SAP HANA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
290 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius TRUE Badge

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 140)

Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

HANA provides 10,000 times speed improvements over traditional relational database.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA had an extended evaluation to become our new relational database to replaced Sybase Adaptive Server Enterprise. Our group reviewed it for two possible use cases. The first which was a step one in our evolution, was to use the A4A option where we migrate all of the data to HANA and use Sybase ASE as a front-end for HANA so that we don't have to recode our suite of applications. ASE would use the A4A feature (Accelerator for ASE) where ASE would push down all queries to HANA to be serviced. This would allow us to get the speed of HANA without the expense of retooling our applications to talk directly to HANA. Then step two was to identify which applications would survive long-term and migrate those to native HANA. We were interested in HANA because of the in-memory performance. During our testing we saw query speed improvements of 10,000X. Not 10,000 percent but 10,000 times faster in HANA than in ASE.
  • In-memory performance.
  • Seamless integration with Sybase ASE.
  • Support for ANSI SQL.
  • Support for History Tables.
  • Ability to perform on the fly what if calculations with lightning fast speed.
  • HANA is not just a database, it's really a platform.
  • I wish they would have built-in support for T-SQL since they own that parser from Sybase ASE.
HANA has incredible query processing speeds. When compared with Sybase ASE for large dataset queries, we saw 10,000 times performance improvement. And for the individual point queries, we found that it was on par with Sybase ASE and that is because all of the response time is the round trip latency from the client initiating the query to the database and back. But for those large set processing requests that take a long time on Sybase, they ran 10,000 times faster on HANA. HANA is expensive so it should be used where in-memory transaction speeds are required and there are large volumes of data to be processed.
Read Gene Baker's full review
Prathamesh Muzumdar | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

SAP HANA: An effective way to run your database

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is a premium ERP solution that is used across many verticals. It helps us to improve performance and save space to create efficiency in processing information. HANA databases are used across all verticals creating better effectiveness in storage and data transfer. It helps us to do real-time analysis of data to make quick and precise decisions over different facets of verticals. The recent version has improved performance and good speed of reporting with data fetching, calculation, and processing. Graphical UI has also improved with new calculation views, CDS views, and AMDP classes. It is highly scalable when it comes to managing big data while maintaining speed, accessibility, and efficiency. The new architecture saves and organizes data in columns and in-memory, which eliminates slow speed and use of excess memory. Overall, SAP HANA is a great solution across all verticals.
  • A huge amount of data can be processed in SAP HANA using parallel processing.
  • Workflows are used to deliver and structure process.
  • Excellent integration with SAP and Non SAP systems--data consolidation is very easy and very fast.
  • Object migration is a big challenge in SAP HANA.
  • The integration of media files is tenuous.
  • Smartphone-based applications and desktop-based applications are completely different.
SAP HANA is great when processing huge amounts of big data. It uses parallel processing to add speed to data analysis. This helps make the process more efficient. Workflows are great to manage storage and transfer of data. We use it regularly across many verticals. It also structures process very well. It integrates very well with other ERP systems, which include SAP SD, SAP MM, etc. For my organization, SAP HANA is a huge challenge when it comes to object migration. Media file integration is tenuous and sometimes may take too long to process. Integration with Google APIs is a huge challenge as it makes the process time-consuming.
Read Prathamesh Muzumdar's full review
Vivek Prabhu | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

Make Your Organization Run Faster!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several SAP systems upgraded to HANA Database, across the whole organization. It has improved the performance and speed of reporting and data fetching, calculation and processing considerably with the use of Calculation Views, CDS Views and AMDP Classes.
  • BI/BW System exploit HANA artifacts for faster reporting.
  • PLM system makes use of CDS Views and Calculation Views for faster processing of data.
  • Ease of creating, maintaining and moving calculation views across landscape.
SAP HANA is well suited for BI/BW systems for faster performance of reporting. Processes requiring heavy data calculation and manipulation require SAP HANA systems. Processes and systems wherein there is no heavy data existing can avoid SAP HANA.
Read Vivek Prabhu's full review
Vivek Yalla | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is a relational database which supports a wide range of business intelligence, ERP and other enterprise applications. HANA resides in-memory allowing the CPU to access data directly.
  • Huge data processing.
  • High performance.
  • DR and HA.
  • Backups.
  • Replication.
  • Data masking.
SAP Hana is well suited for integration and data porting, replication, integration, and data security.
Read Vivek Yalla's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2020

Measurable System Performance Improvements!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is the in-memory database for our SAP ERP installation. We are using the Suite on HANA platform for ERP and BI systems. It drastically reduced our database operation times improving the performances of reporting, APIs, pricing engine, and SCM processed, resulting in better user experience and overall faster responses. It helps avoid bottlenecks in data processing operations.
  • Reduction in database operation times.
  • Increased performances, especially for programs and processed optimized for SAP HANA.
  • SAP HANA works well for the programs and processed optimized for HANA. This may involve additional work for the organization.
  • The migration and the simplification process are tedious.
SAP ERP installations where there is an increased demand on the system from massive database operations like pricing calculation, supply chain route/operations, Saas product integrations like Salesforce and Ariba, e-Commerce, and digital operations. The system performs optimally with the in-memory database, drastically reducing the database processing times. Also, this is the direction SAP HANA is heading, and the traditional database model will not be supported beyond 2027.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

SAP HANA Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used for business applications. This In-Memory database helps with performance, real time-reporting etc., when compared with other databases. Also the combination of column and row store is good for OLTP as well as a data warehouse.
  • Faster processing
  • HA and DR capabilities
  • Needs to improve Data Masking, SDA,Eclipse etc
  • Limitations with replication when compared with other RDBMs
SAP HANA is well suited [as an] enterprise reporting solution, in-memory computing helps with real-time data, reporting is fast with large volumes of data especially for enterprise data warehouse, ERP, CRM etc., systems. I wouldn't recommend for smaller and unstructured data as other RDMBs are easy to manage and cost-effective.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 09, 2020

HANA is the future for SAP

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is the foundation of the intelligent revolution at SAP. At our organization, it is being used everywhere we use SAP. Solution Manager is on HANA, ERP is on HANA, cloud applications are on HANA as well. We interact with it on a daily basis. HANA's in-memory data platform is a true next-generation foundation.
  • In-memory data allows for rapid analysis and processing.
  • HANA enables intelligent services such as machine Llearning with HANA-optimized functions.
  • Because it is in-memory, it is expensive to run. You require large amounts of RAM to run HANA.
If you are an SAP customer already, HANA is the future. The reliability of SAP with the speed of innovation HANA provides makes it a winner. As a new customer, you have a large array of choices in how to deploy HANA. Cloud, on-premise, or even hybrid solutions exist and implementation is quite straight forward.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 27, 2020

SAP HANA: The new way to play with data

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implement this across the whole organization.
The main aim of migration to SAP HANA is to extract the data faster, to analyze sales reports and available materials.
  • To extract millions of records took only a few seconds. It helps you to make quick decisions
  • This helps for running reports and queries
  • Definitely in GUI for developers as well as consultants
  • Some additional functionality should be available to manage security. Even though the current security is good, but providing security from non SAP HANA system to HANA systems is a little complicated
This is good when you have high volume of records.
Not suitable for small organizations that have a lower volume of data
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 22, 2020

Great for analytics but resource consuming

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA solves our performance issues coupled with S/4HANA. It is used
in our whole organization (70000 people in 50 countries). All business
transactions are actually using SAP HANA, at least for most of our
countries.

We also use a secondary SAP HAHA
Database to consolidate data and use it for our
business intelligence reports.
  • Performance
  • Size
  • Accuracy
SAP HANA is perfect for my company. However for BI scenarios, it's a bit more complicated as the OLAP and OLTP engine is not fast. We are also having a lot of trouble with the CPU usage of the database. The integrated scenarios are ok, they are easily escalated into a productive solution.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

SAP HANA - A brief review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are from the consulting world, and we build and help implement SAP Applications for our clients. We have also implemented SAP HANA for time-sheet management and resource management for our clients. We have also addressed the problem regarding payroll and on-boarding of new hires. We have also helped in transforming clients’ ECC/Legacy systems to SAP HANA. Developed multiple CDS Views and analytical views to help them reduce costs in analysis and data management.
  • Administration.
  • It makes it very easy for the end users from the company admin to provision access and grant users authorisation to use various transactions and perform their day to day jobs very easily and seamlessly.
  • Our clients have also mentioned that the extension capabilities, i.e. customisations availed were really helpful and made it more suited to their business.
  • Analytics and Data Processing
  • Our clients business has boomed after using this feature. Their sales have gone up and their costs to market have reduced drastically.
  • They come to know exactly what market to target and the variety of users to target.
  • Security
  • The security features and integration to various IAM platforms such as Sailpoint Identity IQ, SAP IDM, SAP Cloud Administration Platform has been seamless for our clients.
  • They’ve really appreciated the security features available built into the SAP HANA platform.
  • Roles and authorisation concepts, use of CVA, use of ETD, and cloud based security solutions provided by SAP has been a boon for them.
  • These are easily integrated into the SAP HANA platform on top of the platform’s security.
  • Web IDE is too slow
  • A better way to interface with Web IDE would be a boon for all of us consultants and developers.
  • SAP HANA is only compatible with SUSE Certified hardware or SAP
  • Compatibility could be expanded.
  • Expansion in support for the existing architectures would also help reduce our costs and time to implement HANA on a massive scale.
  • At times we have faced an issue of HANA shutting down due to heavy data loads.
I would recommend SAP HANA to a colleague for the following reasons:
1. HANA is all about in-memory computing, which means that you get immediate real-time results.
2. HANA has many advantages such as mass data, agility, total cost of ownership, any data type processing etc.
3. HANA empowers the business user as opposed to the developer.
4. HANA is available as a physical box. Hence this makes you feel secure that you have all your data under your control.
5. HANA helps a lot in predictive analysis and also has an analytical library.
6. iPad apps that are built on the HTML5 platform can connect directly to HANA.
7. HANA is available on the cloud and also has a mobility platform.

For these reasons, SAP HANA is one of the best an enterprise can work with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

SAP HANA for ERP

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used as the database for our SAP system. It is a cross-system used by many people in the organization. The systems cover the ERP needs across the organization. Having a centralized tool for accounting, purchases, etc.
  • Much faster than the previous one.
  • Better look & feel.
  • Change management in the organization.
I have no background to answer appropriately what it's well or less well suited or. What I can share is my experience. Which means end of month closings and usage of SAP is faster since we got SAP HANA.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

Great Database

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within the IT department of our company we use this relational database together with SAP Cloud Platform. We use it principally to solve analytical problems as a generation of dashboards. The data is dumped into said database through an ETL using its connectors.
  • Analytics functions
  • Column-oriented
  • OLAP operations
  • Row mode
  • Have IT staff
  • Price
Our scope is the Smart Cities and within these scenarios, in which we generate dashboards, custom reports, ETL, etc. HANA behaves very well, thanks to its OLAP capabilities that allow for obtaining information very quickly. In addition, it is very scalable to grow your applications.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 28, 2019

HANA makes reporting much more faster

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have currently implemented SAP HANA to support all the company reporting needs. By using SAP HANA, our company has sped up the report generating speed as well as simplified decision-making efforts.
  • Very fast processing.
  • Improved report generation.
  • Easy to manage data and data source.
  • High license costs.
  • XSa is complicated.
  • It should identify easily the ABAP programs that can be optimized.
HANA is well suited when generating heavy reports like logistics movements or stock availability in the company warehouses. It also provides a much richer information to the end-user than previous versions.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

SAP HANA for SAP BW

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used as the motor to run the SAP BW on top of. We currently have BW on HANA, we do not have the BW/4HANA yet. Nevertheless we took advantage of HANA using the HANA models that are optimised within SAP BW.
  • Speed.
  • Model simplifaction.
  • Lowering TCO.
  • Cost of infrastructure.
  • Need to learn on new models and philosophy.
  • Need to upgrade systems and deprecate some BI tools.
SAP HANA is suited for SAP-centric companies. In a very simple summary it is a change of a traditional relational database into a columnar database. This changes how the information is accessed and written and makes live "faster." In cases where you are not SAP-centric, there might be another in-memory solution with other costs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 26, 2019

SAP HANA review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using SAP HANA on our corporate business warehouse. It allows us to use the BW software suite on top of the HANA database and leverage in-memory storage that leads to faster data loads and simplified data modeling.
  • Performance in reporting and data loading using HANA in-memory database capabilities.
  • Perform complex queries, detailed analysis, and high data volume with HANA optimized objects.
  • High level of data compression.
  • High storage cost.
  • Limited hardware compatibility.
  • Issues when running on a hybrid solution (partly on cloud and partly on-premise).
In my opinion, HANA is well suited to scenarios like SAP Business Warehouse which you can push down to the HANA DB the hard work. On the other hand, it doesn't function properly on hybrid scenarios (partly on cloud and partly on-premise).
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

My SAP HANA Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP HANA across the whole organization because it is the database of our ERP, and our data warehouse because we also use BW on HANA technology.
  • Advanced Analytics Processing
  • Security
  • App Development
  • Cost
  • Integration with non SAP tools
  • Easier license management
In my opinion, SAP HANA is well-suited for real-time financial planning and big data scenarios. It is less appropriate for small businesses due to its expensive in-memory data storage.
Read this authenticated review
Jorge Zambrano Hernandez | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 08, 2019

HANA the futre of databases

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA it's the best way to improve performance and save space for the company while giving new possibilities for innovation.
  • Compress information.
  • High performance.
  • Speed in calculations.
  • New ways to integrate SAP and non-SAP products.
  • Interface access.
  • User experience.
It is recommended for companies with big landscapes and integration and needs improvement in their times.
I would not recommend this for small companies with slow growth.
Read Jorge Zambrano Hernandez's full review
ABHINAW KUMAR SINGH | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

SAP HANA: Change in doing business

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used in my department. It helps my client in real-time analysis of their business. Based on this analysis they can make quick decisions to further enhance their user experience.
  • In-memory data processing makes it faster.
  • Parallel processing helps in processing huge amount of data.
  • Easy-to-use UI.
  • Connected to different data sources easily.
  • HANA Application Life Cycle management portal needs to be improved for faster collection of Transport Requests.
  • Sometimes server got hanged while dealing with a large amount of data.
  • Not compatible with every operating system.
  • Requires larger RAM size than usual.
SAP HANA is well suited for real-time data analysis. It is suited for tracking a product life cycle right from its manufacturing to user hand over.
We should avoid HANA for historical data storage and analysis purpose.
Read ABHINAW KUMAR SINGH's full review
Dieter Steinmann | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 22, 2019

SAP HANA as an investment in the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HANA is used over the whole Organisation. It is our backbone for all our SAP systems.
  • Extremely fast.
  • Reliable.
  • Futuristic technology for SAP and non-SAP environments.
  • License is a problem
  • especially for Big Data Use Cases the License Model is not feasible
  • HANA should be more Data Center Ready
HANA is perfect for an SAP system environment. The combination of row and column store is a perfect combination for transactional and analytics applications in one single database.
Read Dieter Steinmann's full review
Soumen Das | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA, the Ferrari of ERP

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for CFMS and debt management. All the financial transactions process in SAP HANA and we are reaping the benefits of it. Our turn-around time in serving the users has come down significantly. The time that was being taken to complete a process has come down from a month's time to hours.
  • Reducing process times.
  • Processes are now structured and delivered through workflows.
  • Analytics of data.
  • The UI experience.
  • Integration with Google's API.
  • Integration of media files.
Well suited for projects with timeline constraints.
Read Soumen Das's full review
Saurabh Sharan  PMP® | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Concur for our travel expenses and associates' expenses. This was recently brought in by our GBS India and launched successfully. This made the travel expense easy especially direct feed from our banks where the associates don't have to reenter saving a lot of time. Life is easy after that....
  • Real time.
  • More data.
  • Easier and faster.
  • Personally I believe the UI could be much more compact and I see improvement areas.
  • Mobile application and desktop are very different.
  • Sometimes you need type-in help on mouse hover for faster input and selection.
  • Now HANA is going cloud where data and security becomes a concern for larger companies. We want to see a benchmark company in manufacturing domain with such a large retail presence. I see there are areas for improvement in that.
It is suited for large scale data and faster real-time analysis. I also think that on-premise is heavy on configuration where HANA made it simple by apps and Fiori.
Read Saurabh Sharan PMP®'s full review
Dheeraj Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA - made life easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used extensively in my organization. Starting from S/4HANA as EPR and BW/4HANA as Reporting and SAC (SAP Analytics on Cloud) for Dashboarding. This is solving all day-to-day operations starting from Order to Cash, Procurement to Delivery, Financial closing - AP/AR. Moreover, it is also helping us to managing our HR operations, their salaries, etc.
  • In-memory computation - resolve all slow performance issues to great extent.
  • Column storage - reduce memory footprint and cost of hardware.
  • Agile and quick development reduced development efforts significantly.
  • Connectivity with SAP and non-SAP systems - helped to get all data under one umbrella for consolidated reporting.
  • Currently Enterprise HANA gets data via table replication through SLT. There is no provision to use the function module which is part of S/4HANA in Enterprise HANA. Looking for functionality wherein we can call these function modules in Enterprise HANA and fetch relevant data.
  • There is no further release of HANA live views from SAP side. There are certain areas where we have to build HANA views from the start. Having more HANA live views will help us to speed up the development.
  • Adding debugging functionality.
Suitable on all places where we have organized and structured data mainly from SAP sources. Less appropriate wherein the data is unstructured one and data volume is too high. Rather to load this data directly in SAP HANA, first make it structured and then store meaningful data for better insight.
Read Dheeraj Garg's full review
Saravanan Subbiah | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Recommendations and Benefits

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deloitte is using SAP HANA products to handle the customers' business.
  • Parallel processing.
  • Column storage and faster performance.
  • OLTP data will be handled in proper manner.
  • SQL joins as sometimes modelling is taking more time.
  • SAC - is not supporting counter.
  • Multiple optional is not supporting in Analysis of Office.
  • Improve the Hierarchy performance in HANA as it is supporting referential join hence blank MD records are missing.
Real-time data analysis will be faster in SAP HANA. SAP HANA products are suitable to visualizing the data.
Read Saravanan Subbiah's full review
Umapada Dash | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Review @SAPTechED

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 4 is used as the back-end database in my organization for storing the Transactional Data and reporting it on Tableau Report. It's used across the Operational Business Area in the organization. It helps the end user to see the data in real time and reporting within the SLA to make further decisions.
  • Parallel data processing.
  • In-memory storage.
  • Real-time data replication through SLT.
  • Object migration.
  • UNION node mapping.
  • Rank node performance.
If you have source system in SAP then HANA is a best solution for further Business Logic Implementation. For non-SAP source system like Teradata we need any third-party toll to replicate the data into HANA for further analysis. In cases of reporting, HANA will be best as it has the columnar storage features.
Read Umapada Dash's full review
Vakas Shaikh | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA - The game changer

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used for financial reporting and analytics across the whole organization. SAP HANA provides real-time transactional reports which is really helpful.
  • Zero downtime.
  • Single source of truth.
  • Faster speed.
  • Cost of ownership for on-premise.
  • Sometimes accidental crashes on heavy usage on peak time.
  • Faster extraction of CSV reports.
SAP HANA is more than a big data solution, it is more than just a database, it is a platform on which you can build great applications and reporting solutions.
Read Vakas Shaikh's full review

About SAP HANA

The SAP HANA® platform combines a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. According to the vendor, it enables real-time business by converging transactions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA aims to untangle IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.
Categories:  Embedded Database

SAP HANA Features

Has featureIn-memory, columnar, massively parallel database processing
Has featureFull ACID compliance
Has featureMultitenancy

SAP HANA Integrations

SAP HANA Competitors

Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations (Dynamics AX), Cognos TM1

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SAP HANA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No