Avira Antivirus Reviews

23 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 8.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Filtered By:

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
March 25, 2021
Carli Espino | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Avira Antivirus is clear from its title and is effective anti-virus with a solid firewall.
  • It ensures the framework against any undesirable fabric so, able to spare the framework from any security-threats.
  • Avira Antivirus fulfill all the functions that it claims with so much perfection and efficiency thus helping in creating a shield against viruses and spams.
  • It helped us so much in getting rid of spam and stops spam in the best possible way and is more efficient than any other antispam software.
  • This application doesn’t screen the exercises running along with the framework, but, ensures the framework against any unordinary data.
  • Server suppliers ought to be effective in disseminating the line stream over the framework.
  • UI is a bit hard for new users so it needs to be more user-friendly.
  • I like all its features and functions but the only thing is that I think that it is a little pricey. So I wish it would be less expensive than it is.
Read Carli Espino's full review
November 05, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • One thing it does well is it doesn't use a whole lot of system resources to run. Users should not experience slowdowns on their systems while Avira is running.
  • A second thing it does well is the scanning engine works particularly well, meaning in terms of performance, along with not taking very long for scans to run on a client system.
  • One area of improvement can be in improving virus detection rates, even though it is rated really high in AV tests, there is always room for improvement to compete with others in the industry.
  • Another area of improvement can be in minimizing pop-ups/ads when running the software. This was more problematic historically especially in the free versions of the software, but could really be minimized in all versions.
  • An improvement can be made in the marketing of the product to be focused more on industry/organization use since historically this product is well-known for being a good consumer-grade AV product.
Read this authenticated review
May 14, 2019
Aura Munguia Cepeda | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It is lightweight and does not occupy so many elements of the system, so it can be installed on almost any computer, even I have it on my old desktop and it works very smoothly.
  • It has protection against dialer, rootkit, phishing, spyware, viruses, Trojans and all the threats that there are.
  • It is very simple to use, since it is almost all configured and when it detects some suspicious or malicious element it asks you what you want to do with it.
  • Your updates are constant, so you are always protected against the latest dangers that appear.
  • For the use that I currently give to my laptop it works very well, but it can fail if your way of surfing the web is careful and you dedicate yourself to visit infected forums, download files from any part, or use bad programs.
Read Aura Munguia Cepeda's full review
February 23, 2019
Michelli Capecchi | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It runs in the background so it does not interrupt the actions that are being carried out.
  • Work in real time allowing alerts to be issued immediately
  • Offers plans with very accessible prices
  • Your support team is very attentive, they are always available.
  • Offers protection against known and advanced threats
  • Sometimes it usually throws programs as dangerous when they are simply unrecognized formats so this permission must be done manually.
  • When the antivirus is implemented in its free version it tends to have a lot of publicity, which slows down the team.
Read Michelli Capecchi's full review
July 24, 2018
Floyd Peterkin Bennett | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • It detects adware (sometimes you just need some ease of advertisement) and phishing.
  • It has Webguard, that allows us to block access to malicious websites.
  • It scans email (POP3 and SMTP), an everyday tool I personally use.
  • It has Bootable RescueCD, wich helps to remove malware and system recoveries.
  • It has a very high detection rate and a very fast scanning engine.
  • It has a tendency to detect many false positives.
  • It has a very basic backup module.
  • Its interface is not much attractive.
Read Floyd Peterkin Bennett's full review
February 23, 2019
burt smith | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • In my case, it detects the vast majority of malicious files. It also gives you the option to choose what to do with them (delete or ignore).
  • It uses few resources, so it can be installed on almost any computer.
  • It has constant updates, so make sure you have the latest patch to prevent infections of new malicious elements.
  • It is multiplatform, so you can use it on different devices. I have used it both on Windows and Android.
  • Sometimes the antivirus takes time to start once the laptop is turned on, which makes me wonder if it is working correctly or not.
  • I have read about several problems regarding uninstalling Avira Antivirus from Windows, which sounds like it can be quite tedious.
  • I have also read that, unfortunately, for being a light antivirus, it cannot properly handle the most dangerous viruses and trojans on the web, but luckily, so far I have not had any problems. In addition, a large number of infections are due to the browsing and downloading habits of users.
Read burt smith's full review
October 12, 2018
george wilson | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Low impact on the use of laptop resources, which is beneficial if you use old laptops or desktops, low-end computers, or do not want an antivirus that consumes an enormous amount of resources.
  • Its update process is quite fast and silent, so it does not bother at all. Extra point is that I do not consume as much memory when using it, so you do not have to worry because the pc freezes.
  • Your level of protection and security is quite high and adequate when you have a low-risk use of the PC (office, games, programs, navigation by pages or known forums, and others)
  • Its level of protection in real time could be better when dealing with multiple threats. For example, it does not adequately block files that are auto-downloaded without the user's permission.
Read george wilson's full review
June 22, 2018
Benjamin Cornejo | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Pros and Cons

  • Detects the vast majority of malicious files that you can download from the web
  • The in-depth analysis system is very thorough
  • Starts quickly in the system
  • Its "system speedup" does not produce as much improvement or changes as other programs that perform similar functions.
  • I think I should have some system to erase invalid keys and records that are easy to use as a CCleaner
Read Benjamin Cornejo's full review

What is Avira Antivirus?

German company Avira offers endpoint protection via its antivirus solutions available for businesses in multiple editions which protect endpoints, networks and servers against threats and malicious activity, and scan for viruses and malware as well as phishing and web attacks.
Categories:  Antivirus

Avira Antivirus Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is Avira Antivirus?

German company Avira offers endpoint protection via its antivirus solutions available for businesses in multiple editions which protect endpoints, networks and servers against threats and malicious activity, and scan for viruses and malware as well as phishing and web attacks.

Who uses Avira Antivirus?

The most common users of Avira Antivirus are from Enterprises and the Education Management industry.