TrustRadius
Bitbucket from Australian-headquartered Atlassian offers source code management and version control.https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/bI/sl/TEZBKV2TWJKW.JPEGA complex but powerful piece of the puzzleWe're using Bitbucket (formerly Stash) across most of the engineering organizations. It helps us collaborate better on code and integrates well with other Atlassian tools like Jira and Bamboo, which makes it easier to implement DevOps processes and keep track of the development workflow.,Integration with other Atlassian products is great. Of course, this is probably the main reason people go with any of the Atlassian products, that they integrate with each other so seamlessly It has a lot of automatic features relating to Jira and Bamboo, like exposing Bamboo job runs. This allows you to make better decisions about whether or not to merge a pull request, for example. The new UI is based off Atlassian's new aesthetic, which makes the tool a pleasure to use. While not a "hard" feature, developer happiness is an important benefit,While it integrates flawlessly with other Atlassian products, it's lacking in 3rd party integrates, especially compared to competitors like GitHub and GitLab Using Jira for issues gives a lot of power, but it's also a lot of overhead and complexity that may or may not be necessary for your organization. It also puts issues in another tool, adding a little friction when it comes to addressing issues in your code Searching for and discovering other projects and GitHub isn't quite as intuitive or easy to use as competitors,7,It's allowed for a lot of automation in terms of development workflows. It lets us pursue CI/CD approaches and get releases out faster It has let us get our infrastructure configuration into VCS, which further improves our automation abilities. It has aided in keeping track of changes, and allows us to keep workflows organized so we can track the status of development,GitHub and Gitlab,Terraform, Slack, PyCharmBitbucket for your development needsMost of the departments at eSilicon use Bitbucket for Source code versioningCode reviewPull requests and approvalsPublic and private repositoriesWe moved away from SVN and chose Bitbucket due to its nice and friendly UI, code review, and approvals of pull requests. The built in migration tool from SVN was also a decision factor. This decision came after we moved to JIRA as our project tracking software, which was also helping in choosing Bitbucket because they are tightly integrated.,File versioning - as simple as that Code review and approval of the pull requests: very handy when some team members are juniors or new to the project and the project lead or the senior developer(or both) has to be watchful on the commits. Permissions management - as a Bitbucket users and projects manager, I have to be careful who has access to the code and especially the code of other projects. In Bitbucket the permissions are simple and fit to this purpose.,Price tag - as my number of users increased from 10 to 25, then 50 and now 100+, I find it harder and harder to get the budget for licenses upgrade. They have trial licenses that you can use temporary to address your urgent need, but still need to upgrade eventually. Built-in Confluence integration - I have a requirement to integrate Bitbucket with Confluence so that users can add code snippets in the documentation easily. I was expecting to have this built-in, however there are 3rd party paid plugins to buy which is not an option for me Integration with the big cloud providers, like GitHub has.,10,Adopting Bitbucket made a big change in our organization by having all departments migrate to this from SVN and GitHub, and therefore we unified the processes for file versioning, code review, and pull requests across the company (100+ people using Bitbucket) Due to the Bitbucket-JIRA integration, now we can track all issues with their corresponding release version of the code. This is of a great value when you need to track back changes already released to production. Due to Bitbucket-Bamboo integration, we were able to set up automated deployments to QA and production environments that reduced the hustle, the issues with IT and the time spent on deployments, that we have had for many years.,Apache Subversion,Toad for OracleBasic Bitbucket is DecentWe have a dedicated team that is using Bitbucket in the organization today. They were part of a prior acquisition that was setup on the Atlassian tool set. It's used in conjunction with other Atlassian tools including JIRA, and Bamboo to facilitate development processes and source code management. It's worth noting that Dynacare is using both Bitbucket and VSTS for our source code management.,Bitbucket is very simple as a code repository goes. You can't really go wrong if you choose to keep private repositories here. If you're ok with the basics, the pricing point is competitive compared to alternatives like VSTS which can cost more. Integration to other Atlassian tools is well done. JIRA integration, for instance, enables branching and code reviews right from the JIRA tickets, which can improve work efficiency. If you choose to also purchase Bamboo, automated builds and deployments hook into the repositories and provide icons to determine if the build is working or broken. Management of the repositories and projects is simple and easy to use. Getting support for an issue is relatively speedy and the staff are usually able to help you resolve issues quickly.,The UI needs a refresh because it feels so dated and clunky. CI is not available in the free tier. Costs of Bamboo to get CI builds can be expensive.,3,Bitbucket was inherited from an acquisition of another company - before the acquisition, it ran very well as part of the Atlassian tool suite. The entire development team was able to use Bitbucket and an agile methodology. This enabled excellent communication between development an business owners. For a larger team, Bitbucket - even with the Atlassian tool suite - wasn't able to compete with the Microsoft offerings with VSTS. Ultimately we'll be discontinuing the use of Bitbucket in favor of the VSTS product.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, GitHub, Team Foundation Server and Apache Subversion,JIRA Software, Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Apache Subversion,15,3,source code management git workflow,1,Yes,Price Product Features Product Usability Vendor Reputation Third-party Reviews,I wouldn't change a thing.Great code management and deployment system for 90% of your projects.We use Bitbucket to manage the source code for all of our clients that do not have their own source control system. The code review feature makes it easy for our teams to evaluate each other's code for quality and consistency with standards. Additionally, we leverage the pipelines feature to provide automated deployments and testing where possible to maximize our CICD process for our projects.,Code Review Code Management Light Automation,Stability - While better than in the past, there are times where Bitbucket services will go offline or be hindered several times a day, which can cause problems with deployments and workflow. Pipelines - The pipelines interface is largely a log with output, and a text editor in which to configure changes. It would nice to see this a little more robust to make it easier to interface with.,8,Overall our ROI has been positive by making our project code much simpler to manage and deploy against our multi-developer teams.,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System and Gitlab,Microsoft Visual Studio Team System, Gitlab, AsanaOutstanding codebase manager, specially if the team also uses JIRAIt's being used by several departments within the company and clients of the company. It addresses hosting the codebase using the Git platform, where the developers can share and collaborate when developing the functionalities of their projects, and also allows developers to perform code reviews and provide visibility of their work with the JIRA board because of the Bitbucket-JIRA integration.,Intuitive Reliable Good integrations Very useful diffing tools,Hard to track stale branches, which end up increasing the size of the repo Could use better labeling options for filtering and searching of PRs Could have an integrated wiki like GitHub,9,Ability for developers to be productive when working on a shared codebase, which means less friction for the development of business functionality Ability for developers to review code, which means chances for less bugs and less waste in general Ability for developers and project managers to see their progress directly in JIRA when using integration,Gitlab and GitHub,JIRA Software, Jenkins, Atlassian Confluence
Unspecified
Bitbucket
118 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>TRScore

Bitbucket Reviews<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>

Bitbucket
118 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 118 vetted Bitbucket reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-25 of 35)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
Garett Dunn profile photo
November 12, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "A complex but powerful piece of the puzzle"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Bitbucket (formerly Stash) across most of the engineering organizations. It helps us collaborate better on code and integrates well with other Atlassian tools like Jira and Bamboo, which makes it easier to implement DevOps processes and keep track of the development workflow.
  • Integration with other Atlassian products is great. Of course, this is probably the main reason people go with any of the Atlassian products, that they integrate with each other so seamlessly
  • It has a lot of automatic features relating to Jira and Bamboo, like exposing Bamboo job runs. This allows you to make better decisions about whether or not to merge a pull request, for example.
  • The new UI is based off Atlassian's new aesthetic, which makes the tool a pleasure to use. While not a "hard" feature, developer happiness is an important benefit
  • While it integrates flawlessly with other Atlassian products, it's lacking in 3rd party integrates, especially compared to competitors like GitHub and Gitlab
  • Using Jira for issues gives a lot of power, but it's also a lot of overhead and complexity that may or may not be necessary for your organization. It also puts issues in another tool, adding a little friction when it comes to addressing issues in your code
  • Searching for and discovering other projects and GitHub isn't quite as intuitive or easy to use as competitors
For large enterprises, Bitbucket and the rest of the Atlassian suite are kind of a given. It gives you the most options and customizations, and tons of data points. For medium to small organizations, it's probably overkill, and you'd be better served by an app or suite of apps that required less setup and maintenance, and less complexity to deal with.
Read Garett Dunn's full review
Cristian Bodnarasec profile photo
August 29, 2018

User Review: "Bitbucket for your development needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Most of the departments at eSilicon use Bitbucket for
  • Source code versioning
  • Code review
  • Pull requests and approvals
  • Public and private repositories
We moved away from SVN and chose Bitbucket due to its nice and friendly UI, code review, and approvals of pull requests. The built in migration tool from SVN was also a decision factor. This decision came after we moved to JIRA as our project tracking software, which was also helping in choosing Bitbucket because they are tightly integrated.
  • File versioning - as simple as that
  • Code review and approval of the pull requests: very handy when some team members are juniors or new to the project and the project lead or the senior developer(or both) has to be watchful on the commits.
  • Permissions management - as a Bitbucket users and projects manager, I have to be careful who has access to the code and especially the code of other projects. In Bitbucket the permissions are simple and fit to this purpose.
  • Price tag - as my number of users increased from 10 to 25, then 50 and now 100+, I find it harder and harder to get the budget for licenses upgrade. They have trial licenses that you can use temporary to address your urgent need, but still need to upgrade eventually.
  • Built-in Confluence integration - I have a requirement to integrate Bitbucket with Confluence so that users can add code snippets in the documentation easily. I was expecting to have this built-in, however there are 3rd party paid plugins to buy which is not an option for me
  • Integration with the big cloud providers, like GitHub has.
Bitbucket fits best in providing its features to a small team, under 25 users. Under 5 users and it is actually free if you use the cloud option. It's good even for larger teams if the budget is not a concern. If most of your users like to work with UI when doing commits, pull requests, and code review, then Bitbucket is right for you. If you have users that prefer to work in command line, it is possible with Bitbucket too (by using its underlying Git server directly).
Read Cristian Bodnarasec's full review
Gordon Lo profile photo
August 21, 2018

User Review: "Basic Bitbucket is Decent"

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a dedicated team that is using Bitbucket in the organization today. They were part of a prior acquisition that was setup on the Atlassian tool set. It's used in conjunction with other Atlassian tools including JIRA, and Bamboo to facilitate development processes and source code management. It's worth noting that Dynacare is using both Bitbucket and VSTS for our source code management.
  • Bitbucket is very simple as a code repository goes. You can't really go wrong if you choose to keep private repositories here.
  • If you're ok with the basics, the pricing point is competitive compared to alternatives like VSTS which can cost more.
  • Integration to other Atlassian tools is well done. JIRA integration, for instance, enables branching and code reviews right from the JIRA tickets, which can improve work efficiency. If you choose to also purchase Bamboo, automated builds and deployments hook into the repositories and provide icons to determine if the build is working or broken.
  • Management of the repositories and projects is simple and easy to use.
  • Getting support for an issue is relatively speedy and the staff are usually able to help you resolve issues quickly.
  • The UI needs a refresh because it feels so dated and clunky.
  • CI is not available in the free tier. Costs of Bamboo to get CI builds can be expensive.
For small teams that only require the basics, Bitbucket will suffice. If you're already using Atlassian products, using Bitbucket is a no-brainer. Bitbucket integrates effortlessly with Bamboo and JIRA and offers a positive experience for the implementation team. However, that's where the good parts end. VSTS has a superior user experience, more features, and the pricing is comparable to Bitbucket. VSTS will grow seamlessly with your team, whereas Bitbucket is relatively focused and requires additional products such as Trello or JIRA to get your team into a full-fledged ALM/SDLC workflow.


Read Gordon Lo's full review
Sean Patterson profile photo
November 20, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "Great code management and deployment system for 90% of your projects."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket to manage the source code for all of our clients that do not have their own source control system. The code review feature makes it easy for our teams to evaluate each other's code for quality and consistency with standards. Additionally, we leverage the pipelines feature to provide automated deployments and testing where possible to maximize our CICD process for our projects.
  • Code Review
  • Code Management
  • Light Automation
  • Stability - While better than in the past, there are times where Bitbucket services will go offline or be hindered several times a day, which can cause problems with deployments and workflow.
  • Pipelines - The pipelines interface is largely a log with output, and a text editor in which to configure changes. It would nice to see this a little more robust to make it easier to interface with.
For most standard code management and deployment scenarios, Bitbucket does a fabulous job. You can easily branch you code, review it, merge it, and deploy it with little manual intervention once things are set up.

If you need a more robust pipeline for your projects, Bitbucket might not suit you as well. If you need to establish multiple tests, potential load tests, additional compilation, and more deployment options, other tools, such as Azure DevOps would better suit your needs.
Read Sean Patterson's full review
Tiago Romero Garcia profile photo
November 18, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "Outstanding codebase manager, specially if the team also uses JIRA"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's being used by several departments within the company and clients of the company.
It addresses hosting the codebase using the Git platform, where the developers can share and collaborate when developing the functionalities of their projects, and also allows developers to perform code reviews and provide visibility of their work with the JIRA board because of the Bitbucket-JIRA integration.
  • Intuitive
  • Reliable
  • Good integrations
  • Very useful diffing tools
  • Hard to track stale branches, which end up increasing the size of the repo
  • Could use better labeling options for filtering and searching of PRs
  • Could have an integrated wiki like GitHub
Well suited for small to medium sized teams which need to share code and review each others' PRs.
Great if team is using JIRA because of the integration with stories.
Less appropriate if teams need to work off different CI pipelines which dont have good integration with Bitbucket
Read Tiago Romero Garcia's full review
Gabriel Samaroo profile photo
September 27, 2018

Review: "Bitbucket - Great Git Version Control tool for Developers"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The software engineering [department] uses BitBucket as its choice of version control for all repositories (over 30). It allows us to manage our advanced development and deployment workflows and integrates well with JIRA and Confluence.
  • Very intuitive and user-friendly user interface.
  • Lot of options for integrations, such as with JIRA, and with Slack.
  • Very reliable. Never an issue with being buggy or not working.
  • It would be cool to have better options to search for individual User contributions.
  • You can set up a list of users who are required to approve certain pull requests (which is VERY useful). It would be nice to set up a group of users, then assign a group as being required for approval, so that if that group changes, you can update it in one place and not across every code repository.
  • There are storage limits to how much you can store, and anything above it costs money. This generally isn't an issue, but can be in certain scenarios.
It's free, easy to set up, and gives you everything you want and need from Git Version Control. If you're simply storing data (images, videos, documents), version control isn't necessarily ideal, and something like Amazon S3 or Amazon Glacier is better suited.
Read Gabriel Samaroo's full review
Nethmal Sellahewa profile photo
August 30, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "One of the best in this category"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Bitbucket to manage all our ongoing projects and future projects. It is easy to integrate with any IDE and we are currently using PHP Storm. Because of the Bitbucket, multiple users can work at the same time. After all it is easy to sync all the work done by the team.
  • User Permission Handling
  • Team Management
  • Unlimited repositories.
  • First 5 users are free
  • Only five users for free plan
  • 1GB storage for free plan
  • Only 50 build minutes avaiable for free users
Please add some basic plan to small companies. Otherwise it is so hard to afford for small teams in the industry. Trello configuration is I think one of the best features in the product. Please increase the five users to at least 10 users in the free plan. Because it will help many programmers.
Read Nethmal Sellahewa's full review
Fedor Paretsky profile photo
April 11, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "Super affordable for smaller teams!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is used company-wide in all of our Engineering departments for a variety of products. We organized a large number of repositories in one organization and have each of the repository's permissions set to allow writing/reading for only a specific sub-group of our entire company. When creating a new repository, we typically clone a default repository, which additionally clones all of our personalized settings for the repo, such as webhooks, permissions, descriptions, etc...
  • Affordable for larger teams that require many reports split up separately into sub-groups.
  • Easy to customize all repo permissions and settings.
  • Awesome in-browser code viewer, that was just released!
  • Extremely intuitive and well-done UI, allowing viewing of many reports and handling code and files extremely simple/quick.
  • Private repositories are only free for up to 5 team members.
  • Many of the features of Bitbucket are clearly still a work-in-progress. You can see that some of the features aren't stable, and there are still some bugs in the releases that they make.
  • Searching repositories are not possible in the browser, unlike GitHub. You must download the entire repository or branch first, and then perform the search locally.
Bitbucket is most suited for small startups that are not at a stage to pay for company pricing for VCMs and do not want to host code on their own servers. It provides the necessary features to ensure that releases are a success, and unlike its competitors, Bitbucket does this for free. Bitbucket is less-suited for teams that are larger and companies that have large departments working on a single repository. At that point, it is time to look at self-hosting VCMs.
Read Fedor Paretsky's full review
Richard Molina profile photo
May 03, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "My preferred tool for managing git repositories. It's great."

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
During my career as a programmer, I have seen the need to find software to manage my projects in the cloud, that is, where I found Bitbucket and since then I did not stop using it.
Not only does it have a pretty clean and clear interface, but it's also easy to use. It only took me about 15 minutes to see how it worked.
Now I have all my projects accessible in the cloud thanks to this online platform.
I love it. I simply recommend it to the whole community of programmers.
  • When cloning projects, it is quite easy thanks to the button that allows you to quickly open the git client.
  • I currently have several projects in my Bitbucket account stored. When I need a similar algorithm, I just log in to my account and download the project I need.
  • On one occasion, I used the online interface to join several commits from different programmers without using the command line.
  • It has little documentation for the Hispanic community.
  • They can improve cloud storage costs for independent programmers.
  • I would like you to have a tutorial for basic users in multiple languages.
When I'm developing an application from scratch, I always need a structure to guide me. This is where Bitbucket comes into play. Clone one of my previous projects thanks to Bitbucket and I can start to develop. It's great, easy and fast!
Read Richard Molina's full review
Brett Knighton profile photo
January 18, 2018

Review: "Bitbucket meets the needs of our use case."

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the dev groups in our organization use a hosted instance of Bitbucket. Typically each department has their own project with the exception being projects for shared libraries used across multiple products. Bitbucket allows us to efficiently manage the code base of products across our organization.
  • Bitbucket allows us to create merge rules specific to the needs of each repository.
  • Bitbucket allows for integrations with build tools such as TeamCity so we can ensure successful builds of branches and pull requests before merging.
  • The different tools and comment tracking on pull requests are super convenient.
  • There is a learning curve to the UI and user management tools.
Bitbucket is well suited for large organizations that need custom deployments and to self-host their repositories. I wouldn't recommend it for open source projects.
Read Brett Knighton's full review
Ronald Melendez profile photo
May 09, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "The best code repository manager"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is an excellent code manager based on Git. Bitbucket has become my favorite when creating new repositories of code.
  • Pretty good code security options. The security settings for the permissions to write in the repositories is very, very good.
  • It's the best way to resolve merge conflicts in the code. Graphically it is very easy to solve these problems in our code.
  • The way to perform the pull request is very simple for your development coordinator to review and approve your code.
  • You can have your control of code versions very elegantly, with a fairly comfortable interface to work.
  • You can only have two repositories for free, to get more you must have a payment account.
  • Is a bit heavy when loading the page to be able to review the repositories.
  • It does not have an intuitive interface for the user and it costs a bit to adapt to its interface.
When you have multiple repositories and you want a good security, the best thing is to use Bitbucket. You have very attentive support and the repository has no weight limit. You can work with the language of your preference and work with Git or with Mercurial. It is one of the best options when you have several important projects to develop. The option of using Bitbucket is always on the table.
Read Ronald Melendez's full review
Jeffrey Cheng profile photo
December 13, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "Your go-to for free private repositories!"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Previously I was using it as the main development platform for work. I found the free private repositories very valuable for an early stage start up as well as very easy to integrate with CI and other tools. They have plenty of integrations prebuilt and their support is very responsive as well. I find it a very great alternative to GitHub and GitLab (which seems to be down almost every day at least for a couple hours).

I still use it personally for my own projects that I work on with friends and have almost no issue with the basic day to day features.
  • Bitbucket is almost never down and you'll always be able to access your repositories.
  • Easy to use integrations for CI and development tools.
  • Newly rolled out features are well thought out and do not take away from the UX and core functionality.
  • The settings of each repository are a little bit hard to navigate.
  • The list of all projects and repositories are also hard to navigate.
  • For a smaller team, keeping track of smaller projects all over the place is tedious.
It's well suited for any team ranging from 5+ people. If it gets smaller than that, it might just be easier to hold your repos on GitHub strictly because of the way the information is displayed on the page. Aside from that, all the standard features like issue tracking and making pull requests are going to be there. The UX/UI is not as friendly as GitHub but it is a solid tool for free private repositories.
Read Jeffrey Cheng's full review
No photo available
February 01, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "A fantastic source code management tool"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket in all our offices worldwide to manage our source code migrated to Git - that is, almost all our code base, as we get rid of older versioning systems like CVS, SVN, Mercurial and Platinum. Bitbucket gives a front-end that helps a lot the collaboration between developers on a common code base: helping see the code in central repositories, visualize the branching network, manage pull requests, perform the associated code reviews, and plug external tools (like Jenkins) thanks to its system of hooks.
  • In my experience, Bitbucket has shown as very stable. In more than 2 years of regular usage, with more than 5,000 people contributing on an immense code base, I have only experienced one unscheduled outage as a user, lasting less than 1 hour.
  • Bitbucket proposes a handy visualization tool to help see branches, merges of the various contributions.
  • The code review feature of Bitbucket is fairly good, allowing to comment modified code, reply to comments. This helps developers discuss on changes until they reach a consensus.
  • Bitbucket integrates well with JIRA (from Atlassian too). It is possible to create a new branch directly from a JIRA issue. This allows the people who subsequently access the JIRA issue to find the code.
  • Bitbucket also integrates with HipChat. Pull requests can trigger notifications in HipChat rooms.
  • It is possible to add hooks, and integrate specific actions through various plugins. A Jenkins plugin allows to set up a continuous integration system, and contribute in a Devops initiative.
  • Bitbucket does not highlight well lines of code for which only the indent change. This makes it painful to review some pull requests, as large blocks of code can be highlighted as changed.
  • When accessing a project or repository for which you don't have access, Bitbucket just gives you an error, but gives no way of notifying the project/repository owner that you would like to get access, or getting the name(s) of the project/repository owner(s).
  • The search engine is quite limited. It seems it searches in the repository names and descriptions, but does not search in the source code. We have to setup a third-party search engine.
Bitbucket does well its core business: provide a central store for your Git repositories, support the pull request management and code reviews. On top of that, it also has good potential for integration in a software company's ecosystem. We can definitely say that Bitbucket integrates natively with other Atlassian products (especially JIRA and HipChat in my experience). But it can also integrate with Jenkins, and probably other tools thanks to its hook system.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 17, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "Great Version Control System for Private Repositories"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is used in my company to share some git repositories with third party entities. Due to some restrictions of networks and security, when a code share is needed between the company and third parties, this is the tool used to share code.

  • Unlimited private repositories for free for teams up to 5 elements. Even for larger teams, the prices are affordable.
  • Great integration with JIRA, allows to create branches from a JIRA issue.
  • Multiple login options: Google + (preferable), but also GitHub, Facebook and Twitter
  • Allow to import project from other sources: Git, Mercurial, Subversion, SourceForge and CodePlex
  • Allows to create repositories in Git or Mercurial
  • Excellent for academic purposes
  • Doesn't have a massive community behind it like GitHub
  • If you want to host BitBucket in your servers, the price will increase a lot
  • Web UI could be improved, some tasks like see all branches or search on code could be a huge pain
Bitbucket is an excellent option for small projects with small teams who want to keep all code versioned and safe, on private repositories and host it on the cloud. Is also very good to integrate with Atlassian eco-system, mainly with JIRA. It has also a free issue tracker and wiki. It also provides a pipeline that allows you to build and automatically test your application.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 23, 2018

Review: "Bitbucket is a great and reliable versioning tool, especially if you're looking for free git repos hosting"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I've used Bitbucket both as a Freelancer and as a Software Engineer at the company I used to work at. We used Git at that company and Bitbucket allows for unlimited number private repositories for a smaller fee than GitHub. Bitbucket was mainly used by the engineering team although it has plenty of integrations that allow for Product owners and managers keep track of what the team was doing.
  • When it comes to private repos, it is a lot cheaper than GitHub since it allows for an unlimited number.
  • It supports code review, pull requests, branch comparison and commit history.
  • It has a companion app called Sourcetree that is very easy to use if you're a CLI buff.
  • It integrates with tools like JIRA, which help in project management.
  • Apparently not so stable as GitHub, but that is rarely a problem.
  • The only way to search is to launch repository and find it locally or use external apps.
If you're part of a small team with 5 or less users, I'd say Bitbucket is the tool to use, since it allows for unlimited repos, be them public and/or private. Bitbucket started out as a Mercurial VCS, so if your team works with Mercurial you can't go wrong with it. If your team has projects in SVN though, you can't go with Bitbucket as it doesn't support it. If your team already uses JIRA, that could also weigh in as a pro to using Bitbucket as it integrates with it natively off the bat.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
April 03, 2018

Bitbucket Review: "Great productivity tool for teams"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is actually the tool used to share our apps code by the whole organization. It works perfectly as needed. There have been very few times when the service was unavailable so I would say it is pretty reliable, which is very important for this kind of product.
Lately they have updated the user interface and I find it much better than before. As I'm not usually writing code I do use the web interface to look things up when needed.
  • Works seamlessly with our build tool (Drone CI)
  • Easy and clean UI for exploring the repo
  • Reliable service
  • Improve the file diff tool
  • Have an official mobile app, mainly to be able to look at updates, PR, commits, etc.
I haven't used much of the competition to be able to describe different scenarios which are better for one product or another, but from my experience, Bitbucket works perfectly for small teams, 2-10 people at least. It's a good price for startups on a budget. I have also been using it as a student and it was great to be able to have private repos for free.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
January 19, 2018

User Review: "Bitbucket bits of information"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket across our whole organization. It helps us keep track of all of our GIT repositories and allows us to review code in a timely and organized way. It allows the organization to keep repositories isolated to certain people and allows for sharing of other repositories with everyone in the company if there is the need for company wide tools.
  • I really like the way pull requests are viewable in one location and are easy to find
  • I like not having to pull down whole repositories just to view a simple line of code if needed
  • Setting up ssh keys and integrations worked very well
  • Integrations with our teamcity servers has been very smooth
  • This is partly due to organization of our teams, but at times I am added to way too many pull requests automatically.
  • It would be nice to have functionality that looks for certain files changed or folders in pull requests to add reviewers.
Bitbucket is very well suited in both small and large organizations. It has done well for me when I only had a couple repositories that I was working on personally and it has done well with a larger organization with hundreds of repositories.

I would only not suggest it when there aren't any repositories created or collaborative documents/files that need to be changed.
Read this authenticated review
Filip Witkowski profile photo
November 09, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "Must have versioning control if you use Jira"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used as main versioning control tool for all Our company's projects. It is used as part of Altassian Jira suite, together with Jira, Bamboo and Confluence. We use it as stash for our projects, where developers check in they branches using git commands, create pull requests and merge approved branches (pull requests) in to main branch.
  • It is great to track changes done by different programmers.
  • You can add comments, tasks to pull request.
  • It works together with Jira, so inside your Jira tickets you see all branches and pull requests associated with the tickets. This is really useful.
  • You could add some sorting and filtering options to table views.
  • View changes done for particular project (inside solution) or folder.
It is very good when you have multiple projects and developers cross working on same code.
Also if you have it as part of Altassian it is your must to have versioning control software. I works seamlessly with Jira.
When you have small company with one project, you probably want to have GitHub or GitLab.
Read Filip Witkowski's full review
Aditya Peshave profile photo
September 27, 2017

Review: "Bitbucket - Great tool for agile software development"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use bitbucket as the only source control system here at Sophos. Every process starting from developing to deployment is backed by bitbucket.
  • Conflict management is superior in bitbucket.
  • It provides quick and easy connectors to JIRA and Jenkins.
  • It is very convenient to work on multiple branches at the same time and to track the status of the branch by visual representation of the branch commits by graphs.
  • Finding pull requests is a bit confusing once you have reviewed it, it loses the track from notifications. There should be a way to keep approved PRs in the notification segment.
For software product industry where projects are best fit as agile module, bitbucket plays great role with branches and its pull request management.
Read Aditya Peshave's full review
Bayley Gaillard profile photo
August 11, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "Great product"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket across all of IT; it's a great product, very easy to integrate with for source control.
  • Pull request screen is simple and efficient.
  • Creating repositories has never been easier.
  • Permissions management is easy to use.
  • Note that the cloud version has a lot more features than the hosted one. The hosted one is fine, but it lags behind quite a bit on the cutting-edge stuff.
Great if you're using an Atlassian stack, as it integrates well with Bamboo and JIRA
Read Bayley Gaillard's full review
Chris Putnam profile photo
June 14, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "A Free Bucket for Your Bits"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently using Bitbucket for my own personal projects. Bitbucket gives me a place to store and track the code for these projects, and share them flexibly with friends and colleagues - or keep them private as needed. Both the core git service and web interface have been reliable and fully featured in my experience.
  • Offers private repositories, even with their free service level.
  • Full featured, functional web interface.
  • Web interface includes editing for quick text changes.
  • Although the web interface is very full-featured, it is sometimes not intuitive to find the setting or feature you are looking for.
For proprietary work or private projects that you just aren't ready to share, Bitbucket has a fairly clear edge. For open-source projects, it's very difficult to beat GitHub - there's almost no reason to steer away from GitHub for open-source. However, they charge for private projects, while Bitbucket does not.
Read Chris Putnam's full review
No photo available
November 10, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "A very good version control system"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket has been used extensively in the digital part of my company. We are using it for all our projects small and big and it is our official way of versioning software. It helps to keep track of every change done to the code and to have a history of them without the risk of losing data.
  • Versioning code: tracking every commit with precision
  • Branches management: Managing branches for a team working on the same project
  • Accessibility: easy interface via web for the codebase
  • Project management: Creation of projects and sub-repositories is a little bit lacklustre
  • I would like an editor (maybe WYSIWYG) for readme (MD) files
  • Conflict merge history to improve
I would say that Bitbucket is an excellent software for managing your repositories. You can separate by projects and repositories inside projects. Teamwork is assured with a lot of good tools for merging and branching. Using SourceTree (companion app) everything is even easier.

I would avoid the use of BitBucket IF your team is mainly developing in Linux systems. SourceTree is missing for an operative system and you can't have optimal results.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
November 03, 2017

User Review: "I highly recommend Bitbucket."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is used by our organization to store and maintain codebases of number of completed and ongoing projects. As an IT department of the organization, we rely extensively on Bitbucket to maintain those repositories. We have number of developers who work on the same project and Bitbucket allows us to systematically collaborate and manage those projects by taking care of version control.
  • It is quite straightforward and easy to create a repository, share it, clone it and start working on it right away.
  • It maintains all the code changes, manages the versions and also allows to revert them back.
  • It allows to creates branches that makes it easier to work on a special feature before merging it back to the master codebase.
  • It has been really easy to work with it, can't complain.
It is most suited when you have more than one developer working on the same project. It is easy to keep track of the changes. Also, if you're working on creating new features, you could branch out from the master codebase and later merge it easily. I can't say that it's not useful for a single developer because even so having a repository and maintaining one's code in Bitbucket allows them to have much better control over the version and code reversal. It is also a good way to keep you code backed up.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 21, 2017

Bitbucket: "Bitbuket review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket to handle any push request (PR) for new code to our framework and this is used across the whole organization. It is a user-friendly website to review any PR and you can see changes people are submitting. It is very usefully working with JIRA to create new branches off of the repository.
  • User-friendly to create and review PRs
  • Works well with JIRA to create new branches off of a repository
  • Easy to clone repository into a computer
  • It would be nice to download more files on to our local machine so we can do some test with new code
Bitbucket is useful for submitting code changes to a framework. It is very easy to use to review changes in a code. It may not be necessary if a company is not reviewing anything making changes to a framework.
Read this authenticated review
No photo available
August 01, 2017

Bitbucket Review: "Cost Effective and Intuitive Tool"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is currently being used as our primary source control tool across development and data teams. We host all of our code, data operations scripts, SSIS projects, etc., in Bitbucket repositories. It's essential for proper code maintenance, collaborating among teams, versioning, etc., as well as integrating well with the other Atlassian products we work with.
  • Easy integration with SourceTree.
  • Perfect avenue for code reviews.
  • Easy to understand interface.
  • More efficient and easy to understand methods for addressing merge conflicts.
  • Assigning access levels and group access is a bit confusing.
  • Better community forums for addressing shared problems with the tool.
Bitbucket is perfectly suited for any organizations utilizing Atlassian tools (as our organization does). It takes a tool that works especially well for versioning and team collaboration and elevates it with the ability to integrate with specific projects in JIRA, documentation in Confluence, and general communication across the organization. It also provides good backups for repositories. Some less than ideal scenarios are if you are working external tools that don't integrate directly with Bitbucket.
Read this authenticated review

About Bitbucket

Bitbucket from Australian-headquartered Atlassian offers source code management and version control.
Categories:  Version Control

Bitbucket Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No