TrustRadius
Remote Desktop Services from Microsoft is virtual desktop and remote user session technology.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/sP/II/SAD1RA9RGXFS.pngRemote Desktop Services Makes The ConnectionWe as an entire company started using Remote Desktop Services about 6 years ago. We wanted to provide a way for multiple staff working outside the office to have access to data files on the network. The simplest method we came up with was to setup Remote Desktop Services with Microsoft Terminal Services. All the applications would be installed on a single server. This server also has all our network drives mapped providing access to all network data files. Our staff then can remote into this server using Remote Desktop Services. The server now acts like a terminal giving our staff full use of the applications like Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suites to work on the data files located on the network drives.,Remote Desktop Services does an excellent job in providing a way for our staff to be working outside the office as if they're actually sitting inside the office. As long as the staff has an internet connection and a computer, he can use Remote Desktop Services to access files on our network. Remote Desktop Services also eliminates a need to have a very fast internet connection to access files on the company network. Once a Remote Desktop Service session is established, the only bandwidth it takes up is the transfer of images you see on the display. It's like surfing on the web because you are using the company server as the resource to run the applications. Remote Desktop Services provides a way for users to transfer files back & forth to/from staff's offsite laptop to/from the company network . There would be times when staff forget to copy a particular file onto the laptop for a presentation. So the way to retrieve the data from the network is to establish a Remote Desktop Session and then using Windows standar copy & paste feature to transfer the file from the network onto their laptop for use.,Remote Desktop Services currently does not support multiple monitors on the terminal server. Unlike other applications such as Teamviewer, there's no feature to toggle between multiple screens even if they were connected to the terminal server. Remote Desktop Services should provide an option to scale up or down the screen size after a connection is established. Currently you can only adjust the screen size prior to a connection is established. So you'll have to take a best guess at what display screen resolution will fit best on your screen. Remote Desktop Services should offer some kind of menu to send special key strokes like Ctrl+Alt+Del to the terminal server. Currently the substitute for that particular combination is Ctrl+Alt+End. But I have yet to discover a replacement for other combination keystrokes such as Alt+PrintScrn.,9,Remote Desktop Services has had a major positive ROI impact at our firm. There were a number of times when our staff was traveling abroad to business meetings with a laptop that had missing presentations. But once they had internet access, a Remote Desktop Services connection is established, and presentation data can now be shown directly from their laptops as if theyr'e sitting in our office. Remote Desktop Services has made it possible for Mac staff users to use their computing devices to access our network system to run Windows applications and access all our network data. Remote Desktop Services has made it possible for our staff to successfully work remotely from outside the office. There were many occasions when emergencies came up which prevented staff from coming into the office to work. But as long as they have a computer with an internet connection, they used Remote Desktop Services to connect to our terminal server and successfully ran the programs to modify data files on the network without losing a beat.,TeamViewer and VNC Connect,TeamViewer, VNC ConnectRemote Desktop Serves: The Good, the bad and the ugly.It is currently being used by Information Technology to access both internal and cloud systems.,Easy access to systems Response time is good Some nice tools & options are available Connect to/from anywhere is an obvious win,File movement Reboot process BIOS/POST display and access,8,With the ability to access systems to/from anywhere, downtime is greatly reduced. Staff no longer has to drive in after hours or on weekends for maintenance. Remote systems can be managed without a road trip.,VNC Connect, TeamViewer and Chrome Remote Desktop,VNC Connect, TeamViewerBest essential software to connect to remote DesktopRemote Desktop Services is being used by our entire organization. It solves the purpose of connecting to production systems through our local desktop. I also connect to my PC at the office from my home if I have to login from home. I connect to production systems using Remote Desktop to start, stop and deploy applications on the production system. It works seamlessly.,Remote Desktop Services provides seamless connection to production systems while running applications. It provides a fast and reliable connection while connecting to the remote systems and execute commands Secure and 100 percent robust. Never experienced any issues Whole desktop can be mirrored and it feels like you are physically working on the remote systems.,Remote Desktop Services team needs to focus on improvement in the magnification of remote images. Remote Desktop Services team should focus on the requirements of internet services speeds while connecting to remote machines. Team should work on improving performance when accessing images and videos so that the chipping won't occur.,9,Remote Desktop Services has good impact in meeting 100 percent of the objectives laid by our Enterprise of 1000 employees. Return of imvestment is measured in return of uninterrupted services and it can be termed as 100 percent Remote Desktop Services had no negative impacts on the business,Connect in the CloudRemote Desktop Services is being used across our whole organization. It helps users be able to access documents in a shared folder or access our operating system from a remote location.,Allows for remote access to operating system Allows users to share a community folder and have access to the documents contained in it. Information can be stored in the cloud in case of a system crash,Issues with crashes in the cloud cause our entire company to lose access.,10,It has been easier to share files and access documents together as a team The only negative impact is if there is an issue with the connection to the cloud and our entire company is unable to access the system.,Microsoft Office 2016, BlueCherry, Norton Internet SecurityRDS: A Fast & Furios Connection to far "friends"It's used by the whole organization. We are mainly using it to allow us the possibility of connecting to a remote server on which are standing the Data Warehouse we are managing. Sometimes we also use it to connect to our servers while we are standing inside the customer organization.,Easy Configuration Fast Connection Very Good Reliability Low Memory and Resource Usage,The GUI interface is outdated Sometimes there are unexpected crashes during work sessions Difficult to customize Not really intuitive,7,Positive: Free Negative: Not compatible with most of the new Windows versions,mRemote,SQL Developer, SAP Data Services, MS SharePoint,100,2,Connection to Remote Servers when in-house Connection to Remote Servers when out of office Connection to organization ERP,6
Unspecified
Remote Desktop Services
40 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

Remote Desktop Services Reviews

Remote Desktop Services
40 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 40 vetted Remote Desktop Services reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-10 of 10)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Paul Li profile photo
June 06, 2018

Review: "Remote Desktop Services Makes The Connection"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We as an entire company started using Remote Desktop Services about 6 years ago. We wanted to provide a way for multiple staff working outside the office to have access to data files on the network. The simplest method we came up with was to setup Remote Desktop Services with Microsoft Terminal Services. All the applications would be installed on a single server. This server also has all our network drives mapped providing access to all network data files. Our staff then can remote into this server using Remote Desktop Services. The server now acts like a terminal giving our staff full use of the applications like Microsoft Office and Adobe Creative Suites to work on the data files located on the network drives.
  • Remote Desktop Services does an excellent job in providing a way for our staff to be working outside the office as if they're actually sitting inside the office. As long as the staff has an internet connection and a computer, he can use Remote Desktop Services to access files on our network.
  • Remote Desktop Services also eliminates a need to have a very fast internet connection to access files on the company network. Once a Remote Desktop Service session is established, the only bandwidth it takes up is the transfer of images you see on the display. It's like surfing on the web because you are using the company server as the resource to run the applications.
  • Remote Desktop Services provides a way for users to transfer files back & forth to/from staff's offsite laptop to/from the company network . There would be times when staff forget to copy a particular file onto the laptop for a presentation. So the way to retrieve the data from the network is to establish a Remote Desktop Session and then using Windows standar copy & paste feature to transfer the file from the network onto their laptop for use.
  • Remote Desktop Services currently does not support multiple monitors on the terminal server. Unlike other applications such as TeamViewer, there's no feature to toggle between multiple screens even if they were connected to the terminal server.
  • Remote Desktop Services should provide an option to scale up or down the screen size after a connection is established. Currently you can only adjust the screen size prior to a connection is established. So you'll have to take a best guess at what display screen resolution will fit best on your screen.
  • Remote Desktop Services should offer some kind of menu to send special key strokes like Ctrl+Alt+Del to the terminal server. Currently the substitute for that particular combination is Ctrl+Alt+End. But I have yet to discover a replacement for other combination keystrokes such as Alt+PrintScrn.
Remote Desktop Services is well suited for companies where staff may have to quite often work from outside the office. With Remote Desktop Services established, now staff can have access to all their needed applications to modify all the data files on their network servers without having to step foot into the office. But I would not recommend attempting to copy very large data files back & forth between the offsite laptop and the network server. Even if you have access to very fast broadband internet speeds, the transfer rates are still not going to be as fast as you're sitting at your desk inside the office local area network environment.
Read Paul Li's full review
No photo available
August 23, 2018

Remote Desktop Services Review: "Remote Desktop Serves: The Good, the bad and the ugly."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by Information Technology to access both internal and cloud systems.
  • Easy access to systems
  • Response time is good
  • Some nice tools & options are available
  • Connect to/from anywhere is an obvious win
  • File movement
  • Reboot process
  • BIOS/POST display and access
Remote Desktop Services is great for a non-critial role. We use it for support on desktop and servers, however, we do not use it as a primary for servers. There can be issues with restarts and when you need to see POST/BIOS.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2018

Remote Desktop Services Review: "Best essential software to connect to remote Desktop"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remote Desktop Services is being used by our entire organization. It solves the purpose of connecting to production systems through our local desktop. I also connect to my PC at the office from my home if I have to login from home.
I connect to production systems using Remote Desktop to start, stop and deploy applications on the production system. It works seamlessly.
  • Remote Desktop Services provides seamless connection to production systems while running applications.
  • It provides a fast and reliable connection while connecting to the remote systems and execute commands
  • Secure and 100 percent robust. Never experienced any issues
  • Whole desktop can be mirrored and it feels like you are physically working on the remote systems.
  • Remote Desktop Services team needs to focus on improvement in the magnification of remote images.
  • Remote Desktop Services team should focus on the requirements of internet services speeds while connecting to remote machines.
  • Team should work on improving performance when accessing images and videos so that the chipping won't occur.
Remote Desktop Services is especially good to access files and run programs remotely on the destination machine.
It is Less effective if playing videos or accessing graphic content remotely.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 17, 2018

Remote Desktop Services Review: "Connect in the Cloud"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remote Desktop Services is being used across our whole organization. It helps users be able to access documents in a shared folder or access our operating system from a remote location.
  • Allows for remote access to operating system
  • Allows users to share a community folder and have access to the documents contained in it.
  • Information can be stored in the cloud in case of a system crash
  • Issues with crashes in the cloud cause our entire company to lose access.
It is well suited for a company with multiple employees or employees who are away from the office and need to access their system. It would be less appropriate for a one or two person company that doesn't need to access the system away from the office.
Read this authenticated review
Luigi Vecchione profile photo
September 26, 2017

Remote Desktop Services Review: "RDS: A Fast & Furios Connection to far "friends""

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used by the whole organization. We are mainly using it to allow us the possibility of connecting to a remote server on which are standing the Data Warehouse we are managing. Sometimes we also use it to connect to our servers while we are standing inside the customer organization.
  • Easy Configuration
  • Fast Connection
  • Very Good Reliability
  • Low Memory and Resource Usage
  • The GUI interface is outdated
  • Sometimes there are unexpected crashes during work sessions
  • Difficult to customize
  • Not really intuitive
RDS Is very well suited when you need to make a fast connection to a remote server without spending too much time in searching and configuring. RDS is not well suited for complex operations.
Read Luigi Vecchione's full review
Stephen Meinzinger profile photo
October 24, 2016

"Remote Desktop Services Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remote Desktop Services (RDS) is used in my company to provide remote access to data and services for people working outside the office.
  • RDS is fast. Having tried various remote access options, I have found RDS to be far superior to VNC offerings.
  • RDS is built into Windows so it does not take extra software installation and setup.
  • While it works well as it is, it is possible to further secure the connection by routing it through an ssh tunnel using simple port forwarding.
  • I would like to see stronger encryption for the connection without the need for an ssh tunnel.
Remote Desktop Services works very well for remote users to be able to use local resources. It is also very helpful if your company needs to have tight control over what software people have access to. Performance can be less than what you might expect from software run from a local computer, however, since it is running over a network.
Read Stephen Meinzinger's full review
Satish Kumar profile photo
July 25, 2016

User Review: "Remote Desktop services - MyView"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Initially we started using Desktop services on a Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (VDI), Desktop as a Service architectural level. Subsequently we implemented Direct Remote Desktop Protocol (RDP) consoles of Windows server 2012 with terminal services and profile based usage to end users. Security was definitely an issue initially, but we had a quota system to ensure security level for each user to maintain isolation between users. This worked for about 30 users on 2 baremetals, deployed in-house. We later went on to dupe the system on the VMware virtual machines, which is the currently deployed solution which is working well in our test environment.
  • Cost effective, less hardware more outcome
  • Good use of resources - Optimization is possible with minimal efforts
  • Secure as it can get
  • Ease of control from an admin point of view
  • Scalability is one point where a better option is welcome
  • More security in terms of user based operations
  • Resource availabilty on the fly
I guess it's better suited to test environments as there will be less security impact and fewer administration issues. Also user isolation will help with secure access, and the organization will be able to reduce costs in all areas and, additionally, remote desktop services can introduce the BYOD concept.
Read Satish Kumar's full review
Nathan Ziehnert profile photo
October 06, 2015

Remote Desktop Services Review: "Microsoft RDS - Relatively Decent Solution..."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently hosting three separate farms across approximately 20 servers. One farm dedicated to a published shared remote desktop (RDSH), one farm dedicated to hosing a number of RemoteApps (HEAT, Exchange Management Console, etc), and a dedicated RemoteApp farm for Elite Enterprise. In conjunction with the Remote Desktop Gateway server, Remote Desktop Connection Broker, and Remote Desktop Web Access server, we give users the ability to do their work from wherever they are most comfortable and ease the upgrade burden on our staff when it comes to upgrading particularly cumbersome software like Elite Enterprise. The applications available to our users via our RDS platform cover about 30-50% of our employees with plans to potentially expand that further as budget and time dictate.
  • Relative ease of setup: in comparison to some of the other solutions on the market (Citrix, etc.), Remote Desktop Services is rather easy to set up and get configured in your environment.
  • Feature set: Microsoft offers a good deal of the same features many competitors offer in the same space including a mobile app and the ability to have a "native" app feel for a remote application.
  • Inexpensive Licensing: in comparison to other solutions on the market Remote Desktop Services is inexpensive.
  • Move LOB applications closer to their server counterparts: this goes for all remote solutions, but if you have a line of business application that makes a great deal of calls across the network to your data center, your remote office users will likely benefit from the performance and stability side by moving those client side applications into the data center.
  • No centralized management: unlike other products on the market, Remote Desktop Services in 2008r2 provides no single management console. Users are managed through a console on the connection broker, web apps are managed on a per server basis (even when those servers belong to a farm).
  • Image Management: because no use of an agent like PNTools is made, bringing up servers and adding them to the farm is inconvenient. Static IPs are a must and round-robin load balancing is really your only option with the connection broker. Updating a farm of 5+ servers becomes a chore, but still easier than updating 2000+ machines.
  • Still a very green product: while Microsoft offers a lot of the same features as the big guys, it's obvious that Remote Desktop Services is still in it's infancy and has a lot of room for growth. I have discovered and requested fixes for a number of bugs in the mobile app alone - something about the QA process for these apps seems to be lacking.
- Do you have a well developed and managed application list? Without an understanding of the applications that are actually in use in your environment on a day to day basis, a shared remote desktop will not be very useful for your end users and will end up not providing a very good ROI.
- Are there applications that your users would benefit from being able to access from anywhere, or are there applications in your environment that are installed on a significant amount of machines and are cumbersome to update? In both cases you may see benefits to migrating those applications to a virtual environment.
- Is your network connectivity good across all sites - including low latency? RDS and remote desktop in general rely on solid network connections to maintain peak performance, although low bandwidth and high latency still work.
Read Nathan Ziehnert's full review
Will Smothers profile photo
October 12, 2015

Remote Desktop Services Review: "To RDS or Not to RDS? That is the question!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use Microsoft's Windows 2008 R2 Remote Desktop Services to provide a centralized interface from which to access data in our data center. The entire company uses this to access our accounting and project management software. This keeps us from having duplicate systems in different locations from which disparaged information must be combined. Additionally, since the Remote Desktop Services is in the same data center and network segment as the backend systems, access to data is much faster and more reliable.
  • While it is not to the level of Citrix, Microsoft Remote Desktop Services does a good job with video compression.
  • Universal printing works very well.
  • Management via group policy allows me to lockdown our environment to keep users from making changes that might affect the entire system.
  • I think that while the compression rate it good, there is always room for improvement. I would like to see the RDP protocol skinned down even further and made more efficient.
  • Dynamic screen scaling would be a nice way to utilize the most screen real estate when switching from an undocked connection to a docked connection with larger monitors.
I always want to know what problem they are trying to solve. Remote Desktop Services has its place and is good for a number of reasons BUT, if it will not solve the problem there is no reason to implement it. If they are looking to address constrained bandwidth issues caused by some type of file replication, Remote Desktop Services can help solve that. If they are looking at how to reduce storage costs or redundant hardware and software at other sites, Remote Desktop Services can help solve that.
Read Will Smothers's full review
Jeremy Travis profile photo
October 07, 2015

Remote Desktop Services Review: "A World Driven By RemoteApp"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Remote Desktop Services (RDS) is used to help publish a line of business applications to nearly every device. We use it across the entire organization and even with a few support vendors. RDS helps solves issues by simplifying the IT infrastructure and reducing network traffic. Software maintenances and Windows updates are more controlled. I only have to upgrade a few servers versus the entire enterprise of remote desktop, laptop, and tablets.
  • Remote Desktop Services (RDS) is fast and light on bandwidth. With increased compression, RDS is really only sending screen-shots with keyboard and mouse events. No SQL connection across the LAN or WAN. All Client-Server applications can be set up locally in a small network.
  • Maintaining a line of business applications in your IT infrastructure is a breeze. Once set up, users can connect to a published business application from nearly every device. And with so many companies going to a “Bring Your Own Device” model, end users can purchase an endpoint device such as a laptop or tablet (Windows, Android, or MAC) and simply launch an icon from either the start menu or desktop. It can also be launched from a web browser. Really cool stuff!!
  • A Remote Desktop Services farm instance gives the system administrators a little more flexibility by allowing the IT department to schedule a maintenance window to perform software or Windows updates to that server while new connections are routed to the other servers. This is usually done with a load balance device that either makes connections via Round Robin or CPU usages. Load balancer controls [based on] which server is available for connections.
  • In a few cases, I have seen where applications may have screen flicker. Or if application is running a large report and query the database, the application screen will ghost out while waiting to response.
  • I have also seen that a few applications that have detailed information will not appear under the remote app but will appear in the full desktop mode.
If there is an application that is required for the business to run and is needed by a small to large pool of end-users, a system administrator will need to set this up. For example, one company I worked for was running SAP as a client - server application that was installed on EACH desktop and laptop in the company. When we upgraded MS Office from 2010 to 2013, some SAP features did not work. SAP provided a patch, but I had to deploy a patch to each workstation within the enterprise. With RDS, a few servers and I was done and started another project.
Read Jeremy Travis's full review

Remote Desktop Services Scorecard Summary

About Remote Desktop Services

Remote Desktop Services from Microsoft is virtual desktop and remote user session technology.

Remote Desktop Services Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No