PowerApps Reviews

25 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.8 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-10 of 10)

Nigel Stratton | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2020

PowerApps trendy but limited

Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerApps is being used on mobile devices to simplify the recording of reading staff need to make. As an aero-medical retrieval specialist, we are moving COVID patients, as a result our crews must report their temperature and symptoms twice daily. The app allowed the crew to log data without having to call into a central desk to log results.
  • Deploy to mobile.
  • Create a great looking UI.
  • Handles updates well.
  • Programming model is unique and requires a total rethink for developers
  • Limitations to leverage SQL Server. Delegation limitations with Sharepoint.
  • This is a window for data, not suited to data manipulation in the app
It is fantastic for distribution to mobile devices, updates are simple and the UI looks awesome. Simple applications out of the box are fast and easy but it is not suited to customization. It is best as a window for prepared data.

For context, this is a low code platform, I am a developer, not a citizen developer, and I have found the PowerApp platform is not suited to customizations. I have only developed one application but I've spent a substantial amount of time perfecting it. There is a limited event model to tap into. The programming model for variables is backwards to standard programming, which requires a constant mental rewrite. Datacards are both useful and restrictive.

Data access for SQL Server is limited. Stored Procedures can only be accessed with Flow and in fact Flow is the best way to interact with it, which somewhat moves it out of the citizen developer zone. Joins can be done with Lookups but that will fire a separate query for each record in a list. Customizing the Item property resulted in quite unexpected queries being sent to SQL Server. Sharepoint is fast but searching with criteria is poor. For instance, you can't query using a date or a yes/no field.

SQL per-user pricing is expensive, which requires the use of per-Flow pricing to mitigate the cost but that increases complexity.
Read Nigel Stratton's full review
Krishn Garg | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2020

Easy and quick app development platform with integration to Office 365 and Azure

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
PowerApps is very good in creating professional apps with no code required. We are currently using PowerApps to integrate with SharePoint Online list and to display user data from other sources. It's being used by the whole organization to display users information daily on basis. Also integrating with SP Online to track customer requirements and follow up on same.
It's helping us in tracking user requirements and get a notification when any request raised.
  • Quick development with continuous improvements in apps
  • Integration with different services and MS Flow
  • The app load time with custom connectors that take time
  • Apps are only accessible with Microsoft account
PowerApps is best to display data in a very nice, presentation form. It's well suited for application within Microsoft account domains and can be accessible by domain users only. Best fit to integrate PowerApps with MS flow to represent data to users. Also can be used to display in all devices and OS.
Read Krishn Garg's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2020

Superb Platform to Deliver Quick Mobile Applications and Integrate Azure/Office 365

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Microsoft PowerApps it is used worldwide. It is used to add business functionalities that the common platforms don't do or don't have any best solution for. Also it is used to create small applications that are easier to develop inside the company rather then buy from a vendor. The integration with Azure platform is a superb feature.
  • Easily deploy applications company-wide.
  • Integration with MS Azure and the integration of features.
  • To have a better integration with MS Visual Studio.
  • Connectors and data sources could be more friendly and have better performance.
It is suitable to use to develop internal applications, integrating your current environment and platforms. It is highly recommend to use as a low-code platform if you already have an Office 365 subscription (E3 or greater is much better in terms of value). Easily deploy mobile applications [without] investing in a specific platform. It is less appropriate to be used as a platform to sell applications to customers and for high-performance applications.
Read this authenticated review
Nathan Roberts | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 16, 2019

PowerApps is a Good Start but Needs to Get Better

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use PowerApps as an easy way to quickly develop apps that might otherwise take considerable time and resources. For instance, we recently built a help desk application using a PowerApp that had already been significantly developed. We just tweaked it for our needs. The automatic tie-ins to O365 and SharePoint made authentication data storage seamless.
  • Low-code design reduces learning curve to develop useful apps.
  • Pre-built templates means development time is reduced.
  • No desktop development environment.
  • Limited options to tweak code; there should be an override for advanced users.
If you have a need to quickly develop apps, PowerApps can be good. If you have a simple project and don't have an experienced developer available, PowerApps can be good. If you have a complex project that needs a lot of customization, PowerApps is probably not the way to go. Another way to say it: PowerApps has simultaneously impressed and depressed. It's impossible to recommend for every development scenario, but probably worth exploring when needs are conservative and skills and budget are at a premium.
Read Nathan Roberts's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2019

See the power of PowerApps

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have several departments that use specific line-of-business applications build on model-driven PowerApps, including Sales and Purchasing, our Create Lab, our Quality Control Lab, and our Regulatory department. Our business could not function without these applications as data and requests would get completely lost in email. Using PowerApps allows us more visibility into the process and offers more business process automation.
  • Quick development with no code for specific line-of-business applications.
  • Allows greater control over business process automation through workflows and better-formalized connection to crucial business data, such as Accounts, Salespeople, etc.
  • Building an elegant user experience is very user-friendly and doesn't take a ton of time to put together.
  • Forms and views into the data all come "pre-packaged" for the quick implementation of model-driven PowerApps.
  • Canvas-driven PowerApps may take a little time to understand. They are incredibly powerful, but as such, there is more to learn, test, and understand.
  • PowerApps offer a lot of flexibility, so they don't always get completed extremely quickly. That being said, they offer a lot of power without any code.
  • Building navigation and launching the app could use a little improvement as well.
  • Licensing, as with many Microsoft Products, is continually changing and requires assistance in most cases.
It's so good as powerful line-of-business applications, I can't recommend it enough. The ability to tap into the Common Data Service and use this information along with custom entities, forms, and views, makes model-driven PowerApps incredibly useful and powerful. It's also very friendly for those who have implement business processes and logic but don't have experience with an actual coding language. There is so much flexibility with PowerApps.

But again, you may have to invest some time figuring out the functionality. Even though there isn't a specific code involved doesn't mean that the work will be simple and quick. You can do a lot with PowerApps, but it might take some time and effort to get a broad understanding of all that it is capable of.
Read this authenticated review
Chris Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 20, 2019

PowerApps is helping us think about mobile user experiences that weren't available to us until Office 365 forced our hand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our company and parent company are in the piloting the use of PowerApps in the midst of a move from on-prem SharePoint to SharePoint Online and Office365. We are using PowerApps to bridge the gap left by Nintex (that we are no longer using in O365) and the sunsetting of Microsoft InfoPath. It has been made available for pilot and soft-adoption across all operating companies from a centrally governed parent company's MS master agreement. Use at each operating company can differ slightly and support for the tool is mostly a shared burden between parent company IT and operating company IT. The business problem that it addresses for us is the management of data entry points in the mobile space for SharePoint. It allows us to collect metadata for Lists and Libraries in a mobile environment and to design some forms for online client use as well. It is primarily mobile consumption, though.
  • Because PowerApps is tied to the Office365 environment, it does a very good job at talking to source information in SharePoint. For those considering PowerApps, there is something to be said for the seamless handshakes that Microsoft authors between their own tools.
  • If you are wanting to parse down the fields requested (again, in relation to SharePoint) and get away from messing with content types or default forms behind the curtain in SharePoint, PowerApps is a good buffer to selecting exactly what you want to capture and nothing that you don't (that isn't required).
  • While still in its early deployment, PowerApps does have good flexibility because of the coding opportunities in the tool. Coding can be a barrier of entry, but it balances code and common sense entry pretty well.
  • PowerApps works pretty well on a Mac. Of course, everything Microsoft functions better in Microsoft products (IE, Windows, Edge), but the online authoring tool for PowerApps is just fine for Mac.
  • PowerApps has a great coding option, but there are some pieces of the tool that the requirement to understand code is a barrier to fun if the user doesn't code.
  • MUCH time can be spent looking for solutions on this young platform and the body of forum/help/lessons learned is not as robust as it will be in a few years.
  • Like many early-stage Microsoft products, PowerApps is a relatively blank slate that will be improved by the feedback of their users and ongoing feature development. Right now it seems that the product lacks a critical mass of use-case driven templates (there are some, but I haven't yet found one that didn't require more work to customize it to my need that it would take to build my own tool).
PowerApps does a great job of bridging the gap for mobile form entry where needed. We don't have a ton of mobile use cases, but that's because we haven't had a very active online tool kit until the deployment of O365. With most tools behind a firewall, any opportunity to work in business applications has been through VPN and that usually requires a PC/Mac. Now that we're able to access the system through a credentialed entry point in O365, we have the opportunity to think about what our mobile environment could look like. That's where PowerApps comes into our portfolio.
Read Chris Carpenter's full review
Damien Dolan | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2019

Your Go-To For Form Creation

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Since we are short staffed and thin on personnel, we have to use what tools we can to help automate business rules and practices. PowerApps is perfect for that. I am a programmer by trade but when we (the IT department) don't have to time to create applications from the ground up we use PowerApps. We can easily create a well functioning, SharePoint integrated data entry/workflow system within a couple of hours. It also automates a lot of the tasks requested by users. It is being used across our whole organization and we are leveraging it heavily.
  • Easy to create new apps.
  • Integration with cloud data sources (Azure, Sharepoint).
  • GUI for creators is excellent.
  • Mobile and Desktop apps are created simultaneously.
  • Customizing interface for phones and tablets.
  • You are limited in layout, either phone or tablet, no desktop support.
  • The "Code Editor" could use some work. Giving you a bigger canvas so to speak.
  • It can be buggy if you make changes to data sources and flows outside of PowerApps. I have had one or two controls "break" because I made changes outside of PowerApps.
We had a layoff where the employee who was responsible for data integrity was let go. Their job was to make sure all new products, projects etc. had a naming scheme that fell in with our business rules. When they were let go we were able to create a PowerApp(s) that helped take some of their tasks and pass it on to the user with feature-rich data entry screen that interfaced with our ERP's data source. I'm not saying this will replace people in the workforce but it helps alleviate some of the burdens a scenario like this might create.
Read Damien Dolan's full review
Tim Dorscher | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2019

PowerApps empowers the citizen developer

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization has access to PowerApps through the Microsoft Office 365 suite of products. I stumbled upon it a little over a year ago and have used it to create a time calculator for in-house projects as well as a budget calculator for our products. Others have created more elaborate apps that connect to Microsoft Common Data Service(CDS) which takes the Power in PowerApps to a whole new level.
  • Easy to learn
  • If you have a working knowledge of Excel formulas you can get significant benefit out of PowerApps
  • Empowers the citizen developer
  • Reduces the time to market for solutions you would normally have to rely on IT/IS for
  • The tutorials provided are too brief and too high level. You need to dig into the forums and the help topics on the Microsoft PowerApps website.
  • Without IT/IS blessing the citizen developer may not have the ability to save a final output.
  • Unable to print to a printer or PDF. You need to take a screenshot of what you have done.
  • I would love being able to right click a function and have a tooltip/explanation of what that function actually does. Not just how to write it but what the outcome should be.
I don't know of an area PowerApps would not be suited for. It is extremely powerful and when connected to the common data service becomes more powerful. I have seen it used in libraries to track books and attendants down. I have seen it used to track bus routes and or broken down buses. I have used it as a calculator, with a large number of formulas that drive it, that becomes simple and easy to use on desktop and on mobile. If you have a need to present or gather information of any kind, PowerApps can likely solve your issue.
Read Tim Dorscher's full review
Jason Leidig | TrustRadius Reviewer
August 04, 2018

PowerApps comes with a cape because it will turn you into a superhero

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are currently looking to implement on the job site. Using PowerApps we are going to remove all the pen to paper activity that is occurring on the construction site. Instead we will begin to have construction workers enter the data into an app on their smartphone that was built using PowerApps.
  • Empowers the management team and support staff. PowerApps allows someone without any programming experience to conceive a resolution to problems. For example the capturing of data which may start out with someone entering data by filling out a form and that form is then presented to someone to enter into an Excel Spreadsheet which in turn is emailed to numerous parties for their inputs. With PowerApps you can easily push all of that activity to SharePoint and the automation being driven by Flow which will make the collection and use of data much more effecient.
  • PowerApps is highly flexible, it affords you the opportunity to connect to all kinds of data types from Excel Spreadsheets, to Lists built in SharePoint to all manners of databases.
  • It's really really simple but at the same time provides you with the ceiling to perform complicated task. PowerApps will meet you where you are at.
  • I'm sure cons exist but just haven't spent enough time working with the tool to experience its short comings yet. But what I've experienced thus far has been great. The support provided by Microsoft has been great, there is plenty of support for training as well.
PowerApps can find a home in any situation. If a company already uses SharePoint then that company can find a place for it that makes sense. The real strength of PowerApps is realized by empowering those workers that aren't a part of IT, typically analyst, schedulers, or someone who works in managing, collecting or reporting data, by allowing them to develop their own solutions for any issues they may have. PowerApps well lessen the dependency that organizations have for Developers/IT and put them in a position to do things for themselves.
Read Jason Leidig's full review
Corey Brandt | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 29, 2017

Great for turning databases into applications with relative ease.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am currently developing an application for our estimating department to address a need for tailor made software that manages the organization and indexing of contractor proposals and assembling of these proposals and our costs to bid to owners for consideration of construction management contracts.
  • Easy to create simple apps based on data from a wide variety of sources.
  • Branding and customization and is simple and powerful.
  • Works well for people with an excel background.
  • I feel that although it is possible to adapt the tablet view to desktop it can be cumbersome and the screen ratio is not right. There should be an option for making a desktop or browser based application specifically; or at least more screen ratio choices.
  • "PowerApps Desktop" is only available via windows store; for some enterprise users(specifically LTSB users) that makes it unavailable as windows store cannot be used with this version of Windows. A stand alone download or an explanation in the documentation would be nice to have.
  • I have spent a ton of time changing the formating over to the standard that I am using throughout the application on each data card or places where copy paste isn't an option. A format painter or a place to provide typical formating options such as font type and color would be a HUGE time saver for those of us trying to brand our applications.
More basic applications for creating and editing records are very easy to create and can be very powerful. For more complex applications people need to make a relatively large time investment in order to adapt excel workbooks or other static databased work-flows to PowerApps and I have discovered that it can take some creative thinking in order to get certain scenarios to work the way you want. That being said I would still recommend PowerApps but with caution depending on the type of Application.
Read Corey Brandt's full review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Visual Modeling (8)
7.4
Drag-and-drop Interfaces (8)
8.7
Platform Security (8)
8.6
Platform User Management (8)
8.3
Reusability (8)
7.9
Platform Scalability (8)
8.9

About PowerApps

PowerApps is a low code / rapid application development product from Microsoft that allows users to quickly build apps.

PowerApps Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No