Toad Data Point Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.0 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-9 of 9)

Yoni Dvorkis | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 27, 2019

The best option for data analysts who know SQL

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad Data Point is our main tool to extract data out of the enterprise data warehouse using structured query language or SQL. It facilitates analytics and data-driven evidence-based decision making for operations as well as senior leadership. Analytics is primarily focused on synthesizing data into reportable components that drive strategy for the organization and for me personally none of that would be possible without the ability to efficiently extract this information out of the warehouse using Toad Data Point.
  • Export data into excel.
  • Export data into excel using a pivot table functionality.
  • Navigation between windows is intuitive and easy to understand.
  • Good for SQL novices and experts alike.
  • Occasionally freezes up when disconnected from the laptop docking station.
  • Better functionality to export data into Excel on an automated basis needed for automated querying.
  • Better integration with Python Jupyter notebook.
Toad Data Point is the clear tool of choice if the end-user is interested in reports that are relatively simple to build using SQL code and export to Excel. It is less useful if the analyst also needs to run statistical models on the data and visualize the data for those functions I usually use RStudio or Jupyter Notebook which incorporates those features much more seamlessly.
Read Yoni Dvorkis's full review
Dan Hotka | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 23, 2019

Considering a Business Analysis tool? Consider Toad Data Point.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad Data Point (TDP) is a business analysis tool. I work with department heads to show how it will solve their data needs and make better/quicker data analysis decisions. This tool is perfect if your data is in more than one data store. It supports almost 50 different data stores including Sales Force Automation, OBIEE, and other big applications. Toad supports connectivity to almost 50 different databases/Microsoft Office products/and ODBC compliant data stores.

It is also relatively easy to learn and has many of the same cool features of the Toad (database development tool) product. You don't need to know anything about SQL to do serious data analysis.

Toad Data Point is also integrated with Intelligence Central so it is very easy to share your workflows AND your data with others in your department/your company. It is more of a department kind of tool though. Intelligence Central also allows you to automate things so your data is organized and ready for use upon your arrival in the morning.
  • Ease of building SQL/accessing data, using the Query Builder.
  • The new workflow feature mimics products like Hyperion and is centered on how business analysts are used to working with their data.
  • The dimensional views are definitely a hidden gem. This feature allows you to display similar data in multiple windows, then filter on specifics. ALL windows will then reflect the same data. An example here would be salaries organized by dept then salaries organized by job type. As you filter, both analyses will reflect the filtered data.
  • You can easily create spreadsheets and pivot table spreadsheets.
  • You can email the results to the team/you can save the results in the intelligence central repository so others can access it.
  • You can automate all of these things.
  • The workflow is a relatively new feature. Quest is adding additional functionality and the workflows are useful now.
  • Would be nice if the 'Automate' feature was a bit easier to use.
  • Would be nice if some of the SQL Editor features in the traditional interface worked better in the new workflow interface (although, these are being fixed with each release).
  • Would be nice if there were fewer releases.
This is the best data analysis tool I have seen. I have worked with several and this tool allows for data to be gathered from several different sources and then saved to Excel, in a number of different formats. The saving to Excel is strong. It remembers formatting/headings/data locations and even allows you to name the tabs. This functionality can be automated with either the new workflow or the traditional automation.

Where it is weak is when specific reporting needs are required. Although, the traditional interface has a full-featured report writer.

Most shops don't buy the Intelligence Central and they are really missing the boat when it comes to team collaboration and data preparation for specific reporting.
Read Dan Hotka's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 15, 2019

All Your Data in One Place for Reporting and Analytic Use

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad Data Point is our go-to software for viewing and troubleshooting transactional information and data in our Oracle databases. It is used company-wide by our IT, Database and Technology departments at the company. Thanks to Toad we can easily parse out and work with our data in several different formats that are helpful when it comes to troubleshooting.
  • Excellent at parsing data.
  • A great tool to easily manipulate and export data in various formats.
  • Easy to setup.
  • The program can error out when reconnecting to a database from a timeout but that is easily fixed by restarting the program.
  • If you aren't familiar with database tools the UI can be overwhelming to some.
As far as working with Oracle databases Toad is a great tool and feature-rich as far as what can be accomplished with your data. Compatible with several platforms and an excellent tool for export data into Excel formats for additional editing or reporting. UI can be slightly overwhelming for those that are somewhat new to SQL queries and database work.
Read this authenticated review
Steve Bynum | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Toad Data at it's Best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Toad Data Point to move data across various systems. We move data to NutriKids, TransFinder and Destiny every day. We use it also as a data auditing tool. It is our number one query writing tool, which is easy to use because of the graphical interface. It has improved our day-to-day operations with data analysis.
  • Ease of use. It is a very easy product to use without any particular training.
  • Multiple data source connection. It easily connects to multiple data sources which allows you to use different data sources to run reports.
  • Seamless application. Once you set everything up-- whether it is an FTP or export of data-- you can set it and forget it!
  • Training. I think they should offer some basic training, which is all that was needed.
  • Licensing. We had to purchase a couple of copies for two machines. I am not sure if anything can be done about that.
  • Vender Expos. Have not heard of them being at any national conferences.
I would certainly recommend it in conjunction with our student information system, PowerSchool. Since our student information system does not allow updates from an ODBC connect, there is no way of doing a mass update to data incorrectly. Being able to see the table and easily do joins has made me more efficient when writing sql statements.
Read Steve Bynum's full review
Andrew Kuhn | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2018

Solve that Dataset consolidation Issue

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad Data point is a great product for joining datasets from all over the place. We constantly need to have the ability to bring together data from analytics, government organizations and internal data. This was previously a very cumbersome process having to use a ton of excel and access datasets. With Toad Data Point we immediately are able to join data and cleanse it right away.
  • Joins data from across Oracle, Access, Google Analytics
  • Can pull from Sharepoint lists data
  • The ability to cleanse data and transform easily
  • The user interface is very easy to use for not so technical users
  • The connections can be a bit slow to setup
  • More functionality could be added to the process that can easily be transformed or cleansed
  • Continue to add more data sources
An example of how we use Toad Data point is we have to connect data from external datasets outside of our company for government agents, access databases that we have built over the years, sharepoint lists and our core company data within an Oracle database. We previously had to do a very cumbersome process of exports to excel and try and pivot data. Now we can do it extremely quickly.
Read Andrew Kuhn's full review
Robb Glietz | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2017

Toad Data Point easy connection and reporting all in one

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company is a real estate office along with an in house escrow. Our escrow company uses software to produce the escrows while on the real estate side of the house we use a Transaction Management Software to flow listings and transactions. We use TDP in several ways. The first way is to produce numerous reports for the owner regarding the escrow department. Some of those reports include weekly opening, closing and canceling of escrows and the number and dollars behind those. Along with the average closing time of escrows compared to previous years passed based on escrow officer along with real estate agent. On the real estate side of the house, we use the TMS companies API to pull data into our database and then use TDP to create reports on the agent's transactions and listings. Some of the reports look at the number of listings the agent takes compared to the number closed both in number and dollars, this information helps us develop classes for agents which are having problems getting listings but not being able to sell. Another report that is run once a month is agent production.
  • When I am not in the office, I can have someone that has used it only a hand full of times jump in and produce a great looking report by using the interface which is nice looking and intuitive. This strength of TDP is ideal for those reports that have to get out ASAP and an SMA is not available.
  • The ER Diagrammer helps in building those relationships in a hurry if you're doing some business analysts. You can't get this feature for the price.
  • I use the explain plan when I can't figure out why a query is not returning the results I think it should. It is a powerful tool and it's easy to see the problems with the representation.
  • At times the tool does seem a little slow some speed tweaks would be welcome.
  • To make it even more intuitive adding intellisense would be nice.
  • A data presentation dash would be a nice touch to customize data.
In our case, it is well suited for preparing data for management and also to compare the data between our escrow department and our real estate side. Comparing the two sides makes it easy to see patterns of agent behavior. We also use it to cross check both sides to make sure the dates in both applications match.
Read Robb Glietz's full review
Andy Corson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 03, 2017

Toad Data Point - great for SQL queries and data export automation

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Toad Data Point is used by one department to provide automated reports for multiple groups within Supply Chain. It is used to automate repetitive tasks that analysts would typically do manually such as exporting and manipulating data in Excel.
  • Toad is particularly good for writing SQL queries because of the drag and drop features that automatically create scripts as well as the intellisense feature for including specific columns in queries.
  • Toad has a simple yet powerful automation script interface which makes it very easy to automate execution of queries and exporting of data.
  • Toad has numerous data connection wizards, and it is very easy to connect to any data source.
  • Toad boasts a cross connection query wizard, but queries have always run very slowly for me, and I do not use this feature after I initially tried it out.
  • Toad sometimes crashes unexpectedly when I disconnect from data sources.
  • Occasionally the intellisense feature hangs and doesn't return the column list when coding SQL. Also, the filters on the query results hang with larger result sets and then never pop up.
Toad is well suited for creating ad hoc queries and exporting data to Excel. It is also good for analyzing tables in preparation for creating ETLs, creating and altering views and stored procedures quickly. It is less appropriate with complex ETL processes because it runs very slowly and cannot process multiple data flow simultaneously.
Read Andy Corson's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2018

Connection data from pretty much any source!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Unfortunately (I am sure we are not the only organization) we have data in a lot of different datasets all over the company. We have access databases, oracle, mysql, sharepoint lists and excels from government entities that we previously had a hard to joining in a cohesive manner together. Toad Data Point takes all those pain points away seamless interactions amongst all of them.
  • We have excel files and sharepoint sites that we have to constantly be pulling data from. Previously we had to download, load into access or some other data software. Now we can just connect to all the sources.
  • When you connect to a lot of different data sets the data can be a little unclean. The cleansing tool within Toad allows for you to sync up to layout of data pretty quickly
  • The trending feature on the datasets that you pull is pretty useful, it basically shows how much variation their is in the column that you are looking at. For example if all the data is has the same value or every row is different (street addresses ).
  • In the past I have had some issues with the connections to some sources like google analytics. Toad can continue to build its connection tools
  • Sometimes the transformation and cleansing tool could be better utilized if they had a few more capabilities
  • The products UI could be updated a bit but honestly I really cannot complain about this product
I cannot say a bad thing about this product, it has been a lifesaver for our teams multiple times. Before this product we would have had to spend hours trying to consolidate all the datasets from various areas into one area (usually ended up being Access unfortunately). I wish we would have purchased this product much earlier.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 18, 2017

Toad Data Point

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

My team (IT Reporting & Analytics) is the only group within our organization that uses Toad Data Point.

We use this product to analyze and track issues within our analytics environment. When needed we use it to develop and manage functions/procedures and packages to enhance the analytics functionality of our environment

  • We use Toad Data Point to analyze data structure and the quality of data within our analytics environment.
  • It allows us to review, create, and modify programs within the Oracle database
  • I find the explain plans that can be generating difficult to use, and should provide better suggestions as to how to improve performance

We receive calls from our functional areas complaining about inaccurate data. Toad makes it easy to track the data's progress from our ERP to the Analytics environment. This allows us to determine quickly were the problem lies and the ability to correct mistakes.

Toad Data point is not well suited for less technical users.

Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Pixel Perfect reports (3)
9.9
Customizable dashboards (3)
8.1
Report Formatting Templates (4)
7.6
Drill-down analysis (8)
10.0
Formatting capabilities (7)
9.6
Integration with R or other statistical packages (2)
10.0
Report sharing and collaboration (6)
10.0
Publish to Web (3)
6.7
Publish to PDF (6)
9.9
Report Versioning (4)
9.6
Report Delivery Scheduling (5)
9.2
Delivery to Remote Servers (6)
9.1
Pre-built visualization formats (heatmaps, scatter plots etc.) (3)
9.8
Location Analytics / Geographic Visualization (3)
9.8
Predictive Analytics (3)
9.0
Multi-User Support (named login) (5)
10.0
Role-Based Security Model (4)
10.0
Multiple Access Permission Levels (Create, Read, Delete) (4)
9.4
Single Sign-On (SSO) (2)
10.0
Responsive Design for Web Access (2)
9.8
REST API (2)
9.8
Javascript API (2)
9.8
iFrames (1)
10
Java API (2)
9.9
Themeable User Interface (UI) (3)
9.6
Customizable Platform (Open Source) (2)
10.0

About Toad Data Point

Toad Data Point Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No