Adobe After Effects Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
59 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.9 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-14 of 14)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 26, 2021
Pragya Jha | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adobe After Effects for creating UI UX animations, advertisements, intros, templates and animations.
It is used mainly by our creative department but we also provide product services related to it. It is useful in creating 3D videos, still picture animations and special effects. It's better than premiere pro for creating videos with special effects and animations.
  • Can be used to easily create 2D & 3D animations faster than others.
  • Comes preloaded with multiple effects and customizations.
  • Can be easily integrated with Photoshop, Premiere, Media encoder, Illustrator, Cinema 4D and Mocha.
  • Can be used for VFX, 2d Animation, Motion Graphics, Compositing, Rotoscoping, Motion Tracking, Camera Tracking, Chroma Keying, Compositing and UI-UX.
  • Can be enhanced with extra features using external plugins from Red Giant and others.
  • Also comes with various Audio Editing options.
  • Can be used to create fake camera moments and many more cool things.
  • Flexibility to create fully customized animations and transitions.
  • Can create any VFX effect using particle system and physics.
  • Its' the most Complete Post Production Software.
  • Supports scripting in python for advanced users.
  • Higher end systems are required for the software to work smoothly. Won't work on standard system requirements.
  • Steep learning curve. Not a perfect program for beginners.
  • Costly. Comes with trial of only 7days.
Adobe After Effects is the best Complete Software related to video editing. It is heavily used in the Industry and will continue being used for years to come. Anybody who is looking to professionally build as a video editor or motion graphics artist or a compositor or a rotoscoping or VFX artist must be well versed with this software. It's best for short videos, motion graphics and compositing.
Read Pragya Jha's full review
February 24, 2021
Ryan Treleven | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As social media manager for our platforms, I use After Effects to spice up the intros and add titles and captions to some of our social media videos. Occasionally I add some fun visual effects to make holiday-themed videos, as well. It’s only being used by our technology department. It adds some fun appeal to the videos that we put out through our schools.
  • Video Intros.
  • Excellent set of presets.
  • Transitions.
  • The price can be hard for some small businesses to overcome.
  • Learning curve is high.
  • Files can take up a lot of space.
After Effects is really useful for green screen editing. It is pretty easy to start using and make some cool 2D and 3D graphics. There are a lot of great user-made tutorials online that can provide some great direction for beginners to the program. It can be a bit daunting at first, but once you are able to navigate through the menus and perform some of the basic functions it’s much easier to use.
Read Ryan Treleven's full review
February 24, 2021
Zach Yokum | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our team of creative professionals relies heavily upon Adobe After Effects to provide our clients with pro-grade motion graphics in the videos and animations we produce. As pro users of Adobe Creative Suite's Production family of programs, After Effects is our go-to for when we need to add some visual enhancements to our projects in Premiere, help animate projects created in Photoshop or Illustrator, or just create something all within After Effects itself! Plus, with its ability to dynamically sync between our NLE and asset creation programs with Adobe Creative Suite, our workflow has never been more streamlined!
  • Motion Graphics.
  • Animation.
  • Adobe Dynamic Sync.
  • Advanced Effects.
  • Plugin Compatibility.
  • Better utilization of computer hardware.
  • More Plugin options.
  • More in-program teaching options that can be toggled on/off.
Adobe After Effects is a must-have program for any creative team that wants to be serious about its motion graphics. While a lot of titling/graphics can be accomplished within NLE programs these days, nothing compares to the power, versatility, and utility of what Adobe After Effects has to offer. Plus, given that it's part of the Adobe Creative Suite, it's controls are intuitive and easy-to-navigate even for those moderately familiar with Adobe control schemes.
Read Zach Yokum's full review
May 06, 2021
ANDREW TOUTANT | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is a great animation and design program for videos from small to large clients. It’s been fast, reliable, and I like their updates and customer support. I use it for motion graphics in the advertising field and for movie and tv promos. It always meets the needs of the agency and those needs of the client for revisions and changes.
  • Fast animation
  • Copying and repurposing template files
  • Reliable renders
  • Easy interface
  • Some of the scripts can be difficult.
  • Some plugins could work more reliably.
  • More free trials for plugins would be good.
It’s great for text animations and character and explainer videos. It's fast when there's a deadline
that may be faster than was anticipated. I can always count on After Effects for speed and reliable renders.
I've been a user for more than 15 years and always like their new features and updates.
Their support is pretty reliable and fast. I usually find support answers on other tech forums but have had some support with Adobe and they were helpful and timely with their customer support so I'd say they do a good job helping when I can't find the tech support question online myself. I'd recommend their support for sure!
Read ANDREW TOUTANT's full review
April 06, 2021
Salomi Rai | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Mostly, we use Adobe After Effects for motion graphics and video composition. We also use it to create animatics for animators. In particular, our VFX team uses this software to add effects in a shot--whether it is to make it rain, create a snowfall effect, or show a massive explosion.
  • Easy to add any kind of effects
  • Easy to animate any character, title, object, or text
  • Video editing and composition
  • 2D animation
  • Can’t perform the basic editing functions like cutting, trimming, cropping, layering, etc.
  • Absence of a mobile app
  • 3D animation
Adobe After Effects is really useful software for video editing and composition. It also helps to add an extra touch of beauty in your animation. Depending on the user, you can create simple edited videos or a high level of video editing and composition. You can do almost anything in this software, as far as your imagination goes.
Read Salomi Rai's full review
December 15, 2020
Zacheray Long | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After Effects is mainly used for 2D animations that would otherwise be too complex for Premiere Pro, such as stylized typographic animations, animation of charts, and sometimes simple simulations of product functionality such as airflow, button activation, circuitry layouts, etc.

The US/Philippines Marketing department uses it extensively, as well as our marketing colleagues across the globe.

After Effects is the middle ground between simple Premiere Pro animations and complex 3D sequences, as well as a convenient compositing tool. I personally use it as my primary image editor instead of Photoshop or similar programs.
  • Integration with other Adobe Creative Cloud applications.
  • Compatibility with useful plugins.
  • Quick, easy motion tracking.
  • Puppet tool.
  • Preview playback speed.
  • Overall stability.
For example, if you've illustrated something and want to bring it to life with animation, After Effects has the tools to make that happen, from shape layer manipulation to tight control of keyframes.

Another example is tracking in text to a 3D animation sequence. Text is cumbersome to work with in 3D, but with After Effects you can import the camera data and manipulate text, screen overlays, color corrections, etc. in a much lighter-to-process environment.

It's a very competent compositing tool for removing items from scenes. I was able to remove an entire moving car from a shot thanks to the clone stamping and painting tools.

After Effects is less ideal for traditional hand-drawn animation, where changes and decisions are made frame-by-frame, and better for vector-based animation.
Read Zacheray Long's full review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I am a designer who creates motion graphics as well as gifs. [Adobe After Effects] is being used by the design dept. We do not currently address any business problems, we are growing thanks to hard work and passion for design.

  • Responsive
  • Easy and friendly interface
  • Highly easy and solid
  • The timeline for videos should be updated
  • More intuitive
  • Speed load
To generate visually stunning work for film, TV, video, and web. [Adobe] After Effects brings “life” and motion to graphics. [Adobe] After Effects is built for animation. That's one of its main purposes. It can be great for certain styles of character animation, but in other areas, it's just not designed with those capabilities in mind.
Read this authenticated review
May 10, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Adobe After Effects is being used by our organization for the creation of animations utilizing vector illustrations. It's mainly only used for one particular client but it's used on a monthly basis and is essential in being able to create the animations that they request as it has the capability of making professional and complex animations.
  • Creating complex animations
  • Creating professional and creative animations
  • Learning curve is steep
  • Interface is intimidating
  • Keyboard shortcuts don't always align with the rest of the Adobe Creative Suite
I would only recommend using Adobe After Effects to someone who is willing to spend a significant amount of time to learn the ins and outs of how to use the software. However, if it was someone who was already familiar with using another animation/video software and has some experience in using the Adobe Creative Suite then I might be more inclined to recommend it to them.
Read this authenticated review
April 22, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a consumer electronics company, we have multiple digital software applications that need various animations and motion designs to make the apps provide a better experience. We use After Effects primarily for demo videos and motion design. It helps us quickly mockup or define a high-quality animation to help explain or demo a concept or deliverable.
  • Precise control of the interface and media using the familiar Adobe style makes it super easy to get familiar with and start using.
  • Ability to create and make use of other Adobe products through direct integration is super useful
  • Good demand for high-quality motion design and the most precise tool is After Effects for animations in digital interfaces.
  • The interface is too cluttered and the timeline has every feature crammed into it, which can be overwhelming.
  • Requires a lot of the hardware resources like RAM and disk space; could quickly hog everything if you have an underpowered machine.
  • No symbols or components yet like Sketch or Figma, but translated for After Effects.
As of now, Adobe After Effects is a great animation tool and there's nothing that has as much precision as this one in the market. Other tools like Principle, Flinto, Aperture, and Final Cut can do the job, but Adobe's offering takes the cake.
Good set of tutorials and support forums. The support teams are also well informed.
Read this authenticated review
February 14, 2021
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Yes, it is being used by a specific department in my organization and that is Graphic designing, we make all types of graphic designs and illustrations for our company. It's business solution is to make apps and websites looks better with the usage of images and illustrations in the front-end development.
  • Pen tool is really interesting feature it provides.
  • It uses 3D space and illustrations which is quite interesting
  • It can give you real effects
  • Animations can done with ease
  • Software is too heavy
  • It has Lag times
  • Some buttons hang while you work upon, so a very high end PC is required at least with 8GB RAM
You can make social media posts, do quite good graphic designs with animations and implement them, add it your youtube videos. It's highly interesting, and keep working on.
Read this authenticated review
November 02, 2020
John Zelayandia | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
After Effects is our go-to software for creating and editing graphic animations for promotional videos. It allows us to be efficient in creating title sequences, intros, outros, video packages, and any other VFX that need to be done for compelling and unique video needs. I have used this software for years in combination with Adobe Premiere and while there are other alternatives in the field, overall this is an intuitive way to keep our pipeline flowing well and without conversions. Everything about the software is not only easy to follow but also fantastic when combined with a well-built computer system. It has allowed us to quickly render and edit any digital pieces for business and I can see us continuing to use this fantastic program.
  • Rendering.
  • Editing.
  • Video effects.
  • 3D graphics.
  • Animation and rigging.
  • Title sequence creation.
This software is extremely suitable for anyone who is looking to create well done video projects. Whether you are a novice or a pro this software is very user-friendly and, with more training, can make the most inexperienced video graphics designer/editor confident in their work.
I have only had to communicate with their support team a handful of times and when I have they are quick and simple. They are very straightforward when dealing with any issues.
Read John Zelayandia's full review
August 04, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use After Effects to deal with the different types of animations like Explainer videos, 2D animation, we create educational videos in complete animation for YouTube and with help of After Effects our work becomes so productive and fast, so that we can expand our business. Working with animation on After Effects is really very powerful and effective. it provides high quality output for our work, you can work on professional projects with help of Adobe After Effects. It is really impressive industry-standard software. We are also using After Effects for video editing and VFX, it can handle both of them very well.
  • 2d animation, it can handle the 2d animation on more than 60+ fps. it is easy to work with character animation. you can add various plugins, it has a strong interface to work on, so it almost each and every type of animation related work mainly in 2d.
  • vfx- we can integrate after effects with various softwares like Cinema 4D to create amazing vfx scenes.
  • video editing- we can do professional video editing along with some really impressive motion graphic and object tracking.
  • 3D - working with 3D in After Effects doesn't provide that much effective results as compared to 3D software, we can only do basic 3D or we have to integrate 3D software.
  • Sometimes when it comes to real-time preview of the scene (what you created) even if you have better specs, you will face some lags.
  • Audio - After Effects doesn't provide any effective tool to work with audio, they should provide something which can be helpful to remove audio noise, but there is no effective tool to work with audio in After Effects (you can work with Adobe Audition to do that but that's a different software).
Well suited when you are working to create YouTube videos in a real and effective manner in less time. It has been really helpful for me in the last year, we have produced 60+ animated videos which is really amazing speed to work. And the best thing is it gives professional output and saves time. Really simple to work if you know how to do it. If you are looking for a video editor you can do it on After Effects also.
The scenarios where it becomes less appropriate is when you are working on 3D animation, you can get better things except VFX.
They are really good and whenever you get stuck in any problem they can provide various study materials and tutorials, and if there are any bugs they will inform you so, that's a very good thing about Adobe customer support.
Read this authenticated review
April 23, 2020
Fabio Zenoardo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are a small video and photo production company. We have been using Adobe After Effects for years, to insert animations into our videos, animate titles, cut out, and many other things.
  • Track an object to insert animations.
  • Create transition effects better than in Premiere.
  • Best use RAM memory.
  • Sometimes the timeline interface is problematic.
It is essential if you want to give your videos a further creative touch. With external plug-ins and many tutorials made available, even the less experienced can insert atmospheric effects, color shades, explosions and many other things. It is not appropriate for simple video montages, for that there is Premiere.
The Adobe forum is an encyclopedia about the product.
Read Fabio Zenoardo's full review
April 14, 2020
Bradley Gill | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Adobe After Effects throughout our entire company. We are a small team where everyone is involved in every step of the post production process. It really helps us do some of the more complicated tasks that Adobe Premiere Pro cannot handle. We utilize many plugins that help accomplish those difficult tasks.
  • Very easy to set up and get started.
  • There are many tutorials provided from Adobe and other users.
  • After Effects is perfect for creating animated movement in our final videos.
  • It easily integrates with the other Adobe software.
  • The workflow is a little more difficult than learning Premiere workflow.
  • Sometimes our plugins take a lot of processing power.
  • Some of the features we have to buy plugins for should be integrated.
We use Adobe After Effects to do many things like tracking for rotoscoping, rig removal, cloning, and text animation. It is definitely the best tool to help finish any footage you might be working on. Even though you can set up a timeline to render a final video, it isn't really suited to do so.
I have never needed to reach out to Adobe for assistance with After Effects because they already have many tutorials available online. If you don't see exactly what you are trying to do with the Adobe tutorials then there are many other users that have posted theirs online and are easy to follow.
Read Bradley Gill's full review

What is Adobe After Effects?

Adobe After Effects allows users to create cinematic movie titles, intros, and transitions, remove an object from a clip, start a fire or make it rain, or animate a logo or character. The vendor states that with After Effects, users can apply motion-graphics and animation to any digital object.
Categories:  Animation

Adobe After Effects Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
Annual Plan (Paid Monthly)$20.99Per User Per Month
Annual Plan (Prepaid)$239.88Per User Per Year
Monthly Plan$31.49Per User Per Month

Adobe After Effects Technical Details

Deployment Types:On-premise
Operating Systems: Windows
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Adobe After Effects?

Adobe After Effects allows users to create cinematic movie titles, intros, and transitions, remove an object from a clip, start a fire or make it rain, or animate a logo or character. The vendor states that with After Effects, users can apply motion-graphics and animation to any digital object.

What is Adobe After Effects's best feature?

Reviewers rate Usability highest, with a score of 8.7.

Who uses Adobe After Effects?

The most common users of Adobe After Effects are from Small Businesses and the Computer Software industry.