Amazon SNS Reviews

<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring#question3' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>Customer Verified: Read more.</a>
30 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.5 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-20 of 20)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
September 20, 2020
Bob Smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The main use for Amazon Simple Notification Service within our organization is to allow our different products communicate in a subscription based communication paradigm. We are able to share state information across servers in a notification style which reduces the number of consecutive pulls or checking a common resource to allow our infrastructure to scale at need.
  • View and manage topics.
  • Allow product inter-communication.
  • Easy to get up and running.
  • Bridge between different technologies/stacks used.
  • Reporting available is good, but there are always room to grow.
  • Analytics on message origin would be beneficial.
  • Message size limit increase.
Push notifications of events occurring are the best scenario where Amazon Simple Notification Service is used within our stack. But because it can be integrated with different products, it does bridge the gap between different communication platforms we use. Though sometimes there are more elegant ways to accomplish this, SNS sometimes is the quickest way to move forward because we are already using it.
Read Bob Smith's full review
September 17, 2020
Jackson Gordon | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is basically used as a filtration system by some of our clients that sell on Amazon. The system allows them to subscribe to specific types of Amazon messages that are applicable to them and then sends them notifications for those relatable messages. It helps save them time by cutting through all of the unnecessary, unapplicable information and gets them what they need in a quick and easy process.
  • Filtration of information.
  • Streamlines messages and important information.
  • Order information notification typically for clients sold products.
  • At times you receive access denied errors which are annoying.
  • Rarely do you receive internal failure errors where you can't access the information. It is rare but it does happen.
  • You are required to add an MWS Authentication Token every so often. I wish it would pull that information automatically for you so you don't have to go searching for it.
It is a good system for getting information efficiently whether it is about orders or listing failures or updates. The service is designed to help streamline the process and allow you to get the necessary information quickly without having to go search for it on your end. I would recommend it to individuals that are selling on Amazon for sure.
I didn't use the software directly my clients did so I never was in contact with support. But if they are anything like seller support they are good about helping you out when you run into difficulties and error messages.
Read Jackson Gordon's full review
September 17, 2020
Rob Domenico | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use the simple notification services extensively for team in Client Service to Development and Operations, as events are collected and metrics evaluated across the entire VPC. Amazon simple notification is primarily used with the DevOps staff for managing activity by cloudwatch events, to be sent via configured topics for SNS to all department members.
  • Built in for quicker setup within AWS ecosystem.
  • Trusted as you control the users and configuration via IAM and easy access controls.
  • Can be sent to S3 simple storage or for long term storage if required.
  • Can be used in many regions, same configs.
  • Add more console support for better graphical support.
  • Can be hard to configure and may take many test example to even out alerts.
  • Limitation on how many relays so may need external sms or other provider to save a bit more.
Great on its own or in conjunction with other tools that integrate and allow grouping for better message distribution. It can be run programmatically via API, making it fully configurable to help drive your alerts in your custom application for machine to machine messaging (a nice bonus to this service that is fully managed).
Trusted service that just works also, can be redundant for extra reliability in regions geo located.
Read Rob Domenico's full review
October 01, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We have used Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) for creating applications which make use of events. With help of SNS it is easy to track events with their timestamp when they originated and how they were used. It is very essential and it makes it easy to use as SNS can help in logging the inbound and outbound events.
  • Improved Logging
  • Easy to use
  • Helps to keep track of events
  • Pricing
  • If permissions are not configured properly it will give access denied
  • Dashboards are difficult to implement
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is well suited for applications built on event driven architecture. It makes it easy to log and track events in real time from the source to the destination. The permissions should be configured properly in order to use SNS else while implementing you can come across Access Denied errors. The dashboards are difficult to maintain to track the utilization.
The AWS documentation is well maintained and has lots of information which makes it easier for developers to refer to and develop applications in a fast efficient manner. It is well documented with examples which is easy to understand and implement. You can also get help by posting into forums from like-minded developers.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon SNS is being used to deliver notifications to users. We started with custom software where users could subscribe to certain topics and get information in a timely manner. It solved the problem of trying to keep track of everything that is going on around using different forms of communication. This way, we centralized it.
  • Easy to use
  • Easy to set up
  • Easy to integrate
  • We didn't really find a place where it wasn't useful.
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is well suited where you want to allow the user to subscribe to a topic and unsubscribe at their own will and they can choose how information is delivered to them.
We have not contacted Amazon's support for this product because it is really simple to use.
Read this authenticated review
September 21, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon SNS is being used as part of a queuing solution for our company. It is a simple, highly available queuing backend with libraries for many languages, allowing interoperability between various teams. It provides an efficient fan-out service for distributing work and communicating requests between services. It provides convenient endpoints for email and web services.
  • Simple to implement/use
  • Lots of libraries
  • Web hook endpoints make communication easy to implement.
  • Recipient boilerplate
  • Better filtered fan-out
  • Better docs
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is a tool well suited to situations where messages should be communicated to large numbers of clients. It handles fan outs and eventual delivery well. The monitoring metrics available are complex but comprehensive. It does not handle ordered delivery well and does not provide absolute guarantees as some queuing solutions may.
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) has decent support, though we haven't had much need for it. The docs available online provide a good introduction to the tool, and it's fairly straightforward to work with. I would recommend paying close attention to how to parse messages with new clients because they must affirmatively respond to the first message received.
Read this authenticated review
September 20, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used by the application. We use it mostly to send SMS to our users!
  • SMS
  • Push Notifications
  • Simple API
  • Push Notifications due to multiple providers
It is useful when you want to send a message directly to a phone number, or a message to multiple phone numbers at once by subscribing those phone numbers to a topic and sending your message to the topic.
It is really good. It does what we expect. It deals with different sources from the inside. For end users it is like black box that does what we need.
Read this authenticated review
September 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is being used to send SMS notifications to specific employees within the organization in case of any event via an alert management system. Amazon SNS is being used by the Central System monitoring Team to get a timely notification on their mobile devices about any issue in the system. Before using SNS, we have to make a call to each employee manually to notify them about the issue in case we need to inform them during out of office hours.
  • Notification delivery to different geographies via multiple providers.
  • Cost effective as compared to other vendors.
  • You can track delivery of notifications as well.
  • Can provide a more advanced user intuitive system to be used for notification delivery.
  • Language options could be extended.
  • Within transaction messages further classification option should be given.
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is best suited for scenarios where you need to programmatically manage the notifications based on rules or conditions. You can also interface it easily with any existing system and enable them to send notifications out to the user. If you do not have a need for programmatic management of your notifications and need a simple notification handler like marketing campaigns, then you can look for other options that are more user friendly.
Amazon Simple Notification Sevices (SNS) support depends on your usage pattern and definitely on your support plan as an enterprise with AWS. Before reaching out to support you should read their documentation, as they have mentioned almost all the common issues and their solutions there. However, for specific issues, they generally respond in 1-2 business days.
Read this authenticated review
September 15, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon SNS is used to communicate simple notifications across different scenarios, using emails and SMS. It addresses the problem of notifying different states for example in cloud instances, so we don't need to check each one manually. Also, it is very easy to integrate into your workflow, as it communicates fluently with other AWS Services.
  • Simple
  • Easy
  • Good Integration
  • Hard to debug
  • Email format
  • Weak dashboard
  • Proprietary API
Amazon SNS is suitable for every application, but you need to have in mind that the notifications you create should be useful for the receiver. I mean, you can create thousands of notifications, but if the reader is overwhelmed, none of them will be useful. So you need to measure the average volume that a person is ready to solve.
AWS Service is always excellent. You have tons of information to learn how to use every service, and SNS is no exception.
Read this authenticated review
September 12, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
My team is using SNS as a way to pass messages back and forth between our billing systems and end user products. We send account/subscription messages on create and update and our products send usage messages that we subscribe to via SQS and process usage into our billing system.
  • SNS is extremely reliable.
  • SNS with SQS provides a safe place for messages in the event our services are ever down.
  • SNS is easy to configure and subscribe to.
  • For our use cases SNS completely fills our needs.
It works well for us because we have a number of different groups that are interested in updates and we don't want to be in charge of sending individual messages via API's or separate queues to each of those groups. They subscribe and filter to get the messages that they are interested in and it is extremely reliable.
The documentation and community are top notch with AWS. One of the reasons we like to stick with AWS is there are endless resources to help us if we run into any problems.
Read this authenticated review
November 07, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use it as part of our mobile learning app to send transactional messages to learners to start a module. It allows us to reach learners without an email address and reduces user friction of needing to remember a login and password, or 'not getting round' to the email notification to begin their learning.
  • Relatively simple to integrate in-app.
  • Fuss-free for user once implemented.
  • Pay-per-use
  • No clear indication that transactional messages are sent as multiple SMSs (increased cost).
  • No 'dashboard' to easily see metrics at a glance or deep-dive if more info required.
Great for transactional messaging. Easy-enough to integrate. Seamless to run. Would love for SNS to also support OTT messaging platforms to reduce cost to us, and provide greater flexibility for our learners.
Great. Responsive and fast.
Read this authenticated review
September 22, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon SNS to push notifications to customers for previously searched hotels through email and messages.
  • Scheduling and sending messages is very easy
  • Subscription and One-on-One option
  • Booked Hotel Details are sent very fast
  • First time setup can take a lot of time.
  • Sometimes there is high latency in sending messages, leading to less impact against expected.
We have been able to implement Amazon SNS very easily for our push notifications and solve our purpose pretty well. Scheduling various bursts is also very easy and works like a charm. We are not facing any issue with the product.
Amazon's customer support is available 24/7 and always resolves queries and issues in as short a time as possible.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is used across the organization. We are using for APNS and topic subscription. It is also used as a centralized messaging system in our organization to send SMS, Emails, Push Notifications, etc.
  • Simple to use
  • Easy to integrate
  • AWS integration difficult for naive users
  • Not Open Source
Our customers that use AWS cloud services, it was easy for us to integrate Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS). For the customers who use another cloud platform, it was difficult for us to integrate and manage with it.
AWS Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) support is 24*7 so its easy for us to get in touch with the support and resolve our problem.
Read this authenticated review
February 05, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) within several serverless applications to create and manage both human-read and service-read notifications as a part of our internal automation workflows. One of these applications uses Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) notifications to notify a dashboard interface when there are status changes in a queue process that places ad campaign listings on different platforms. Success and failure messages can be triggered and display in realtime.
  • Integrates with Lambda and SQS to allow for sophisticated serverless applications.
  • It can be used to support any combination of email, push, or even SMS notifications.
  • E-mail and SMS notifications aren't all that customizable, meaning this won't be a good solution for consumer-facing notifications.
  • The opt-in process for e-mail and SMS notifications is cumbersome.
Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) can be a powerful tool in a serverless toolbox. Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) is best suited for handling service-to-service notifications between different applications or steps in an existing serverless workflow. If you're using AWS services to handle different parts of your existing serverless application or workflow and you need a tool to facilitate reliable notifications, Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) will handle that task very well.
We have reached out to Amazon Web Services support for help with Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) a few times and always received helpful responses promptly. Getting limits increased, and questions answered has been easy and convenient.
Read this authenticated review
October 21, 2019
Apurv Doshi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use SNS to send notifications across services to communicate with each other. We use SNS across all the departments which are consuming AWS. We solve multiple problems through SNS as mentioned below:
  1. To notify the stack holder when build and deployment is completed.
  2. To check and report environment health.
  3. Call consumers when all async producers finish their jobs.
  4. To send Push notifications.
  • It is extremely easy and powerful service to send message across different Amazon services. To create the topic, subscriber and post notification is just natural. It requires almost zero learning curve.
  • It is a managed services. So there is no need to worry about scaling. It can work with extreme heavy volume easily without taking any special care.
  • It allows 256KB for published notification. Also this is divided into 4 chunks of 64 KB. Each 64KB chunk is considered as 1 request and full payload with 256KN is considered as 4 requests. This keeps your bill lower.
  • It does not have sufficient debug options. The only way is to subscribe for email to receive errors.
  • It is difficult to format email. To support dynamic formatting, developer needs to write extra code which can be simplified.
When your entire infrastructure is part of Amazon ecosystem, this service will act as a common thread for communication. It provides simple pubsub way to make sure real time notification. It is extremely easy to send notifications via SMS, email and Push Notifications. When async processes are running and you want to notify some other services, this service becomes first choice by default.
The only scenario where SNS is little less appropriate is heavy data volume. Sometimes you may get delayed notification.
We have not come across situations where we need support for SNS. However for other AWS services, we have received really good support to solve the issue and to define the architecture.
Read Apurv Doshi's full review
July 01, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is used within our team(Mobile/Iot Development) to notify us developers in case anything within our AWS account needs attention. The primary target of most of our notifications is an email to the developers, whereas sometimes we do trigger Lambda functions using SNS.
  • Multiple mediums for notifications like email, HTTP, Lambda etc
  • Easy to set up the pub sub model
  • Debugging is difficult
It is best suited for sending notifications based on events in the AWS realm. It can be used to alert the developers in case of undesirable activity as well as be used as a medium for sending notifications to production applications
Read this authenticated review
January 26, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The engineering and data teams at my organization use Amazon SNS for two purposes. The first is to create simple notifications for non-emergency alerts. It is easy to configure a CloudWatch alarm, create an SNS topic, and subscribe some email addresses to the topic. The second purpose is to use topics and pub/sub messaging to decouple micro-services. AWS Lambda has an SNS trigger; it is easy to build functions and invoke them when events are published.
  • The AWS Lambda SNS trigger is great. Subscribing multiple Lambda functions to an SNS topic is a nice way to decouple features.
  • SNS is fully-managed. Our team is too small to manage our own pub/sub infrastructure.
  • Subscribing email endpoints to SNS topics and integrating topics with CloudWatch alerts is very easy; we create more non-emergency notifications than we would without SNS.
  • The SNS Console has not been updated in a long time, and it was confusing to begin with.
  • Testing systems that use SNS end-to-end can be tricky; LocalStack somewhat ameliorates this problem.
  • Debugging is difficult.
Amazon SNS is great for at least two use-cases: building cheap, non-emergency alerts, and decoupling services with pub/sub messaging. SNS is great for creating email notifications in minutes for alerts that are not worthy of PagerDuty. Subscribing multiple AWS Lambda functions to a topic is a great way to decouple features.
Read this authenticated review
May 13, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Almost on all projects where we use AWS services, we use Amazon SNS. It helps us to respond faster for some APIs, or for processes that do not need to be asynchronous.
  • Easy to integrate with other AWS solutions.
  • Relatively easy setup.
  • Better UI design.
On our project, Vacation Tracker, we have Webhook from Stripe, which calls AWS Lambda and needs us to respond in 10 seconds. If we need to create a PDF Invoice, we need more than 10 seconds. In this case, we use Amazon SNS to call another Lambda, which creates a PDF invoice. This SNS response is very fast and we can respond to Stripe in 10 seconds.
Read this authenticated review
October 17, 2018
Dylan Cauwels | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon SNS is an incredibly useful service. In my previous organizations, we used it as an easy way to get a notification service set up with our users without having to manage any servers or additional resources. The messages are incredibly inexpensive and cost close to nothing. I only know that it was being used in my sector for sure, however, I am confident that it was being used all across the organization as well. It was the only available service that could solve our email/SMS notification needs with available scaling, cost savings, and ease of use for our employees and customers.
  • Super simple setup and deployment. You can have a new service set up within minutes and in a serverless environment as well
  • Well documented and incredibly easy to use. There are available APIs in almost every relevant language and are all well documented by AWS. Getting any team up to date on their new Notification architecture shouldn't take longer than a day.
  • Being managed by AWS themselves makes the service highly available in every possible way. Your SNS deployment is almost guaranteed to never go down without you ever lifting a finger to make it so.
  • The AWS website UI could use some definite improvement. The website itself is very clunky and hard to navigate and always seems to have the wrong information in the wrong places. It is a monstrous task trying to make a website as complicated as AWS look simple and easy to navigate but even with some minor improvements it would become much more user and beginner friendly.
  • Troubleshooting can be very difficult when encountering an issue with SNS and often many AWS services. By having all of your infrastructure in the cloud, it makes troubleshooting networking problems quite complicated. On top of this, aws provides little return information when a message fails to send, leaving a lot of guesswork to be done on your part to fix the issue.
It is well suited for generic push notification requirements. It can be quickly created and modified to best suit your application at any given moment. However for any notification service that needs to be highly customizable for a specific deployment should be implemented through a competing or custom built service run on company servers.
Read Dylan Cauwels's full review
September 14, 2018
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 6 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Amazon SNS is being used by my organization for all push notification services for both iOS and Android. We have been using it for all marketing-related push notifications as well as trigger-based push notifications in order to inform our users of promotions we're running or information about their upcoming bus trip they have planned.
  • Allows you to send test push notification messages from console easily
  • Straightforward integration into the codebase
  • Easy integration/easy to maintain if already part of AWS ecosystem
  • Testing on different environments was a challenge to setup. Unclear how it's really supposed to work.
  • Mobile device tokens get disabled easily during testing making the push notification testing process fail silently.
  • SMS Delivery setup procedures not as straightforward.
If you and your team are adamant about having a product that lives under the Amazon Web Service umbrella, I can see how SNS would be a good choice for you. However, I do feel that post-integration, there was some regret due to the complexity we were experiencing during testing. We would have been better suited long-term going with a different product.
Read this authenticated review

What is Amazon SNS?

Amazon Web Services offers the Amazon Simple Notification Service (SNS) which provides pub/sub messaging and push notifications to iOS and Android devices. It is meant to operate in a microservices architecture and which can support event-driven contingencies and support the decoupling of applications.

Amazon SNS Pricing

  • Does not have featureFree Trial Available?No
  • Does not have featureFree or Freemium Version Available?No
  • Does not have featurePremium Consulting/Integration Services Available?No
  • Entry-level set up fee?No
EditionPricing DetailsTerms
API Requests0.50per 1 million requests
Notification Deliveries0.50per million notifications
API Requests & Payload Data0.01per 1 million

Amazon SNS Technical Details

Deployment Types:SaaS
Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No