Firebase Reviews

38 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Marco Carnevali | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 11, 2020

Firebase, the best tool to get you started

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The technical and marketing department is using Firebase. The technical department is using it for users authentication, no-SQL database, remote configuration, push notifications, and crash log. Marketing team use the analytics dashboard to get the insights into our product
  • Authentication
  • Database
  • Remote Config
  • Cloud Functions
Firebase is the best tool for startups that don't have many resources and team members while creating the product. It's straightforward and cheap to have proper authentication and database. Firebase database Is not suitable for a company that needs a SQL database while I recommend it for analytics.
Support is excellent and helpful. I gave 8/10 only because they replied after a week.
Read Marco Carnevali's full review
Arpit Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 23, 2020

A must have tool for all mobile app developers

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's mainly being used by our Product, UA, and Developer Teams. The Product Team uses it to A/B test push notifications and the subscription trial period. UA team mainly uses to track users across various events as well as Google UAC campaigns. The Developer team mainly uses the crashlytics to troubleshoot and fix stability issues. This allows them to help prioritize their task better based on their priority.
  • Google Ads: tracks users across UAC campaigns.
  • A/B Testing: in-app, push, and trial period.
  • Not so great at tracking traffic sources outside of Google Ads and organics.
  • Firebase UI can be slow sometimes if you're working with large data, loading issues, or an overall sluggish system.
Firebase is great for anyone looking into getting into the mobile app business or ones that already have an app and needs an extra layer of analytics along with additional added features. Firebase helps with troubleshooting the most common issues along with making sure your app remains stable. It goes much further than that if you're interested in running experiments and A/B testing to optimize the user experience you can set that up easily. It gives you the ability to discover a lot of great things about your users and their usability of different features (UI, purchases, engagement, retention, etc.) and helps you identify if the experiment is likely to succeed or not.
Firebase has a mass amount of resources that can be found on various channels to find your answer to the problem. It's easier to get the problems fixed in minutes. If you're still having issues, the Firebase Support team is always happy to help get you the answers you're looking for to troubleshoot the problem.
Read Arpit Patel's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 03, 2020

Pretty good tool for sending and measuring push notifications

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Firebase for handling our mobile push notifications. It was our platform for both sending push notifications and measuring the success of those pushes. It was used mostly by the content team, producers specifically. That was the one group that sent pushes. Our analytics folks used the platform as well. It gave us a solution for sending push notifications and measuring the impact of our pushes.
  • Sending push notifications in real time
  • Scheduling push notifications in advance
  • Clunkiness of the platform
  • Some analytics we found not to be 100 percent accurate
Some scenarios where Firebase is well suited would be specifically to news organizations who regularly send push notifications to a mobile app. If organizations have an IOs or Android app, then Firebase would be suitable for them. It's less ideal for companies that don't send pushes at all, or for companies that want in-depth and highly accurate analytics.
Our analytics folks handled the majority of the communication when it came to customer service, but as far as I was aware, the support we got was pretty good. When we had an issue, we were able to reach out and get support in a timely fashion. Firebase was easy to reach and reasonably available to assist when needed.
Read this authenticated review
Jeff Burslem | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 19, 2019

Firebase is a dumpster fire!

Score 2 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used mainly by our analytics and mobile teams. We were forced to migrate from Google Analytics, which is bad from an analytics standpoint (because Firebase has an inferior interface and is more restrictive in terms of tracking App interactions) but good from a mobile diagnostics point of view (because it has better diagnostics than Google Analytics).

It helps us understand Mobile App Version adoption, as well as gauge the success of new feature rollout and/or experience changes.
  • Diagnostics (e.g. app updates, removals, adoption of new mobile versions).
  • The Firebase interface is terrible. Vastly inferior to Google Analytics - even if you create a Web + App Firebase View, it's still poor experience. It's very hard to get non-analytics stakeholders to use Firebase.
  • Heavy restrictions on the number of Events that can be used to track App interactions. Even heavier restrictions on the number of parameters you can associate with those Events.
  • Poor customer support - Not just in terms of advice, but also in terms of its limited scope
  • Firebase Analytics technically isn't free (which is what was so great about Google Analytics) - If you want to do anything meaningful you have to pay to use BigQuery.
If you have a basic app that doesn't have a lot of interactions/touchpoints and you just want some topline numbers, it does an okay job. It's pretty easy to tag your screens, although using Events to tag the interactions can be a bit of a head-scratch.

If you have an App where you want to learn a ton of things about your users, forget it. I'd strongly advise you to choose something else. There are too many constraints in terms of configuring the tagging to capture what you want.

You're going to struggle with adoption across the company. The Interface is terrible (even the Web + App view in Google Analytics is pretty poor) and it's hard to get product/marketing managers to log in and play around with the data.

Firebase Support is without a doubt the worst customer support experience I have ever had.

Their main skill appears to be copy/pasting articles from their Help sections and sending via email - or alternatively, sending links to articles that contradict each other (because the people at Firebase, BigQuery, and Google Data Studio don't really talk to each other).

They're also pretty tone-deaf on feedback and/or criticism.
Read Jeff Burslem's full review
Robert Foreman | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 28, 2019

Firebase: More Than a Databse

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using Firebase as a realtime database and backend as a service for a prototype real estate application I am building. I first used Firebase while I was attending a coding boot camp: we used it for one of our big projects. There are a number of advantages to using this.
  • JSON storage
  • Serverless
  • Pretty secure
  • Limited querying capability
I think for app development, it is advantageous to use Firebase. It's a real-time, cloud-based database which synchronizes continually across all users. It's really good for creating user authorization for apps which require this. As far as hosting your application, I think it's pretty fast and secure. And it's Google.
Like other Google tools and services, there is an extensive support page which has endless links and documentation by platform, by product, by development stage and by type of error or bug. If you can't find an answer, then you can file a support case. I haven't had to do this yet.
Read Robert Foreman's full review
Sam Randika | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 11, 2019

Review Of Firebase

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase was a great choice for us to build our apps. Since it provides Mobile Backend as a Service it helps us to save our time. For our project, we needed a remote database in the cloud. After comparing most of the cloud solutions, finally, we decided to go with firebase because of its good with overall performance, great documentation and, of course, its a product by the Google brand. It was easy to use and just needed basic coding skills. It is powerful enough to make you satisfied.
  • Data is structured in a simple understandable manner.
  • The free version is nearly similar to premium version.
  • Provides authentication services such as Google, Facebook, and email to authenticate user.
  • In the free version there are a limitations on number of simultaneous connections.
  • If u need relational, complicated queries, its not the best solution.
Best cloud solution for mobile application development. It made it so easy to build real-time apps. It's the ultimate solution for so many problems that we've been going through for a long time. It is really easy to integrate with the development application. There are a lot of guides and tutorials to learn Firebase in less time.
Read Sam Randika's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 14, 2019

Authenticate safely and effectively control your applications using Firebase

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase is being used by almost all the software engineers in our organization. It is heavily used by the applications for the backend authentication and realtime database services. Firebase helps to keep the database up at all times and make sure all the user authentications are done in a very seamless manner without any interruptions and users get a very smooth experience.
  • User authentications: Firebase is an amazing tool that removes the requirement for having an authentication server locally or on your private cloud. It has its own cloud and syncs your user data in realtime and securely. Firebase will run the end to end authentication process and free you to make your application a better user experience.
  • Firebase Console is one of the best features of this platform. This console is one point stop for all monitoring and troubleshooting purposes. You can view data from all of your connected applications and make and changes in realtime from the console itself.
  • Firebase hardly lacks in any form but one thing that I feel at times is that since this service is from Google, you may find some problems when you try and connect other vendors' online platforms. It crashes at a time which creates problems. It does not throw any error if you work with Google applications but at times if you connect it with third-party platforms, you might face some challenges.
If you are having an application which requires authentications of users and want to have a central space where you can store all your user data, Firebase is a lifesaver. You can deploy your application once and then control all the operations from the console itself.

In case your applications do not require any authentications and simply available to all the users who download/install it, Firebase might be of less use in that case.
Support for Firebase is huge and you get your problems solved in minutes. It hardly takes you time to resolve problems due to a very large fan base sitting on multiple public forums and if you don't find answers there you can simply reach out to the official Firebase support.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2019

Great prototyping tool and a time saver.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I choose Firebase for two particular reasons. 1) Implementing authentication (which is a pain point if you are building something from scratch) and 2) building a prototype for our application which in our case we used a combination of the datastore and firestore. But Firebase turned out to be useful for a couple of other things as well, particularly the hosting, storage buckets and cloud functions features were very useful for our application. Firebase is really good for building applications in a certain way, which sometimes can be restrictive or not a match for your organization's philosophy but I would definitely recommend it for people who want to build prototypes without worrying about configuration and structure.
  • Documentation is pretty solid
  • Authentication feature is awesome and one of the simplest to implement.
  • Lots of added features like Machine Learning and Analytics that builds on top of Firebase that can add value to your application.
  • To build things in Firebase you have to think in Firebase, which in some cases requires a lot of research and this is sometimes a minus due to a lot of wrong information out there which encourages people to build in whatever way they see fit without any planning.
  • Tooling used to be a pain point but this is slowly improving.
  • The data explorer interface in firestore and realtime db could use a bit more improvements.
I would recommend Firebase to folks who want to build the prototype of their application in a very short amount of time - say two weeks to a month. You could combine the tools and libraries available and build a functional web app in about a week or two instead of months.

I would then suggest to move to a more stable platform once things are running; the problem is that being a Google product you never know when something becomes outdated or removed as a feature. Things move too fast so you are better off moving to something a bit more stable. Also, Firebase isn't recommended for really large apps; the amount of resources you are going to spend learning and modifying your data structure could be spent on building in a more stable environment.
Google's support sucks as usual. Otherwise community support is one of the best.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 29, 2019

An all-in-one real time cloud platform!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase is being used by multiple departments across the organization, namely Technology, Product, Marketing, Analytics, etc. While the Tech team uses this for monitoring crashes and performance, the product team uses this for user funnel and user behavior analysis. The marketing team uses this for AB testing, in-app messaging, push notification, etc. Analytics uses this for creating dashboards and pulling user analytics.
  • Crash reporting: it does a detailed and real-time analysis of crashes, with great insights that pinpoint the developers to the issue.
  • User funnels and behavior analysis: it helps us track audience data, funnels, retention cohorts and all kinds of key events in the user journey on app and web.
  • Notifications: both in-app, as well as push notifications via Firebase Cloud Manager, have the best delivery rates across the industry, this is the best tool to send out marketing notifications to users.
  • Email and notifications system need to be set up, it is not plugged and play, needs some development changes on the app side too if we use Firebase, unlike other email and push CRM tools.
  • User management and access controls: these are complex to manage, can be simplified.
  • Nothing else specifically, overall it's a good tool.
It's best suited for tech and product monitoring, as well as marketing teams to send out user notifications. Less appropriate for a detailed use by tech or marketing, for instance, it will not have pre-set templates for email notifications that can be used by marketing; or it will not have daily summary reports for key parameters that tech can use to circulate amongst key stakeholders etc.—these need to be built on top of Firebase by your own team.
It is great, the only thing that can be improved is more relevant documentation around deeper use-cases and a more engaged community support around Firebase. Support is mostly self serve till you find a way to write to them. They don't have voice support as of now in India which might be helpful.
Read this authenticated review
Sam Lepak | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 01, 2019

Looking to scale your app with paid media? If not, then use Firebase.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our marketing team and product development team uses Firebase to solve several of our mobile app problems. First, our product development team mainly uses Firebase for their crash reporting (Crashlytics), while our marketing team utilizes Firebase for multiple analytics and growth features. For analytics, we specifically utilize the Funnel, Retention, Events, and MAU features. As for growth features, we have been able to utilize their Dynamic Links, A/B Testing, Predictions, and Remote Configurations.
  • Analytics wise, retention is extremely important to our app, therefore we take advantage of the cohort analysis to see the impact of our middle funnel (retargeting, push, email) efforts affect the percent of users that come back into the app. Firebase allows us to easily segment these this data and look at a running average based on certain dates.
  • When it comes to any mobile app, a deep linking strategy is essential to any apps success. With Firebase's Dynamic Links, we are able to share dynamic links (recognize user device) that are able to redirect to in-app content. These deep links allow users to share other deep-linked content with friends, that also have link preview assets.
  • Firebase allows users to effectively track events, funnels, and MAUs. With this simple event tracking feature, users can put organize these events into funnels of their main user flows (e.g., checkout flows, onboarding flows, etc.), and subsequently be able to understand where the drop-off is in the funnel and then prioritize areas of the funnel to fix. Also, MAU is important to be able to tell if you are bringing in new users and what's the active volume for each platform (Android, iOS).
  • If you are looking for a mobile app analytics platform that has extremely high-quality tracking (down to an ad level), then Firebase may not be for you. While they do track basic UTMs source, medium, and sometimes campaign, Firebase's attribution only scratches the surface of what other competitors are able to do.
  • Firebase has room for improvement when it comes to its Cloud Messaging aka Push Notifications. The room for improvement lies in its user segmentation capabilities. Currently, Firebase does not allow for platform users to segment app users based on in-app events, except for their predictive user events (Firebase predicts which events users will take). Rather Firebase primarily allows for app user segmentation based on demographics and locations. Also, Firebase doesn't allow for automated push notifications or adding images to the push notifications.
  • While Firebase can export data into Google Analytics, it does not allow for direct data exports to a data visualization tool like Google Data Studio, or mobile app engagement platforms, etc. This would be a more advanced feature, that would ideally be in their paid plan.
Firebase is really well-suited for beginner apps that are run by a small team, with a low marketing budget. The platform gives you the 80 / 20 of mobile app analytics with some cool features such as cloud messaging, A/B testing, in-app messages, crash reporting, etc. While if you are looking to grow and scale, then Firebase is most likely not the solution for you as attribution, cost ingestion, data export, web-to-app, journey banners, and webhooks are more suitable to your plan.
Read Sam Lepak's full review
Evan Laird | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 10, 2019

The One Stop Shop For Everything Your Mobile App Needs!

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase for us, unlike most companies, was used in the Marketing department as a data analytics, attribution, and deep linking platform. Its main uses were for weekly customer activity reports, early stage attribution reports on downloads and in-app actions (although not the best for this use case), sending push notifications and in-app messages, and deep linking/dynamic sharing functionality.
  • Extremely robust. Has about any tool you can think of under one roof making it extremely useful as a backup platform for data analytics or small teams that need something quickly.
  • Intuitive and easy UI/UX. Being made and owned by Google, you expect nothing less. Very easy to use for anyone that has any marketing or analytical experience especially in Google Analytics (which I just assume all marketers do).
  • Safe, secure, and sturdy. Never need to worry about downtimes or misinformation as it's as clean and safe as it is being run by Google.
  • FREE! What else is there to say. Unless you're an extremely large application handling hundreds of thousands to millions of users, this pay as you go plan will stay free.
  • Attribution and specifically multi-touch attribution could be more robust such as Branch or Appsflyer but understand this isn't Firebases bread and butter.
  • More parameters. Firebase allows you to track tons of events (believe it's up to 50 or so) but the parameters of the events it only allows you to track 5 which is so messily and unbelievable. So you're able to get good high-level data but if you want to get granular with the events and actions are taken on your app to get real data insight you either have to go with a paid data analytics platform or bring on someone that's an expert in SQL to go through Big Query.
  • City-specific data instead of just country-specific data would have been a huge plus as well.
I recommend it for every mobile application that I know solely because it's free. Yes, it's a one size fits all kind of platform so it doesn't get super granular into any specific region of your data but can give you quick and accurate high-level overviews in an instant with extremely easy implementation through cocoa pods.

This is also me talking from a marketer standpoint. From the developer side (I use to be an iOS developer and would always use Firebase as my DB for side projects) it's an absolute dream to work with. Super intuitive with a great front-end UI so you can actually visualize your Non-SQL database with easy and watch it update in real-time. Then with it being one size fits all and owned by Google it has so many integrations and simple one-liners of code to implement complex functions such as file saving, social login, sharing, and more.

Absolutely love Firebase and would recommend for any mobile application and a small team.
Read Evan Laird's full review
Sanyam Jain | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 23, 2019

Firebase - A must have backend for all mobile applications

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase is one and only tool for all of the mobile backends, especially Android. Most of the times when creating mobile applications in the Android studio it is recommended to use Firebase. We use Firebase for JSON data pushing and parsing from Firebase bucket. We use it every place possible, for web apps, smartphone apps, push notifications and many authorization protocols.
  • Web apps storage for real-time pushing and parsing for users.
  • Android apps which have features like push notifications, online storage, authentication, and OAuth tokens.
  • Firebase is mostly used when you have real-time data collection and traffic generation. Firebase bucket makes possible to store images, Text data and use cases like URL shorteners.
  • You have to restrict yourself on single storage bucket for all of the users.
  • High costs for storage. There are very limited connections in one single transaction.
  • Since Firebase stores data to different servers in the world, it may take time to retrieve in real-time. Thus the latency and throughput downgrade.
Well suited for cases when you are dealing with Android or iOS backend and OAuths, or when data storage is a smaller concern than authorizations or push notifications.
Not suited if you have a large user base and each transaction of the data exchange involves several users. It will cost too much.
Read Sanyam Jain's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 24, 2019

Firebase - Free (or cheap), easy to use, and effective

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Firebase to provide push notification services for mobile applications and some internal business tools. For us, it is used to provide push services to internal employees, and to provide push services to end users of our mobile applications. We find it to be simple to use, effortless to maintain, and effective at its job.
  • Reliability - We have not noticed any significant outages or delays as long as we have used Firebase.
  • Ease of use - Setting up or changing Firebase services has been nearly effortless for us.
  • Organization - It feels like Firebase should be part of Google Cloud Console, but it is its own tool. This isn't a big issue, but it would be great if we could access our Firebase services within Google Cloud Console.
For any app or service that requires push services, there really isn't anything easier to use than Firebase. Also, the free tier allows a great amount of usage. For us, we have found that our usage has remained below the free tier threshold even with considerable usage as we scale our services. Once we surpass the free tier allowance, the cost will be reasonable, so growth is not really a concern here.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 09, 2019

Firebase Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Firebase is an extremely simple to use NoSQL data store from Google. Firebase provides front-end SDKs for the web, iOS, and Android usage, meaning there is no need for any kind of database setup or maintenance -- you just simply use the front-end SDKs. Firebase is a great tool for light workloads that do not require complex SQL queries, deep population of database selections, or complex sorting/filtering options.
  • Firebase removes the need from having to run any kind of backend database -- front-end clients simply interact via the provided SDKs.
  • Custom security rules allow for fine-grained tuning of what front-end security settings are allowed.
  • Extremely cost-effective and has a generous free tier for new projects.
  • Firebase/Firestore has very limited support for querying more complicated items; for example, performing a simple string search is not possible.
  • While upfront costs are low, costs can grow quickly if you're not careful about what you are being billed for.
  • Dashboards have at times shown different information to what is billed, and support from Google is less than stellar and not as effective as that from Amazon or Microsoft.
For small projects, or for larger, simple projects that want to take advantage of Firebase's real-time database functionality, Firebase is a great choice -- either the legacy real-time Database or new Firestore. Firebase is not a good choice on its own for workloads that expose a custom RESTful API, services that require complex database operations especially re: search queries and deep joins/population of resources.
Read this authenticated review

About Firebase

Google offers the Firebase suite of application development tools, available free or at cost for higher degree of usages, priced flexibly accorded to features needed. The suite includes A/B testing and Crashlytics, Cloud Messaging (FCM) and in-app messaging, cloud storage and NoSQL storage (Cloud Firestore and Firestore Realtime Database), and other features supporting developers with flexible mobile application development.

Firebase Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No