AWS Elastic Beanstalk Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
237 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.6 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 26)

Diego Gamez | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 13, 2020

AWS EB a versatile and agile environment for public cloud application delivery

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
For our company the implementation of AWS Elastic Beanstalk was used first for the application development area and then for the operations intelligence team, at the moment the IT areas only have access and use of this platform. Due to the nature of the cloud-based platform and as a service, the problems that were overcome were the delay in the delivery of applications and the infrastructure where they are executed and the control of the company's development processes.
  • AWS Elastic Beanstalk was easy to implement, we only had to insert the application code to have it up and running in a few minutes. This helps us to launch company campaigns for different areas such as marketing, commercial and human resources.
  • It has a fast learning curve, since the training material of the platform is public on the manufacturer's portal, furthermore it is easy to interact and intuitive for developers.
  • The productivity of the equipment is optimized since they are not worrying about preparing the platform or infrastructure, they only have to attend to what is required by the application and its operation and this maintenance.
  • The indicators and metrics that it has, ensure that the application cannot be saturated and have a performance problem, with AWS Elastic Beanstalk the application can scale resources when needed automatically.
  • By having it as software as a service, we do not have all the government of the information to which the application codes are uploaded.
  • It requires the intervention of an administrator for its management, even the routine maintenance of the platform is not very automated and requires the intervention of operating personnel.
  • Its ecosystem and integration with third party software is not yet enriched, it is complex to manage if the AWS EB application is required to be integrated with another service in order to operate.
In our experience using AWS EB, it has helped us overcome many challenges that we had in order to quickly deploy applications for the company, as well as to meet the requirements of different areas such as marketing, sales and the internal IT team.
We usually took a long time to supply the infrastructure required by the application, even more so without knowing the fractional consumption that the application represented, since it was generally temporary or for campaigns lasting a few months.
Read Diego Gamez's full review
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 28, 2020

Climbing the Beanstalk: Best way to manage applications in the AWS giant's house

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is being used across my organization for the deployment of applications running on NodeJS, Python, and Java stacks. IT provides an easy-to-use deployment model to run applications on pre-built application stacks on EC2 instances without having to worry about the underlying infrastructure and application stack. It provides an abstraction layer on top of a range of AWS services such as load balancers, security, and auto-scaling, allowing configuration of all these options from a single console. Through the use of Elastic Beanstalk, our organization has been able to deploy and manage applications on EC2 instances without the hassle of having to manage the EC2 instances themselves, leading to faster deployment times and smaller maintenance windows.
  • Providing managed application environments
  • In-built load balancing
  • In-built auto-scaling
  • In-built logs and log aggregation through CloudWatch
  • Providing managed updates to applications stacks
  • In-built selection of deployment methods (all-at-once, blue-green etc)
  • Integration with CodePipeline
  • Some configuration options can be too rigid, and you have to delete an environment to change some configuration options.
  • When things go wrong, they fail badly, and you are left with no insight or feedback.
  • Some of the built-in monitoring metrics are hard to understand and configure.
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is well-suited for applications that require a medium-to-large set of dependencies and where you want to deploy a custom application to EC2 instances, instead of using a provided service like Lambda functions. It handles deployment of your application to the specified stack very well and with an integration with a deployment tool like AWS CodePipeline, it can be very powerful in getting your application deployed and running. It allows you to deploy both server-type applications and worker-type applications. Elastic Beanstalk is not the best option if your code deployment is small and can be placed within the context of a serverless function.
Read Ramindu Deshapriya's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 12, 2020

My amazing experience with AWS Elastic Beanstalk.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Review Source
We have been using AWS Elastic Bean stalk for around 3 years and it is one of the best services provided by AWS for developers who don't want get into managing lower level configurations like Load Balancing, auto scaling group, instance type and instance placement groups. We just need to zip their code files and select the environment for the application and that's pretty much it, we can also enable versioning for our deployments and it supports various environment like DEV, PROD etc. And the most beautiful thing about AWS Elastic Beanstalk is that you just need to choose setup types (i.e High Availability, single instance (for dev environment) and custom configuration as well) and it also supports AWS RDS, you just need to configure the connection strings of RDS into your code that's it. It has reduced work of cloud infrastructure by 40-45%.
  • Comes with preconfiguration of all infrastructure service with EC2 instance.
  • Developer with basic knowledge of cloud can also deploy applications.
  • It comes with the optimum plan for various scenarios like high availability, consistency.
  • It has almost all environments available for services.
  • Not easy to do customization for some services.
  • Not recommended for big environment back-end services.
  • Customer support is okay!
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is recommended for applications which do not require complex configurations and just wanted to go live quickly. It's not recommended for complex configuration and big application deployments.
Read this authenticated review
Joshua Dickson | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

Amazon Elastic Beanstalk Review!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is a great tool to use for supercharging the speed to deploy basic applications that are fine running in fairly generic, but high-quality configurations. In using ELB, most of the complicated tasks of server setup are performed by AWS, so your developers are able to focus their efforts on developing your application and less time worrying about how to configure the deployment.
  • Removes tedious, error-prone work from team focus for server configuration and environment setup.
  • AWS creates new stacks when underlying software requires security updates, or frameworks release new versions.
  • Greatly improves speed-to-production for many applications.
  • Free resource on top of AWS; it costs nothing additional to use Elastic Beanstalk over the cost of the underlying instances and resources.
  • Limited to the frameworks and configurations that AWS supports. There is no native way to use Elastic Beanstalk to deploy a Go application behind Nginx, for example.
  • It's not always clear what's changed on an underlying system when AWS updates an EB stack; the new version is announced, but AWS does not say what specifically changed in the underlying configuration. This can have unintended consequences and result in additional work in order to figure out what changes were made.
Elastic Beanstalk is a great fit for a product that's already open to using Amazon Web Services, but has a team that does not want to work with environment setup. Furthermore, it's really only a fit for situations where the configuration needed from the team fits within a stack that Elastic Beanstalk offers. Even if you're interested in using one of the stacks they do support, you have more ability to modify configurations if you're handling all the setup and configuration on your own.
Read Joshua Dickson's full review
Rahul Chaudhary | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

I am happy with my beans!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Elastic Beanstalk has been around for some time, but it never caught our eye until we started using AWS CodePipeline.
Currently, we use Elastic Beanstalk (EBS) to run applications on our pipeline. Each stage (dev, perf, prod) has its own set of servers defined under EBS. Our current solution is working very well with CodePipeline.
  • Fits perfectly in our infrastructure. CodeCommit, CodePipeline, and AWS BeanStalk, work in perfect harmony.
  • Easy to change deployment configurations. If I need more servers in my EBS, I just change configurations, and with a click of a button I get more servers. For example, moving from nano instances to micro, or simply adding/deleting more servers.
  • Better security, and upgrade. I usually get small notifications of software/OS updates, and if I choose to, I can simply redeploy my application on an upgraded system.
  • Different upgrade strategies. I haven't tested all [of them], but the current one has the transactional type capability, where if my deployment fails, it falls back to the previous stable one.
  • Difficult to understand. No matter how cute and easy the AWS videos sound, I find it difficult to understand. There are just too many configurations.
  • EBS is free, but you pay for the resources. Problem is, I end up using more resources, thus paying more.
  • They could work on their logging system a bit more. I would love more dashboard metrics in logging, and an easier way to look at logs.
  • An option to make the default URL more friendly. I am forced now to use Route 53 to get a more friendly DNS name, but would have loved if they would have provided a better name to begin with. There are long random strings which could go away.
- It works perfectly with other AWS resources like CodeCommit, CodePipeline. If you are working in an AWS environment, this is a MUST.
- Once you understand how it works, you can use it to easily scale and manage your application.
- It certainly is better than its competitors.

- More AWS resources to manage. Great! Though AWS is easy, with so many options, it is getting tiring to learn more new AWS stuff. So be careful, EBS isn't hard, but isn't easy either.
- If you have a single server, you don't need it.
Read Rahul Chaudhary's full review
Philip Cottray | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

Ideal for getting started

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Elastic Beanstalk for an easy deployment of our API workloads. This allows your development teams to be agile and have regular releases with 0 downtime, and with minimal infrastructure worries as the VPC the workloads are deployed to are already securely locked down. Prior to this the development teams would have had to request a new server and go through the change control taking up to 1 week before a new release could be pushed out.
  • Zero downtime deployments
  • Auto scales, ensuring maximum flexibility.
  • Auto scaling also provides a cost saving as you only use what you need.
  • Agile deployments - dev environments regularly have 5+ releases a day.
  • More flexibility on the subnet structure (depending on use case scenario and how your VPC is carved up you can run out of address space quickly if you want to spread workloads across multiple AZs).
  • If development teams need Elastic Beanstalk admin access.....they automatically get EC2:* permisisons which isn't ideal.
  • A lot of the drawbacks can be addressed by using ECS.
Would recommend if you're new to container workloads or new to AWS. Also good if ayou're small start-up and don't necessarily want to worry about networking of your VPC or have the resources for a dedicated CloudOps engineer.
Read Philip Cottray's full review
Parikshith Malalur Jagadeesh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

Amazon - never ceases to Amaze us!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic beanstalk makes it very easy for us to deploy the NodeJs applications which we create as part of any project instantly and this enables us to start using Node server without installing any required dependencies on cloud. Also when JAVA REST APIs are developed, the AWS Elastic beanstalk makes it extremely easy to deploy on the server, helping us with setting up environment time.
  • Supports multiple popular languages to be deployed easily and helps in saving developers' time.
  • Helps in scaling and load balancing based on the number of requests it is handling.
  • Provides a neat monitoring system for the servers running along with the access to the logs which can also be downloaded if required.
  • Can include more languages to be deployed (say Erlang) and not only popular languages.
  • Issues in packaging large applications, say more than 2GB to be frequently deployed by uploading the packages to quickly test something.
  • Takes considerable amount of time to just deploy simple applications on Elastic Beanstalk, can be frustrating for developers.
Great for any quick deployment of any application spanning across multiple technologies without need of setting it up manually and deploying it manually and the application is based on micro services which are stateless. Not appropriate if the application is not standalone and is interacting with other servers, say high availability systems.
Read Parikshith Malalur Jagadeesh's full review
Brad Ranks | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

Elastic Beanstalk Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Elastic Beanstalk to deploy Node.js applications. In the past, we had to provision a server and then determine capacities. Now all of that worry is gone. Just upload and go! I love it. Now when we are asked to determine max load of the "system" we can pretty much just say, unlimited.
  • Fast to deploy
  • Easy to get up and running
  • Easy to manage
  • Command line interface could be easier, but it still works.
  • Documentation could be better
This is great for small services and applications that need to have up-time availability or are business critical. Pretty much everything that you have on the one computer in the corner (You know the one. It was a leftover computer that turned into a dev/testing box, then became the production utility box) Yeah, everyone does that at least once.... Put ALL of those projects into elastic beanstalk now.
Read Brad Ranks's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

Solid cloud offering for web applications

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using AWS Elastic Beanstalk to manage web applications on AWS. Our whole organization's infrastructure is deployed and managed using it. Our back-end is primarily node.js with some React. We use Elastic Beanstalk for the suite of its services including provisioning, load balancing, scaling and health monitoring.
  • Excellent deployment, balancing, version control and scaling.
  • Solid integration with other AWS services.
  • Great for easily setting up and monitoring multiple parallel environments (dev, staging, prod)
  • Works better for one app in an instance. Multiple apps gets trickier.
  • Deployments sometimes fail.
Perfect for deploying and managing single-container apps, quickly, easily and reliably. Scales and balances very well. Works well with our Node.js environment. It is also easy to set up multiple environments per app.

It is not a perfect fit if you're deploying multiple apps in one instance.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 03, 2019

The perfect PaaS tool if you are already using AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is used by our company in certain departments for experimental purpose. We are still trying to evaluate its performance. The problem AWS Elastic Beanstalk is solving for us now is the PaaS. We need a platform that can provide the capacity of spinning up a website without managing any of the infrastructures like servers or databases.
  • It is fully automatic. You just upload your codes and EB will take care of the rest.
  • It's well integrated with other AWS services like build pipeline.
  • Good technical support from the documentation.
  • Troubleshooting can be a pain. You cannot see where it was wrong exactly when you encounter errors.
  • It can be touchy sometimes. You need to be very careful about what you have done and keep records on it.
  • Mainly the two above.
If you are developers who just want to write code and do not want to implement all the infrastructure to make your apps up and run, you should think about AWS Elastic Beanstalk. It is a very powerful platform as a service product owned by AWS that can help you host your codes. You do not have to worry about the maintenance of infrastructure.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

Serverless app autoscaling system for stateless applications!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is being used by my organization as a serverless compute system where we can deploy code to run web applications without thinking about infrastructure thus drastically reducing the time to deployment/setup of my system. Elastic Beanstalk is being used primarily by our software development and devops teams to help streamline the deployment process.
  • Deployment automation.
  • Error handling.
  • Documentation.
  • User interface.
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is a great tool to run serverless code by simply deploying your app and letting Amazon Elastic Cloud scale each feature necessary to run a scalable application. It would be less appropriate when dealing with stateful apps, but rather works wonders for stateless applications. The documentation could be done better, but overall it is a great streamlining tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 11, 2019

Elastic Beanstalk is perfect for maintaining your application

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my current project, we are using Elastic Beanstalk with tomcat8 application, and have 4 different development environments with it. We are using Elastic Beanstalk to deploy, configure, and monitor our product client. It creates ev2 instances at the back, and handles scalability and performance issues very well.
  • Deployment management is very good.
  • Configuration and monitoring are easy.
  • There's no need for complicated configuration issues. You can deploy your application in minutes.
  • It should accept deployment from S3 buckets.
  • You cannot store old deployment packages up to 500.
Elastic Beanstalk is very suitable if you are also using other services from AWS. You can deploy your application in a very short time and configure it easily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 20, 2019

Good tool for deployments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
AWS Elastic Beanstalk provides a flexible, easy-to-use service for deploying and scaling web applications and services. It supports various platforms such as Java, NodeJs, .NET, PHP, Python, Go, etc. We use it across all the departments of our organization. It solves our cloud deployment problems. So far it is very useful.
  • User has an option to choose servers they want to deploy such as Apache, IIS, etc.
  • It is bit slow sometimes.
Good documentation, Elastic Beanstalk is a great product that provides tools for running your web application. You can deploy your application as an archive file or docker container, setting up docker application that works with the database takes no more than 1 hour. You can set up different environments for one application very easily.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 23, 2019

AWS Elastic Beanstalk is the bee's knees!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it for many of our clients. AWS Elastic Beanstalk provides a simple way to deploy, maintain and analyze our APIs.
  • Easy to use.
  • Extremely configurable.
  • Deployment hooks could be a little more straight forward and easier to understand.
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is well suited for web applications and application APIs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

AWS Elastic Beanstalk, an easy way to move scale workloads

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently using AWS Elastic Beanstalk to help us augment workloads when we have promotions or campaigns that require a variable amount of computing. This allows us to scale as needed with little or no interaction as we focus on the campaign orchestration to maximize our business processes.
  • Affordable way to scale computing with little involvement
  • Easy set up and ramp up
  • Good toolbox for several platforms with flexibility
  • Spinning up additional nodes can sometimes be slow based on your implementation
  • Testing the scaling can be tricky
  • Implementation of your code still needs to be solid or else you'll have some issues
I would recommend AWS Elastic Beanstalk if you have a workload that's already built and you need to add scalability. It doesn't take too many changes for your workload to be able to be deployed onto Elastic Beanstalk. If you are building out a new platform, I'd recommend looking into a native scaled solution.
Read this authenticated review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 28, 2018

Application deployment and scaling made easy for AWS

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Elastic Beanstalk handles the deployment and scaling of our applications without the need for any complicated setup, and yet still gives us full control over the provisioning and details of our deployed application. It's used by the developers to deploy our app, but the entire organization benefits from it. It saves us time and money.
  • Easy to set up deployment of many technologies.
  • Handles everything from app to database.
  • Integrates into IDEs for easy deployment.
  • For .NET - it doesn't quite compete with some of the Azure stuff when it comes to ease of use.
  • When there are problems, they can be hard to track down what went wrong.
  • It's AWS - so it always has that AWS learning curve for getting set up initially and configuring things.
[Well suited] for small teams that don't want to spend too much time doing their own dev ops or infrastructure setup.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Sandeep Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 30, 2017

AWS Elastic Beanstalk must be used to deploy and manage Customer applications

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used AWS Beanstalk for our Global Client in Telecom Domain. In our customer environment Elastic Beanstalk,(hereafter EB) we can quickly deploy and manage Customer applications in the AWS Cloud without sizing of the infrastructure that runs those applications. AWS EB reduces management complexity without restricting choice or control. We simply upload customer application, and EB will automatically handle the details of capacity provisioning, load balancing, scaling, and application health monitoring.
  • load balancing,
  • monitoring
  • dynamic capacity provision
  • need to create some easy step to deploy the BS in production environment. where data and application are mission critcical
Application health monitoring is well suited as I am very happy with its performance. I don't face a major challenge as of now; still struggling to learn a lot about the EBS feature.
Read Sandeep Singh's full review
Bill Artinger | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

Amazon's Giant Beanstalk

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Beanstalk across our entire organization. It has tremendously helped us stay current, scale to necessary size, and deploy web based content and applications. Being cloud based is a huge bonus, due to its always-on nature and failsafes pout in place to ensure the safety, reliability and availability of our content and data. It has been instrumental.
  • Cost effective
  • Scalable and reliable
  • LOADS of features
  • AWS as a whole can be intimidating, or hard to learn
  • Additional complexities are added at times due to nature of AWS/Cloud
Scenario where Beanstalk would be well suited is when a developer wants to push multiple versions or updates to an application - with its lightening fast configuration and deployment options. There is also a host of automation tools in place to assist. AWS Beanstalk would be less useful (or where it falls short) is if you make frequent changes and have stored old versions - there's a limit for that, that some may not know about until they hit it.
Read Bill Artinger's full review
Jordan Leano | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2018

Scalable EBS

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We primarily use AWS Elastic Beanstalk (EBS) for client production websites. The EBS is set up to autoscale, so it works well for when our client's site traffic spikes. Additionally, our development team uses the Atlassian Bamboo to build and deploy to EBS.
  • Scalability: The ability to autoscale based on traffic helps with availability and overall cost.
  • Atlassian Bamboo third-party integration: EBS integrates well with the Atlassian tools. Once our DevOps team sets up the EBS environments and the Bamboo CI, our developers and QA team will be see the changes without the need to log into AWS and deploy the updates manually.
  • Amazon RDS: The RDS can be set up as a part of the EBS configuration or separately. This process to connect a separate RDS or external DB can be challenging, mainly due to security groups and permissions.
  • Application Bundle: When updating an EBS, an application bundle needs to be created. The application bundle is a ZIP file of the entire website. This would be bothersome if you only need to change one code file. But if this file is part of a website that was built on a multi-file/folder framework, you will be required to zip the entire site and push the zip file to an an S3 bucket for deployment. Single file updates are not possible.
Suited: Sites using a server side scripting engine like PHP and will experience bandwidth spikes due to press releases or campaigns. The scalability will help in keeping the overall monthly costs down.

Not Suited: Sites that do not need a server side scripting engine. It would be less expensive and more efficient to use AWS Cloudfront.
Read Jordan Leano's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2017

Simple and powerful application deployment and scaling

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have an API server that gets millions of requests every day and we needed a system that makes our deployments easier and our app server scalable depending on certain load conditions. Even though we had some downtime using Elastic Beanstalk, we were successful in setting up highly scalable deployments. A silly mistake caused this and had us require a lot of work and consultation with AWS support in order to fix it. After couple of changes to our EB configurations we have achieved finally higher scalability.
  • One can deploy their application from project archive or as docker container
  • With almost no setup you can easily have a failover, load balanced cluster on AWS
  • Through the Elastic Beanstalk console one can manage all your environments without an issue
  • Status reporting can be improved. Sometimes there are some false errors that pops up while doing an active deployment.
  • It's more expensive than their competitors
  • Lack of opensource APIs
It's best suited for large applications that get variable load and traffic. It's simple to click and configure; scaling options are extremely powerful. It's very useful for companies of any size as it gives a nice and clear overview of application deployment status that even a non-tech person can understand.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 29, 2018

More like FANTASTIC Beanstalk!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Elastic Beanstalk as a quick and easy way to implement test environments in our development process. It allows us to quickly configure deployment scenarios and do testing that would otherwise take ages to set up with traditional in-house server technologies. We can easily scale up and down and test our apps against a true to life deployment configuration. It is only used by the development team.
  • Extremely easy to get set up and get apps deployed.
  • Integrates really well with existing build processes and is manageable through a suite of CLI tools.
  • It is very easy to scale up.
  • The documentation is exceptionally detailed and covers a very wide range of deployment scenarios.
  • The product is generally very good, but if there is one thing I'd improve it is the web-based user interface for managing instances.
AWS Elastic Beanstalk is very well suited to scenarios where an application uses a distributed service architecture that relies on multiple server instances and where reliability, scalability, and ease of maintenance are critical points. It excels in simplifying the deployment and staging process; and given the depth of documentation and good resources around the product, is a quick solution to the hard problem. In situations where large monolithic applications need to be hosted, there are more suitable platforms that provide virtual machines.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 21, 2018

AWS Elastic Beanstalk - Scales as advertised

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used this as a backend hosting solution for my portfolio. I was looking to dive deeper into AWS solutions and this was a fairly easy way to do so with little upfront knowledge. I was looking at alternatives to hosting my site on another service's linux hosting solution and opted to give this try.
  • Scales well
  • Easy to spin up
  • CLI tools are great
  • Documentation was either lacking or too complicated for a beginner
  • The act of removing an instance took me several days to be sure it was actually removed and I wouldn't get billed for it
  • Billing information and estimates are hard to follow
The CLI made getting started incredibly easy. Tutorials made it fairly simple to get up and running without too much fuss. That said, it can be a very complicated solution if all you need is a basic hosting platform. However, it can scale out rapidly and does this amazingly well.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2018

AWS Elastic Beanstalk makes deployment and scaling easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I used Elastic Beanstalk for my social networking application, Pindigo. It is a Node application I built it in my free time that serves a user base of roughly 2k users. Elastic Beanstalk allowed me to deploy my application with little configuration and effort.
  • Auto-scaling
  • Load-balancing
  • Provisioning
  • I wish the storage configuration was a little more intuitive. It would be nice to get up and running without having to learn about S3 first.
  • Interface isn't as streamlined or intuitive as it probably could be.
Elastic Beanstalk is perfect for getting an application deployed with little effort. It is less suitable for applications that do not require load balancing or auto-scaling. An AWS EC2 or Lightsail instance would be more appropriate for such needs.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2018

the.worst.service.ever

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We started using this service because we needed high reliability and good support. So we began hosting our app with it immediately
  • Readily available environments
  • server crashed and reset, losing our files, within the first week, and again later
  • support was a minimum of $27 and they did not give a response as to why the server reset
  • the most unreliable hosting i've ever used in more than 10 years of web development
  • all amazon's services are over-thought in nature
We were under the impression that this was a reliable service, but our experience is exactly the opposite of that.
Bottom line, if you want support that gets back with you in less than 24 hours, do not use these people.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 30, 2018

AWS Elastic Beanstalk Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I'm using AWS Elastic Beanstalk to deploy and manage my personnel web application. The free tier is amazing if you want to try it out, as Amazon provides fair free tier usage, so that you can try it out without paying anything. You just need to be careful about the traffic.
  • Elastic Beanstalk is a great product that provides tools for running your web application in few simple steps.
  • It works on top of the AWS EC2 and provides autoscaling, logging, monitoring for you out of the box.
  • Its security features are great, for those who are looking for it.
  • Their help and support is exceptional.
  • It has so many options and packages, that it is overwhelming for a newcomer.
  • I don't like the dynamic attribution of security groups: the names are random, so it's hard to understand what is going on.
  • The only disadvantage of using EBS is that the instance that gets setup as a part of the EBS environment isn't customizable since the users do not have access to that instance.
It is a fantastic solution if you take the time to learn what is behind it. Look into what you can do with Elastic Beanstalk extensions in particular - they are incredibly effective. Since I've used it mostly for deploying basic PHP applications, I can recommend that it is a very useful service for those purposes. It might not be the best thing to use for something that needs customized services to run on your server.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Ease of building user interfaces (17)
8.2
Scalability (26)
9.1
Platform management overhead (25)
7.3
Workflow engine capability (21)
8.2
Platform access control (25)
8.3
Services-enabled integration (26)
8.7
Development environment creation (25)
8.5
Development environment replication (26)
8.2
Issue monitoring and notification (25)
7.8
Issue recovery (23)
8.0
Upgrades and platform fixes (24)
8.5

About AWS Elastic Beanstalk

AWS Elastic Beanstalk is the platform-as-a-service offering provided by Amazon and designed to leverage AWS services such as Amazon Elastic Cloud Compute (Amazon EC2), Amazon Simple Storage Service (Amazon S3).

AWS Elastic Beanstalk is designed for deploying and scaling web applications and services developed with Java, .NET, PHP, Node.js, Python, Ruby, Go, and Docker on familiar servers such as Apache, Nginx, Passenger, and IIS.

Developers can simply upload their code and Elastic Beanstalk automatically handles the deployment, from capacity provisioning, load balancing, and auto-scaling to application health monitoring. At the same time, users retain full control over the AWS resources powering their application and can access the underlying resources at any time.

There is no additional charge for Elastic Beanstalk - pay only for the AWS resources needed to store and run applications.

AWS Elastic Beanstalk Competitors

Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

AWS Elastic Beanstalk Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No