SAP BW

SAP BW

About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.4 out of 100
SAP Business Warehouse (SAP BW) (formerly SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse)

Overview

Recent Reviews

SAP Business Warehouse

8 out of 10
December 13, 2019
SAP Business Warehouse is used as the data warehouse for reporting purposes. It consolidates, harmonizes and transforms all the relevant …
Continue reading

SAP BW

9 out of 10
December 12, 2019
SAP Business Warehouse is used as the repository to store data to be used by the different reporting tools we currently have. It is mainly …
Continue reading

SAP BW Review

6 out of 10
May 17, 2018
For our clients, we use SAP Business Warehouse systems for generating reports. It has always been easier for our company to gather data …
Continue reading

SAP review

9 out of 10
November 28, 2017
It is been used across the company, through various business lines. It was mainly used to pull reports related to business performance, …
Continue reading

SAP BW 7.0 Review

8 out of 10
July 05, 2016
SAP BW 7.0 is used by my current client as an enterprise reporting solution. It addresses all reporting needs for my current client such …
Continue reading

SAP BW

9 out of 10
April 26, 2016
We use it in our finance departments for different accounting purposes. It is connected to our OLTP ECC system and we ETL the data daily …
Continue reading

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of SAP BW, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is SAP BW?

SAP Business Warehouse, or SAP BW (formerly SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse) is SAP's legacy data warehouse solution, now superseded by SAP BW/4HANA, and the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud which was launched in 2019. SAP BW versions up to 7.4 have reached end of maintenance. SAP BW 7.5 support is…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

5 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is Amazon Redshift?

Amazon Redshift is a hosted data warehouse solution, from Amazon Web Services.

What is Google BigQuery?

Google's BigQuery is part of the Google Cloud Platform, a database-as-a-service (DBaaS) supporting the querying and rapid analysis of enterprise data.

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is SAP BW?

SAP Business Warehouse (formerly SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse) is SAP's legacy data warehouse solution, now superseded by SAP BW/4HANA.

SAP BW Competitors

SAP BW Technical Details

Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is SAP BW?

SAP Business Warehouse, or SAP BW (formerly SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse) is SAP's legacy data warehouse solution, now superseded by SAP BW/4HANA, and the SAP Data Warehouse Cloud which was launched in 2019. SAP BW versions up to 7.4 have reached end of maintenance. SAP BW 7.5 support is extended to align with SAP Business Suite with NetWeaver components. For existing customers maintenance is scheduled to continue through 2027, with extended support available through 2030.

What are SAP BW's top competitors?

Mycroft Assistant are common alternatives for SAP BW.

What is SAP BW's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses SAP BW?

The most common users of SAP BW are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Information Technology & Services industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (140)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-14 of 14)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Niloofar Keshvari Nia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company provides smart solutions to our clients, this is one such solution for our customers, we use this solution primarily for data warehousing and reporting. They particularly appreciate its speed and ability to use a HANA database. It would be helpful to hear more about the vendor's strategy for the cloud solution.
  • Maintaining SAP BW is much easier than similar products
  • Powerful and extensive functionality
  • The system doesn't integrate well with other systems and is difficult to use
  • It would be beneficial to have reports that could be modified and saved more easily
  • You may find it difficult to build your type of report, many of the sections can be streamlined and easier to use
SAP Business Warehouse allows us to run reports fast and accurately, allowing us to gain an understanding of our business, besides its built-in semantic data management models, it offers ease of use with a variety of data management systems, as well as data input by XML and other data sources.
December 13, 2019

SAP Business Warehouse

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used as the data warehouse for reporting purposes. It consolidates, harmonizes and transforms all the relevant data coming from SAP. Traditional ERP SAP is good for operational reporting, where you need the detail of the transaction, but if you want to analyze summarized data, or harmonize across companies, it is good to have SAP BW.
  • Connectivity against SAP ERP
  • Usage of ABAP programming for transformation
  • Reporting tool out of the BOX. BEX Analyzer is not supported.
The answer is "it depends". If you have SAP as your backend, then go for it. You have standard extractions which will make life easier for the creation of the data warehouse. If you do not have SAP, then I would not recommend it, as I think there are other products in the market which are more flexible in terms of connectivity.
SAP BW is a consolidated tool. There are thousands of SAP notes in order to solve your problems and in case do not exist, SAP support will help you on the issue you face.
December 12, 2019

SAP BW

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used as the repository to store data to be used by the different reporting tools we currently have. It is mainly connected with SAP, but we also load some corporate information from flat files in order to enrich the content. It serves as single point of truth.
  • Single point of truth.
  • SAP native connection.
  • Time-to-market for new blocks of KPIs.
In the case of having SAP as your ERP it is strongly recommended if you feel the reporting you have in SAP is short. SAP BW has connectivity by means of data extractors to SAP which mainly simplifies the work to be done in order to replicate the information from SAP to SAP BW.
In the case of having any problem we contacted SAP and we always got good answers. It is clearly a very mature tool.
Jeff Looby, CPA | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse ("SAP BW") is used to aggregate data from disparate systems to create a single version of the truth or run reports / analyses across the entire organization. It is only used by the corporate team as each of the business divisions are extremely loyal to their specific software packages that are pulled into SAP BW (CRM, sales data, etc.).

The most important business problems that are solved is (1) the ability to produce more sophisticated analysis to drive executive decision making and (2) compile certain regulatory reports that are extremely time-consuming if produced outside of a data warehouse.
  • Integrates, stores, and manages company data from all sources
  • Pre-configured information models are better than average
  • Security authorization protocols and flexibility
  • Integration capabilities
  • Certain pruning can only take place on metadata rather than posted data
  • High runtimes for query execution
  • Results still requires fairly significant data verification time and effort
  • Infocube requires significant optimization efforts
SAP BW is best for:

1. Large enterprises
2. Enterprises with 3+ legacy systems with entrenched users (politically difficult to merge)
3. Enterprises with employees who can understand both the technical capabilities of SAP BW and the needs of the business users - ability to speak both languages, otherwise the program could be unwieldy and potentially underutilized (it's not particularly inexpensive)

SAP BW is less appropriate for:

1. Small enterprises
2. Enterprises who have well established, same location, CRM and UFS - the integration of data analysis will be easier and less expensive with other solutions
3. HANA

May 17, 2018

SAP BW Review

Kartik Chavan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our clients, we use SAP Business Warehouse systems for generating reports. It has always been easier for our company to gather data from several systems. The primary purpose being reporting, we also use it for analytics at the corporate level to analyze business performance in various sectors of our company.
  • Generating reports
  • Ease of interaction with various data sources like XML
  • Tables comparison is pretty easy
  • Data warehousing
  • It is not very user-friendly for the beginners
  • Slow speed in generating reports
  • Not the best for larger datasets
SAP BW, being an enterprise data warehousing tool, is good for storing most of the data generated by systems. It is a tool to run reports and review trends. It is a good tool to compare and organize data as well. If you are new to the software, it can be very tedious to learn.
Alfred Brock | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW is an enterprise data warehousing tool and we stored most of the data generated by systems in our organization generated over a LONG time into one mega Datawarehouse. Now we are able to run reports and review trends we could not before. It has also proven useful to gather data from several systems in use work with the data in a new report. We have been able to compare and organize data in ways we were able to imagine but not realize before.
  • Once the data has been cleansed it is very easy to import the items into the database system. I believe this to be a strength as we reduce time having to deal with the importing function and concentrate on cleansing.
  • Table comparisons are easy to set up and powerful tools. This allows us to examine the data at hand rather than being tied up in the process.
  • Support comes slow. This is not a limitation of the software itself but could be a symptom from the local office. Once we get support everything works along smoothly.
  • It is always important to review the instructions. This is not a system that does well initially with personalization without review of standard procedures. A log of time can be lost if the technicians and programmers working with the data are not following correct procedures.
SAP Business Warehouse is suited for large chunks of data. It is great if moving from older systems that could not process or report on the data they had collected. I do not feel it is appropriate for smaller sets of data. By saying this I am not suggesting that it does not do well with large records and record sets. It can handle those equally well but if there is limited data to work with this is not a reasonable option.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW is used across the whole organization. SAP BW helps to provide company-wide enterprise reports mainly coming from SAP ECC data. Reports cover several areas including Finance, Supply Chain, Purchasing etc.
  • SAP BW is very good to process a large amount of data.
  • SAP BW can help perform complex transformation of data.
  • SAP BW has out of the box data sources to connect to ECC.
  • Front-end reporting can be made more user-friendly.
  • Some of the areas are still missing BI Content (COPA etc)
  • Metadata repository can be improved and made more user-friendly.
SAP BW is well suited where source systems are SAP such as ECC, CRM, SRM, SCM etc. For non-SAP data sources, it may be less appropriate.
Julius Shen | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse (BW) is being used across the whole organization in my current employer. SAP BW was also used across the whole organization in my previous employers which were top 3 of their respective industries: telecommunications, oil & gas, mining, manufacturing and fast moving consumer goods. SAP BW was used as the primary reporting and analytics tools at the corporate level. SAP BW give the business an ability to analyze business performance mainly in finance and logistics.
  • Data replication from SAP ERP or other SAP systems (like SAP CRM, SAP APO).
  • Data transformation from SAP ERP.
  • Data warehousing capabilities.
  • Long cycle time from data preparation to reporting.
  • Below par standard reporting user interface when using Business Explorer (BEx) reporting tool.
  • Additional SAP products required for self-service capability and dashboarding.
SAP Business Warehouse is well suited for large size corporations (more than 5,000 employees) with SAP ERP deployment and with multiple SAP modules (Finance, Materials Management, and Human Resources) deployment. SAP Business Warehouse needs to be supported by highly trained staff to take advantage its full functionalities. SAP Business Warehouse is less appropriate for small and medium-size corporations (less than 5,000 employees) as full SAP Business Warehouse support might become too expensive. SAP Business Warehouse is also less appropriate for an organization where SAP ERP is not used.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used to keep track of what parts are in-house currently as well as what parts are coming in and are on back order. It also tracks possible demand when sales representatives are putting out bids and orders for their customers. I personally like when the sales team puts in bids that are in process so we can start working on lead times and vendors for products. It saves a lot of time down the road.
  • It tracks bin locations for parts which can be really helpful.
  • SAP Business Warehouse tells you who has a part checked out so you can find it.
  • It shows current parts shortages so buyers are flagged to get parts on order based on current demand.
  • I wish it could hold a part where even though it is not in use yet, but you know you will need it, it won't allow it to be checked it rather than put on backorder.
  • Some of the menu paths can be a little difficult to remember or follow.
  • It is not easy for a novice user to go in and create a report quickly.
We use it to track parts in the warehouse. This includes leaving and coming. If you have parts that come in and have to leave multiple times to have other work performed, it does get a little tricky. A lot of the times, part numbers have to be changed for coming and going and after they are worked on. I don't feel like it is the best in this scenario, but I don't know if any other software is either.
November 28, 2017

SAP review

Gustavo Porporato Daher | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is been used across the company, through various business lines. It was mainly used to pull reports related to business performance, accounting controls, periodic reporting etc.
  • Business performance.
  • Finance and non finance reporting.
  • Accounting controls.
  • Speed.
  • Difficult to customize.
  • Easy and friendly approach.
It works fine in scenarios with complex structures, large amount of data, despite the limitations of speed.
Lesley Bimonte | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used directly by a handful of departments, with end users being super users of BEX as an interface to Excel. These departments are mostly finance, procurement, and quality. The rest of the company uses it indirectly as BW is feeding other BI tools for dashboards used throughout the company.
  • Great at interfacing with BI tools
  • Great at merging multiple data sources
  • Works with data sources outside of SAP
  • When working in BEX, would like to see version control of queries
  • Archiving of cube data could be improved
  • Poor graphing options
SAP Business Warehouse is great when all your data comes straight from SAP, but BW is also fine for combining SAP data with data from other sources (we combined with a CRM for consumer complaint data). Unless BW is being used to feed another BI dashboard, end user capability is limited to trained personnel.
Sam Figueroa | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP business warehouse as an entire organization across the board. We use it as a data management system to store reporting data. We also use BEx as an interface to Excel and also use a data model called Infocubes. It also allows us to access data from other non SAP programs through the db link.
  • Great tool for operational reporting
  • Great analytical platform for enterprise environments
  • Great for operational planning and forecasting
  • Age of software is showing as it struggles with very large data modules, which were not as prevalent in its early years
  • Querying performance at times can be very slow
  • Support and development for BEx has been discontinued or hard to find.
SAP Business Warehouse would be a great piece of a software for a small company with small data. It does its job very well but once you start adding large volumes of data it gets very slow. Situations where speed is not a primary factor would be an optimal environment for SAP BW
July 05, 2016

SAP BW 7.0 Review

Vivek Gupta | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW 7.0 is used by my current client as an enterprise reporting solution. It addresses all reporting needs for my current client such as: operational reports, forecasting reports etc. It is a very good multidimensional (OLAP) EDW solution from SAP.
  • Multidimensional reporting
  • Logistics reporting
  • Standard BI content
  • Tight intergration with SAP ECC and SAP HANA
  • Tight security
  • Dashboards
  • Export capability for reports like Export to PDF is not available
  • Graph capabilities - no heat chart. This tool is more linked with Excel capabilities.
  • Development is time consuming in this
  • Maintenance is time consuming
  • Date format limitations - It accepts dates in a particular format
It is mainly suited for the clients who already use an SAP shop and already have SAP ECC/SAP HANA. The rich BI content in this tool makes it different from others and I think that is the core strength of this tool. Moreover this is an application which uses online analytical processing methodology. This helps in easy multidimensional analysis of the data compared to other RDBMS applications.
April 26, 2016

SAP BW

Mark Liston | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our finance departments for different accounting purposes. It is connected to our OLTP ECC system and we ETL the data daily to enhance end user reporting. Our biggest gains from using BW are the ability to have self contained ETL and also move reports from the OLTP (ECC) to the OLAP (BW) side.
  • ETL, great at taking data from OLTP source, flat file, etc... Easy drag and drop for transformations.
  • Great reporting possibilities, easy to connect with BO, BPC, etc...
  • Great Master Data Management (MDM )for BPC - helps us maintain master data for BPC.
  • Quicker standup of BI Content, seems some of the 3.X content is still being used in 7+ which is a bit confusing.
  • Enhance the query designer side, would be nice to see real time preview of the report.
  • Enhance process chain maintenance, e.g. make it easier to kill jobs, restart, etc...
SAP Business Warehouse (BW) is great with structured data sources where fields and ETL schedules are clearly defined, however, I'm not sure how it would work with unstructured data sources. If your OLTP source is ECC, BW is the logical OLAP solution; integration is easy and most extractors are ready to use out of the box with little time to set up.