TrustRadius
JIRA Software is a task management tool for software development teams, offered by Atlassian. It allows to create, prioritize and track the progress of tasks across multiple team members.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/Do/VE/SNKZVM5Z3C0V.PNGJIRA ALM is one of the best ALM tools available in the market.JIRA ALM is one of best ALMs available in the market today. The rating for the overall user interface would be 4/5. Mainly because of it's seamless depiction of all the project related milestones in a neat and quickly understandable format. The USP of the JIRA ALM is it's defect tracking mechanism. The well laid out user interface allows the the development team to quickly access the defects and update, view and review the status of the defects. The implementation of JIRA ALM has really helped me and my team in optimizing the overall project development lifecycle. Would rate the JIRA defect tracking mechanism a solid 5/5 rating.,The defect management and tracking mechanism is one of best in the industry.,The cost for the software licensing could be improved upon.,8,Cost management Enhance decision making Reduce time to market Improve supplier or partner relationships,BugzillaAll-in-one project tracking platformLogging and tracking issues in the project. I also use it as a way of noting down ideas as they arise. I don't have time to do most things as they are thought of so it is great for logging for future reference. When I complete one task or project, I visit my Jira queue and see what I can do next depending on priority and time constraints. It is a great way to get some quick wins done if I only have a short time so I can clear the queue a bit before taking on my next big project.,I personally like the ability to track where issues and task are, how much work has been completed on them and what the estimated time remaining is. Easy to interact with a task. Easy to get into the task for the bug fixes and report it to the higher level through the spontaneous notifications. I like how JIRA helps teams organize themselves.,I can't say anything that bothers me about JIRA. The price is little bit high.,9,It integrates well with Confluence for team collaboration on bugs and projects.,Workzone and Assembla Workspaces,Dropbox, ActiveCollab, Wrike, Flock, ProcoreJIRA is the ultimate in issue tracking softwareWe use JIRA as a project management tool. We use it to manage our backlog of tasks, plan our sprints and organize who works on what. We use their reporting to get metrics on how well the team and individuals are performing. JIRA is used across the entire organization to manage all forms of work.,Customized workflows - JIRA can be set up to work for any imaginable workflow. Fine grained account control - roles can be created for any type of user access, giving you full control. Nice looking and easy to use UI. Available in SaaS and self hosted.,It can be overwhelming. So many configurations and options can make it difficult to manage. It's among the most expensive in its category. Much cheaper options are available and likely do what you need. If your admin configures things wrong, it can be very difficult to use as a user.,8,Teams are able to organize and work much easier Upper management has great insights into everyone's performance,Basecamp, Team Foundation Server and GitHub,Zendesk, Visual Studio IDE, Microsoft Azure, Amazon DynamoDB, PostgreSQLJIRA - Development workflow for all companies...JIRA is being used as an overall tracking tool for application development. Requests for new enhancements/projects may be placed in the system or defects may be tracked. IT managers also use the tool to assign tasks and to check hours booked to a project or request. Management reporting also comes from the application and is used for capacity planning and resource management.,Great tool for agile development Allows flexibility to build out workflows that map to your company's internal processes Flexibly reporting and build out by team,Make certain the full end to end processes are documented - changing flows will impact the lineage of your data Make certain someone on the team has JIRA experience or have a vendor support you in the implementation Look at full functions offered out of the box and understand additional plug-ins that may be needed.,9,Great easy to use tool and little training required for team members Modification of processes/flows can cause confusion for team members unless properly communicated. Look at the overall need and see if this tool fits your need, as there are other products available in the market.,IBM Rational ALM and Rallyverse,Adobe Acrobat DC, Alexa, Google HangoutsJIRA - Managing a Project Activity at your Fingertips!JIRA is used by our Company to setup Epics and the associated Tasks that belong with the Epic. We then plan our Sprint (2 weeks) with Development tasks and track the progress of those tasks. If something happens that hinders the development of such task, we can easily put a block on that Task until the block can be removed (i.e. waiting on data cut from Agency). We can easily drop something into the backlog when needed.,Manages Epics (projects) very well. Tasks can be adjusted easily along with their corresponding Story Points. The Backlog can be easily managed by moving Tasks around as needed. Notifications can be automatically sent out (if setup) to the Developer when new work is assigned. Epics/Tasks/backlog items can be managed through an easy to use drag and drop process.,I don't have anything negative to say about the software. As with any software, the GUI can always use improvement, but that comes with time.,10,We can manage 100's of projects at a time. I work on a DB Conversion Team and it can get a little hairy trying to keep everything straight. JIRA does that for us. JIRA is easy to use and there is a very little learning curve for new team members. JIRA allows for a 40,000-foot view or a 5,000-foot view. You can drill down as deep as you need to go, or take a step back and look down from the heavens.,,Changepoint, Microsoft Office 365, Microsoft Project
Unspecified
JIRA Software
1148 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
TRScore

JIRA Reviews

JIRA
1148 Ratings
Score 8.0 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 1149 vetted JIRA reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 95)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Gaurav Manani profile photo
August 17, 2018

Review: "JIRA ALM is one of the best ALM tools available in the market."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA ALM is one of best ALMs available in the market today. The rating for the overall user interface would be 4/5. Mainly because of it's seamless depiction of all the project related milestones in a neat and quickly understandable format. The USP of the JIRA ALM is it's defect tracking mechanism. The well laid out user interface allows the the development team to quickly access the defects and update, view and review the status of the defects. The implementation of JIRA ALM has really helped me and my team in optimizing the overall project development lifecycle. Would rate the JIRA defect tracking mechanism a solid 5/5 rating.
  • The defect management and tracking mechanism is one of best in the industry.
  • The cost for the software licensing could be improved upon.
Very positive. Excellent, easy to use tool for managing development projects. Tracking, creating and assigning sprint tasks was user friendly. Flexible viewing configurations are great.
Read Gaurav Manani's full review
Poorva Naswa profile photo
June 18, 2018

JIRA Review: "All-in-one project tracking platform"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Logging and tracking issues in the project. I also use it as a way of noting down ideas as they arise. I don't have time to do most things as they are thought of so it is great for logging for future reference. When I complete one task or project, I visit my Jira queue and see what I can do next depending on priority and time constraints. It is a great way to get some quick wins done if I only have a short time so I can clear the queue a bit before taking on my next big project.
  • I personally like the ability to track where issues and task are, how much work has been completed on them and what the estimated time remaining is.
  • Easy to interact with a task. Easy to get into the task for the bug fixes and report it to the higher level through the spontaneous notifications.
  • I like how JIRA helps teams organize themselves.
  • I can't say anything that bothers me about JIRA.
  • The price is little bit high.
Using JIRA helps us to keep everyone on the team on the same page. The ability to be able to track the progress of everyone on the individual stories, spikes, and epics that they are working on helps to give everyone a sense of accountability and community in a more business-oriented fashion.
Read Poorva Naswa's full review
Richard Rout profile photo
May 23, 2018

Review: "JIRA is the ultimate in issue tracking software"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA as a project management tool. We use it to manage our backlog of tasks, plan our sprints and organize who works on what. We use their reporting to get metrics on how well the team and individuals are performing. JIRA is used across the entire organization to manage all forms of work.
  • Customized workflows - JIRA can be set up to work for any imaginable workflow.
  • Fine grained account control - roles can be created for any type of user access, giving you full control.
  • Nice looking and easy to use UI.
  • Available in SaaS and self hosted.
  • It can be overwhelming. So many configurations and options can make it difficult to manage.
  • It's among the most expensive in its category. Much cheaper options are available and likely do what you need.
  • If your admin configures things wrong, it can be very difficult to use as a user.
JIRA is well suited for companies who need full control over their teams' workflows. If your company has varying teams who work differently and already have a workflow set up in place, JIRA can be configured on an individual team basis to suit your teams' needs.
Read Richard Rout's full review
No photo available
November 01, 2018

Review: "JIRA - Development workflow for all companies..."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used as an overall tracking tool for application development. Requests for new enhancements/projects may be placed in the system or defects may be tracked. IT managers also use the tool to assign tasks and to check hours booked to a project or request. Management reporting also comes from the application and is used for capacity planning and resource management.
  • Great tool for agile development
  • Allows flexibility to build out workflows that map to your company's internal processes
  • Flexibly reporting and build out by team
  • Make certain the full end to end processes are documented - changing flows will impact the lineage of your data
  • Make certain someone on the team has JIRA experience or have a vendor support you in the implementation
  • Look at full functions offered out of the box and understand additional plug-ins that may be needed.
Good for large and small teams. It is just important to make certain it is implemented and used consistently across all teams. Generally it is a process difference that causes issues - not JIRA itself. Support is good, but in several areas it is easy to design yourself into a corner with process flows and approvals.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 28, 2018

Review: "JIRA - Managing a Project Activity at your Fingertips!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used by our Company to setup Epics and the associated Tasks that belong with the Epic. We then plan our Sprint (2 weeks) with Development tasks and track the progress of those tasks. If something happens that hinders the development of such task, we can easily put a block on that Task until the block can be removed (i.e. waiting on data cut from Agency). We can easily drop something into the backlog when needed.
  • Manages Epics (projects) very well. Tasks can be adjusted easily along with their corresponding Story Points. The Backlog can be easily managed by moving Tasks around as needed.
  • Notifications can be automatically sent out (if setup) to the Developer when new work is assigned.
  • Epics/Tasks/backlog items can be managed through an easy to use drag and drop process.
  • I don't have anything negative to say about the software.
  • As with any software, the GUI can always use improvement, but that comes with time.
JIRA is terrific for both large and medium project development work. It is very easy to build to scale based on your company's needs. As noted before, you can setup the configuration to manage Security (i.e. who can delete/create). You can set up auto-notifications that will alert a Dev team that new work is in the pipe.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
September 07, 2018

Review: "JIRA Software: A great platform for sprint planning and issue tracking"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is being used across the organization by a wide array of users. We use it for issue tracking and sprints as well as as a product pipeline. It allows us to adequately track and communicate easily with other JIRA users in the organization and accomplish many different things quickly and effectively.
  • JIRA is great for tracking issues
  • It allows for excellent communication with other JIRA users
  • It's easy to search and navigate the platform
  • Administration of JIRA is very easy and straightforward
  • Documentation is generally pretty good as is JIRA support
  • Sometimes the documentation is a bit tricky to find depending on what version you're running
  • Troubleshooting complex issues when you use multiple plugins can be difficult
It's great for issue tracking and sprint planning. The workflows are excellent and very good for those types of use cases. With the amount of plugins available, you can accomplish just about anything you would want to do and integrate with many different platforms.

There are different roles and types of access, so you can define access at a pretty granular level.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 16, 2018

User Review: "JIRA-Easy to track"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The complete organization uses JIRA to track the issues or create user stories for developers.
  • Managing workflow is too good.
  • Miscalculates the pending minutes some times.
It is easy to create, assign, track workflow and store comments and also sending emails on the ticket is really helpful.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

Review: "Jira make software development tracking easier"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Jira is used primarily by IT department as our software development tool for tracking all work. Recently our marketing and claims department has started to use it as well. We also use the Dashboards to highlight our production release items to the rest of the businesses non IT related on a monthly basis.
  • Easy to drag and drop issues to status
  • UI is very good and easy to follow the sprint progress
  • Dashboard features are good
  • Issue detail view can be a little limited, would like more room to configure
  • Change the status of issue in all issue views
  • Increased functionality on dashboards, allow text field boxes
Very well suited to handle all software development tracking for small or large teams
Excellent for IT production release management, we use a TFS plug in for our code
Works well when paired with Confluence
Works well when paired with Service Desk
Non IT departments have a hard time using it since they don't typically work in agile
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
July 13, 2018

JIRA Review: "Kind of a must-have tool for working on bugs, engineering problems, etc."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA to track and manage all bugs and tasks relating to the engineering teams in the company.
  • Great for engineers to track issues, bugs, problems, etc.
  • Helpful for collaboration on bugs and great for managing sprints.
  • Definitely not the prettiest or most intuitive interface. Very much feels like it was built by an engineer.
  • My biggest annoyance is that I get emails for updates to a bug's comments far too frequently. As in, someone will be editing a task and I'll get 5 emails in the course of them simply typing something out or making updates to the task. These things should be aggregated and there should be a time delay on when the emails reach me.
If you do any work with engineers, be prepared to understand and know how to use JIRA.
Read this authenticated review
Mitchell Brand profile photo
January 12, 2018

Review: "JIRA - Highly recommend for anyone wanting to better organize their tasks"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is currently being used across our marketing department. We use it for task management activities as well as tracking time used for particular tasks, this will then be used to develop proper workflow procedures and timeline expectations amongst the marketing department and interactions with other departments. The goal is to have JIRA put in place throughout the entire organization once we have a large base of advanced users to create the instances for Sales, Operations, etc.
  • Tracking of current projects for large teams
  • Time management
  • Data gathering for developing workflow procedures and expectations
  • Sorting of attachments in individual tickets
JIRA is a perfect fit for any organization where they have a large "in-flow" of projects, tasks, requests, etc. It helps to visualize who and where the majority of the projects are and how much time is being allotted or can be allotted to a particular task. It is particularly helpful in making sure that each team member is given an equal amount of work (if that is the goal) and seeing where each project stands.
Read Mitchell Brand's full review
Fabian Kuhn profile photo
December 28, 2017

User Review: "JIRA is huge but it pays off"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using JIRA as a communication and project management tool between our IT and other departments, like management, design, sales and so on. Basically every employee with project management tasks is using it. It helps us a great deal with planning, specifying and tracking the work of our IT department and therefore, the improvement of our online appearance.
  • JIRA is an excellent tool to connect different teams and work styles in an efficient way, without being too specific for some of them.
  • It has a lot of features and settings to offer which really enable you to plan a task in a very detailed way.
  • Thanks to the different conditions of a task, the status can be tracked easily and everyone always knows who's the one who has to provide input.
  • JIRA is not the right tool for people who are looking for an easy, small and quick to learn project management tool.
  • There should be more options to layout a task in terms of tables, image integration et cetera. Currently, the bigger a tasks gets, the more complicated and difficult to understand it looks.
JIRA is perfect for planning and tracking the work of different teams in a company. However, it's a really big tool with a lots of features and therefore, it makes sense to use other project management tools besides it. E.g. we're using JIRA for our IT tasks for which it's suited just perfectly while were using projectplace in the design team which does the job much better in a small team with tasks that are not very complex to specify.
Read Fabian Kuhn's full review
Gonçalo Martins profile photo
March 28, 2018

JIRA: "Integrated, Reliable And Very Customizable."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The applications are hosted in the cloud. This means you don't have to worry about buying and maintaining your own infrastructure. The service's very reliable, affordable, allow us to do several integrations and fully customizable on all the steps. This product allowed us to easily control, manage and measure all the steps of our development lifecycle.
  • Custom fields.
  • Define several workflows.
  • Collaboration between teams.
  • UI/UX lacks.
  • Performance issues.
This product allowed us to easily control, manage and measure all the steps of our development lifecycle.
Read Gonçalo Martins's full review
Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal profile photo
March 12, 2018

User Review: "My day to day with JIRA!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

In the software development department of the company, we control projects under the agile methodology. We manage all the development and maintenance projects of our internal applications using JIRA. We control development times and assign priorities to projects.

In addition to this, we receive feedback that comes directly as pending issues in Jira of the users, to more efficiently manage the improvements and failure reports of all applications in use and in the process of testing.


  • It is excellent for the control of development projects under agile methodology.
  • It allows you to reprogram issues, attach images, set subtask to each issue, which later depending on the complexity you can convert into an issue to execute later.
  • By closing each sprint you can graphically view the Burndown Chart, which allows you to analyze with the development group, if the sprint was under what was planned or what caused the deviations.
  • It would be ideal to have among the notifications one that alerts when a sprint is about to finish and still has tasks to do and in progress.
  • The user interface for Jira in the cloud and Jira on server versions should be the same.
  • It should have an integration with the Outlook calendar, iCal or any other calendar so that everyone has calendar programming in a single application.
When you have planning meetings for the development activities, the scrum board is an excellent ally to see the status of the issues and the workload of each developer.

When you need to analyze the month's work of the department, and you rely on a list of issues (where input the issues product suggestions or errors reported by users and those entered by the development team) is not easy to filter to organize them by project and in some specific status, this is to quickly determine the number of issue that you have for example by making one or several projects.
Read Eliz Marvic Melicio Carvajal's full review
Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP,  ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG profile photo
February 27, 2018

Review: "Jira- Effective Tool to manage Agile Teams"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used at a program level in the organisation. We use JIRA to track our Agile teams that are [composed] of Scrum and Kanban teams. We use it for tracking epics, stories, issues, tasks, subtasks, production maintenance tracking, and planning.

It provides a good dashboard where higher leadership can look at how things are progressing and ultimately bringing in transparency.

It eliminates the need for individual teams to send weekly or monthly status reports to leadership on progress and what they are involved with. So at team level sprints, stories, epics, sizing, capacity, scrum and Kanban boards are managed and looked at.

  • Requirements are managed very well there which can be captured in the form of epics.
  • Epics, which capture the high-level ideas can be broken down into stories, tasks and sub-tasks.
  • The team can team can raise bugs, capture comments and tag test cases, against each story ultimately bringing end-to-end traceability.
  • Since distributed agile requires more collaboration, JIRA's seamless integration with communication tools like HipChat and Slack allows teams to work collaboratively.
  • JIRA supports customization since each team is unique, you can create your own issue types, modify the workflows, add/remove fields.
  • Standard issue types created in any project are: a) Bug b) Task c) Sub-Task d) Epic e) Support Ticket f) User story
  • User Story workflow can be: a) Backlog b) Ready to Start c) Dev In-Progress d) QA In-Progress e) Ready for Demo All these can be modified based on your requirements.
  • If you are looking for devops implementation, JIRA has support for CI & CD.
  • It can be integrated with Git and Jenkins very well.
  • JIRA supports two kinds of boards, Kanban and Scrum boards. It is very easy to track things using these boards & it also provides ample of charts like reporting options such as burndown charts to help teams plan & replan at every stage in the development life cycle
  • Searching issues in JIRA is very simple through JQL (Jira Query Language).
  • If we would like to perform a complex search JQL allows to find issues from any timeline.
  • The basic version of Jira do not have support for test management, capacity management & release management.
  • So users have to buy various plugins to support these basic functionalities which can prove costly based on team size.
  • Navigation around the UI can be difficult at times
  • Jira is not a simple tool, it requires some training before users can start working on it so some learning curve is involved.

Situations where JIRA is helpful:

1) If our board becomes quite dense and full of issues, it can be difficult to remember all of the issue numbers or track them, so in JIRA we have the option to flag and comment on the issues and the ticket background color becomes yellow which makes the tracing quite easy.

2) Prioritization has become a lot easier with JIRA. It is a one-stop shop for all tasks and projects you are working on. It gives a better look into what each program is working on.

3) When a lot of tasks need to be updated, we can use the “Bulk Change” option present in the right-click menu. It is a good time-saving tool when we have more than 8 tasks to change at once.

4) Many filters can be set in JIRA based on the issues you want to track:

a) Quick filter query to see what is currently scheduled to the sprint. Query: Project = "ABC" AND sprint = ‘Sprint number’ AND issuetype in (Story, Bug) ORDER BY issuetype ASC, status ASC

b) Quick filter query to view the backlog items: Query: Project = "ABC" AND Status = "1.1 Backlog" ORDER BY Rank ASC

Situations where JIRA is not helpful:

1) If your stories have lot of architecture diagrams or documentation you need to integrate it with another Atlassian Tool Confluence & Jira do not have much support for excessive documentation.


2) Even after buying the "Test" plugin, test case management is not that easy & extensible as we have in HP ALM or Rally.
Read Sourav Singla ,Safe Agilist, CSP, ICP-ACC, CSM, CSPO, SSM, LSSG's full review
Jesse Brand profile photo
February 13, 2018

"Jira Review"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My organization (about 45 people) is currently either using Jira or is considering the use of Jira to manage tasks and keep a record of past, present, and current projects. Jira provides us a means to better monitor our work, ensuring something is not forgotten. With Jira, it is easy for us as a team to see what each person is working on, the priority of tasks, how many of a certain we have completed, who completed what tasks and how many, and much more. Additionally, the dashboard feature of Jira creates easy reporting, allowing me to condense my work into a manner that my manager and director can use to share accomplishments of the team.
  • Task Management - Keep Track of Tasks
  • Priority Management - Prioritize Tasks
  • Reporting - Create Reports That YOU Need
  • Customization - Better customization for specific needs
  • Ease of Access - More training or helpful tips within the program
If are in a situation where you have multiple tasks that need to be addressed, Jira can provide a means to track and prioritize those tasks. Get rid of jotting notes on paper or sticky notes. With Jira, it's very easy to track what work needs to be done and reflect on work that has been completed.
Read Jesse Brand's full review
Hans Hong profile photo
January 19, 2018

JIRA Review: "Great for agile teams and development work coordination, but reporting could use some work"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
[It's being used for] Coordinating work and submissions from multiple stakeholders and users and estimating completion of projects. Most of our software development teams use it for planning agile projects and coordinating with stakeholders, and tracking velocity and estimated completion dates.
  • Fits right into agile methodology and very easy to use.
  • No problems with copy/pasting images, attachments, and formatting stories to look right. Interface is fast, pleasing to use.
  • Commenting and tracking conversation and notes on stories is very easy.
  • Reporting and some charting capabilities is lacking. Need better ways to track burndown, velocity, etc.
  • Missing functionality for tracking testing and pass/fail.
  • A good example of "you get what you put in". It can get messy and overwhelming easily if left unchecked. Some tools and study on this would be helpful to guide users on proper management of agile.
You need at least a team of 4 or more to really make use of this. Otherwise it's overkill on setup and configuration just to get this working.
Read Hans Hong's full review
Flávio Carmo profile photo
May 14, 2018

JIRA Review: "The Tool for you development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira to manage all our user stories, all development content, and actions. With this tool, we no longer forget anything in our development cycle.
  • Configurable
  • User friendly
  • Cost for small teams
  • Too many options. Sometimes a configuration has too many steps to be done.
  • Cost to medium teams
  • A large server footprint to local servers (Tomcat is a large memory user)
Is the best tool for all development cycles, waterfall, scrum, kanban, lean-agile, anyone. If you have a business need, like service desk, the Jira Service Desk to is the tool.
Read Flávio Carmo's full review
Sandip More profile photo
January 15, 2018

Review: "JIRA - helps you implement agile SDLC cycles effectively."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, our Product team, development teams, QA & Customer support teams are using JIRA to manage Development, Production defects, Release cycles. We are using the online version of JIRA with workflow plugins. Workflows have helped us design the development life cycle for various projects as per requirement and helped us to bring efficiency into the whole process. We are using Jira dashboards which are used to run Agile scrum meetings and run weekly/monthly rhythms.
  • It helps in Release Management in our rapid release cycles. sync with Product Management tool and Customer support tools.
  • Supports various kind Of Agile models like scrum & Kanban
  • User accesses, custom story types, Workflow support to automate development cycle.
  • I think they can improve on reporting capabilities to get more insights about developer productivity.
  • Documentation attached to each story is not readable for non-developer teams. If features were better readable UI/UX for business users will help to get all stakeholders in product process to start using JIRA
I don't have experience of working with Larger teams but for a scrum team of size 5-10 it's good.
Read Sandip More's full review
Matt Emge profile photo
December 22, 2017

JIRA Review: "Rich with Features and Complexity"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira across our whole organization to track one-time and ongoing projects as well as employee time. We use it to track epics, stories, tasks, features, defects and hours spent. We use boards for project workflow and assigning tickets to different team members. We also use it for tracking hours spent on each task according to the client project.
  • It's great for holding all our projects and tickets with teams assigned.
  • It has good features for formatting ticket descriptions and comments for team collaboration.
  • I like the hours tracking feature because it's easy to enter hours for each ticket and also see all my time for the week at a glance.
  • Better formatting options in tickets.
  • Apply UX principles for easier workflow and UI.
  • More options to simplify and cut out unnecessary features that we don't use.
Great for managing a lot of complex projects with a big team where it's important to track time by task. Jira is rich with features for tracking history, power searching, filtering, commenting, assigning to team members, creating custom boards for your own style of workflow and templates for various process styles.
Read Matt Emge's full review
Brett Knighton profile photo
December 01, 2017

JIRA Review: "Vast customization options. If used correctly can facilitate process improvements."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA in many different implementations across our organization. We've customized boards for teams in our department to match their individual needs and requirements. With our teams using agile methodologies, we need the tracking software we use to be extremely easy to change and customize. No two teams have the exact same requirements or workflows they want to use and JIRA allows us to match the software to the team and not the other way around.
  • Allows us to customize our board to match the teams' workflows and not the other way around.
  • Allows transparency to management and other interested parties.
  • If used appropriately it can help cut down on process bloat.
  • It can be complicated to set up and manage. Depending on the size of your organization it could require a full time administrator to manage.
I can't see any scenarios where using JIRA's software would have the opportunity to be beneficial. I think it's all about implementation whether it will increase productivity or not. But, the software won't be a hindrance in getting there.
Read Brett Knighton's full review
No photo available
April 25, 2018

JIRA Review: "Solid Organizational Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA software is currently being used within our department as an organizational tool. JIRA is being used intermittently across the whole organization, but is not currently a standard. JIRA really helped our team with organization and collaboration as it breaks down work and assignments in a simple and visible way.
  • Easy and efficient way to organize and assign work
  • Allows for the creation of a hierarchy of tickets and work to keep priorities organized
  • User-friendly and cost efficient as an organizational tool
  • Training resources readily available
  • Being able to create epics would be highly useful for better organization and maintenance
  • Being able to split the work, or tickets, between team members would also be useful
  • There is a learning curve which does require time and resources to adapt to the tool
JIRA Software proves to be very well suited for teams looking for a basic organizational tool to track work, assignees and time spent using a ticketing system. It makes it very easy to solidify ideas and track accomplishments. I feel that JIRA is less appropriate when trying to create and track epics or user stories in more of an Agile environment.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 28, 2017

JIRA Review: "Great for what we need"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use JIRA to track defects, and the resolution of those defects, across hardware and software platforms. 95% of the engineering organization uses it in one way or another, although the use cases differ.

We use it to track all defect discovery, investigation, implementation and retest. We also use it as a way to facilitate discussion of the defects, and determine priority and resource assignment across the organization.

Furthermore, its ability to generate reports and dashboards that are accessible, usable and understandable to C-Suite executives is a great tool to keep our engineers focused on solving defects, and letting the tool handle the reporting side of things.
  • Its ability to generate reports and dashboards that are accessible, usable and understandable to C-Suite executives
  • Its ability to integrate with other tools through the use of plugins and add-ons (including source code repositories, a big one for use)
  • Its ease of use - new hires don't generally need to be trained at all, they pick up the right way to use the tool within their first week
  • Some reporting needs the ability to be more customized. For certain reports, we still have to export data to Excel...which is a hassle
  • Some features are very software development-centric. We use JIRA to track hardware and software defects, and some of the hardware defect tracking feels shoehorned in
  • The default behavior is to email any user tracking a defect when anything happens. In addition, users get added to the tracking list when they perform any actions on the defect. These two combined means that many users get overloaded with JIRA emails
In a software-centric development environment, especially if COTS source code management is used (Rhodecode, as an example) JIRA shines. We, for example, are able to use it to track defects through implementation down to the specific line of code that changed in order to fix the defect. This means that reviewing how defects were fixed after the fact is very easy.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
February 02, 2018

User Review: "JIRA is a very useful tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our product team uses JIRA to communicate with developers and manage sprints using the Sprint boards. The commercial support team also uses the help desk feature and other tech teams use Kanban boards to manager their work. JIRA helps our teams stay organized and provides visibility to the work that needs to be done. It is an effective solution and provides a platform for easy communication and collaboration across teams.
  • Organization and prioritization of work
  • The ability to customize (forms, workflows, etc.)
  • The ability to share information easily (adding attachments, adding "watchers" to issues, as well as integrations with other products)
  • The ability to share workflows across projects gets really messy when you want to change one but not the other. You can end up messing up other people's boards without realizing it. It really requires someone who is familiar with the rules of the software to manage things like this.
  • Board configuration is a bit confusing as someone can be an admin on a board but if they do not own the board filter they can not share the board with new people. Visibility to a board is based on the board's filter shares which is just confusing.
  • It would be nice to have more flexibility with workflows. Often times our product managers ask me if they can add a step in their team's workflow and I have to say no because it would affect everyone else who is in the project. I'm not sure why we didn't decide to give each PM their own project... it might be due to their pricing model.
It is really good for product management and organizing day-to-day tasks. I can't really think of anything that it isn't good for. It's a really flexible tool.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
May 17, 2018

JIRA Review: "Great for any project that requires collaboration between developers and product managers"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
JIRA is used for small pilot tests that require rapid iteration on software projects.
  • Highly customizable
  • Dynamic
  • Good integration with a variety of other products
  • High price
  • Not the best UX/UI
  • Difficult to setup
JIRA helps bridge the gaps between product employees and the developers. This system is very easy to learn for technical users, but the non-technical user may have some issues. We only use Jira for quick engagements; for long-term projects, experience may be different.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
December 13, 2017

"Jira Review"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Jira to facilitate agile programming. We have boards that we use for different products and [it] allows us each to pick up tasks to work on and allows others to see what is happening across the group.
  • It has a lot of flexibility in the way you can create swimlanes, flag cards, and move things around on the board.
  • Easy to track and follow your team's progress and see if you are getting things done according to schedule.
  • The circles that represent the days along the bottom of each card are nice so that you can see if anything is getting stale.
  • It needs a better way to auto refresh. Having to refresh the page sometimes can be frustrating.
  • Sometimes it's very slow to reflect that you are dragging things between columns, and before you know it you have grabbed the wrong card.
I think Jira is very good at accomplishing what it sets out to do. There are definitely some areas that it could improve on, but it is getting better with each update.
Read this authenticated review

About JIRA

Atlassian Jira is a task management tool for software development teams developed by Atlassian in San Francisco. Atlassian Cloud and local server options are both available. It allows the user to create, prioritize and track the progress of tasks across multiple team members. Projects are treated as and formed from, in this software, collections of issues, which can be managed individually or in bulk in a multitude of ways. Analytic features allow team member workload and time to resolve issues to be studied and reallocated as needed. Issue voting allows team members to up or down prioritize elements of a job. Tasks can be delegated and issues can be started anonymously, if need be. Customizability and functionality are extended via extensive support for plugins. Pricing is dependent upon inclusion of Atlassian Agile (for development) or Atlassian Service Desk and upon the number of users, in both cloud or local server options.

JIRA Integrations

JIRA Competitors

Pricing

Has featureFree Trial Available?Yes
Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
Entry-level set up fee?No

JIRA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No