TrustRadius
TeamCity is a continuous integration server from Czeck company JetBrains.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/2h/I0/1244D4F7DV44.jpegTeamCity is the ideal tool for agile teams using continuous integrationTeamCity was used by the technology department of the organization, especially by the web development team. We used TeamCity to test and release code from our development environment to our production environment. Our web developers worked under an agile project management system and used continuous integration. In this system, TeamCity allowed us to integrate our git repository with our ticketing system, as well as help us quality assure and properly release clean code to production.,TeamCity provides a great integration with git, especially Bitbucket. When a new code release (build) fails TeamCity has a great tool for investigation and troubleshooting. TeamCity provides a user-friendly interface. While some technical knowledge is required to use TeamCity, the design helps simply things.,Upgrading TeamCity is a long and manual process. Java skills are needed to fully utilize TeamCity, although they are not necessary for basic or medium-level use.,8,TeamCity provides positive ROI by catching errors before code releases and providing helpful details about the errors. TeamCity saves our developers time by automating the build process as much as possible.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System,MS SharePoint, OneDrive, Parse.lyMy experience with TeamCityTeamCity is the go-to tool to getting the Builds and Deployments packages for a variety of platforms like .NET, Java and JS etc. It is being used by the whole organization. It unifies the build and deployments needs of all the diverse projects to a single platform and solves the build and release issues previously we faced and reduces the time to go to Prod.,First and foremost is the ease of use Very good support for extending , plugging and scripting support to customize your needs Lightweight and accessible by browser.,The Debug log is quite verbose and could be made more intuitive for troubleshooting build errors I would recommend improving it by some kind of integration with platforms like StackOverflow to aid developers and further improve the turnaround time for setting up successful builds There is still scope for improvement for build integration with projects in AWS and Azure cloud platforms.,8,It has drastically improved the turnaround time for building and deploying projects to Production The build process can be augmented by adding build servers quickly In my opinion the licensing cost is not expensive at least for small to medium enterprises, although I haven't looked in detail into how it changes when you move up.,,Octopus Deploy, Puppet Enterprise (formerly Puppet Data Center Automation), Microsoft BizTalk ServerTeamCity 7 Years On!Our company has two products. 1 of which, TeamCity is the critical tool for development and for both products, it's the critical tool for automation testing. In all cases, both development and product support use it. It's the tool which pulls together the 300+ components that make up our current SaaS-based product and the tool which schedules, executes and produces reports for all our type of automation testing (behavioral, backward compatibility, performance, security, and load).,A very friendly UI with good drill-down and "Pro" capabilities compared to all other CI systems A good reporting system that allows all our different types of automation tests to produce output for Fantastically simple to setup and configure,The biggest and only issue we have is the lack of a SaaS-based TeamCity solution. Currently, we have to host and maintain 1 big TeamCity server and up to 15 build agents to build our 1500+ builds,8,We were able to ensure we're deploying the correct version of each component with ease and assurity,Jenkins and CircleCI,CircleCI, JenkinsTeam City - An Easy to Use Continuous Integration PlatformWe used TeamCity as our Core Continuous Integration solution for four years. I love TeamCity's easy to use interface, and the way builds and releases are linked together in dependency Chains. I found it particularly helpful that Builds can be run separately, or in advance of Releases - and then when Releases are run the Builds only run again if the code has changed. TeamCity's Templates, Variables, and Parameterization capabilities also made it very easy to establish a flexible template for common solutions such as deploying MVC applications to IIS. Once templates were configured I could create a "build and release" for a new project in less than 10 minutes. While TeamCity has a simple to use and understand chaining mechanism, allowing builds to call "builds and releases" to rely on multiple dependency chains - TeamCity's PipeLine visualization capabilities are one of its weakest points. I had a complex build across five different environments consisting of eight different solutions and over 20 deployment targets. During a major update, it would have been nice to visualize the deployment pipeline and "watch" the deployment process for issues - but that really isn't possible with TeamCity. Outside of that, TeamCity worked great, integrated well with all of our platforms: Git, Azure, AWS, Visual Studio Team Services. Great Product.,Build: Parameterization, Chaining from multiple sources, Templates, and general ease of use. Release: Works extremely well with "Build" process. Updates and Upgrades are simple, effective, and reliable.,Pipeline Visualization: TeamCity's weakest area,8,TeamCity was a key contributor to our organization's adoption of Agile. TeamCity made it possible to KILL "It works on my laptop" conversations with Developers. If it does not compile in TeamCity - the project is not deployable. TeamCity's easy to use interface made it possible to quickly adopt a "Deploy Only from TeamCity" policy, further ensuring TeamCity Builds were the gold-standard for well-configured source code.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Power BI, Visual Studio IDETeam City: Flexible, Distributed, Customizable build systemsTC is used across our organization to do builds for all our apps and services. We started using it to replace our custom build and deploy system because we needed something more flexible and customizable, and something that did not need a fully dedicated support team.,Fully customizable build process. Each step of the build process can be parameterized and customized to address specific needs of particular applications. This allowed us to easily convert from a custom VM-based environment to our current Docker-based environment. Manages large numbers of build agents seamlessly. This allows us to run multiple builds on many different applications in a most efficient manner. Build steps can be managed in an arbitrary manner, allowing some parts of the process to proceed in parallel while restricting others to depend on completion of all relevant steps.,The customization is still fairly complex and is best managed by a dev support team. There is great flexibility, but with flexibility comes responsibility. It isn't always obvious to a developer how to make simple customizations. Sometimes the process for dealing with errors in the process isn't obvious. Some paths to rerunning steps redo dependencies unnecessarily while other paths that don't are less obvious.,9,When we initially started using it, there was a big impact because it made our build/deploy more reliable and flexible, as well as quicker. Over time, we found that it was relatively easy to change our build and deployment system to our current Docker-based system. This has not only allowed us to continue improving our time to deploy but also to distribute the build process to engineers rather than have everything controlled by a dev infrastructure team. Our most recent change has been to diversify our data centers to support international data centers. TC has made this process more or less seamless, although we no longer use it specifically for the deployment stage for various reasons.,Docker, React
Unspecified
TeamCity
26 Ratings
Score 8.6 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

TeamCity Reviews

TeamCity
26 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 26 vetted TeamCity reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-11 of 11)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Jason Kelly profile photo
November 30, 2018

Review: "TeamCity is the ideal tool for agile teams using continuous integration"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamCity was used by the technology department of the organization, especially by the web development team.

We used TeamCity to test and release code from our development environment to our production environment. Our web developers worked under an agile project management system and used continuous integration. In this system, TeamCity allowed us to integrate our git repository with our ticketing system, as well as help us quality assure and properly release clean code to production.
  • TeamCity provides a great integration with git, especially Bitbucket.
  • When a new code release (build) fails TeamCity has a great tool for investigation and troubleshooting.
  • TeamCity provides a user-friendly interface. While some technical knowledge is required to use TeamCity, the design helps simply things.
  • Upgrading TeamCity is a long and manual process.
  • Java skills are needed to fully utilize TeamCity, although they are not necessary for basic or medium-level use.
TeamCity is well suited for an organization using continuous integration, meaning you release code to production often, and an agile project management system. There are free versions available for small teams and enterprise versions available for large teams with many different builds.

TeamCity is probably overkill for basic e-commerce or blog website builds that do not require much development after the initial launch.
Read Jason Kelly's full review
Ramendra Sahu profile photo
August 03, 2018

User Review: "My experience with TeamCity"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamCity is the go-to tool to getting the Builds and Deployments packages for a variety of platforms like .NET, Java and JS etc. It is being used by the whole organization. It unifies the build and deployments needs of all the diverse projects to a single platform and solves the build and release issues previously we faced and reduces the time to go to Prod.
  • First and foremost is the ease of use
  • Very good support for extending , plugging and scripting support to customize your needs
  • Lightweight and accessible by browser.
  • The Debug log is quite verbose and could be made more intuitive for troubleshooting build errors
  • I would recommend improving it by some kind of integration with platforms like StackOverflow to aid developers and further improve the turnaround time for setting up successful builds
  • There is still scope for improvement for build integration with projects in AWS and Azure cloud platforms.
It is vary valuable to integrate the traditional .NET , JS, Java projects because of the maturity and the features the platform offers. There's a ton of options to extend the build and deployment process because of the support for scripting it provides. The learning curve is quite easy and the product is intuitive and very natural to understand.
Read Ramendra Sahu's full review
Simon Hurley profile photo
May 25, 2018

User Review: "TeamCity 7 Years On!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company has two products. 1 of which, TeamCity is the critical tool for development and for both products, it's the critical tool for automation testing. In all cases, both development and product support use it. It's the tool which pulls together the 300+ components that make up our current SaaS-based product and the tool which schedules, executes and produces reports for all our type of automation testing (behavioral, backward compatibility, performance, security, and load).
  • A very friendly UI with good drill-down and "Pro" capabilities compared to all other CI systems
  • A good reporting system that allows all our different types of automation tests to produce output for
  • Fantastically simple to setup and configure
  • The biggest and only issue we have is the lack of a SaaS-based TeamCity solution. Currently, we have to host and maintain 1 big TeamCity server and up to 15 build agents to build our 1500+ builds
If requiring a CI system and you have VMs available to host it yourself, TeamCity is a great choice.
Read Simon Hurley's full review
Eric Huggins profile photo
May 17, 2018

TeamCity Review: "Team City - An Easy to Use Continuous Integration Platform"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used TeamCity as our Core Continuous Integration solution for four years. I love TeamCity's easy to use interface, and the way builds and releases are linked together in dependency Chains. I found it particularly helpful that Builds can be run separately, or in advance of Releases - and then when Releases are run the Builds only run again if the code has changed. TeamCity's Templates, Variables, and Parameterization capabilities also made it very easy to establish a flexible template for common solutions such as deploying MVC applications to IIS. Once templates were configured I could create a "build and release" for a new project in less than 10 minutes.

While TeamCity has a simple to use and understand chaining mechanism, allowing builds to call "builds and releases" to rely on multiple dependency chains - TeamCity's PipeLine visualization capabilities are one of its weakest points. I had a complex build across five different environments consisting of eight different solutions and over 20 deployment targets. During a major update, it would have been nice to visualize the deployment pipeline and "watch" the deployment process for issues - but that really isn't possible with TeamCity. Outside of that, TeamCity worked great, integrated well with all of our platforms: Git, Azure, AWS, Visual Studio Team Services.

Great Product.
  • Build: Parameterization, Chaining from multiple sources, Templates, and general ease of use.
  • Release: Works extremely well with "Build" process.
  • Updates and Upgrades are simple, effective, and reliable.
  • Pipeline Visualization: TeamCity's weakest area
Small teams, Teams just getting started with Continuous Integration, or larger teams without the need for complex deployment pipeline visualization.
Read Eric Huggins's full review
Larry Reed profile photo
May 16, 2018

TeamCity Review: "Team City: Flexible, Distributed, Customizable build systems"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TC is used across our organization to do builds for all our apps and services. We started using it to replace our custom build and deploy system because we needed something more flexible and customizable, and something that did not need a fully dedicated support team.
  • Fully customizable build process. Each step of the build process can be parameterized and customized to address specific needs of particular applications. This allowed us to easily convert from a custom VM-based environment to our current Docker-based environment.
  • Manages large numbers of build agents seamlessly. This allows us to run multiple builds on many different applications in a most efficient manner.
  • Build steps can be managed in an arbitrary manner, allowing some parts of the process to proceed in parallel while restricting others to depend on completion of all relevant steps.
  • The customization is still fairly complex and is best managed by a dev support team. There is great flexibility, but with flexibility comes responsibility. It isn't always obvious to a developer how to make simple customizations.
  • Sometimes the process for dealing with errors in the process isn't obvious. Some paths to rerunning steps redo dependencies unnecessarily while other paths that don't are less obvious.
TC is great when you have a relatively straightforward sequence of build steps. It allows you to vary the set of build steps by application, and control the dependencies within the build steps.

For our needs, I haven't found any scenarios where TC doesn't provide what we need.
Read Larry Reed's full review
No photo available
October 25, 2017

TeamCity Review: "Build with Confidence!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TeamCity for Continuous Integration & Delivery of our software products. We have many projects for various customers that are built and integrated continuously whenever we check code into our git repositories.

We use a mixture of Gradle & Maven builds and TeamCity handles both well.

We get immediate feedback from TeamCity if a code change has caused issues with other linked projects and, because we have confidence in our tests we also have confidence in a 'green' build prior to delivery to a customer.
  • Easy to set up. The UI is pretty easy to navigate and use. You can have your project up and running in minutes.
  • Good integration with various build frameworks/methodologies. You can run standard Maven, Ant or Gradle builds with virtually no customization.
  • Decent support for extensions via the plug-in mechanism. You can integrate with other popular tools such as Artifactory via plug-ins. Or write your own.
  • Upgrade process can be a bit of a pain - have to do this manually on your server.
  • It's easy for the new user to get lost in the UI. Although this is true for most systems that offer such a wide range of configuration options.
If you're an Agile shop that does TDD & regular releases then it's great.

I'd recommend this even for solo Agile developers as the free version gives you three build agents and you can put everything on a spare machine and run the whole thing in Docker.



Read this authenticated review
No photo available
June 23, 2017

User Review: "If you practice TDD, get TeamCity!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamCity is used in every rollout of code to production in engineering. We heavily believe in test driven development, we probably have more tests than actual code for the product. Since we have nightly releases, TeamCity (CI) is great for getting all our builds tested and ready to go for release.
  • GitHub integration is invaluable.
  • Decent UI that allows many tasks to be performed with just a click.
  • Detailed failure messaging, stack traces.
  • There can be a lot of info to display so the UI can be a bit cluttered, especially if you have a lot of builds/apps going at once.
  • Needs more intuitive way to kick off tasks or just even access settings.
  • The detail of stack traces is nice, but it would be even better if it was cleaned up more and displayed in a better human-readable format.
It is great if your organization does releases frequently, or is heavily reliant on tests for your base code. We have unit tests, selenium tests, and integration tests...all capable of being run by CI. These tests can all be triggered automatically to be run if you have VCS integration enabled. If you don't write tests, well, this won't fix that.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Belanger profile photo
April 14, 2017

User Review: "TeamCity - My Go-To Build system"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I set up TeamCity for our core product continuous integration. For both the main product and the core libraries it is used to compile on check in, build and deploy on pull requests, and to run the unit and functional tests. No code goes into the develop or main branches without passing through this process.
  • Ease of configuration. Some build systems are difficult to get started on. TeamCity can be up and running quickly.
  • Cross platform. TeamCity runs on most configurations, and a master can configure agents of other OS types, so it can build nearly anything.
  • Price. It's free for limited use, so you don't need to pay until you ramp up and are using it a lot.
  • The upgrade process could be smoother. Moving from one major version to another involves jumping onto all your servers and often causes some pain.
  • Log formatting could be a little clearer, though that is true for almost all build systems.
Any time you are pushing code, you should be building continuously. TeamCity, like all JetBrains products, is well designed, well supported, and easy to use. I've found no other system that works as well cross-platform. If you don't have CI, you need it and should look at TeamCity.
Read Christopher Belanger's full review
Tom Paulus profile photo
March 31, 2017

User Review: "TeamCity for the Win!"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use TeamCity at San Diego State Instructional Technology Services to support our CI (Continuous Integration) and CD (Continuous Deployment) needs to support our Agile DevOps practices we implement for our developers. TeamCity also allows us to integrate with our Issue Tracker (YouTrack) and GitHub to ensure we stay on top of issues, and make sure that all of our production deployments are stable and reliable (thanks to Unit Testing, which is handled automatically by TeamCity on artifact build and deploy).
  • TeamCity (via a Plugin) allows us to deploy directly to our Tomcat Staging Server, and via a different plugin, allows us to interface with our Docker Container to do a Zero Downtime deployment to our production system.
  • TeamCity notifies the committing developer, as well as the project lead, if and when a build fails and for what reason.
  • The User interface of TeamCity is also very intuitive and easy to understand.
  • TeamCity's base plan is somewhat limited in regard to the number of projects, specifically build configurations, that you can have.
  • It can take a little bit to get used to the Project Hierarchy structure of TeamCity, however, once understood, it can be extremely powerful for sharing properties and components between projects.
Team City works great for Java based projects, especially those that work with Gradle. However, TeamCity can work well with any common language. We have found it to be the most powerful and efficient, when TeamCity automatically deals with all of the steps, from automatically picking up a new commit from Version Control, to deploying it to the appropriate system once all the tests and status checks have passed.
Read Tom Paulus's full review
Bear Golightly profile photo
March 23, 2017

Review: "It's 4:45pm, do you know where your unit tests are? TeamCity does."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Every single commit to our codebase results in an automatic full build and unit test run, then this code is automatically deployed to a bare-bones environment if it builds and the tests pass.
  • Visual Studio integration is extremely tight.
  • Supports a wide variety of test runners, first-class languages, and source control systems out of the box, and even more with plugins.
  • The configuration system allows our build engineers to reuse build configurations and configuration components, the same way our developers reuse code.
  • The entire thing is built in Java. Not a dealbreaker, but this does mean you need to know Java if you want to create a plugin for something TeamCity doesn't do natively.
  • TeamCity does not seem to have any HA functionality, so no clustering, no active/passive. If your functional CI server dies, your build pipeline dies.
If you're developing Java, .NET, or any of the other languages with first-class support in TeamCity (Ruby, maybe?), TeamCity is a great fit for continuous integration; they even have a freemium model if you want to get your beak wet. If you demand an open source solution, you need HA, or you're developing in a non-supported language (Perl, Visual FoxPro, etc), then TeamCity is not a good fit.
Read Bear Golightly's full review
Aliya Shareef profile photo
May 03, 2016

TeamCity Review: "A easy and clean continuous evaluation tool."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
TeamCity was used by my team to do the continuous evaluation and integration of various projects under our team. It was used by our team only in our organisation. It was easy to spot wrong commits and build a failure before the product release. This was very easy with the help of a continuous integration tool like TeamCity that has a very versatile UI.
  • By default, the TeamCity installation comes with embedded Hypersonic SQL DB (HSQLDB for short). It is a good database in its own right and has its strengths in the situations where you would need a fast and tightly integrated in-process DBMS embedded into your Java application. But running a production server on HSQLDB is risky.
  • TeamCity offers much better security than Jenkins from out of box installation itself.
  • Browser-hosted interface serves as the primary way to administer TeamCity users, agents, projects, and build configurations. It provides project status and reporting information suitable for a broad range of users and project stakeholders. It provides build progress, drill down detail, and history information on the projects and configurations.
  • In TeamCity a single branch can be built dynamically. When configuring a Git or Mercurial VCS root, you need to specify the branch name to be used as the default.
  • TeamCity download was about 535 MB. Starting up TeamCity server on Mac is quite a large space.
  • When compared with the existing continuous integration tools the number of plug-ins available is much less for TeamCity.
They have better documentation and tutorials, a cleaner UI and dashboard and the easiest implementation. When a big team was working in the same repository we had to build every commit automatically and validate each committer and with TeamCity. The integration process was easy and it gave individual validation for individual committers.
Read Aliya Shareef's full review

TeamCity Scorecard Summary

About TeamCity

TeamCity is a continuous integration server from Czeck company JetBrains.

TeamCity Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No