vSphere Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
160 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 9.1 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

TrustRadius Top Rated for 2020

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-25 of 30)

Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 01, 2020

vSphere: The world of VMware

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere to manage our virtual server and desktop infrastructure. We have had a push to visualize as many servers as possible. We decided to go with VMware vSphere and have no been disappointed. vSphere has offered us an entire platform of structure and flexibility from hypervisor host management to guest vm configuration. In addition to being an excellent virtual server management infrastructure, it is a great base to build VMware Horizon View on. Everything within vSphere is easy to understand, find, and manage.
  • Host Management
  • Guest Management
  • Streamlines Updates
  • Easy to configure and apply Security Technical Implementation Guidelines
  • Allow enable EVC without requiring host shutdown
  • More detail in recent tasks. Instead of just showing a task called "Reconfigure virtual machine" also have a link to more detailed information as to what was reconfigured, changed or removed.
  • Allow searching tasks or events
vSphere is the complete vmware package. If you are interested in becoming a vmware customer, vSphere makes the entire management platform nice to work with. The benefits of working with virtual machines is made possible by vSphere. I cannot think of any scenario where vSphere would not be a great solution for managing virtual servers.
Any issue we have had was easily resolved by support. The support response time was amazing and got the issue resolved the first time which is huge, especially if/when the issue was critical in nature.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 16, 2020

A whole server cluster in the palm of your hand

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VMware vSphere is currently being used by the IT and Change Management departments to address test and preproduction virtual machines and perform UAT (User Acceptance Tests) and Regression Tests on every release we perform and authorize. The advantages are several: we have a continuous, fallback-capable pool of servers replicating our internal infrastructure for each project, which we can keep fresh via snapshots between releases, all of this without actually impacting the production infrastructure.
  • Virtualization
  • Accessibility
  • Further compatibility
  • Easier scalability
vSphere excels at handling ESX/ESXi hypervisors. The advantages are several: having a continuous, fallback-capable pool of servers for testing purposes, including imaging, cloning and training; a reliable IaaS platform for mission critical business processes that can be handled even via mobile device (we have taken and restored snapshots of entire server farms via vSphere from our mobile phones in occasions when we're in field work); and an easy to understand and operate frontend for the VMs.
We have experienced few situations that require us to escalate a ticket to the provider (that in itself a good sign for robustness of the solution), but when we have had the support team have been quick in providing a solution and/or workarounds to keep our business running with no noticeable service shortages.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 10, 2020

The best on-premises virtualization platform

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere to manage all our internal VMS. All our departments utilize at least one server for their work, and VMware is our chosen application. It helps consolidate our physical hardware, which used to be around 20-30 servers into only five as our hosts. It also holds VMS on our DMZ.
  • Network segregation.
  • Fast deployment of VMS.
  • Better support for ageing hardware
  • Interface can be a little slow.
If you're looking for a convenient way of test and delete, then this is for you! You can quickly build an isolated network like a DMZ and test away without harming your production kit. Backing up VMs is ideal, too, as you can redeploy the entire system in a few minutes. The only thing I could think of as to why you wouldn't want this would be cost, or if you're looking to place your infrastructure in the cloud.
Never called vSphere with a problem that they haven't been able to sort. Depending on your issue, you could have a minor quirk that they will email you back with suggestions or links to kb articles, or if it's major, then they will call in pretty fast and remote on to have a look.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 29, 2020

One of the best tools, but pricey when options are available like AOS

Score 3 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is our main hypervisor being used at our organization. We run a variety of technologies and workloads on vSphere-backed VMs; including large Oracle databases, Active Directory, SharePoint, SAP, HRMS, and few other mission critical systems. vSphere has saved our organization spending money on bare-metal hardware.
  • Easy VM management.
  • Vmotion.
  • Editing resources.
  • License are expensive, we are considering AHV now.
  • Datastore management is not friendly.
  • Upgrading is not easy.
With the HCI becoming more popular, you have to look at your priorities. If basic needs are fulfilled, then you're good to go with AHV. There are whitepapers now that AHV supports SAP and S4/Hana. When we purchase them back then, there werent any whitepapers, hence why we deployed VMware on top of our Super Micro Nutanix box.
I have noticed that VMware folks tend to push the problem on Nutanix's end or sometimes request us to do the work most part of it. Depends on your luck, sometimes the helpdesk is willing to do it all for you.
Read this authenticated review
Alessio Andriolo | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 26, 2019

One of the best virtualisation systems.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere for our Client & Server infrastructure in a cluster of 7 Hosts. We host mostly Windows Servers and Clients. The Cluster is working very stable. Creating a server only takes a few minutes. You can manage all settings like CPU or RAM in just a few clicks. Very easy to use.
  • Fast VM deployment.
  • Support a lot of OS.
  • Strong support.
  • Very stable hypervisor.
  • Many small bugs that can steal a lot of time.
  • The HTML 5 console is not fully working. You will miss some features like Ova deployment.
  • Migration is not that easy.
You can use it perfectly for every virtualization scenario. There is no point you can't use it. In the beginning, just plan your environment well.
I think there is no company that can't work as well as this hypervisor. it's just amazing and you have unlimited possibilities.
Read Alessio Andriolo's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 07, 2019

Enterprise-level workload virtualization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere as our primary hypervisor. It supports all of our virtual servers, as well as handles our high availability and disaster recovery. It helps us get the most out of our hardware.
  • It allows us to get the most density out of our hardware.
  • It provides high availability/disaster recovery feature.
  • Allows for automation in provisioning new resources.
  • Expensive to get all the functionality.
vSphere is targetted at enterprises with solid IT budgets and large work loads. Its a harder sell for small shops that might be better off going with cloud providers.
Always quick to respond to critical issues, and the logging usually allows for a quick diagnosis.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 16, 2019

VMware vSphere is useful for virtualized environments

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMware to manage servers in a virtual environment. It is used by the IT department and has helped reduce the amount of hardware needed in the server room. As of now, we only use it at the headquarters but looking to virtualize environments at other locations in the future.
  • Monitors all servers in a virtualized environment and makes it easy to see what's going on when there are issues.
  • It provides a web client that's easily accessible. This makes accessing the network easier when you are outside of it.
  • It allows you to set up multiple virtual networks with multiple different parameters.
  • They could offer up more helpful links and training.
  • Overall, it does pretty well for its capabilities.
If you have multiple servers this would be a good fit. You can get rid of all the old hardware and start putting them in a virtualized environment. If you only have a couple, this may not be worth it. You would need to weigh out your options. It works well for us.
For the most part, they get back pretty quick. There could be more help links that would be useful. Most of the time you are just looking things up on the internet.
Read this authenticated review
Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 02, 2019

One of the best virtualization technologies for your organization

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is heavily used by my organization, it especially helped to increase the density of the virtualized servers. It also helps to achieve great performance improvements and improve the operation of the whole organization and what we do every day, as it enables us to manage and provision the huge quantity of servers and other resources we have.
  • Very cost effective, big savings in terms of equipment maintenance.
  • Great stability
  • Very easy and simple system management.
  • Easy portability and migration of services.
  • Brilliant availability
  • It can be quite expensive if it comes to extensive usage of the tool, so it can be not a good solution for smaller businesses.
  • The configuration can be quite complex and not always too easy to understand the logic behind it.
  • The user guide is not very useful for new users, it would require more explanation.
A good example of the scenarios where vSphere is well suited is when the customer requires strong encryption, especially after the changes in the EU for security. This, added in NSX, combined with the ability to have encrypted VMotion as well, has been great. It is also great if you need to run tens of hosts in the cluster and don't want any degradation in performance.
Read Akos Krommer, CISA, ACDA's full review
Michael Haberkern | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 12, 2019

vSphere is the best hypervisor

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is being used for our entire City as a hypervisor. We currently have deployed 3 clusters and over 15 hosts on 6.5 configurations.
  • It is the best hypervisor in my opinion.
  • V-motion is the best hypervisor migration tool. Better than the Hyper-V live migration tool.
  • Very intuitive.
  • Its licensing model can be pricey.
  • vSphere got rid of its client based administration tool and has gone fully web UI based since 6.0 and that has made many people mad.
  • Tool packages for hardware can sometimes be a pain.
vSphere remains the top-rated and most popular hypervisor. Its continued ease of use and redundancy are top-notch and are hard to beat.
Read Michael Haberkern's full review
Jon Shurtliff | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

VSphere is key to Virtual environment success

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
VSphere is obviously the tool we use to manage all of our virtual machines in our VMWare environment.
It really gives us a full dashboard of the health of our entire infrastructure.
  • Manages the health of our servers.
  • Gives us the interface to make all necessary changes to our servers.
  • The console view makes it so easy to quickly see what’s going on with the server.
  • Now that we have upgraded to the latest version, things work great!
If you have over 5-10 VM’s, Vshere is a must!
Read Jon Shurtliff's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 25, 2018

VSphere is a great package for piece of mind for server backup and restoration

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use VMWare vSphere at my business now for the last few years now and have implemented across the whole company now and all our servers because it makes our servers hardware independent and if we ever have a problem, we can restore our servers from a VM backup quickly and easily without any reconfiguration. When we have a hardware failure, we simply move the server VM to a different vSphere host effortlessly. Also when a server is running low on resources, we simply allocate more resources to that server on the fly and its back up to speed and running nicely again! So easy and convenient to setup and maintain as well and VMWare is always releasing updates with new features and functionality and stands behind their products 100%.
  • Makes your server hardware independent, so you no longer need to worry about hardware failure and where to find specific replacement parts.
  • Reallocation of server resources quickly and on the fly, so if your server is slowing down, you can beef it up with a few clicks of the mouse.
  • Server recovery, when there is a problem, you can restore a backed up entire virtual server to the recovered host or a new host quickly and easily.
  • Pricing, VMWare does have several free options available for people that want to handle a lot of the management themselves, but if you want to get the top of the line fully managed version of vSphere, it can be quite pricey.
  • Working with server hardware makers to make it clear which server hardware is compatible with vSphere, sometimes it can be hard to figure out if a server box is compatible with vSphere.
vSphere is great to quick server restoration, if you want to make server with flexible resources you can quickly adjust up or down quickly, and takes the worry out of hardware failure. vSphere might not be the right solution if you are on a tight budget and don't have a lot of experience managing virtual machines though.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 05, 2018

VMware vSphere - Is a mutliple server management must-have

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to run all our VM's/Servers for the Organization. It helps us to better manage the company and allow us to easily spin up new servers when they are needed by the org.
  • It allows for high availability if you have it setup with redundancy.
  • Can segregate VM's to different VLAN's, providing separation of duties.
  • Easily manage all servers from one UI Web/(Older Verisons)Client.
  • Some parts are not intuitive and take research or training to figure out.
  • Classes to take exams to get certified in vSphere can be expensive.
  • ESXi upgrades can be a pain if you are doing them yourself.
It is good to have even if you have 1 server/VM to run. I would recommend probably seeking a free Hypervisor if you are only running one VM (Ex. Hyper-V). VMware products can be a little pricey but having a Virtual environment is worth every penny with multiple VM's in my opinion.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 22, 2018

vSphere gets the job done.

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it to virtualize our servers and applications. We are about 60% virtualized hoping for about 75% and only leave the things that actually need its very own hardware to run correctly. We use it in IT to provide services to the other departments and the university as a whole.
  • Vmotion.
  • Easy of use.
  • UI is terrible.
  • Fully featured HTML client.
Generally, if you are still virtualizing servers and not using containers for your needs, this product will work well. We still have legacy applications that need traditional OS's to run correctly. With our environment, we will never move to containers as we are largely stable from a development lifecycle. Vmware does a good job migrating servers between host and back for easy maintenance.
Read this authenticated review
Eric Lambert | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 09, 2018

vSphere for virtualization needs

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization. In fact, we virtualized almost all our environment. It's cost-effective and the deployment is faster and more convenient.
  • Possibility to move load from servers using the vmotion across a VMWare Cluster
  • Possible to increase ressources live, for example add more RAM ou CPUs
  • Provisionning of new servers is really fast and easy
  • Licences of more advanced versions with more features are expensive
Well suited when there's a lot of physical servers that need to be replaced. You can consolidate multiple physical servers onto 1 or 2 using VMWare.
Read Eric Lambert's full review
Daniel Hereford | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 27, 2017

vSphere - Virtually the Best

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is our primary hypervisor being used across our whole company and all data centers to serve all our critical workloads. vSphere enables us to maximize the use of server resources through virtualization and enables cloud behaviors like data center migrations, high availability, resource management, and monitoring. vSphere is simply the most robust hypervisor solution in the marketplace today. The ecosystem created by both VMware and 3rd parties enables IT departments to serve critical workloads 100% to customers and associates. I cannot imagine our data center without vSphere.
  • High Availability - The ability to have virtual machines move seamlessly from one host to another either in reaction to hardware failure or proactively for maintenance enables us to serve workloads 100% of the time while still performing all needed maintenance.
  • Reliability - Downtime in vSphere is almost unheard of. We haven't had a purple screen occur in over a year, and the last few times it happened it was in response to a change we made or a driver conflict caused by human error.
  • Resource scheduling - The ability to allocate resources to highly critical workloads and have those reservations follow the workload within the data center enables IT to deliver promised performance no matter where the workload is in the cloud.
  • Software Defined Data Center - If you want to do a software define data center (networking, storage, etc.) VMware has a great vision and ecosystem.
  • The Web client is annoying - Ever since they deprecated the C# client, the web client has been a pain to use. The newest HTML5 client seems to finally be addressing this concern, but I still want the fat client back. Nothing was more reliable.
  • SDN should be included in pricing - VMware could lead the world into a software-defined network revolution, but for now, it costs so much, that only the most mature IT environments and larger companies can afford to pay to play that game.
I only give it a 9 because I could be compelled to try Microsoft HyperV at this point in some situations. Less suited for very small environments (single hosts or very small environments where HyperV may be more cost-effective).
Read Daniel Hereford's full review
Luca Campanelli | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 05, 2018

One of the best virtualization software

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization vSphere is used to autonomously manage multiple virtual machines and servers dedicated to individual users without having to create new machines to [properly] y dispose of them after a short time. Sometimes virtual machines are used even just to create parallel environments to test certain developments and only for a limited period of time.
  • Immediate machine clone management
  • Fast resize of resources
  • Instant snapshot and restore
  • Requires an environment to install the infrastructure
  • Requires a minimum of experience in virtual machines
  • Requires continuous monitoring of the resources used to optimize the server as much as possible
  • If you constantly need to test products on different machines
  • If you are a developer and you need to test software under certain conditions
  • If you want to save money to avoid buying new hardware continuously with the consequent possibility of having to dispose of old hardware it's definitely one of the best virtualization software
Read Luca Campanelli's full review
Derek Aldridge | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 02, 2018

It's hard to go wrong with VMware vSphere. See what you've been missing!

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our organization originally purchased vSphere to begin consolidating servers. We're a smaller organization with around a dozen virtual servers. Our IT department is small, being able to manage all of our servers from a single interface has been more powerful than we could have imagined. Also, our backup and disaster recovery strategy has been greatly simplified. Servers can be moved on the fly, upgrading the underlying server hardware is also a breeze, as all the virtualized servers are built on a standardized virtualized hardware.
  • Snapshots - Upgrading an underlying OS and software is so much easier now with snapshots, if something goes wrong, rolling back to a snapshot is a breeze, and will put you back to a point before the process started.
  • Remote management is much easier, everything can be found under one interface, reducing the need to use third party tools.
  • Highly available - workloads can be seamlessly moved without an interruption of service. Server hardware can be upgraded and replaced with little to no downtime.
  • Templates - Provisioning a new server can be done in minutes with a few clicks.
  • Web interface - There is no longer an installable desktop client for management. While the web interface works fine, there is definitely room for improvement, when the interface is entirely moved away from flash and over to HTML5 that will be a huge step forward.
  • Pricing - The pricing makes it harder to justify for a small business when Microsoft is giving away virtualization.
You really can't go wrong with choosing vShere, as long as it fits in your budget I see no reason to choose a competitor. If uptime and ease of management are important to you (hint: it definitely should be), and you haven't virtualized your servers, you definitely should look at vSphere. Once you have vSphere in place you'll wonder why you didn't do it sooner.
Read Derek Aldridge's full review
Eligio Morgado Habas | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 16, 2018

Great tool for virtual server environment

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We decided to use vSphere on my client to virtualize all the company's servers (approximately 100 users)

With this we get to dispense with all physical servers.
  • Ease of implementation of virtual servers
  • Simple maintenance of servers, scalability of resources, etc.
  • Reliability and robustness
  • We haven't found any functionality missing. It fulfills its function perfectly
In our case, we virtualized four physical servers on the same physical server with vSphere.

With this we saved a Windows Server license, since previously we had a virtual server with Hyper-V.

For a situation like the one described, vSphere performs perfectly.
Read Eligio Morgado Habas's full review
Sam Bryant | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 12, 2017

Ugly but Useful

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
This is being used by our information technology department to manage all of our servers that are hosted offsite with a server hosting service. We also use it to manage virtual PCs for outside users to access our internal network. With vSphere, we are able to manage these servers as a unit instead of remoting into individual servers one at a time.
  • It does a great job at snapshots and backups.
  • Allows for greater remote function.
  • Has a robust management software that allows for many customization and options.
  • The user interface has a great deal of detail which is nice but can be overwhelming.
  • Not very user-friendly or intuitive menus.
  • Hard to manage several versions of virtual servers without running into errors.
Great for organizing a lot of servers in an organization that has many of them. Also great for an organization that hosts all of their servers offsite. Great as well for any organization that is looking for a solution for remote users. Virtual PCs in VSphere is a great solution for this.
Read Sam Bryant's full review
John Predmore | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 01, 2018

vSphere-The hypervisor that sets the standard others are judged by

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vSphere exclusively as our hypervisor in our datacenters. We use it for server as well as desktop virtualization. vSphere has allowed us to be extremely flexible with regards to server infrastructure. I can't imagine ever managing an environment without it!
  • vSphere has a very robust feature set. HA, DRS and distributed switching are all capabilities that increase uptime and flexibility.
  • vSphere has a very broad partner ecosystem. This permits users a much greater selection of solutions beyond what VMware offers.
  • Reliability. For me I can reduce it to just that one word.
  • The primary improvement I'd like to see in vSphere is its pricing. I feel it is a bit high compared to the market. But I do believe it is the market leader.
  • I'd like to see the Enterprise edition brought back. We used it before it was removed and I felt it was a very good small enterprise set of features.
I believe vSphere is still the go to hypervisor on the market. I know there are others that have come a long way from when they were introduced, but they still have a ways to go. I believe that in all but the smallest IT environments virtualization makes sense for servers, and vSphere is where you should start.
Read John Predmore's full review
Bill Holmberg | TrustRadius Reviewer
October 24, 2017

My Favorite Virtual Tool

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is used only by IT departments, to include testing and Dev Ops as well. The reason is that is strictly for the use of managing VMWare virtualized servers and environments, and is a fantastic tool for this purpose. It can allow one to quickly create a test environment by cloning the production one, with no impact on the production environment at all. But its main use is in the day to day management of the servers. When used with vMotion and DRS, your environment will seamlessly move servers between physical hosts when there is contention for resources, or failures of networking or hardware.
  • "Sandboxing"- or, creating a copy of a production server for testing, is a strong feature for businesses that are in development, or wish to test a new or upgraded application with current live data, or reflecting the current production environment.
  • Cloning a server for fast provisioning, such as when rolling out multiple terminal or Citrix servers, etc. Right click, select, and wait a few minutes and you are ready to go!
  • I can't say enough about how easy vSphere makes managing servers that are virtualized, from simple to complex. The plugins available for the major SAN vendors alone make it indispensable.
  • The Dashboard- The health of any environment is paramount to any IT department- and by extension, any company. IT administrators can see at a glance exactly what needs attention and it's priority.
  • Adding storage is still complex, with Linux mount points instead of simply browsing to an IP address or range of addresses, particularly in iSCSI environments.
  • Networking can be a headache as well, also due to engineering shorthand and terms instead of more human, commonly used by techs. Again, browsing the network instead of declaring it would be a great addition.
Any VMWare environment with vCenter Server needs this, but I doubt Hyper-V environments would, since Microsoft builds their own proprietary tools and management suite for Hyper-V. I particularly recommend it for small businesses trying to get rid of physical server sprawl and failure points, as spreading your servers virtually over at least 2 or more hosts can give your business unparalleled uptime.
Read Bill Holmberg's full review
Joe Bayramyan | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 12, 2017

vSphere 5.x-6.x

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have two vSphere servers across two sites. Our hosts contains high-availability systems (exchange, active directory, SQL, Windows and Linux operating systems). vSphere allows us to maintain high availability and redundancy with the Esxi hosts without impacting the guest servers. The HA and DRS feature ensure that any hardware failure causes little or no disruption to the guest servers.
  • High availability
  • Load balance through all the clustered servers using DRS
  • Update Esxi servers using update manager
  • Bring back Vsphere client for version 6.5
It works great for any business. Less hardware to buy and manage
Read Joe Bayramyan's full review
Ben Mund | TrustRadius Reviewer
March 16, 2017

vSphere - A simple and solid product.

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our school uses vSphere as our main hypervisor. We have used it for the last few years to great success. It is well supported, and the pricing structure is very reasonable in the education sector. It has allowed us to run multiple Virtual Machines on significantly less hardware, have high availability on critical systems, and gives us the ability to spin up new machines in minutes if needed.
  • vSphere does a great job of organizing the vast information you have access to. Viewing Hosts, VMs and storage is a simple process.
  • Setting up VM templates is fairly painless, and has saved me hours of work building up new servers.
  • Setting up High Availability has become a seamless component of our recovery strategy, and vSphere does a great job of making it simple.
  • Virtual networking is comprehensive, but not intuitive. I think the process could be simplified and made more user-friendly.
vSphere would probably be useful in almost any IT environment, except for maybe the particularly large or small. Most places can make good use of vSphere, it all comes down to your needs. It just adds so much to the table: Management, Deployment, Resource Optimization, etc. Unless you are running particularly Azure-Based environment, vSphere should be good for your virtual machine needs.
Read Ben Mund's full review
Chris Sumrall | TrustRadius Reviewer
May 06, 2016

VSphere - A multiserver in one server solution

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use vsphere across the entire organization. It has eliminated the issue of having to have downtime of physical and virtual servers. Our physical servers have been up and running with no reboot for about 2 years. Some of our virtual servers get rebooted once a month, some once a week, and some once a day. It allows me to do maintenance on the virtual servers on the fly. If I need to add more disk space, I can do it easily without having to take down the servers.
  • Adding disk space on the fly is a big plus. We have a lot files and if I had to take down a server each time to add some more disk space, it would be a real pain.
  • The ability to be able to reboot them from a console. If we have a server that is having issues, being able to be reboot it without having to be at the site is a big help.
  • Being able to build servers from a template is another great feature. It saves me a lot of time from having to build a server from scratch. I just deploy one of my templates, catch up the updates and in a matter of an hour, we are ready to go.
  • VSphere has the ability to scan for updates, it would be nice to be able to incorporate third party updates along with the update manager.
I believe VSphere would be well suited anywhere. I like the idea of having one physical server and separate virtual servers for different applications (i.e File Servers, Application Servers, Domain Servers).
Read Chris Sumrall's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
April 26, 2018

vSphere 6.5 Review

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
vSphere is used across our whole organization by the IT department. vSphere allows us to run multiple virtual servers on one single physical server, which makes server management very easy. The ability to take snapshots of virtual machines and roll back at any given time when faced with a problem is simply amazing.
  • Taking Snapshots of VMs and roll back to the previous state when faced with a problem.
  • Template creation - Once you have that perfect template you can easily create new VMs. Very useful feature.
  • VMotion - Being able to perform live migrations of a virtual machine from one physical server to another, without any downtime.
  • vSphere crushes the competition in all aspects, the only negative thing is the license price. Very expensive.
vSphere is simply the best solution to manage VMs. It has the most features and is the most reliable. If your company is currently looking at virtualization solutions go ahead and recommend them VMWare. Microsoft Hyper-V might be much cheaper, but they do not have all the bells and whistles VMWare has. VMWare is always the one innovating with new features, while Microsoft just copies them. VMotion alone is worth its price tag, made our company save tons of money and time.
Read this authenticated review

Feature Scorecard Summary

Virtual machine automated provisioning (46)
8.9
Management console (50)
8.7
Live virtual machine backup (46)
8.8
Live virtual machine migration (48)
9.4
Hypervisor-level security (45)
9.0

About vSphere

Categories:  Server Virtualization

vSphere Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No