Jira Software Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
1642 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 120)

Richard Chen | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 28, 2020

JIRA Software Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to enter all requests; vet their research thru discovery; assign resources, points, sprint, deadlines, watchers, labels, components, etc.; publicize progress to all parties; configure dashboards to enable managers to make decisions; and house all our historical works for future reference. It is in the cloud thus accessible from anywhere. Our centralized directory runs its single-sign on thus no need to make accounts. User data from that directory is shown in JIRA thus speeding up contacting. It solves lack of mutual visibility, accountability, standardizing tags/labels, mass assigning tasks, organizing a formerly email-based workflow, and forces discipline.
  • Labels enable all the benefits of tagging-based organizing
  • Webhook with Git means we can see all commits per task(s) cited in the commit message
  • Easy single-sign on integration removes need to create new accounts
  • Frontend is super fast which promotes users taking even complex tagging actions
  • No problems integrating with Confluence (Wiki-like) and BitBucket (Git-like) for productive quick starts.
  • Mass-editing and scripting to, say, mass-rename a set of labels to a new one or many
  • Command line interface would be nice, for power users
  • Version number is difficult to find leading to difficulty judging what version we run thus which features we are truly missing
  • Eorkflow edits aren't protected from errors/inconsistencies like mapping a label to null
  • Workflows can be loop-to-self, be massively inefficient, should be a workflow "linter"
We have a project with 30 users finding multiple issues daily due to the project's complexity in all senses: business-wise, politically, technically, developer resource constraints, time constraints, and limited intake managers. That said, we must be very efficient and judicious about how we file all the reported errors, new features, critical bugs, re-categorizing in between, etc. JIRA's great interface allows us to search and tag and make fast large-scale edits to this torrent of tasks to bring it into order. The public visibility and linking tasks also helps organizing such a large volume of tickets with so few people. Without JIRA, either people wouldn't be able to submit requests at all to a sane system or the interface would be so dissuading as to cause them to not speak up. JIRA is the tool to tame a beyond-human scale of requests.
Read Richard Chen's full review
Harshit Bhattaram | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2020

JIRA: The best project management tool out there.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA for bug/issue tracking and also project management activities. JIRA is used throughout our organization across all teams. The business problem it addresses is that it gives everybody on the team a clear cut view of what the issue is and how to track and it also gives another view of the steps required to solve the issue.
  • Flexible
  • Ease of use
  • Across all mobile and desktop
  • Easy to learn
  • Sometimes the UI is confusing.
  • Reports can be made better.
  • File size upload can be increased.
I would easily recommend JIRA to anyone as the process of creating an issue and adding artifacts to the issue like screenshots, screen-recording, and text files is fluid. Selecting the project, adding appropriate tags to the project and so on is very easy. The developer's view and moving the issue to various stages of the bug life-cycle is really good.
Read Harshit Bhattaram's full review
Hans Hong | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

Great for agile teams and development work coordination, but reporting could use some work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Coordinating work and submissions from multiple stakeholders and users and estimating completion of projects. Most of our software development teams use it for planning agile projects and coordinating with stakeholders, and tracking velocity and estimated completion dates.
  • Fits right into agile methodology and very easy to use.
  • No problems with copy/pasting images, attachments, and formatting stories to look right. Interface is fast, pleasing to use.
  • Commenting and tracking conversation and notes on stories is very easy.
  • Reporting and some charting capabilities is lacking. Need better ways to track burndown, velocity, etc.
  • Missing functionality for tracking testing and pass/fail.
  • A good example of "you get what you put in". It can get messy and overwhelming easily if left unchecked. Some tools and study on this would be helpful to guide users on proper management of agile.
You need at least a team of 4 or more to really make use of this. Otherwise it's overkill on setup and configuration just to get this working.
Read Hans Hong's full review
Sumit Bachani | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 15, 2019

JIRA - The Best ALM Tool in the Market.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used in my organization for Application Lifecycle Maintenance (ALM) activities. It is used in collaboration with Confluence/Wiki for capturing detailed:
1. User stories in form of project backlog
2. Acceptance criteria
3. Creating bugs
4. Analysis ticket
5. Maintaining story workflows (from ready for dev to closed)
6. Logging work hours spent on each individual ticket/story

It is also very helpful in creating a very simplistic boundary line between the on going sprint and the backlog (all my projects have been executed in Agile mode). In addition to it, as my projects have always had more than one sprint going on simultaneously and the stories part of those sprints related to each other, it acts as a very elegant tool for representing such views where the information is easy to comprehend for any developer or tester.
  • Single view for all the user stories (active sprint/backlog)
  • Ability to generate reports of various types for each of the active / closed sprints for e.g. burndown chart, sprint velocity etc.
  • Ability to track release tickets - we can create tickets which are supposed to go for production from various sprints in one single page and manage it from there.
  • Integration of communication tools like Hipchat and Slack makes it very easy for tracking & responding to notifications.
  • Complexity of integrating other ALM tools like TFS with JIRA - as my first project had to be migrated from TFS to JIRA, all the artifacts had to migrated manually into JIRA.
  • Mobile app of JIRA is not so holistic in nature and one has to navigate a lot to do various things which are very easy to do in web application.
1. JIRA is easy for tracking multiple sprints in one go.
2. If tickets have various labels, one can view the tickets using the labels as the filter.
3. Reports are very easy to generate, they also come in form of pie charts, graphs etc.
4. A dashboard view of all the tracks going on gives a beautiful integrated view of the progress made in the current sprint.

Inappropriate - JIRA reports are not easy to reuse in the sense that the graphical reports generated are not downloadable in form of image and using other techniques leads to resolution issues for those report images.
Read Sumit Bachani's full review
Saugandh Karan | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

JIRA for Agile is must

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used by our department here. It has helped us a lot. We work in a ScaleAgile mode hence it has helped us a lot in performing our Agile movement in our work. We have improved the way we work and all our efforts are tracked properly. Ability to provide screenshots of our work also help us to answer the Scrum master better.
  • The best thing I liked about it were the variety of charts and graphs which helped us to have a clear understanding of our sprint work.
  • The ability to create sub tasks for user stories.
  • We can also customise or configure the application which helps us to keep the application as common as possible.
  • The ability to prioritize the stories in the backlog so as to take it up in a sprint is also beneficial.
  • I have nothing as of now which I dislike, will definitely update if I find any. We moved from another application to this, it has been better since then.
I think it is very much suited for smaller teams who work together as a big team. It helps a lot in also knowing the status of all the teams hence making it easy to prepare or develop [projects] on time. Also if there are any dependencies they are known at the earliest [stage] which actually helps a lot as it does not reduce the velocity of the teams.
Read Saugandh Karan's full review
Jyoti Arora | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2019

Jira Software Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is used across the organization. This includes the development team, business analysts, project managers, and others. This is used to save project requirements as user stories. Estimation is also done on these stories, so estimates are also saved. We also use it for scheduling, as we can create Scrum boards/Kanban boards or simple task boards and depict all the tasks a team is working on. It's a very visual tool.
  • Scheduling
  • Task Board
  • User stories
  • Timesheets
  • Estimation
  • Task Assignment
  • Filters. I find it hard to try and retrieve task/stories from a specific duration
  • Creating dashboards is not intuitive
  • Error messages are not user friendly
Well suited for Agile projects. It may not be great for traditional projects where you have hundreds of items in flight. It's awesome to track how your team is doing and what work is in progress, done, or scheduled for future or current sprints. Integrated with time submission for each task so you can see how well time is utilized.
Read Jyoti Arora's full review
Chetan Munegowda | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 30, 2019

Best Project Management Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA software is used for project management. It helps us to track the progress of the project using a Kanban board.
  • Kanban Board - Track the features using workflow methodology.
  • Email notification when the ticket is assigned to specific users.
  • Filter the the JIRA tickets using keyword search functionality.
  • User Interface can be improved more by adopting modern designs.
  • Artificial Intelligence can be integrated for automating lots of process.
  • Chat functionality also can also be integrated to JIRA for real time communication.
JIRA has been a lifesaver, it saves lots of time in managing a project. I thoroughly enjoy most of the features given by JIRA.
Read Chetan Munegowda's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 17, 2020

A must-have tool!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is used across my organization. For me, it's the best project management software available.
We use it for all purposes. The fields are really extensive and easy to use. Additionally, the filters are very useful and you can track the issues very easily. Filters have advance search features too which incorporate very simple query language and can fetch specific results. Jira dashboards are another feature that is used daily. You can add various gadgets to the dashboard and track the progress of the project instantly. You can also share dashboards with people where they can check the status and this, in turn, saves you time.
  • Issue logging and tracking.
  • Dashboards.
  • You need to save the filter and basically make it public before using it in the gadget on the dashboard. If it's not public the gadget will not be displayed to any other user. This is a tedious task sometimes.
  • There should some way where you can save your formats of bug logging etc. so you don't have to type the same things every time and you can just simply pre-populate the format.
Jira has a very simple and self-explanatory UI. You don't need to train people, even the entry-level ones, on how to use it. Actions like basic issue logging and tracking are very easy. For advanced features you need a bit of practice and learning. At the start of our project, there were a lot of issues and tracking but Jira never disappointed us. It was always very easy and made it simple to log bugs. Even attaching screenshots was very easy. You can just copy-paste the screenshot.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2019

Powerful Tool for Task Management and Collaboration!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
bepress adopted JIRA across the entire organization to be used in conjunction with Confluence, however the result with JIRA tended to be departments using the software in a very atomized way, each unit using it for what it needed internally with the exception of IT who used it as their ticketing system. Our department (Marketing) used JIRA to track campaigns, initiatives, language, and conferences.
  • Great ticketing system for IT.
  • JIRA supported my work managing conferences, serving as a workflow management tool, very strong around dependencies.
  • Custom templates would be GREAT! I used the same basic template for most conferences I managed but had to recreate it from scratch each time.
  • Requires lots of attention and careful use by diligent employees.

JIRA helped our team collaborate on an otherwise overwhelming volume of projects, for example (on my workload alone at any given moment) dozens of active conferences, dozens of upcoming hosted events, 20+ active email/social media campaigns, 5-6 case studies in process, and a dozen or more ongoing prospect mapping projects. For anyone juggling that many diverse tasks it'd be a good fit.

For a use case where daily tasks are more straightforward or cyclical, or where the team is smaller and the details and due dates less numerous, it may be overkill.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 16, 2019

JIRA is the best!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my office, I am working as in Quality Assurance and we all are using JIRA Software to track issues. This is the best tool for tracking all the issues, stories, epic, test cases, etc. So far, I haven't faced any issues using JIRA over the past 3 years.
  • It is very user-friendly.
  • Bulk change option is the best thing in JIRA Software. If anything we need to change or update in written test cases, we can easily update all the written test cases by using bulk change option. No need to update manually for each test case. It's very cool and saves time!
  • We can attach the photos, videos for the reference in posted bugs.
  • We can only upload the files (images, videos) less than 10 MB in size.
  • It would be great if we upload the files more than 10 MB size.
  • JIRA is not an open-source tool. So it is not possible to use at some start-up companies.
It is good for tracking all the bugs, stories, test cases, epic, etc. We can see the status in a common dashboard. Only less than 10 MB size can be upload. Bug life cycle method is good (create, open, resolve, INQA, reopen / closed).
However sometimes when we write test steps in JIRA, it's not quickly updated. It took some time to reflect the written test step.
Read this authenticated review
Elissa Bernstein | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

Get agile with JIRA Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple teams within our organization use JIRA Software, including Product Content Strategy, Product Design, Product Education, Product Research, Front End, and Dashboard. Each team uses JIRA a bit differently, and each team's "project" is therefore set up a bit differently, but all of us follow a kanban agile structure. JIRA helps us stay on top of our tasks, view progress, and ensure all necessary work gets done on time.
  • JIRA offers a lot of integrations that really improve our work. For example, the Salesforce integration makes it really easy to link Salesforce product roadmap cards (relevant to the entire product team) to an individual JIRA issue (one specific task-relevant to that team).
  • JIRA offers very good search and filter functionality. The quick filters make it very easy to immediately see only my own issues. You can create custom views, which are especially helpful for my team during our daily standup, allowing us to only see relevant issues.
  • JIRA issues come with lots of customizable fields. Due dates, assignees, labels, priority level, epic link, etc. -- makes it very easy to organize and find specific issues.
  • Our team happens to have many steps within the workflow, and therefore we have more columns than other teams. JIRA Software always displays all columns in one static view. Because we have so many columns, each column becomes very skinny and the issues can be difficult to parse. We can't reduce our number of columns, so I wish we had the option to side-scroll instead of fitting all columns into the current browser size.
  • We would love the ability to create CLEAR multiple statuses within a column. You can create multiple statuses for a column, but they all appear together and are difficult to distinguish. It isn't possible to move an issue from one status to a different status within the same column. You have to drag the issue into a different column, then drag it back into your chosen status, or change the status using the issue dropdown option.
  • A minor nitpick, but I wish I could create an issue and immediately put it into our "To Do" column. Instead, it automatically goes into our backlog. Then I have to go to a different page to move the issue from backlog to To Do.
Despite my frustrations with our team's specific setups, I have to say that JIRA is truly a wonderful project management tool for large teams and companies. If your team is very small, simpler software would probably meet your needs. But JIRA offers so many features, giving you granular control over every element of your board, and integrating seamlessly with Confluence and Salesforce. JIRA has become the hub of our product team.
Read Elissa Bernstein's full review
Kyle Kochtan | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 19, 2019

Jira for Enterprise Business

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being currently utilized as a second tier ticketing and workflow management system. Our users create a ticket in our regular ticketing system for an enhancement and such. Once it has been approved a ticket and sub tasks with all the detail are input into JIRA and tracked. We then use JIRA in our weekly meetings to give updates and such.
  • JIRA makes collaboration very easy
  • JIRA allows us to keep a line of sight on all of the tasks that are on going
  • JIRA also allows for easy export of data for reporting and such
  • The UI In JIRA is not very intuitive, they have comingled products and navigation is difficult at times
  • JIRA can be annoying with the number of email notifications it shoots out
  • JIRA's security model is overly complex and can lead to issues
JIRA is one of those products that does its job neither particularly well or particularly bad. It has its uses but I find that I spend more time in Jira than is necessary to give updates and get reports. The system was built as a bolt on as opposed to a group up and it shows in the fractured UI experience.
Read Kyle Kochtan's full review
Richard Davies | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Jira makes agile software development management easy

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira as the product management tool for our agile web team of about 12 people that are doing a major redesign/rebuilding of our city's main website. It's used to plan and track the individual tasks, stories, and bugs assigned to each team member. It also provides helpful reports showing our sprint velocity and other useful metrics.
  • Jira is powerful and flexible. It can be configured and used in a number of ways and for a number of different use cases. But despite that, we've found it easy to use and we were able to use it without much training.
  • For agile-based software development, it makes it easy to manage your backlog, plan sprints, track and manage individual issues, and get reports showing overall team/sprint metrics. All of these features are seamlessly integrated with each other.
  • It integrates well with other developer tools like Github and Slack. For example, this makes it easy to view branches and pull requests related to a specific story or automatically notify your team of important status changes to an issue.
  • Sometimes there are different modes for editing the same piece of data (like an issue's description) depending on how you're viewing that issue. One mode may use a WYSIWYG editor while the other mode uses plain text with Markdown. This is slightly confusing as the user experience isn't consistent.
  • As with most WYSIWYG editors, it can sometimes be difficult to control the formatting the way you want. I've also had issues with it inserting line breaks after hyperlinks sometimes for no apparent reason.
It's a good project management solution for medium to large teams doing software development or other similar projects. It's worked well for our agile-based development methodology, although I think it can be configured for other methodologies too (although we haven't used it that way). It might be overkill for a small team of 1-4 people and you might find a simpler tool more efficient for your needs.
Read Richard Davies's full review
Harry Miller | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2019

Manage your projects with a simple and easy to use interface

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used throughout our organization. We use it to plan, monitor and develop your projects quickly and easily. With Jira, plan your daily work by creating user stories, incidents or assigning tasks and subtasks to your team members. Integration with the main development environments such as Eclipse, Visual Studio, Netbeans, make it an effective and productive alternative.
  • It is very simple, basic and simple to use.
  • It allows precise customizable estimates according to the needs of the project.
  • You can have administrative control of the company's activities (projects, processes, procedures).
  • It is compatible in virtually all databases.
  • It offers Web access with support for the main browsers in the market, email notifications, as well as many applications that provide additional resources to Jira.
  • Although Jira is an excellent tool for project management, the cost can be somewhat expensive.
  • Its initial configuration proved to be complicated.
  • It can be difficult for beginners, because it is difficult to understand its characteristics.
Jira is a considerably flexible application that allows you to start coordinating and controlling semi-structured processes. It allows you to define different types of incidents or tasks. These can be linked to the same workflow or to different workflows. It allows each user to define their own filters and dashboards, share them or use those defined by other users.
Read Harry Miller's full review
Tory Trone | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 14, 2019

JIRA works

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA Software is used by the website development group. It tracks our new projects, our system bugs, and system problems. We use it to communicate with our workers who are off-site. We also use JIRA with Github to number our Git branches. Using JIRA's ticket codes keeps everything in sync and reduces problems.
  • Project tracking
  • Individual task tracking
  • Integration with Github
  • Communication with team members is adequate but not as good as other software
  • Not as many software integrations as I would like
  • Can't delete tasks unless you are super user
JIRA Software is excellent for tracking large individual projects. It is able to break apart these projects into individual tasks. The Kanban board feature lets all users easily see how the entire project and tasks are progressing. The Status system is customizable to your business workflow. You can also assign tasks to even larger Epics, so you can track multiple projects.
Read Tory Trone's full review
Viktor Mulac | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 13, 2019

JIRA for an easy kickstart

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have experienced JIRA in two major areas:
1 ) a tool supporting internal users or client requests (internal or external service desk/help desk).
2) a teamworking tool for the sharing of software specifications during software development.
  • Excellent tool for supporting internal or external users. If you want to start, you can go to the cloud/online subscription which is very cheap and you can start immediately with preconfigured processes
  • Great tool for sharing business and IT requirements in SW development. Requires connection of JIRA and Confluence which works fine after initial configuration.
  • Available basic reporting of performance of teams or individuals.
  • An immediate good overview of severity (priority) of tickets, resolutions KPIs, etc.
  • The processes can not be thoroughly analyzed, visualized and managed. Although a basic reporting is available and reports can be customized, the process discovery in a complex environment is not supported. This can, however, be provided by an external process mining application. JIRA can export the data or provides access to its database via API.
A great tool to start quickly with user or client support, notifications are well thought through and configurable, processes can be reconfigured based on needs without excessive costs. JIRA tasks can be linked to Confluence documents, e.g. specific version of SW requirements and a project manager will gain a good overview of how much time was burnt on a recent epic or sprint and what are the related quality KPIs (e.g. the number of reworks, bugs with high or medium priority, etc.).
Read Viktor Mulac's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

The winning combination for your software development team: JIRA + Agile

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA as a project management and a bug tracking tool for most of the company projects. Whether it is software development, ASIC design or IP development, JIRA fits all flavors. For software development, we use it mainly for its agile scrum and Kanban development support. We realized that switching to Agile with JIRA was a winning combination to increase productivity, together with having more homogeneous teams and same mindset across team members.
  • Easy to use bug tracking features.
  • It has a great support for Agile SCRUM and Kanban software development methodologies.
  • Promotes collaboration within the team and across teams.
  • It is extremely configurable and allows a system admin to address complex project management requirements.
  • There is a steep learning curve for JIRA administrators before the full potential of the tool can be harnessed.
  • The licensing system is per number of users. If you buy a small license and the tool is widely adopted, you may have an issue in getting your budget approved in a low cost environment, because the price for higher tiers goes up quickly.
  • Support can use some improvement. It happened few times that for critical issues we had to spend a lot of time exchanging emails and explaining to different people where the problem was.
JIRA is best suited for a bug tracking tool. It has everything you need and more. If you find something you need and isn't there, either you go the the marketplace and install a plugin or even develop the customization yourself. APIs are available and the ability to develop plugins and custom scripting to insert in the workflows.
You could use it for project management as well, for task assignment, resources management, deliveries etc. However, you may find other tools that excel at this compared to JIRA.
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Shoba Sharat | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2019

JIRA -- The all in one cost-effective and integrated project management solution for our Organization

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used in my organization for tracking issues from production support by our support team. For customer delivery and platform development teams, JIRA is used for bug tracking and to create stories and features for building solutions and the product. It is serving as a product management software, and for solution delivery teams it is our primary project management tool. We have scaled and customized JIRA to several teams in our organization, and it is a very cost-effective solution for tracking all business issues from product development to production support.
  • Bug life cycle management.
  • Grouping of deliverables as: epic, story, change request, bugs, tickets, enquiries, etc.
  • Logging estimates and tracking actual efforts, giving effective variance computation.
  • Computing metrics for our projects using the custom fields in JIRA.
  • The SLA management is ineffective.
  • The assignee has to be an individual, which is a restriction. JIRA needs to enable issue assignment to a group/department as well, to bring it to an issue dashboard.
  • Query management can be made easy with some add-ons like 'Script runner' which is currently outside JIRA.
JIRA is well suited for bug life cycle management. For SLA tracking for production support, it is less effective.
Read Shoba Sharat's full review
Tom Young | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 04, 2019

A Project Management tool for your organization and clients

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Jira as a tool to be in control of our projects. We use it for tasks and much more. We use it across all of our organization and highly appreciate the options of integrating Jira with Bitbucket. It's important to stay agile and Jira does the job. We can use the software between departments - design, development, etc. Our project managers have the option to get a better idea of what we're doing and how much time we're using during the tasks.
  • Tasks
  • Project management
  • Agile boards
  • Ticketing for problems etc.
  • Complex user management.
  • User management can be to complex for non-trained users.
  • Very expensive.
  • Could services sometimes crash?
It's a great tool for working together across departments, between offices and most important together with clients. We can separate projects with different permission schemes. It's great with tickets - tasks or problems. All kind of scenarios within project management.

It might be less appropriate with smaller projects as you need to spend some time setting it up etc. The layout and overview can be overwhelming and you need to consider that if you want to include external clients etc who do not have experience with Jira.
Read Tom Young's full review
Purva Shah | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 12, 2019

JIRA is a great project management tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used in our organization to manage software development. It is used to easily manage the workload. It makes our developer's job easier as they can get all the information from the JIRA stories. JIRA is also used to check the status of the project and manage assignees.
  • Easily manage workload.
  • Get all useful information and links to useful documents.
  • Check the status of a project.
  • Integration with Git.
  • There is no code refactoring plugin.
  • We can prioritize the projects.
  • The user interface makes it a bit complex to search for all items.
JIRA is well suited for project management. One can easily access all the required documents and work seamlessly.
Read Purva Shah's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2019

Top project managment tool that is best suited for SMBs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA makes internal project communications, issue and task tracking, assignment and management out of email and Excel in some cases (I've seen few enterprises do it) a breeze. Our team now communicates about an issue via comments, upload files and this keeps discussions better organized. Searching issues in JIRA is very simple and if you are a nerd or a project manager and would like to perform a complex search there is JQL which stands for JIRA Query Language that makes it very powerful to find issues from any timeline.
  • JIRA Query Language - simple and extremely powerful search for issues.
  • User and group management - To manage multiple teams and users is very simple as well.
  • Webhooks and ready to use third party integrations like Slack keeps everyone informed about project updates.
  • JIRA project work dashboards are very useful and we use it to display on a kiosk where entire team can keep track of issues.
  • JIRA gives multiple ready to use project types and customisable issue workflow.
  • Promotes Agile methodology
  • UI performance can be improved. It still feels slow even after 5 years of using it.
  • They could've offered Confluence along with JIRA since it's not reasonable to pay for project documentation separately. We simply use Google docs for that purpose and it's free!
  • There is a steep learning curve for tech and non-tech users initially.
  • It's mobile support is still very limited!
We are creating efficiencies that allow us to deliver more software products to more customers in less time, growing our business while maintaining excellence in our product. JIRA helps us track through a project's active life, and also run reports and searches that allow us to aggregate data to help us continually improve our processes.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

JIRA - Managing a Project Activity at your Fingertips!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used by our Company to setup Epics and the associated Tasks that belong with the Epic. We then plan our Sprint (2 weeks) with Development tasks and track the progress of those tasks. If something happens that hinders the development of such task, we can easily put a block on that Task until the block can be removed (i.e. waiting on data cut from Agency). We can easily drop something into the backlog when needed.
  • Manages Epics (projects) very well. Tasks can be adjusted easily along with their corresponding Story Points. The Backlog can be easily managed by moving Tasks around as needed.
  • Notifications can be automatically sent out (if setup) to the Developer when new work is assigned.
  • Epics/Tasks/backlog items can be managed through an easy to use drag and drop process.
  • Agile. Easy to work with (very intuitive)
  • I don't have anything negative to say about the software.
  • As with any software, the GUI can always use improvement, but that comes with time.
  • It can lock up very briefly at times due to too many users.
JIRA is terrific for both large and medium project development work. It is very easy to build to scale based on your company's needs. As noted before, you can setup the configuration to manage Security (i.e. who can delete/create). You can set up auto-notifications that will alert a Dev team that new work is in the pipe.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 20, 2019

JIRA: A great bridge between PM and R&D

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses JIRA as a project management tool between our project management office, our product management team, and our research and development team to plan, coordinate, and deliver on product releases encompassing multiple initiatives, epics, features, users, stories, and tasks. Each team is responsible for various components of a release from inception to end-of-life.
  • Organization of features
  • Story development for R&D
  • Release candidate control
  • Ease of searching
  • Editing
  • Process flow of feature development
  • Acceptance Criteria development
JIRA is well-suited for larger organizations that seek to have a controlled release process for releases. It is recommended for companies that utilize agile development methodologies in conjunction with a continuous release model. Companies only managing singular releases in a calendar year should avoid, as it is set up for multiple epics in a release, as opposed to a singular epic per release.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2019

JIRA is the most easy to use project management software out there

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA to manage multiple high-level
projects within our company. It is a corporate-wide engagement with JIRA
with several businesses that use it independently with a corporate
administrator to manage the tool. We use it for very large projects, like Salesforce
rollouts, as well as smaller projects like minor enhancements or bug fixes across
all key software environments.
  • It is a great tool to link documents and documentation to specific user stories to keep things organized.
  • It has a great user management feature to help us plug resources into the right projects and remove users as they move on to other work.
  • It has sold plug-and-play options that you can elect to use or deselect in order not to cloud the interface.
  • The look and feel is a bit sterile, which is both good and bad. Some nice skins to make it easily customizable to our existing corporate color schemes would be nice.
  • Cost is always a place for improvement. JIRA is not overly expensive, but in a market where there are a ton of options, price is a negotiation point.
  • Better integrations with vendor/partners using the same tool would help onboard offshore resources we occasionally use.
JIRA is great for large projects. We used it for a very large
roll-out of Salesforce when we were starting with nothing. It helped us manage
the scale of the implementation and keep track of resources. The user stories
you can create help to make manageable bite-sized workloads out of larger
multi-people and multi-month tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 09, 2019

Jira Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira to facilitate agile programming. We have boards that we use for different products and [it] allows us each to pick up tasks to work on and allows others to see what is happening across the group.
  • It has a lot of flexibility in the way you can create swimlanes, flag cards, and move things around on the board.
  • Easy to track and follow your team's progress and see if you are getting things done according to schedule.
  • The circles that represent the days along the bottom of each card are nice so that you can see if anything is getting stale.
  • It needs a better way to auto refresh. Having to refresh the page sometimes can be frustrating.
  • Sometimes it's very slow to reflect that you are dragging things between columns, and before you know it you have grabbed the wrong card.
I think Jira is very good at accomplishing what it sets out to do. There are definitely some areas that it could improve on, but it is getting better with each update.
Read this authenticated review

About Jira Software

Jira Software is a software development tool used by agile teams and supports any agile methodology, be it scrum, kanban, or a team's own unique flavor. From agile boards to reports, users can plan, track, and manage agile software development projects from a single tool, helping teams release higher quality software, faster.

And since not every team works the same way, Jira Software allows teams to customize workflows, permissions, and schemes to match the unique needs of each team.

With Jira Software, teams are able to:

  • Track versions, features, and progress at a glance
  • Easily re-prioritize user stories and bugs
  • Estimate stories, adjust sprint scope, check velocity, and re-prioritize issues
  • Estimate, track and report on story points; become more accurate
  • Report on agile metrics to provide real-time, actionable data on team efficiency, quality, and overall performance
  • Integrate with all the tools their dev team is already using, from the rest of the Atlassian suite (Bitbucket, Bamboo, Fisheye, and Crucible) to other popular developer tools on-premise or cloud (e.g., GitHub and Jenkins).
  • Provide greater flexibility to curate which teams have access to which information with sprint and project-level permissions
  • Flexibly tailor Jira tasks and their workflows to a specific team's use case
  • Extend Jira with over 1,800 apps from the Atlassian Marketplace to fit any capability not provided by default

Jira Software Integrations

Jira Software Competitors

Pricing

  • Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
  • Has featureFree or Freemium Version Available?Yes
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No

Jira Software Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise, SaaS
Operating Systems: Windows, Mac
Mobile Application:Apple iOS, Android