.NET Reviews

97 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-15 of 15)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2020

The gold standard of development platforms

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The Microsoft .Net framework and .Net core are used in conjunction with Azure cloud services. The background of the organization is written in MS .Net and much of our new development is all done using .NET core. Microsoft .NET is an integral part of Dynacare and all of our internal development.
  • .Net accelerates development by focusing on business features rather than low-level development.
  • There is a very large and active community for support should you run into problems.
  • The latest .NET core runs on linux servers, which can reduce hosting costs.
  • .Net development using visual studio is better than any other development platform.
  • UWP development using .NET can be challenging because there's a smaller community behind it.
  • If you do very unique development in .NET, you may come across some very low-level bugs that extend beyond the development community.
  • .Net Framework, .NET Core, and .NET standard can be confusing at times. The upcoming .NET 5 will hopefully clear this up.
The .NET framework, .NET core, asp.NET core, are all very powerful frameworks for development. Generally speaking, asp.NET core works very well for front-end development and allows developers to focus on bringing web applications to life rather than the minutiae of front-end bindings.

.NET framework and .NET core are very well suited for backend services both in Azure and on-premise. Windows services function well and are easily deployed to local servers.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
Partha Protim Pegu | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 21, 2020

.NET Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
.NET is currently being used by our Development Team. Our team produces software by combining their code with the .NET framework. Its usage depends on the kind of project that we are working on. It has been used for creating web-based forms, web applications, and other web services. The most common languages being used are VB.Net and C.
  • It is based on object oriented programming.
  • Simple caching mechanism.
  • It comes with Visual Studio IDE.
  • It is open source, easy to deploy and maintain.
  • Any changes in the product will have impact in the projects.
  • Cost can be high depending on the project requirements.
.NET provides a scalable environment to meet the growing needs of any business. It can be used on multiple platforms. Whether we need to expand the desktop or mobile app to other operating systems or use it in any specific engineering case, the cross-platform need is satisfied. Enterprise-wide use, i.e. both public and private enterprise products.
Read Partha Protim Pegu's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 26, 2020

.Net one complete programming suite

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
.Net is one of the key software programming development products used across the organization especially by cloud application teams. It offers a stack of programming languages starting from C++, C#, VB.Net, SQL Tools. All the client-side applications, cloud applications, database interfaces are developed using .Net. .Net comes in two flavors .Net Framework, .Net Core. .Net core runs on any platform vs .Net Framework, which works only on Windows operating system.
  • Visual Studio is the enabler to program .Net languages and its IDE is sleek and easy to use.
  • With .Net Core you can develop cross-platform applications (Windows, Linux OS).
  • Being a framework, you can pretty much develop any applications by fetching supported libraries from Nuget.
  • .Net Framework is the same for multiple languages (C#, C++, F#, Visual Basic, etc…), so if you are familiar with that framework you can port code into multiple languages.
  • .Net application load times are fast but not as fast as applications from other languages (e.g. Java).
  • .Net Enterprise version has higher licensing cost compared to its competitors.
Microsoft .Net framework works on Windows operating system, .Net Core runs on any platform as does Java so no real differences in this area. Microsoft .Net supports - C#, VB.Net, C++, PHP, Ruby, Python, and more.
Interoperability between different languages is nicely done. Microsoft Visual Studio is the default IDE, provides everything for a developer to develop, debug, build, and deploy any type of application targeted. When writing a Web API (restful services), .Net is far easier--and even cross-platform when using the ASP .Net Core libraries.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 23, 2020

Adapt applications at the speed of business with .NET

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has used .NET extensively for many years. We have created and implemented countless applications for both our internal and external customers. Virtually every user in the company is using a .NET application we've built, at least once per day if not all day.

We have started to create applications built on .NET Core, which gives us the flexibility to build applications that will run on any platform.
  • The most helpful aspect of .NET is the large user community. I have on numerous occasions put out a question about a problem I was having and was helped by at least one .NET developer from the community.
  • With .NET Core becoming more mature, it has helped us build our applications to be able to run on any platform without doing too much extra work. Our internal customers have not asked for this but we anticipate that they will and .NET Core allows us to be ready for that.
  • As our applications develop over time and business needs change, .NET has proven that it remains stable for backwards compatibility.
  • We've found that depending on the type of application that you're developing, resource usage can be high at times. This is something that we've needed to keep in mind especially during peak usage of our applications.
  • We've found that dependency management can be an issue at times. This has messed up our builds once in a while.
  • Better and real-world online examples of new methods and classes would be beneficial.
One of our business requirements was to have field workers use their tablets to gather information. They may or may not be connected to the internet. Our .NET application allowed us to create this application and retain the data locally until they got back to the office to upload the data to a central server. The tablets were Android- and iOS-based so writing an application one time with .NET Core helped us out immensely.
Read this authenticated review
Oberdan Nunes | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 02, 2020

Microsoft .Net - a great development platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use .Net as our primary development platform to create solutions for our customers.
  • Provide great solutions to solve software needs
  • It has a large community of developers
  • Is supported by Microsoft, a great and reliable company
  • It has extensive documentation and content over the internet
  • We think that it would be better to have another cross platform's initiatives, besides Xamarin.
  • Great to develop powerful and easily maintainable web solutions, by using ASP.Net frameworks;
  • Great to develop pluggable solutions, by using the power of reflection, JScript and runtime compilers;
  • Using C#, our primary choice for developing language, our work is easy to maintain and understand;
  • There is a vast number of components, most of them from open-source initiatives, that provides excellent extensions to the base libraries;
Read Oberdan Nunes's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

.NET Review for Experts

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use for developing some financial applications. All our financial departments use these applications. These applications are used for some financial operational and treasury works.
  • Suitable for dynamic and complex processes.
  • .NET is a great technology for cross-device app development.
  • Managed code can be slower than native code.
  • Future development is solely dependent on Microsoft.
.NET is equally well suited to the development of mobile applications, web applications and some background services. Java apps are easily portable on any platform. This allows you to choose whatever OS you want for production and development.
Read this authenticated review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Microsoft .NET for enterprise solutions

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft .NET is currently being used widely across our entire organization. We are creating web apps, services, web services, console application and more with Microsoft .NET. Utilizing the Microsoft .NET framework we are able to integrate many different applications and data that could not easily be integrated without costly or cumbersome applications.
  • Microsoft .NET is fairly universal coming pre-installed on Windows machines and servers
  • Microsoft .NET is a very stable technology that has been around for a long time with a lot of support.
  • Microsoft .NET has a very wide user base and is easy to get assistance.
  • Older versions of Microsoft .NET were plagued with security holes
  • Microsoft .NET can sometimes be painful to upgrade from one version to the next
  • Microsoft .NET is not the back end to .net core the way MS is going
Microsoft .NET is excellent for creating custom applications that can integrate between non custom applications. The framework that Microsoft .NET provides allows you to quickly and easily stand up a custom application, service, web service or web application utilizing the same methods and classes making it a very seamless experience for the developer.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 21, 2019

.NET Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using .NET as the platform for a majority of our Windows-based applications. It has provided us with a highly portable solution and has let our team build several solutions across the enterprise. We've gone through several generations of the software.
  • Backwards compatibility has been great.
  • IDE used are modern and up to date.
  • Documentation has been great.
  • We've spent hours improving and updating based on new features provided as part of the core libraries.
  • Resource usage can be very high.
  • Runtime will require Windows machine unless you use .NET.
  • Dependencies can be complicated.
If you are looking to start building a development team and need a compiled language, I would recommend .NET as it checks all the boxes from a development platform. Easy to start, great IDE, good documentation and a very large user community to help answer any questions that you may have.
Read this authenticated review
Brendan McKenna | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 01, 2019

.NET chef

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our software development department .NET is the primary development environment. We have six scrum teams and twenty or so developers who utilize .NET. C# is our language of choice for the .NET portions of our code stack. We utilize Angular on the front end which integrates into all of our .NET WebAPI endpoints. C# has always been a great language to use over the years as well as the .NET framework. .NET is an incredible tool which allows for a much easier development environment for people writing code. Very awesome to have a garbage collector which deallocates memory for the developer and one does not need to handle such tasks anymore. Obviously there is a small performance trade off for having such capabilities but for most use cases this is satisfactory. I love LINQ and the lambda syntax. Allows for much cleaner code and fewer trivial methods that can be handled with anonymous delegates now. Entity framework makes life easier when dealing with databases which is a requirement for almost any business application. WPF was fun to develop with and was a good basis for transitioning to Angular both conceptually and syntactically. Nice to have an entire layer which mostly prevents the blue screen of death!
  • Provides an extremely robust layer on top of the OS.
  • Allows for multiple languages to compile into equivalent intermediary language.
  • Incredible suite of methods and built in functionality for getting an application up and running.
  • Sometimes can be difficult traversing exceptions to find root causes.
  • Null references can sometimes feel annoying and unnecessary, although the latest .NET has improvements here.
Well suited for most application development. Most business cases do not need the extreme optimization of an unmanaged development and therefore .NET is more than suitable.
Read Brendan McKenna's full review
Patrick Morris | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 08, 2018

.NET is a wonderful general purpose development language

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the .NET framework across all of our products. This includes front end UI components along with backend services.
  • General purpose development which makes it easy to create new projects
  • Powerful set of tools. Anything we need developed we can do it using .NET framework
  • Very fast execution. Well designed code can be as fast or faster than c code.
  • With the conversion to .NET core it is confusing what to do for New development. Also .NET core vs .NET standard. More confusion.
  • Prior to .NET core there was certainly a Microsoft only mindset. This limited adoption.
It is a general purpose development language. It is suited for everything.
Read Patrick Morris's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2018

.NET Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used .NET platform for developing both web and windows based applications that are internal and external facing. There are several use cases like
1. Inventory Management
2. Quality Control
3. Safety and Security
4. Packaging optimization
5. Logistics and Supply Chain Optimization

We have used in all the areas for Global Operations, Spares etc. organizations for all day to day production floor support and shipment releases. We also used it for Product Life Cycle Management interface to perform Problem Report and Engineering Change Management business processes.

To achieve these .NET and HTML together were used to generate dynamic web pages smoothly.
Being an ideal server-side scripting technology, Asp.NET code first runs on Windows server before displaying on the web browser.
With the built-in configuration information, Asp.NET is easy to deploy.
The .NET Framework quickly gives an alert for memory leaks, unbounded loops, and other wrong behaviors, immediately killing them and restart them over again.
  • Asp.NET features like early binding, JIT compilation, caching services and native optimization supports gives your application the high level of performance.
  • All the Asp.NET applications are highly monitored and managed to help application available to handle requests.
  • The best part of .NET Framework is it has its own built-in caching features.
  • The content and the program logic are separated in the .NET Framework, thus reducing the program inconveniences.
  • Offers great security with the built-in Windows authentication and per-application configuration.
  • Limited object-relational (OR) support as it comes only with Entity Framework
  • Does not come with multi platform support from Microsoft, and is not available right after installing Visual Studio
  • The managed code can be slower than native code
  • Involves a vendor lock-in, and future development is solely dependent on Microsoft
  • Migrating applications to .NET can be expensive as involves whole lot of custom development
I highly recommend .Net as a platform for custom development. We can leverage several UI elements and also integrate with third party controls like Telerik, Infragistics etc. Provides platforms, tools, and a programming environment for addressing the design and overall management of distributed and multi-tiered applications. It offers immeasurable benefits for various issues like memory management, security, and exceptional handling, a developer may face.

.NET is not suited in case of multi-platform requirement. There isn't support available from MS and isn't available straight after installing Visual Studio. If that is a criteria for your business case then consider a different platform.
Also .NET is very easy to reverse engineer. If you do not obfuscate your code, you may as well publish the source code.
The footprint of your application can be huge if it requires a version of .NET, which is not already on the computer and therefore has to be installed first.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 21, 2018

.NET - The SKY is the LIMIT

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
.NET is used in a wide range of projects across the LOB, especially in banking and finance and insurance industries. All desktops, client-servers, mobile and digitalization are mainly focused in Microsoft technologies.I am using it for different tech stacks, especially with C# language. TDD is a nice approach, especially the framework.
  • It allows the use of multiple languages. It has horizontal scalability.
  • .NET creates a unified environment that allows developers to create programs in C++, Java or Virtual Basic. All tools and IDEs have been pre-tested and are easily available in the Microsoft Developer Network.
  • UI best practices are more consistent.
  • Language integration is seamless, as you can call methods from C# to VB .NET.
  • You need to buy everything from Microsoft. The biggest con is that it is not free like Java. Migrating applications to .NET can be expensive.
  • Does not come with multi-platform support from Microsoft, and is not available right after installing Visual Studio.
  • Very much Windows OS dependent.
Microsoft Asp .Net Framework is a widely used development framework for building enterprise level web applications, that today’s developers love to use. The .Net technology offers immeasurable benefits for various issues like memory management, security, and exceptional handling, a developer may face. It is ideal for web, console, front end, and back end.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2018

One of the most productive frameworks around

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have many applications being built in .NET. It is the premier way to build thick client / rich client applications for Windows. We also use it for backend servers, batch jobs, and web sites.
  • Most powerful framework that works well
  • Best integrated with the best code editor around, Visual Studio
  • Support for multiple modern programming languages like C#, and F#
  • .NET Core is still gaining adoption
  • EF Core does not support lazy loading yet, a feature we use a lot
  • A lot of the libraries we use are not planned to work on .NET Core yet
Great for both client side, web sites, and server side code. Probably not as efficient as a SPA though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2017

.NET the versatile intuitive developer platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use .NET to create custom applications to support my daily engineering tasks. We have a batch process that feeds into a continuous process. The data historian that we use is excellent for retrieving information about the continuous process but is very difficult to grab information about each batch. I used .NET to create a custom application to interface with our data historian and summarize all of the process parameters for each batch, providing charts, tables, and summaries. Additionally, the user is able to overlay process parameters from several batches, to see if the process is changing over time.
  • .NET allows the user to quickly create applications to solve problems.
  • .NET is extremely flexible, allowing the programmer to interact with nearly every aspect of the computer.
  • There are a number of languages that can be used to program in .NET.
  • Interacting with some of the core functionalities of the computer requires the user to know C++ and program using unmanaged code. However, I don't think this is a limitation that only applies to .NET.
  • .NET has a very powerful feature to allow generic access to objects, known as Language-Integrated Query or LINQ. Knowing how to use this feature is not required to create applications, but makes development much easier. Since it is not required, there is very little motivation to learn how to implement LINQ. It might be beneficial to promote this feature more heavily.
  • It is difficult to find a third area that could be improved with .NET.
.NET is extremely well suited for creating any custom application on nearly any platform. It does not matter if you are creating a word processing application, a graphics editor, or a calculator. However, applications that work in 3D are a little hampered in the .NET environment. There are packages available to provide classes and interfaces with the graphics hardware, but they are not as polished and easy to work with as the standard .NET interface.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 21, 2017

.NET is the most flexible framework

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
.NET is a runtime language just like java. Combined with C# and Visualstudio, .NET presents the most flexible and competitive runtime on the market.
  • Memory Handling
  • Garbage Collection
  • Service Orientation
  • Extensive Framework
  • Image manipulation slow compared to C++.
  • Does not run on Mac/Linux - the newest .NET core does but presents only a subset of the framework.
  • May require the installation of the framework to run.
Well suited for enterprise applications on Windows. Not suited for embedded computing.
Read this authenticated review

About .NET

Microsoft's .Net is an open source, freeware application infrastructure.

.NET Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No