Bitbucket Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
198 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 57)

Mohammad Aminul Islam | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 20, 2020

Bitbucket

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket in our group to store the code files of group members and keep it organized. It is being used by a research group.
  • Repository for code files in different languages (Python, C++).
  • Share code with other people.
  • Speed up the pull and push request for bigger files.
  • Increase and promote community support.
Bitbucket is well suited as a repository for research code files. It has a feature to keep the files public or private. So, anyone can store their code file in the private repository and share it among the group.
Read Mohammad Aminul Islam's full review
Richard Rout | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

Bitbucket is source control for people who use Atlassian products

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bitbucket for a while as a source control management. It integrates really well with JIRA and is fairly decent at doing what it needs to do. It was used across the entire development team as a source code repository and code review platform. It enabled us to comment on pull requests and code
  • Integrates with JIRA.
  • Private repositories.
  • Not as rounded or as complete as GitHub or Gitlab.
  • Seems very entangled in the Atlassian ecosystem.
If you're already using the Atlassian suite of products it's a great idea to use Bitbucket for your source code management and code reviews. Integrating with JIRA and other Atlassian products is a great feature and provides a lot of utility and insights into code and how things are getting done. But if you're not already bought into that Atlassian/JIRA world, it probably makes more sense to use something like GitHub or Gitlab instead.
Read Richard Rout's full review
Joshua Cariño | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2019

A good place to learn and work collaboratively with Git

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is being used in almost all of our projects. It is even being used to teach new software engineers like us how to use Git as it is very easy to use with a non-cluttered user interface. We mostly used it so far with our SonarQube integration for detecting code vulnerabilities and bad code structure. Personally, I use it with my UI Git which is GitKraken as I could directly push and pull request commits from that GIT application without going to BitBucket.
  • CI/CD.
  • Slack integration.
  • I want to see analytics functionality, like commits, merges per week or month, etc.
Very well suited for general use of Git within the organization and a good place to teach new developers how to work collaboratively in Git. However for trials and test, developers that could be added in projects/repositories are limited. I wish they could increase this further at least up to 10 developers. Other than that, it's still a good place to start working collaboratively as it is very easy to use.
Read Joshua Cariño's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Good Choice for a Code Repository

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My department uses Bitbucket as a code repository for our eCommerce site. It is used exclusively by our Information Technology department within the company. This product allows my team to share code, merge code objects that were worked on by various developers, and even view the history of the code objects. It also integrates very well with Jira which makes collaboration even easier.
  • It integrates seamlessly with Jira allowing code repositories to be linked directly to projects / issues.
  • It merges code allowing for team collaboration.
  • The user community is not as vast as other Git products such as GitHub.
  • The UI could use some updating / improvements.
Bitbucket is particularly well suited for teams that need to collaborate on projects. I also highly recommend it for development teams that use Jira for projects and issue tracking since they integrate so nicely. It also allows for side-by-side comparison of code.

Although Bitbucket does allow merging of code, the conflicts have to be manually addressed which can be time consuming. If this is something you believe your team may encounter frequently, there might be better options.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 20, 2020

Great cloud source management solution for business

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket to store and track our engineering project codes, especially for projects that require collaboration between internal and external teams. Since this is a cloud-based solution, it is very easy for external collaborators on the projects to access the code stored in Bitbucket without having to go through firewalls and set up VPNs.
  • Deep integration with Trello/Jira and Confluence for issue tracking and documentation
  • Great pricing model for both small and enterprise-level companies (even with a free tier)
  • Some key important features require third-party add-ons, such as reporting and charts
  • Cannot archive repositories
Overall, Bitbucket is a solid solution for both casual users that just want a place to host their private work and businesses that need a reliable cloud source control solution. With the entire Atlassian Cloud suite, you get Trello/Jira for issue tracking, Confluence for documentation, and its pipeline feature for CI/CD, so a one-stop shop for the whole development experience without having to look elsewhere. And if you need to have it hosted on-premises for some reason, it is also possible via their server offering (the entire suite).

However, if you are looking for a home for your new open-source project, then GitHub is definitely the way to go, as it has established itself as the go-to place for open source projects. It has been around longer, the community is bigger, and people (especially the open-source crowd) are more familiar with it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 29, 2020

Affordable collaboration and control for source code with Bitbucket

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is used by all of our developers across our organization. As our official source code management system, Bitbucket saves time and money on programming projects. It makes it easier for our employees to collaborate, while also providing a reliable backup of all previous versions of our source code if we need to revert any changes quickly.
  • Collaboration - Bitbucket makes it easy for large teams to work together on programming projects.
  • Code Search - Source code is indexed and searchable.
  • Issue Tracking - Bitbucket doesn't seem to be built with issue tracking in mind.
  • Third-Party Support - There are still a lot of other vendors that don't integrate with Bitbucket, even if they offer integrations for GitHub or other similar tools.
Bitbucket is great for development teams that need to manage source code in a central location. It's uniquely well suited for organizations that use other Atlassian products (such as Jira, Confluence, etc.) due to available integrations. Due to the relatively affordable licensing costs, Bitbucket is also a good choice for nonprofits or other teams with a limited budget.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 22, 2020

Start small Scale Big.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  1. Bitbucket is used across the whole organization.
  2. Helpful in continuous integrations.
  3. Helpful in incremental builds if used along with other software that supports it.
  4. Helpful in private repository management, we host our private repositories on bitbucket and use it internally within the organization.
  5. It can be integrated with other third-party apps to showcase how the task is ongoing.
  • Continuous integration - Multiple people can work simultaneously on the same project.
  • Private repositories- Can be created on the cloud and can be used internally.
  • Pricing - limited number of repositories can be created for free.
  • Per project pricing is a bit more compared to other competitors.
  • Well suited/ less appropriate if-
  • You want to start small and are ready to invest in Bitbucket as the company grows. Since pricing can let you explore other options, even in that case, you have your whole repository locally with you, which you can migrate easily by merely changing the remote.
  • Least appropriate if your project is extensive and exceeds even 2GB.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

A very good CI/CD tool for most company sizes

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In most of my experiences, both with personal projects working from home and working with clients remotely, doing freelance or working directly with a company, all of them had some sort of repository service available online to securely store their code and to allow teams of software developers of different sizes to collaborate in projects of all sizes. For some specific cases, I found companies using Bitbucket heavily, in some cases. combined with other options mostly to have a "plan b" in case Bitbucket would change their privacy settings. I have seen Bitbucket not only being used as a repository but also being used to fully run all the continuous integration and continuous deployment strategy, using most of its capabilities to have tickets, integrations with hooks and even pipelines to different VPS providers. One of the good things about Bitbucket for small companies is the fact that they offer you at no cost unlimited private repositories, unlike other providers where you need to pay a fee. It also has a great Jira integration which comes in handy when your company uses other Atlassian products. It also has integration with other tools but other repository providers also count on these integrations so if you choose to use BitBucket it will be more personal preference and choosing the right tool for your necessities.
  • Unlimited private repositories.
  • Pull requests and code reviews.
  • The configuration can be tricky sometimes unlike with other tools.
Small companies with limited budgets can immediately have a tool that will allow them to have continuous integration and delivery built-in by default along with unlimited private repositories. Companies that want to show their public repositories to the world in order to attract new developers to contribute or even work for them might have issues achieving this by using Bitbucket. This is not a problem for platforms such as GitHub.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 17, 2020

Powerful SCM with its tools

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket in our client location. It is used as a standard SCM tool for the entire client across all domains.
It helps to store and maintain your code along with easy configuration with other Atlassian tools like Confluence and Jira. Its sync between other Atlassian products is a great benefit for the management of teams.
  • Source of management
  • Code review
  • Create pipelines within the app.
  • Syncs with other tools.
It is well suited for large enterprises that have many teams and want to manage all the teams along with their codes in a single platform. It has the feature of making teams within companies. Then, you have your repos inside the teams which make it easy for users to search for their code easily even if they are kept in a single SCM tool.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 30, 2019

Excellent Application For Source Code Control

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is being used worldwide by my organization. In my department, it is being used fo manage source codes for internally developed applications. As we use JIRA also to manage the requests, we can link the demands with corrections that should be made in the developed applications. Also, we use Bitbucket to hold legacy application codes.
  • Easy to use.
  • Integrated with JIRA.
  • License cost.
  • Sometimes integrated applications like SourceTree perform strange errors, causing loss of time.
It applies to almost all development scenarios, where it is necessary to hold and control the source code. It can be integrated with Visual Studio that can help speed up the coding process with security. It is not recommended to use with open-source codes, because it is not being used (popular) among this kind of programmers.
Read this authenticated review
Brett Knighton | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 11, 2019

Bitbucket meets the needs of our use case.

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
All the dev groups in our organization use a hosted instance of Bitbucket. Typically each department has their own project with the exception being projects for shared libraries used across multiple products. Bitbucket allows us to efficiently manage the code base of products across our organization.
  • Bitbucket allows us to create merge rules specific to the needs of each repository.
  • Bitbucket allows for integrations with build tools such as TeamCity so we can ensure successful builds of branches and pull requests before merging.
  • The different tools and comment tracking on pull requests are super convenient.
  • There is a learning curve to the UI and user management tools.
Bitbucket is well suited for large organizations that need custom deployments and to self-host their repositories. I wouldn't recommend it for open source projects.
Read Brett Knighton's full review
Machindra Dharmadhikari | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 26, 2019

Best Source Code Management Application for Medium Scale Users

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used across all of the organization by all developers. It is used primarily as a source code version control repository but some of the teams use it as a binary repository as well. It is used for code review by developers. Bitbucket also supports add-ons which help users get customized functionality in the application, helping them to work easily and adapt it the way they want.
  • Bitbucket provides more flexibility in using custom plugins, which helps developers to use required functionalities in Bitbucket which may not be available by default.
  • Bitbucket provides integration with JIRA which helps users track the commits in JIRA. Reduces the manual work which required to track the commit against each JIRA story.
  • Bitbucket allows configuring SSH key of the server which helps to clone and commit the code very fast & very easily.
  • Third-party plugins which were recommended by the Atlassian. We installed it in our instance but we don’t get proper support in case of any issues in the instance because of the plugin. Sometimes Git doesn’t work with bitbucket well so Atlassian should help in troubleshooting as Git is recommended client by the Atlassian.
  • Bitbucket doesn’t have the capability to generate the graphs and customised reports of source code repos. For reports, we need to use Atlassian recommended third party plugins but those are having a lot of performance issues in the whole instance and the vendor doesn’t provide the resolutions in a timely manner.
  • Bitbucket does not capture the details about the force push. There should be some way to capture the details of force push as force push deletes the history.
Bitbucket is well suited in small organisation with less users and also for adopting multiple instances based on projects instead of having one instance for whole organisation. Good for up to 8k users in one instance. Bitbucket is not suited for bigger organisations which having only one instance shared across all the departments. It is also not directly suited for the source code files which are in huge size but not categorised under the binaries.
Read Machindra Dharmadhikari's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 24, 2019

Bitbucket - Good for Small Companies Who are on a Budget but Lacking the Features to Be the Best

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is/was being used as the primary version control provider for 2 of the companies I have worked for. It allowed us to store our Git commit history on remote servers and share it with all employees so that everyone is using the correct code. It allows for free private repositories for small teams which was nice for a young startup.
  • Free private repositories for small teams - this is great to save costs relative to other options
  • They have some robust (although sometimes confusing) team and project management tools
  • They have built out many pipeline and integrations, but we did not use these
  • The code management UI is a bit rough around the edges and difficult to work with.
  • BitBucket does not have the same simplified PR management tools as other competitors.
  • It's not as easy to integrate 3rd party apps as other competitors.
Bitbucket is a great option for people who want a free tool for a small startup or team. Other options require you to pay for private teams for professional projects. It can handle anything you need for basic needs - you can manage your code and versions while also easily managing the team and access to it.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 30, 2019

Bitbucket Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used Bitbucket for hosting several private code repositories for our business. I’ve also used it a bit for personal projects. It is very easy to get started and is a great solution for hosting private repositories. Atlassian has many products under its umbrella and integrating Bitbucket with other services is made really easy.
  • Hosting private repos.
  • Managing team collaborators.
  • Integrating with other Atlassian products.
  • The markdown used for issues was lacking compared to GitHub.
  • Pricing for a small team was a bit more than competitors.
  • The interface is a bit too “business” class and not very intuitive.
Hosting private repositories was the core business use of Bitbucket for us. I also used it for hosting private demo repos for third-party clients which was easy as well.

Unfortunately, I did not find the usability of the platform as intuitive as GitHub, particularly when it came to showing markdown in issues, something about the formatted just didn’t click.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

Bitbucket is a great product but still has room for development

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is a great replacement for SVN. You can save all your codes or necessary documents on the network rather than saving them locally on a computer. This not only lets everybody in your company use your codes, but it also prevents it from getting lost due to computer breakdown, theft, etc.
  • Saving codes on a server.
  • Easy to use.
  • Don't necessarily have to use terminal to do Git operations.
  • It can make it more user-friendly so that first-time users find it easy to work with.
  • It is costly.
  • Setup is a bit tricky.
It is really good if you are familiar with Git commands, etc. But for first-time users you do have to take extra efforts to help them understand. Or use software like Sourcetree to ease the process and not have to use terminal.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 29, 2019

A solid and cost-effective option

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is currently our primary version control solution. It is being used as a primary system for all code that requires versioning.
  • For what it is, Bitbucket works very well.
  • Ease of use - Navigating the UI is pretty seamless and straightforward.
  • Plugins - Bitbucket has a wide array of plugins available that allow pretty easy integrations with other tools and systems.
  • Reliability - In my experience, bitbucket is not the most reliable solution available.
  • Restoring - Plugins seem to be all or nothing when restoring. This makes knowing which things are enabled not the greatest experience when an event happens and you must restore. Several days of “well, we noticed this feature was missing” is pretty painful in the way of end-user experience.
  • Permissions - In many ways, setting specific permissions for projects and repositories are not as intuitive as other solutions available.
Bitbucket is your run of the mill version control system. If you are looking for a solution that also has powerful pipelining capabilities, this probably isn’t for you. If you are looking for a basic system you can use to implement version control and a place to store your code, Bitbucket is a pretty good solution. The Bitbucket server UI is very different than the Bitbucket cloud UI so your mileage may vary on usability, but either option is pretty easy to implement and use.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
June 17, 2019

Bitbucket - Simple version control management system

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is a git repository management solution designed for professional teams. It gives us a central place to manage git repositories, collaborate on our source code and guide us through the development flow. It facilitate us to work with sourcetree git client applications which provide a graphical user interface to interact with our git repositories. It helps us collaborate better on code and integrates well with other Atlassian tools like Jira and Bamboo, which makes it easier to implement DevOps processes and keep track of the development workflow. Therefore working with Bitbucket is so easy. Beginners can start working on Bitbucket without knowing git commands. And also it provides strong access control. We can ensure the safety of our project in Bitbucket. I am using Bitbucket for managing my own projects. Before that I tried several version control systems to do that but only Bitbucket provides me with a flexible way to manage my projects. Also we have no need to worry about the commands which are being used in git. By using the sourcetree git client we can do all the version controlling task very easily. I recommend that all of you use Bitbucket for doing your version control tasks.
  • Easy to track who has been making changes to the repository.
  • Each developer can have his/her local repository and keep changes in sync with the server.
  • Excellent auditing tools
  • Simple interface and file management through built-in SourceTree integration.
  • It provides limited space for community edition.
  • No ability to nest repositories.
  • Server version does not allow a README to be generated automatically when a repository is created (only available in the Cloud version).
  • No ability to archive a repository (and moving to a different project changes the hyperlink path).
For large enterprises, Bitbucket and the rest of the Atlassian suite are kind of a given. It gives you the most options and customizations, and tons of data points. For medium to small organizations, it's probably overkill, and you'd be better served by an app or suite of apps that required less setup and maintenance, and less complexity to deal with.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
July 16, 2019

Excellent private Git Repo with powerful inbuilt CI tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket is used by my department as a code repository as well as for automating the build process for applications.
  • Good integration with other Atlassian products as well as 3rd party products like Slack.
  • Good for code review via pull requests.
  • Pipeline feature is very useful for automating the build process.
  • Could integrate better with a documentation tool, like GitHub does.
Bitbucket is great for having low-cost private repositories and integration with other Atlassian tools like Jira. The bitbucket pipeline feature is powerful (supports docker builds) for CI. The pull request feature ensures that you can make code review mandatory.

If you want a lot of documentation and a public-facing repo, Github is better.
Read this authenticated review
Gordon Lo | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 10, 2019

Basic Bitbucket is Decent

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have a dedicated team that is using Bitbucket in the organization today. They were part of a prior acquisition that was setup on the Atlassian tool set. It's used in conjunction with other Atlassian tools including JIRA, and Bamboo to facilitate development processes and source code management. It's worth noting that Dynacare is using both Bitbucket and VSTS for our source code management.
  • Bitbucket is very simple as a code repository goes. You can't really go wrong if you choose to keep private repositories here.
  • If you're ok with the basics, the pricing point is competitive compared to alternatives like VSTS which can cost more.
  • Integration to other Atlassian tools is well done. JIRA integration, for instance, enables branching and code reviews right from the JIRA tickets, which can improve work efficiency. If you choose to also purchase Bamboo, automated builds and deployments hook into the repositories and provide icons to determine if the build is working or broken.
  • Management of the repositories and projects is simple and easy to use.
  • Getting support for an issue is relatively speedy and the staff are usually able to help you resolve issues quickly.
  • The UI needs a refresh because it feels so dated and clunky.
  • CI is not available in the free tier. Costs of Bamboo to get CI builds can be expensive.
For small teams that only require the basics, Bitbucket will suffice. If you're already using Atlassian products, using Bitbucket is a no-brainer. Bitbucket integrates effortlessly with Bamboo and JIRA and offers a positive experience for the implementation team. However, that's where the good parts end. VSTS has a superior user experience, more features, and the pricing is comparable to Bitbucket. VSTS will grow seamlessly with your team, whereas Bitbucket is relatively focused and requires additional products such as Trello or JIRA to get your team into a full-fledged ALM/SDLC workflow.


Read Gordon Lo's full review
Michelli Capecchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 27, 2019

A much simpler way to manage the source codes.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This great software called Bitbucket is being used in the software development deparment since it is very useful. It provides the optimal tools to carry out the development of large business projects making communication, writing code, testing and implementation much simpler because we can access all of this in one place. It also allows us to access our private repositories in a much more secure way because we are the ones who give permission to access them. The implementation of this software has facilitated the administration of codes as well as the management of projects.
  • Intuitive and interactive interface.
  • Provides security to all our codes.
  • It offers unlimited private repositories.
  • Its integration with other tools makes its operation much more powerful.
  • Provides the most optimal tools to carry out the development of projects in a safe and simple way.
  • Its integrations are very limited since it is only integrated with tools from the same company.
  • When you want to create very large projects, your platform tends to slow down so when you want to test the codes and implement them, it is difficult to proceed.
  • Your only way to get all the tools or features of your platform is through premium users.
  • Collaborative work, although it is a great advantage, can also imply more expenses, especially if it is executed through its integration with other tools.
This software is suitable for very basic or not very extensive projects. This software is ideal to be implemented in large companies since they have the ability to pay for it as well as maintain their performance effectively as they can carry out the constant maintenance of the software. In small companies, although it may facilitate development work, the costs can be much higher than expected, so using them in them may not be very favorable.
Read Michelli Capecchi's full review
Thamara Pathiranage | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 26, 2019

Best source codes versioning control platform for organizations.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Across our whole organization, we are using the Bitbucket platform. We are using Bitbucket for code versioning and managing our source codes. Our development teams collaborate and manage the source codes within the platform. We can set access permissions for repositories, and also the user interfaces are very easy to use. It is the ideal way to manage and store our source codes.
  • Easy to version our source codes.
  • We can ensure maximum protection for our valuable source codes.
  • Can set access permissions for repositories.
  • We can easily review source codes.
  • When the service is down, it will remain down for more than 1 or 2 hours.
  • Unable to archive repositories.
  • It would be great if we could have some improvements to the user interfaces and user experiences.
We manage our source codes with the Bitbucket cloud, so our source codes are accessible from any location with a working internet connection. When we want to manage small, medium, or large sized projects we can use Bitbucket, as it is well suited for any kind of project. We are using BitBucket for the versioning control of source codes. We are using it to manage our latest large project source code, which is facilitated countrywide.
Read Thamara Pathiranage's full review
Tim Hardy | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 08, 2019

Bitbucket, a great cloud-based source control solution for Git Repositories

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Bitbucket as the source control repository for over twenty repositories. It is primarily used by the Development team, but operations and quality assurance teams use it to a limited extent as well.
  • Bitbucket provides a cloud-based Git solution for our source control repositories, which makes it ideal for both on-site and remote working environments.
  • Bitbucket provides very tight integration with Jira, another Atlassian product that we use for product and task management.
  • Bitbucket makes it easy to view changes to files over time, empowering research on what went wrong, when, and by whom.
  • Bitbucket allows private repositories in their free version - a major advantage over GitHub.
  • The Bitbucket labs view of file history (beta of upcoming changes) is a big step in the wrong direction. While it makes some navigation easier, it completely removes the most used function of file history - the ability to view all the commits against a file, and quickly get to the exact changes each of those commits had on the file you are researching. Hopefully, they will listen to feedback and implement the UX improvements while not losing the most important function of the page.
  • I'd like for a more streamlined UX viewing all the specific changes to a file over time and the commits they belong to.
  • Bitbucket could also benefit from a good graphical view of branches like GitKraken has.
Bitbucket is well suited for any development team that needs a cloud-based Git solution. It is exceptionally suited for a small team getting started that wants a private Git repository because GitHub does not support private repositories in their free version.
Read Tim Hardy's full review
Dave Otis | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 05, 2019

Smooth git repository

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We mainly use Bitbucket across all our department to easily manage our in-development projects. We find it really easy to use, and it saves us a lot of time and effort to manage our projects. With this nice tool, we can easily manage, review and monitor our code, plus it gives an amazing integration with JIRA.
  • Very simple usage
  • JIRA Integration
  • Can be run on your own servers
  • Issue tracker
  • Low cost
  • Sometimes slow
  • Privileged access
At first we used SVN, which was a basic solution to our requirements. We decided to switch to Bitbucket because it offered many tools and was an easy-to-use solution to simplify our work. With the integration of JIRA and the ability to revise the code and track potential bugs, Bitbucket was a must have at our company.
We actually do not have any scenario where Bitbucket is less appropriate in our company, we simply love it.
Read Dave Otis's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 12, 2019

Still evaluating, but promising so far

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Bitbucket Server is being rolled out to select development departments in our organization. At this time, our department is still evaluating the solution. We are not sure if we will transition to using it as our production code repository.
  • Ability to manage file versioning. Each developer can have his/her local repository and keep changes in sync with the server.
  • Simple interface and file management through built-in SourceTree integration.
  • Excellent auditing tools. Easy to track who has been making changes to the repository.
  • No ability to nest repositories.
  • Server version does not allow a README to be generated automatically when a repository is created (only available in the Cloud version).
  • No ability to archive a repository (and moving to a different project changes the hyperlink path).
Bitbucket is a great, easy to use git repository for code and file versioning. It is very easy to use if you have knowledge of how git works. If you are unfamiliar with git, it may seem confusing.
Read this authenticated review
Garett Dunn | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 12, 2018

A complex but powerful piece of the puzzle

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We're using Bitbucket (formerly Stash) across most of the engineering organizations. It helps us collaborate better on code and integrates well with other Atlassian tools like Jira and Bamboo, which makes it easier to implement DevOps processes and keep track of the development workflow.
  • Integration with other Atlassian products is great. Of course, this is probably the main reason people go with any of the Atlassian products, that they integrate with each other so seamlessly
  • It has a lot of automatic features relating to Jira and Bamboo, like exposing Bamboo job runs. This allows you to make better decisions about whether or not to merge a pull request, for example.
  • The new UI is based off Atlassian's new aesthetic, which makes the tool a pleasure to use. While not a "hard" feature, developer happiness is an important benefit
  • While it integrates flawlessly with other Atlassian products, it's lacking in 3rd party integrates, especially compared to competitors like GitHub and Gitlab
  • Using Jira for issues gives a lot of power, but it's also a lot of overhead and complexity that may or may not be necessary for your organization. It also puts issues in another tool, adding a little friction when it comes to addressing issues in your code
  • Searching for and discovering other projects and GitHub isn't quite as intuitive or easy to use as competitors
For large enterprises, Bitbucket and the rest of the Atlassian suite are kind of a given. It gives you the most options and customizations, and tons of data points. For medium to small organizations, it's probably overkill, and you'd be better served by an app or suite of apps that required less setup and maintenance, and less complexity to deal with.
Read Garett Dunn's full review

About Bitbucket

Bitbucket from Australian-headquartered Atlassian offers source code management and version control.
Categories:  Version Control

Bitbucket Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No