TrustRadius
JIRA Software is a task management tool for software development teams, offered by Atlassian. It allows to create, prioritize and track the progress of tasks across multiple team members.https://media.trustradius.com/product-logos/Do/VE/SNKZVM5Z3C0V.PNGOne of the great tools for project collaborationIt is one of the great software that is being used by our entire engineering department. I have been using this software for years; Jira is superb software that works perfectly by running multiple projects. It's the backbone of my work because of its reliable services. It provides excellent solutions to all the issues related to the project management.,Great tool for project management. It is very easy to manage multiple teams. Efficient tool tracking defects. User-friendly interface.,Price of the tool should be reduced. Notification system should improve. Should improve UX/Ul.,9,It has made our team more efficient than any other software can make. Its powerful features and user-friendly functions have won our heart. Easy to track everything.,Gitlab,TeamViewer, Google Drive, LastPass, Zoom,8,10JIRA -- The all in one cost-effective and integrated project management solution for our OrganizationJIRA is used in my organization for tracking issues from production support by our support team. For customer delivery and platform development teams, JIRA is used for bug tracking and to create stories and features for building solutions and the product. It is serving as a product management software, and for solution delivery teams it is our primary project management tool. We have scaled and customized JIRA to several teams in our organization, and it is a very cost-effective solution for tracking all business issues from product development to production support.,Bug life cycle management. Grouping of deliverables as: epic, story, change request, bugs, tickets, enquiries, etc. Logging estimates and tracking actual efforts, giving effective variance computation. Computing metrics for our projects using the custom fields in JIRA.,The SLA management is ineffective. The assignee has to be an individual, which is a restriction. JIRA needs to enable issue assignment to a group/department as well, to bring it to an issue dashboard. Query management can be made easy with some add-ons like 'Script runner' which is currently outside JIRA.,10,Prompt delivery. Following SAFE methodology via the Portfolio add-on in JIRA. Provided a cost-effective solution to track from product development to production support.,BMC Remedy Asset Management and ServiceNow,Bugzilla,9,10A Project Management tool for your organization and clientsWe're using Jira as a tool to be in control of our projects. We use it for tasks and much more. We use it across all of our organization and highly appreciate the options of integrating Jira with Bitbucket. It's important to stay agile and Jira does the job. We can use the software between departments - design, development, etc. Our project managers have the option to get a better idea of what we're doing and how much time we're using during the tasks.,Tasks Project management Agile boards Ticketing for problems etc. Complex user management.,User management can be to complex for non-trained users. Very expensive. Could services sometimes crash?,8,Satisfied clients. Better collaboration between offices. Steep learning curve - so a time used on the training of new users.,Asana, Gitlab and Trello,Asana, Bitbucket, GoToMeeting, Adobe Acrobat DC, Adobe Flash, Adobe Illustrator CC, Adobe Experience Manager, Adobe Photoshop, RescueAssist, WordPress, Microsoft 365 Business, Microsoft Teams, Egnyte, Samanage, Sophos Intercept X, Sophos Phish Threat, Sophos Web Content Filtering, Sophos Secure Email Gateways, Sophos Mobile, Cisco Meraki Systems Manager, Basecamp, Zeplin, Sketch, Cisco Webex Teams (formerly Cisco Spark), Cisco Webex Room Series (formerly Cisco Spark Room Series), Microsoft Teams, Skype, Skype for Business (formerly Lync), Microsoft Project, Microsoft Visio, Microsoft Visual Studio Code, Azure Active Directory, SurveyMonkey, Google Hangouts,9,9Top project managment tool that is best suited for SMBsJIRA makes internal project communications, issue and task tracking, assignment and management out of email and Excel in some cases (I've seen few enterprises do it) a breeze. Our team now communicates about an issue via comments, upload files and this keeps discussions better organized. Searching issues in JIRA is very simple and if you are a nerd or a project manager and would like to perform a complex search there is JQL which stands for JIRA Query Language that makes it very powerful to find issues from any timeline.,JIRA Query Language - simple and extremely powerful search for issues. User and group management - To manage multiple teams and users is very simple as well. Webhooks and ready to use third party integrations like Slack keeps everyone informed about project updates. JIRA project work dashboards are very useful and we use it to display on a kiosk where entire team can keep track of issues. JIRA gives multiple ready to use project types and customisable issue workflow. Promotes Agile methodology,UI performance can be improved. It still feels slow even after 5 years of using it. They could've offered Confluence along with JIRA since it's not reasonable to pay for project documentation separately. We simply use Google docs for that purpose and it's free! There is a steep learning curve for tech and non-tech users initially. It's mobile support is still very limited!,10,We definitely saved a lot of time that could've been wasted trying to manage project issues and tasks compared to manually, or by email or by using some document. Learning curve and lack of knowledge in using some of the features set us back a little in taking full advantage of the software.,Trello and Basecamp,Trello, Basecamp, RedisJIRA and Agile for you businessWe use JIRA to manage/track projects across the whole organization. It is a well documented tool and helps our team members to keep up with the workload as well as generate KPIs to higher management and provide a better visibility on what needs to be done throughout the projects. I would say it is an essential tool.,The high level of customization on this Agile system is key to meet different niches and industries. You can configure to use on any project you wish to take on without any effort. A system you can learn from. Jira collects and unites all historic data in a single, searchable hub, and provides access to it at any point of time. This way, team members will be able to perform all sorts of rend analysis and statistical investigations, and prepare constructive reports on their progress. A rich toolkit for developers. While it is true that Jira is mostly appreciated for issue and bug tracking, those are far from being the only features you should know about. This system will become your developers’ favorite assets before you know it.,The UI is a bit confusing sometimes to the inexperienced user. The price can be a little too much for small businesses. Too many features, that sometimes can bring some complexity to the platform (this is sometimes rated as a good area too, it will depend on how experienced [you are] and the points you want to cover with this tool).,9,We have seen a faster ROI on our products as the production processes have been optimized.,Trello and Onyx,Atlassian Confluence,7,9JIRA is the BEST software collaboration toolWe use JIRA as our company's main project management tool, this integrates development and QA to plan, track and report progress of our software releases.,An effective tool for planning/tracking work from project backlogs and Sprint An effective tool for tracking defects Fully customizable Kanban and Scrum boards Easy to maintain the integration of defects and test using a test management tool like QAComplete.,JIRA is fully customizable, although we were able to make our QA process fit into JIRA's workflow, it is not designed to work like this. Not easy to make it work as a test management tool.,9,The user must be familiar with creating the workflow in order to make the automation process run smoothly.,,Atlassian Confluence,9,9JIRA - adapts to your software development process!JIRA has been a great replacement for Microsoft Team Foundation Server. Not only is it easier to use, but it's highly customizable by our organization without the need of external consultants. Bugs or feature requests are created throughout the whole company and then triaged into actionable tasks. The filter feature on the system dashboard helps a lot in this context.,Custom search queries can be saved and shared as filters. Batch operations on tickets work well and you can choose if you want to notify others. Ticket fields are highly customizable for easier creation.,Some operations take their time. Default ticket settings are too complicated and complex for simple use cases. Basically, there is no "one go to process". You can pick Kanban, Scrum, ... whatever you like. The user interface, therefore, looks quite mixed up on some occasions.,9,Development pace has been greatly improved. Visibility of progress for better understanding of the development process. End users are more likely to open up feature requests or bug reports.,Azure DevOps Server (formerly Team Foundation Server), Usersnap for QA and Pivotal Tracker,Usersnap for QA, Google Analytics, Slack,10,10All around change management tool with lots of featuresProject and change management with issue tracking is crucial for safety-critical software development in aerospace industries. JIRA provides many of the project management and agile process needs with a lot of features such as sprint boards, dashboards, filters, and reports. You can customize our own workflows and boards according to your own needs. Kanban boards and sprint boards are especially useful for big team projects.,Agile development with sprint boards. Versatile filtering and customization of projects and reports. Easy and simple user interface.,Filters could be more descriptive. Could be integrated with requirement management software for direct navigation. More 3rd party add-ons could be better.,9,Change management is done without problems at all levels of a project. It is widely known and accepted within aviation authorities. Its easy of use made it possible for even a new graduate to use it effectively.,IBM Rational DOORS, MATLAB, ANSYS SCADE Suite,8,9Jira = collaboration, integration, usability.Jira, at a high level, is being used by our technical teams (engineering, support, implementation) to track development efforts, product feedback from our clients, as well as Dev, QA, and production efforts to get our clients up and running. In addition, of course, to tracking bugs in our product. Jira allows us to collaborate across all of our teams as well as keeping us all apprised of the progress of each individual project or longer-term initiative.,Tracking projects based on assignee (ie: the person who needs to take action on a ticket). Easily seeing how many product tickets are open at any given time. Planning and road mapping of your product, Jira makes it very easy to track priority with development effort, you can display it easily on a map.,I'd like to see merge fields be slightly easier to use, but you can still format everything really nicely in comments, so it isn't a big problem.,10,Saves time - Jira is easy to use and easy to learn, onboarding is a breeze.,,Slack, ChurnZero, OneNote,10,10Jira PM reviewJira project management system is used to manage project tickets. It's used across departments, and helps prioritize work.,Flexible in building interfaces for different teams Powerful archive provides historical data for past projects in case they need to be retrieved Links to different software to easily load information and build tickets faster,Interface is outdated and not easy to use, which makes it slower to work with the tool Ticket linking is not very flexible, so it's not easy to reference work to other department work in progress or past Overall system is very technical, making it challenging for more non-technical teams to join and use the tools,6,Positive: organize work, prioritize tickets Negative: takes a long time to work with the team, not easy to learn functionality Positive: Very good archive tool to reference past projects,Asana,2,5Usage of JIRA by our geographically distributed Agile software development teamJIRA is used by the entire BizMerlin team for design and development of the product roadmap. Product managers add items to the backlog as well as various sprints. Test Preparation, QA, code review, development, everything is controlled through JIRA. Scrum masters do their daily stand-ups and record notes, as well as ensure the issues are being updated correctly via comments and status transitions.,When you want a configurable workflow for different issue types Showing the entire sprint progress at a glance in the burndown (or burnup) chart Ensuring every team member (even a new one) knows the steps that an issue has to take before closure,Workflows and schemas are sometimes really difficult to understand. You learn it one time and it works fine for 6-7 months. When you need to modify it, it seems you need to learn it ALL OVER again. Left hand navigation panels sometimes need to be collapsed and expanded multiple times.,10,A lot of accountability. Every developer can see their progress and how they did. No one needs to be told. Excellent communication - don't email etc, just add a comment in JIRA.,Backlog, Trello, FogBugz and Bugzilla,QuickBooks Online, BizMerlin, Stripe, Review BoardJIRA ALM is one of the best ALM tools available in the market.JIRA ALM is one of best ALMs available in the market today. The rating for the overall user interface would be 4/5. Mainly because of it's seamless depiction of all the project related milestones in a neat and quickly understandable format. The USP of the JIRA ALM is it's defect tracking mechanism. The well laid out user interface allows the the development team to quickly access the defects and update, view and review the status of the defects. The implementation of JIRA ALM has really helped me and my team in optimizing the overall project development lifecycle. Would rate the JIRA defect tracking mechanism a solid 5/5 rating.,The defect management and tracking mechanism is one of best in the industry.,The cost for the software licensing could be improved upon.,8,Cost management Enhance decision making Reduce time to market Improve supplier or partner relationships,BugzillaJIRA - Development workflow for all companies...JIRA is being used as an overall tracking tool for application development. Requests for new enhancements/projects may be placed in the system or defects may be tracked. IT managers also use the tool to assign tasks and to check hours booked to a project or request. Management reporting also comes from the application and is used for capacity planning and resource management.,Great tool for agile development Allows flexibility to build out workflows that map to your company's internal processes Flexibly reporting and build out by team,Make certain the full end to end processes are documented - changing flows will impact the lineage of your data Make certain someone on the team has JIRA experience or have a vendor support you in the implementation Look at full functions offered out of the box and understand additional plug-ins that may be needed.,9,Great easy to use tool and little training required for team members Modification of processes/flows can cause confusion for team members unless properly communicated. Look at the overall need and see if this tool fits your need, as there are other products available in the market.,IBM Rational ALM and Rallyverse,Adobe Acrobat DC, Alexa, Google HangoutsJIRA Software: A great platform for sprint planning and issue trackingJIRA is being used across the organization by a wide array of users. We use it for issue tracking and sprints as well as as a product pipeline. It allows us to adequately track and communicate easily with other JIRA users in the organization and accomplish many different things quickly and effectively.,JIRA is great for tracking issues It allows for excellent communication with other JIRA users It's easy to search and navigate the platform Administration of JIRA is very easy and straightforward Documentation is generally pretty good as is JIRA support,Sometimes the documentation is a bit tricky to find depending on what version you're running Troubleshooting complex issues when you use multiple plugins can be difficult,9,JIRA has allowed us to streamline our development process and sprint planning We have leveraged it in other use cases to allow us to create custom workflows for other departments It allows the company to be more focused on objectives and they are visible by a wide array of users,All-in-one project tracking platformLogging and tracking issues in the project. I also use it as a way of noting down ideas as they arise. I don't have time to do most things as they are thought of so it is great for logging for future reference. When I complete one task or project, I visit my Jira queue and see what I can do next depending on priority and time constraints. It is a great way to get some quick wins done if I only have a short time so I can clear the queue a bit before taking on my next big project.,I personally like the ability to track where issues and task are, how much work has been completed on them and what the estimated time remaining is. Easy to interact with a task. Easy to get into the task for the bug fixes and report it to the higher level through the spontaneous notifications. I like how JIRA helps teams organize themselves.,I can't say anything that bothers me about JIRA. The price is little bit high.,9,It integrates well with Confluence for team collaboration on bugs and projects.,Workzone and Assembla Workspaces,Dropbox, ActiveCollab, Wrike, Flock, ProcoreJIRA is the ultimate in issue tracking softwareWe use JIRA as a project management tool. We use it to manage our backlog of tasks, plan our sprints and organize who works on what. We use their reporting to get metrics on how well the team and individuals are performing. JIRA is used across the entire organization to manage all forms of work.,Customized workflows - JIRA can be set up to work for any imaginable workflow. Fine grained account control - roles can be created for any type of user access, giving you full control. Nice looking and easy to use UI. Available in SaaS and self hosted.,It can be overwhelming. So many configurations and options can make it difficult to manage. It's among the most expensive in its category. Much cheaper options are available and likely do what you need. If your admin configures things wrong, it can be very difficult to use as a user.,8,Teams are able to organize and work much easier Upper management has great insights into everyone's performance,Basecamp, Team Foundation Server and GitHub,Zendesk, Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft Azure, Amazon DynamoDB, PostgreSQLIntegrated, Reliable And Very Customizable.The applications are hosted in the cloud. This means you don't have to worry about buying and maintaining your own infrastructure. The service's very reliable, affordable, allow us to do several integrations and fully customizable on all the steps. This product allowed us to easily control, manage and measure all the steps of our development lifecycle.,Custom fields. Define several workflows. Collaboration between teams.,UI/UX lacks. Performance issues.,8,Internal organization on our development lifecycle.,Slack, OutSystems, Visual Studio IDEMy day to day with JIRA!In the software development department of the company, we control projects under the agile methodology. We manage all the development and maintenance projects of our internal applications using JIRA. We control development times and assign priorities to projects.In addition to this, we receive feedback that comes directly as pending issues in Jira of the users, to more efficiently manage the improvements and failure reports of all applications in use and in the process of testing.,It is excellent for the control of development projects under agile methodology. It allows you to reprogram issues, attach images, set subtask to each issue, which later depending on the complexity you can convert into an issue to execute later. By closing each sprint you can graphically view the Burndown Chart, which allows you to analyze with the development group, if the sprint was under what was planned or what caused the deviations.,It would be ideal to have among the notifications one that alerts when a sprint is about to finish and still has tasks to do and in progress. The user interface for Jira in the cloud and Jira on server versions should be the same. It should have an integration with the Outlook calendar, iCal or any other calendar so that everyone has calendar programming in a single application.,10,It significantly improves the management of the activities of the team of developers. The planning of the area works efficiently, because, through agile reports, the scrum board can more easily determine the delivery times and start phases of the different projects. When you have a male hours control application in the company that is general for all employees, it is very complex to have the developer use the time tracking and the other application because they feel that they are doubly charging the information and what has happened is that a of the two applications is outdated at the end of the month, and you must invest a lot of time in leaving both lists,Agilefant,Trello, Slack, WordPress, Microsoft SQL Server, Balsamiq, MySQL, Adobe Illustrator CC, 1Password, Join.me, MailChimpJira- Effective Tool to manage Agile TeamsIt is being used at a program level in the organisation. We use JIRA to track our Agile teams that are [composed] of Scrum and Kanban teams. We use it for tracking epics, stories, issues, tasks, subtasks, production maintenance tracking, and planning. It provides a good dashboard where higher leadership can look at how things are progressing and ultimately bringing in transparency.It eliminates the need for individual teams to send weekly or monthly status reports to leadership on progress and what they are involved with. So at team level sprints, stories, epics, sizing, capacity, scrum and Kanban boards are managed and looked at.,Requirements are managed very well there which can be captured in the form of epics. Epics, which capture the high-level ideas can be broken down into stories, tasks and sub-tasks. The team can team can raise bugs, capture comments and tag test cases, against each story ultimately bringing end-to-end traceability. Since distributed agile requires more collaboration, JIRA's seamless integration with communication tools like HipChat and Slack allows teams to work collaboratively. JIRA supports customization since each team is unique, you can create your own issue types, modify the workflows, add/remove fields. Standard issue types created in any project are: a) Bug b) Task c) Sub-Task d) Epic e) Support Ticket f) User story User Story workflow can be: a) Backlog b) Ready to Start c) Dev In-Progress d) QA In-Progress e) Ready for Demo All these can be modified based on your requirements. If you are looking for devops implementation, JIRA has support for CI & CD. It can be integrated with Git and Jenkins very well. JIRA supports two kinds of boards, Kanban and Scrum boards. It is very easy to track things using these boards & it also provides ample of charts like reporting options such as burndown charts to help teams plan & replan at every stage in the development life cycle Searching issues in JIRA is very simple through JQL (Jira Query Language). If we would like to perform a complex search JQL allows to find issues from any timeline.,The basic version of Jira do not have support for test management, capacity management & release management. So users have to buy various plugins to support these basic functionalities which can prove costly based on team size. Navigation around the UI can be difficult at times Jira is not a simple tool, it requires some training before users can start working on it so some learning curve is involved.,8,Jira brings in more team collaboration since teams were geographically distributed by seamless Integration of communication tools like HipChat and Slack which makes it very easy for tracking and responding to notifications. Sprints management was relatively simple and straightforward. Not cost effective since we needed to buy a lot of plugins for test management, release planning and agile estimation and basic version of JIRA did not support them.,,CA Agile Central (formerly Rally), ActiveCollab, HP Application Lifecycle Management, AgileCraft, VersionOne,Yes,9,No,I got stuck with release planning and I got advice on the Tempo plugin from the helpdesk. Also, they helped me with installing ad using that for release planning.Jira ReviewMy organization (about 45 people) is currently either using Jira or is considering the use of Jira to manage tasks and keep a record of past, present, and current projects. Jira provides us a means to better monitor our work, ensuring something is not forgotten. With Jira, it is easy for us as a team to see what each person is working on, the priority of tasks, how many of a certain we have completed, who completed what tasks and how many, and much more. Additionally, the dashboard feature of Jira creates easy reporting, allowing me to condense my work into a manner that my manager and director can use to share accomplishments of the team.,Task Management - Keep Track of Tasks Priority Management - Prioritize Tasks Reporting - Create Reports That YOU Need,Customization - Better customization for specific needs Ease of Access - More training or helpful tips within the program,9,Task Management Reporting Benefits Communication Enhancement File Sharing,MS SharePoint,Microsoft Office 2016, Microsoft Office 365, MS SharePointThe Tool for you developmentWe use Jira to manage all our user stories, all development content, and actions. With this tool, we no longer forget anything in our development cycle.,Configurable User friendly Cost for small teams,Too many options. Sometimes a configuration has too many steps to be done. Cost to medium teams A large server footprint to local servers (Tomcat is a large memory user),10,To Small teams (10 users) is the best software on the market To Medium Teams, the ROI need to be calculated with a 12-24 month schedule. Short term ROI depends on product budget.,Trello,IntelliJ IDEA, Apache Tomcat, Oracle VM VirtualBoxJIRA - Managing a Project Activity at your Fingertips!JIRA is used by our Company to setup Epics and the associated Tasks that belong with the Epic. We then plan our Sprint (2 weeks) with Development tasks and track the progress of those tasks. If something happens that hinders the development of such task, we can easily put a block on that Task until the block can be removed (i.e. waiting on data cut from Agency). We can easily drop something into the backlog when needed.,Manages Epics (projects) very well. Tasks can be adjusted easily along with their corresponding Story Points. The Backlog can be easily managed by moving Tasks around as needed. Notifications can be automatically sent out (if setup) to the Developer when new work is assigned. Epics/Tasks/backlog items can be managed through an easy to use drag and drop process.,I don't have anything negative to say about the software. As with any software, the GUI can always use improvement, but that comes with time.,10,We can manage 100's of projects at a time. I work on a DB Conversion Team and it can get a little hairy trying to keep everything straight. JIRA does that for us. JIRA is easy to use and there is a very little learning curve for new team members. JIRA allows for a 40,000-foot view or a 5,000-foot view. You can drill down as deep as you need to go, or take a step back and look down from the heavens.,,Changepoint, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft ProjectSolid Organizational ToolJIRA software is currently being used within our department as an organizational tool. JIRA is being used intermittently across the whole organization, but is not currently a standard. JIRA really helped our team with organization and collaboration as it breaks down work and assignments in a simple and visible way.,Easy and efficient way to organize and assign work Allows for the creation of a hierarchy of tickets and work to keep priorities organized User-friendly and cost efficient as an organizational tool Training resources readily available,Being able to create epics would be highly useful for better organization and maintenance Being able to split the work, or tickets, between team members would also be useful There is a learning curve which does require time and resources to adapt to the tool,8,Helped our team to solidify ideas and focus on more clearly defined objectives Helps with accountability within teams Helps team members speak to the work they are accomplishing,Microsoft Project, Microsoft Project Server, Agile CRMJIRA-Easy to trackThe complete organization uses JIRA to track the issues or create user stories for developers.,Managing workflow is too good.,Miscalculates the pending minutes some times.,10,I would say always positive because it helps people where they are at and makes progress quickly to meet deadlines sooner.,Team Foundation Server,Visual Studio IDEJira make software development tracking easierJira is used primarily by IT department as our software development tool for tracking all work. Recently our marketing and claims department has started to use it as well. We also use the Dashboards to highlight our production release items to the rest of the businesses non IT related on a monthly basis.,Easy to drag and drop issues to status UI is very good and easy to follow the sprint progress Dashboard features are good,Issue detail view can be a little limited, would like more room to configure Change the status of issue in all issue views Increased functionality on dashboards, allow text field boxes,10,Entire IT department uses it making production releases better Great ROI when combined with Service Desk Great ROI when combined with Confluence,Team Foundation Server
Unspecified
JIRA Software
1412 Ratings
Score 8.1 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

JIRA Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
JIRA
1412 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.1 out of 101
TrustRadius Top Rated for 2019
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1413 vetted JIRA reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role

Reviews (1-25 of 105)

  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Randy Quis profile photo
June 15, 2019

JIRA Review: "One of the great tools for project collaboration"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is one of the great software that is being used by our entire engineering department. I have been using this software for years; Jira is superb software that works perfectly by running multiple projects. It's the backbone of my work because of its reliable services. It provides excellent solutions to all the issues related to the project management.
  • Great tool for project management.
  • It is very easy to manage multiple teams.
  • Efficient tool tracking defects.
  • User-friendly interface.
  • Price of the tool should be reduced.
  • Notification system should improve.
  • Should improve UX/Ul.
Jira is full of features as well as with advanced functionality. Progress Monitoring is one of the great features that efficiently help us. I really love the reporting capabilities of Jira. It fulfills our all business requirements and this is thing that satisfies all of us. Our entire team love to use this effective tool.
Read Randy Quis's full review
Shoba Sharat profile photo
May 28, 2019

"JIRA -- The all in one cost-effective and integrated project management solution for our Organization"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used in my organization for tracking issues from production support by our support team. For customer delivery and platform development teams, JIRA is used for bug tracking and to create stories and features for building solutions and the product. It is serving as a product management software, and for solution delivery teams it is our primary project management tool. We have scaled and customized JIRA to several teams in our organization, and it is a very cost-effective solution for tracking all business issues from product development to production support.
  • Bug life cycle management.
  • Grouping of deliverables as: epic, story, change request, bugs, tickets, enquiries, etc.
  • Logging estimates and tracking actual efforts, giving effective variance computation.
  • Computing metrics for our projects using the custom fields in JIRA.
  • The SLA management is ineffective.
  • The assignee has to be an individual, which is a restriction. JIRA needs to enable issue assignment to a group/department as well, to bring it to an issue dashboard.
  • Query management can be made easy with some add-ons like 'Script runner' which is currently outside JIRA.
JIRA is well suited for bug life cycle management. For SLA tracking for production support, it is less effective.
Read Shoba Sharat's full review
Tom Young profile photo
May 04, 2019

JIRA Review: "A Project Management tool for your organization and clients"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Jira as a tool to be in control of our projects. We use it for tasks and much more. We use it across all of our organization and highly appreciate the options of integrating Jira with Bitbucket. It's important to stay agile and Jira does the job. We can use the software between departments - design, development, etc. Our project managers have the option to get a better idea of what we're doing and how much time we're using during the tasks.
  • Tasks
  • Project management
  • Agile boards
  • Ticketing for problems etc.
  • Complex user management.
  • User management can be to complex for non-trained users.
  • Very expensive.
  • Could services sometimes crash?
It's a great tool for working together across departments, between offices and most important together with clients. We can separate projects with different permission schemes. It's great with tickets - tasks or problems. All kind of scenarios within project management.

It might be less appropriate with smaller projects as you need to spend some time setting it up etc. The layout and overview can be overwhelming and you need to consider that if you want to include external clients etc who do not have experience with Jira.
Read Tom Young's full review
Bhargav Nanekalva profile photo
April 09, 2019

JIRA Review: "Top project managment tool that is best suited for SMBs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA makes internal project communications, issue and task tracking, assignment and management out of email and Excel in some cases (I've seen few enterprises do it) a breeze. Our team now communicates about an issue via comments, upload files and this keeps discussions better organized. Searching issues in JIRA is very simple and if you are a nerd or a project manager and would like to perform a complex search there is JQL which stands for JIRA Query Language that makes it very powerful to find issues from any timeline.
  • JIRA Query Language - simple and extremely powerful search for issues.
  • User and group management - To manage multiple teams and users is very simple as well.
  • Webhooks and ready to use third party integrations like Slack keeps everyone informed about project updates.
  • JIRA project work dashboards are very useful and we use it to display on a kiosk where entire team can keep track of issues.
  • JIRA gives multiple ready to use project types and customisable issue workflow.
  • Promotes Agile methodology
  • UI performance can be improved. It still feels slow even after 5 years of using it.
  • They could've offered Confluence along with JIRA since it's not reasonable to pay for project documentation separately. We simply use Google docs for that purpose and it's free!
  • There is a steep learning curve for tech and non-tech users initially.
  • It's mobile support is still very limited!
We are creating efficiencies that allow us to deliver more software products to more customers in less time, growing our business while maintaining excellence in our product. JIRA helps us track through a project's active life, and also run reports and searches that allow us to aggregate data to help us continually improve our processes.
Read Bhargav Nanekalva's full review
Rafael Ebert profile photo
March 02, 2019

User Review: "JIRA and Agile for you business"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA to manage/track projects across the whole organization. It is a well documented tool and helps our team members to keep up with the workload as well as generate KPIs to higher management and provide a better visibility on what needs to be done throughout the projects. I would say it is an essential tool.
  • The high level of customization on this Agile system is key to meet different niches and industries. You can configure to use on any project you wish to take on without any effort.
  • A system you can learn from. JIRA collects and unites all historic data in a single, searchable hub, and provides access to it at any point of time. This way, team members will be able to perform all sorts of rend analysis and statistical investigations, and prepare constructive reports on their progress.
  • A rich toolkit for developers. While it is true that JIRA is mostly appreciated for issue and bug tracking, those are far from being the only features you should know about. This system will become your developers’ favorite assets before you know it.
  • The UI is a bit confusing sometimes to the inexperienced user.
  • The price can be a little too much for small businesses.
  • Too many features, that sometimes can bring some complexity to the platform (this is sometimes rated as a good area too, it will depend on how experienced [you are] and the points you want to cover with this tool).
The system deals predominantly with Agile project management, adopting both a Scrum and a Kanban approach (Scrumban), and captures data and regulatory evidence at every stage of the process. A beneficial hint you will discover along the way is active engagement for your entire team, as JIRA gives everyone the whole picture of the processes they’re involved in, and lets no issue fall through the cracks.
Read Rafael Ebert's full review
Kim Mejares profile photo
March 13, 2019

Review: "JIRA is the BEST software collaboration tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA as our company's main project management tool, this integrates development and QA to plan, track and report progress of our software releases.
  • An effective tool for planning/tracking work from project backlogs and Sprint
  • An effective tool for tracking defects
  • Fully customizable Kanban and Scrum boards
  • Easy to maintain the integration of defects and test using a test management tool like QAComplete.
  • JIRA is fully customizable, although we were able to make our QA process fit into JIRA's workflow, it is not designed to work like this. Not easy to make it work as a test management tool.
As a collaboration tool for Agile development projects, JIRA is very useful and easy to manage.
Read Kim Mejares's full review
No photo available
July 15, 2019

Review: "JIRA - adapts to your software development process!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA has been a great replacement for Microsoft Team Foundation Server. Not only is it easier to use, but it's highly customizable by our organization without the need of external consultants. Bugs or feature requests are created throughout the whole company and then triaged into actionable tasks. The filter feature on the system dashboard helps a lot in this context.
  • Custom search queries can be saved and shared as filters.
  • Batch operations on tickets work well and you can choose if you want to notify others.
  • Ticket fields are highly customizable for easier creation.
  • Some operations take their time.
  • Default ticket settings are too complicated and complex for simple use cases.
  • Basically, there is no "one go to process". You can pick Kanban, Scrum, ... whatever you like. The user interface, therefore, looks quite mixed up on some occasions.
JIRA is a great match for nearly any software development process. It takes some time to customize everything, but then it's a great tool to keep your project organized. Feedback or bug reports from external users definitely need a way to triage before (this can be done using different JIRA spaces), otherwise, your lists will get cluttered and hard to manage.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2019

JIRA Review: "All around change management tool with lots of features"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Project and change management with issue tracking is crucial for safety-critical software development in aerospace industries. JIRA provides many of the project management and agile process needs with a lot of features such as sprint boards, dashboards, filters, and reports. You can customize our own workflows and boards according to your own needs. Kanban boards and sprint boards are especially useful for big team projects.
  • Agile development with sprint boards.
  • Versatile filtering and customization of projects and reports.
  • Easy and simple user interface.
  • Filters could be more descriptive.
  • Could be integrated with requirement management software for direct navigation.
  • More 3rd party add-ons could be better.
Creating tasks for weekly sprint runs and sharing the workload within the team is very easy using JIRA. Issue tracking of software with lots of filters and creating your own resolution workflows are quite useful. You can create hooks from other software to JIRA for checking commits on software in order to prevent undocumented change.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 22, 2019

Review: "Jira = collaboration, integration, usability."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira, at a high level, is being used by our technical teams (engineering, support, implementation) to track development efforts, product feedback from our clients, as well as Dev, QA, and production efforts to get our clients up and running. In addition, of course, to tracking bugs in our product. Jira allows us to collaborate across all of our teams as well as keeping us all apprised of the progress of each individual project or longer-term initiative.
  • Tracking projects based on assignee (ie: the person who needs to take action on a ticket).
  • Easily seeing how many product tickets are open at any given time.
  • Planning and road mapping of your product, Jira makes it very easy to track priority with development effort, you can display it easily on a map.
  • I'd like to see merge fields be slightly easier to use, but you can still format everything really nicely in comments, so it isn't a big problem.
Jira is well suited for small to medium teams working on a distinct package of software products. My only experience is with teams using Jira with <100 people, but I don't imagine it would differ tremendously on larger teams. Jira allows you to easily separate out product areas if you have multiple lines of product, and it integrates seamlessly with our chosen support platform, Jira, as well as our CRM, Salesforce.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 09, 2019

"Jira PM review"

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira project management system is used to manage project tickets. It's used across departments, and helps prioritize work.
  • Flexible in building interfaces for different teams
  • Powerful archive provides historical data for past projects in case they need to be retrieved
  • Links to different software to easily load information and build tickets faster
  • Interface is outdated and not easy to use, which makes it slower to work with the tool
  • Ticket linking is not very flexible, so it's not easy to reference work to other department work in progress or past
  • Overall system is very technical, making it challenging for more non-technical teams to join and use the tools
Well used for complicated projects that have many moving pieces, like development and other technical projects. Not very suitable for high-level work tracking, like design and production.
Read this authenticated review
Amrinder Arora profile photo
November 26, 2018

Review: "Usage of JIRA by our geographically distributed Agile software development team"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used by the entire BizMerlin team for design and development of the product roadmap. Product managers add items to the backlog as well as various sprints. Test Preparation, QA, code review, development, everything is controlled through JIRA. Scrum masters do their daily stand-ups and record notes, as well as ensure the issues are being updated correctly via comments and status transitions.
  • When you want a configurable workflow for different issue types
  • Showing the entire sprint progress at a glance in the burndown (or burnup) chart
  • Ensuring every team member (even a new one) knows the steps that an issue has to take before closure
  • Workflows and schemas are sometimes really difficult to understand. You learn it one time and it works fine for 6-7 months. When you need to modify it, it seems you need to learn it ALL OVER again.
  • Left hand navigation panels sometimes need to be collapsed and expanded multiple times.
For any kind of software project (unless it is a very short 1-2 week project), having a sophisticated project management tool like JIRA is going to payoff. JIRA has enough bells and whistles that even as your project evolves in terms of processes, you will be able to track it correctly in JIRA, including any items that need to be tracked.
Read Amrinder Arora's full review
Gaurav Manani profile photo
August 17, 2018

Review: "JIRA ALM is one of the best ALM tools available in the market."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA ALM is one of best ALMs available in the market today. The rating for the overall user interface would be 4/5. Mainly because of it's seamless depiction of all the project related milestones in a neat and quickly understandable format. The USP of the JIRA ALM is it's defect tracking mechanism. The well laid out user interface allows the the development team to quickly access the defects and update, view and review the status of the defects. The implementation of JIRA ALM has really helped me and my team in optimizing the overall project development lifecycle. Would rate the JIRA defect tracking mechanism a solid 5/5 rating.
  • The defect management and tracking mechanism is one of best in the industry.
  • The cost for the software licensing could be improved upon.
Very positive. Excellent, easy to use tool for managing development projects. Tracking, creating and assigning sprint tasks was user friendly. Flexible viewing configurations are great.
Read Gaurav Manani's full review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Review: "JIRA - Development workflow for all companies..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used as an overall tracking tool for application development. Requests for new enhancements/projects may be placed in the system or defects may be tracked. IT managers also use the tool to assign tasks and to check hours booked to a project or request. Management reporting also comes from the application and is used for capacity planning and resource management.
  • Great tool for agile development
  • Allows flexibility to build out workflows that map to your company's internal processes
  • Flexibly reporting and build out by team
  • Make certain the full end to end processes are documented - changing flows will impact the lineage of your data
  • Make certain someone on the team has JIRA experience or have a vendor support you in the implementation
  • Look at full functions offered out of the box and understand additional plug-ins that may be needed.
Good for large and small teams. It is just important to make certain it is implemented and used consistently across all teams. Generally it is a process difference that causes issues - not JIRA itself. Support is good, but in several areas it is easy to design yourself into a corner with process flows and approvals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

Review: "JIRA Software: A great platform for sprint planning and issue tracking"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used across the organization by a wide array of users. We use it for issue tracking and sprints as well as as a product pipeline. It allows us to adequately track and communicate easily with other JIRA users in the organization and accomplish many different things quickly and effectively.
  • JIRA is great for tracking issues
  • It allows for excellent communication with other JIRA users
  • It's easy to search and navigate the platform
  • Administration of JIRA is very easy and straightforward
  • Documentation is generally pretty good as is JIRA support
  • Sometimes the documentation is a bit tricky to find depending on what version you're running
  • Troubleshooting complex issues when you use multiple plugins can be difficult
It's great for issue tracking and sprint planning. The workflows are excellent and very good for those types of use cases. With the amount of plugins available, you can accomplish just about anything you would want to do and integrate with many different platforms.

There are different roles and types of access, so you can define access at a pretty granular level.
Read this authenticated review
Poorva Naswa profile photo
June 18, 2018

JIRA Review: "All-in-one project tracking platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Logging and tracking issues in the project. I also use it as a way of noting down ideas as they arise. I don't have time to do most things as they are thought of so it is great for logging for future reference. When I complete one task or project, I visit my Jira queue and see what I can do next depending on priority and time constraints. It is a great way to get some quick wins done if I only have a short time so I can clear the queue a bit before taking on my next big project.
  • I personally like the ability to track where issues and task are, how much work has been completed on them and what the estimated time remaining is.
  • Easy to interact with a task. Easy to get into the task for the bug fixes and report it to the higher level through the spontaneous notifications.
  • I like how JIRA helps teams organize themselves.
  • I can't say anything that bothers me about JIRA.
  • The price is little bit high.
Using JIRA helps us to keep everyone on the team on the same page. The ability to be able to track the progress of everyone on the individual stories, spikes, and epics that they are working on helps to give everyone a sense of accountability and community in a more business-oriented fashion.
Read Poorva Naswa's full review
Richard Rout profile photo
May 23, 2018

Review: "JIRA is the ultimate in issue tracking software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA as a project management tool. We use it to manage our backlog of tasks, plan our sprints and organize who works on what. We use their reporting to get metrics on how well the team and individuals are performing. JIRA is used across the entire organization to manage all forms of work.
  • Customized workflows - JIRA can be set up to work for any imaginable workflow.
  • Fine grained account control - roles can be created for any type of user access, giving you full control.
  • Nice looking and easy to use UI.
  • Available in SaaS and self hosted.
  • It can be overwhelming. So many configurations and options can make it difficult to manage.
  • It's among the most expensive in its category. Much cheaper options are available and likely do what you need.
  • If your admin configures things wrong, it can be very difficult to use as a user.
JIRA is well suited for companies who need full control over their teams' workflows. If your company has varying teams who work differently and already have a workflow set up in place, JIRA can be configured on an individual team basis to suit your teams' needs.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Gonçalo Martins profile photo
March 28, 2018

JIRA: "Integrated, Reliable And Very Customizable."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The applications are hosted in the cloud. This means you don't have to worry about buying and maintaining your own infrastructure. The service's very reliable, affordable, allow us to do several integrations and fully customizable on all the steps. This product allowed us to easily control, manage and measure all the steps of our development lifecycle.
  • Custom fields.
  • Define several workflows.
  • Collaboration between teams.
  • UI/UX lacks.
  • Performance issues.
This product allowed us to easily control, manage and measure all the steps of our development lifecycle.
Read Gonçalo Martins's full review
Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "My day to day with JIRA!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

In the software development department of the company, we control projects under the agile methodology. We manage all the development and maintenance projects of our internal applications using JIRA. We control development times and assign priorities to projects.

In addition to this, we receive feedback that comes directly as pending issues in Jira of the users, to more efficiently manage the improvements and failure reports of all applications in use and in the process of testing.


  • It is excellent for the control of development projects under agile methodology.
  • It allows you to reprogram issues, attach images, set subtask to each issue, which later depending on the complexity you can convert into an issue to execute later.
  • By closing each sprint you can graphically view the Burndown Chart, which allows you to analyze with the development group, if the sprint was under what was planned or what caused the deviations.
  • It would be ideal to have among the notifications one that alerts when a sprint is about to finish and still has tasks to do and in progress.
  • The user interface for Jira in the cloud and Jira on server versions should be the same.
  • It should have an integration with the Outlook calendar, iCal or any other calendar so that everyone has calendar programming in a single application.
When you have planning meetings for the development activities, the scrum board is an excellent ally to see the status of the issues and the workload of each developer.

When you need to analyze the month's work of the department, and you rely on a list of issues (where input the issues product suggestions or errors reported by users and those entered by the development team) is not easy to filter to organize them by project and in some specific status, this is to quickly determine the number of issue that you have for example by making one or several projects.
Read Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal's full review
Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP,  ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG profile photo
February 27, 2018

Review: "Jira- Effective Tool to manage Agile Teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used at a program level in the organisation. We use JIRA to track our Agile teams that are [composed] of Scrum and Kanban teams. We use it for tracking epics, stories, issues, tasks, subtasks, production maintenance tracking, and planning.

It provides a good dashboard where higher leadership can look at how things are progressing and ultimately bringing in transparency.

It eliminates the need for individual teams to send weekly or monthly status reports to leadership on progress and what they are involved with. So at team level sprints, stories, epics, sizing, capacity, scrum and Kanban boards are managed and looked at.

  • Requirements are managed very well there which can be captured in the form of epics.
  • Epics, which capture the high-level ideas can be broken down into stories, tasks and sub-tasks.
  • The team can team can raise bugs, capture comments and tag test cases, against each story ultimately bringing end-to-end traceability.
  • Since distributed agile requires more collaboration, JIRA's seamless integration with communication tools like HipChat and Slack allows teams to work collaboratively.
  • JIRA supports customization since each team is unique, you can create your own issue types, modify the workflows, add/remove fields.
  • Standard issue types created in any project are: a) Bug b) Task c) Sub-Task d) Epic e) Support Ticket f) User story
  • User Story workflow can be: a) Backlog b) Ready to Start c) Dev In-Progress d) QA In-Progress e) Ready for Demo All these can be modified based on your requirements.
  • If you are looking for devops implementation, JIRA has support for CI & CD.
  • It can be integrated with Git and Jenkins very well.
  • JIRA supports two kinds of boards, Kanban and Scrum boards. It is very easy to track things using these boards & it also provides ample of charts like reporting options such as burndown charts to help teams plan & replan at every stage in the development life cycle
  • Searching issues in JIRA is very simple through JQL (Jira Query Language).
  • If we would like to perform a complex search JQL allows to find issues from any timeline.
  • The basic version of Jira do not have support for test management, capacity management & release management.
  • So users have to buy various plugins to support these basic functionalities which can prove costly based on team size.
  • Navigation around the UI can be difficult at times
  • Jira is not a simple tool, it requires some training before users can start working on it so some learning curve is involved.

Situations where JIRA is helpful:

1) If our board becomes quite dense and full of issues, it can be difficult to remember all of the issue numbers or track them, so in JIRA we have the option to flag and comment on the issues and the ticket background color becomes yellow which makes the tracing quite easy.

2) Prioritization has become a lot easier with JIRA. It is a one-stop shop for all tasks and projects you are working on. It gives a better look into what each program is working on.

3) When a lot of tasks need to be updated, we can use the “Bulk Change” option present in the right-click menu. It is a good time-saving tool when we have more than 8 tasks to change at once.

4) Many filters can be set in JIRA based on the issues you want to track:

a) Quick filter query to see what is currently scheduled to the sprint. Query: Project = "ABC" AND sprint = ‘Sprint number’ AND issuetype in (Story, Bug) ORDER BY issuetype ASC, status ASC

b) Quick filter query to view the backlog items: Query: Project = "ABC" AND Status = "1.1 Backlog" ORDER BY Rank ASC

Situations where JIRA is not helpful:

1) If your stories have lot of architecture diagrams or documentation you need to integrate it with another Atlassian Tool Confluence & Jira do not have much support for excessive documentation.


2) Even after buying the "Test" plugin, test case management is not that easy & extensible as we have in HP ALM or Rally.
Read Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP, ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG's full review
Jesse Brand profile photo
February 13, 2018

"Jira Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization (about 45 people) is currently either using Jira or is considering the use of Jira to manage tasks and keep a record of past, present, and current projects. Jira provides us a means to better monitor our work, ensuring something is not forgotten. With Jira, it is easy for us as a team to see what each person is working on, the priority of tasks, how many of a certain we have completed, who completed what tasks and how many, and much more. Additionally, the dashboard feature of Jira creates easy reporting, allowing me to condense my work into a manner that my manager and director can use to share accomplishments of the team.
  • Task Management - Keep Track of Tasks
  • Priority Management - Prioritize Tasks
  • Reporting - Create Reports That YOU Need
  • Customization - Better customization for specific needs
  • Ease of Access - More training or helpful tips within the program
If are in a situation where you have multiple tasks that need to be addressed, Jira can provide a means to track and prioritize those tasks. Get rid of jotting notes on paper or sticky notes. With Jira, it's very easy to track what work needs to be done and reflect on work that has been completed.
Read Jesse Brand's full review
Flávio Carmo profile photo
May 14, 2018

JIRA Review: "The Tool for you development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira to manage all our user stories, all development content, and actions. With this tool, we no longer forget anything in our development cycle.
  • Configurable
  • User friendly
  • Cost for small teams
  • Too many options. Sometimes a configuration has too many steps to be done.
  • Cost to medium teams
  • A large server footprint to local servers (Tomcat is a large memory user)
Is the best tool for all development cycles, waterfall, scrum, kanban, lean-agile, anyone. If you have a business need, like service desk, the Jira Service Desk to is the tool.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
No photo available
May 28, 2018

Review: "JIRA - Managing a Project Activity at your Fingertips!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used by our Company to setup Epics and the associated Tasks that belong with the Epic. We then plan our Sprint (2 weeks) with Development tasks and track the progress of those tasks. If something happens that hinders the development of such task, we can easily put a block on that Task until the block can be removed (i.e. waiting on data cut from Agency). We can easily drop something into the backlog when needed.
  • Manages Epics (projects) very well. Tasks can be adjusted easily along with their corresponding Story Points. The Backlog can be easily managed by moving Tasks around as needed.
  • Notifications can be automatically sent out (if setup) to the Developer when new work is assigned.
  • Epics/Tasks/backlog items can be managed through an easy to use drag and drop process.
  • I don't have anything negative to say about the software.
  • As with any software, the GUI can always use improvement, but that comes with time.
JIRA is terrific for both large and medium project development work. It is very easy to build to scale based on your company's needs. As noted before, you can setup the configuration to manage Security (i.e. who can delete/create). You can set up auto-notifications that will alert a Dev team that new work is in the pipe.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 25, 2018

JIRA Review: "Solid Organizational Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA software is currently being used within our department as an organizational tool. JIRA is being used intermittently across the whole organization, but is not currently a standard. JIRA really helped our team with organization and collaboration as it breaks down work and assignments in a simple and visible way.
  • Easy and efficient way to organize and assign work
  • Allows for the creation of a hierarchy of tickets and work to keep priorities organized
  • User-friendly and cost efficient as an organizational tool
  • Training resources readily available
  • Being able to create epics would be highly useful for better organization and maintenance
  • Being able to split the work, or tickets, between team members would also be useful
  • There is a learning curve which does require time and resources to adapt to the tool
JIRA Software proves to be very well suited for teams looking for a basic organizational tool to track work, assignees and time spent using a ticketing system. It makes it very easy to solidify ideas and track accomplishments. I feel that JIRA is less appropriate when trying to create and track epics or user stories in more of an Agile environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

User Review: "JIRA-Easy to track"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The complete organization uses JIRA to track the issues or create user stories for developers.
  • Managing workflow is too good.
  • Miscalculates the pending minutes some times.
It is easy to create, assign, track workflow and store comments and also sending emails on the ticket is really helpful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Review: "Jira make software development tracking easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is used primarily by IT department as our software development tool for tracking all work. Recently our marketing and claims department has started to use it as well. We also use the Dashboards to highlight our production release items to the rest of the businesses non IT related on a monthly basis.
  • Easy to drag and drop issues to status
  • UI is very good and easy to follow the sprint progress
  • Dashboard features are good
  • Issue detail view can be a little limited, would like more room to configure
  • Change the status of issue in all issue views
  • Increased functionality on dashboards, allow text field boxes
Very well suited to handle all software development tracking for small or large teams
Excellent for IT production release management, we use a TFS plug in for our code
Works well when paired with Confluence
Works well when paired with Service Desk
Non IT departments have a hard time using it since they don't typically work in agile
Read this authenticated review

About JIRA

Atlassian Jira is a task management tool for software development teams developed by Atlassian in San Francisco. Atlassian Cloud and local server options are both available. It allows the user to create, prioritize and track the progress of tasks across multiple team members. Projects are treated as and formed from, in this software, collections of issues, which can be managed individually or in bulk in a multitude of ways. Analytic features allow team member workload and time to resolve issues to be studied and reallocated as needed. Issue voting allows team members to up or down prioritize elements of a job. Tasks can be delegated and issues can be started anonymously, if need be. Customizability and functionality are extended via extensive support for plugins. Pricing is dependent upon inclusion of Atlassian Agile (for development) or Atlassian Service Desk and upon the number of users, in both cloud or local server options.

JIRA Integrations

JIRA Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

JIRA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No