Postman

Postman

Score 8.9 out of 10
Postman

Overview

What is Postman?

Postman, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their flagship API development and management free to small teams and independent developers. Higher tiers (Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise) support API management, as well as team collaboration, extended support and other advanced features.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Time saver of engineers

10 out of 10
October 09, 2022
Postman just solves all the problem that developers had with the uses of API builidng and testing. It is baically an end to end solution …
Continue reading

Postman Review

10 out of 10
May 24, 2022
Postman is what we use to test our API systems. We have a variety of public and private API systems, all of which are tested by my team …
Continue reading

All About Postman

9 out of 10
January 17, 2022
I am working in the company as a Test Automation Engineer. I am using Postman for testing different services in different environments. I …
Continue reading

Postman Delivers

9 out of 10
September 17, 2020
We write and maintain several WCF applications and integrate with WCF services from other teams and departments. Postman has been great …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • API access control (32)
    9.3
    93%
  • API user onboarding (21)
    8.7
    87%
  • API monitoring and logging (32)
    8.5
    85%
  • API versioning (24)
    8.5
    85%

Reviewer Pros & Cons

View all pros & cons

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Postman, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Postman Free Plan

$0.00 US Dollars

Cloud

Postman Basic Plan

$12 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Postman Professional Plan

$29 US Dollars

Cloud
per month per user

Entry-level set up fee?

  • No setup fee
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://www.postman.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Features

API Management

API management handles technical things like user permissions, version control,and security, in addition to business items like documentation and pricing

8.3Avg 8.2
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Postman?

Postman is an API platform, boasting users among more than 17 million developers and 500,000 organizations worldwide for building and managing APIs. Postman aims to simplify each step of the API lifecycle and streamline collaboration, enabling users to create better APIs faster. The company is headquartered in San Francisco and has a large office in Bangalore, where it was founded.

Postman Features

API Management Features

  • Supported: API access control
  • Supported: API versioning
  • Supported: Usage billing and payments
  • Supported: API monitoring and logging

Postman Screenshots

Screenshot of API design - You can design your API specifications in Postman using OpenAPI, RAML, GraphQL, or SOAP formats. Postman’s schema editor makes it easy to work with specification files of any size, & it validates specifications with a built-in linting engine.Screenshot of API documentation - Postman automatically generates documentation & supports markdown-enabled and machine-readable documentation. Docs automatically include request details & sample code. Share the docs with your team, in a public workspace, or in a dedicated portal.Screenshot of API testing - Build and run functional, integration, & regression tests directly in Postman or as part of your CI/CD pipeline with Newman (Postman’s a command-line Collection Runner that enables you to run & test a collection from the command line).Screenshot of Public workspaces - Public workspaces allow you to share your APIs publicly with anyone. You can use public workspaces to gather feedback on your APIs, onboard developers quickly, or just showcase your work.Screenshot of Reporting - Postman generates reports that enable you to visualize data for team metrics and usage, & for API activities such as creation, collection execution, and test runs. Use reports to get insights on performance, troubleshooting, & SLA adherence.

Postman Video

Postman Integrations

Postman Competitors

Postman Technical Details

Deployment TypesSoftware as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsUnspecified
Mobile ApplicationNo

Frequently Asked Questions

Postman, headquartered in San Francisco, offers their flagship API development and management free to small teams and independent developers. Higher tiers (Postman Pro and Postman Enterprise) support API management, as well as team collaboration, extended support and other advanced features.

RapidAPI and Stoplight are common alternatives for Postman.

Reviewers rate API access control highest, with a score of 9.3.

The most common users of Postman are from Enterprises (1,001+ employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 39)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
October 09, 2022

Time saver of engineers

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It is well suited for all engineering scenarios. Any engineering organization which has API in use should use this without any hesitation. If you are building an API ? use it. If you are testing an API ? use it. If you are debugging an API ? use it. Use it for an end to end API development.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is easily one of the best tools for API testing, there is a lot to it and best of all there is a free version of the software, you can build out security test's as well as long as you know what you are doing with it, the only thing I can think of where it might not be appropriate is if you are not doing anything with API's. It doesn't allow any testing of any UI, just API's, so you will still need other tools to ensure full coverage.
Lankit Patel | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
if you have a small number of APIs to work with, it's probably an overkill
it is very efficient when it comes to manage large number of APIs, one can manage APIs per project as well.
very good authentication testing UI. makes it pretty easy to work with all kinds of available AUTH practices.
allows to ingest multiple types of data like FORMDATA/JSON
May 24, 2022

Postman Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
When dealing with a collection of requests, it's common to run them in the order they were received. Other times, skipping or repeating certain requests is beneficial. The mailman arrives. The method SetNextRequest. You can programmatically choose which requests run and in what order by using conditional logic in the Pre-request or Tests tabs.
Haroon Akmal | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is well suited where APIs are involved. I've been testing many backend systems and are well organized into many tests like Smoke for each system and then functional tests as well. Along with that I've few created monitors for production-critical endpoints/API-methods.

Postman is less appropriate where you need to automate your tests that involves verification from databases or depends on data from databases. Also, it lacks functionality to generate random data. I've been using work around using scripts to achieve randomness in my tests.
Bimal Subedi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is best suited for the web and application development companies in which we constantly need to create APIs and test them. It is less appropriate for Graphic designing firms, animation companies and other companies that don't need to create APIs.
January 17, 2022

All About Postman

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Scenarios where [Postman] is best suited: It is best used for making API rest calls. It is easy to use. [Postman] allows you to maintain your own workspace/collection of new or repeated requests. Scenarios where [Postman] is not best suited: Sometimes JSON files are difficult to import, so it needs improvement in that respect. It is not good support for SOAP API calls.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is very good for easy entry into testing. Thanks to snippets it is easy to use, but also provides a lot [of] possibilities for testing thanks to the in-line editor. Easy to use on multiple environments (versioning) thanks to sets of environment variables. The Collections view can get very full with time and it is not possible to reuse or link requests so that they have always been copied and maintained manually for each copy if changes have to be applied.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman began as a development tool for making API calls to systems while under development. The testing side of postman feels like an afterthought (particularly the source control integration) and doesn't lend itself to large-scale applications. Small to medium use, primarily for the development of APIs, is the ideal use case for this kind of tool.
Rafael Grandizoli | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
On everyday use for development or to understand how an API works Postman is the best tool to explore: it's free to use, and you can create and organize all APIs you have access to in one place. Also, it has the possibility to use variables and code, which turn the experience more dynamic.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
As a new[bie] to software engineering, specially back-end, I was [not] very [knowledgeable] about how API worked and how to integrate it. The first major blockage of my career was, "How does API work?" One of my colleague screen shared his PC, and let me go through how API works by demonstrating it on Postman. Since then, my life became much more easier.
September 17, 2020

Postman Delivers

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman's a tool that's pretty easy to set up and get started with, and it's very handy for testing API calls for internal and external APIs. This is invaluable when troubleshooting issues with calling the API methods or just confirming the team's understanding of the API methods involved. Teams that don't do much integration with APIs or REST services probably won't see much benefit from Postman.
March 12, 2020

My review on Postman

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
I don't think there are very good alternates to Postman, as of now at least. It is the industry-standard tool and is very easy to use. I recommend every developer start using Postman because it will reduce development time significantly. I don't have complaints apart from that.
February 14, 2020

Great API testing tool

Lasha Jojua | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
With using Postman, it's possible to create different types of API requests: POST, PUT, UPGRADE, GET, DELETE, get data, which is crucial before deployment. Also, it supports the following response types: HTML, XML, raw data, Js, JSON. Dev team can get coded APIs availability and performance data during development. Easy to integrate in CI pipeline, that automates performance quality checks flow and accelerates the process.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Getting started with Postman is relatively easy, which is what I like about the software. Digging into one of the many settings presents a bit of a learning curve, but it is nothing too tricky. I like the collection features because I don't need to dig into documentation on what endpoints are available for a specific API. Or what configurations I need to make to call a particular endpoint; I load the collections for an API I'm interested in, select the endpoint I am interested in and configure the minimum that is required for that endpoint to make a successful call.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman lends itself to testing APIs. Teams that develop web applications using RESTful APIs would benefit greatly from using Postman and its features, that are designed for repeatability and troubleshooting. Developers can install extensions into browsers that allow them to see, effectively, the same things Postman does, but it would be difficult to find a one-stop-shop of features specifically designed to see the interaction of user requests with the web application. Postman is a must if you're developing a web application that leverages an API in any way.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
If you are planning to run different test cases on different environments and it is kind of a repetitive job, I believe it is always better to use Postman since it just gives you an amazing, resilient UI. Its integration with Jenkins makes it easier to execute tests within the build systems itself. Also, they have a Newman feature which enables running Postman form systems that dont have GUI.
January 22, 2020

My Postman Delivers...

Sharmin Promi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
It resolves fast delivery of http calls and API calls and testing team. Many cases on CI/CD env it resolves fast tracking for API calls. Full application flow from a restful service prospective. It is one of the great tools for API testing. It has limited reporting capability and very limited capacity for DB connection.
Joshua Cariño | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman is very helpful in testing Rest APIs as request could be made easier with the very easy to use User Interface. Even QAs use this for testing our APIs as a base for determining whether the API works or just due to integration issues.
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman works great for development teams of any size. It is especially helpful for programmers who regularly work with REST APIs and want to reduce friction in the development process. The pricing is relatively affordable, which makes it a good option even for organizations with a limited budget.

Teams that don't use REST APIs or develop for the web are less likely to benefit from Postman.
Gary Davis | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Postman can run a series of API calls to verify your APIs are working as expected. This functionality is very flexible.

Collections of calls can be shared with teams for effective collaboration.

If your application has some sort of error in the API call, use the browser developer tool (generally F12) to view the call and response in the Network tab. Reproduce the call in Postman to reproduce the unexpected result. Fix your application and re-test with Postman. Iterate until the application behaves as it should.
Return to navigation