TrustRadius
On-Screen Take Off benifits Project Managers TooOn-Screen Takeoff is used by our estimating team to bid work and our project manager team to price up changes on existing projects.,Overlaying drawings help with finding changes Take off multiple floors at the same time Accurate and quick takeoffs,Not to sure if it can be improved.,10,eSUB Construction Software,eSUB Construction Software, PlanGridFuture of Construction TakeoffIt is mainly being used by just the estimating department. We use On-Screen to do takeoffs to verify our subcontractors' quantities when they send their proposals in. We also use OST to print out some of our takeoffs which are then shown to the owner in the preconstruction phase of negotiated projects.,Very easy to create conditions and to access that condition again and again throughout your project. Navigating the drawings and controls are very easy to use. Copying and pasting of takeoffs is very easy and a function that I use very frequently.,Make use of vector PDFs. Other software on the market makes use of these PDFs and makes it so that doing takeoffs is much more efficient. When you can snap to a line, or fill in a room, because the software can read where lines are, it makes it much more efficient.... and accurate. Copying takeoffs from one project to another is cumbersome. Hopefully they can come up with a better way of doing this. Maybe being able to open two projects at once rather than closing one and opening another for each condition. Ability to hyperlink drawings like BlueBeam does. This would be HUGE!!! When I do a takeoff, such as a wall takeoff, I have to enter in the thickness and height of the wall. Because all of the information is already there, you should be able to click a button, or something similar, and have the view to turn to 3D. Then you would be able to go back a visualize in 3D what you just took off. The folks at OST have repeatedly turned away from working in 3D. This is the future and if OST doesn't catch up, they will get left behind. We are still years away from doing away with 2D takeoff, but it's something to consider. The function I have requested is just a matter of programming, the information is already being input by the user. It appears the OST programmers are just too stubborn or lazy to add a feature like this. Being able to have multiple users access one project and update takeoff in real time. See other's takeoffs and be able to copy their takeoffs. Many trade takeoffs are taking off the same thing. For example, the drywall qty is often the same as the painting qty. The estimator doing a paint takeoff should be able to copy the drywall estimator's takeoff.,8,It makes it much quicker for doing 2D takeoffs and estimators are able to get things done more quickly Being able to print out takeoffs in color and take them to the owner has been a good sales tool. Although, this is becoming archaic and OST needs to come up with 3D functionality. Owners are rarely impressed with colored 2D takeoffs like they used to be.,eTakeoff and Bluebeam Revu,Revit, Bluebeam RevuGood product!I use OST to perform construction material takeoffs.,Ease of adaptability. Making new conditions for new items. Links with custom built Excel files nicely.,Once conditions are deleted, there is no getting them back.,10,It has greatly helped with productivity.,,ProcoreOST for PrecisionOST is currently being used by the estimators in our metal decking department and other departments within the company. It's a great program that helps us estimate jobs accurately and quickly. Most importantly we're able to edit our take-offs, which is common industry practice, in a very organized manner. We've used to quantify square feet, linear footage, and quantities for various line items. The best part is that we can customize our databases to our department's needs.,Not only does OST allow you to do square foot take-offs, but you can also set the areas taken off to include dimensional lines within the sq. ft. area, which is very helpful for our scope of work. Setting slopes, to LF or SF, is very easily done without having to add factors for slope manually. You're able to assign different areas within a single sheet of take-off.,If our SF items were to be able to be taken off with increments of x amount of feet (e.g. increments of 3'-0"). Able to have a way of keeping track of updated sets of take-offs without having to reassign areas after each set (e.g. floor areas_1-31-16, floor areas_3-31-16, floor areas_6-30-16). I would like it if I our backup database would be simpler to find; however, I believe this is an internal issue rather than a software issue.,9,Definitely a lot more precise than conventional methods. Less prone to making mistake when adding up quantities in the summary for each area assigned. Certain line items are easier to take off manually than using OST. (e.g. when counting the number of shear studs on each beam on each floor plan). I prefer just pulling out an old calculator because it's faster than assigning each beam x amount of shear studs. If OST can somehow read the boxed numbers on the plans, this would save me at least 1/3 of my time on each sheet.,,Bluebeam RevuOn-Screen Takeoff ReviewOn-Screen Takeoff is used by Estimators to perform take-offs on projects ranging from the retail, academic, and hospitality divisions. It is also used by Project Managers / Assistant Project Managers for quick take-offs, but they aren't as well versed in the program as estimators are. On-Screen consolidates take-offs in one location and constantly saves your work.,On-Screen saves automatically. It's great not to worry about when you last saved a document or potentially losing all your work if your computer crashes / freezes. On-Screen allows you to create layers so that you can hide / show certain take offs. It's helpful when you're performing take-offs for multiple trades (drywall, electrical, lighting, flooring, etc) and have the ability to quickly turn the layers off and on. On-Screen can export your take-offs to an excel file.,It would be nice if they added a functionality to jump to another page. For example, if you're working on a construction plan and it references a specific elevation or detail on another sheet, you can link to it from the construction plan and jump between sheets quickly. An alternative to that could also be adding a "recently viewed sheets" section so you can jump between pages quickly. If On-Screen had OCR added, it could quickly rename all the sheets by looking at the title block. Adding new sheets to a current bid can be improved. It isn't user friendly / easy to navigate to.,10,It saves a lot of time especially when you need to revisit or redo a take-off. It's faster to upload & perform a take-off in On-Screen versus doing take-offs by hand. Although there is still room for error, there is less error in On-Screen since you set the scale of each sheet and it auto calculates your take-offs as you move along.,Bluebeam Revu,Bluebeam Revu, CMiC Project Management
Unspecified
On-Screen Takeoff
24 Ratings
Score 8.9 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

On-Screen Takeoff Reviews

On-Screen Takeoff
24 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 101
Top Rated Award
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 24 vetted On-Screen Takeoff reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-6 of 6)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Tom HALL profile photo
May 24, 2018

On-Screen Takeoff Review: "On-Screen Take Off benifits Project Managers Too"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-Screen Takeoff is used by our estimating team to bid work and our project manager team to price up changes on existing projects.
  • Overlaying drawings help with finding changes
  • Take off multiple floors at the same time
  • Accurate and quick takeoffs
  • Not to sure if it can be improved.
For myself I only use it for big changes on a project which has multiple drawing changes.
Read Tom HALL's full review
No photo available
March 20, 2017

On-Screen Takeoff Review: "Future of Construction Takeoff"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is mainly being used by just the estimating department. We use On-Screen to do takeoffs to verify our subcontractors' quantities when they send their proposals in. We also use OST to print out some of our takeoffs which are then shown to the owner in the preconstruction phase of negotiated projects.
  • Very easy to create conditions and to access that condition again and again throughout your project.
  • Navigating the drawings and controls are very easy to use.
  • Copying and pasting of takeoffs is very easy and a function that I use very frequently.
  • Make use of vector PDFs. Other software on the market makes use of these PDFs and makes it so that doing takeoffs is much more efficient. When you can snap to a line, or fill in a room, because the software can read where lines are, it makes it much more efficient.... and accurate.
  • Copying takeoffs from one project to another is cumbersome. Hopefully they can come up with a better way of doing this. Maybe being able to open two projects at once rather than closing one and opening another for each condition.
  • Ability to hyperlink drawings like BlueBeam does. This would be HUGE!!!
  • When I do a takeoff, such as a wall takeoff, I have to enter in the thickness and height of the wall. Because all of the information is already there, you should be able to click a button, or something similar, and have the view to turn to 3D. Then you would be able to go back a visualize in 3D what you just took off. The folks at OST have repeatedly turned away from working in 3D. This is the future and if OST doesn't catch up, they will get left behind. We are still years away from doing away with 2D takeoff, but it's something to consider. The function I have requested is just a matter of programming, the information is already being input by the user. It appears the OST programmers are just too stubborn or lazy to add a feature like this.
  • Being able to have multiple users access one project and update takeoff in real time. See other's takeoffs and be able to copy their takeoffs. Many trade takeoffs are taking off the same thing. For example, the drywall qty is often the same as the painting qty. The estimator doing a paint takeoff should be able to copy the drywall estimator's takeoff.
I think most of the reasoning was just provided on the previous pros and cons questions. On-Screen Takeoff (OST) is well suited for doing either quick takeoffs or getting into an elaborate, detailed takeoff. All though the viewing tools are quick and easy, I would still very much prefer using BlueBeam for looking through an overall set of drawings. With all of the hyperlink and bookmark functions of BlueBeam, OST doesn't compare and I rarely use OST unless I'm actually doing a takeoff.
Read this authenticated review
Tim Vitek profile photo
August 10, 2016

On-Screen Takeoff Review: "Good product!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use OST to perform construction material takeoffs.
  • Ease of adaptability. Making new conditions for new items.
  • Links with custom built Excel files nicely.
  • Once conditions are deleted, there is no getting them back.
[On-Screen Takeoff is well suited to] Area/count takeoffs.
Read Tim Vitek's full review
No photo available
August 02, 2016

On-Screen Takeoff Review: "OST for Precision"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
OST is currently being used by the estimators in our metal decking department and other departments within the company. It's a great program that helps us estimate jobs accurately and quickly. Most importantly we're able to edit our take-offs, which is common industry practice, in a very organized manner. We've used to quantify square feet, linear footage, and quantities for various line items. The best part is that we can customize our databases to our department's needs.
  • Not only does OST allow you to do square foot take-offs, but you can also set the areas taken off to include dimensional lines within the sq. ft. area, which is very helpful for our scope of work.
  • Setting slopes, to LF or SF, is very easily done without having to add factors for slope manually.
  • You're able to assign different areas within a single sheet of take-off.
  • If our SF items were to be able to be taken off with increments of x amount of feet (e.g. increments of 3'-0").
  • Able to have a way of keeping track of updated sets of take-offs without having to reassign areas after each set (e.g. floor areas_1-31-16, floor areas_3-31-16, floor areas_6-30-16).
  • I would like it if I our backup database would be simpler to find; however, I believe this is an internal issue rather than a software issue.

OST is well suited when it comes to repetitive areas because you don't need to duplicate the sheets over and over again. All you simply need to do is assign the sheet to repeat x amount of times and the program will multiply each line item take off x amount of times.


Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 02, 2016

"On-Screen Takeoff Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
On-Screen Takeoff is used by Estimators to perform take-offs on projects ranging from the retail, academic, and hospitality divisions. It is also used by Project Managers / Assistant Project Managers for quick take-offs, but they aren't as well versed in the program as estimators are. On-Screen consolidates take-offs in one location and constantly saves your work.
  • On-Screen saves automatically. It's great not to worry about when you last saved a document or potentially losing all your work if your computer crashes / freezes.
  • On-Screen allows you to create layers so that you can hide / show certain take offs. It's helpful when you're performing take-offs for multiple trades (drywall, electrical, lighting, flooring, etc) and have the ability to quickly turn the layers off and on.
  • On-Screen can export your take-offs to an excel file.
  • It would be nice if they added a functionality to jump to another page. For example, if you're working on a construction plan and it references a specific elevation or detail on another sheet, you can link to it from the construction plan and jump between sheets quickly. An alternative to that could also be adding a "recently viewed sheets" section so you can jump between pages quickly.
  • If On-Screen had OCR added, it could quickly rename all the sheets by looking at the title block.
  • Adding new sheets to a current bid can be improved. It isn't user friendly / easy to navigate to.
On-Screen takeoff helps when estimators put together pricing for bids & budgets on a whole project - whether the project is large or small.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 05, 2016

On-Screen Takeoff Review: "Eh"

Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
90% of the company uses OST daily
  • Connecting takeoff
  • Snapping area takeoffs
  • Summarizing takeoff
  • Flexibility
  • Price
  • Customer Service

Works well to export to your own raw takeoff data.

Doesn't work well if the user is using multiple workstations.

Read this authenticated review

On-Screen Takeoff Scorecard Summary

Feature Scorecard Summary

Plan distribution & viewing (1)
9
Plan markups & sharing (1)
9
Issue tracking & punchlists (1)
9
Photo documentation (1)
9
Jobsite reports (1)
9
Document sharing (1)
9
RFI tools (1)
9
Collaboration & approvals (1)
9
As-built drawings (1)
9
Mobile app (1)
9

About On-Screen Takeoff

Categories:  Construction

On-Screen Takeoff Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No