SAP HANA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
383 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

TrustRadius TRUE BadgeTrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 183)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
January 13, 2021
Ashish Ranjan Naik | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is one of the best and powerful tools for enterprise data management. We used it for ETL (extract, transform, load) and calculations. We were satisfied with the speed of each of those activities. The in-memory capabilities of SAP Hana has increased the performance of the time taken reports. We had moved away from a lot of the third-party databases and applications and it's allowed the consolidation of multiple systems.
  • Real Time Analytics along with fast operating speed
  • Very good Customer support
  • The read actions of Queries and aggregations are very fast
  • There is still not standard solution for Business Partners migration
  • Too heavy on end user machines , it hangs when you will use many other applications
  • It can be extended to integrate with few more other non-SAP data sources
1.It's scalable, stable, and easy to use.
2. Financial applications that can be built based on SAP HANA as it has Robust applications.
3.It gives faster and real-time results. The analytical process and transactional process run in the same place.
4. SAP HANA also comes with HANA Studio. So it provides users to build reports, joins, calculation views without putting development effort.
An in-memory system providing users high availability during processing and visualizing real-time data. It helps businesses/Organizations to make better financial decisions. Our client got benefits of the real-time analytics in transaction data with the help of in-memory database technology. The revenue is increased for the client and system is more reliable and stable.
SAP provides quality support and superb assistance.
They give elite value to their customers and clients by providing the best Support tools.
Read Ashish Ranjan Naik's full review
December 25, 2020
Issac Paul | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization made a migration from SAP B1 to SAP Hana based on our user feedback that data retrieval time is not smooth and is consuming a lot of time which indirectly was reducing their efficiency. Hence to make a positive impact on the employee feed back we decided to migrate to SAP HANA being aware of the additional cost and IT infrastructure in mind .We were also aware that the current trend is focusing on cloud hence we were aware at one point we had to migrate to HANA. Our Enterprise ERP was utilizing an Oracle db since the onset of our organization ,i.e 20 plus years. Hence a simple query would be searching more than 10 mil records at any point in time which was responsible for the slow operating speed of SAP B1 .Thus keeping in mind the overall data retrieval speed in mind we decided to go ahead HANA.
  • A switch to columnar Database
  • Support for GUI in connected SAP application User interface
  • A highly effective data fetching algorithm
  • It's a really expensive solution
  • Switching from B1 To HANA ensured that the old infrastructure had to be rebuilt from scratch piling the infra costs
Extremely fast paced data recovery owing to the columnar Database algorithm.
Provides a good user interface with GUI which helped us heavily in our automation needs while enabling selectors
Supports Mobile apps
Disadvantages
Old hardware had to be scrapped
The infrastructure will be a one time high investment and the licensing cost will be recurring keeping in mind the no of users involved
We had utilized this feature by directly linking the database to tableau for more insight full analtics.Because of the high data loading speed of HANA we could easily generate positive ROI as far as data analytics is concerned.The inbuilt SAP analytics module utilized Machine learning but it was not utilise much by us will surely try it out in the coming days
The community support in not that interactive and does not help in troubleshooting ,which indirectly means that we have to reply on the developer for generating new queries that are newly created during ongoing operation. Also user should have significant knowledge of SQL for writing custom queries to generate any new requirements
Read Issac Paul's full review
December 17, 2020
Ejaz Hussain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My Organization Utilizes SAP HANA for varied purposes be it Employee Payroll, Creating PO & SO. The Production Department uses it to leverage & compile the comprehensive end of the month consumptions & production reports. This Tool has been helping us to keep our different Inter-Related processes unified & in sync with each other. Its advanced analytics capabilities are making our lives easier & our job simpler.
  • Real Time Analytics along with fast operating speed
  • Scalability & easy transitioning
  • Great Disaster recovery Support
  • Cloud Availability
  • Prompt & courteous Customer Support
  • Unavailability Of Proper Documentations for easy walkthroughs.
  • Initial setup & configuration can be a bit confusing if there isn't a expert assistance at start.
  • Pricing can be made more flexible & affordable for small business.
SAP HANA is most suited to the organizations having to deal with a large volume of data & transactions which has multiple cross-platform teams involved working in sync with each other. Faster Data processing will come in handy in scenarios like the one mentioned above.
It might not be a good option for those looking to achieve data visualization tasks in terms of tables & charts.
[SAP HANA] makes data processing across different Business segments very fast owing to its faster data retrieving capabilities. It facilitates us to make use of real-time data for making interactive dashboards & helps us in doing the fast analysis based on the reports.
SAP has always been know for providing a very high level of customer service. Our team was very quick to pick on the basics of SAP HANA owing to the classes & training they conducted. I would really like to see them maintaining the same level of customer support enthusiam.
Read Ejaz Hussain's full review
December 14, 2020
Azeem Aftab | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used in my organization to perform ETL operation and to generate results for analytical activity. We get data from big Data servers we process it, and SAP HANA generates reports. It works on real-time data on the fly--the beauty of on-the-fly processing is that it solves our real-time data analytics activity issue.
  • In-memory database
  • On-the-fly feature
  • Queries and aggregations--the read actions are very fast
  • It is the best business solution (especially ERP)
  • It is very expensive
  • HTML analytical editor needs to improve
SAP HANA was built as an in-memory database from the start--a technological leap ahead of other databases. This is an advantage because the vast amount of memory is greater and more affordable than what is available elsewhere. For queries and aggregations the read actions are very fast, so when we need to perform very fast calculations or calculations on the fly, SAP HANA is the best fit.
Yes, our organization is utilizing SAP HANA, as it is in-memory database designed to facilitate real time analytics on live transactional data. We are generating live data, we are displaying data in dashboard, and SAP HANA gives us a result in a fraction of a second. We are using SAP HANA for live scores and sharing market analysis.
SAP teams gives the proper demonstration and training as required. Also resolution of ticket is on priority they never took too much time to solve the issue and gives timely support.
Read Azeem Aftab's full review
December 10, 2020
Jay Mistry | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SAP] HANA is used across all functional areas. Pre Hana response rates were slow, however. [SAP] HANA has resolved this issue. [SAP HANA] allows extraction of data to make better and faster decisions.
  • [SAP] HANA provides faster access to data where BW AFO is implemented
  • [SAP] HANA provides faster query runs on transactional queries within SAP.
  • [SAP] HANA provides features which allow easier access to set variables easily and quickly
  • [SAP] HANA generally processes queries much faster as there is a reduced module rate
  • [SAP] HANA variable setting process can be improved by better menus
  • [SAP] HANA response rate for larger queries with lower granularity could be improved
  • Some options still available by right clicking , better to have in ghf display pane.
[SAP] HANA is well suited where volume of data can easily be extracted in excel (eg. Via AFO) or exported through transaction queries.
Would be great if some kind of visualization tool is available in [SAP] HANA so not always necessary to export to excel to drive better and faster decision making.
SAP HANA has enabled some of our modules to be in memory which has enabled to get live data driving better anakytics and competitive advantage.
SAP HANA has been a big advantage for the organization locally and globally. An organization of this size requires many features such as consolidation, currency conversions, aherance to local rules anxd regulations,etc. And SAP HANA supports in all of this.
Read Jay Mistry's full review
December 07, 2020
Deric Jordan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My company purchased SAP HANA to help bring our entire International organization under one roof, so to speak. It is an on going process that has taken two plus years and will continue to grow as we add more divisions. Due to the Pandemic we have not been adding any divisions but it is still in the works. Meanwhile, we use it every day.
  • SAP is able to include other software like LCR Dixon, for example.
  • It has brought us closer to our International offices.
  • SAP has been simple to convert and learn. User friendly.
  • Getting information uploaded to the master data has been long and difficult.
  • The security for who has rights to certain processes is very tight.
  • The password protection is also very tight but can be joined with your log in info.
For me, I love how SAP allows me to create reports from data that has been entered from several different departments, making it easier for end of the month reporting and audits. What took several days in the past to create can be done in only minutes which leaves more time for analysis.
SAP HANA has shown its ability to facilitate real-time analytics at any time during the month which allows us to create reports in real time and therefore giving us the time to analyze and if need be make changes to our organization at any time. I use it to run Accrued tax reports which I can reconcile in real time and compare G/L balances with A/P balances.
We have an excellent IT staff that has been trained by the support reps at SAP. They were very important in setting up the product and assisting in the training classes set up for every employee in the company. We still go through our IT department to put in tickets for any problems we have with SAP but the problems are usually corrected within the hour.
Read Deric Jordan's full review
November 29, 2020
Małgorzata Nitecka-Kubicka | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA replaced the previous version of SAP RSAP. [SAP] HANA will be used across the whole organization and one of the main goal is to standardize our processes and simplify activities which are currently executed differently depends on the localization.
Also due to the use of in-memory technology, SAP HANA is a great solution for our company that expect very high performance in real-time data processing and even immediate feedback from the data they have. [SAP] HANA is used for many tasks that fall into two separate categories: real-time analytics and real-time applications.
  • Undoubtedly, the greatest advantage of SAP HANA is the reduction of the time needed to perform individual operations, especially those that previously took a lot of time, such as, for example, account settlement, reporting on large volumes of data.
  • Great data virtualization, we were able to improve the quality of our data
  • Easy integration with other SAP systems.
  • Multiple database access
  • Easy data integration
  • [SAP] HANA helps a lot in predictive analysis and also has an analytical library which has more than 4,000 native algorithms. Surely sounds like fun for those with the scientific bent of mind.
  • Available in Cloud
  • High price
  • The need for additional purchase of a data reporting tool
  • [SAP] HANA has very strict hardware design guidelines so you cannot you own system architecture to install SAP HANA
  • There is no Point in Time Recovery option available
  • Complexity of implementation
This is really great tool to have.
A new design that focuses on users and their role-specific needs, can be accessed in-browser on any device, and supports communication among all process participants in a given system.
A modern architecture based on a simplified data model that makes it possible to map all of your processes in a single system – including those that were previously in place in separate installations
Company can really set up each single option in the best way to, good flexibility
There is probably no better software to store/analyze data
  • Faster business insight, reporting and data for improved decision-making
  • Reports that used to take days or hours to run and compile now take only minutes, if not seconds
  • Up to 2,000 times faster intercompany reconciliations and 100 times faster query performance, great especially during Mounth clousure time
  • Improved responsiveness of planning, sales, production, and financial processes
Can not complain at all. It the support is needed there are no issue to receive a quick answer
Read Małgorzata Nitecka-Kubicka's full review
December 16, 2020
Roy Ruk | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used SAP HANA before, but for my current organization, the main purpose was simply day-to-day processes reducing unnecessary maintenance options. Also, as we do have other SAP products in house, integration was smooth, too.
  • Improvement on data visibility
  • Cost management
  • Data management
  • Implementation was a little tough
  • Need to have proper infrastructure plan in place, otherwise cost may go up
  • Different versions of the product sometimes creates confusion
For us, SAP HANA was the best option, as storing digital images was not part of our plan, so bringing it in did simplify our processes for applications. We also do have a large amount of data, so switching to SAP HANA saved time for reporting and analyzing it. I think if you have a better idea about your overall infrastructure, then SAP HANA is a great option because cost becomes the biggest challenge if your design plan for infrastructure is not clear.
I would like to discuss what I observed after reviewing similar products and found SAP HANA is doing better than others:
  • Real-time analytics are great and improving day by day
  • Developed our production processes at least 5x more
  • Improved business applications performance
  • Built-in reporting capability is outstanding, and that is something that is needed for senior management
Support has been amazing so far--any cases they handle, they handle with care, I get a prompt response from them.
Read Roy Ruk's full review
December 07, 2020
Prabhu Sundararaj | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our clients belong to the energy and utility sector. They are providing services in three countries. They were using various RDBMS applications based on their needs. One of the applications was SAP HANA. Real time analysis and decision making capability helps our clients to better finance decisions and also in-memory parallel processing system promises high availability.
  • Source-agnostic capabilities help to fetch data from external data sources.
  • In-memory technology speeds up the query processing and transactions.
  • Every process runs on in-memory which leads to increase in hardware capacity which costs more on investment.
  • Faced difficulties when using hybrid solutions, part of setup present in cloud and others present in on-premises, data transition between them caused us issues.
SAP HANA will easily integrate with SAP ERP system and also it will communicate well with other SAP applications. But when we deal with other third party tools it will be not bit sufficient choice and also cost of investment is high.
In-memory system providing users high availability. Especially, processing and visualizing real time data helps business to take better financial decisions and prepare for disasters during any climatic changes.
Support system was quite good but there is no popular forum for quick resolve.
Read Prabhu Sundararaj's full review
December 05, 2020
Adithya Kambampati | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We were working on a supply chain project for a customer where we have build applications on top of the data that is dependent on SAP, as well as a third-party application. 3rd party application data varies quite frequently, which has a huge set of master data and can be accessed via files. We brought this data to SAP HANA on a cloud platform, which gave us access to unify data coming from ECC and 3rd party. It also provided the capability to server better user experience for accessing this data via Fiori applications.
  • Ability to access SAP and non SAP data at one place.
  • Performance
  • Data level access with the help access control.
  • Multiple versions of HANA.
  • Unique and Nice to see Container concepts like HDI, but there's a learning curve.
  • Sometimes unable to understand best practices when looking at performance.
For our use case, we would confidently say SAP HANA was the best-suited approach, as it simplifies the process in consuming SAP and Non-SAP data for applications. However, modeling is very important in HANA. If you are looking at scenarios like storing the images, then this might not be a good choice. We do have to store multiple images for each material for our application provided by the 3rd party that we are leveraging a document storage solution for, but we did tie the links into our HANA data. Similarly, if you are looking for a time-series database I probably would not recommend this too, instead, look for something like Influx or Prometheus.
Real-time data availability of both SAP and Non-SAP is one of the biggest benefits. Our application displays the prices from different suppliers that are needed coming from the 3rd party application. Availability of this data based on the Geo search and having it in a real-time was a big plus.
We really did not see any major concerns from the support point of view. Since we are an on-cloud platform, we get frequent updates and we have additional tasks that we have to take care of frequently to get things up-to-date.
Read Adithya Kambampati's full review
December 05, 2020
Rakesh Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA [is] used as a database and for business warehouse for our client. This solution speeds up the business decision and performance.
  • Strong Database
  • In-memory Database
  • Reliable,Simple UI
  • Fast
  • Multi core processor
  • There could be more inbuilt function can be added like reverse string in calculated column
  • String aggregation can be added
  • There should not be limit of 2 billion record in a table
  • Planning viz can be simplfied
SAP HANA is best suited to model the business scenrio with help of a calculation view in simpler way.
This is less appropriate if some one want to do only use as database and not using the string modelling capacity.
Yes organization got benefits of the realtime analytics in transaction data with the help of in memory data base technology. The business decision to make is fast and efficient.
The revenue is increased for the client and system is more reliable and stable
Support is very good for the SAP HANA, response is sometime late but acceptable.
Read Rakesh Sharma's full review
November 29, 2020
Filippo Orlando | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have faced the transition for the change to the new ERP and all the structures that support the analytical architecture is based on this tool. It therefore acts as a power base for all DWH, Cloud and DB. The versatility and performance it offers are undoubtedly adequate, the limit we have identified is linked to the lack of connectivity with non-SAP systems.
  • Benefit from a cloud-native solution that delivers scalability, speed, and flexibility, while eliminating information silos with a single instance of data.
  • The advantage of in-memory data platform that combines database, advanced analytics, data integration, and application services, it is certainly one of the strong points.
  • Deepen insights and situational awareness with broad, multimodal, and advanced analytics capabilities.
  • SAP HANA is only compatible to and thus will run only on SAP or SUSE Linux certified hardware. It creates an issue for all the users who want to run it on any other kind of hardware as prices of licensing are very high.
  • Due to frequent SPS releases and updates in the SAP HANA versions, the older version gets outdated very soon. And, it might trouble the user at times as they have to purchase the new update every time and updating is time-consuming.
  • Usually, developers who still continue with their old ways of working with database technologies, are not able to use SAP HANA to its full potential. They only use it as a fast in-memory database, while there are many other features and functionalities that SAP HANA provides.
SAP HANA allows data to store and process in columns as well as rows in the database. Also, many operations can be parallelly processed in SAP HANA as opposed to only a single operation processing in the traditional database for executing one query. Thus, parallel processing increases the speed of operation manifold.
it was possible to move from a batch approach, necessary for the previous infrastructure, to a real-time approach, which without for monitoring and timeliness purposes allows the departments concerned to be much more effective and capillary. The availability of data with a speed like that guaranteed by SAP HANA, allows an evolution of the analyzes and actions derived from them.
I believe that by balancing the pros and cons, albeit bound to the choice as mentioned above, the product offers good news and potential, albeit with the limits listed above.
Read Filippo Orlando's full review
November 14, 2020
Razibur Rahman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We implemented SAP HANA during our SOH (Suite on HANA) migration. SAP HANA replaced Oracle as our backend DB for SAP ERP. Not only for ERP, for SCM and BW also my organization uses SAP HANA as backend DB.

Since all ERP data is being stored in HANA DB and all other different business applications are integrated with SAP HANA, the features, functionalities, and benefits of SAP HANA not only used and impacted the IT department but also across the whole organization.

The in-memory technology helped business processes to be executed much faster than it was before. In my organization MRP process before HANA, it took 7200 sec and after HANA it takes only 1200 sec. Similarly, process time has been minimized for many business functions like stock reports, invoice processing, Sales order creation, Material availability checking for process order, and many more. Significant improvement has been observed in SCM and BW processes. Not only in business process time, HANA has also helped to simplified the connectivity and integration method with other DBs and applications. Due to its compression capabilities, HANA has also reduced the DB sizes which helped the organization save cost hardware cost.
  • The in-memory technology helped business processes to be executed much faster than earlier it was. Like in my organization MRP process before HANA it took 7200 sec and after HANA it takes only 1200 sec
  • HANA has also helped to simplified the connectivity and integration method with other DBs and applications.
  • Due to its compression capabilities, HANA has also reduced the DB sizes which helped the organization save cost on hardware investment.
  • HANA has also simplified the replication method we used to do with Oracle. It has become very easy for the technical team now to manage the replication for mission critical system.
  • Improvement in HANA Studio to manage the HANA DB is expected.
  • HANA Cockpit is yet to get matured in terms of managing the DB, Backup, Replication etc.
If you need to manage huge transaction data or your Database size is big and has become concern for your organization, moving to SAP HANA will help a lot for size reduction and managing the data.

If performance has become an issue for your business applications, moving to SAP HANA will help since it is in-memory technology. There will be a huge improvement.
Because of HANA, real-time reporting on transactional data has become easier and faster. We observed there is a huge time saving during operational reporting and cost management reporting on production.
Moving to SAP HANA has also helped us to reduce support required for DB. So far we got good support.
Read Razibur Rahman's full review
October 30, 2020
khayati jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HANA is user friendly. We can use sales module which is quite helpful for relationship building with the customer. Very efficient to store data...easy to manage the reports and productivity. Also helpful in after sales cycle as it enhances the customer interaction. Also useful in making smarter bill of management which saves time.
  • Reporting.
  • Management.
  • Analytics.
  • Reports.
SAP is well suited in entire lifecycle of any business whether it is HR, Accounting and Finance, Manufacturing and Production, management of raw data, Marketing and Sales, after sales service or any sort of customer service. SAP HANA is a good platform for maintaining the balance of any business for better efficiency and productivity.
SAP HANA Analytics is really helpful for any business as it gives insight or forecast in advance what to do, how to do and when to do.. analytics is quite helpful in procurement, manufacturing, marketing, sales and distribution... also in customer service and product management as reports predict the things where we are lacking.
Awesome ERP.
Read khayati jain's full review
October 26, 2020
Harshavardhan Mahendran | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is the heart of my department in my organisation. We have well qualified and trained professionals with hands on experience in SAP HANA. My organisation does conduct training sessions in each quarter with some latest updates which includes support package, advanced features, performance & operational point of views. Most of our customers are already using SAP HANA and we are supporting & enhancing their needs. We have migrated many customers from classic ERP to SAP HANA. We are using SAP HANA across the organisation in most of the departments. SAP HANA addresses most of the complex data models with better performance & analytical capabilities. Also it supports most of the data visualisation tools & also supports complex calculation in databases level.
  • Performs complex data models.
  • Performs complex calculations.
  • High performance.
  • Powerful database.
  • Support multiple data visualisation tools.
  • Can improve the UIs.
  • Can improve the processing speed.
  • Can increase memory in HANA box.
SAP HANA is well recommend for fast processing of data models & perform complex calculation on the fly. SAP HANA is an in-memory Database which performs calculation at the database level itself and provides faster results rather than reaching the top layers. This is a unique feature of SAP HANA hence I recommend it to all.
Yes definitely SAP HANA is an in-memory database which facilitates real time data analytics on live transactional data. We have a feature in SAP HANA to derive both the real time transactional as well as analytical data. Because SAP HANA is a combination of OLTP & OLAP processing which is an advantage.
SAP HANA is one of the best databases in the current century and it’s SAP’s own database. The performance & handling of complex calculations are far more better than any other database. Performance tuning & memory monitoring is easily done without impacting any codes. Virtual data models have been used and the basic models are not affected.
Read Harshavardhan Mahendran's full review
October 13, 2020
Nooruddin Jamali | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used across the whole organization for payrolls, employee leave managment, engineering/operation activities such as MOC/PSSR, creating purchase orders, sales orders and process orders. The production planning department used SAP HANA for preparing end month production and consumption reports which were the inputs for the accounting department who used it for financial analysis.
  • Detailed report generation.
  • Easy to use interactively with Excel (data can be exported to Excel or copied from Excel to SAP).
  • Quick access to data input by various departments (operations, maintenance, process engineering) in one platform.
  • Ease of pulling up historical data with filters such as the channel of sales of a product (ship sales, truck sales or pipeline sales).
  • Whenever an error is made in an order confirmation, the reversal process is extremely difficult and the user has to go through several steps to correct it.
  • There is no specific pathway for certain tasks which can be quite misleading for new users.
  • SAP support from online sources is very limited. As a result of that, solving a problem can be challenging if the skilled person is not available.
SAP HANA is excellent for report generation, cost analysis, handling business processes and payrolls. It is an excellent tool for analyzing an organization's production, consumption, losses and gains. However, SAP HANA cannot be used in an environment where data is changing in a real time. Our usage of SAP was mainly for events which had occurred in the past and did not reflect the actual situation at that specific period of time.
Not much support available over the internet. SAP support is mainly provided by highly specialized company employees. Each employee working on SAP focuses on his/her own area and they are unable to solve problems that area out of their field of expertise.
Read Nooruddin Jamali's full review
December 15, 2020
Abraham Jawahar M | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used as an Enterprise solution to provide an analytic solutions to our business users.
  • HANA procedures in automation.
  • Ease of User Admin tasks using standard procedures.
  • Processing of complex SQL queries to fetch large rows and columns data.
  • Ease of security model like Abab stack.
  • User categories like Dialog and Non Dialog Users.
  • Standard Reports for UAM tasks.
It behaves like a data lake for reporting and visualizing data insights. Well integrated with cloud solutions.
Yes, it has benefited us as we create many Native HANA apps for Retail, Contracts and Procurement business processes.
Their responses and solutions made me give this rating.
Read Abraham Jawahar M's full review
December 10, 2020
Mirian Pitti | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[SAP HANA} helps us to process our retail business fields also improve the end user experience. Our project structure requires use ERP and SAP HANA, and I can say that the connection between ERP and SAP HANA has been reliable and easy.
It's being used with SAP By Design in business intelligence and sales departments for predictive and analyze data.
  • Fast proccess
  • Easy UI
  • Great developer tools
  • End user attendance
  • Improve functions
  • Improve ui
  • Better suppport from sap
Some scenarios where i can say SAP HANA is well suited [for] are business intelligence, retail business, sales department and behavior of our customers.
Some scenarios that i can say where SAP HANA is less appropriate [are] transactional environments, small and medium business with limited IT resources, Also in small companies with small data sets to release all the SAP HANA processing power
Our organization needs fast responses to all our end users to make [it] possible [for] them [make] some decisions about their business and for that It is important to have real time data in a specific period of time. In the retail business for example [it is important] to see the real data about the sales and the stock in warehouse
The support of SAP HANA is good, SAP handles good response times according to the priority of the incident (good SLAs), it also has the support page to see incidents of references and cases already reported similar to those that we may be presenting with a discussion of possible solutions and documents of references
Read Mirian Pitti's full review
December 09, 2020
Mohammed Iqbal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP HANA as our data mart for our analytic reporting throughout the business.
  • Reporting has improved and we when we used SAP HANA in memory computing it helped a lot with the performance.
  • Scalability.
  • Easy to administer.
  • Scalability on SAP HEC platform with VM platform.
  • Simplify the SAP HEC support process to many layers.
  • SAP Monitoring dashboards with Studio.
SAP HANA will help your business overcome challenges with reporting and analytics.
We have really benefited with SAP HANA reporting.
Support so far has been very good, but there are some areas where it could be improved.
Read Mohammed Iqbal's full review
October 22, 2020
Rounak Verma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used by 2 departments at my organization. Specifically, payroll and E-Learning. It increases the transparency for decision makers and as an analyst, it is easy to understand for me to simplify the setup of views and administration. Authorization is one of the business problems SAP HANA addresses.
  • SAP HANA offers how to map specific business intelligence needs in the enterprise.
  • The reduced data model makes it suitable for analytical processing.
  • The migration to HANA is tedious.
  • SAP HANA could be more flexible and agile.
  • User experience could be better.
SAP HANA is very much suitable for organization having ERP systems. It has more features which make it easier to use and provides a much more robust platform for data usage.
Yes, my organization has benefited from the capabilities of in memory database. With the help of this feature of real time analytics, my organization is able to formulate several reports which addresses different business problems.
Secure communication and trust for other applications and ABAP systems.
Read Rounak Verma's full review
January 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used as a relational database management system to store and extract data as and when needed by the applications. The SAP HANA standard edition provides services related to database, application and integration, series data, dynamic tiering, and more additional features. It address the systematic computational analysis of data or statistics through advanced analytics (streaming analytics option, spatial/graph option, search/text option, predictive option).
  • Multi Store Tables - allowing to store data in default store and extended store as per data ageing.
  • In Production Environment it allows same host deployments (Hana host + Dynamic Tiering). No need to have separate dedicated server for each of them.
  • Incremental and differential backups - Reducing backup times and storage requirements.
  • Implementing SRS patches incurs significant cost to upgrade the existing system.
  • It runs only in Linux Environment. Does not compatible in other OS.
  • The older version gets outdated more often due to frequent SPS updates and releasing enhanced SAP HANA’s versions.
SAP Hana has well suited for our applications as a primary data repository. One of the reliable and powerful DBMS with lot of advanced features of analytics and data privacy. It also provides ETL Capabilities (Extract , Transform and Load) as an application server. The maintenance cost is low with minimal development activities.
It has been highly beneficial for our client in terms of business and critical decision making situations. It offers wide range of advanced real-time analytics which has significantly improved the business model of our client.
Service related to Data Privacy Option has the capability to provide enhanced protection of sensitive and confidential data of our client.
SAP provides quality support and outstanding assistance as and when needed by us.
They value their customers and clients by providing Next-Generation Support tools and support resources.
Until today we always had a great customer experience to our incidents reported, they usually provides anytime, anywhere and any channel support and assistance.
Really satisfied with SAP support so far.

Read this authenticated review
January 07, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used by about half of our organization. The entity that we are operating today as, formed only two year ago by the merger of two organizations that operated on Oracle and SAP Enterprise stacks separately. So the part of the organization that is already using SAP products chose to first work with SAP HANA.
  • Compression
  • Big Data capabilities
  • On the fly capabilities
  • More User Interface Themes can be added, existing ones can be improved
  • Setup and configuration is complex. SAP best practice documentation helps though
  • Code management is complex and painful
Well suited for -
1. Large organization which are focused on digital transformation and can spare high pfront costs
2. Organizations that are operating on legacy software and hardware, willing to take a leap
3. Business users and IT is willing to learn, and adapt to a paradigm shift in tools.

Less appropritae for -
1. Medium and small scale organization unwilling to take on huge investments
2. Organizations that can't attract resources with high technical calibre


Our previous (traditional) databases required downtime windows and any heavy number-crunching could happen only during less-busy hours. With SAP HANA, we have several analytics jobs running during business hours with quick tunraround time and no dip in performance at all. Real-time analytics also help business users and managers the freedom to request or run reports on a need basis.
SAP HANA is stable product now. However, we would be interested an even better and clearly defined roadmap. In terms of availability of technical resources with enough expertise to handle complex business challenges, SAP needs to take up the initiative of enabling partners and larger community. Better awareness around best practice content and tighter integration between SIs and product vendor is required.
Read this authenticated review
December 13, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used throughout the whole organisation as leading database, particularly warehouse management, where we can make quick and efficient decisions. As the product is multi into memory, it's hard to beat it's proformance with other products which was a deciding factor when we purchased [SAP] HANA, along with real time analytics and reduction in MRP times.
  • Proformance - MRP times reduced
  • Report / Analytics - real time decisions made easy
  • Easy to use export / excel integration
  • Scalability
  • Support - hard to find resources online so you are often dealing with an issue for a while.
  • UI could be more intuative, takes a while to get use to or train users.
  • Using a couple of models can make it not respond effectively.
  • Doesn't support text data type.
You can quickly get the data you want. It would be well suited to a manufacturing company who wishes to reduce MRP times in their ERP. It's a SAP product, so will suit companies who use other SAP products or have time to learn as resources are limited online. It would suit large companies willing to dedicate time and money.
We use real-time analytics to show what-if
scenarios and how they would impact the business, particularly in
MRP. We are now shown in real time how our stock levels will be affected
and we don't have to wait around and analyse the data manually. The stores
department is working a lot more efficiently and we can produce work orders
based on incoming orders and combine where necessairy.
Online support is good but it can be hard to find the sources you need. You must be willing to give a chunk of your time in order to find out how to do something or to train users, which isn't for everybody. Some businesses won't be able to operate that way, particularly small businesses.
Read this authenticated review
December 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA was used across the tech team for the purpose of simplifying our IT processes.
Because it has in memory storage capability, that led [to] easy organization of humongous data for the application we were handling .
It allowed us faster access of data and hence good performance.
HANA's database engine is so advanced that it allowed us to develop and deploy at run times.
  • SAP HANA is mostly suitable for big data involving heavy transactions.
  • Since it has in memory storage feature rather than on disk, the speed at which data can be accessed through it is fast.
  • It handles structured as well as unstructured data.
  • It has open architecture and hence allows simplification of business processes.
  • I feel some security concern when deciding to go for private or public cloud with HANA.
  • Choosing the proper infra for setting up HANA was not easy as for us it was some kind of trade off that we have to do the business use cases over cost.
  • Based on the end user expectation of quality from SAP HANA it is a challenge to maintain the production system given the quality is not compromised at any stage.
  • The next hurdle I feel is with respect to training of resource on SAP HANA because it's licensed, so using it in [an] optimal and efficient way is not an easy task for everyone.
SAP HANA is well suited for [the] following :
1) large amounts of data with real time insights.
2) since the data is stored in RAM the access time is very fast.
3) data can be stored in columns as well as in rows so operations can be parallelly processed.
4) we can access various databases in HANA unlike traditional databases.
5) this is suited for data analytics and reporting.

The following are cases where SAP HANA is less useful:
1) it can only be run on SAP certified hardware making it non compatible with other hardware user may want to run on.
2) its pricing is pretty high thus it gives a difficult choice to make when migrating data to it.
3) it has a frequent updates and hence again time consuming and costly to run with new version of it as it invalidates the older version.
4) running HANA partly on cloud and partly on premises causes a lot of issues.
As I mentioned, we benefited from this good capability of SAP HANA as it reduced the transactional time for us from 3 days to 4 hours .
In the next value add the tool identifies us the pattern making it easier for business decision. Again, the analysis time was fairly reduced.
The real time decision was always there for us to make because of its feature .
The good reporting feature through interactive dashboards of it made it very convenient for us and for the end user as well..
The APIs it provides are so basic that it helped write any code on top of it and hence easier for us to correlate between different systems.
I will say that a good knowledge is required to maintain and leverage the capabilities of SAP HANA as it is not open source so there is not much support provided to it.
It has constant updates so a new feature replaces the older version of it so it requires a fair amount of experience that comes with expertise to deal with such kind of transition .
Read this authenticated review
December 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consultant, I implement business scenarios in SAP HANA. At my current project, we implement solutions based on BWonHANA and use SAP HANA developments for more complex use cases, e.g. where we need to join various sources (and/or) texts together or need to do some sort of pre-selection/ranking based on certain measures. For this we use calculation views. We currently do not use HANA for XS applications.
  • Graphic view modelling.
  • Easy joins and unions.
  • Easily calculate new columns.
  • Better input parameter functionalities.
  • Code auto-fill in formula editor.
  • Simpler authorization/role concepts.
SAP HANA is well suited for more complex business use cases where different data needs to be joined together from various sources or if there are some pre-conditions/queries that need to be executed to return a reduced data output. It is also well suited to apply out-of-the-box machine learning algorithms from AFL/PAL library directly within BW/HANA ecosystem.
We are currently not using real-time analytics functionalities. All data used in HANA scenarios is first replicated into a BW system (batch jobs, not real-time). The benefit we are currently experiencing is virtualization and live calculations upon execution of e.g. queries based on views which means we can reduce persisted data volume on BW side.
I usually do not have direct contact regarding HANA support issues. I find that there may be a few hickups here and there in regards to e.g. input parameters or SQL statements which one can usually resolve or work around themselves, so no huge support is required.
Read this authenticated review

What is SAP HANA?

The SAP HANA® platform combines a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. According to the vendor, it enables real-time business by converging transactions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA aims to untangle IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.

SAP HANA Features

Has featureIn-memory, columnar, massively parallel database processing
Has featureFull ACID compliance
Has featureMultitenancy

SAP HANA Integrations

SAP HANA Competitors

Microsoft SQL Server, Microsoft Dynamics 365 for Finance and Operations (Dynamics AX), Cognos TM1

SAP HANA Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SAP HANA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No