TrustRadius
SAP HANA is an application that uses in-memory database technology to process very large amounts of real-time data from relational databases, both SAP and non-SAP, in a very short time. The in-memory computing engine allows HANA to process data stored in RAM as opposed to reading it from a disk which means that the data can be accessed in real time by the applications using HANA. The product is sold both as an appliance and as a cloud-based software solution.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Kx/1h/QTQCX47ATCR4.JPEGTry HANA for instant reportingSAP HANA is used throughout our organization. The speed that it can process data is amazing. We have been able to convert many of our BW reports to real-time HANA based reporting and have been moving forward with our Fiori implementation to give our users an easer user experience.,HANA has allowed us to convert our BW reports and provide users with real time report data. Prior to moving to HANA, the reporting was based on prior day activities. Queries involving large amount of financial data are able to be run much quicker with HANA than prior to implementation.,I really don't have any recommendations for improvement.,10,One of the positive impacts it has had is that more cutting edge technology that uses HANA is now available for our use. Examples of this include the implementation of the Fiori user interface. We are now able to generate our key budgetary report immediately and has been helpful in the budgeting and procurement processes. Encumbrances and budget availability is now viewable real time which expedites our users ability to process additional transactions.,SAP Business Warehouse,SAP Business Warehouse, SuccessFactors Perform and Reward, OpenText ECMParadigm shift with SAP HANASAP HANA is used as a database across the entire organization to support day to day operations in Siemens for various business divisions and product lines in the Americas. It is used as the basis to support everyday business transactions, for planning and forecasting purposes, support integrated end-to-end business and business consolidation.,SAP HANA has alleviated some long running jobs in the back-end based on a database read for critical reports to higher management. SAP HANA has helped provide super users and controllers insights to key figures and margins in their profit centers within desired time-frame. Reports that in the past took more than 20 hours to complete now become available in less than 2 hours. Month-end, Quarter-end and Year-end long running batch jobs have seen drastic improvements in performance. Corporate Finance and Shared Services Departments that used to have heartaches and pain points with the critical dependent jobs at month end now see the results within desired time frames. SAP HANA has helped not only improve the performance of read access based reports but also the performance of jobs used to update the database (write-access based programs) resulting in a paradigm shift resulting in an increased leverage to perform the corrective actions as part of error handling.,SAP HANA has room for improvement in providing a user-friendly interface to help users create their own queries. Currently, the provision to create queries is controlled and could improve on the intuitive features. The cost of the RAM is quite expensive compared to disks. Cost per bite is higher with SAP HANA. There had been a couple occurrences where the productive system went down after the go-live. Both times, SAP folks, local IT, Global IT, Infrastructure support and network folks were involved in discussions to troubleshoot and no concrete reason was discovered. The recommendations were to increase the server size, limit the HANA view usage (to limit resource pulls) and to ensure to keep latest versions of SAP Hana in the backend. There is room for improvement in this area.,9,One of the biggest positive impacts on the implicit ROI of SAP HANA was realized in improved closed time at month end. This has provided the shared services and corporate accounting folks [the opportunity] to work closely with the business and IT to proactively perform error handling without jeopardizing the close. Another big positive impact on ROI was realized with empowering the users to create/modify and enhance their own Fiori tiles without relying on IT. The overall satisfaction index of the business due to the paradigm shift with upgrading to HANA was increased due to the increased performance of the backend jobs - the complex time consuming tasks were in some cases eliminated while in others improved drastically on performance driving up the business satisfaction.,Oracle Database 12c and Microsoft SQL Server,Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management, Eclipse, Microsoft AccessSAP HANA WorldSAP HANA is being used by the entire organization but the primary functionality is used by Finance. We are in 1605 with Simple Finance. This was more of a technical upgrade move. New asset accounting and cash management are the only new functionalities that we have embraced.,Universal Journal. No reconciliations are required between FI and COPA. This is a big advantage. New asset accounting is more robust and provides options to create multiple ledger groups. Treasury and Cash management are user-friendly now. Performance of base accounting tables is very fast.,Fiori is very rigid. Every finance user requires an Excel download. This is not available for trial balance apps, hence its use is not seen. No new customization to existing Fiori apps. We have to create new custom Fiori apps.,8,It has opened up options to implement new functionality and prepare for the financial transformation initiated by the company Implemented cash management More options on reporting and making existing reports obsolete have been a challenge since Fiori does not match up to existing reporting functionalities.,Oracle API Platform Cloud,Salesforce Analytics Cloud, SAP CRM, SAP Business WarehouseUser FeedbackHana is used by the entire organization to store SAP ECC 6 ERP system data. It is also used for analytics purposes. It allows for real-time reporting abilities as well as faster performances. Front end tools are used to report out of Hana views for operational purposes. Hana also helps in using other offerings from SAP like Fiori.,Fast performance: Real-time aggregation SAP Hana is not just a database but a platform. We are also using SAP AFL-PAL for predictive abilities SAP Hana is the foundation to build better UI like Fiori.,Stability of the database. Developer editions/offering on cloud for developing a community. Small videos < 5 min to show different functionalities. Maybe a series on Youtube.,8,Positive: Single source of truth. Positive: Reduced data footprint hence less storage. Negative: Expensive.,Stellar Repair for MS SQL and Oracle Analytics Cloud Service,Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance Management, Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft AccessSAP Application on HANAAt our organization we are running SAP GRC on DB HANA 2.0 SP03. We are using XSA WEB IDE for creating HANA native applications for reporting and analysis purposes. HANA's in-memory calculation feature has opened new doors for performing calculations and for reporting. In XSA it is really easy to achieve isolation between different HANA applications. Thank you SAP and the team that is working on HANA.,In-memory calculation Application isolation to enhance security Connectivity with different UIs to present the data,HANA DB Authorization Intra HDI Data Access Inbuilt FLP,9,Initial investment is high but over time you get a positive ROI High level of security in HANA's native application prevents organizations from cyber attacks Low maintenance cost over time,Oracle Analytics Cloud Day by DaySAP HANA is a must haveSAP HANA was a major game changer for us. Implementing it immediately improved our processes. It is a very efficient database. Super fast and very reliable. The performance improvement is superb. I can't imagine an SAP implementation without it anymore. Implementation was a serious effort, and a sort if difficult transformation. But in return our database shrunk to a lot smaller size, a fraction of its former state. The speed increase of executing database actions, calculations, became super fast.,Speed Simplicity Reliability,Serious effort to switch Hardware requirement,10,We could simplify many related processes, like recovery and safety procedures. Using HANA DB increased our performance, hence we became way more efficient in every process. Setting up new environments became way simpler.,,SAP Business Warehouse, SAP Analytics CloudSimple, real time, predictiveThis product is used across different business groups to simplify finance and logistics.,Real-time information, powerful analytics Simplify operations, eliminate IT footprint Enabling platform for AI, machine learning and advanced analytics,Cost is the big deciding factor for the organizations to make the decision. Too many products and confusion in reporting. There is the dashboard and the data warehouse. It's good to have one strategic roadmap towards reporting.,10,Positive: the ability to access information, predict information, and get insights in real time.SAP HANA: the Ferrari of a datastore.SAP HANA is used by my organization to support a new analytics platform being developed for real-time analysis of product consumption. Based on product consumption, pricing adjustments are made in real time. SAP HANA is not used as a mere data store. Rather its analytical engines led to its adoption in our project.,Advanced analytical engine Real-time analytics Numerous engines, like spatial engines, which help with modeling.,SAP HANA is not for traditional data operations. It is costly while on-premise, the licenses are not cheap. It is a new software with limited adoption and there are fewer resources who have working knowledge.,8,SAP HANA is not for everybody. It is for high-end analytical apps and when used properly, the ROI is huge. E.G., it is ideal for creating a correlation between a pricing engine and an inventory. The price of commodities can be manipulated in real-time based on demand. It is not a traditional data store. So if it is used to store data, it is just a royal waste of precious resources. It is ideal for creating models based on real-time data and, hence, it can provide good ROI for businesses which rely on data for marketing.,,MongoDB, Cassandra, Microsoft SQL ServerSAP HANA is a good improvement in both the IT and business sideSAP HANA is used to improve the business processes in our clients. Basically, it is improving reports and process execution and it is being used for the main business processes in SAP. We are involved directly in supporting the security authorization part, adapting the roles and authorizations to the new changes. In addition, it is used in some cases to improve the user interface through Fiori Apps, to makes the user experience easier.,SAP User Experience Improve report execution Improves business process execution,Some Fiori Apps have auth issues that needs to be resolved GRC Fiori apps with limited functionalities More information at the authorization level in SAP notes,7,Less time to execution User friendly Less data base dumps,,SAS Enterprise GRC, SAP Access Control, SAP BPC (Business Planning and Consolidation)Shaik on SAP HANASAP HANA is used by different groups with the organization. Different teams, groups has got different purposes they use its as per there requirements and needs. SAP HANA improves business process agility. SAP HANA improves Cost Management. Data management became easy by using SAP HANA system. Data handling, Modeling the data has become easy in SAP HANA.,Improved business processes. Cost management. In-memory database,Cost-wise it's still expensive. Cloud integration is slow some times. Deployment time.,9,Win-Win for both parties. Memory computation modules. Overall cost is high.,,SAP Analytics Cloud, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft BISAP HANA - Incredible platform that you pay forWe currently use HANA as a sidecar system. It is used across our entire enterprise and we use it to gather data and report off of our SAP system. The truly great thing about SAP HANA is the efficiency and scalability it brings to our organization. It offers a much more user friendly and accessible platform to transform our data and output in meaningful ways. The ability to use SQL rather than going through ABAP is a significant plus. Also the speed with which our data is processed makes it much easier to dashboard and write reports for our clients.,HANA is ultra-fast at processing data. It runs in-memory so it is almost real-time data. HANA is extremely versatile. It allows us to use graphical views or SQL based views. HANA is also able to tap into multiple tools outside of SAP. It unifies your data sources.,The initial deployment of HANA can be a bit overwhelming. Cost can be a deterrent for some businesses. Managing the SAP server and hardware can be difficult at times when starting out.,10,We are able to provide real time data to our clients around invoicing and payments. This ensures we are paid in a timely manner. We are able to provide audit data for years in days rather than the weeks it took on our prior system. We can also provide instant KPI's to our executive team so they are able to focus on important areas.,Microsoft Power BIMost preferred ERP solution in the market.We have been using SAP HANA for almost more than a year now. This system is as robust as you could wish it to be. It did solve all our ERP needs, which in turn helped the business. We are currently using it in our department and are in progress to expand it throughout the organization.,Set up is super easy, and integration with SAP products has been outstanding. Complete reporting solution. From accounts payable to supplier account information, it has a wide range of reporting options. What I really like with HANA is its multi-engine processing environment. This makes data processing faster.,More training materials on modules would be a good thing. Reports get executed slowly, especially on mobile. It is a bit expensive compared to other similar tools in the market.,9,this solution has sorted most of the issues related to ERP in our organization, which in turn helped to run the business more smoothly.,Oracle Database 12c,Drift, JIRA Software, Adobe Photoshop, Adobe Acrobat DCReview on SAP HANASAP HANA is used by different teams in our organization. SAP HANA has an amazing speed for running queries for multiple years in one report. Tool is flexible and user-friendly. This tool helps us on a day to day basis for planning and forecasting purposes. SAP HANA is integrated with multiple sources to provide one consolidated view.,SAP HANA is integrated with multiple sources, which is helpful in planning and forecasting. Quick turnaround time for huge data set with multiple fields to customize our reporting needs. In memory calculations Realiability of data,If the SAP HANA deployment price is reduced this will help small companies to afford the tool Limited functionality with FIORI apps The time for deployment is little concerning; maybe it can be reduced.,9,For now I did not find any Return on Investment Best suited for analytics and reporting Not very effective for a small set of data Little expensive,9,8,,AWS Cloud9, Ariba Procurement, Azure Bot Service, Oracle Data Integration Platform CloudAn excellent platformSAP Hana is used by the entire Siemens organization as a database for the ECC6 systems EHP7 packs. It has addressed some critical problems with regards to long-running back end batch jobs that would take forever in the Oracle database utilized before. However, the new world has simplified it drastically giving the ability to the users to run reports on the fly, especially speeding up the month end processes.,SAP Hana is more than a database. It is a platform that gives users the ability to perform queries on the fly. SAP Hana utilizes columnar compression, which speeds up performance related issues drastically for jobs or report running. HANA Studio provides us the ability to build reports, joins and calculation views that can be easily deployed without the need of detailed development.,Stability of database is a key aspect we would recommend. In terms of missing functionality, probably the ability to use light front end tool development platforms to build Hana views would be helpful. More demos or example base Hana views would help users to build their custom models easily.,8,Positive: Flexible dynamic capability to execute queries. Positive: Columnar compression reduces emphasis or need for archiving every couple years. Negative: The cost per unit infrastructure needed to implement is higher than traditional databases.,Oracle Database,Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Access, Oracle Hyperion Enterprise Performance ManagementSAP HANA ReviewWe currently use SAP HANA as a relational database. It is being used by the whole organization and is the database platform for six of our seven SAP systems. Since we have upgraded to the latest versions of ECC, CRM, and BW, we determined that a HANA database would best suite our needs.,Data retrieval has been quicker since it is a column-based database versus row-based database. Applying HANA patches is easy (just download the patch and apply to Linux server. Installing and setting up a HANA database is easier than other RDBMS systems.,We are currently using HANA 1.0 and the cascading replication is a little painful if you have more than one failover system. Having to log in as that user to grant access to the schema is a little time-consuming. An ID that has system access should be able to grant access to any schema. A nice feature to have is to be able to see activity at the DB level for users in the system versus all activity coming across as the SAP ID.,9,HANA is included in our global licensing since we have other SAP systems. When doing upgrades, SAP HANA can be included when we do Support Pack and kernel upgrades. This saves time for the Basis team.,Oracle Database 12c,Oracle eBusiness Suite, Oracle PeopleSoft HCM, IBM MaximoIntegration between GRC and HANAWe have two different HANA installations. One for SAP GRC and another database for SAP BI. These two HANA databases are serving the whole organization as both GRC and BI are core elements of the IT infrastructure.,It is as fast as promised It is a very good foundation for integrating SAP technologies with non-SAP SAP is constantly providing new updates to it, so it is easy to keep it updated,The whole branding strategy, so many different names and the constant rebranding of the same concepts Enhancements in the XSA platform Alignment between the Cloud and on-premise solutions,9,I cannot comment in this question in particular as I am not particularly involved in budgeting,BusinessObjects GRC,BusinessObjects GRC, Amazon Elastic Compute Cloud (EC2)Just another SAP HANA on-premise installation :)Our SAP HANA is an on-premise solution for corporate analytics for the whole Krka Group. The added value it brings to our company is the instant delivery of reports, analyses, and data visualization for all levels of the organization.,The controlling data queries and stocks reports were extremely slow, now they run rapidly. Relational DB queries are extremely slow on the source DB, but replicated on HANA the queries run instantly.,Migration support for older solutions from the old BW.,10HANA Rocks!Our BW system runs on HANA. It is used by the whole organization. We had a few issues related to making data available for reporting due to which we had moved to BW on HANA. A lot of issues related to performance are resolved.,Performance (esp. for data loading, activation etc.) Enterprise side is quite good. Allows developers to use SQL, AFL easily.,There are a lot of bugs. It needed a long time to come to a stable state but still we see bugs. Make the Eclipse interface for the HANA studio more developer friendly.,8,Quicker Reporting available. It didn't help too much on the development cycle timelines but we are expecting with B4 HANA that it will get better.,SAP S/4HANA and SAP Business Warehouse,SAP S/4HANA, SAP Business WarehouseSAP HANA: The new way to adaptWe use SAP BW on HANA. We use the Native HANA studio and Web IDE tools to develop data views which are consumed my Tableau which helps business makes decisions faster and in real-time.,Faster Robust Enhance UI with Web IDE tools compared to the SQL editor.,Simplicity Integration with other non-SAP tools. More information on the SAP site from the implementation, administration point of view. Use of wild card fields as we use in ECC security. Example: While adding HANA AP in a role, have "Viewname - Z contract" rather than writing the complete view name.,10,Needs to have an edge in reporting, like the difference of Analytics Cloud Vs Tableau.,SAP S/4HANA and SAP HANA Smart Data Streaming,Tableau Desktop, Tableau ServerSpeed!It is currently being used by our BW Team and the business. It pulls reports to be analyzed and provides information for our dashboard.,Real-time Data Robust Integrates with non-SAP products.,For beginner users, it could be overwhelming if you're not familiar with the concept or the capabilities. With many products now evolving in the market and changes, it's hard to understand the support of ECC going away and moving COMPLETELY to SAP HANA. It's difficult to understand how it will incorporate with other non-SAP products.,8,Getting data at an extremely fast pace. Making decisions based on the facts of your organization. Processes are more efficient.,Concur Expense, MS SharePoint, SAP Access ControlSAP HANA is Awesome!It is used by Audit department for sampling via Solman.,The time it takes to retrieve data is significantly less compared to traditional DBs. The real-time analytics capability of HANA. Scalability,User provisioning can be improved. User access for business and technical users can be streamlined via a single tool.,8,So far there has been a positive impact in the technical user community. Business user adaptability is a little bit of a challenge.,SAP Identity Management,SAP S/4HANA, SAP Access ControlIn love with HANAI've been working for 3 years with HANA. I started while with the hospital in Washington state. I liked that it can be easily managed with SAP HANA Studio. It is very easy to use and it gives me on time alerts of the health of the database. I can manage the security of users with easy role-based settings. The focus of HANA for our organization is for the in-memory human gene analysis project.,Quick response Scalable Stable Easy to use,Bugs RAM hag Support,8,ROI is long but worth it Get the complex analysis done quickly Better working with GCP,Oracle Database Cloud Service,Oracle Database Cloud Service, Google Cloud Datastore, Google Cloud SQLSAP HANA, an in-memory Appliance.As an SAP Basis and HANA Consultant, I provide the support for different customers with their SAP HANA Landscape, which is being used for the complete organization in talking about business problems, as SAP HANA is an in-memory appliance. As the name suggests, everything you use needs to be in memory and available to use on a real-time basis. So the business reports, status, monthly/yearly financial reports which have to broadcast are available in real-time with the use of SAP HANA.,In traditional DB your analytic process and transactional process were running in different places, but in HANA it exists in a single place, which helps to provide you with the real-time results, Also, it helps you to perform where you need advanced analytics, predictive analytics, data processing in different ways to the server, or get the reports for your different departments as required. so the real use of SAP HANA is when you can't sustain your business for long-running tasks, slow response, etc... to overcome these problems SAP have launched their own DB along with an appliance as SAP HANA for better performance, and to work on real-time features.,SAP is putting in more and more efforts to make HANA more flexible to their customers by frequently releasing newer versions and regular patching. As of now--except for the OS restrictions-- there is no such room for improvement for HANA, in fact, now SAP has made it available for other than Linux on Redhat too. HANA is in continuous improvement, and is the kind of product SAP have served based on requirement, so if you're experienced in database and its management, you may customize and use it according to your need.,10,SAP HANA has always positive ROI, with the huge support for SAP HANA with leverages in futuristic DBMS technology, the best application development tools, and superior analytical features with intelligence capabilities within a single unified in-memory platform. With SAP HANA, organizations can simplify their IT infrastructure so that a support/development team can focus on innovations and understanding new technologies that are coming and best suited to the business.,DB2 and Microsoft SQL Server,DB2, Microsoft SQL Server, SAP Adaptive Server Enterprisegreat tool for real time analyticsWe use it as the platform for transaction processing and analytical tool for day to day business decision making. It is used across the organization. It is used to address the problem of data analytics. We ingest data into the HANA platform for both historical and real time analytics as and when needed by the business.,quick real time analytics ability to ingest data from both SAP and non-SAP databases in memory function provides the ability for fast data,slows down a bit when it has to do multiple calculations at the same time frequent updates from the vendor makes it really hard to plan for downtime and stay updated,9,positive impact with the ability to analyze data real time positive impact due to the feature of being able to replicate data real time without much difficulty big positive impact since data can be ingested into SAP HANA from a non SAP database,,Apache Kafka, Apache Spark, Hadoop, Amazon Aurora, MySQLSAP HANA Express Edition - Hyperloop to Run SimpleUsed it for a proof of concept for one of our greenfield clients. This is for a learning platform implementation for a small organization. This was about a year ago, and we completed the proof of concept; however they had a few budget constraints to implement. That and also our SAP partnership didn't work out as well so we couldn't go forward,A great platform for developers to use HANA in a accessible format without the cost implementation.. Availability of predictive analtyics , geo-spatial and text analytics Very good for POCs for SME,It would be great if IDES systems are available in SAP HANA Express edition continuously, this will help developers a lot. The market has a lot of pirate servers available eating in to the market of SAP. SAP has to consider that Offerings for SME in T shirt sizes would be great,8,As of now we have not had any ROI,,Azure SQL Database, Tableau Desktop, Salesforce Community Cloud,4
Unspecified
SAP HANA
138 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

SAP HANA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
SAP HANA
138 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 138 vetted SAP HANA reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 40)

Do you use this product? Write a Review
Renee Ferree profile photo
April 02, 2019

Try HANA for instant reporting

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used throughout our organization. The speed that it can process data is amazing. We have been able to convert many of our BW reports to real-time HANA based reporting and have been moving forward with our Fiori implementation to give our users an easer user experience.
  • HANA has allowed us to convert our BW reports and provide users with real time report data. Prior to moving to HANA, the reporting was based on prior day activities.
  • Queries involving large amount of financial data are able to be run much quicker with HANA than prior to implementation.
  • I really don't have any recommendations for improvement.
SAP HANA has been incredibly helpful in moving forward with real-time BW reporting. Users no longer need to wait for the analytics they need but are able to generate their reporting instantly. In addition, within the finance module, it has allowed our users to run multiple processes at once shortening the time to complete their business activities, especially during the close cycle.
Read Renee Ferree's full review
Rajib Mukherjee profile photo
June 25, 2019

Paradigm shift with SAP HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used as a database across the entire organization to support day to day operations in Siemens for various business divisions and product lines in the Americas. It is used as the basis to support everyday business transactions, for planning and forecasting purposes, support integrated end-to-end business and business consolidation.
  • SAP HANA has alleviated some long running jobs in the back-end based on a database read for critical reports to higher management.
  • SAP HANA has helped provide super users and controllers insights to key figures and margins in their profit centers within desired time-frame. Reports that in the past took more than 20 hours to complete now become available in less than 2 hours.
  • Month-end, Quarter-end and Year-end long running batch jobs have seen drastic improvements in performance. Corporate Finance and Shared Services Departments that used to have heartaches and pain points with the critical dependent jobs at month end now see the results within desired time frames.
  • SAP HANA has helped not only improve the performance of read access based reports but also the performance of jobs used to update the database (write-access based programs) resulting in a paradigm shift resulting in an increased leverage to perform the corrective actions as part of error handling.
  • SAP HANA has room for improvement in providing a user-friendly interface to help users create their own queries. Currently, the provision to create queries is controlled and could improve on the intuitive features.
  • The cost of the RAM is quite expensive compared to disks. Cost per bite is higher with SAP HANA.
  • There had been a couple occurrences where the productive system went down after the go-live. Both times, SAP folks, local IT, Global IT, Infrastructure support and network folks were involved in discussions to troubleshoot and no concrete reason was discovered. The recommendations were to increase the server size, limit the HANA view usage (to limit resource pulls) and to ensure to keep latest versions of SAP Hana in the backend. There is room for improvement in this area.
I would recommend SAP HANA in scenarios where detailed analysis is key to the success of the company but the challenge arises in the enormity of the volume of the transactions. For example, performing an open AR aging analysis on percentage of completion based projects in our companies is a job that can run for hours in traditional RDBMS based databases. However, with the power of HANA, the controllers can gain access to the key figures within minutes to enable them make critical decisions and move on in-depth based analysis. The focus has shifted from run-based daily jobs to on the fly analytics to meaningful information. The power of HANA is probably less appropriate or not as advantageous in low volume enterprises where the difference in runtime of reports is indiscernible.
Read Rajib Mukherjee's full review
Deepak Bhomkar profile photo
March 21, 2019

SAP HANA World

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used by the entire organization but the primary functionality is used by Finance. We are in 1605 with Simple Finance. This was more of a technical upgrade move. New asset accounting and cash management are the only new functionalities that we have embraced.
  • Universal Journal. No reconciliations are required between FI and COPA. This is a big advantage.
  • New asset accounting is more robust and provides options to create multiple ledger groups. Treasury and Cash management are user-friendly now.
  • Performance of base accounting tables is very fast.
  • Fiori is very rigid. Every finance user requires an Excel download. This is not available for trial balance apps, hence its use is not seen.
  • No new customization to existing Fiori apps. We have to create new custom Fiori apps.
Very well suited to finance, however, Ibase functionality is not supported in SAP HANA. This is a critical component of a high tech solution and prevents customers from going to SAP HANA.
Read Deepak Bhomkar's full review
Siddharth Joshi profile photo
March 21, 2019

User Feedback

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Hana is used by the entire organization to store SAP ECC 6 ERP system data. It is also used for analytics purposes. It allows for real-time reporting abilities as well as faster performances. Front end tools are used to report out of Hana views for operational purposes. Hana also helps in using other offerings from SAP like Fiori.
  • Fast performance: Real-time aggregation
  • SAP Hana is not just a database but a platform. We are also using SAP AFL-PAL for predictive abilities
  • SAP Hana is the foundation to build better UI like Fiori.
  • Stability of the database.
  • Developer editions/offering on cloud for developing a community.
  • Small videos < 5 min to show different functionalities. Maybe a series on Youtube.
Best Suited: Enterprise applications especially using SAP ERP. If most of the operations are using SAP or are part of the SAP eco-system, it allows fora better roadmap. It is future proof. Less appropriate: Big Data (since its in-memory it is expensive). Scenarios where there are multiple ERP systems.
Read Siddharth Joshi's full review
Goldy Verma profile photo
June 27, 2019

SAP Application on HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our organization we are running SAP GRC on DB HANA 2.0 SP03. We are using XSA WEB IDE for creating HANA native applications for reporting and analysis purposes. HANA's in-memory calculation feature has opened new doors for performing calculations and for reporting. In XSA it is really easy to achieve isolation between different HANA applications. Thank you SAP and the team that is working on HANA.
  • In-memory calculation
  • Application isolation to enhance security
  • Connectivity with different UIs to present the data
  • HANA DB Authorization
  • Intra HDI Data Access
  • Inbuilt FLP
For analytic applications like GRC over HANA, it is a wonderful tool for real time reporting and very compatible with different UI tools like Fiori, Power BI, Lumira etc. Having HANA does not make sense if the organization is small and there is no need to get real time insight of your operational data.
Read Goldy Verma's full review
Marton Forjan profile photo
June 27, 2019

SAP HANA is a must have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA was a major game changer for us. Implementing it immediately improved our processes. It is a very efficient database. Super fast and very reliable. The performance improvement is superb. I can't imagine an SAP implementation without it anymore. Implementation was a serious effort, and a sort if difficult transformation. But in return our database shrunk to a lot smaller size, a fraction of its former state. The speed increase of executing database actions, calculations, became super fast.
  • Speed
  • Simplicity
  • Reliability
  • Serious effort to switch
  • Hardware requirement
Can't imagine a scenario without it.
Read Marton Forjan's full review
Vinod Kumar profile photo
March 21, 2019

Simple, real time, predictive

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This product is used across different business groups to simplify finance and logistics.
  • Real-time information, powerful analytics
  • Simplify operations, eliminate IT footprint
  • Enabling platform for AI, machine learning and advanced analytics
  • Cost is the big deciding factor for the organizations to make the decision.
  • Too many products and confusion in reporting. There is the dashboard and the data warehouse. It's good to have one strategic roadmap towards reporting.
Finance is best, as it gives the CFO office real-time data and enables them to make real-time decisions.
Read Vinod Kumar's full review
Dhruba Jyoti Nag profile photo
March 07, 2019

SAP HANA: the Ferrari of a datastore.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used by my organization to support a new analytics platform being developed for real-time analysis of product consumption. Based on product consumption, pricing adjustments are made in real time. SAP HANA is not used as a mere data store. Rather its analytical engines led to its adoption in our project.
  • Advanced analytical engine
  • Real-time analytics
  • Numerous engines, like spatial engines, which help with modeling.
  • SAP HANA is not for traditional data operations.
  • It is costly while on-premise, the licenses are not cheap.
  • It is a new software with limited adoption and there are fewer resources who have working knowledge.
It is a super fast data platform. SAP has gone all out with these, which they could not have done if they assembled other technologies and created a solution. Instead, they went ahead and designed it with performance in mind. Hence, it is blazing fast, and because of massive parallelization, it can process an amazing amount of data in mere seconds.
Read Dhruba Jyoti Nag's full review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

SAP HANA is a good improvement in both the IT and business side

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used to improve the business processes in our clients. Basically, it is improving reports and process execution and it is being used for the main business processes in SAP. We are involved directly in supporting the security authorization part, adapting the roles and authorizations to the new changes. In addition, it is used in some cases to improve the user interface through Fiori Apps, to makes the user experience easier.
  • SAP User Experience
  • Improve report execution
  • Improves business process execution
  • Some Fiori Apps have auth issues that needs to be resolved
  • GRC Fiori apps with limited functionalities
  • More information at the authorization level in SAP notes
The SAP HANA works to improve the business side and user experience, also database performance during the report and business processes execution. On the other hand, I think SAP HANA has much to improve in the GRC side, including some improvements in the existing FIORI apps.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 25, 2019

Shaik on SAP HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used by different groups with the organization. Different teams, groups has got different purposes they use its as per there requirements and needs. SAP HANA improves business process agility. SAP HANA improves Cost Management. Data management became easy by using SAP HANA system. Data handling, Modeling the data has become easy in SAP HANA.
  • Improved business processes.
  • Cost management.
  • In-memory database
  • Cost-wise it's still expensive.
  • Cloud integration is slow some times.
  • Deployment time.
SAP HANA is best suited for large data handling operations and reporting times. A large amount of data can be handled with ease using SAP HANA. It improves the cost management in the organization as it integrates the different process in the system. SAP HANA has got the best cost management technique in the market.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

SAP HANA - Incredible platform that you pay for

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use HANA as a sidecar system. It is used across our entire enterprise and we use it to gather data and report off of our SAP system. The truly great thing about SAP HANA is the efficiency and scalability it brings to our organization. It offers a much more user friendly and accessible platform to transform our data and output in meaningful ways. The ability to use SQL rather than going through ABAP is a significant plus. Also the speed with which our data is processed makes it much easier to dashboard and write reports for our clients.
  • HANA is ultra-fast at processing data. It runs in-memory so it is almost real-time data.
  • HANA is extremely versatile. It allows us to use graphical views or SQL based views.
  • HANA is also able to tap into multiple tools outside of SAP. It unifies your data sources.
  • The initial deployment of HANA can be a bit overwhelming.
  • Cost can be a deterrent for some businesses.
  • Managing the SAP server and hardware can be difficult at times when starting out.
SAP HANA is an incredible value for any company already using an SAP ERP system. It is able to provide near real-time data for any of the SAP systems (Purchasing, Sales, master records, etc.) Any company using a BW would benefit from SAP HANA. The performance gain to an in-memory db system is a huge leap forward. It is also beneficial for anyone looking to process data in real time and deliver quality analytics. The only real con as far as I am concerned is the cost going in. The cost can be quite exorbitant between licensing and hardware requirements.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 20, 2019

Most preferred ERP solution in the market.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have been using SAP HANA for almost more than a year now. This system is as robust as you could wish it to be. It did solve all our ERP needs, which in turn helped the business. We are currently using it in our department and are in progress to expand it throughout the organization.
  • Set up is super easy, and integration with SAP products has been outstanding.
  • Complete reporting solution. From accounts payable to supplier account information, it has a wide range of reporting options.
  • What I really like with HANA is its multi-engine processing environment. This makes data processing faster.
  • More training materials on modules would be a good thing.
  • Reports get executed slowly, especially on mobile.
  • It is a bit expensive compared to other similar tools in the market.
Well Suited:
If you want an ERP Solution for scale.
If you would want a large amount of data to be handled with ease.
If you are a large organization and ready to spend some dollars on an ERP solution.

Not Well Suited:
If you are a small company.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 14, 2019

Review on SAP HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used by different teams in our organization. SAP HANA has an amazing speed for running queries for multiple years in one report. Tool is flexible and user-friendly. This tool helps us on a day to day basis for planning and forecasting purposes. SAP HANA is integrated with multiple sources to provide one consolidated view.
  • SAP HANA is integrated with multiple sources, which is helpful in planning and forecasting.
  • Quick turnaround time for huge data set with multiple fields to customize our reporting needs.
  • In memory calculations
  • Realiability of data
  • If the SAP HANA deployment price is reduced this will help small companies to afford the tool
  • Limited functionality with FIORI apps
  • The time for deployment is little concerning; maybe it can be reduced.
If you want an ERP solution with large amount of data from multiple sources SAP HANA is a well versed tool in the current market place. Tool helps data to customise the reports, export and build as required for the end user. The speed for running complex data set that involved billions of data is simply great.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

An excellent platform

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Hana is used by the entire Siemens organization as a database for the ECC6 systems EHP7 packs. It has addressed some critical problems with regards to long-running back end batch jobs that would take forever in the Oracle Database utilized before. However, the new world has simplified it drastically giving the ability to the users to run reports on the fly, especially speeding up the month end processes.
  • SAP Hana is more than a database. It is a platform that gives users the ability to perform queries on the fly.
  • SAP Hana utilizes columnar compression, which speeds up performance related issues drastically for jobs or report running.
  • HANA Studio provides us the ability to build reports, joins and calculation views that can be easily deployed without the need of detailed development.
  • Stability of database is a key aspect we would recommend.
  • In terms of missing functionality, probably the ability to use light front end tool development platforms to build Hana views would be helpful.
  • More demos or example base Hana views would help users to build their custom models easily.
SAP Hana is well suited for dynamic on the fly reporting out of the system. It is hard to implement in scenarios that have multiple SAP and non-SAP ERP boxes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 20, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use SAP HANA as a relational database. It is being used by the whole organization and is the database platform for six of our seven SAP systems. Since we have upgraded to the latest versions of ECC, CRM, and BW, we determined that a HANA database would best suite our needs.
  • Data retrieval has been quicker since it is a column-based database versus row-based database.
  • Applying HANA patches is easy (just download the patch and apply to Linux server.
  • Installing and setting up a HANA database is easier than other RDBMS systems.
  • We are currently using HANA 1.0 and the cascading replication is a little painful if you have more than one failover system.
  • Having to log in as that user to grant access to the schema is a little time-consuming. An ID that has system access should be able to grant access to any schema.
  • A nice feature to have is to be able to see activity at the DB level for users in the system versus all activity coming across as the SAP ID.
SAP HANA is well suited for a company if you are installing or upgrading to Suite on HANA on later. This goes for the various SAP systems (ECC, CRM, PO, Solution Manager, Enterprise Portal, etc). Although SAP HANA could be used for non-SAP systems, I would use other relational databases for non-SAP systems.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

Integration between GRC and HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two different HANA installations. One for SAP GRC and another database for SAP BI. These two HANA databases are serving the whole organization as both GRC and BI are core elements of the IT infrastructure.
  • It is as fast as promised
  • It is a very good foundation for integrating SAP technologies with non-SAP
  • SAP is constantly providing new updates to it, so it is easy to keep it updated
  • The whole branding strategy, so many different names and the constant rebranding of the same concepts
  • Enhancements in the XSA platform
  • Alignment between the Cloud and on-premise solutions
It's well suited when performance is key, specifically from the front end perspective. When using it for GRC and you want to build complex CCM controls, HANA is the only way to go. We run complex queries with more than 6 billion rows involved in less than 2 minutes.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

Just another SAP HANA on-premise installation :)

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our SAP HANA is an on-premise solution for corporate analytics for the whole Krka Group. The added value it brings to our company is the instant delivery of reports, analyses, and data visualization for all levels of the organization.
  • The controlling data queries and stocks reports were extremely slow, now they run rapidly.
  • Relational DB queries are extremely slow on the source DB, but replicated on HANA the queries run instantly.
  • Migration support for older solutions from the old BW.
+: Replicated tables from the relational DB.
-: Migration for an existing solution: better to go into a redesign of the processes instead of sticking to existing models.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 27, 2019

HANA Rocks!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our BW system runs on HANA. It is used by the whole organization. We had a few issues related to making data available for reporting due to which we had moved to BW on HANA. A lot of issues related to performance are resolved.
  • Performance (esp. for data loading, activation etc.)
  • Enterprise side is quite good. Allows developers to use SQL, AFL easily.
  • There are a lot of bugs. It needed a long time to come to a stable state but still we see bugs.
  • Make the Eclipse interface for the HANA studio more developer friendly.
I think it is a very good tool (at this point in time) to handle huge data. New tools and functionalities complement HANA quite well. It is not a completely stable product after so many years but still a good one.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 10, 2019

SAP HANA: The new way to adapt

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP BW on HANA. We use the Native HANA studio and Web IDE tools to develop data views which are consumed my Tableau which helps business makes decisions faster and in real-time.
  • Faster
  • Robust
  • Enhance UI with Web IDE tools compared to the SQL editor.
  • Simplicity
  • Integration with other non-SAP tools.
  • More information on the SAP site from the implementation, administration point of view.
  • Use of wild card fields as we use in ECC security. Example: While adding HANA AP in a role, have "Viewname - Z contract" rather than writing the complete view name.
Faster reporting.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

Speed!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is currently being used by our BW Team and the business. It pulls reports to be analyzed and provides information for our dashboard.
  • Real-time Data
  • Robust
  • Integrates with non-SAP products.
  • For beginner users, it could be overwhelming if you're not familiar with the concept or the capabilities.
  • With many products now evolving in the market and changes, it's hard to understand the support of ECC going away and moving COMPLETELY to SAP HANA.
  • It's difficult to understand how it will incorporate with other non-SAP products.
The speed is amazing and the presentation of the data is easier to understand.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 21, 2019

SAP HANA is Awesome!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by Audit department for sampling via Solman.
  • The time it takes to retrieve data is significantly less compared to traditional DBs.
  • The real-time analytics capability of HANA.
  • Scalability
  • User provisioning can be improved.
  • User access for business and technical users can be streamlined via a single tool.
Well suited for companies that need live analytics, a super fast response time, and the ability to process a large amount of transactional data.
Read this authenticated review
Henry PAN profile photo
January 11, 2019

In love with HANA

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've been working for 3 years with HANA. I started while with the hospital in Washington state. I liked that it can be easily managed with SAP HANA Studio. It is very easy to use and it gives me on time alerts of the health of the database. I can manage the security of users with easy role-based settings.

The focus of HANA for our organization is for the in-memory human gene analysis project.
  • Quick response
  • Scalable
  • Stable
  • Easy to use
  • Bugs
  • RAM hag
  • Support
I see this as the next generation of database. It works as a flash disk and has the capacity for hot, warm and cold data. The queries and consults to it can be much faster and easy to use. They have improved and now you don't have to use the index version to improve tables just as you did before with other databases. It has to be considered that its a bit expensive and you need a good and strong appliance so you can implement it on Google Cloud, but its worth it.
Read Henry PAN's full review
Pradeep Bele profile photo
January 05, 2019

SAP HANA, an in-memory Appliance.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
Review Source
As an SAP Basis and HANA Consultant, I provide the support for different customers with their SAP HANA Landscape, which is being used for the complete organization in talking about business problems, as SAP HANA is an in-memory appliance. As the name suggests, everything you use needs to be in memory and available to use on a real-time basis. So the business reports, status, monthly/yearly financial reports which have to broadcast are available in real-time with the use of SAP HANA.
  • In traditional DB your analytic process and transactional process were running in different places, but in HANA it exists in a single place, which helps to provide you with the real-time results,
  • Also, it helps you to perform where you need advanced analytics, predictive analytics, data processing in different ways to the server, or get the reports for your different departments as required.
  • so the real use of SAP HANA is when you can't sustain your business for long-running tasks, slow response, etc... to overcome these problems SAP have launched their own DB along with an appliance as SAP HANA for better performance, and to work on real-time features.
  • SAP is putting in more and more efforts to make HANA more flexible to their customers by frequently releasing newer versions and regular patching. As of now--except for the OS restrictions-- there is no such room for improvement for HANA, in fact, now SAP has made it available for other than Linux on Redhat too.
  • HANA is in continuous improvement, and is the kind of product SAP have served based on requirement, so if you're experienced in database and its management, you may customize and use it according to your need.
We had such a scenario where HANA is very well suited, as we had a customer with a very huge DB size in few TBs, which was really challenging to use with business need and availability, even if it had been compressed. HANA made it possible to compress and put it in memory to use in a more sophisticated and faster way for the customer as a result.
It's definitely not well suited for small-scale customers where there is no need for real-time super performance, and not many critical activities.
Read Pradeep Bele's full review
Shiv Shivakumar profile photo
December 14, 2018

great tool for real time analytics

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as the platform for transaction processing and analytical tool for day to day business decision making. It is used across the organization. It is used to address the problem of data analytics. We ingest data into the HANA platform for both historical and real time analytics as and when needed by the business.
  • quick real time analytics
  • ability to ingest data from both SAP and non-SAP databases
  • in memory function provides the ability for fast data
  • slows down a bit when it has to do multiple calculations at the same time
  • frequent updates from the vendor makes it really hard to plan for downtime and stay updated
The biggest advantage for us is the ability of HANA to ingest data from other databases which are not SAP - this helped us get a quick ramp up with just having a connector to ingest data into HANA. Faster in-memory database, though expensive, provides the ability for real time analytics. Ability to replicate data real time. However, when it has to do multiple calculations at the same time, it slows down a bit and you can visibly notice latency.
Read Shiv Shivakumar's full review
Ganapathy Sivakumar profile photo
September 21, 2018

SAP HANA Express Edition - Hyperloop to Run Simple

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used it for a proof of concept for one of our greenfield clients. This is for a learning platform implementation for a small organization. This was about a year ago, and we completed the proof of concept; however they had a few budget constraints to implement. That and also our SAP partnership didn't work out as well so we couldn't go forward
  • A great platform for developers to use HANA in a accessible format without the cost implementation..
  • Availability of predictive analtyics , geo-spatial and text analytics
  • Very good for POCs for SME
  • It would be great if IDES systems are available in SAP HANA Express edition continuously, this will help developers a lot. The market has a lot of pirate servers available eating in to the market of SAP. SAP has to consider that
  • Offerings for SME in T shirt sizes would be great
It's great for your developers to play around and learn the intricacies of the HANA Application. The best part is developers would be able to get familiarized with HANA Admin and it would be a great opportunity for SAP to expand its market in India. It is not suited for SME that are looking for production deployment due to the restriction of the DB size.
Read Ganapathy Sivakumar's full review

About SAP HANA

The SAP HANA® platform combines a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. According to the vendor, it enables real-time business by converging transactions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA aims to untangle IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.
Categories:  Embedded Database

SAP HANA Features

Has featureIn-memory, columnar, massively parallel database processing
Has featureFull ACID compliance
Has featureMultitenancy

SAP HANA Integrations

SAP HANA Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SAP HANA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No