Redis™*

Redis™*

Score 9.2 out of 10
Redis™*

Overview

What is Redis™*?

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.
Read more

Recent Reviews

Set up & forget

7 out of 10
May 08, 2021
We use it to manage & control user sessions in a Tomcat based web application programmed with Java. It's used in both production and …
Continue reading

Redis Review

9 out of 10
February 03, 2020
Redis has been a vital component in our design, it's usage is mainly for caching API requests, but it also extends to other applications …
Continue reading

Redis is awesome!

9 out of 10
November 23, 2019
We're using Redis in many ways and across different departments in the organization. The most simple use case is to store locks so the …
Continue reading
Read all reviews

Awards

Products that are considered exceptional by their customers based on a variety of criteria win TrustRadius awards. Learn more about the types of TrustRadius awards to make the best purchase decision. More about TrustRadius Awards

Popular Features

View all 7 features
  • Performance (69)
    10.0
    100%
  • Scalability (69)
    9.3
    93%
  • Availability (69)
    9.0
    90%
  • Concurrency (68)
    9.0
    90%

Video Reviews

Leaving a video review helps other professionals like you evaluate products. Be the first one in your network to record a review of Redis™*, and make your voice heard!

Return to navigation

Pricing

View all pricing

Cloud

$388.00

On Premise
per month

Entry-level set up fee?

  • Setup fee optional
For the latest information on pricing, visithttps://redislabs.com/pricing

Offerings

  • Free Trial
  • Free/Freemium Version
  • Premium Consulting / Integration Services
Return to navigation

Product Demos

Why Redis?
02:46
Return to navigation

Features

NoSQL Databases

NoSQL databases are designed to be used across large distrusted systems. They are notably much more scalable and much faster and handling very large data loads than traditional relational databases.

9.2Avg 8.7
Return to navigation

Product Details

What is Redis™*?

According to the vendor, Redis is an in-memory multi-model database that supports multiple data structures such as strings, hashes, lists, sets, sorted sets with range queries, bitmaps, hyperloglogs and geospatial indexes with radius queries. Redis has built-in replication, Lua scripting, LRU eviction, transactions and different levels of on-disk persistence, and provides high availability and automatic partitioning with Redis Cluster.

Redis combines in-memory, schema-less design with optimized data structures and versatile modules that adapt to your data needs. The result is an adept, high performance, multi-purpose database that scales easily like a simple key/value data store but delivers sophisticated functionality with great simplicity, according to the vendor.

Redis also enables data persistence and high availability through replication and backups. Redis Enterprise is built from the ground up to serve as a system of record for any application.

*Redis is a trademark of Redis Ltd. Any rights therein are reserved to Redis Ltd. Any use by TrustRadius is for referential purposes only and does not indicate any sponsorship, endorsement or affiliation between Redis and TrustRadius.

Redis™* Features

NoSQL Databases Features

  • Supported: Performance
  • Supported: Availability
  • Supported: Concurrency
  • Supported: Security
  • Supported: Scalability
  • Supported: Data model flexibility
  • Supported: Deployment model flexibility

Additional Features

  • Supported: Integrated modules
  • Supported: Active-Passive Geo Distribution
  • Supported: Cluster Architecture
  • Supported: Linear Scaling
  • Supported: Durability
  • Supported: Backup and Disaster Recovery
  • Supported: Reliability

Redis™* Screenshots

Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of Screenshot of

Redis™* Video

Why Redis?

Redis™* Integrations

Redis™* Technical Details

Deployment TypesOn-premise, Software as a Service (SaaS), Cloud, or Web-Based
Operating SystemsWindows, Linux, Mac
Mobile ApplicationApple iOS, Android, Windows Phone, Blackberry, Mobile Web
Supported CountriesGlobal
Supported Languageshttps://redis.io/clients

Frequently Asked Questions

Redis is an open source in-memory data structure server and NoSQL database.

MongoDB, Amazon ElastiCache, and Couchbase are common alternatives for Redis™*.

Reviewers rate Performance highest, with a score of 10.

The most common users of Redis™* are from Mid-sized Companies (51-1,000 employees).
Return to navigation

Comparisons

View all alternatives
Return to navigation

Reviews

(1-25 of 61)
Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
The reputation of Redis was the first element that sparked our interest and it was implemented as a proof of concept (POC) implementation to get an empirical sense of the potential impact and usability/suitability within our application stack. It exceeded expectations with respect to usability and features and proved to be an excellent solution.
February 03, 2020

Redis Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
It's open-source, and the community is strong, and paid enterprise support is available if needed.
Gene Baker | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Product Features
  • Product Reputation
  • Vendor Reputation
  • Existing Relationship with the Vendor
Redis was already in use in house. We try to leverage our existing vendor relationships before bringing on a new vendor or product. And other teams had reported positive results with Redis.
November 23, 2019

Redis is awesome!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Prior Experience with the Product
What made us go with Redis was that the product is easy to set up and easy to use. Although not having GUI was not ideal, but the command-line tool and the native clients gave us the essentials to start developing products with it.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
  • Prior Experience with the Product
  • Third-party Reviews
One of the most important factors to our company since we are a significantly smaller than our competitors since price. We have to stretch our IT budget to be able to compete with our competitors
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
  • Prior Experience with the Product
  • Vendor Reputation
  • Third-party Reviews
There are few that are extremely important to us. We are a smaller company and cost is one of the key factors that we take into effect.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
The single most important factor in our decision to go with Redis came down to the performance it provided. No other mature products could match what we could get with Redis.
September 21, 2019

Redis is Awesome

David Sommers | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
  • Prior Experience with the Product
It's hard to argue with an open solution that's free, reliable, performant and has a lot of support out there. This product is in wide use across many large customers. Twitter is an active contributor of knowledge on their blog and I'm fairly their usage of Redis will be much larger than yours. Not everyone is a Twitter and if Twitter can use Redis vanilla, I'm sure you can make it work too.
Leonel Quinteros | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
  • Prior Experience with the Product
  • Third-party Reviews
The single most important factor in implementing Redis was its features, especially data persistence, replication/clustering, and data types. These are the things that almost all other in-memory cache systems lack. There are NoSQL DB systems and other solutions that cover these features, but they're way too heavy for our use case. Redis sits in a very well defined middle-grown between these other approaches.
September 14, 2019

Redis Rocks

Ryan Hiebert | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Reputation
The single most important factor in our decision was the price and availability, as other products were able to serve our primary need of a key-value store. But we have been happy that it is able to grow far beyond that original use-case.
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Reputation
Product reputation was a primary factor. We had heard about it, so it had a real organic grass-roots marketing hype behind it. But, what kept us is the ability for Redis to meet and exceed the hype. We were struck by its simplicity, speed and feature set. The price helped also, but it wasn't the main facotr.
Anush Ramani | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Reputation
Industry adoption was the most important factors in deciding to go with Redis. The options really boiled down to a choice between Redis and Memcached. We tried both and found that support for Redis was far superior to Memcached in terms of hosting and maintenance. Redis was also gaining more traction in the dev community, so the choice became pretty clear.
September 06, 2019

Redis Review

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
In my experience, when someone talks about a fast and reliable cache database the first thing that comes to mind is Redis.
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Reseller
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Positive Sales Experience with the Vendor
  • Analyst Reports
  • Third-party Reviews
Cost is one of the major issues with a grown software development company.
August 27, 2019

Redis is battle-tested

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
  • Price
  • Product Features
  • Product Usability
  • Product Reputation
  • Prior Experience with the Product
  • Vendor Reputation
Redis is extremely battle-tested by most engineering organizations. As a consequence of that, almost everyone we hired knew how to use Redis already so there was no further training needed.
Return to navigation