Parallels RAS Reviews

115 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 76)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 30, 2021
Joe Castle | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We deployed Parallels to replace VPN access for our entire organization. Employees are able to access network applications and resources by simply going to our Parallels web portal or using the Parallels client. We protect access with two factor authentication via phone push. Some of the main goals were to provide a simpler experience but also more secure. Employees can now use their own devices when needed.

When COVID-19 sent employees home, we were fortunate to have had Parallels already in production. We transitioned to a remote work environment and it was a totally smooth transition.
Read Joe Castle's full review
September 01, 2020
Ayman Dasa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In our marine operation department, new applications require that we control all inventory in the company fleet. This application is not web-based. To run this application we should have access to the server remotely; without this application, we mistakenly buy materials twice or even more. To solve this we needed something to control this. The problem is that communication between ships and head office is very costly and slow.
Read Ayman Dasa's full review
August 24, 2020
Waqas Anjum Akram Javid | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Parallels RAS is used by various clients whom we are dealing with right now and we highly recommend it when customers are looking for solutions for publishing their applications and remote access. Due to the current epidemic situation we highly recommend Parallels RAS which is a robust and versatile proven solution to provide un-interrupted local experience with published applications and remote access.
Read Waqas Anjum Akram Javid's full review
April 17, 2020
Bryan Tavares | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Parallels Remote Application Server across the whole company and for quicker remote connections from China. The problem that I was experiencing was that when our employees in China tried to RDP into our servers in the USA, the screen would paint line by line. It was possible but it was slow. After hearing about Parallels 2X, I thought I would try. The user experience is much smoother and our users are very satisfied.
Read Bryan Tavares's full review
August 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Parallels RAS is used by all organizations. RAS has solved the deployment of client applications on local and remote end-users PCs and reduced the support requests on the IT department.
Read this authenticated review
April 01, 2020
Jorge Acopa Galera | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We come from using XenApp Citrix for more than 13 years, then I started testing Parallels RAS to see if we could seamlessly migrate the app delivery service from one product to another with minimum effort and impact on end users. All our tests were successful from Parallels farm setup, published resources, servers configurations to user experience.
Read Jorge Acopa Galera's full review
March 11, 2020
Bret Benziger | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Student Health and Counseling Services, a department of Student Affairs at UC Davis, uses Parallels RAS to deliver a wide range of windows applications both to remote users and local users on other platforms. This software seamlessly allows us to provide applications to macOS, iOS, Android, and Windows users with native clients that add functionality.
Read Bret Benziger's full review
February 11, 2020
iain Stephen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Parallels Remote Application Server to replace Citrix Servers and deliver a simple yet powerful tool to our end users for running published applications and accessing network resources from either mobile platforms or from other locations that are offsite. We found it simpler to get up and running and much less expensive than Citrix.
Read iain Stephen's full review
April 04, 2020
Clint Rankin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our organization uses Parallels Remote Application Server across our whole organization. Instead of installing certain programs on each person's computer, we direct our employees to a website where they can just log in and all their business applications are right there. This simplifies things. For one, our I.T. Dept doesn't have to ensure our programs are installed on each person's computer. Furthermore, they don't have to worry each application has the latest updates. Security is greatly enhanced. The greatest business problem it addresses is that it allows us to control our employee experience from a single place reducing time, effort and expense.
Read Clint Rankin's full review
April 03, 2020
Jason Chafin | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Parallels is being used by doctors to work remotely using our local systems and servers. During the COVID-19 pandemic, we are also using Parallels RAS during our telehealth appointments as a tool for telemedicine. Parallels is mainly used to give doctors remote access to read echos and dictate using a mic and Dragon server.
Read Jason Chafin's full review
March 31, 2020
Adrian Alessi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We spent 10 years using publishing desktops on the virtualized Citrix XenApp environment. Times changed and a lot of our stuff became web-based. We moved our offices to Mac OSX desktops and needed to stream a couple of legacy windows only applications. I found the Parallels Remote Application Server a lot simpler to setup. No longer needing domain controllers and levels of servers, I was able to get Parallels set up on a single Azure server to stream the applications straight to the Mac desktops.
Read Adrian Alessi's full review
March 25, 2020
Andreas Hermann | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We provide our own BMD Software to our customers with Parallels Remote Application Server.

With BMD Cloud Services our goal is to offer more flexibility and mobility using BMD software. BMD offers the possibility to access the entire software package via the Internet directly on a server, secured and maintained by our BMD tech department.

Enable clients to do bookkeeping on your tax office’s IT infrastructure. The need not to exchange data constantly with clients leads to higher customer loyalty and up-to-date data.

With Parallels it is very easy for our costumers to connect to our cloud system.

Read Andreas Hermann's full review
March 24, 2020
Joe Foran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We provide application access over the HTML5 client for users at remote sites, home, etc. We specifically publish the Microsoft Office Suite, Information Technology Administration and Management Tools, and several legacy applications that would otherwise only be available on the corporate LAN or would have significant performance issues over traditional VPN technologies.
Read Joe Foran's full review
March 22, 2020
Udo Janssen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We started using Parallels RAS first in our company because we were dissatisfied with our Citrix installations in ours and customers' sites. We were looking for a stable remote desktop environment that was easy to manage, good value for the money, and had a pay-per-use license model for managed service providers to expand our AaaS / IaaS offering. (It is not only since COVID-19 that we know that switching to Parallels RAS was the right decision for us and for our customers.)
Read Udo Janssen's full review
March 17, 2020
Mike Memme | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have 10 to 15 remote offices for sales staff and construction staff. We predominantly use Claris Filemaker and Microsoft Outlook at the remote offices. Filemaker is making moves to the cloud but our layouts pull so much data that they require an ethernet connection. We need to use a terminal server until we redesign our Filemaker database to be more efficient. Filemaker uses Outlook to send information from the database to potential clients and to trade partners. We need to use a terminal server to allow the two applications to talk to each other.


Read Mike Memme's full review
March 14, 2020
Stefan Zuban | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Parallels RAS for application and desktop virtualization. Connection through a heavy client and an HTML client allows us to serve specific user profiles personalizing user experience and accessibility. The RAS GW feature allows us to cope with IT security issues concerning applications confined in special virtual networks, while the VDI feature allows us to prepare desktops on the shelf for developers.
Read Stefan Zuban's full review
March 09, 2020
Darrin Salt | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Parallels RAS organisation-wide; connecting users in different ways. It's ability to delivery applications and desktop services means that it's not just a single solution, even though it's just one product. Whether it's our accounts department using it to run their on-premises accounting software in a remote desktop environment or publishing individual applications and web-links for our engineers to access on non-PC devices like tablets, it now forms a single hub for many of our needs at a really affordable cost.
Read Darrin Salt's full review
March 07, 2020
Jeff Dyck | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • We are a mostly Mac (95%) based educational organization, which generally works very well for us. Unfortunately, there are a few areas such as finance where Windows-only applications are required. We use Parallels Remote Application Server to publish these applications needed for use by our users.
  • This includes:
  • A core piece of financial software, which was initially terminal access, then switched to an Internet Explorer only Active-X based solution. We were able to transition our users to an application published by Parallels Server.
  • Our library management software is also PC only. Initially, we deployed standalone Windows machines to run this software, but as they aged out, we migrated them to the Parallels client running the library application. As a positive side effect, the fact that the app was running on a server in the data center right next to the core database server made the app faster for our users.
  • Our psychology team has also dealt with several very custom pieces of software for diagnosing students that were PC only. Once again, we were able to use Parallels Remote Application Server to allow them to run on their Macs.
  • There have been some other pieces of software over the years that we also ran via Parallels, which have, thankfully, either started providing a Mac version or migrated to a standards-compliant web application.
  • We have been delighted with Parallels Remote Application Server as a solution to help us deal with this kind of issue. It has allowed us to provide critical applications as needed without fundamentally having to change our deployments.
Read Jeff Dyck's full review
March 07, 2020
Donny McIver | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

The whole organization uses Parallels Remote Application Server to replace normal terminal server access methods requiring a VPN or publishing through the web.
Read Donny McIver's full review
March 07, 2020
Chris Tapiolas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

  • We use Parallels Remote Application Server to deliver Windows Applications from a cloud-hosted environment to end-user desktops via HTTPS.
  • This solution removes physical hardware from the end-user premises; this gives our clients peace of mind that they don’t have to spend thousands on initial setup, rather a monthly cost to cloud providers.
Read Chris Tapiolas's full review
March 03, 2020
Scott Shorey | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Parallels Remote Server to deliver applications to users where the application doesn't work well remotely or between sites. It is being used by several departments, remote users, and remote sites.
Read Scott Shorey's full review
February 26, 2020
Brian Medford | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We have our software on a server and allow customers to connect via Parallels to access it remotely. This allows for an in house hosted solution across a variety of operating systems and hardware and cuts down the costs of our customers for local support and implementation and also facilitates software upgrades and updates.
Read Brian Medford's full review
February 26, 2020
Joel Menezes | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Parallels RAS is being used for the deployment and access to our district's ERP system. In addition, we are publishing software for our School Psychologists requiring hardware dongles to non-compatible machines, and various home-grown solutions. Clients are using a mix of Mac & Windows devices, with speed that was not possible before when running fat clients on the machines.
Read Joel Menezes's full review
February 14, 2020
Jason Stevenson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Parallels Remote Application Server for a select few employees. We began by using it to replace Citrix for the cost. We leveraged it to provide windows only applications to our macintosh fleet as well as our offsite employees.
Read Jason Stevenson's full review
February 14, 2020
Jean Huveneers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Our office environment is based on Dell Wyse thinclients which and laptops for remote users. With Parallels Remote Application Server, we have 24x7 secure access to our RDS environment which we use for managing and supporting our customers.
We also advise and implement at our customers for facilitating remote works in their IT environments.
And last but not least, we deliver a Managed Hosted Desktop service 'BusinessDesktop' from our data-center via Parallels RAS.
Read Jean Huveneers's full review

What is Parallels RAS?

Parallels® Remote Application Server (RAS) is an all-in-one application delivery and virtual desktop infrastructure (VDI) solution that enables users to work remotely from anywhere, on any device, at any time. The cloud-ready software is designed to enable organizations to centralize IT infrastructure management, integrate with Windows Virtual Desktop, streamline multi-cloud deployment, reinforce data security and improve IT process automation. Its architecture enables organizations to adapt to critical business demands. The vendor states its key benefits include:

  • Outstanding user experience (UX) on any device
  • Enhanced data security
  • IT agility and business readiness
  • Easy deployment, configuration and maintenance
  • Reduced total cost of ownership (TCO)

Parallels RAS Features

Parallels RAS Screenshots

Parallels RAS Videos (3)

Parallels RAS Downloadables

Parallels RAS Integrations

Parallels RAS Competitors

Parallels RAS Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Parallels RAS Support Options

 Free VersionPaid Version
Forum/Community
FAQ/Knowledgebase
Social Media
Video Tutorials / Webinar
Phone
Email

Parallels RAS Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Linux, Mac, Windows Servers 2008/R2, 2012/R2, 2016 and 2019
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android, Mobile Web
Supported Languages: English, German, Japanese, Russian, French, Spanish, Italian, Portuguese, Simplified Chinese, Traditional Chinese, Korean