GraalVM

GraalVM

Customer Verified
Top Rated
About TrustRadius Scoring
Score 8.9 out of 100
Top Rated
GraalVM

Overview

Recent Reviews

Fantastic Tool

9 out of 10
December 10, 2021
GraalVM is a really powerful technology that is being used in certain departments of my organization. This allows us to pre-compile Java …
Continue reading

Make your Applications Fast!

9 out of 10
November 24, 2021
An amazing tool that is being used in my organization to streamline Java Applications. Some of the departments are utilizing this to …
Continue reading

Totally Worthy Tool

9 out of 10
October 18, 2021
This is among the most robust and user-friendly applications that are being used in certain departments of our company. This is being used …
Continue reading

GraavlVM - great software

8 out of 10
October 08, 2021
GraalVM is used by the department where Java applications are used the most, this software provides significant performance benefits. It …
Continue reading

Amazing GraalVM!

8 out of 10
April 25, 2021
It's really good. We are using [it] throughout the entire department. It really helps us to connect and use it across multiple languages …
Continue reading

Reliable and worthy tool.

9 out of 10
April 12, 2021
We are using GraalVM in order to run some on-premises servers and to test part of our solutions. I'd say it's also a perfect tool to be …
Continue reading

Reviewer Sentiment

N/A
Positive ()
N/A
Negative ()
Learn how we calculate reviewer sentiment

Awards

TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2022
TrustRadius Award Top Rated 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Feature Set 2021
TrustRadius Best of Award, Best Of Customer Support 2021

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of GraalVM, and make your voice heard!

Pricing

View all pricing
N/A
Unavailable

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. GraalVM removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability…

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://shop.oracle.com/apex/f?p=DSTORE…

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services

Would you like us to let the vendor know that you want pricing?

7 people want pricing too

Alternatives Pricing

What is AWS IoT Core?

AWS IoT Core is a managed cloud service that lets connected devices interact with cloud applications and other devices. It includes the Device Gateway and the Message Broker, which connect and process messages between IoT devices and the cloud. AWS IoT Core connects AWS and Amazon services like AWS…

What is Firebase?

Google offers the Firebase suite of application development tools, available free or at cost for higher degree of usages, priced flexibly accorded to features needed. The suite includes A/B testing and Crashlytics, Cloud Messaging (FCM) and in-app messaging, cloud storage and NoSQL storage (Cloud…

Features Scorecard

No scorecards have been submitted for this product yet..

Product Details

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a runtime for microservices that aims to provide significant improvements in application performance and efficiency. The vendor states its ahead-of-time (AOT) compiler allows microservices to startup instantaneously with significantly smaller memory footprint.

It is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database.

GraalVM Community is available for free for any use.

GraalVM Enterprise provides additional performance, security, and scalability relevant for running applications in production. Users can get a version of GraalVM Enterprise that is free for evaluation and developing new applications via the Oracle Technology Network (OTN), or a commercially licensed version for production use via the Oracle Store.

GraalVM Competitors

GraalVM Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, SaaS
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationNo

Comparisons

View all alternatives

Frequently Asked Questions

What is GraalVM?

GraalVM is a universal virtual machine for running applications written in JavaScript, Python, Ruby, R, JVM-based languages like Java, Scala, Groovy, Kotlin, Clojure, and LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. GraalVM removes the isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. It can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK, Node.js or Oracle Database. Oracle's GraalVM Enterprise is a multilingual virtual machine, which Oracle states delivers even higher efficiency, better isolation and greater agility for enterprises in cloud and hybrid environment.

What is GraalVM's best feature?

Reviewers rate GraalVM Performance highest, with a score of 9.1.

Who uses GraalVM?

The most common users of GraalVM are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees) and the Computer Software industry.

Reviews and Ratings

 (101)

Ratings

Reviews

(1-25 of 38)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
December 10, 2021

Fantastic Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a really powerful technology that is being used in certain departments of my organization. This allows us to pre-compile Java programs and helps us to speed up the processes by using minimal resources. This is highly maintainable and easy to use for Java developers. This helps us in deploying more container services with the same hardware.
  • Reduction of application size.
  • This supports Java 111.
  • Hardware requirements have reduced because of this.
  • Minimal consumption of resources.
  • Documentation needs to be improved and in a proper manner.
  • Support of Micro services needs to be enhanced.
  • Customer Support Service is not up to the mark.
This is a perfect fit for projects where Java or other Java technologies are already being used. This minimizes the latency resulting in efficiency and effectiveness. This is very well recommended if you are working with coding and deployment. It's not suited for you if it doesn't support the language that you are using in your organization.
The support services [are] not very much up to the mark as per the market. They need to improve it to make it at par with their competitors.
Ava Jakobs | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a high-performer runtime that provides significant improvements in application performance and efficiency which is a deal for microservices. [It's] designed for application writing in Java, JavaScript, LLVM-based languages such as C and C++. It helps to do away with isolation between programming languages and enables interoperability in a shared runtime. I love that it can run either standalone or in the context of OpenJDK,Node.js or Oracle Database.
  • Run Java Faster, GraalVM can run in the context of OpenJDK to make Java applications run faster with a new just-in-time compilation technology.
  • Make Application Extensible, GraalVM enables running JavaScript, R, Python, Ruby, LLVM IR, and Web Assembly in the context of Java Data Applications.
  • Create a Native Image, running [an] application inside a Java VM comes with startup and footprint costs.
  • Documentation is not that well detailed up to date.
  • The customer support is not always available.
Its well fit for the environment where applications are written in programming languages supported by GraalVM. It's [a] very powerful and reliable, high-performer Java Virtual Machine that provides the Java Development kit i.e JDK that has the ability to compile the Java apps ahead of time. Maintenance of this tool is simple and it [increases] the efficiency of the product since it requires few resources.
The support is not that available 24.7 they need to better their services and improve to make a step ahead of other competitors in the market. Nevertheless, we are just looking for more improvement from the support team, and everything will run smoothly.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
An amazing tool that is being used in my organization to streamline Java Applications. Some of the departments are utilizing this to address the problems with the Interface of Native Java. This integrates easily with our existing applications and makes them convenient to use. This consumes [fewer] resources which makes our processes more efficient.
  • It is easily maintainable.
  • Requires minimal resources which results in low memory utilization.
  • Supports Java 11 for better performance.
  • Easily configurable.
  • No proper documentation present.
  • Few JDK versions are not supported currently.
  • Customer support is not at par with the industry standards.
This tool is particularly fit for those environments where your applications are written in programming languages supported by GraalVM. It's a wonderful tool [especially] for Java applications and reduces latency. As resource consumption is reduced, it makes everything much more efficient. Not recommended if your application's programming language is not supported by this.
The support isn't that great if we consider the other competitors in the market and needs to be improved to a great extent.
Ojas Elawadhi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used in multiple departments of my organization by the dev teams. It is a high-performance tool that helps us to speed up the processes [while] consuming very few resources. It is easily maintainable and very flexible. This has seamless integration which makes our applications very efficient.
  • This supports Java 11.
  • This is very efficient tool.
  • Highly configurable and reusable environment.
  • Support and documentation could be improved.
  • Some of the JDK versions are not supported.
  • Microservices integration is needed.
This is very well suited for products where high performance and efficiency [are] needed preferably in real-time and consistent process requirements. As not all programming languages are supported so it's not suited for you at all if your language is not supported.
The support can be improved along with the documentation part.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently trying to move our infrastructure to Spring Boot, so with the recent additions of Spring Native, I got interested in Graal VM, and found it fascinating. It provides the opportunity to make tiny docker containers which provide the ability to lower cloud hosting pricing.
  • Making smaller docker images.
  • Ability to use multiple languages like Python, NodeJS (TS), and java in polyglot environment.
  • It seems to be unexpectedly faster than regular JVM.
  • I would like to see more JavaFX support for cross platform UIs.
  • I would like to see better Java 16 support.
  • Hoping Java 17 support will come at the same time as the release.
Great for Docker containers. Also probably good for polyglot style development.
I kind of wish it was better.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is a powerful tool created by Oracle that was being used by the dev team in our organization. It is a high-performance Java Virtual Machine that also provides the Java Development Kit i.e JDK that has the ability to compile the Java applications ahead of time. Also, it helps in increasing the overall performance of the application since it consumes very fewer resources. The maintenance of the product is quite easy and it is quite flexible since it is written in Java.
  • Ability to compile the applications ahead of its time.
  • Need less resources.
  • Maintenance is easy.
  • Compiler is fast.
  • Efficiency increases.
  • Size of the applications is reduced.
  • Installation is complex.
  • Improper documentation.
  • Support for less number of languages.
GraalVM is a powerful open-source tool that consumes less memory and is a perfect product for the development team who are familiar with the Java language. The maintenance of this product is simple and it increases the efficiency of the product since it requires very few resources. It really has a very fast compiler. GraalVM is however is not suitable when it comes to migrating legacy or older applications to implement GraalVM.
GraalVM provides better performance for the Java Applications and also helps in reducing the boot time. The support provided by Oracle is great and the community has been able to help to resolve most of the issues. The user can write the code in multiple languages within a single application only. The chat support provided for the product is amazing and they have in-depth knowledge of the product and they are able to resolve the tickets within hours only.
October 18, 2021

Totally Worthy Tool

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is among the most robust and user-friendly applications that are being used in certain departments of our company. This is being used to streamline the JAVA codes and test them as well. This has seamless integration with our existing applications which makes the usage very efficient. Also, the cost of deployment is comparatively less resulting in cost savings.
  • This supports Java 11 which results in better performance.
  • Most of the programming languages are supported in this like Java, R, Javascript.
  • The memory utilization is fairly very low.
  • Customer service is bit on the back side and improvement is needed.
  • Manual efforts are needed to make certain libraries work.
  • Micro services are not properly supported.
This is very well suited for someone looking for a high-performance environment. This supports a major variety of programming languages which helps to speed up the development time. Also, it helps to troubleshoot and resolve memory issues in addition to reducing the latency to make the process more efficient. This is not suited for the applications working on some programming language that is currently not supported by this.
This community is still in the growing phase and resolution of all issues might not be available in the community. Also, there is a cost factor involved if you take enterprise support which is not great as well.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is used by the department where Java applications are used the most, this software provides significant performance benefits. It also provides a security patch against the already known vulnerabilities. It helps in optimizing the Java performance and helps in cloud-native app development.
  • Where Java is already used.
  • Already known vulnerabilities of Java can be fixed.
  • Where there's a scope for performance improvement.
  • None
  • None
  • None
It is best suited where there are multiple applications already running in Java and other JVM languages. It is based on OpenJDK that is implemented in Java. It is also suited for ahead of time compilation of Java applications. It is less appropriate for high memory footprints and where there are no Java apps.
It's very high speed.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my company, we use GraalVM as an engine for our APIs developed in Quarkus. We decided to use this tool to reduce our costs with scaling virtual machines, which with the common JVM required a lot of RAM. So far we have not had any disadvantages with using GraalVM. All our new applications are being written in a framework with native support for it. And our legacy applications are gradually being migrated to it as the community is growing and frameworks like Spring have started to receive support for GraalVM.
  • Easy to configure.
  • Consumes few resources.
  • Compatible with traditional JAVA development.
  • Nothing
I can't think of a scenario that doesn't indicate the use of GraalVM. Using this tool brings you benefits such as less use of computational resources, without impacting the learning curve of the team, which can continue developing in frameworks they already use or migrate to more modern solutions.
I never needed official support, but the community is big and I always got help from other developers.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use GraalVM Community Edition for JavaFX cross-platform app management on all major desktop platforms and iPadOS and Android. We aimed to optimize the outcome of the above using GraalVM Enterprise Edition. However, the attempt sadly failed due to licensing issues that surprisingly prevent GraalVM EE from being utilized like this. In my opinion, Oracle blocks its own business opportunities at this point. However, we continue using GraalVM EE in our boutique consulting company, informing German champions about the advantages of this amazing technology.
  • GraalVM performs very well, especially EE edition
  • The short startup times for native images push Java more towards "cloud native" experience
  • Integrating different languages using GraalVM leverages their combined strengths in an innovative way
  • It should be possible to use GraalVM EE to distribute native images of JavaFX applications for mobile platforms, especially for Apple platforms.
  • Native Images are a game changer. However, compiling complex applications can be a pain. Better support for an improved transition process are a must.
  • Cloud-native applications, microservices, etc.
  • Possibly speeding up when used as a runtime for message brokers as Kafka, Pulsar, etc. (checking this at the moment...)
  • Developing native applications can be painful; better dev experience is a must here
  • The price model for EE isn't suitable for small companies
We didn't use the support yet, but the whole onboarding process for Oracle Support is too enterprise focused and not easy to understand. No "plug&play" experience.
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Just our department, we are exploring the possibility of using GraalVM to move old java applications on [the] cloud using the advantage of native compilation in order to reduce the workload and relative costs. Right now [applications] are written in spring and are quite [a] memory consuming (we use cloud stream messaging for processing [events] from Kafka).
  • Reduce memory consumption
  • Improve performance
  • Improve startuptime
  • Really difficult to use with reflection
  • Some library not compatible (AKKA)
  • Lack of documentation
GraalVM works really well for [projects] with [a] framework already native compliant. With Spring is quite difficult in certain case to get it [to] work.
Lack of documentation for the community edition.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am an Indie developer and use GraalVM for daily development, mainly for replacing OpenJDK with it. [...] I use GraalVM to build other open-source projects that once use OpenJDK. [...]
  • [Building] AI related projects that using programming languages on JVM.
  • Accelerate Scala-based projects with native image.
  • [...]
  • The download speed for prebuilt binaries of GraalVM CE on Github is slow, and I hope more download mirrors for GraalVM could be provided, maybe directly from its home site www.graalvm.org is a good idea.
  • Hope to add built-in support OpenCL within GraalVM for heterogeneous parallel computing.
  • Hope to add support for running GraalVM on RISC-V.
GraalVM is well suited for developers who are not familiar with C++ that mainly used by OpenJDK, but really [want] to demystify the internal[s] of JVM and [customize] it for personal usage, as GraalVM is meta-circular and its Java code is much more understandable when [compared] with that of OpenJDK.
I see GraalVM can be used wonderfully on my Raspberry Pi.
April 25, 2021

Amazing GraalVM!

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's really good. We are using [it] throughout the entire department. It really helps us to connect and use it across multiple languages and libraries. Our departments find it easy [to] compile applications using it with native binaries for you programmers out there. I would highly recommend it. It's easy to use and intuitive.
  • Helps Team work
  • Increase Efficiency
  • Increase Effectiveness
  • It's is good and I don't currently see areas for improvement. Visuals are great too!
Good for Java development, compiling applications with native binaries, and helps increase our application throughput and reduce latency!! We use it on day to day basis as it seamlessly uses multiple languages and libraries. I like their advanced optimizing compiler that generates fast lean code which makes our team efficient with its speed.
Good support for [the] team and via customer support.
Sharique Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used in selective teams as an alternate to traditional JVM. A primary usage is to optimize the application compilation using the ahead of time compilation feature. One more is usage of Truffle Language Implementation framework for other JVM-supported languages such as Groovy. All this has allowed us to reduce the startup time of mission-critical applications
  • Reduces the application startup time
  • Allows usage of multiple languages, such as Java and Scala in the same codebase
  • Improved performance in range of C++
  • Notarization of Mac OS 10.15
  • Better support and documentation for debugging and profiling
  • RXVT emulator bug
Specifically on mission-critical applications, as the startup time is an order of magnitude less than traditional Java JVM-based applications, GraalVM is a great choice. Also, for a polyglot team, you need a JVM solution to support engineers skilled and comfortable in multiple programming languages. Moreover, it makes profiling easy at the JVM level to troubleshoot memory issues.
Excellent customer support wherein usually queries are resolved promptly. We can get desired guidance for architectural concerns also.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using GraalVM in order to run some on-premises servers and to test part of our solutions. I'd say it's also a perfect tool to be used by Java developers. This tool usage made us reach a new step in terms of quality tests and brought us more options.
  • Multilingual
  • Speed
  • Usability
  • Still missing some languages (DEV)
  • Looks like they still having something being developed
If you want to have a cool VM, don't spend too much memory and mainly being multilanguage go ahead.
Be aware there are some points that can be improved like a couple of languages are not accepted so far.
Like used to, it's easy to use and you can find a lot of information regarding the tool so if you need to do something fast, it's a good choice.
Like all Oracle tools, you can find a lot of documentation and also write down your questions in a forum.
Sadly I don't see too many users so far but I hope it'll keep increasing and in a short period we will have more information and ofc issues fixed. So far, everything I needed I could find easily.
April 11, 2021

Great virtual machine

Abdul Wahab Khan | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used as a preferred virtual machine by Java developers at our organization to reduce the size of applications and loading time and to improve the cold-start time for achieving the best performance of applications with high efficiency while consuming fewer resources. It improves the capability of hardware to perform well with an increased number of applications. The developers using Python, Node.JS, C, and Oracle at our organization are also using it.
  • Best performance of applications
  • High efficiency of applications
  • Reduced hardware requirements
  • Lesser consumption of resources
  • Universal support to multiple programming languages
  • Reduced size of applications
  • Creation of virtual images for testing on Android and iOS mobile operating systems
  • Creation of native images
  • Excellent support
  • Documentations are detailed enough to learn and use easily
  • Easy to use
  • Unavailability of installer makes installation a hassle
  • Compiling natives for non-Java faces problem with dependencies
I recommend GraalVM to my colleagues and other developers as the best virtual machine not only for Java but also for various programming languages to speed up development time and develop applications with enhanced performance and efficiency. It also reduces the size of an application and its cold-start time.
Their support is very helpful with very knowledgeable and experienced staff.
Ramindu Deshapriya | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization uses GraalVM to provide a standardized and optimized environment to run Java and Scala applications. This is used across departments for multiple enterprise Java solutions. GraalVM provides our organization with a Java development and deployment environment that is quick to set up for new developers and quick to configure for the deployment of new applications. With the performance enhancements that it provides, such as ahead-of-time compilation, we have found that GraalVM provides an optimum solution for running our enterprise Java applications effectively.
  • Standardizing Java dev environment
  • Making deployed applications more maintainable
  • Reusable environments for developers
  • Positive performance gain
  • Quick deployment cycles
  • Difficult to migrate legacy applications to use GraalVM
  • Initial setup for Java binaries can be difficult
  • Some configuration options can be obscure at times
GraalVM is very well suited for containerizing and running Java applications, thanks to its JIT compilation mechanisms and native Java support. If you have a modern Java application using a framework such as Spring Boot, GraalVM is a good solution to standardize your environment while making use of the optimizations provided for Java applications so that you can reduce metrics such as start up time and response time. However, if you are planning to port a legacy Java application to run on GraalVM, it may be quite difficult to find appropriate binaries for the libraries you are using.
The support we received when porting legacy applications from the GraalVM team and community was commendable. We were able to get assistance in introducing alternatives for the libraries we were using where appropriate. GraalVM support was also able to help us with some configuration options we were stuck with for configuring deployment environments on AWS compute.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Exploring GraalVM for microservices-based, cloud native applications and serverless applications
  • Polyglot vm
  • Reduced memory footprint
  • Fast startup times
  • Not always optimal native code (JIT sometimes is faster)
  • Microservices support
  • Hard to profile
Well suited for small applications, serverless, CLI tools.
Have no experience with enterprise support. Documentation is outdated sometimes and could be better overall. GraalVM community is growing and responsive, still not as mature, but helpful and active.
John Hanley | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are in an investigative stage with GraalVM and AOT (native-compile) at the department level (software engineering and SecDevOps). We have deployed test applications written in Java and Scala to Windows, Ubuntu, and as Docker images running on container services (Google Cloud Run and Kubernetes).

At this point, I am very impressed. There was a learning curve to understand GraalVM, the polyglot features, and native-compiles. Pluralsight has a good fundamentals overview. The home site for GraalVM has a number of good "getting started" guides.

The areas that we are seeing major impacts in are software size, load time, and cold start time. These are critical benefits as we try to minimize the size of our containers and reduce cold-start time. The end result is more container services can be deployed with the same hardware. This could have a significant financial benefit over running code in a JVM.

We are also investigating the Polyglot features, such as running Node.js and Python in GraalVM. The ability to combine Java and Node.js could present some interesting features to combine the best of our libraries.

In my opinion, this product and technology will significantly improve the performance and footprint of Java-based containers to serverless containers, Kubernetes, and OpenShift.
  • Reducing software cold start time
  • AOT--Native compile, which removes the dependency on the JRE and JVM
  • Reduces application size. Combining native-compile and EXE compression significantly reduces the size of our containers
  • Native compiles. We have problems figuring out how to package jars with all dependencies for compilation. This might be our problem as we progress through the learning curve.
  • More support and testing for Sprint and GraalVM.
  • I recommend providing installer packages instead of downloading zip files.
In my opinion, GraalVM is an amazing technology for deploying containers. There are many benefits of integrating GraalVM into our development and deployment processes:
  1. Reduced application size.
  2. Faster cold start, which improves HTTP request/response-based software.
  3. Native compiles dramatically simplifies building and deploying Java-based containers.
  4. Native compiles often significantly improves application performance.
I have not requested support yet. I found the documentation, getting started guides, and website sufficient to get started.
February 10, 2021

GraalVM is the future

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Graal in a technical spike to cut down the footprint of Java stand-alone services that ran on a scheduled basis. It was a great success and brought us savings in memory and CPU footprint and improved startup times. In the long run, this will reduce infrastructure costs and improve platform resilience.
  • Well documented
  • Easy to use
  • Excellent for micro services
  • Some limitations on technology, e.g. reflection, but can be mitigated.
Graal is excellent for micro-service deployments—the savings just add up each time you build a new service! It slots into a build and can build a native binary image nicely, that runs just as easily as a JAR file. The only case I can imagine it not being useful is if you really need to use dynamic class loading at runtime, but these are rare cases in most applications.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have first decided to use GraalVM in our Innovation Department. Right now the decision process has started to allow usage of GraalVM as the production runtime in the whole company, since it has been proven that it suites our needs. We are using it mainly due to a multilingual approach adopted for the majority of our projects.
  • Supports multiple languages on a single virtual machine
  • Eliminates any foreign language execution overhead
  • Enterprise edition with professional support is available
  • It is quite new product on the market and it feels not completely mature
  • We were getting rather big memory footprints when using it with Kotlin
GraalVM is a perfect fit if, in your project, you require interoperability between JVM-based and LLVM-based languages. GraalVM in that case will provide the best possible performance for such a demanding scenario. From my experience base on really extensive research it is not well suited for applications where high performance is considered as top priority.
The community support provided for GraalVM is just simply amazing. The majority of issues is really quickly solved just by joining Slack conversations and asking the right questions. For more advanced problems it is possible to create GitHub issues which tend to be solved at rather reasonable pace, which is not true for different JVMs from what I have seen.
Muni Raghunath Kalivi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is good technology. We are currently using it for building native images of iOS & Android applications. We have planned to have internal applications, which are developed on Java to be used with iOS and Android. GraalVM native images helps to build, package, and run those java applications on iOS and Android. We used GraalVM with Gluon package. Using Maven build tool we generated those apps. This software is used by our team of 15 members. We are in still the development phase, so it is limited to the team for internal usage. The problems that we are sorting out are managing daily work status, notifications, and publishing team events internally.


  • Easy way of collaborating technologies
  • Resolving the issues with native images
  • Enhancing the limitation of applications across the platforms
  • GraalVM creates the virtual images for testing on the platforms like iOS and Android
  • It supports both open-source and enterprise editions
  • Documentation of and help with few minor issues with GraalVM commands
  • Demoing the use cases with GraalVM capabilities
  • Showcase how it is used across the platforms
GraalVM is more like an open-source SDK--we can create applications across the platforms like desktop, mobile and cloud applications. It's easy to build and deliver the applications for native images of iOS and Android, and GraalVM easily talks to different technologies like Java, Python, Ruby, and different databases. GraalVM is well suited for development with Gradle and Maven build tools. Any open-source or enterprise application can be developed using it.
Still we need to know more to get the support on Graalvm.
November 10, 2020

An awesome Polyglot JVM.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The organization has been recently expanding to game servers for Java games. The main issue with Java games is the lack of language interoperability with the default JVM, therefore other developers have a hard time working with them. But with GraalVM it allows almost seamless interoperability with other languages. LLVM-based languages ones especially are great with GraalVM.
  • Language Interoperability
  • Ahead of Time compilation
  • Portability
  • Cross-platform
  • Great Support
  • Requires a separate download to use
  • Unavailable with the current JDK versions
  • Requires users to specifically use GraalVM to use our server platform
I will recommend GraalVM to anyone who wants a blazing fast modern JVM with seamless language interoperability. It's AOT methods also speed ups programs to a degree, which means it also is good just as a drop in replacement for the default JVM. However I cannot recommend GraalVM to those who want to use the latest Java features as GraalVM doesn't have them.
Awesome is all I have to say for the issues that happen in GraalVM. The people over at Github are very attentive and help a ton if any issues are found, Oracle support themselves are very helpful. My experience with them has always been a swift and easy support, something that other languages lack.
October 30, 2020

GraalVM Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
GraalVM is being used by my organization to create a language-agnostic mod loader based on the Fabric API for Minecraft. It addresses a lot of problems with normal Java Native Interface Interop, and also makes it really easy to integrate numerous languages into the system.

The problem with normal JNIs is how hard it is to implement Mixins and other features, with GraalVM this is very easy and performant. GraalVM's performance is also outstanding, making it faster to launch dev environments and other factors.
  • Language Interop
  • Performance
  • Availability
  • Open Source
  • Ease of Use
  • JDK version is low
  • Lacks some features like ZGC
  • JNI is sometimes faster
GraalVM is well suited for situations where one will want seamless language interop and a codebase with different languages. It is not appropriate for a project that is not entirely based on Java before, and also just a single language.

Other scenarios would be to take advantage of GraalVMs AOT features where performance is needed.
GraalVM is awesome in terms of support and their Github team is always active in their issues and pull requests. The fact that the project is also open source means that it is easily viewable and our team can dig into how it works.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Oracle GraalVM Enterprise Edition is being used in our organization across our project among a team of 45 members. It has majorly addressed the performance of applications by reducing the overhead in terms of startup time, execution time, and memory utilization. It provides additional advantages in writing applications in various programming languages.
  • Application runs faster
  • Memory utilization is very low
  • Cost-effective
  • Not much improvement needed; the product suits our requirements.
GraalVM is very stable and has been very beneficial in terms of Project Delivery due to its advanced Virtual Machine providing JIT (just-in-time) compiler and AOT (ahead-of-time) compiler. So, I will definitely recommend it to others to try at least once in order to scale up the performance of polyglot applications.
We have always received on-time and effective customer support. Issues have always been addressed in an efficient manner. Overall satisfied with the services provided so far.