Version and dependency upgrades can cause hard-to-find bugs
  • Memory leakage from managed code is possible
If you need to build anything from a quick-and-dirty GUI utility to a full-fledged desktop application, .NET is the way to go. It doesn't require extensive knowledge of the languages as Visual Studio is extremely helpful in its autocomplete, refactoring, and prompts, and lets you build out your solution easily without worrying about the details of [the] setup and boilerplate.
April 29, 2021

Awesome .NET

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The .NET ecosystem is used to fulfill the requirements of modern applications. With [the] release of .NET core, [...] many more innovative features [were added] to increase developer productivity, scalability, and performance with cross-platform support. [The] developer [has] got the flexibility for deploying .NET applications to the cloud and on-premise. It helps to address customers' digital need[s] related to sales, marketing, healthcare, [and] research.
  • Powerful IDE( Visual Studio)
  • Developer Friendly
  • C# Language
  • Performance
  • Stability of New Releases
  • Licensing Cost
.NET is well suited when there requirement of rapid development with less experienced developers. There is [a] minimal learning curve for new developers and can easily ramp up. It is more [developer-friendly] with complete documentation.
Kaleb-John Loo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We utilize .NET as the framework of our main application. Our application is what provides the functionality of the core of our business and it is essential that it work as efficiently as possible while also being maintainable. Using the .NET framework is incredibly powerful. There are a lot of supported tools and libraries that make using anything within the .NET framework feel very modernized. Being able to leverage all of the feature provided by the .NET framework allows us to successfully create a product that satisfies our customers.
  • Visual Studio is one of the best IDEs and .NET is the best framework to use with Visual Studio.
  • There is a large network of support for the .NET framework.
  • The .NET framework encompasses a very large area of the programming stack.
  • The .NET framework is flexible and can be used for desktop applications or web development.
  • Sometimes, the .NET framework overcomplicates simple things.
  • The .NET framework is not the most popular framework and thus other frameworks may provide access to more tools and libraries.
  • The .NET framework requires licensing.
The .NET framework is useful when developing applications that run in real time environments. It produces very efficient and well controlled binaries that perform well. With the introduction of Xamarin and other tools, the .NET framework is also useful at providing cross platform support, which can reduce development times and provide a better source code management situation. However, .NET is not the ideal choice for small businesses or independent developers who may not want to deal with licensing concerns.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We’ve been using .NET for more than 7 years now. It has been able to serve all our programming needs, especially when developing applications for our clients. The ability to develop web apps and websites that are dynamic, robust and interactive while also fast and secure summarizes the main feature we’ve found. Our latest project was a warehouse/retail system that connected more than 50 shops to a single items database that also connects with their point of sale system. But we've also built many other sites, including customized e-commerce shops, publishing engines and even simple corporate sites.
  • Comes bundled with Visual Studio, which is one of the best and lightest IDEs in the market.
  • Easy to learn, with a lot of online resources and open source codes to support.
  • Heavily supported by Microsoft, and integrates well with Windows especially with network user authentication.
  • Supports multiple languages and allows for easy cross-projects integration.
  • .NET is heavily Microsoft Windows oriented, and while .NET core tried to resolve that with MacOS and Linux support, .NET Core is still waiting for wider adoption.
  • While free for small projects, additional features for big projects can be a little expensive.
  • Can be resource-heavy upon deployment. We continuously have our more senior staff optimize the code of our junior developers for performance. Other languages are a little bit more forgiving in comparison.
.NET is really suited for:
  1. Developing quick and clean solutions. The framework provides easy to use functions & libraries that can speed up the development time.
  2. Code can be easily repurposed from one project to another, as the language is very deeply rooted into Object-oriented programming.
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
The Microsoft .Net framework and .Net core are used in conjunction with Azure cloud services. The background of the organization is written in MS .Net and much of our new development is all done using .NET core. Microsoft .NET is an integral part of Dynacare and all of our internal development.
  • .Net accelerates development by focusing on business features rather than low-level development.
  • There is a very large and active community for support should you run into problems.
  • The latest .NET core runs on linux servers, which can reduce hosting costs.
  • .Net development using visual studio is better than any other development platform.
  • UWP development using .NET can be challenging because there's a smaller community behind it.
  • If you do very unique development in .NET, you may come across some very low-level bugs that extend beyond the development community.
  • .Net Framework, .NET Core, and .NET standard can be confusing at times. The upcoming .NET 5 will hopefully clear this up.
The .NET framework, .NET core, asp.NET core, are all very powerful frameworks for development. Generally speaking, asp.NET core works very well for front-end development and allows developers to focus on bringing web applications to life rather than the minutiae of front-end bindings.

.NET framework and .NET core are very well suited for backend services both in Azure and on-premise. Windows services function well and are easily deployed to local servers.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
Our organization has used .NET extensively for many years. We have created and implemented countless applications for both our internal and external customers. Virtually every user in the company is using a .NET application we've built, at least once per day if not all day.

We have started to create applications built on .NET Core, which gives us the flexibility to build applications that will run on any platform.
  • The most helpful aspect of .NET is the large user community. I have on numerous occasions put out a question about a problem I was having and was helped by at least one .NET developer from the community.
  • With .NET Core becoming more mature, it has helped us build our applications to be able to run on any platform without doing too much extra work. Our internal customers have not asked for this but we anticipate that they will and .NET Core allows us to be ready for that.
  • As our applications develop over time and business needs change, .NET has proven that it remains stable for backwards compatibility.
  • We've found that depending on the type of application that you're developing, resource usage can be high at times. This is something that we've needed to keep in mind especially during peak usage of our applications.
  • We've found that dependency management can be an issue at times. This has messed up our builds once in a while.
  • Better and real-world online examples of new methods and classes would be beneficial.
One of our business requirements was to have field workers use their tablets to gather information. They may or may not be connected to the internet. Our .NET application allowed us to create this application and retain the data locally until they got back to the office to upload the data to a central server. The tablets were Android- and iOS-based so writing an application one time with .NET Core helped us out immensely.
Oberdan Nunes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use .Net as our primary development platform to create solutions for our customers.
  • Provide great solutions to solve software needs
  • It has a large community of developers
  • Is supported by Microsoft, a great and reliable company
  • It has extensive documentation and content over the internet
  • We think that it would be better to have another cross platform's initiatives, besides Xamarin.
  • Great to develop powerful and easily maintainable web solutions, by using ASP.Net frameworks;
  • Great to develop pluggable solutions, by using the power of reflection, JScript and runtime compilers;
  • Using C#, our primary choice for developing language, our work is easy to maintain and understand;
  • There is a vast number of components, most of them from open-source initiatives, that provides excellent extensions to the base libraries;
December 19, 2019

.NET Review for Experts

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use for developing some financial applications. All our financial departments use these applications. These applications are used for some financial operational and treasury works.
  • Suitable for dynamic and complex processes.
  • .NET is a great technology for cross-device app development.
  • Managed code can be slower than native code.
  • Future development is solely dependent on Microsoft.
.NET is equally well suited to the development of mobile applications, web applications and some background services. Java apps are easily portable on any platform. This allows you to choose whatever OS you want for production and development.
August 21, 2019

.NET Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
We are using .NET as the platform for a majority of our Windows-based applications. It has provided us with a highly portable solution and has let our team build several solutions across the enterprise. We've gone through several generations of the software.
  • Backwards compatibility has been great.
  • IDE used are modern and up to date.
  • Documentation has been great.
  • We've spent hours improving and updating based on new features provided as part of the core libraries.
  • Resource usage can be very high.
  • Runtime will require Windows machine unless you use .NET.
  • Dependencies can be complicated.
If you are looking to start building a development team and need a compiled language, I would recommend .NET as it checks all the boxes from a development platform. Easy to start, great IDE, good documentation and a very large user community to help answer any questions that you may have.
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Microsoft .NET is currently being used widely across our entire organization. We are creating web apps, services, web services, console application and more with Microsoft .NET. Utilizing the Microsoft .NET framework we are able to integrate many different applications and data that could not easily be integrated without costly or cumbersome applications.
  • Microsoft .NET is fairly universal coming pre-installed on Windows machines and servers
  • Microsoft .NET is a very stable technology that has been around for a long time with a lot of support.
  • Microsoft .NET has a very wide user base and is easy to get assistance.
  • Older versions of Microsoft .NET were plagued with security holes
  • Microsoft .NET can sometimes be painful to upgrade from one version to the next
  • Microsoft .NET is not the back end to .net core the way MS is going
Microsoft .NET is excellent for creating custom applications that can integrate between non custom applications. The framework that Microsoft .NET provides allows you to quickly and easily stand up a custom application, service, web service or web application utilizing the same methods and classes making it a very seamless experience for the developer.
February 01, 2019

.NET chef

Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
For our software development department .NET is the primary development environment. We have six scrum teams and twenty or so developers who utilize .NET. C# is our language of choice for the .NET portions of our code stack. We utilize Angular on the front end which integrates into all of our .NET WebAPI endpoints. C# has always been a great language to use over the years as well as the .NET framework. .NET is an incredible tool which allows for a much easier development environment for people writing code. Very awesome to have a garbage collector which deallocates memory for the developer and one does not need to handle such tasks anymore. Obviously there is a small performance trade off for having such capabilities but for most use cases this is satisfactory. I love LINQ and the lambda syntax. Allows for much cleaner code and fewer trivial methods that can be handled with anonymous delegates now. Entity framework makes life easier when dealing with databases which is a requirement for almost any business application. WPF was fun to develop with and was a good basis for transitioning to Angular both conceptually and syntactically. Nice to have an entire layer which mostly prevents the blue screen of death!
  • Provides an extremely robust layer on top of the OS.
  • Allows for multiple languages to compile into equivalent intermediary language.
  • Incredible suite of methods and built in functionality for getting an application up and running.
  • Sometimes can be difficult traversing exceptions to find root causes.
  • Null references can sometimes feel annoying and unnecessary, although the latest .NET has improvements here.
Well suited for most application development. Most business cases do not need the extreme optimization of an unmanaged development and therefore .NET is more than suitable.
Patrick Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We use the .NET framework across all of our products. This includes front end UI components along with backend services.
  • General purpose development which makes it easy to create new projects
  • Powerful set of tools. Anything we need developed we can do it using .NET framework
  • Very fast execution. Well designed code can be as fast or faster than c code.
  • With the conversion to .NET core it is confusing what to do for New development. Also .NET core vs .NET standard. More confusion.
  • Prior to .NET core there was certainly a Microsoft only mindset. This limited adoption.
It is a general purpose development language. It is suited for everything.
May 31, 2018

.NET Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have used .NET platform for developing both web and windows based applications that are internal and external facing. There are several use cases like
1. Inventory Management
2. Quality Control
3. Safety and Security
4. Packaging optimization
5. Logistics and Supply Chain Optimization

We have used in all the areas for Global Operations, Spares etc. organizations for all day to day production floor support and shipment releases. We also used it for Product Life Cycle Management interface to perform Problem Report and Engineering Change Management business processes.

To achieve these .NET and HTML together were used to generate dynamic web pages smoothly.
Being an ideal server-side scripting technology, Asp.NET code first runs on Windows server before displaying on the web browser.
With the built-in configuration information, Asp.NET is easy to deploy.
The .NET Framework quickly gives an alert for memory leaks, unbounded loops, and other wrong behaviors, immediately killing them and restart them over again.
  • Asp.NET features like early binding, JIT compilation, caching services and native optimization supports gives your application the high level of performance.
  • All the Asp.NET applications are highly monitored and managed to help application available to handle requests.
  • The best part of .NET Framework is it has its own built-in caching features.
  • The content and the program logic are separated in the .NET Framework, thus reducing the program inconveniences.
  • Offers great security with the built-in Windows authentication and per-application configuration.
  • Limited object-relational (OR) support as it comes only with Entity Framework
  • Does not come with multi platform support from Microsoft, and is not available right after installing Visual Studio
  • The managed code can be slower than native code
  • Involves a vendor lock-in, and future development is solely dependent on Microsoft
  • Migrating applications to .NET can be expensive as involves whole lot of custom development
I highly recommend .Net as a platform for custom development. We can leverage several UI elements and also integrate with third party controls like Telerik, Infragistics etc. Provides platforms, tools, and a programming environment for addressing the design and overall management of distributed and multi-tiered applications. It offers immeasurable benefits for various issues like memory management, security, and exceptional handling, a developer may face.

.NET is not suited in case of multi-platform requirement. There isn't support available from MS and isn't available straight after installing Visual Studio. If that is a criteria for your business case then consider a different platform.
Also .NET is very easy to reverse engineer. If you do not obfuscate your code, you may as well publish the source code.
The footprint of your application can be huge if it requires a version of .NET, which is not already on the computer and therefore has to be installed first.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.NET is used in a wide range of projects across the LOB, especially in banking and finance and insurance industries. All desktops, client-servers, mobile and digitalization are mainly focused in Microsoft technologies.I am using it for different tech stacks, especially with C# language. TDD is a nice approach, especially the framework.
  • It allows the use of multiple languages. It has horizontal scalability.
  • .NET creates a unified environment that allows developers to create programs in C++, Java or Virtual Basic. All tools and IDEs have been pre-tested and are easily available in the Microsoft Developer Network.
  • UI best practices are more consistent.
  • Language integration is seamless, as you can call methods from C# to VB .NET.
  • You need to buy everything from Microsoft. The biggest con is that it is not free like Java. Migrating applications to .NET can be expensive.
  • Does not come with multi-platform support from Microsoft, and is not available right after installing Visual Studio.
  • Very much Windows OS dependent.
Microsoft Asp .Net Framework is a widely used development framework for building enterprise level web applications, that today’s developers love to use. The .Net technology offers immeasurable benefits for various issues like memory management, security, and exceptional handling, a developer may face. It is ideal for web, console, front end, and back end.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
We have many applications being built in .NET. It is the premier way to build thick client / rich client applications for Windows. We also use it for backend servers, batch jobs, and web sites.
  • Most powerful framework that works well
  • Best integrated with the best code editor around, Visual Studio
  • Support for multiple modern programming languages like C#, and F#
  • .NET Core is still gaining adoption
  • EF Core does not support lazy loading yet, a feature we use a lot
  • A lot of the libraries we use are not planned to work on .NET Core yet
Great for both client side, web sites, and server side code. Probably not as efficient as a SPA though.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Incentivized
.NET is a runtime language just like java. Combined with C# and Visualstudio, .NET presents the most flexible and competitive runtime on the market.
  • Memory Handling
  • Garbage Collection
  • Service Orientation
  • Extensive Framework
  • Image manipulation slow compared to C++.
  • Does not run on Mac/Linux - the newest .NET core does but presents only a subset of the framework.
  • May require the installation of the framework to run.
Well suited for enterprise applications on Windows. Not suited for embedded computing.
Return to navigation