SAP HANA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
280 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 101

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 131)

Jorge Zambrano Hernandez profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA it's the best way to improve performance and save space for the company while giving new possibilities for innovation.
  • Compress information.
  • High performance.
  • Speed in calculations.
  • New ways to integrate SAP and non-SAP products.
  • Interface access.
  • User experience.
It is recommended for companies with big landscapes and integration and needs improvement in their times.
I would not recommend this for small companies with slow growth.
Read Jorge Zambrano Hernandez's full review
ABHINAW KUMAR SINGH profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used in my department. It helps my client in real-time analysis of their business. Based on this analysis they can make quick decisions to further enhance their user experience.
  • In-memory data processing makes it faster.
  • Parallel processing helps in processing huge amount of data.
  • Easy-to-use UI.
  • Connected to different data sources easily.
  • HANA Application Life Cycle management portal needs to be improved for faster collection of Transport Requests.
  • Sometimes server got hanged while dealing with a large amount of data.
  • Not compatible with every operating system.
  • Requires larger RAM size than usual.
SAP HANA is well suited for real-time data analysis. It is suited for tracking a product life cycle right from its manufacturing to user hand over.
We should avoid HANA for historical data storage and analysis purpose.
Read ABHINAW KUMAR SINGH's full review
Dieter Steinmann profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HANA is used over the whole Organisation. It is our backbone for all our SAP systems.
  • Extremely fast.
  • Reliable.
  • Futuristic technology for SAP and non-SAP environments.
  • License is a problem
  • especially for Big Data Use Cases the License Model is not feasible
  • HANA should be more Data Center Ready
HANA is perfect for an SAP system environment. The combination of row and column store is a perfect combination for transactional and analytics applications in one single database.
Read Dieter Steinmann's full review
Soumen Das profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used for CFMS and debt management. All the financial transactions process in SAP HANA and we are reaping the benefits of it. Our turn-around time in serving the users has come down significantly. The time that was being taken to complete a process has come down from a month's time to hours.
  • Reducing process times.
  • Processes are now structured and delivered through workflows.
  • Analytics of data.
  • The UI experience.
  • Integration with Google's API.
  • Integration of media files.
Well suited for projects with timeline constraints.
Read Soumen Das's full review
Saurabh Sharan  PMP® profile photo
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SAP Concur for our travel expenses and associates' expenses. This was recently brought in by our GBS India and launched successfully. This made the travel expense easy especially direct feed from our banks where the associates don't have to reenter saving a lot of time. Life is easy after that....
  • Real time.
  • More data.
  • Easier and faster.
  • Personally I believe the UI could be much more compact and I see improvement areas.
  • Mobile application and desktop are very different.
  • Sometimes you need type-in help on mouse hover for faster input and selection.
  • Now HANA is going cloud where data and security becomes a concern for larger companies. We want to see a benchmark company in manufacturing domain with such a large retail presence. I see there are areas for improvement in that.
It is suited for large scale data and faster real-time analysis. I also think that on-premise is heavy on configuration where HANA made it simple by apps and Fiori.
Read Saurabh Sharan PMP®'s full review
Dheeraj Garg profile photo
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA - made life easy

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used extensively in my organization. Starting from S/4HANA as EPR and BW/4HANA as Reporting and SAC (SAP Analytics on Cloud) for Dashboarding. This is solving all day-to-day operations starting from Order to Cash, Procurement to Delivery, Financial closing - AP/AR. Moreover, it is also helping us to managing our HR operations, their salaries, etc.
  • In-memory computation - resolve all slow performance issues to great extent.
  • Column storage - reduce memory footprint and cost of hardware.
  • Agile and quick development reduced development efforts significantly.
  • Connectivity with SAP and non-SAP systems - helped to get all data under one umbrella for consolidated reporting.
  • Currently Enterprise HANA gets data via table replication through SLT. There is no provision to use the function module which is part of S/4HANA in Enterprise HANA. Looking for functionality wherein we can call these function modules in Enterprise HANA and fetch relevant data.
  • There is no further release of HANA live views from SAP side. There are certain areas where we have to build HANA views from the start. Having more HANA live views will help us to speed up the development.
  • Adding debugging functionality.
Suitable on all places where we have organized and structured data mainly from SAP sources. Less appropriate wherein the data is unstructured one and data volume is too high. Rather to load this data directly in SAP HANA, first make it structured and then store meaningful data for better insight.
Read Dheeraj Garg's full review
Saravanan Subbiah profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Deloitte is using SAP HANA products to handle the customers' business.
  • Parallel processing.
  • Column storage and faster performance.
  • OLTP data will be handled in proper manner.
  • SQL joins as sometimes modelling is taking more time.
  • SAC - is not supporting counter.
  • Multiple optional is not supporting in Analysis of Office.
  • Improve the Hierarchy performance in HANA as it is supporting referential join hence blank MD records are missing.
Real-time data analysis will be faster in SAP HANA. SAP HANA products are suitable to visualizing the data.
Read Saravanan Subbiah's full review
Umapada Dash profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA 2.0 SPS 4 is used as the back-end database in my organization for storing the Transactional Data and reporting it on Tableau Report. It's used across the Operational Business Area in the organization. It helps the end user to see the data in real time and reporting within the SLA to make further decisions.
  • Parallel data processing.
  • In-memory storage.
  • Real-time data replication through SLT.
  • Object migration.
  • UNION node mapping.
  • Rank node performance.
If you have source system in SAP then HANA is a best solution for further Business Logic Implementation. For non-SAP source system like Teradata we need any third-party toll to replicate the data into HANA for further analysis. In cases of reporting, HANA will be best as it has the columnar storage features.
Read Umapada Dash's full review
Vakas Shaikh profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used for financial reporting and analytics across the whole organization. SAP HANA provides real-time transactional reports which is really helpful.
  • Zero downtime.
  • Single source of truth.
  • Faster speed.
  • Cost of ownership for on-premise.
  • Sometimes accidental crashes on heavy usage on peak time.
  • Faster extraction of CSV reports.
SAP HANA is more than a big data solution, it is more than just a database, it is a platform on which you can build great applications and reporting solutions.
Read Vakas Shaikh's full review
Gaurav Kumar profile photo
November 14, 2019

Benefits of HANA

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA allows us to seamlessly manage the huge magnitude and varied data domain, thereby helping us consume the data in ways required by business users. HANA is being used extensively across different streams. As such it's quite scalable in terms of managing various TBs of data while still maintaining the accessibility and interoperability.
  • Manage huge data volumes.
  • Easy control over data, while allowing users to seamlessly consume data via different views (analytics/calculation, etc.)
  • Scalability and data security.
  • The workload class concept introduced with HANA 2.0 has at times inaccuracies in propagating the rules when faced with conflicting scenarios.
  • I am aware of the current appraoch to move from HANA Studio to Cockpit, however for a certain section of users, Studio still has better acquaintances, and I'm not sure if there are plans to completely do away with Studio?
SAP HANA does a lot better at managing humongous data volumes, building queries on top, connectivity with host of other services, workload class concept, granular access control, etc. With the ability to connect to Azure/AWS it expands the options to bring enterprise data to a whole different usage level. HANA has increased the ways/options in which data was being accessed.
Read Gaurav Kumar's full review
David Bertsche profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We build and sell a data analytics as a service platform (DAaaS) for managing energy asset investments. HANA is the back end database for hosting all our customer asset data. It provides a one stop solution for data storage and management and it interfaces naturally with other SAP products that we use for developing the front end of our product.
  • HANA is available in the cloud, so we don't have to manage our own servers.
  • HANA is stable and responsive.
  • HANA has many flexible interfaces.
  • HANA comes in many versions, it is sometimes confusing to keep track of which one you are using.
HANA is useful for big data applications, and as a back-end for web browser based applications. It is a powerful and flexible solution that offers many options for customization and options for expert users, while also having simple user interface options for average business users. But if a use-case is rather simple then HANA may be excessive and a simpler database can be used.
Read David Bertsche's full review
Javier Pomposo profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used globally in the company. It makes the data read faster. It solved some issues with some data collecting.
  • Access data faster, avoiding long waits.
  • Manage bigger amounts of data
  • Trustable and powerful system in the database
  • More wizards to make use of the new functionalities that Hana brings.
Well suited for scenarios managing a big amount of data that needs to be quickly accessible.
Read Javier Pomposo's full review
Amitkumar Shinde profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have been involved in many SAP HANA implementations/migrations and upgrade for my clients and HANA. The biggest advantage is its unparalleled speed and access to data in real-time. Its architecture organizes and stores data in columns and in-memory which eliminates data copies, allows for faster loading, and uses less memory.
  • Database speed.
  • Smooth integration with reporting tools like BOBJ and Tableau.
  • Independent development platform.
  • Runs only on SAP or SUSE Linux certified hardware.
When you want to fetch reporting data on real-time data, HANA comes in handy.
Read Amitkumar Shinde's full review
nagendra hamsala profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used to store harmonized data from multiple sources so that reporting performance is better.
  • Performance: a huge amount of data was churned in no time.
  • Modeling was better.
  • Merging data from multiple sources was easy through joins.
  • Usability for the developer.
  • More graphical data would be helpful.
  • Options to build semantics.
Where performance is a requirement, HANA is the way to go. Also when large amounts of data is involved, HANA is able to churn it faster.
In some cases, where we have to join data from multiple sources, it was lot easier with the available functionalities and join conditions. It is not for users who are not tech savvy, having a graphical usage will be lot helpful.
Read nagendra hamsala's full review
Sanjay Mahajan profile photo
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
HANA is being used as the databases for all of our SAP systems - SAP ECC, SAP BW, SAP BPC, and SAP Solution Manager. It is being used across the whole organization because we have all users in over 30 countries using the same SAP systems. We also have limited use of HANA as the database for Analytics ( for BOBJ).
  • The performance is very good. It is blindingly fast.
  • System administration is easy since the application and the database both are from the same vendor.
  • High availability and disaster recovery are particularly good due to the replication technology of SAP HANA.
  • Migrate all features from SAP HANA Cockpit to SAP HANA Studio soon, so customers can completely switch to Cockpit.
  • Alerting mechanism of HANA may be improved
  • Have scheduling facility for HANA backups in the tool itself such as HANA Studio or HANA cockpit, instead of going through DBACOCKPIT.
Well suited for all SAP applications, where application is using the database as data store. It is also well-suited where it is being used as the database directly for analytics. I cannot think of any scenario where it is less appropriate.
Read Sanjay Mahajan's full review
Vivek Yalla profile photo
November 28, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is a relational database which supports a wide range of business intelligence, ERP and other enterprise applications. HANA resides in-memory allowing the CPU to access data directly.
  • Huge data processing.
  • High performance.
  • DR and HA.
  • Backups.
  • Replication.
  • Data masking.
SAP Hana is well suited for integration and data porting, replication, integration, and data security.
Read Vivek Yalla's full review
Ajeet Kumar profile photo
November 25, 2019

SAP S/4 HANA

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANAis used by the whole organization. We deploy to implement for BW HANA. It has high speed and highly scalable.
S/4HANA is a digital core for any organization.
  • High-Performance appliance.
  • Scalable.
  • DiGital core for the digital world.
  • Material tracking in manufacturing Stages.
  • Workflow approval for BOM and recipe.
  • Smartform for logbooks of the machine.
SAP HANA is well suited for any organization, and it is tightly integrated with different modules. SAP HANA has tracking of the activity which is performing in the system.
S/4 have some limitations in core quality and manufacturing stages like quality control lab and manufacturing stages.
Read Ajeet Kumar's full review
Urtzi Manich profile photo
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In the past, our BI system, takes a lot of time processing our sales data. With the new platform, we have all the info available for all the company almost in real time.
  • Data consistency
  • Processing speed
  • Rigid
It is really helpful in a retail business where what is happening in the stores has to be updated in the back offices systems as soon as possible.
Read Urtzi Manich's full review
Hugo Goncalves profile photo
November 20, 2019

SAP HANA - A must have!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On our team, we have migrated our BW system to BW on SAP HANA, so it is used by the people who produce and consume reporting analysis. The main issue that we had was with reports taking a long time to run. Now, they run in about 10% of the time they use to run.
  • Work with high volume of data
  • Simplify query design
  • Simplify data transformation
  • For what we use it for, we don't see any cons
It is well suited for complex queries and large volume of data.
Read Hugo Goncalves's full review
Varsha Sharma profile photo
November 20, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used by a department for data modeling and fulfilling users' complex requirements. We're using HANA Studio Modeler to design calculation views and procedures. Good and fast data read and write service for large data sets. Development is extremely easy for the persons who don't even know how to code or who are novices in SQL language.
  • Fast data service, instant data preview option upon modeling
  • Security
  • Web IDE needs to improve
  • Eclipse environment needs more optimization on Windows systems
  • Better error handing design time
Well suited when you deal with a large volume of data with multiple sources or division. Don't use it if you don't want any ERP requirements.
Read Varsha Sharma's full review
Arnab Ghosh profile photo
November 20, 2019

HANA is the way to go

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It helps me in monitoring product lifecycle of my client on real time basis. Client can take quick decision using the real time analysis provided by SAP HANA.
  • In-memory database computing
  • Columnar storage
  • Faster processing
  • HANA lifecycle management
  • Server hang issues
  • Installation cost is higher
In case of earlier traditional RDBMS, we are building many staging layers in order to populate the final layer. Now, in SAP HANA, we are creating just a CV on top of SAP table directly. That way, data retrieval becomes faster.
Read Arnab Ghosh's full review
Tushar Jain profile photo
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is being used by the whole organization and it is used to improve the client's performance when they want fast performance and have a huge amount of raw data. With the use of HANA, we are able to quantify the raw data into meaningful information which are used across the company for reporting.
HANA has been able to provide fast processing and we are able to connect multiple legacy systems to form it as a single source of truth.
  • Fast performance.
  • Clean interface and user-friendly.
  • Used as a single source of truth.
  • Built-in business model (ready to use).
  • Provide more calculation options like FULL OUTER JOIN.
  • When using too many projections or joins in the model, it tends to hang a bit.
Suited
1. When using the HANA as the single source of truth.
2. When you need on-the-run reporting.

Not Suited
1. Where there are multiple legacy systems. Pushing the data into the table sometimes becomes a tedious task.
2. Performance issue comes up with the virtual table and having reports on top of those.
Read Tushar Jain's full review
Abhimanyu kumar Pandey profile photo
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
SAP HANA is used in my company to centralise data from multiple ERPs. SAP HANA helps in securing data and improve the reporting experience. With a large volume of data from multiple ERPs, it was very useful as we have many challenges consolidating data. It removed our data duplication issue. I get a very near to real time reporting experience and it's helped build a data lake.
  • Data management. I can place data based on my requirements to RAM and place less used data to disk.
  • Data security. We have multiple levels of security that keeps our data secure.
  • Performance. With a large volume of data being generated every day, its reporting performance is very good.
  • Reliable. SAP HANA is very reliable as we can switch between nodes whenever we have a failure.
  • To be very frank, the cost is high.
  • SDA functionality was not that successful.
  • Also with Cloud being a very integral part of digital transformation, SAP HANA cloud was not that promising.
Well suited for building a enterprise reorting solution, for financial reporting, for secure business needs, and for businesses that need near to real-time data to report. For oil and gas companies, it is very integral as we have very competitive and fragile market. With SAP HANA, it was very easy to create reports.
Read Abhimanyu kumar Pandey's full review
Durga Thota profile photo
November 18, 2019

SAP HANA Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have clients across the globe where they need the reporting capabilities to cater the business requirements on billing, revenue assessment. They have some legacy systems HFM where they have everything on Excel and need to upgrade for their planning and forecasting their business. They deal with large volumes of data and chose S/4HANA, HANA 2.0 for meeting their business needs.
  • Performance.
  • Integration capability.
  • Scalability.
  • Programming.
  • Debugging the issues.
  • Optimization techniques.
It is well suited if you have large volumes of data dealing with planning and forecasting and drill down reporting. Using more advanced analytical capabilities on reporting needs.
It is less appropriate if it were more of having traditional data and reporting is ad-hoc and for smaller volumes of data in the organization.
Read Durga Thota's full review

About SAP HANA

The SAP HANA® platform combines a robust database with services for creating innovative applications. According to the vendor, it enables real-time business by converging transactions and analytics on one in-memory platform. Running on premise or in the cloud, SAP HANA aims to untangle IT complexity, bringing huge savings in data management and empowering decision makers everywhere with new insight and predictive power.
Categories:  Embedded Database

SAP HANA Features

Has featureIn-memory, columnar, massively parallel database processing
Has featureFull ACID compliance
Has featureMultitenancy

SAP HANA Integrations

SAP HANA Competitors

Pricing

Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?Optional

SAP HANA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No