WordPerfect Office Reviews

22 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.4 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-7 of 7)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
June 30, 2021
David Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use it as my primary office suite.
  • Reveal codes
  • Quattro has better built-in tools than Excel
  • WordPerfect gives you more control over formatting than Word
  • Natively printing to PDF
  • using Word documents
  • Better Excel file use
  • No e-mail client
WordPerfect Office is less expensive than MS Office. You have more precise formatting with WordPerfect. It does lose some formatting when opening up complex Word files.
Read David Reese's full review
March 16, 2020
Herm Harrison | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
  • We use WordPerfect Office throughout our organization as the primary Office Suite. As a word processing application, it is unparalleled. Microsoft Word is slightly better for group editing, but that feature is less important in our use than the formatting capability WordPerfect Office offers. It borders on being a desktop publishing application. The other "suite" members are less impressive but fully adequate. Quattro Pro as a spreadsheet has some features that Excel lacks, but Excel's dominance in the market is hard to ignore if you are exchanging files with users outside the company.
  • An often-overlooked advantage of WordPerfect Office is its relative security. Viruses and Malware go for the low hanging fruit making Microsoft Office files the primary target. We once had a user unleash Malware on our network that encrypted several files, but did not touch any of our Corel files.
  • I'm a fairly advanced user and float between Corel (WordPerfect Office), Microsoft Office, and Libre Office. I find each has particular strengths and weaknesses, but overall after decades of use, if I had to give up all but one suite, WordPerfect Office is the one I'd keep.
  • Desktop Publishing
  • Document Templates and Projects
  • File Security
  • Quattro Pro, wholly adequate, but beginning to lag Excel
  • No integrated eMail program.
  • Database (does anyone use these anymore) hasn't been updated in years.
  • WordPerfect Office is best suited for the legal professions where it's word processing, and formatting ability is unparalleled, but any office location where Word Processing is the dominant use of the suite. WordPerfect Office is far more powerful than Microsoft Word.
  • Quattro is wholly adequate for 99% of users and converts most Excel files seamlessly. The real shortcoming is the lack of an integrated mail client. Personally, I don't care for Outlook and use a different mail client, but for many, this is a significant consideration.
  • Additionally, suites like Libre Office are fast encroaching. While WordPerfect Office is less expensive than Microsoft Office and still offers a more powerful word processing application, the narrow focus combined with free or low-cost options are hard to ignore.
Corel still offers support. Microsoft doesn't unless you have a paid contract. LibreOffice is all web-based. If you need support, Corel WordPerfect Office is the best option.
Read Herm Harrison's full review
March 14, 2020
Richard Baroniunas | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
WordPerfect Office provides an alternative to Microsoft Office using one of the best word processing application. The ability to get a clear document without a lot of the Microsoft Word issues simply is amazing. Simple to use and simple to learn.
  • Built-in publishing to PDF, that supports hyperlinks and watermarks.
  • Real-time previews of formatting options.
  • The Variables feature allows a variable or placeholder to be placed in multiple locations in a document.
  • Quattro Pro needs to be improved over Microsoft Excel.
  • Paradox Database has not been updated in the past 9 years.
  • Presentations works but not as well as PowerPoint.
WordPerfect provides thousands of templates, fonts, and clipart. You can purchase the Oxford Dictionary for a low price as an Add-On. Interact with Quattro Pro and Presentations.
Corel Support is pretty solid providing timely reactions due to issues as well as the forums page where users can deposit questions or ideas for others to help out.
Read Richard Baroniunas's full review
March 11, 2020
Riva Schwartz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use WP as our primary software. We word-process all documents, charts, etc. We store other file types in the various folders and directories as it pertains to our clients.
  • "Reveal codes" is very powerful to figure out formatting glitches.
  • Sometimes converting for MS Word corrupts the formatting and cannot be used.
  • On the newest version, if you open a document from the computer explorer, it opens a whole new program, instead of just opening a new document as in previous versions, so it makes toggling more difficult.
  • There is still a WYSIWYG glitch where sometimes a line does not appear on the screen, but it is definitely there.
Very well suited for inter-office work, less well-suited for collaborating with others, because there was a time when all law firms used WP, but now more have moved to MS Word.
Have used it for so many years, haven't needed any support. So it would be difficult to evaluate.
Yes - Very smoothly.
Read Riva Schwartz's full review
February 24, 2020
Linda Behrman | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am using WordPerfect Office for several functions. My main use is for merging of letters, envelopes, and labels. I export data from Raiser's Edge into a WordPerfect merge file for the merges. I find WordPerfect much more intuitive than Microsoft Word for merging.
  • WordPerfect Office makes merging documents very simple and I can do more elaborate merges easily.
  • WordPerfect Office's reveal codes is a major plus! I have used it so many times to find extra coding in a document that is creating problems.
  • WordPerfect Office could use the option of opening and converting files that were created in Microsoft Word easier.
  • Being able to cut and paste documents from Microsoft Word to WordPerfect Office would be very helpful.
WordPerfect Office is great for merging files! The reveal codes option is also very helpful in WordPerfect Office.

WordPerfect Office is not as widely used in our company as Microsoft Word so converting between the documents may create issues.
I have not had to use the support for WordPerfect Office.
Read Linda Behrman's full review
July 25, 2019
Heath Achatz | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using WordPerfect to create and update a 170 page resource directory for our county. It is used mainly by two people who input the information into the program and format it. It is used mainly due to the fact that the resource directory was created with WordPrect in the late 1990's and every attempt at converting the format to MS Word has been unsuccessful.
  • WordPerfect has kept many of the same features for the past 20 years. It can even open documents made 20 years ago. Large documents are opened easily.
  • WordPerfect has a ton of formatting options. It is fairly easy to format items and lets you see the code that it is using to format, which does make changes easy.
  • WordPerfect comes built in with exporting to MS Word and PDF among many others. This is a nice addition since not many people have WordPerfect.
  • WordPerfect clearly has not updated the user interface in some years. It looks akin to Windows 98 icons and frames. The icons are not always intuitive.
  • The spreadsheet program seems like it is years behind. Almost everything is easier to do on Excel. It also looks very dated.
  • It is less automated. While this is nice for formatting, if you want the program to guess what you would like to do with formatting, that isn't going to happen.
  • The menus have tons of options; way too many really.
WordPerfect is stable using old documents and long documents. You can open them with ease and quickly. The formatting in WordPerfect is totally in your control, and the access to the formatting code makes this possible (Alt-F3). It is needed when using old documents that have been created in the past and are continually updated.
Let's not forget there is no Cloud feature to WordPerfect. In all honesty, if anyone is looking to create a new document MSWord is going to be the better choice.
Read Heath Achatz's full review
January 31, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My office uses WordPerfect Office for creating and editing legal documents such as agreements, deeds contracts of sale, and many others. We also use forms that are created in WordPerfect and can be adapted for each specific transaction or situation. Everyone who works in my office uses WordPerfect on a daily basis.
  • Using WordPerfect is very similar to Microsoft Word, naturally, as they are both word processing applications. One way that WordPerfect is a little stronger is that the formatting of documents is a little more fluid and easier to access. You can adjust the margins of a document on a line by line basis without having to use the ruler (simply by dragging the line over to where you want it); I find this helpful when including a large quote.
  • Another helpful aspect of WordPerfect is the ability to include tables, which can contain formulas, much like Microsoft Excel. This is especially helpful when preparing closing statements or documents that contain a blend of text and numbers.
  • WordPerfect's interface just seems to be a little more intuitive than Microsoft Office, which I use alongside it. Some time ago, Microsoft Office moved to a tabbed interface which, in my opinion, hides a lot of the features that I need. Long story short, if you are used to using Word, you can probably transition to WordPerfect with ease.
  • My main gripe with WordPerfect concerns the Reveal Codes function. There have been times when I am working with a document that contains a hard page break and there is no real way to remove it. Attempting to adjust these settings with the Reveal Codes function is nigh impossible.
  • Unlike Word, there doesn't seem to be any sort of online community of users comparing notes and exchanging advice for solving common problems. This makes it difficult to fix things like the Reveal Codes problem discussed above. When I first encountered this issue (and the second time...) I ran an online search to see if others had the same problem and how they may have addressed it. There were very few results and the ones I did find were several years old. So, this is one downside of WordPerfect being a far less popular application than its competitor.
  • This might be a nitpick, but WordPerfect has a function for opening PDFs, which I find to be pretty useless, especially when Adobe software is designed specifically for this and is widely available. I never use WordPerfect to open PDFs, unless it is on accident.
For some reason, WordPerfect seems to be popular in law offices, at least in my part of the country. I imagine this has to do with its relative ease of use when preparing documents, and the wide availability of forms for legal documents (although I suspect that any forms that are available in WordPerfect are also available in Word and other formats).
Read this authenticated review

What is WordPerfect Office?

Canadian company Corel Corporation offers the long extant WordPerfect Office Suite for word document, pdf and spreadsheet generation, touting epublishing features, rich presentation capabilities, and compatibility with more ubiquitous (e.g. Microsoft Office) word processors and office suites.
Categories:  Office Suites

WordPerfect Office Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is WordPerfect Office?

Canadian company Corel Corporation offers the long extant WordPerfect Office Suite for word document, pdf and spreadsheet generation, touting epublishing features, rich presentation capabilities, and compatibility with more ubiquitous (e.g. Microsoft Office) word processors and office suites.

What is WordPerfect Office's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.5.

Who uses WordPerfect Office?

The most common users of WordPerfect Office are from Small Businesses and the Law Practice industry.