TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/or/S2/BNC1QP0Q6C6V.pngYour best overall Linux distribution of choiceWeb application servers run Ubuntu Linux in our organization. It's a great operating system and especially a great Linux distribution when you look for stable server setups with modern versions of the software. We use it for web servers running either Apache or Nginx, and VPN servers that are super easy to set up in Ubuntu to help us maintain our data and keep our systems protected while accessing from outside the network. We also use it for any other server appliance like file servers, cache servers (Memcached, Redis) and anything else. Any new server inside the organization will run Ubuntu Linux as well.,Availability across cloud vendors is unmatched, you can expect that any cloud or hosting setup will offer a Ubuntu Linux image for you to use. Community support is great. Canonical does a great job supporting the system and the community does its part with forum participation, documentation and email support. Being based on Debian, it offers a more "modern" stable system than the former, with newer versions of most software. If you want the quality and stability from a Debian distribution, but also want modern software, this is the distribution of choice. The desktop environment is one of the bests for end users in the Linux ecosystem. Server setup and configuration is easy with the extended utilities and software from Canonical. It's a standard among Linux distributions, so you can trust that almost any Linux software will be packaged for your Ubuntu distribution.,I'd like to see Canonical REALLY betting on desktop Linux and move one step forward with innovation in that area to improve user adoption. Desktop UI decisions have been not-so-happy in the past. The ability to move back and forth with Unity has pushed a lot of users in favor of options. Having REAL desktop environment options is something to improve as well. Improvements in interoperability with other OSes would be very welcome. Sometimes it's just hard to communicate with MacOS or Windows across some protocols. Maybe it's due to the private nature of these protocols, but alternatives are around, we just need to compile and improve them.,8,Systems administration with Ubuntu is easy with little deep knowledge about it. Docs and community publications are great resources for any task you need to perform on any Ubuntu server and the organization can save several salaries of specialized sys admins in favor of more active roles. Having been an Ubuntu user for many years personally, setting up new Ubuntu servers on my organization came with zero cost for me. I just deployed one instance from my hosting/cloud provider and started working right after it was running, no need to ask support or hire new staff for these tasks. Replacing paid options with Ubuntu have also saved thousands of dollars on Windows Server licenses. I've migrated Windows/SQL Server based systems to Ubuntu/MySQL/PostgreSQL several times during my career and saved about USD 5000/year in licenses to many of them.,CentOS, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) and Windows Server,Nginx, PostgreSQL, MySQL, Google Cloud SQL, Google Cloud Storage, DigitalOceanUbuntu Linux - the universe of "open source" (free!) awaits you!Ubuntu Linux is an open source (free) operating system for desktops and laptops. It has the same purpose as Windows 10 and Apple's Mac OS. For desktop/laptop applications, Ubuntu Linux, for me offers superior performance to Windows 10 and offers huge cost savings when compared to making the leap into the "everything Apple" world. Apple's proprietary equipment is usually multitudes more expensive than laptops and desktops which are designed to run Windows, and any Windows computer can be re-configured to run Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu Linux add-on application programs are also open source (free) and are at least equally as functional (and often times superior) to their Windows counterparts. Most of the work products generated by Ubuntu Linux software are also fully compatible with Windows 10 or Apple/Mac users.,Ubuntu Linux is extremely resource efficient in using a desktop/laptop system's resources, particularly as compared to my experiences with any Windows product. (Its architecture is the foundation for Chromebooks as well as the Android operating system for smartphones). Eliminating the loading and processing hang-ups I commonly experienced with Windows is a huge plus. The "open source" universe is hugely appealing, both because of high quality, free and compatible software, but also because it allows such a high level of customization. Open source systems and software means no "bloatware," no intrusive programs popping up where you don't want them, and the freedom to purchase outside of a particular vendor. The quality of the operating system is truly a "gold standard" to me. It works, and, unlike Windows, doesn't have the "back door" security vulnerabilities Windows is constantly trying to patch.,Although it's continually improving, Ubuntu Linux doesn't come preloaded on equipment (generally) and it takes some know how to set it up, configure and function with it. Generally, the open source software which runs on Ubuntu Linux offers really good compatibility with Windows or Mac products, but, sometimes it just doesn't work, and you're on your own to research what's going on. There are a lot of forums for Ubuntu Linux users, but, it can be frustrating. Traditional "support" for Ubuntu Linux is non-existent - because it is open source (and free!), there is no online "team" to chat with or call when you're having a tech meltdown. I think this is an inherent trade-off in the "for profit" and "open source" model - again, there are lots of forums, and users who've been very generous with their time is helping people sort things out, but it is not a system for anyone not willing to invest some time in the learning curve.,10,What's the ROI on free? Technically, infinite - not having to pay for software is a huge deal for a small company. Ubuntu Linux extends the lifecycle of equipment - because it's so resource efficient, you don't constantly need to upgrade because the operating system is consuming so much RAM. In fact, you can rejuvenate older Windows equipment which can no longer run effectively by replacing Windows with Ubuntu Linux. On the negative side, a user can get bogged down with technical difficulties, taking time away from more productive activities. It's a great solution for those comfortable and willing to learn new technology (or, if there's a tech-savvy, experienced, "go to" in the company).,Windows Server,LibreOffice, CalibreUbuntu Linux is part of the skeleton of my companyWe use Ubuntu Linux on all digitalAtelier PCs:DevelopersGraphic DesignersAdministrative staff. Test serversProd. servers. In addition, we use Ubuntu Linux in interactive terminals installed at our customers' premises and on their servers.,Open Source so it can be verified by everyone, and is updated faster than proprietary software. It is a very stable and easy administration platform. Ubuntu is easy to learn and has a large and dynamic community. Regular output and support cycle. Much easier to maintain as all deposit programs are automatically updated.,Sometimes the drivers to fine-tune the hardware are missing. No accounting software that is currently compliant with French regulations is available. Few preconfigured PC manufacturer offers.,10,Almost no investment. Almost all applications are free of charge. This is no small advantage for a company like ours. Very low maintenance.,Windows Server, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) and Suse Linux,Node, Nginx, MongoDBUbuntu Linux, A solution for businesses that needs to be evaluatedWe use Ubuntu Linux for several functions. First and foremost, it is part of a multi-tier, multi-location backup implementation. The Linux system copies critical data from a macOS server to its local raid array on an hourly basis. Then this data is copied/backed up to a remote location. The Linux system is also used as a web server for testing new content before we roll it out to the production web server.,Flexibility. It is easy to add and remove services. As our business needs change, so can our Ubuntu Linux system. Software Updates. Very rarely does a software update break Ubuntu. If issues do arise it is fairly easy to back out the changes,Third-party applications. The lack of mainstream applications, like MS Office, make it more difficult to deploy any Linux system at the client end. Linux is more of a do it yourself OS. Implementation, support, and use require more technical expertise than other OS's, most notably macOS.,8,In our case ROI is hard to calculate. It has allowed us to solve business challenges and not have to purchase new hardware to do so. On the negative side, it has added another OS to our mix. Support staff now has to be trained or hired with the requirement of Linux knowledge.,,Microsoft 365 Business, Backblaze, WordPressNew experiences using UbuntuIt is being used by the entire organization since it has several operating services of the corporation, web services, database services, and others.,It is a very stable and easy administration platform. It defines roles and profiles for installation, graphic environment and only command. line. In the internal operation is a platform that helps us to support websites for employees. Its integration with web services and its graphic environment make an easy management of the platform. It is very useful to carry out tests and validations in its desktop versions, for the development area it allows having virtual environments and doing many tests before launching a service.,Cleaning of packages or incomplete installations in a graphic environment Better documentation and help for the configuration of the firewall, in the graphics mode, and the command line. Not all users are experts in this area and implementing it can be very difficult.,8,We have not measured this type of scenario since has not been a critical platform until now. When we are required to restore the systems we take 2 paths, we use the shadow of the virtual one and in other cases, it reinstalls the system. It does not take long.,Oracle Linux and Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL),Windows Server, Oracle Linux, Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL)
Unspecified
Ubuntu Linux
94 Ratings
Score 8.7 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Ubuntu Linux Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
Ubuntu Linux
94 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.7 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 95 vetted Ubuntu Linux reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Leonel Quinteros profile photo
February 23, 2019

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Your best overall Linux distribution of choice"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Web application servers run Ubuntu Linux in our organization. It's a great operating system and especially a great Linux distribution when you look for stable server setups with modern versions of the software. We use it for web servers running either Apache or Nginx, and VPN servers that are super easy to set up in Ubuntu to help us maintain our data and keep our systems protected while accessing from outside the network. We also use it for any other server appliance like file servers, cache servers (Memcached, Redis) and anything else. Any new server inside the organization will run Ubuntu Linux as well.
  • Availability across cloud vendors is unmatched, you can expect that any cloud or hosting setup will offer a Ubuntu Linux image for you to use.
  • Community support is great. Canonical does a great job supporting the system and the community does its part with forum participation, documentation and email support.
  • Being based on Debian, it offers a more "modern" stable system than the former, with newer versions of most software. If you want the quality and stability from a Debian distribution, but also want modern software, this is the distribution of choice.
  • The desktop environment is one of the bests for end users in the Linux ecosystem.
  • Server setup and configuration is easy with the extended utilities and software from Canonical.
  • It's a standard among Linux distributions, so you can trust that almost any Linux software will be packaged for your Ubuntu distribution.
  • I'd like to see Canonical REALLY betting on desktop Linux and move one step forward with innovation in that area to improve user adoption.
  • Desktop UI decisions have been not-so-happy in the past. The ability to move back and forth with Unity has pushed a lot of users in favor of options. Having REAL desktop environment options is something to improve as well.
  • Improvements in interoperability with other OSes would be very welcome. Sometimes it's just hard to communicate with MacOS or Windows across some protocols. Maybe it's due to the private nature of these protocols, but alternatives are around, we just need to compile and improve them.
Ubuntu Server setups are great for most server solutions. Security is good enough and usability is off the charts compared with other alternatives. You can get a full LAMP setup after a few apt commands. When security or stability is critical though, Ubuntu may not be the best option. Maybe downgrade to the latest Debian stable or go with some BSD solution for these scenarios. For Windows users looking for a Linux Desktop distribution, Ubuntu is the number one option for me.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
Linda Sasenick profile photo
January 10, 2019

Review: "Ubuntu Linux - the universe of "open source" (free!) awaits you!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu Linux is an open source (free) operating system for desktops and laptops. It has the same purpose as Windows 10 and Apple's Mac OS. For desktop/laptop applications, Ubuntu Linux, for me offers superior performance to Windows 10 and offers huge cost savings when compared to making the leap into the "everything Apple" world. Apple's proprietary equipment is usually multitudes more expensive than laptops and desktops which are designed to run Windows, and any Windows computer can be re-configured to run Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu Linux add-on application programs are also open source (free) and are at least equally as functional (and often times superior) to their Windows counterparts. Most of the work products generated by Ubuntu Linux software are also fully compatible with Windows 10 or Apple/Mac users.
  • Ubuntu Linux is extremely resource efficient in using a desktop/laptop system's resources, particularly as compared to my experiences with any Windows product. (Its architecture is the foundation for Chromebooks as well as the Android operating system for smartphones). Eliminating the loading and processing hang-ups I commonly experienced with Windows is a huge plus.
  • The "open source" universe is hugely appealing, both because of high quality, free and compatible software, but also because it allows such a high level of customization. Open source systems and software means no "bloatware," no intrusive programs popping up where you don't want them, and the freedom to purchase outside of a particular vendor.
  • The quality of the operating system is truly a "gold standard" to me. It works, and, unlike Windows, doesn't have the "back door" security vulnerabilities Windows is constantly trying to patch.
  • Although it's continually improving, Ubuntu Linux doesn't come preloaded on equipment (generally) and it takes some know how to set it up, configure and function with it.
  • Generally, the open source software which runs on Ubuntu Linux offers really good compatibility with Windows or Mac products, but, sometimes it just doesn't work, and you're on your own to research what's going on. There are a lot of forums for Ubuntu Linux users, but, it can be frustrating.
  • Traditional "support" for Ubuntu Linux is non-existent - because it is open source (and free!), there is no online "team" to chat with or call when you're having a tech meltdown. I think this is an inherent trade-off in the "for profit" and "open source" model - again, there are lots of forums, and users who've been very generous with their time is helping people sort things out, but it is not a system for anyone not willing to invest some time in the learning curve.
The primary investment required to run Ubuntu Linux is some up-front time - there is a learning curve, and the user needs to be comfortable and have a little confidence in their technical abilities. In exchange, you have a new, free, universe of applications and solutions available to you, which you can run on any Windows equipment.

If you have an unlimited budget, little patience, and don't mind being tied to a vendor, buy Apple products.
Read Linda Sasenick's full review
Gregory Pecqueur profile photo
February 13, 2019

Review: "Ubuntu Linux is part of the skeleton of my company"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ubuntu Linux on all digitalAtelier PCs:
  • Developers
  • Graphic Designers
  • Administrative staff.
  • Test servers
  • Prod. servers.

In addition, we use Ubuntu Linux in interactive terminals installed at our customers' premises and on their servers.
  • Open Source so it can be verified by everyone, and is updated faster than proprietary software.
  • It is a very stable and easy administration platform.
  • Ubuntu is easy to learn and has a large and dynamic community.
  • Regular output and support cycle.
  • Much easier to maintain as all deposit programs are automatically updated.
  • Sometimes the drivers to fine-tune the hardware are missing.
  • No accounting software that is currently compliant with French regulations is available.
  • Few preconfigured PC manufacturer offers.
Ubuntu is recommended for any workstation. Especially on a developer and/or graphics workstation. They are easy to maintain, fast and highly customizable. The production servers are easily manageable and very fast.

Unfortunately, in France, it is difficult to use it on an accounting PC.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
Dave Linden profile photo
January 17, 2019

Review: "Ubuntu Linux, A solution for businesses that needs to be evaluated"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ubuntu Linux for several functions. First and foremost, it is part of a multi-tier, multi-location backup implementation. The Linux system copies critical data from a macOS server to its local raid array on an hourly basis. Then this data is copied/backed up to a remote location. The Linux system is also used as a web server for testing new content before we roll it out to the production web server.
  • Flexibility. It is easy to add and remove services. As our business needs change, so can our Ubuntu Linux system.
  • Software Updates. Very rarely does a software update break Ubuntu. If issues do arise it is fairly easy to back out the changes
  • Third-party applications. The lack of mainstream applications, like MS Office, make it more difficult to deploy any Linux system at the client end.
  • Linux is more of a do it yourself OS. Implementation, support, and use require more technical expertise than other OS's, most notably macOS.
Ubuntu Linux is excellent at offering services on older hardware. It is a way to extend the life of older hardware and solve business challenges at the same time.

Ubuntu Linux is less appropriate for end users with little or no experience with open systems management and use.
Read Dave Linden's full review
Erick de Leon Ponciano profile photo
December 19, 2018

Ubuntu Linux Review: "New experiences using Ubuntu"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the entire organization since it has several operating services of the corporation, web services, database services, and others.
  • It is a very stable and easy administration platform. It defines roles and profiles for installation, graphic environment and only command. line.
  • In the internal operation is a platform that helps us to support websites for employees. Its integration with web services and its graphic environment make an easy management of the platform.
  • It is very useful to carry out tests and validations in its desktop versions, for the development area it allows having virtual environments and doing many tests before launching a service.
  • Cleaning of packages or incomplete installations in a graphic environment
  • Better documentation and help for the configuration of the firewall, in the graphics mode, and the command line. Not all users are experts in this area and implementing it can be very difficult.
In my opinion, it works very well for internal environments, web pages, and network services. I do not recommend it for very critical environments and environments that are published on the internet.
Read Erick de Leon Ponciano's full review
No photo available
January 23, 2019

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Ubuntu Server - A quick and painless OS for Python app development and deployment"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current role, I am using Ubuntu to deploy python applications and cron scheduled jobs that relate to telephony platforms. Since the development that I have done doesn't specifically bind us to Windows, it was a far better decision to go with the free and open source OS. As far as I am aware, mine is the only team using Canonical's distribution of Debian Linux, but I am sure there are other test and development environments that employ it.

Ubuntu has provided us with a dependable platform for rapidly deploying telephony integrations, ranging from API based data extraction to full on web apps to allow more granular security access to certain telephony components.
  • The community support is phenomenal. There is a complete wealth of documentation just in forum questions alone if you have the willingness to look for them.
  • The popularity among lower cost hosting services (digital ocean, linode, etc) has led those providers to create very nice administrative documentation for Ubuntu that goes above and beyond the quality typical of the community documentation. All of this being accessible without being subscribed to their services.
  • The cost. I mean, this is kind of a "duh" point, but reducing the OS cost of a server isn't something to scoff at.
  • Ubuntu server receives regular updates and security fixes, sometimes faster than other paid OS.
  • I think that Ubuntu (and Linux in general) have an image problem. There is an appearance that you have to be a Linux proficient admin to set up and administer a server, when the reality is that the command line nature lends to the administration being easier than other GUI based OS. I think they need to work on that some to get further market penetration.
  • Update their pre-installed version of python from 3.5
Ubuntu Linux is well suited to any application that is not OS bound due to its design. Some companies write their applications for the Windows server because of the ubiquity that the platform has, but if they were written for Linux they would be handled just as well. Ubuntu is also a fantastic platform for any Python-based development. It comes pre-loaded (though a tad out of date now with 3.7 released) and there's no shortage of documentation on stack overflow to get you up and running.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 18, 2018

"Full Ubuntu Linux Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Ubuntu Linux in my personal IT work, for computer hard drive diagnosis and also as an alternative to Microsoft Windows. For the computer hard drive diagnosis, I find that Ubuntu accesses a damaged hard drive differently than Microsoft Windows in that I find I have a better percentage of data recovery. I have had hard-drives that Windows would not even see, but once booted in the Ubuntu environment....the hard-drive was accessible and I was able to perform data recovery. As for being an alternative to Windows, I have used it to build streaming boxes and have used it for hosting security surveillance systems.
  • Very easy GUI to maneuver around in.
  • Many choices of compatible applications to use with Ubuntu.
  • There are straight terminal based functions that you do not find in Windows.
  • I have found that Ubuntu has had some hardware compatibility issues, but those issue have disappeared in each evolution of it.
  • There aren't too many areas they can improve with this OS-- they keep up with things available in Windows fairly well.
Ubuntu is a good free, easy-to-use operating system. There is a learning curve for a first timer, but this is the same curve you would find with anyone going from Windows to Mac or visa-versa. Using a computer loaded with Ubuntu for a webpage host with Apache...or using as a web proxy with Squid...or using as a Bitcoin mining machine as I have done in the past year with a terminal based script...Ubuntu has tons of applications. Just using for a straight alternative is also perfect, and learning to use it is fun.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Sweets profile photo
May 04, 2018

Review: "Ubuntu Linux for fast, secure, cost effective hardware."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu Linux is a fast, secure, and cost-effective way to use your current IT infrastructure. Ubuntu offers an alternative to Microsoft operating systems that is intuitive and easy to learn for users of all technical abilities. We use Ubuntu for specialized systems ranging from student testing in high stakes testing environments to our payroll systems in our finance department.
  • Intuitive, easy to learn interface
  • Secure from the bottom up
  • Cost effective, free
  • Default colors are childish, but easily updated
  • Decent, but not great learning curve for new admins and help desk
  • Most business users will want to stick to LTS releases
Ubuntu Linux is recommended for any user or origination who needs a fast, cost-effective, and secure system for desktop or servers. Ubuntu has an excellent knowledge base, and millions of helpful articles to help new users get accustomed to Ubuntu Linux and do what they need to be happy and productive workers.
Read Christopher Sweets's full review
Jeff Hanson profile photo
April 17, 2018

Ubuntu Linux Review: "A great alternative to Windows for light duty processing"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Ubuntu Linux to extend the life of older personal computer hardware. I have repurposed personal computers that struggled to run Windows XP by installing Ubuntu Linux which provided a more modern interface and improved responsiveness, continued updates, productivity software, and access to other open source applications.
  • Ubuntu Linux is an efficient operating system and can be used to extend the life of aging hardware and provide essentially free OS software for smaller demands such as word processing, web browsing, software development.
  • Ubuntu provides command line install tools for common open source applications and provides a nice way to consciously update software.
  • Ubuntu is widely used and has a vast support community. I am able to easily gather information about requirements I have through web searches.
  • Linux is open source and has no licensing fees.
  • I currently do not have improvement comments for Ubuntu server in the areas of performance vs. its Linux counterparts.
  • Ubuntu does not support as much software as the Windows OS community. While it supports common productivity software such as Libre Office, many client installed games and applications will not run on Linux.
  • Linux does not support all hardware and peripherals. An embedded wifi adapter that works in Windows may not work with Ubuntu.
It works well with open-source based products and development tools (Eclipse, Arduino IDE, languages like Python). Ubuntu is not appropriate for use in corporate environments where enterprise Microsoft based software rules the organization. Personal computer security integration in corporate environments is difficult as well. Many vendors do not create software for Linux, but instead focus on Windows, and to a slightly lesser extent, Mac.
Read Jeff Hanson's full review
Maike Holthuijzen profile photo
July 14, 2018

User Review: "My experience with Ubuntu Linux"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu Linux is used by our research team. We have several remote servers for doing computationally intensive work, and they run Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu is free, as are most of the software that can be installed on Linux. This is great for our research team, as we are working from a limited grant. I have not had any issues with Ubuntu yet and seems to be more stable than Windows. Because it is more stable, we are able to focus more on running analyses and doing our research rather than dealing with operating system bugs. Ubuntu is a much more lightweight operating system than Windows, and updating the system has never caused any issues (unlike Windows!).
  • The user interface is sleek, intuitive, and easy to use. I love it! It is also highly customizable.
  • Package installation is very easy. You can either download via the command prompt or search for packages within the Ubuntu software center and download via the GUI.
  • Ubuntu is much more lightweight than Windows, has less bugs, and is more stable.
  • Not all software is compatible with Ubuntu Linux. Many of our collaborators use Microsoft Office (Word, Excel, etc.), which makes sharing files difficult.
  • Adobe is not available for Ubuntu Linux, and although it is not a huge issue, it is somewhat annoying when working with collaborators who do use Adobe software.
  • Hardware support for Ubuntu operating systems is limited.
Ubuntu is a beginner-friendly Linux distribution, so it is appropriate for many types of users; to those who are just getting starting with Linux, to advanced programmers. Though Microsoft Office applications are not available in Linux, comparable software is available for Linux that has comparable functionality. However, I would not recommend Ubuntu for organizations that rely heavily on Windows software. Ubuntu is great in settings where money is limited, because Ubuntu is free, and most of the software packages are also free.
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
No photo available
July 22, 2018

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Ubuntu - The first real competitor to Windows"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used Ubuntu Linux in a series of projects, from servers to embedded devices, with the exception of an Ubuntu phone. The primary area that Ubuntu solves is the support for hardware devices that are not normally supported in completely *free* distros of Linux. This is both a feature of Ubuntu and a con, as most Linux developers will not recognize Ubuntu as an authentic distro. However, some hardware makers (i.e. Nvidia) want the Linux community businesses, but they are not willing to release the source code for their video drivers, thus users resort to distros like Ubuntu, who are actively using the non-open drivers, and thus they garner a wider non-developer user audience (i.e gamers, etc.).
  • Usability ( ease of installation)
  • "Store" concept: bringing package management (in Linux this has always been a problem) into the 21st century
  • Flexibility ( there are sub-distros of Ubuntu)
  • Debian-based (so some sanity in package management)
  • Too system-oriented: often contains large libraries to accomplish just one small problem (remind of you another OS?)
  • Requires too many resources to run simple software (i.e. TOO pretty)
  • Unity.
Ubuntu is GREAT for modern hardware, running on client systems. There are some admins who will swear by the Ubuntu Server distro, and that's fine with them, but the ONLY value proposition for me is its user-friendliness.
Read this authenticated review
Lucas Riggi profile photo
February 15, 2018

"Review of Ubuntu Linux"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu Linux is being used throughout the entire organization, across several engineering departments. It is being used to write some software for spacecraft design and trade studies analyses and simulation, as well as several applications and services for ground software infrastructure, data handling and telemetry manipulation. I personally use it for spacecraft design, simulation and even controls and estimation applications. Using Linux throughout the company is a good way to have a consistent platform.
  • User Interface
  • Command line terminal
  • Free
  • Security System
  • Logging in all the time
  • Rapid upgrades
Coding and compiling software on the same consistent operating system throughout the entire company. The command line terminal is very easy, user-friendly and intuitive to use in collaboration with a git server for version control of documents, code, software as well as deployment of software application upgrades. All in all the command line makes navigating Ubuntu very easy.
Read Lucas Riggi's full review
No photo available
November 08, 2017

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Ubuntu makes your developers happy!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu is very developer friendly and we are able to deploy on premises, or in the cloud with ease.
  • Efficient & fast
  • Installation of software packages
  • Automatic security updates
  • Up to date libraries
  • Authentication with AD
  • Security certification
Ubuntu is excellent for hosting web apps, OS for your data analysis pipeline, IoT devices, etc.

What makes it really shine is on a developer's workstation. It's pure ease setting up your environment, while keeping setup similar to what is in production.

The fault is weak integration with some third party vendors and some Enterprise apps. But these days even Microsoft is on the Linux bandwagon.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 15, 2018

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Best for the Developer"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ubuntu is one of the best platforms for the developer. It is free and it has all the features which a developer wants. Ubuntu is being used in our organization as a development. We develop the website in Ubuntu Operating System. There is no charge. It is free. You can easily install any repo there.
  • Free
  • Good for the development Purpose
  • Any Repo you can add
  • Support needs to be improved
  • User interface for beginners
  • Installation process
It is well suited in the development area. Apart from that, we are using Ubuntu as a server. we host our client website on the Ubuntu server in AWS.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 13, 2017

Ubuntu Linux Review: "Ubuntu- it’s getting there"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At present, by myself as my daily desktop and on a few servers.
  • Easy install
  • Support for almost all hardware
  • Easy install of new software via apptitude
  • Better dock
  • Further or easier support for integration into a Windows Server environment. Unfortunately a lot of companies have Active Directory as their backbone
  • Better support for extended monitors
  • More customizable docks
Use as a daily desktop for new and experienced users. However with this in mind, it would be great if it was a little more “stupid proof” like Windows.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Putnam profile photo
July 17, 2017

Ubuntu Linux Review: "A development wonderland"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In a LAMP focused development environment, Ubuntu is a popular choice. We use it for many scenarios, including internal applications, hosting servers, local development workstations and virtual machines. Ubuntu provides a familiar base for many applications in our development and IT departments for efficient deployment and maintenance of workstations and servers.
  • Community Support
  • Hardware Support
  • Relative Ease of Use
  • Reliability - always more bugs to track down with large hardware base.
  • Documentation - Bridging the gap between first time users and experts. Community support is excellent for this though.
Well-suited for educational or technical environments. Ideally, an expert should be available to support and maintain, especially if using Ubuntu for a server. If you are wanting to get started with Linux, Ubuntu is a great starting point. But, for production implementations, make sure you are well-prepared or have expertise available.
Read Chris Putnam's full review

Ubuntu Linux Scorecard Summary

About Ubuntu Linux

Ubuntu Linux is a Linux-based operating system for personal computers, tablets and smartphones. There is also a Server version which is used on physical or virtual servers in the data center.


Categories:  Operating Systems

Ubuntu Linux Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No