Azure DevOps Reviews

275 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 41)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Azure DevOps Eases the Pain

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Azure DevOps across most teams, leveraging both Kanban and Scrum methodologies. The tool is used for SDLC workflow, source control, and documentation.
  • Source control integration.
  • Templates for multiple Agile types.
  • Document management (implement something similar to Sharepoint libraries).
  • Streamlined permissions structure.
Azure DevOps, on the whole, is very easy to set up and use if you have any experience with Agile processes. The initial barriers to entry are extremely low as the first 5 users can leverage the tool for free. I found the overall feature/functionality easier to use and more approachable than similar tools. It is also leaps and bounds better than TFS if you haven't looked at it in a while. If you are already a git user, this is directly integrated with git repos, making the transition easy. The tool is also integrated with many other Microsoft products, so if you are a Microsoft-centric shop, you can leverage the broader ecosystem.
Read this authenticated review
Amy Liston | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2019

Azure DevOps was our Agile metrics savior!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Azure DevOps to manage the workflow for all of our software development teams. We use this software to provide team metrics, identify team dependencies and manage agile boards. We also use the software to manage pull requests.
  • Agile Management.
  • Metrics.
  • Customized Reporting.
  • Scaleable Team Projects.
  • Column sorting when in filtered states.
  • A way to show cross-team dependencies.
  • A customized "From" field for notifications. Sometimes when a mail comes from Azure DevOps the teams do not realize that I am sending it
  • A way to do online poker that doesn't require a plug-in.
Before using Azure DevOps, the department was calculating metrics by hand. It was a very tedious process that, at times required duplicate effort. Once we added the online boards, we were able to let the cards automatically calculate dates and provide us with team metrics instantly. It is also great for being able to easily move features from one team to another. Before we added all teams in the same project, it would require us to re-enter the features. We move features around a lot so that has been a big help. I also like the board customization, not all of our teams follow the exact same Agile flow, so allowing each board to have its own columns, states, and notifications give flexibility to each team.
Read Amy Liston's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Azure DevOps for large Enterprise

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure DevOps is currently used across the organization. Currently not all groups and departments are utilizing it however we are in the process of rolling out to these groups. Azure DevOps has become our go to application for development. We are using it for full development life cycle, code repository, testing, deployment and verification.
  • Once set up it makes deployments to various environments a breeze
  • YAML backend is a huge plus
  • Large groups can work on the same solution seamlessly
  • More streamlined set up of CI/CD
  • Better error messaging to explain why sometimes a build is successful and sometimes not
  • Easier set up of deployment tools
Azure DevOps is by far the leader out there. If you are a Microsoft shop there is no need to look elsewhere. This will handle everything you have with ease and then some. If you have older code then you may need to build some customizations to make it work but anything recent is seamless.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Vinicius Lima | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

Great tool for DevOps methodology that can contribute with your projects and team performance

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure DevOps to manage all our projects across the whole organization. The project manager usually translates all software requirements to Azure DevOps and assign appropriate tasks to programmers. It is a very flexible tool to implement DevOps methodology. The project development is followed through the platform, as well as the team performance.
  • Easy representation of software requirements in user stories and tasks.
  • It allows the tracking of activities and team performance
  • It allows interaction between team members in a specific task
  • You can use only a few tools to complement your existent workflow
  • There is a free version for small teams (up to 5 users)
  • Some small improvements could be done in the user interface.
  • Sometimes the performance is low (some requests/queries are slow)
Azure DevOps allows you to start with DevOps methodology in a fast and easy way. The graphical interface is great and it is suitable to small and big teams. It really helps you to manage projects, tasks and teams.
Read Vinicius Lima's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

DevOps for the MSFT stack and beyond!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Azure DevOps for work tracking and our git remote repository. My immediate team of 8 use it exclusively. We host every project we have (15+) on it. It allows us to have all of our work tracked in one location. Since we are a Microsoft Data Platform shop, it integrates well into our other development tools.
  • Seamless integration into Microsoft development tools.
  • CI/CD built-in, very customizable.
  • Lots of marketplace items for integration into various non Microsoft tools.
  • It is not as customizable as JIRA. They are working to improve this. But this is the one area where it is lacking.
If you are looking at Azure DevOps, you know why you need this. It is an inexpensive development process software. You need a place to host your remote git repo. You want to be able to track work and reference it later. You want to build out a full CI/CD pipeline based on commits. This is not a simple ticket tracking system. If that is all you want, go elsewhere!
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 14, 2019

DevOps is one of the key solutions to all of your successful development projects

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure DevOps is being used by our development department. It addresses the problem of not having a central source code storage location with team collaboration. It is used to store and collaborate on development projects. All team members are checking in/out their source code and pipelines/team collaboration is in use.
  • Ease of use/integration with Visual Studio.
  • Very responsive and easy to maintain a site.
  • Has full Git capabilities.
  • Capability to store unlimited numbers of projects.
  • The price/license per user could be a little less than many of the open-source type source code platforms on the market.
  • Ease of integration with other development IDE's than Visual Studio.
No matter how many developers you have within the company, a robust source code control/DevOps pipeline is a must. When a new software development project is needed it can be initiated within DevOps by any team member/manager. The project can be tracked from start to finish with alerts and message ability directly in the product. The QA team can also monitor and provide feedback directly within the product.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Bringing it all together: People, Products, Process—Azure DevOps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure DevOps is primarily used by our development and technologies business. It is our premiere tool for application lifecycle management. Azure DevOps helps support real-time communication among global teams ensuring efficiency in all stages of the lifecycle. The build and release pipelines help us to manage thousands of customized application releases assuring customers get our critical changes quickly and regularly.
  • The backlogs and Kanban boards for planning and tracking work are second to none. Forecasting and capacity management are made easy with the Azure DevOps tools at our disposal.
  • The ability to customize work items and workflow is crucial to our business. We are in a specialized, highly regulated business with requirements, unlike most software businesses. We continue to strive to keep development and delivery as lean and agile as possible. We are slowly adopting more DevOps principles. This is especially challenging for our business due to government regulations. As a result, we've adopted an Agile/Waterfall hybrid methodology. Customizing the process, work items and workflow gives us the ability to meet our unique needs.
  • Git integration is a key feature and keeps our developers happy.
  • Some of the administrative tasks and management leaves much to be desired. Security and permissions are managed in different places instead of one central location. Alerts and notifications management could use improvement.
  • Due to the nature of our business, we are not able to move to the cloud and must use the on-prem version. While Microsoft officially supports the on-prem version, they are geared towards the cloud version of Azure DevOps. Microsoft support for many of our on-prem needs seem to be waning.
  • Work items should be able to be baselined along with code. While we can label the code that was built, there is no way to take a snapshot in time of the historical state of the work items at the time of the build. A feature like this would save our QA department lots of work.
Although hosting Azure DevOps in-house with their on-prem version is manageable, it seems that Azure DevOps is better suited for development shops that are able to utilize the cloud version. That said, if your medium to large-sized company is like ours and need your ALM tools on-prem, be prepared to invest in multiple, full-time staff dedicated to administration if choosing Azure DevOps. For small companies, both cloud and on-prem versions are acceptable.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 10, 2019

Get Quick Pipelines Up and Running with Azure DevOps

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure DevOps is a common tool used by technical teams. In my capacity I used Azure DevOps to create a Chef Cookbook pipeline for delivering tested code. In doing this, I used it in conjunction with the built in version control system provided by Azure DevOps, but it also integrates well with GitHub and other systems.I also helped others set up pipelines and implement the use of Azure DevOps in this capacity as well.
  • Usability: The usability of Azure DevOps is great! Being a new user, it was easy to pick up and go with this tool with very little requirement to seek external documentation.
  • Integration: This tool integrates well with other systems (ie. GitHub, Chef, etc).
  • Built in activities: Azure DevOps has a ton of prebuilt activities that allow you to basically build whatever you need without writing any extensive code.
  • While usability is great, it did take me a few times to find "hidden areas" (like the visual designer link for creating pipelines). Having these in more defined noticeable areas will only improve on the already great usability.
  • As with other Microsoft tools, the Microsoft login get's a little crazy when you have multiple accounts. In my case, I have several accounts (personal, university, and work) and getting into Azure DevOps with the appropriate account could sometimes be an act of futility.
Azure DevOps is well suited for any platform you are running. In my case, it was a great Chef cookbook pipeline solution that required no overhead or setup, cost nothing, and worked great. It works well with on-prem systems, systems in Azure, systems in AWS, and even systems in Google Cloud. Honestly, it's a really great multi-platform tool in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Maria Sousa | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 16, 2019

A fully featured DevOps suite

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're implementing entire product workflows with Azure DevOps: building, testing, staging and deploying. It's the perfect companion for Visual Studio and Git, so everyone just loves using it. It's a dream come true not having to switch to different front-ends to get our job done throughout the day, while keeping an amazing user experience.
  • Unified environment for all DevOps tasks and procedures
  • Amazing User Experience within a beautiful UI
  • Great marketplace extensions collection
  • Code merging has room for improvement
  • Such a broad set of features can become confusing for the novice user
It's a great way to normalize DevOps wokflows, allowing you to replace lots of different tools and get the job done with a unified package. Testing support is second to none. If you're just focusing on development with version control, than Visual Studio packed with Git will probably cover all your needs.
Read Maria Sousa's full review
Agenor Roris Filho | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 16, 2019

Great integrated collaborative environment for segregated teams

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used by the IT Department to manage all steps of the main software development project, and the improvement and integration of the internal TMS (Transportation Management System). Consultants, analysts, developers, the Scrum Master, and the product owner can collaborate and control all their activities, with high visibility of the progress and particular issues. Enabling the Scrum work item template allowed the use of agile techniques and control over a highly demanded product backlog.
  • It offers an easy relationship between product backlog items, development tasks, and the source code changes.
  • No overhead management tasks, people keep focused on product development and it reduces work time.
  • Dashboards show the summary of the most important indicators, and offer different views for distinct professional roles, keeping people in touch with entire progress.
  • Full support for Scrum artifacts and processes.
Team System is the best solution if you use Visual Studio Professional or Enterprise as your main development platform, especially if you have a Microsoft Enterprise Agreement. Even though it can be used with any development project management framework it is better in an informal environment using Scrum.
Read Agenor Roris Filho's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Intuitive and Powerful Tool for Microsoft-Aligned Product Teams

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Azure DevOps is the standard at my company for software source code management and project/requirements management. The cloud-hosted software is being used across all teams to coordinate and track development activities, align release planning, and track work items for testing and verification. Previously we used tools such as Rally and Perforce to serve these needs, but we have standardized on Azure DevOps going forward.
  • Flexible Requirements Hierarchy Management: AZDO makes it easy to track items such as features or epics as a flat list, or as a hierarchy in which you can track the parent-child relationship.
  • Fast Data Entry: AZDO was designed to facilitate quick data entry to capture work items quickly, while still enabling detailed capture of acceptance criteria and item properties.
  • Excel Integration: AZDO stands out for its integration with MS Excel, which enables quick updates for bulk items.
  • Central Dashboard of Development Metrics: AZDO nests its dashboards in workflow-specific tracks, which is useful. Still, I'd like to see a home page personalized for each user which provides relevant updates on the most recent work items (updates to features, etc.) and work progress.
  • Complex Queries: AZDO is great for simple queries, but complex queries and the display of results doesn't always produce intuitive results. For example, sorting and drag/drop can be unreliable in some views. I suspect the AZDO team will work out these issues over the next few releases.
  • Lack of Themes: AZDO allows for the tracking of Epics and Initiatives, but there doesn't seem to be a structured interface for tracking product investment themes.
For development teams with a history of Microsoft tools alignment, Azure DevOps provides familiar patterns and interfaces. And for product management / product marketing users, the use of use of data entry and the Excel integration provide for easy on-ramps for learning and proficiency development. For teams that have used tools such as FogBugz, the boards and case layouts may take a little getting used to.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 18, 2019

Azure DevOps, the future of ALM with Microsoft

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Azure DevOps to as part of our Application Lifecycle Management practice. We leverage it to move code up our different developmental landscape and use it to run automated tests and artifact deployments. Additionally, we use it to manage our resource edge points as well as refreshing servers post-deployment.
  • Easy to use and set up and extendable through marketplace.
  • Highly flexible in configuration right out of the box.
  • Agent allocation and provisioning is very easy.
  • Cost can be a little bit more transparent for agents.
  • More information on their YAML strategy would help us plan better.
  • More configuration options in agents would be good as well as on premise agents.
Azure DevOps is great for daily releases to QA and allowing developers to deploy to their own local environments if needed. Additionally, it's great for use in container fleet management if you want to have instances that can be brought up and torn upon demand based on the pipeline you are trying to use.
Read this authenticated review
AMANDEEP KUNDRAO | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 12, 2018

Best IDE -->Visual Studio

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Microsoft VS (2010,2013,2017) with the integration of Team Foundation Server(TFS) with it. We are using it to keep track of the whole software development life cycle. Each developer regularly checks code changes with the addition of Visual Studio to the TFS. As for the integration side, we are using it to clean , build, and deploy the code changes to different servers to upgrade them to the latest version.
  • Visual Studio supports many languages like C#,HTML.C++ and many others. We can also make Visual Studio to support other different languages with the help of plugins, like for Java, Python, etc.
  • We are using TFS with the VS, so it makes it easy to track the code and project changes, and if required we can also track the code of every single line to see what it means, by whom this code is written, and for which problem.
  • A unique work item change order number is assigned to the changes that you are making, apart from your shelveset creation
  • We can create the build definition through which we can automate the deployment and upgrade processes.
  • It provides a lot of menus and options/templates through which we can make our computer application for enterprise or for non-enterprise
  • We can easily integrate our customized/required menu in the VS through registry files or through deployment of the code
  • Need to make the changes so that it doesn't occupy most of the CPU utilization and memory
  • Execution of Bulky SQl Queries leads to either the SQl being out of exception or the VS being unresponsive
  • Integration with Microsoft products is easy, but with non-Microsoft products it is more difficult, and you have to make a lot of configuration changes to integrate
  • With every upgrade of the Visual Studio, like from VS 2010 to VS 2013 , we need to upgrade our hardware/machine, as the VS hardware requirement also increases
  • If code is getting compiled in one visual studio, like in VS 2010, that the same code could possibly give an error when compiled in VS 2013, due to certain changes in keyword, data format, etc., with the VS upgrade
It has been a great tool when comes to code compilation. As a developer, it helps a lot for us to find issues in the code, as Microsoft Visual Studio Team System has the best debugging tools. We can also check the code line by line to find the exact line where the error is. Developers can also place their important code at their shelveset and can easily get it from there when they need to. As for integration, it helps us to compile large code and deploy the changes with a single GO.
Read AMANDEEP KUNDRAO's full review
Rahul Kumar Singh | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 31, 2018

Microsoft Team System a way for developers to work at the same time on a project without any hassle.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is being used by the dev team in the organization. As every developer is a part of a project, every developer has to access the TFS (team foundation server) in order to contribute to the project. MVSTS is solving some major business problems. For example, it allows version control of a file as the whole team is working on the project. TFS provides each developer a local copy of the file, as well as the server version. Developers can make the changes to their local file and test it and if everything goes well, then they can update it on the server for the customer.
  • Version control of the files: each developer has access to the server and regularly gets the latest server changes in his local box. The local file is maintained and also remains updated with the server version. The program also provides a different copy of a file so that it can be recovered in case of a failure from any individual developer box.
  • Some features like shelveset creation, work item monitoring, and publishing the project database.
  • I can access any developer's local box and see what changes he is doing if he has shared the shelveset with me.
  • Applying any new changes and undoing them using the pending changes feature.
  • Once, I added a PDF file to my shelveset so that I could share my changes with my team, but they were unable to unshelve my changes. This is because PDFs cannot be opened in more than one box, and it was locked on my box. So, I had to undo it from my box, and even then it was only accessible to one person at a time. It was problematic. They should at least be able to open it in read-only mode.
  • Lots of settings are necessary. However, if you accidentally uninstall one, instead of having to install it again, there should be a backup kind of thing for my profile settings in Visual Studio.
  • The default compare and merge tool provided by Visual Studio does not fill our needs, and we need to install other products like Delta Walker or Araxis Merge.
For large project or a large team, the product is well suited when this technology is already implemented, because nowadays for version control there are products like GitHub. For a company who is concerned about security, this is a way to make their projects accessible from their TFS, and no one can use it for personal use. This is also useful for maintaining a site that a group of developers are working on, where their work items need to change, like peer test, peer review etc.
Read Rahul Kumar Singh's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Great tool for process mapping

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department utilizes Microsoft Visual Studio to create workflows for the system, organization, and application process flows.
  • Great for documenting process flows.
  • Great for developing org charts.
  • Great for mapping out ideas and brainstorming.
  • I'd like to be able to set up the automatic spacing and organizing workflows to flow from top to bottom.
Wonderful for process mapping.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 11, 2019

Azure DevOps, Formerly VSTS, Makes your Life Better

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Microsoft VSTS, now Azure DevOps, in the IT department for our software development management. In the past, we used TFS coupled with other items. Since we're a Microsoft shop, it made complete sense to make the jump to VSTS.

The automated features are great; we especially enjoy the build and deploy automation. We also like the board capabilities, better query option, and increased visibility Microsoft VSTS has given us over TFS. Microsoft is always adding new features as well, which helps us streamline or automate our processes even further.
  • Board view of the work we're doing. Project management has found this to be especially helpful and has enjoyed how configurable it is to our needs.
  • Automation: From testing to the publishing process, there are plenty of options to automate workflows and processes. This has freed up resources and time for our teams to get more meaningful work done.
  • Collaboration: Since we came from TFS, it's the small things that have enabled greater collaboration within the team and with other departments/stakeholders like the ability to tag individuals in comments, following an item and receive email updates, etc.
  • It would be nice to have a master board to see everything going on across all projects. This is more of a management view, I would think. For me, I'm having to jump back and forth between our projects. I would like to be able to projects on the master board if this view were available.
For us, as a Microsoft shop, it fits very well into what we're doing. This is especially true since we had used TFS for years. In fact, we wish we had made the transition sooner. Like all tools, there is a learning curve for everyone involved in the transition. It's taken our team time to learn the ins and out. And it's been a great leap forward for us. Microsoft VSTS may not be as friendly depending on the technologies you use. We've found it works well, even with non-Microsoft technologies. We're excited to see further tie-ins with GitHub and other technologies in the future.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

VSTS is a great tool - but just for development teams

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used and maintained by our engineering team for development work. Product management accesses VSTS to see project statuses and write user stories.
  • Writing detailed use stories
  • Assigning people to tasks
  • Allowing for attachments
  • It has nice tools for gathering data for reporting purposes.
  • Having a more modern user interface which doesn't feel outdated.
  • VSTS is very development team-centric. Development teams are working very closely with product management, who sets their tasks and priorities. There is no way in VSTS for product managers to develop product roadmaps based on product strategies and trickle that down to user stories for developers. The link between product management and development is missing.
  • Tools like Estimably or something similar for pointing stories in an agile development setting would be very useful, as they are used daily by agile teams.
  • More built-in visual reporting functionality that could be customized would be a huge asset.
Great for development teams that don't work closely with a product management team.
Not suited for an organization where product management develops and prioritizes development work.
Read this authenticated review
Glenn Jones | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 06, 2018

VSTS the best for Microsoft builds

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is currently being used by one department at work but was I brought it into the company about six years ago. We currently use VSTS as a building and testing tool. We set up the builds and create tests to run after a build is successful. When I first started with VSTS I set it up to run on a daily basis and then had the developers correct the problems that were shown by the tests. This works very well and the developers like using it since they did not have to keep on integrating their changes together.
  • VSTS has a wonderful integration with Team Foundation Source control and Git. This is good because these were two source control systems that we used.
  • VSTS can be scheduled to run its builds and test at various times of the day. This means it can in the middle of the night and be ready for the developers when they get in in the morning.
  • VSTS handles Microsoft builds very easily. Building a .Net application can be set up with almost no work. You just have to use the Visual Studio solution that was used by the developers to create the application.
  • VSTS is very Microsoft centric. If the application you want to build is not based on Microsoft items such as C#, or Visual Basic it is very difficult to use.
  • If you are using the latest version of VSTS then you will find a documentation problem. It can be very hard to find methods and help trying to get something running.
  • Passing data between VSTS build steps is not easy. It can be done, but it is not a normal thing that you would Microsoft would have put into their product.
If you are building a build system for a Microsoft product that doesn't have a lot of steps, VSTS is something that should be looked at. If you want to deploy your application to Azure it is even better. Running Visual Studio to build, run tests and perform load and performance tests works very well. Just be prepared to have your initial setup take some time.
Read Glenn Jones's full review
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 05, 2018

VSTS will save you time/money

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System (VSTS) is being used currently only by IT and a few select people in the business unit. The main goal of using VSTS from the business perspective was to improve communication, work item management, improve planning and increase visibility into product management. For the developers in IT, it was imperative to have more integration between business requirement and code, moreover, it also expedited development workflow (code reviews, etc).
  • Work item management is fantastic and easy to use. It can be used as simply just tracking tasks, or as complex as tracing work items from multiple projects being assigned to a single developer. Work items can be customized easily to meet the needs of your organization as well, and it isn't difficult to manage the customization.
  • Source code management is excellent and tied directly into VSTS. You have a choice of TFVC or GIT management options - we've switched to git and have not looked back. It is fully featured and commits can be tied directly to a work item using # tags.
  • Metrics/dashboard - being able to write simple queries and move them to a dashboard in a few minutes is great. It enables team managers a quick board to review the status of a project and quickly act on any issues cropping up.
  • Build and release management - if you don't have this... you'll want it. The integration is magic, the interface is easy, and to setup an automated build using the hosted agent was a breeze. We did have to purchase an additional license because of the number of builds we had, but it was worth it.
  • VSTS has a log of flexibility... almost too much. It's hard to actually decide how best to use it until you just set it up and try it out.
  • Currently getting a list of work items on the main home page is messy. There's no hierarchy so it can sometimes be just a blast of work without any sorting or prioritization settings. There's a simple work-around to simply create a query for yourself and enable "search across multiple projects". That works alright, but it would be a better experience if the home page had this already covered.
  • Teams management could be better. It's a little confusing, and not easy to setup. Our specific use case of having some teams able to only see their backlog and nothing else was not achievable in the current implementation of VSTS. As a result, whenever we have to contract out work, we end up creating a new Team Project. It's not all bad, because team project contents can be easily migrated to another project, but it's still a bit annoying.
Anyone who is currently using TFS should migrate to VSTS immediately. Having maintained TFS servers in the past, this is substantially easier. Additionally, the web interface has gotten easier to use and features to move work items between projects has improved greatly. We're also in the process of migrating away from our Atlassian toolset - so it gives you an idea of how versatile the product really is.
Read Gordon Lo's full review
Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 26, 2018

Visual Studio Team Services The Best IDE for developers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSTS is being used in our organization as the IDE standard of the development team, allowed thanks to its provision team foundation a better organization and delegation of functions in the work team. Visual Studio has allowed an efficient and effective organization and delegation of the work assigned to the development department, which has triggered a significant diversification in the market occupied by the company I represent.
  • It allows you to incorporate different languages, or written code in different encoding to the workflow without affecting the development to which it is oriented
  • By using the Entity Framework you can establish the database design of the system in a correctly standardized and highly efficient way
  • The debugging options allow you to have control of the code that is being made, in addition to having a large amount of plugins that allow to use this feature in different languages
  • There are few things that we can say in a negative way because a pending issue was the license and Visual Studio has a lite option that although it does not have all the features of the full version, allows you to fulfill the work planned
  • The download size of the full version is usually very long and can take a long time to get it
  • In case of applying the entity framework in non-standardized tables (already existing projects) it generates inconveniences in the creation of the entities
VSTS is a software that can be used by advanced programmers, and it is also an excellent option in a team of developers that begin to train and become familiar with an IDE. It can be used in large development teams or in particular developments is perfectly adapted to the needs of the developer.
Read Carlos Alberto Pedron Espinett's full review
Jarod Bonino | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 14, 2018

VSTS - Great for sprint planning and execution

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is used at my organization for engineer team backlog management, weekly (sprint) task planning, and day-to-day progress reporting.
  • If the backlog is well maintained, it provides a great "at a glance" view of forecasting/projections.
  • It provides a nice visual for committed tasks that is sequestered from the larger group of "future" work.
  • It allows for linking among backlog items that are related or dependent on each other.
  • It can be tricky to figure out the best way to use Iteration paths.
  • It isn't easy to differentiate iterations for certain execution cadences (sprints 1 - 6 repeated every 6 weeks).
  • There is not a great way to denote "code ownership" within the product (we use an external system to figure out who should be assigned what bug based on where the bug is in the code - not the UI).
I love using VSTS for sprint planning and daily task execution. It provides a central hub for viewing all new features and bug fix work that a team has committed to in a given iteration.
Read Jarod Bonino's full review
Devin Rodriguez | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 12, 2018

VSTS makes building and releasing applications a breeze

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The team I work on uses Microsoft Visual Studio Team (VSTS) for code storage and versioning, as well as utilizing their build and release systems. This resolves multiple issues including removing the need for us to manage a local repository and helps automate the process of building and releasing new versions of our application by leveraging automatic processes triggered when branch is pushed to the remote server.
  • Code repository
  • Automatic Build & Release
  • User management
VSTS is well suited for just about any coding project that can be built and deployed on a Windows platform. Building platform-specific languages is not as easy to build on their cloud server, but private agents can also be set up on target systems to allow for building in just about any environment.
Read Devin Rodriguez's full review
Andy Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 06, 2018

Visual Studio Team Services - an agile workflow and CD/CI toolchain.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Using VSTS in an agile fashion, we are using the change management features like view history, view changesets, compare, create shelvesets, and to create work items. We optionally could use VSTS for continuous integration/delivery to Azure, but the expense far outweighs AWS. VSTS has made us into a .net shop that is useful for checking in artifacts from Example Author, Microsoft Office/365, or other third party vendors.
  • Change management
  • Continuous integration/delivery, automate application deployment
  • Code reviews, conduct a design review
  • VSTS online code editor
  • Complete Azure integration
  • Distributed workflow
  • Cost
  • More robust API
  • More straightforward comparison tool
Well suited for .net shops, distributed/offshore outsourcing, or small scale development. Less suitable for isolated or modular component development. Although the API is suitable, the licensing cost may be prohibitive for open source projects. VSTS is an end to end change management and collaboration tool that has a robust feature set for the enterprise. A VS Code-like analog companion similar to VSTS for no charge would be excellent.
Read Andy Turner's full review
Fred Sookiasian | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

Visual Studio Team Services Quick Outlook

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft Visual Studio Team System is being used in our organization for development and testing activities across multiple domains and multiple architectures of multiple products. The biggest business problem it addresses is disparity in branches and trunks of the applications that are being developed. Since the company is merging two vast platforms into one coming from TFS, the independent units working on shared libraries of the framework will eventually migrate everything to one unified WPF framework. Couple this with segregated API automation libraries, the global availability of shared resources with very good version controlling solves endless issues that can result in haphazard application delivery.
  • Global availability as opposed to having everything done in silos when teams are dispersed all over the world.
  • Configuration and administration that reaches out to more people and has overall less impact than having to do spotted administration.
  • Agile project management is easier to deal with in conjunction with some third-party SCRUM/Agile tools.
  • Test Automation endeavors can be quickly ramped up as opposed to using other third party solutions that require greater technical resource overhead.
  • Possibly some test management and ALM desires that are left out.
  • Some performance issues not related directly to internal network performance bottlenecks.
  • It may be pricey from an initial outlook (for larger distributed teams) and that may throw off some companies with challenged budgets.
In larger distributed teams or even smaller local teams, MVST is a big contender in application/architecture delivery. In areas where there might be a finite amount of resources or the development can be done more out of a "shrink wrapped" solution, without the need for large configuration of an IDE, it may be suited to stay simpler and do something else besides MVST.
Read Fred Sookiasian's full review
Swagata Bhattacharyya | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 15, 2018

All under one umbrella

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across the organization. We use it for tracking tasks as well as for CICD.
  • Task management
  • Capacity Management
  • CICD
  • Once you add a new sprint, it does not automatically reflect in the left panel of work items. You have to select the iteration under default teams settings. This is a bit confusing and difficult to figure out if you don't know.
  • When a task is marked as Resolved, the remaining time does not become 0 like it happens when you close the task. It may be a good idea to reset it to 0 for resolved tasks as well.
  • The system allows you to close a user story which has open tasks under it. A warning mentioning this while closing the user story will be good.
I believe it can be used in all projects, big or small. All projects are broken down into subtasks and VSTS is a great tool to manage subtasks and capacity.
Read Swagata Bhattacharyya's full review

About Azure DevOps

Azure DevOps (formerly VSTS, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System) is an agile development product that is an extension of the Microsoft Visual Studio architecture. Azure DevOps includes software development, collaboration, and reporting capabilities.

Azure DevOps Competitors

CA Agile Central (formerly Rally)

Azure DevOps Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No