TrustRadius
SAP Business Warehouse (or SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse) is... a data warehouse for businesses.High priced but with good consultants, implementation and base case usesSAP Business Warehouse ("SAP BW") is used to aggregate data from disparate systems to create a single version of the truth or run reports / analyses across the entire organization. It is only used by the corporate team as each of the business divisions are extremely loyal to their specific software packages that are pulled into SAP BW (CRM, sales data, etc.). The most important business problems that are solved is (1) the ability to produce more sophisticated analysis to drive executive decision making and (2) compile certain regulatory reports that are extremely time-consuming if produced outside of a data warehouse.,Integrates, stores, and manages company data from all sources Pre-configured information models are better than average Security authorization protocols and flexibility Integration capabilities,Certain pruning can only take place on metadata rather than posted data High runtimes for query execution Results still requires fairly significant data verification time and effort Infocube requires significant optimization efforts,7,10% lower business analyst costs 5% higher productivity 7x as many useful business decisions,Microsoft 365 Business, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), NetSuite CRM+SAP Business WarehouseOn our client site, our reporting department uses SAP BW systems to generate the financial reports, customer data reports etc. It's been a challenge for departments to get the reports generated with the data from the latest availability of the backend systems, our BW system came up with the solution for the same accordingly.,it has the best availability tool for generating different reports like Bex analyzer different data models like sementic data model for different data management systems can easily integrate and generate the reports from different sources like XML file uploading, 3rd party data sources etc...,the regularly scheduled process chain gets hung sometimes and there is room for improvement. in the new version of NW, we need a seperate java based system to generate web-based reports. it should in fact inbuilt.,9,so far I have not heard any negative impact to our customer for their business, in fact, we have heard with the positive improvement only like, the reporting, modeling, numerous options. ultimately helps the planning process also got the optimized data pulling process. our internal team got the tremendous growth in performance, with historical data, trending analysis reports and different demand reports.,SAP BW ReviewFor our clients, we use SAP Business Warehouse systems for generating reports. It has always been easier for our company to gather data from several systems. The primary purpose being reporting, we also use it for analytics at the corporate level to analyze business performance in various sectors of our company.,Generating reports Ease of interaction with various data sources like XML Tables comparison is pretty easy Data warehousing,It is not very user-friendly for the beginners Slow speed in generating reports Not the best for larger datasets,6,Ability to import decades of data Requires a lot of training and not easy to customize,Oracle Data Warehouse,Oracle Data Warehouse, Microsoft SQL Server, Teradata DatabaseInside SAP Business WarehouseSAP BW is an enterprise data warehousing tool and we stored most of the data generated by systems in our organization generated over a LONG time into one mega Datawarehouse. Now we are able to run reports and review trends we could not before. It has also proven useful to gather data from several systems in use work with the data in a new report. We have been able to compare and organize data in ways we were able to imagine but not realize before.,Once the data has been cleansed it is very easy to import the items into the database system. I believe this to be a strength as we reduce time having to deal with the importing function and concentrate on cleansing. Table comparisons are easy to set up and powerful tools. This allows us to examine the data at hand rather than being tied up in the process.,Support comes slow. This is not a limitation of the software itself but could be a symptom from the local office. Once we get support everything works along smoothly. It is always important to review the instructions. This is not a system that does well initially with personalization without review of standard procedures. A log of time can be lost if the technicians and programmers working with the data are not following correct procedures.,7,The positive Return on Investment we receive with the software was the ability to import decades of data. We were then able to review the materials see trends we were previously unable to see without intense work. The only negative impact was applying the training and changing procedures to deal with the software. This worked out, obviously, because this is not a software to be using without proper training.,QlikView,Oracle Data Warehouse, QlikViewSAP Business Warehouse rocks (only in SAP world)SAP Business Warehouse (BW) is being used across the whole organization in my current employer. SAP BW was also used across the whole organization in my previous employers which were top 3 of their respective industries: telecommunications, oil & gas, mining, manufacturing and fast moving consumer goods. SAP BW was used as the primary reporting and analytics tools at the corporate level. SAP BW give the business an ability to analyze business performance mainly in finance and logistics.,Data replication from SAP ERP or other SAP systems (like SAP CRM, SAP APO). Data transformation from SAP ERP. Data warehousing capabilities.,Long cycle time from data preparation to reporting. Below par standard reporting user interface when using Business Explorer (BEx) reporting tool. Additional SAP products required for self-service capability and dashboarding.,7,Positive impact: consistent approach in SAP Business Warehouse corporate data warehouse is supporting a single source of truth for reporting. Negative impact: long turnaround time for report development. Negative impact: staff with good technical SAP Business Warehouse skill is expensive and hard to acquire,IBM Cognos, Microsoft SQL Server, Oracle Data Warehouse and Teradata Database,Alteryx Analytics, SAP Business Objects Data Quality Management, Tableau Desktop, Tableau Public, Microsoft SQL Server, Teradata Database, SAP HANA, JIRA Software
Unspecified
SAP Business Warehouse
78 Ratings
Score 7.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SAP BW Reviews

SAP BW
78 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 78 vetted SAP BW reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-12 of 12)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jeff Looby, CPA profile photo
November 23, 2018

SAP BW Review: "High priced but with good consultants, implementation and base case uses"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse ("SAP BW") is used to aggregate data from disparate systems to create a single version of the truth or run reports / analyses across the entire organization. It is only used by the corporate team as each of the business divisions are extremely loyal to their specific software packages that are pulled into SAP BW (CRM, sales data, etc.).

The most important business problems that are solved is (1) the ability to produce more sophisticated analysis to drive executive decision making and (2) compile certain regulatory reports that are extremely time-consuming if produced outside of a data warehouse.
  • Integrates, stores, and manages company data from all sources
  • Pre-configured information models are better than average
  • Security authorization protocols and flexibility
  • Integration capabilities
  • Certain pruning can only take place on metadata rather than posted data
  • High runtimes for query execution
  • Results still requires fairly significant data verification time and effort
  • Infocube requires significant optimization efforts
SAP BW is best for:

1. Large enterprises
2. Enterprises with 3+ legacy systems with entrenched users (politically difficult to merge)
3. Enterprises with employees who can understand both the technical capabilities of SAP BW and the needs of the business users - ability to speak both languages, otherwise the program could be unwieldy and potentially underutilized (it's not particularly inexpensive)

SAP BW is less appropriate for:

1. Small enterprises
2. Enterprises who have well established, same location, CRM and UFS - the integration of data analysis will be easier and less expensive with other solutions
3. HANA

Read Jeff Looby, CPA's full review
Pradeep Bele profile photo
February 15, 2018

User Review: "SAP Business Warehouse"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On our client site, our reporting department uses SAP BW systems to generate the financial reports, customer data reports etc. It's been a challenge for departments to get the reports generated with the data from the latest availability of the backend systems, our BW system came up with the solution for the same accordingly.
  • it has the best availability tool for generating different reports like Bex analyzer
  • different data models like sementic data model for different data management systems
  • can easily integrate and generate the reports from different sources like XML file uploading, 3rd party data sources etc...
  • the regularly scheduled process chain gets hung sometimes and there is room for improvement.
  • in the new version of NW, we need a seperate java based system to generate web-based reports. it should in fact inbuilt.
I used it for one of our customers to predict the future performance. SAP BW provides the result very seamlessly and accurately which ultimately improved the business for our client. From my point of view SAP BW best suits for the business where the data modeling and special warehouse reporting is necessary on a regular basis for getting financial, customer, sales, stakeholders etc data.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Kartik Chavan profile photo
May 17, 2018

"SAP BW Review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our clients, we use SAP Business Warehouse systems for generating reports. It has always been easier for our company to gather data from several systems. The primary purpose being reporting, we also use it for analytics at the corporate level to analyze business performance in various sectors of our company.
  • Generating reports
  • Ease of interaction with various data sources like XML
  • Tables comparison is pretty easy
  • Data warehousing
  • It is not very user-friendly for the beginners
  • Slow speed in generating reports
  • Not the best for larger datasets
SAP BW, being an enterprise data warehousing tool, is good for storing most of the data generated by systems. It is a tool to run reports and review trends. It is a good tool to compare and organize data as well. If you are new to the software, it can be very tedious to learn.
Read Kartik Chavan's full review
Alfred Brock profile photo
April 26, 2018

User Review: "Inside SAP Business Warehouse"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW is an enterprise data warehousing tool and we stored most of the data generated by systems in our organization generated over a LONG time into one mega Datawarehouse. Now we are able to run reports and review trends we could not before. It has also proven useful to gather data from several systems in use work with the data in a new report. We have been able to compare and organize data in ways we were able to imagine but not realize before.
  • Once the data has been cleansed it is very easy to import the items into the database system. I believe this to be a strength as we reduce time having to deal with the importing function and concentrate on cleansing.
  • Table comparisons are easy to set up and powerful tools. This allows us to examine the data at hand rather than being tied up in the process.
  • Support comes slow. This is not a limitation of the software itself but could be a symptom from the local office. Once we get support everything works along smoothly.
  • It is always important to review the instructions. This is not a system that does well initially with personalization without review of standard procedures. A log of time can be lost if the technicians and programmers working with the data are not following correct procedures.
SAP Business Warehouse is suited for large chunks of data. It is great if moving from older systems that could not process or report on the data they had collected. I do not feel it is appropriate for smaller sets of data. By saying this I am not suggesting that it does not do well with large records and record sets. It can handle those equally well but if there is limited data to work with this is not a reasonable option.
Read Alfred Brock's full review
Julius Shen profile photo
December 20, 2017

Review: "SAP Business Warehouse rocks (only in SAP world)"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse (BW) is being used across the whole organization in my current employer. SAP BW was also used across the whole organization in my previous employers which were top 3 of their respective industries: telecommunications, oil & gas, mining, manufacturing and fast moving consumer goods. SAP BW was used as the primary reporting and analytics tools at the corporate level. SAP BW give the business an ability to analyze business performance mainly in finance and logistics.
  • Data replication from SAP ERP or other SAP systems (like SAP CRM, SAP APO).
  • Data transformation from SAP ERP.
  • Data warehousing capabilities.
  • Long cycle time from data preparation to reporting.
  • Below par standard reporting user interface when using Business Explorer (BEx) reporting tool.
  • Additional SAP products required for self-service capability and dashboarding.
SAP Business Warehouse is well suited for large size corporations (more than 5,000 employees) with SAP ERP deployment and with multiple SAP modules (Finance, Materials Management, and Human Resources) deployment. SAP Business Warehouse needs to be supported by highly trained staff to take advantage its full functionalities. SAP Business Warehouse is less appropriate for small and medium-size corporations (less than 5,000 employees) as full SAP Business Warehouse support might become too expensive. SAP Business Warehouse is also less appropriate for an organization where SAP ERP is not used.
Read Julius Shen's full review
No photo available
April 02, 2018

User Review: "SAP BW for Enterprise Reporting"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW is used across the whole organization. SAP BW helps to provide company-wide enterprise reports mainly coming from SAP ECC data. Reports cover several areas including Finance, Supply Chain, Purchasing etc.
  • SAP BW is very good to process a large amount of data.
  • SAP BW can help perform complex transformation of data.
  • SAP BW has out of the box data sources to connect to ECC.
  • Front-end reporting can be made more user-friendly.
  • Some of the areas are still missing BI Content (COPA etc)
  • Metadata repository can be improved and made more user-friendly.
SAP BW is well suited where source systems are SAP such as ECC, CRM, SRM, SCM etc. For non-SAP data sources, it may be less appropriate.
Read this authenticated review
Brandi Brown-Lang profile photo
December 14, 2017

Review: "SAP Business Warehouse Will Streamline Any Warehouse"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used to keep track of what parts are in-house currently as well as what parts are coming in and are on back order. It also tracks possible demand when sales representatives are putting out bids and orders for their customers. I personally like when the sales team puts in bids that are in process so we can start working on lead times and vendors for products. It saves a lot of time down the road.
  • It tracks bin locations for parts which can be really helpful.
  • SAP Business Warehouse tells you who has a part checked out so you can find it.
  • It shows current parts shortages so buyers are flagged to get parts on order based on current demand.
  • I wish it could hold a part where even though it is not in use yet, but you know you will need it, it won't allow it to be checked it rather than put on backorder.
  • Some of the menu paths can be a little difficult to remember or follow.
  • It is not easy for a novice user to go in and create a report quickly.
We use it to track parts in the warehouse. This includes leaving and coming. If you have parts that come in and have to leave multiple times to have other work performed, it does get a little tricky. A lot of the times, part numbers have to be changed for coming and going and after they are worked on. I don't feel like it is the best in this scenario, but I don't know if any other software is either.
Read Brandi Brown-Lang's full review
Gustavo Porporato Daher profile photo
November 28, 2017

SAP BW: "SAP review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is been used across the company, through various business lines. It was mainly used to pull reports related to business performance, accounting controls, periodic reporting etc.
  • Business performance.
  • Finance and non finance reporting.
  • Accounting controls.
  • Speed.
  • Difficult to customize.
  • Easy and friendly approach.
It works fine in scenarios with complex structures, large amount of data, despite the limitations of speed.
Read Gustavo Porporato Daher's full review
Lesley Bimonte profile photo
April 05, 2017

"SAP BW End User's Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Business Warehouse is used directly by a handful of departments, with end users being super users of BEX as an interface to Excel. These departments are mostly finance, procurement, and quality. The rest of the company uses it indirectly as BW is feeding other BI tools for dashboards used throughout the company.
  • Great at interfacing with BI tools
  • Great at merging multiple data sources
  • Works with data sources outside of SAP
  • When working in BEX, would like to see version control of queries
  • Archiving of cube data could be improved
  • Poor graphing options
SAP Business Warehouse is great when all your data comes straight from SAP, but BW is also fine for combining SAP data with data from other sources (we combined with a CRM for consumer complaint data). Unless BW is being used to feed another BI dashboard, end user capability is limited to trained personnel.
Read Lesley Bimonte's full review
Sam Figueroa profile photo
August 04, 2016

SAP BW Review: "Aging Business Warehousing software but still very solid and stable."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP business warehouse as an entire organization across the board. We use it as a data management system to store reporting data. We also use BEx as an interface to Excel and also use a data model called Infocubes. It also allows us to access data from other non SAP programs through the db link.
  • Great tool for operational reporting
  • Great analytical platform for enterprise environments
  • Great for operational planning and forecasting
  • Age of software is showing as it struggles with very large data modules, which were not as prevalent in its early years
  • Querying performance at times can be very slow
  • Support and development for BEx has been discontinued or hard to find.
SAP Business Warehouse would be a great piece of a software for a small company with small data. It does its job very well but once you start adding large volumes of data it gets very slow. Situations where speed is not a primary factor would be an optimal environment for SAP BW
Read Sam Figueroa's full review
Vivek Gupta profile photo
July 05, 2016

"SAP BW 7.0 Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP BW 7.0 is used by my current client as an enterprise reporting solution. It addresses all reporting needs for my current client such as: operational reports, forecasting reports etc. It is a very good multidimensional (OLAP) EDW solution from SAP.
  • Multidimensional reporting
  • Logistics reporting
  • Standard BI content
  • Tight intergration with SAP ECC and SAP HANA
  • Tight security
  • Dashboards
  • Export capability for reports like Export to PDF is not available
  • Graph capabilities - no heat chart. This tool is more linked with Excel capabilities.
  • Development is time consuming in this
  • Maintenance is time consuming
  • Date format limitations - It accepts dates in a particular format
It is mainly suited for the clients who already use an SAP shop and already have SAP ECC/SAP HANA. The rich BI content in this tool makes it different from others and I think that is the core strength of this tool. Moreover this is an application which uses online analytical processing methodology. This helps in easy multidimensional analysis of the data compared to other RDBMS applications.
Read Vivek Gupta's full review
Mark Liston profile photo
April 26, 2016

User Review: "SAP BW"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it in our finance departments for different accounting purposes. It is connected to our OLTP ECC system and we ETL the data daily to enhance end user reporting. Our biggest gains from using BW are the ability to have self contained ETL and also move reports from the OLTP (ECC) to the OLAP (BW) side.
  • ETL, great at taking data from OLTP source, flat file, etc... Easy drag and drop for transformations.
  • Great reporting possibilities, easy to connect with BO, BPC, etc...
  • Great Master Data Management (MDM )for BPC - helps us maintain master data for BPC.
  • Quicker standup of BI Content, seems some of the 3.X content is still being used in 7+ which is a bit confusing.
  • Enhance the query designer side, would be nice to see real time preview of the report.
  • Enhance process chain maintenance, e.g. make it easier to kill jobs, restart, etc...
SAP Business Warehouse (BW) is great with structured data sources where fields and ETL schedules are clearly defined, however, I'm not sure how it would work with unstructured data sources. If your OLTP source is ECC, BW is the logical OLAP solution; integration is easy and most extractors are ready to use out of the box with little time to set up.
Read Mark Liston's full review

SAP BW Scorecard Summary

About SAP BW

SAP Business Warehouse (or SAP NetWeaver Business Warehouse) is... a data warehouse for businesses.
Categories:  Data Warehouse

SAP BW Competitors

SAP BW Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No