On-Screen Takeoff Reviews

35 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-16 of 16)

Kyle Montague | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 25, 2020

Watch yourself work

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize On-Screen Takeoff from start to finish on all projects.
  • Increases the speed of the estimating process
  • Allows us to break down the project into manageable pieces
  • It would be nice if you could select an object that occurs on multiple sheets, copy, and paste it into change orders or alternates.
  • If you could search for where a certain condition is being used (which sheet) and go directly to that page or pages, that would be cool.
  • I would recommend On-Screen Takeoff to any contractor that is not using it for estimating purposes. It helps the process in so many ways.
  • I guess if it was something straightforward, it might not be the most cost-effective solution. For what we do, it is indispensable.
Read Kyle Montague's full review
christian Maxwell | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 21, 2020

Takeoff Super Software

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We largely use On-Screen Takeoff in our estimating department to put together our estimates for bid proposals, but we also have a number of others who use this software within the company. Our self performed concrete department uses it for their estimates and for planning their order quantities. We also have a number of project managers and project engineers that will use the software every now and then for verifying a proposed quantity or amount from a trade partner. Overall it is most heavily used in our estimating department but it has provided a lot of benefits throughout our organization.
  • The biggest thing for me is that it is so easy to use, which allows it to be used widely throughout our organization without a lot of intense training.
  • Another great thing is that it does not matter how big or little the scope of the take off may be, it works just as well for a whole 12 story building take off as it does for a stretch of sidewalk.
  • I think it would be great if it could work on a file from a shared central location rather than from the local computer's files.
  • I would also like to see some more options for how I can export data to excel or other files for analysis and reporting.
On-Screen Takeoff is well suited for the large majority of tasks that involve gathering quantities and amounts from plans and drawings. It is so versatile and flexible that it does not matter the project type or scale the software is going to make your takeoff production rates much higher than with most other software. I have found that there are a few cases that may not justify getting a license for the software since the scope and accuracy of the take offs required are so minimal and relaxed that another simple or free software may be a more economical choice.
Read christian Maxwell's full review
Howar Vogin | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 15, 2020

On-Screen Takeoff - Is a great product for reading prints and preparing quotes

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it to read prints and prepare quotes for clients.
  • Read Prints
  • On Screen Measuring to verify plans
  • Switching between different sheets of the plan set
It is an excellent product for reading plans to prepare bids and validate field information.
Read Howar Vogin's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 11, 2020

On-Screen Takeoff Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At our company, we use On-Screen Takeoff as an estimating tool to help obtain quantities or take-off on projects. Additionally, we use it on the project management side to help write change orders and to obtain quantity take-off. This software helps to address the need to print and scale drawings as it can be completed digitally.
  • Accutate
  • Support
  • Ease of use
  • Organization made easy
  • Cost
  • Speed of converting .pdf files to .tiff files
  • Ability to read pdfs via OCR
We enjoy using this estimating software and would highly recommend companies of 10 to 1,000 use it. After you sit down and use On-Screen Takeoff for a week, it becomes second nature and makes completing quantity take-off easy. We have incorporated this software into our estimating and have also used it to secure estimated projects. We can show and present our take-off to the client to ensure accuracy.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

On-Screen Takeoff is the standard to beat

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to gather quantities from construction drawings to help compile a comprehensive estimate that includes current market pricing and quantities based off of those gathered.
  • It speeds up the bidding process of construction projects.
  • It simplifies our job as estimators and allows us to accurately compile large amounts of content as well as allowing us to navigate drawings easier.
  • Only one individual is allowed into a project at a given time.
  • As file sizes get larger the project will begin to slow down.
Being able to quantify every detail of a construction project via the contract documents and drawings and compiling it all in one place to be used in an estimate or distributed to subcontractors is something you can't really put a value on.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 14, 2020

On-Screen Takeoff saves time and provides quality output

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our use of On-Screen Takeoff allows us to accurately and effectively put together estimates and cross check subcontractor values. With On-Screen Takeoff our pre-construction process can fill in holes that would otherwise be guesses. Not only can we dial in the quantity values, but we can then communicate these values to our subcontractors as needed. The ability to combine multiple takeoff functions into a single takeoff condition also speeds up the process enabling us to meet accelerated timeframes.
  • Quantity Takeoff
  • Organization
  • User interface is dated.
  • The functionality is intuitive to a point, but advanced features required digging and training.
Estimating and pre-construction where quantities are required are the focus of On-Screen Takeoff. There is a fantastic color coding and legend available to embed in the sheets, enabling clear communication of scope and values to both owners and subcontractors. I feel the clarity provided in these takeoff sheets cannot be as well provided by other software.
Read this authenticated review
Aaron Graves | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 11, 2018

Powerful and Efficient

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-Screen Takeoff is the preeminent takeoff software. On-Screen Takeoff has incredible capabilities for cross calculations, complex divisions of quantities and back calculations from 2D plans. With On-Screen Takeoff's database abilities, we are able to save ourselves dozens of man-hours every bid by having our conditions pre-organized, pre-created, and with automatic layers built in. To take your estimates to the next level, On-Screen Takeoff is a must.
  • Takeoff
  • Calculating by area
  • Calculating by bid package
  • Using more than one of their sectioning tools at once. For instance, you must use a typical areas and zones to get areas within areas
  • Tutorials - On-Screen Takeoff has an amazing depth of features but their tutorial videos barely scrape the surface
On-Screen Takeoff shines for any situation where you want higher consistency and accuracy from your estimates. Between their features such as zones, areas, typical groups, style sets and databases, On-Screen Takeoff allows your estimating team to fly. If you're willing to put in the upfront time to educate and build your workflows, On-Screen Takeoff gives companies the ability to assemble estimates and perform hand-offs seamlessly.
Read Aaron Graves's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 07, 2019

On-Screen Takeoff: Great for Conceptual Estimates!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use On-Screen Takeoff to gather quantities of material. Mostly everyone who is involved in the day-to-day process of putting together bids & creating RFIs uses it. It is very beneficial for conceptual estimating as well. The software does a phenomenal job of keeping everything organized from the space you are analyzing and different trades of work—keeping the quantities in an itemized printable list making it easy for anyone to comprehend.
  • Organization
  • Creating visuals for separation of spaces
  • User-friendliness
  • The software is a little out of date
  • Display of drawings could be improved tremendously
  • It would be nice if the software knew different steel shape weights to do a complete steel tonnage takeoff
On-Screen Takeoff is great for less detailed drawings and conceptual estimate exercises. It can get hard to read markups on the drawings when there are a lot of different finishes, however. It is not that great for getting quantities for structural steel or structural concrete because there are not any weights in this software for different materials. It is very bad for collaboration among a project team of several members for the simple fact that the Takeoff file can only be saved to your computer. There is no live option for On-Screen which leaves room for mistakes and not looking at the most updated quantities.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 04, 2019

Utilize On-Screen Takeoff so you can takeoff more time!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We as general contractors use On-Screen Takeoff to gather quantities from drawings produced by architects. We can apply these quantities with unit costs in order to estimate a budget for the project. We are also able to compare these quantities with subcontractors to ensure that the budget is accurate.
  • Gathering quantities i.e. areas, counts, linear, etc.
  • Grouping these quantities as desired
  • Getting the quantities gathered in a timely fashion
  • How documents are uploaded to the program. On-Screen Takeoff will locate the files from whatever path you originally save it to. Therefore, if you move the location of the document, OST will not be able to open your project until the path is redirected.
  • Taking off curved shapes.
  • If you could apply a unit cost to a quantity, it would eliminate the need to export takeoff to Excel.
  • It would be nice to be able to apply a different scale to the same page i.e. if there are two different details on a drawing at two different scales, I have to duplicate the sheet and make sure I make each sheet scale to the specific detail on the sheet.
Well suited to takeoff quantities needed from construction documents. Many short cuts and easy to learn program. It is even effective in creating visuals for communication, i.e. can label things, color code, have the takeoff numbers on the sheet in a legend, etc. It is less appropriate to try to format the outputs in a spread sheet - will need to export to excel. It is not the best tool for constructability reviews.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 18, 2018

OST Is For Me

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Estimators and project managers use On-Screen Takeoff to get accurate counts to either order products that we directly purchase ourselves or to verify quantities that subcontractors provide us for ordering products or qualifying their bids. In instances where sub pricing is substantially different from bid to bid, doing takeoffs in-house is a great way to help level the sub's proposals.
  • User-friendly and easy to learn. You can sit down and figure out how to do simple takeoffs and counts with minimal training.
  • It is very accurate and it is great that you can do several calculations for each condition you make.
  • The colors and shapes provide a great visible audit trail.
  • The layering feature helps from keeping the screen too busy if you are doing several conditions on one page.
  • The worksheet tab keeps tallies of all the takeoffs from each page nicely.
  • The backout mode feature can be a pain sometimes if you are trying to get real close to the edge of the takeoff you made and are trying to delete from.
  • If you create a project then move the file, you are screwed.
Well suited if you order a lot of product for your projects because the visible audit trail makes counting easier. If you are a subcontractor and you set up assemblies to the conditions you will know exact quantities of materials for whatever condition you are measuring.

In a way it is almost too good because having too accurate of counts for bidding purposes can make your bid too high and you won't win the work!
Read this authenticated review
Tom HALL | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 24, 2018

On-Screen Take Off benifits Project Managers Too

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-Screen Takeoff is used by our estimating team to bid work and our project manager team to price up changes on existing projects.
  • Overlaying drawings help with finding changes
  • Take off multiple floors at the same time
  • Accurate and quick takeoffs
  • Not to sure if it can be improved.
For myself I only use it for big changes on a project which has multiple drawing changes.
Read Tom HALL's full review
Tim Vitek | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 10, 2016

Good product!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use OST to perform construction material takeoffs.
  • Ease of adaptability. Making new conditions for new items.
  • Links with custom built Excel files nicely.
  • Once conditions are deleted, there is no getting them back.
[On-Screen Takeoff is well suited to] Area/count takeoffs.
Read Tim Vitek's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2017

Future of Construction Takeoff

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly being used by just the estimating department. We use On-Screen to do takeoffs to verify our subcontractors' quantities when they send their proposals in. We also use OST to print out some of our takeoffs which are then shown to the owner in the preconstruction phase of negotiated projects.
  • Very easy to create conditions and to access that condition again and again throughout your project.
  • Navigating the drawings and controls are very easy to use.
  • Copying and pasting of takeoffs is very easy and a function that I use very frequently.
  • Make use of vector PDFs. Other software on the market makes use of these PDFs and makes it so that doing takeoffs is much more efficient. When you can snap to a line, or fill in a room, because the software can read where lines are, it makes it much more efficient.... and accurate.
  • Copying takeoffs from one project to another is cumbersome. Hopefully they can come up with a better way of doing this. Maybe being able to open two projects at once rather than closing one and opening another for each condition.
  • Ability to hyperlink drawings like BlueBeam does. This would be HUGE!!!
  • When I do a takeoff, such as a wall takeoff, I have to enter in the thickness and height of the wall. Because all of the information is already there, you should be able to click a button, or something similar, and have the view to turn to 3D. Then you would be able to go back a visualize in 3D what you just took off. The folks at OST have repeatedly turned away from working in 3D. This is the future and if OST doesn't catch up, they will get left behind. We are still years away from doing away with 2D takeoff, but it's something to consider. The function I have requested is just a matter of programming, the information is already being input by the user. It appears the OST programmers are just too stubborn or lazy to add a feature like this.
  • Being able to have multiple users access one project and update takeoff in real time. See other's takeoffs and be able to copy their takeoffs. Many trade takeoffs are taking off the same thing. For example, the drywall qty is often the same as the painting qty. The estimator doing a paint takeoff should be able to copy the drywall estimator's takeoff.
I think most of the reasoning was just provided on the previous pros and cons questions. On-Screen Takeoff (OST) is well suited for doing either quick takeoffs or getting into an elaborate, detailed takeoff. All though the viewing tools are quick and easy, I would still very much prefer using BlueBeam for looking through an overall set of drawings. With all of the hyperlink and bookmark functions of BlueBeam, OST doesn't compare and I rarely use OST unless I'm actually doing a takeoff.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2016

OST for Precision

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OST is currently being used by the estimators in our metal decking department and other departments within the company. It's a great program that helps us estimate jobs accurately and quickly. Most importantly we're able to edit our take-offs, which is common industry practice, in a very organized manner. We've used to quantify square feet, linear footage, and quantities for various line items. The best part is that we can customize our databases to our department's needs.
  • Not only does OST allow you to do square foot take-offs, but you can also set the areas taken off to include dimensional lines within the sq. ft. area, which is very helpful for our scope of work.
  • Setting slopes, to LF or SF, is very easily done without having to add factors for slope manually.
  • You're able to assign different areas within a single sheet of take-off.
  • If our SF items were to be able to be taken off with increments of x amount of feet (e.g. increments of 3'-0").
  • Able to have a way of keeping track of updated sets of take-offs without having to reassign areas after each set (e.g. floor areas_1-31-16, floor areas_3-31-16, floor areas_6-30-16).
  • I would like it if I our backup database would be simpler to find; however, I believe this is an internal issue rather than a software issue.

OST is well suited when it comes to repetitive areas because you don't need to duplicate the sheets over and over again. All you simply need to do is assign the sheet to repeat x amount of times and the program will multiply each line item take off x amount of times.


Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 02, 2016

On-Screen Takeoff Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-Screen Takeoff is used by Estimators to perform take-offs on projects ranging from the retail, academic, and hospitality divisions. It is also used by Project Managers / Assistant Project Managers for quick take-offs, but they aren't as well versed in the program as estimators are. On-Screen consolidates take-offs in one location and constantly saves your work.
  • On-Screen saves automatically. It's great not to worry about when you last saved a document or potentially losing all your work if your computer crashes / freezes.
  • On-Screen allows you to create layers so that you can hide / show certain take offs. It's helpful when you're performing take-offs for multiple trades (drywall, electrical, lighting, flooring, etc) and have the ability to quickly turn the layers off and on.
  • On-Screen can export your take-offs to an excel file.
  • It would be nice if they added a functionality to jump to another page. For example, if you're working on a construction plan and it references a specific elevation or detail on another sheet, you can link to it from the construction plan and jump between sheets quickly. An alternative to that could also be adding a "recently viewed sheets" section so you can jump between pages quickly.
  • If On-Screen had OCR added, it could quickly rename all the sheets by looking at the title block.
  • Adding new sheets to a current bid can be improved. It isn't user friendly / easy to navigate to.
On-Screen takeoff helps when estimators put together pricing for bids & budgets on a whole project - whether the project is large or small.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (9)
8.6
Plan markups & sharing (11)
8.5
Issue tracking & punchlists (3)
5.4
Photo documentation (2)
2.3
Jobsite reports (1)
9
Document sharing (8)
6.2
RFI tools (3)
7.6
Collaboration & approvals (4)
4.5
As-built drawings (6)
6.0
Mobile app (1)
9
Takeoff tools (10)
9.6
Job costing (8)
8.0
Cost databases (7)
5.9
Cost calculator (7)
6.8
Bid creation (6)
6.3

About On-Screen Takeoff

On-Screen Takeoff is a construction takeoff and estimating solution. It is intended to streamline bidding and RFI processes. On-Screen Takeoff includes core takeoff functionality, as well as automation features like auto-count and Intelligent Paste Logic. It also features bid management abilities like bid packaging, timestamping, bid changes, and API integration to interface with 3rd party estimating programs. The program also includes plan organization capabilities like plan sharing, importing, and warehousing and security.
Categories:  Construction

On-Screen Takeoff Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No