TrustRadius
SAP HANA is an application that uses in-memory database technology to process very large amounts of real-time data from relational databases, both SAP and non-SAP, in a very short time. The in-memory computing engine allows HANA to process data stored in RAM as opposed to reading it from a disk which means that the data can be accessed in real time by the applications using HANA. The product is sold both as an appliance and as a cloud-based software solution.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Kx/1h/QTQCX47ATCR4.JPEGSAP HANA as a strong backend for your appsActually, SAP HANA works as the backend of SAP Business One in the company, that allows us to run complex and heavy reports at record time, prevent system locks and in the future, we are planning to use SAP HANA as the analytic backend for all the company reports, geospatial, financial etc.,Real Time Rerporting Database management Extensibility,Capabilities in front of competitors Query functions Service layer,9,Very strong backend for self developed apps An excellent analytic backend Highly scalable SAP works in the improvement of the product,Microsoft SQL Server and Oracle Database,SAP Business One, SAP Lumira, Microsoft BISAP HANA A Data JourneySAP HANA is used as a data repository for our business intelligence applications. It is used by our procurement, operations and compliance groups and it allows for strategic planning to maximize revenue and decision making. It also acts as the backend for our SpotFire front end analytical toolsets allowing reports and visualizations.,intuitive interface easily scalable for large amounts of data fast data access,filtering interface could use work easier direct SQL-type language queries more built-in visualization,8,one stop shop for data easy to filter and query takes some time to configure in the beginning,SQL and TIBCO Spotfire,TIBCO Spotfire, Ariba Procurement, Microsoft Office 2016SAP HANA reviewWithin my current client's organization they implemented SAP HANA database for SAP SCM systems. It has upstream & downstream system flows. It is being used by department & not by whole organization. It solves client's reporting as well as real time API calls for faster access of data.,Columnar Storage for tables definitely provides way faster database operations. You can see the difference when processing huge amount of data. HANA has a calculation engine which allows you to create virtual data models. You don't need secondary indexes for faster performance. It performs very well even with billions & billions of rows. Real-time Replication Service of HANA can be used to access and replicate data from SAP ERP. Very useful for clients who has existing SAP systems. They can implement side-car approach without impacting stable system & still can have benefits of faster data access.,I have heard, HANA is costly - both hardware & software license. Hard to find skilled resources. (This might not be valid in near future) Database has specific hardware requirement. So just running installation doesn't work. (not a big Cons),7,Client sees mostly positive impact for retrieving & processing their historical data within their supply chain business. Positive impact on their reporting needs. They use to run overnight batch jobs to fetch data & calculate reports, which happens in minutes with use of SAP HANA database. Best performance on real-time APIs with many calls in parallel.,Oracle database in-memory,SAP ERP, WebEx Meetings, Skype for BusinessSAP HANA for real-time Decision Support in the Retail IndustryWe used to SAP HANA to build a decision support system for retailers offering perishable goods. The core of the system is a machine learning algorithm that provides demand forecast based on transactional data (POS data) in real-time that are required for daily ordering decision as well as intra-day shelf replenishment. Thus, the provided demand forecasts are mainly used by store managers and clerks. However, we also implemented reports for the different management levels (e.g. store, region).,Real-time OLAP queries on transactional data. Integrated application layer (XS/XSA). RServe support,PAL offers only basic algorithms. Exception handling in SQLScript is limited. Multi-threading in SQLScript is not possible.,9,Decision support leads to better inventory management of perishable items. Provided demand forecasts lead to time savings for operational staff. Better product availability caused increased revenues.,SQLServer,Oracle Java SE, RStudio, Microsoft SQL ServerBenefits of SAP HANAHistorically, we close our month end results by the fifth business day, but there is a lot of manual work and long hours that are required to meet that goal. In between the first business day following month end and that 5th business day, it's really only the 3rd business day our CFO has transparency on results. Implementing HANA has sped up the ability to produce more timely information to allow for better decision making, enable forward-looking decisions for our organization, such as implementing robotics, and allowing key staff to do value-added work instead of menial reconciling tasks.,One source of truth Speed, efficiency Multiple platforms that can view data on,Maybe ability to incorporate more 3rd party platforms,9,Should help with better and quicker decision making,
Unspecified
SAP HANA
91 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
TRScore

SAP HANA Reviews

SAP HANA
91 Ratings
Score 8.3 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 91 vetted SAP HANA reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-13 of 13)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Leonardo Hernandez profile photo
March 23, 2018

Review: "SAP HANA as a strong backend for your apps"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Actually, SAP HANA works as the backend of SAP Business One in the company, that allows us to run complex and heavy reports at record time, prevent system locks and in the future, we are planning to use SAP HANA as the analytic backend for all the company reports, geospatial, financial etc.
  • Real Time Rerporting
  • Database management
  • Extensibility
  • Capabilities in front of competitors
  • Query functions
  • Service layer
SAP HANA provides powerful functionality. There is often doubt as to whether or not, in practice, the business value can offset these considerable costs. The challenge actually lies in the fact that the technology in itself does not create any value; it only enables the realization of valuable applications that can generate business value.
Read Leonardo Hernandez's full review
David Schuster profile photo
December 06, 2017

User Review: "SAP HANA A Data Journey"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used as a data repository for our business intelligence applications. It is used by our procurement, operations and compliance groups and it allows for strategic planning to maximize revenue and decision making. It also acts as the backend for our SpotFire front end analytical toolsets allowing reports and visualizations.
  • intuitive interface
  • easily scalable for large amounts of data
  • fast data access
  • filtering interface could use work
  • easier direct SQL-type language queries
  • more built-in visualization
I believe that SAP HANA is very well suited for storing large amounts of data in an easy to access way. It acts as a commercially available alternative to freeware applications like SQL with all the technical support and polish that goes with being commercially available. I'd recommend it to anyone that needs well supported data storage solutions.
Read David Schuster's full review
No photo available
April 12, 2018

"SAP HANA review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Within my current client's organization they implemented SAP HANA database for SAP SCM systems. It has upstream & downstream system flows. It is being used by department & not by whole organization. It solves client's reporting as well as real time API calls for faster access of data.
  • Columnar Storage for tables definitely provides way faster database operations. You can see the difference when processing huge amount of data.
  • HANA has a calculation engine which allows you to create virtual data models. You don't need secondary indexes for faster performance. It performs very well even with billions & billions of rows.
  • Real-time Replication Service of HANA can be used to access and replicate data from SAP ERP. Very useful for clients who has existing SAP systems. They can implement side-car approach without impacting stable system & still can have benefits of faster data access.
  • I have heard, HANA is costly - both hardware & software license.
  • Hard to find skilled resources. (This might not be valid in near future)
  • Database has specific hardware requirement. So just running installation doesn't work. (not a big Cons)
If a company has huge database growing fast, many interfaces, big use of read/write operations, heavy reporting requirement & can afford this product then it is well suited for them.

Company with small database should not think about this because it will not give them much benefits for its cost.

For Mid-size companies, if you are happy with overall SAP's solution then implement HANA Database in small steps to comply with S4 HANA requirement before 2025.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

Review: "SAP HANA for real-time Decision Support in the Retail Industry"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used to SAP HANA to build a decision support system for retailers offering perishable goods. The core of the system is a machine learning algorithm that provides demand forecast based on transactional data (POS data) in real-time that are required for daily ordering decision as well as intra-day shelf replenishment. Thus, the provided demand forecasts are mainly used by store managers and clerks. However, we also implemented reports for the different management levels (e.g. store, region).
  • Real-time OLAP queries on transactional data.
  • Integrated application layer (XS/XSA).
  • RServe support
  • PAL offers only basic algorithms.
  • Exception handling in SQLScript is limited.
  • Multi-threading in SQLScript is not possible.

SAP HANA is an appropriate choice if an analytical applications is based on a (very) large data foundation that needs to be accessed and aggregated (OLAP queries) in real-time. It also provides an application layer that allows to build web-based front-Ends using SAP UI5.

If the data foundation is not very large or real-time queries are not required SAP HANA is likely not be an appropriate choice given its pricing model.

Read this authenticated review
No photo available
March 19, 2018

User Review: "Benefits of SAP HANA"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Historically, we close our month end results by the fifth business day, but there is a lot of manual work and long hours that are required to meet that goal. In between the first business day following month end and that 5th business day, it's really only the 3rd business day our CFO has transparency on results. Implementing HANA has sped up the ability to produce more timely information to allow for better decision making, enable forward-looking decisions for our organization, such as implementing robotics, and allowing key staff to do value-added work instead of menial reconciling tasks.
  • One source of truth
  • Speed, efficiency
  • Multiple platforms that can view data on
  • Maybe ability to incorporate more 3rd party platforms
The biggest benefit and lift is being able to see results in real time, adhering to the soft close benefit from HANA. Previously, unless we ran a report and dumped the information into Excel, we wouldn't be able to show results to our CFO. An added benefit definitely arises through cloud/cross-platform (e.g. viewing it on an iPad).
Read this authenticated review
Jamie Oswald profile photo
April 13, 2017

User Review: "SAP HANA Delivers Real Value Real Fast"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP HANA as a high-performance in-memory analytical database. We currently use SAP HANA for data in several of our service lines and continue to open it up to more regularly. We use HANA because of its ability to let our users analyze millions of rows of data with split-second performance. Basically, it allows our users to ask the questions they want to, not the the ones we've pre-aggregated answers for.
  • Gets rid of the need to pre-aggregate data sources.
  • Allows you to analyze millions of records in real-time.
  • You can use it as the semantic layer for your entire data platform.
  • Because it is new, things change very quickly, especially in the administrative area to be in.
  • The licensing can be confusing.
High volume, high value data is a natural fit for SAP HANA. We use to store supply information, which s a very large dataset and is relevant rolled up to a total amount and when rolled all the way down to individual items used for individual procesures. HANA is probably a suboptimal place to store slowly-changing, seldom used data (although I'd still recommend using Smart Data Access to manage how users interact with that data).
Read Jamie Oswald's full review
Srinivas Perumandla profile photo
March 31, 2017

User Review: "SAP HANA is ultimate!!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Before using SAP HANA, the client was storing the transactional data on Oracle DB based SAP BW DWH and they were using SAP BO as reporting tool. The report response time was drastically reduced after we moved to SAP HANA DB based SAP BW DWH and using SAP BO for reporting.
  • Superfast report response time.
  • Developing models are simple compared to earlier methods.
  • No need of BW Accelerators or additional indexing and simple maintenance of system.
  • Some complex business logic requirements which were resolved by using ABAP programming in SAP BW can still not be achieved by SAP HANA.
  • I had issues installing the SAP HANA application with the SAP BW servers based on load balancing method.
  • Pricing is bit high compared to other available software.
SAP HANA is well suited for reporting on live data i.e as data flows into OLTP systems, we can do reporting and make quick decisions.
SAP HANA is not required to the routine analytical reporting such as Profit/Loss statements, etc.
Read Srinivas Perumandla's full review
Saurabh Raheja profile photo
March 28, 2017

"SAP HANA Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organisation, we have installed SAP HANA for training purposes. The organisation has also bought licenses of software and is providing continuous support to their clients in terms of services. Implementing SAP Hana for customers not only increases the speed and efficiency of data retrieval but also is a complete transformation of architecture design from the backend which is much better than older backed relational databases.
  • Faster retrieval of data from in memory database as all data resides in main memory RAM
  • Data compression techniques in SAP hana are better than older databases
  • OLAP and OLTP systems can be combined in one system to leverage the feature of both systems together
  • SAP HANA licenses are costly as of now. To attract more customers it should lower the license cost.
  • Skilled professionals for SAP HANA are much needed so proper training and innovation should be taken into account by the professionals.
  • Get maximum involvement in integration with other applications and databases like big data Hadoop through smart data access.
Real-time data retrieval is the best-suited scenario for SAP HANA. For example tracking bus transports in real time for security and other purposes is a well-suited scenario. The least suited is scenario is when we have less data involved for a small or mid sized enterprise and static data is involved majorly which does not change so frequently.
Read Saurabh Raheja's full review
Vivek Gupta profile photo
March 24, 2017

Review: "SAP HANA - The Future for SAP Customers"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using HANA for real-time data warehouse reporting. Our present-day focus area is for production management with a vision to migrate [our] enterprise data warehouse to HANA. HANA is able to solve report availability latency and gave a huge boost on the performance. SAP HANA addressed the real-time reporting issues we were facing with some critical reports. HANA also helped unify all the legacy reporting applications into one platform serving as a corporate reporting tool.
  • Real-time reporting
  • Faster access
  • Ability to interface with other applications
  • Optimized profitability
  • Wide Interface Options
  • License cost needs to be reduced
  • GUI/Hana Studio is too complex
  • SLT is still in developing stage
HANA is very well suited:
1. Enterprise wide reporting for mid to very large size companies
2. Where we need real-time reporting
3. It has analytic engines also which make it very unique in market for analytic solutions
4. Integration with R//Python helps for data science projects too
5. Real-time data processing like Airlines/Soccer Matches
Read Vivek Gupta's full review
No photo available
August 09, 2016

User Review: "The game changer ...... SAP HANA"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP Hana is being used in our corporate level across the whole organization. Although we have non SAP sources for our reporting needs SAP HANA serves our needs for users who doesn't like to navigate to multiple sources for their day to day work. With SAP Hana our users are able to access reports, request code changes that are taken care of with SAP Data services.
  • SAP Hana does well at providing near to real time data synchronization from various tools especially SAP tools.
  • Its in memory feature reduces the data retrieval time drastically.
  • Merged suite tools that combined give exceptional features in SAP landscape.
  • SAP HANA is way too expensive for any small to midsize organizations. For the large companies such as the one I am working at, it needs lot of budget approvals to implement SAP HANA.
  • Since SAP HANA has lots of competition in the cloud based technology, the constant updates require mandatory server upgrades and that is sometimes a pain.
We have multiple data sources. As per my experience working with SAP HANA, it is well suited with SAP applications such as SAP BW and SAP business suites like SAP ERP, SAP SCM and SAP CRM. I have just started using SAP Design Studio but am sure about the connection with SAP HANA, I anticipate it works as perfect as with the other reporting tools.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 25, 2015

User Review: "Our experience in SAP HANA"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using HANA for real time data warehouse reporting. Our present-day focus area is for Production management with an vision to migrate Enterprise Data Warehouse to HANA. HANA is able to solve report availability latency and gave a huge boost on the performance. How reports are available for business users in real time where in the past they have to wait a day to get the reports.
  • Great performance boot. Having the data available in-memory, reports are now running 10-20X faster.
  • Columnar storage provides a great degree of data compression and speed-up data aggression.
  • All the data models are virtual views (Attribute, Analytical and Calculation view) so No materialize view. Gives ultimate flexibility to change the data model on the fly during development cycles with low impact.
  • Still an evolving product, we are getting fix patched every 2-3 weeks’ time period.
  • Like to see some enhancement on the security module. Admin can’t able to see data available under user private schema. Not able to restrict memory allocation based on user profile.
  • Missing tighter integration with other database like Oracle and SQL server
It's best suited for SAP ERP clients and not so much for non-SAP ERP. There is quite a bit of a learning curve on the data modeling side in HANA. Traditional data modeling concepts should be rethought. If the model is not done right it can easily nullify all the performance benefit you are expecting from the product.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 06, 2014

User Review: "SAP HANA is Music"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HANA Is used as:
  • A data base for our OLTP system.
  • A data base for Our OLAP System.
  • A Data warehouse.
  • Analytic engine for BI
It is mainly used as for Finance and Sales.

SAP HANA Solves many problems:
  • Operational Reporting:- Leveraged SAP HANA as a scalable platform for Artist operational reporting of SAP and non-SAP data sources offering fast loading through real time replication, fast report generation and flexible navigation options with reduced administration effort. It offers new possibilities of analyzing big data of any format with the end goal to eventually provide customers self-service reporting capabilities on KPIs and to allow status tracking in real-time.
  • Optimized profitability:-Sales & Marketing representatives face the challenge to identify the “value” of each Artist derived from sales, granted discounts, etc. In order to provide recommendations on what to offer each Artist for sales growth. Additionally, Sales & Marketing organizations need to analyze promptly several millions of Artist data from several data sources. There is a lack of a visualization, exploration and predictive analytics to support intelligent decision making through meaningful KPIs and a full view of Artist data.
  • Optimized profitability
  • Operational Reporting
  • Real Time Inventory Management
  • Sales Analsysis
  • Profitability
  • GUI
  • integration with SAP BI
  • Integration with SAP BOBJ
It's not suitable for a small data base.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 03, 2014

User Review: "SAP HANA Usage"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA addressed the real time reporting issues we were facing with some critical reports (such as sales, budgeting etc). SAP HANA also helped unify all the legacy reporting applications into one platform serving as a corporate reporting tool.
  • Real Time reporting
  • Faster access
  • Ability to interface with other applications
  • License is very expensive
  • Still needs a lot of development work in terms of SLT
Source systems to be connected, Data Transformation tool and sizing
Read this authenticated review

About SAP HANA

The SAP HANA® platform combines a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. According to the vendor, it enables real-time business by converging transactions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA aims to untangle IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.
Categories:  Embedded Database

SAP HANA Features

Has featureIn-memory, columnar, massively parallel database processing
Has featureFull ACID compliance
Has featureMultitenancy

SAP HANA Integrations

SAP HANA Competitors

SAP HANA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No