FoxitPhantom PDF Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
46 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-21 of 21)

Marc Shaffer | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 10, 2020

FoxitPhantom PDF Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Entire operation. To create, edit and read PDFs for sales, marketing, and tech. It handles all of our PDF needs.
  • Creating unique PDFs for all departments.
  • Easy to use, very self explanatory.
  • Strong security.
  • Make it easier to find functions.
  • Greater compression.
  • Fewer resources.
It is fantastic for creating advertising and marketing pieces both industry and consumer-facing. Excellent at creating internal training materials and information.
It is not good at creating graphic-intensive pieces.
Read Marc Shaffer's full review
Jay Werth | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2020

FoxitPhantom PDF - One of my favorite applications

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use FoxItPhantom PDF exclusively for saving and editing PDFs. I've recommended it to colleagues. Our company has not mandated a PDF standard. For me, the program allows me to easily and readily edit PDF content and append a PDF file with other files. It performs so much more rapidly than Adobe.
  • Editing text content.
  • Appending PDF documents or individual pages.
  • Inserting and deleting PDF docs or individual pages.
  • I do not have suggestions for improvement. This application addresses all my uses more than adequately.
Very well suited for inserting or deleting individual PDF pages or entire documents. Easy to sort docs or pages if you need to move them in the whole document. Easy insertion of text or editing text. Not as good working with graphics but there are other programs typically used to create graphic material.
Read Jay Werth's full review
Alfred Simmons | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

Nice and affordable software product for managing PDFs and has a great OCR system

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FoxitPhantom PDF in our marketing department because it provides many great features and it is also available at a very affordable price. One of the great features that I like about it is the OCR. We usually receive a lot of hard copies surveys that we use for our marketing research and the OCR helps us to convert them to a fully editable word doc or excel that we can use right away for our work.
  • Convert and combine docs quickly and easy.
  • The best OCR system so far.
  • Editing text and adding boxes makes some errors while printing.
Foxit Phantom PDF is an affordable and easy to use software product for document management. It also works so well with Microsoft project and can perform OCR in a fast and clean way. I highly recommend it for people who work a lot with scanning hard copy documents.
Read Alfred Simmons's full review
Robert Barnabi | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 24, 2020

Foxit > Adobe

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF fits a simple need of combining multiple PDFs or resorting pages of multiple PDFs into one new PDF. Foxit is cost effective compared to the more popular Adobe. Foxit can be purchased and owned vs Adobe subscription service model.
  • Cost effective PDF creator.
  • Opens and creates PDF.
  • Not perfect graphic import from some Adobe PDF.
  • Some users have learning curve when coming from Adobe.
FoxitPhantom excels in the simple PDF edit, creation, modify of PDF files without the high cost or subscription of Adobe Pro PC. Every small business should be using this over Adobe.
Read Robert Barnabi's full review
Guy G. Gray | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 06, 2019

FoxitPhantom - A Must Have for any user utilizing PDF's in their daily activities

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We us FoxitPhantom during our lease abstracting process. Clients send us their leases and in turn, we abstract them into our application. Helping our clients requires us to convert the file format to a Word document. In the past, we used Adobe Acrobat which presented a lot of challenges when converting from a PDF format to Word. With FoxitPhantom, our issues simply went away.
  • The conversion from FoxitPhantom to Word is the best in the marketplace. This is a far superior product than Adobe Acrobat.
  • Cost is 40 to 60% less expensive than Adobe.
  • The client support whether calling or online is superb.
  • Foxit will allow you do conduct a free trial to test the software.
  • Converting a non US English based lease to Word has required some additional time on our part.
Well suited for commercial real estate. Good for converting PDF documents to Word documents. The tools that come with FoxitPhantom are very easy to understand and use. Much simpler than Adobe.
Read Guy G. Gray's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 13, 2020

FoxitPhantom PDF - A cost-effective alternative

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF is being used by part of the organization. Some of the organization uses Foxit and some of the organization uses [Adobe]. I've used both and I would say FoxitPhantom PDF is a good alternative for the organizations that need to be more price-conscious. There are a lot of the features that are needed through FoxitPhantom such as digital signatures, editing PDF documents, and making fillable forms.
  • Competitive pricing.
  • Good for encrypting, and signing PDFs for confidential documents.
  • Able to manipulate PDF files and organize the pages as needed (i.e. merging or splitting documents).
  • If the organization uses both Adobe and FoxitPhantom there could be some compatibility issues (especially with digital signatures).
FoxitPhantom is cost effective for businesses and is very easy to use and learn. The interface is very user-friendly and similar to many navigation panes such as Microsoft Word. For document security, Foxit works great, with digital signatures, password protection and encryption. All key features available in Adobe are available with Foxit.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

Foxit is a great and affordable option

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Foxit PhantomPDF mainly for all of our office personnel. It is used by just about all of our departments. It is mainly used for both filling and creating fillable PDF forms. As well as viewing various PDF files. It’s very user-friendly, and I get fewer support requests for Foxit mainly due to its ease of use.
  • Creating fillable forms
  • Viewing PDFs
  • Filling out forms
  • Using digital wet signatures
  • Sometimes when creating forms, when the forms get used the text gets misaligned.
  • Forms created in Foxit sometimes show up differently in other PDF programs such as Bluebeam.
  • Foxit is more for Word documents, we as a construction company deal with a lot of PDF drawings as well, which Foxit isn’t the best PDF program for.
If you fill out a lot of PDF forms, Foxit is great at being able to fill out the form. It’s very easy to create fillable forms as well. You can easily upload a photo of your signature and use it for digitally signing documents. The platform itself is very user-friendly, most users can figure out all of its functionality.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2020

FoxitPhantom PDF hits the sweet spot right at affordable and great functionality/features.

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF is the go to PDF editing software we use. At least half of the company uses this product. This is a very solid piece of software at a reasonable price point. This is a great alternative to high cost software like Adobe or Bluebeam. We have had good results with Foxit.
  • Pretty light weight in size and doesn't take a lot of time to launch.
  • Very customizable settings that are easy to get to and understand.
  • Intuitive interface.
  • Maybe enhance the measurement abilities.
  • Link individual licenses and offer better multi-license discounts, not just for a big quantity purchase of license bought all at once.
FoxitPhantom PDF is a very good product all on its own and then when you factor in the cost when compared to some other similar software it just looks better. Half the cost and all of the functionality that we need? No-brainer. I have had only good luck with installs, support and uninstalls when moving software/license to another device.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 06, 2020

Foxit Phantom PDF - the Obvious Choice!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Multiple individuals use FoxitPhantom PDF throughout our company. With FoxitPhantom PDF, we can extract pages from documents, combine documents, and comment on each other's work - all of which have entirely streamlined our productivity. Now that we use FoxitPhantom PDF, we are much more organized as a whole.
  • Extracting and Importing Pages
  • Edit PDF like it's a Word Document
  • Occasional Freezing while Searching
  • Recognizing Pre-Designated Comment Boxes
FoxitPhantom PDF is by far the best PDF editing tool I have used, and it is EXPONENTIALLY cheaper than Adobe Acrobat. With FoxitPhantom PDF, I feel more professional because I can create concise and aesthetically pleasing documents, and comment on documents sent to me by others. I am extremely pleased with my experience.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 09, 2019

Excellent alternative to Adobe Acrobat for a fraction of the cost

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using the FoxitPhantom PDF editor software throughout almost every line of business and department. From time to time, we need to either edit or create PDF files, and the FoxitPhandom PDF editor allows us a convenient and affordable way to accomplish precisely that. We use the Foxit PDF reader as part of our standard computer image.
  • The ability to convert other formats (such as Word documents) to PDF is a very useful feature.
  • It allows you to combine multiple PDF files to a single file, or take one and split to multiple files.
  • OCR functionality helps to save us time rather than having to recreate entire documents.
  • It offers a context-menu integration so right-clicking gives you the ability to create/edit files easily.
  • There is a little bit of a learning curve in editing documents.
  • You have to make sure that you have the correct option/tool selected when trying to edit an existing form, otherwise, it will not allow you to edit what you are trying to. For example, if you want to edit a text box, you cannot simply click the text box, you have to select the Text box function, then you can click the box you want to edit.
  • Could use more intuitive menus/tools to make it easier to use the application without having to look at tutorials or help files to figure out how to edit.
FoxitPhantom PDF is a very affordable alternative to Adobe Acrobat Pro. Once you get the hang of using the software, it is very capable and offers a lot of features. If you don't have time to learn new software, it will be challenging to use at first and expect to consult the Help menus quite a bit to figure out how to accomplish specific tasks.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 31, 2019

Superior functionality for less than the competitors

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF is being used throughout my organization. It is being used to view, edit, protect, covert, merge and annotate PDFs. It has come in handy especially when converting documents from PDF to Excel and vice versa. When looking for software that provided all these powerful features, this came in at the lowest cost.
  • FoxitPhantom carries superior editing tools over Adobe Acrobat and similar products. It allows you to modify text, images, & objects in a more robust fashion
  • Integrates well with Microsoft Office products such as Word, PPT, & Excel
  • Allows you to work in a nearly paperless environment
  • Not that this is unique to just FoxitPhantom, but the OCR technology can certainly get tripped up with more complex documents
  • Converting documents from PDF to Excel can still have problems
If you are looking for a cheaper replacement to Adobe Acrobat, this is the product for you. It does just about everything Acrobat does and some of the similar features work even better on FoxitPhantom. The ribbon UI on the software is similar to the Microsoft Office suite products, so it is an easy transition to make.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

FoxitPhantom PDF Solves Basics PDF Tool Needs

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF was rolled out organization-wide to replace Adobe Acrobat and achieve significant cost savings. Most in the organization need a simple PDF reader and this tool does the job. Some groups within the organization insisted on keeping Adobe (i.e compliance, legal, marketing) due to higher than average document review and redlining, but the compatibility between the two tools is not perfect.
  • PDF Viewing
  • PDF Editing
  • Viewing Multiple PDFs at Once
  • PDF commenting/annotating
  • Compatibility with other PDF tools
  • Design/User experience
FoxitPhantom PDF could be well suited for basic PDF reading/editing needs. In order to function properly, I think everyone in the organization needs to be using the tool. In cases where an organization has multiple PDF tools, FoxitPhantom PDF can have compatibility issues. This is especially true when working with outside vendors who use other PDF tools, like Adobe, for annotating or reviewing your annotations. For example, comments or annotations may not show up correctly or are not as intuitive as in the PDF tool they were created on. Other internal teams like compliance and legal also use Adobe because they did not like Foxit and review so many documents. For those who do not have Adobe internally, Foxit can cause annotations to be missed when they aren't intuitively displayed to the Foxit user when they were written in another tool like Adobe.
Read this authenticated review
Julián González | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 04, 2018

Once you use Foxit you may never go back to your previous PDF software.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bloomstar is an organization with 350+ employees in four locations across Canada.
During the last year we have been updating our software and now we use Foxit as our default software to manage PDF documents.
Foxit Reader has the feeling of a full PDF software and is intuitive and friendlier than other PDF readers. The Phantom version offers all the capabilities of editing, signing documents, sharing, presentations, etc. However, it is still in the transition stage where some users have a local license of a different PDF editor but soon will be using Foxit Phantom too.
Document filing and storage is probably the most common use of Foxit at Bloomstar, especially related to human resources where all employees documents are now filed electronically. In our industry there are a lot of new seasonal hires during floral holidays and using a friendly PDF tool to manage the employees files is very convenient.
  • One thing that stands out is the way Foxit manages all the tabs of the opened documents. It probably sound simplistic but it has the feeling of a web browser like Chrome, but better because when you have a lot of opened documents, you don't get these microscopic tabs that get smaller and smaller, instead you can use arrows that go left-and-right and you can see your tabs and actually read what they are. Similar to the worksheets tabs in the lower part of an Excel file where you can move sideways to keep looking all your worksheets in a document, but even better -again- because you also have a top-right drop-down arrow that will show the full list of documents in a drop-down window, this is similar to the favorites tabs in Chrome where you have a limited number of favorites on the top bar and the rest of them are shown in a list.
  • Foxit is interconnected with their online application. When you want to convert a PDF document into a different type like Word for example, you just click on the extras menu on the top, select convert to Word and then it is interesting that it actually opens your browser and goes to Foxit Online. The great advantage that I see with this process is that you get instant connectivity with everything because Foxit will give you all the available options to store your converted file and that can be Google Drive, Dropbox, One Drive, etc, and of course, your local drive.
  • Mobility is an advantage. Your user is independent of your installed software in your computer. You can access anywhere online, you can have all your store documents in the cloud and if you don't have access to your computer where you have Phantom installed it doesn't really matter because you can pretty much do everything on Foxit Online, so it gives you all the mobility you need.
  • One thing that can be a problem for some users is that at least when running on Windows 10 you can easily find yourself opening PDF files with Microsoft Edge when what you really want is to use Foxit. Somehow Edge overrides the default reader for PDF files and you need to know how to set your default program and do it manually. This is not a particular problem of Foxit but it would be nice to prevent Edge from overtaking the PDF files.
  • Foxit does so many things that it takes time to get familiar with all the small icons that are pretty much everywhere around your interface. You have this tiny quick access tool bar on the top left and some others on the top right, then a couple more on the lower middle. The only problem that I see is that they are tiny and I understand that we all want to maximize the working area on the screen but there could be an option to make them bigger.
  • One downside for some users is that you need to be logged in to your user. I mentioned this as an advantage because it gives you all the connectivity but on the other hand if you don't have internet access or you want to work as a stand-alone user it may be complicated.
FoxitPhantom is very good for sharing files, commenting on files with coworkers, and converting files into other formats. It is also excellent to save your files in every cloud service you use, no matter which one you use. For a basic user who only needs to read PDF documents, a full version like FoxitPhantom is less appropriate and the free reader would be a better option.
Read Julián González's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 10, 2018

Top Notch Functionality For Less

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All of our corporate departments use FoxitPhantom and I personally use it on a daily basis. We made the switch from a similar software a few years ago and the transition was fairly seamless. FoxitPhantom can do everything that I need it to do; print straight to pdf, merge documents, highlight, comment, rearrange pages, extract pages, add watermarks, and password protect. This software has been vital in our transition to become "paperless".
  • In my experience, FoxitPhantom can do everything that its better known pdf software competitor can do but it does it for a much better price.
  • Arranging pages, deleting pages, or merging documents is super easy.
  • I much prefer to "print to pdf" instead of printing out hard copies of documents. This software makes saving straight to pdf a breeze.
  • I have a dual monitor setup at work and there are times when I wish that I could view pdf documents on both monitors at the same time. I have not yet figured out how to do that with FoxitPhantom as it appears to limit the user to displaying multiple pdf documents as separate tabs on the same screen. If dual screen is an option in the software, it needs to be more apparent.
  • I can't think of any other desired improvements. This software really does everything that I need it to do.
FoxitPhantom works very well for any kind of business administrative function; particularly in a "paperless" business environment. Documents that are originally created using Adobe Acrobat work seamlessly in Foxit and can be merged and edited with other documents. In my mind, the only limitation to the software is that it may not work well in situations where you need to view two documents on different monitors at the same time.
Read this authenticated review
Rose Kipkemoi | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 28, 2018

Best document reader

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Foxit Phantom PDF is used by our organization to read, highlight, comment and edit documents for users to read online and manually. It is used across all departments in our organization it is easy to use and install and does not require any technical skills for one to operate. I personally use this software to write articles and edit them for use on my blog and on the company's website.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to setup
  • You can be able to read, comment, highlight and edit documents
  • Tabbed user interface
  • User-friendly
  • Great software for document reading
  • I have no negative comments on this software
FoxitPhantom PDF is suitable to all users whether in a large or small organisation. It supplements all users needs and requirements therefore better than other document reading softwares.
Read Rose Kipkemoi's full review
anne wanjau | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 28, 2018

Feature rich PDF reader and editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF has been the most important PDF documents and PDF reports reader at work and at home. I like FoxitPhantom because of its clean user interface, ability to zoom in and zoom out documents, adding notes to documents while I read, Share documents with colleagues through email or social media and also convert PDF files to other file formats.
  • Zooming in and zooming out of PDF documents and reports
  • Ability to add notes to a PDF while reading
  • Capability to share files with colleagues and friends
  • Stamping of pdf documents
  • Easy to use graphical user interface
  • Foxit is the best PDFviewer out there, However, an improvement on how to use new features that may be availed later would be very helpful.
FoxitPhantom PDF is suitable for viewing of ebooks, reports, scanned documents and downloaded PDFs either in the office or for personal use. Reports generated from web-based applications are also very well viewed in FoxitPhantom compared to other readers I had used.
Read anne wanjau's full review
Nick Bencivenga | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 13, 2017

Foxit - the ultimate PDF viewer and editor

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We replaced the standard Adobe Acrobat with Foxit when we were faced with purchasing a new Adobe license a few years ago. Since converting our first user, we've never looked back. Our whole organization now utilizes FoxIt, and the experience is far superior to Acrobat. The ability to have tabbed instances, the word recognition, highlighting, etc... just everything is easier. There are so many options, too - so each user gets to do what they want how they want.
  • Multiple instances. You can choose to have "tabbed" set up like your web browser, OR you can allow multiple windows. It's great that you can choose this.
  • It's fantastic at making common features quick-clicks. For example, you can select multiple PDFs in your explorer window, and right click to get to the FoxIt menu. From there, you can select "Combine" and instantly put several documents in the same place. VERY handy!
  • Text recognition is very solid. I've had it decipher some pretty ugly looking faxes with remarkable accuracy.
  • Eh there's nothing big. Minor stuff is that they default to a start page... easily fixable.
  • Really I can't think of another negative. This program is fantastic.
Anyone who edits more than one PDF at a time, who does form field editing, or who is regularly viewing multiple PDFs. If you use Acrobat at all, this is a great replacement. Any organizations where users have varying preferences would do well, since each user can change almost every aspect of the program to their liking.
Read Nick Bencivenga's full review
Brian Hopper | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2017

Tons of features + low cost = winning combination

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the organization as our PDF editor of choice. It allows us to edit PDFs in a simple, easy to use manner, but more importantly it cut down on costs associated with having expensive Adobe Acrobat licensing.
  • Converting documents to PDFs is a breeze. You can do it from within a Word document with the Foxit plugin, or straight from Windows Explorer by right-clicking. You can even select multiple word documents and combine them with a click of a button!
  • Working with multiple PDFs is easy with Foxit. Being able to choose between having different PDFs in tabs or windows, and the ability to drag and drop to rearrange pages is a nice touch. You can even drag and drop pages from one document to the other.
  • The OCR functionality is great. Being able to scan a document and then select text makes my life a lot easier.
  • Using the form fields can be challenging. While some aspects are intuitive, other aspects - like setting a tab order - can be confusing.
  • The user interface is older looking. Would definitely like to have things easier to use. Clients of ours complain that it isn't "pretty" like Adobe.
  • I've never liked having to change the pointer option (hand vs text selector) to do different things. Always trips me up.
A large number of users that are switching from Adobe is a great scenario because it is much more cost effective.

A scenario where it is less appropriate would be where someone uses a CRM or ERP that requires Adobe integration (this happens).
Read Brian Hopper's full review
Jeremiah Alexander | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 14, 2017

FoxitPhantom PDF is a paperless dream come true...

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We currently use FoxitPhantom PDF to convert all our documents to a paperless PDF filing system. We are cleared over 30 filing cabinets so far. We also have implemented an scan-and-shred system where every (well almost every) new document that comes in is immediately scanned and then shredded. Finally we use the PDF optimizer to save space on all our large files.
  • Shrinking PDF files
  • Combining multiple PDF's into one
  • Converting to PDF and printing to PDF
  • Their PDF editing is not very intuitive and building from a blank PDF is frustrating
  • When it does crash, the crash reporting tool has never worked right.
  • Edit text sometimes has problems grabbing the correct text on a busy page
For smaller companies looking to go paperless it is perfect. It's affordable, easy to use, and has a really good workflow for converting everything. I think it also works well for companies who are looking to convert just their mail to email attachments. This was actually where we started and it worked flawlessly. I think bigger companies would need something more integrated or will already have the same features built into a larger system.
Read Jeremiah Alexander's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 03, 2017

Great Adobe Alternative

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use FoxitPhantom for those users that have a need to create and edit PDF documents. It gives us the ability to modify PDFs quickly and easily.
  • The UI is very similar to the Microsoft Office "Ribbon", so our users have learned it quite quickly.
  • Very good OCR and edit capabilities.
  • While not exactly small in size, it's far smaller and lighter on system resources than Adobe.
  • Subpar support experience. If you have an issue that requires their intervention it requires a lot of handholding and cajoling on my end to get a resolution.
  • In multi-user environments (i.e. Citrix), it constantly tries to update itself leading to multiple update files in my users' profiles. Although it has GPO extensions that should prevent this, they are not particularly effective.
  • They've begun cloud based document software in their apps.
It is a cost-effective, "lighter weight" alternative to Adobe Acrobat. It works great when installed directly on a user's workstation but I'd be hesitant to install it in a terminal server environment.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 17, 2016

Descriptive review of FoxitPhantom PDF

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
FoxitPhantom PDF was used at my previous employer because it was cheaper, easier to use and was much lighter on our systems then Adobe.
  • Cheaper than Adobe which saves money.
  • Much easier for our end users.
  • Much lighter on system resources which increases performance.
  • OCR character reading
  • Handling of complex documents
This PDF software should be very good for everyday users and most business people. You can also convert multiple documents and the toolbars are pretty easy to use. It also handles unfamiliar fonts well, which I like.

I'd like to see the ability to save a pdf to ePub in future versions.

Read this authenticated review

About FoxitPhantom PDF

FoxitPhantom PDF is a document management software offering from FoxIt.

FoxitPhantom PDF Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No