Ubuntu Linux Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
150 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-25 of 27)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Ubuntu Linux - Great alternative to RHEL.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use a couple of Ubuntu Linux servers where I work. The main reason we have these is to serve basic network functionality, and the second is my security audit machine. We have a DHCP server running on one of the machines, as well as some basic IT shares for file storage. It also runs DNS for our guest networks. The security audit machine runs software; I use for password audits, security vulnerability scans, and when anything needs to be tested in isolation. All in all - great value for money (it is free after all). Some essential LAMP runs too, but that is for IT to play with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 28, 2020

Ubuntu Linux is the most popular distribution for a reason - it works!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Ubuntu Linux in our organization for webservers, database servers, and various other servers.
It is our Linux distribution of choice. It helps us provide unix-like services with business support available. We are able to be confident that any packages we need will be available in repositories, and installing software is truly simple using the apt system. Online help is easy to find as it is such a popular distribution as well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

An operating system that fulfills all of your needs

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

All of the thousands of systems (that include dockers, virtual machines and bare-metal servers) that we have in the company currently are powered by Ubuntu OS. This is just our department. If you scale the same to our organization that includes easily a couple of thousands of server machines. A million Ubuntu dockers are spawned every single day. So the business problem that is addressed is that Ubuntu is in the casual market, unlike other Linux distributions. You can easily customize it to meet your needs. It is extremely lightweight and super fast.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 23, 2019

Ubuntu the first step to an Open Source work space

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We are using Ubuntu Linux as our main driver for our desktops. We moved away from Windows machines and generally moved to the Open Source space. It is a stable platform with a strong community supporting it. We managed to keep laptops in use that otherwise would have been deemed not fit for purpose.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 22, 2019

Your Developers Will Love Ubuntu

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

As we seek to shift our development environment from Windows to Linux, we sought to find a Linux distribution that offered a strong user base, accessibility for new users to Linux, easy package management, and long term support releases. We found all of the above in Ubuntu, and we were able to move to our .net Core development to Linux.
Read this authenticated review
Christian Shaheen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 05, 2019

Ubuntu Linux, A Great Server OS

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Ubuntu for a number of tasks. Currently, we used it to run BIND DNS servers, Unified controllers, network monitoring, and our web file-box system. Previously we have also used it for wikis, hosting websites, and VPN servers. Since it is a well established and maintained distro of Linux, there doesn't seem to be an end to the services that could be run on top of it. It is based on Debian which is my preferred sub-system.
Read Christian Shaheen's full review
Andrew Schell | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2019

Ubuntu Linux solves many problems

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use it as an inexpensive yet nearly indescribably helpful tool. It’s rock solid which is something that I’ve never heard someone say about Windows Server. Ubuntu Linux is practically the default setting for data science projects that are web app deployed.
Read Andrew Schell's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Great OS replacement, still needs some tweaking to be perfect

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu is being rolled out in our organization as the go-to development environment due to the ease of use of the APT package manager and the stability of the LTS releases. We find that it constantly gets updates and that support is widely available on the internet for all of the applications that we use to produce our products.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 19, 2019

Our solution for mid-range desktops , high-performance video editing, on-premise servers, and the cloud.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu Linux fills many needs for us. In the Amazon cloud, it is our web server OS. On our corporate network, we run many virtualized Ubuntu Server instances to provide shared file storage, DHCP, DNS, and the internal intranet web server. Our multimedia room runs on Ubuntu Desktop to manage our library of AV materials, handle streaming video, and record over-the-air television. We have several workstations that run Ubuntu Desktop. In some cases, we dual-boot Ubuntu on older MacBook Pros because it runs faster. We have some video-editing workstations that use open-source software, and we find those applications perform much better under Ubuntu than Windows or MacOS.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2019

Ubuntu Linux - the best Linux distribution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

For any situation where a Linux solution is appropriate we use Ubuntu Linux. This includes many open source solutions, the Apache web server, security purposes such as IDS (Intrusion Detection System), and many other uses where we find Ubuntu Linux to be a perfect fit.
Read this authenticated review
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 23, 2019

Your best overall Linux distribution of choice

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Web application servers run Ubuntu Linux in our organization. It's a great operating system and especially a great Linux distribution when you look for stable server setups with modern versions of the software. We use it for web servers running either Apache or Nginx, and VPN servers that are super easy to set up in Ubuntu to help us maintain our data and keep our systems protected while accessing from outside the network. We also use it for any other server appliance like file servers, cache servers (Memcached, Redis) and anything else. Any new server inside the organization will run Ubuntu Linux as well.
Read Leonel Quinteros's full review
Linda Sasenick | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2019

Ubuntu Linux - the universe of "open source" (free!) awaits you!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu Linux is an open source (free) operating system for desktops and laptops. It has the same purpose as Windows 10 and Apple's Mac OS. For desktop/laptop applications, Ubuntu Linux, for me offers superior performance to Windows 10 and offers huge cost savings when compared to making the leap into the "everything Apple" world. Apple's proprietary equipment is usually multitudes more expensive than laptops and desktops which are designed to run Windows, and any Windows computer can be re-configured to run Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu Linux add-on application programs are also open source (free) and are at least equally as functional (and often times superior) to their Windows counterparts. Most of the work products generated by Ubuntu Linux software are also fully compatible with Windows 10 or Apple/Mac users.
Read Linda Sasenick's full review
Gregory Pecqueur | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 13, 2019

Ubuntu Linux is part of the skeleton of my company

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Ubuntu Linux on all digitalAtelier PCs:
  • Developers
  • Graphic Designers
  • Administrative staff.
  • Test servers
  • Prod. servers.

In addition, we use Ubuntu Linux in interactive terminals installed at our customers' premises and on their servers.
Read Gregory Pecqueur's full review
Dave Linden | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2019

Ubuntu Linux, A solution for businesses that needs to be evaluated

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Ubuntu Linux for several functions. First and foremost, it is part of a multi-tier, multi-location backup implementation. The Linux system copies critical data from a macOS server to its local raid array on an hourly basis. Then this data is copied/backed up to a remote location. The Linux system is also used as a web server for testing new content before we roll it out to the production web server.
Read Dave Linden's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2019

Ubuntu Linux, a Great Way to Extend a Computer's Life.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I began using Ubuntu Linux as a personal user; however, I began using the operating system at work as well. I found that Ubuntu Linux was much faster than Windows on my Lenovo Laptop. In the event that I needed to use Windows for work or personal use, I utilized Windows as a virtual machine.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2019

Ubuntu Server - A quick and painless OS for Python app development and deployment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In my current role, I am using Ubuntu to deploy python applications and cron scheduled jobs that relate to telephony platforms. Since the development that I have done doesn't specifically bind us to Windows, it was a far better decision to go with the free and open source OS. As far as I am aware, mine is the only team using Canonical's distribution of Debian Linux, but I am sure there are other test and development environments that employ it.

Ubuntu has provided us with a dependable platform for rapidly deploying telephony integrations, ranging from API based data extraction to full on web apps to allow more granular security access to certain telephony components.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

Full Ubuntu Linux Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I use Ubuntu Linux in my personal IT work, for computer hard drive diagnosis and also as an alternative to Microsoft Windows. For the computer hard drive diagnosis, I find that Ubuntu accesses a damaged hard drive differently than Microsoft Windows in that I find I have a better percentage of data recovery. I have had hard-drives that Windows would not even see, but once booted in the Ubuntu environment....the hard-drive was accessible and I was able to perform data recovery. As for being an alternative to Windows, I have used it to build streaming boxes and have used it for hosting security surveillance systems.
Read this authenticated review
Christopher Sweets | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2018

Ubuntu Linux for fast, secure, cost effective hardware.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu Linux is a fast, secure, and cost-effective way to use your current IT infrastructure. Ubuntu offers an alternative to Microsoft operating systems that is intuitive and easy to learn for users of all technical abilities. We use Ubuntu for specialized systems ranging from student testing in high stakes testing environments to our payroll systems in our finance department.
Read Christopher Sweets's full review
Jeff Hanson | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 17, 2018

A great alternative to Windows for light duty processing

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

We use Ubuntu Linux to extend the life of older personal computer hardware. I have repurposed personal computers that struggled to run Windows XP by installing Ubuntu Linux which provided a more modern interface and improved responsiveness, continued updates, productivity software, and access to other open source applications.
Read Jeff Hanson's full review
Maike Holthuijzen | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 14, 2018

My experience with Ubuntu Linux

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu Linux is used by our research team. We have several remote servers for doing computationally intensive work, and they run Ubuntu Linux. Ubuntu is free, as are most of the software that can be installed on Linux. This is great for our research team, as we are working from a limited grant. I have not had any issues with Ubuntu yet and seems to be more stable than Windows. Because it is more stable, we are able to focus more on running analyses and doing our research rather than dealing with operating system bugs. Ubuntu is a much more lightweight operating system than Windows, and updating the system has never caused any issues (unlike Windows!).
Read Maike Holthuijzen's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 22, 2018

Ubuntu - The first real competitor to Windows

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

I have used Ubuntu Linux in a series of projects, from servers to embedded devices, with the exception of an Ubuntu phone. The primary area that Ubuntu solves is the support for hardware devices that are not normally supported in completely *free* distros of Linux. This is both a feature of Ubuntu and a con, as most Linux developers will not recognize Ubuntu as an authentic distro. However, some hardware makers (i.e. Nvidia) want the Linux community businesses, but they are not willing to release the source code for their video drivers, thus users resort to distros like Ubuntu, who are actively using the non-open drivers, and thus they garner a wider non-developer user audience (i.e gamers, etc.).
Read this authenticated review
Lucas Riggi | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

Review of Ubuntu Linux

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

Ubuntu Linux is being used throughout the entire organization, across several engineering departments. It is being used to write some software for spacecraft design and trade studies analyses and simulation, as well as several applications and services for ground software infrastructure, data handling and telemetry manipulation. I personally use it for spacecraft design, simulation and even controls and estimation applications. Using Linux throughout the company is a good way to have a consistent platform.
Read Lucas Riggi's full review
Chris Putnam | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 17, 2017

A development wonderland

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Use Cases and Deployment Scope

In a LAMP focused development environment, Ubuntu is a popular choice. We use it for many scenarios, including internal applications, hosting servers, local development workstations and virtual machines. Ubuntu provides a familiar base for many applications in our development and IT departments for efficient deployment and maintenance of workstations and servers.
Read Chris Putnam's full review

About Ubuntu Linux

Ubuntu Linux is a Linux-based operating system for personal computers, tablets and smartphones. There is also a Server version which is used on physical or virtual servers in the data center.


Categories:  Operating Systems

Ubuntu Linux Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No