CATIA Reviews

31 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.7 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Learn how we help vendors

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-8 of 8)

Companies can't remove reviews or game the system. Here's why.
July 31, 2021
Subal Sharma | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We used CATIA for quick prototyping of the products. Since, the utility trucks are customized according to the customer need, modifications and changes to the basic or existing designs are significant. CATIA helps in the process for modification and generating body trucks easier. Being in the product design and development department required us to keep modifying the existing designs. With CATIA, there was no need to delete the modifying part. Multiple drag points of the original design provides a mesh like design, where not only simple geometry but complex geometries were equivalently easier to modify.
It becomes tedious when making modifications in a large scale assembly parts. However, CATIA made it easier to handle. Different applications of our products require constant modifications to the utility designs. I used to relocate interference of hydraulic hoses of boom assembly, boom bucket modifications, and body modifications of the truck.
One issue I faced is the learning curve of the software. Having many modules requires one to invest time initially. However, once learned it becomes really handy in the industry.

  • Surface modelling becomes easy.
  • Modifications to specific points without affecting adjacent parts
  • Simulation run with model is really great
  • Product modelling becomes difficult. Moreover, needs more steps than other CAD software
  • Need to sit and learn from a person else, really hard to learn on own
When it comes to modelling a product using multiple parts, CATIA becomes tedious. One need someone to sit with and learn with the experience from a frequent user. If switching from any other software to CATIA, it can be intimidating as learning curve is lengthy. For example, when working with complex shape in a knuckle joint, more steps are needed in part modelling. This cause part modelling lengthier and consume time more time, in comparison to SOLIDWORKS.

However, CATIA is tremendously helpful in generating really complex features. Surface modelling is way easier when one know how to use it. It becomes really handy to make changes to the design later as well. The design history tree is also very well organized, which save time in later modifications.
Read Subal Sharma's full review
January 27, 2020
Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2® | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
CATIA is being used for our Product Development departments. As I'm working in the automotive industry as a component development engineer, we need to design components and systems that we are responsible for. To develop products in a virtual environment, we need software like CATIA, SOLIDWORKS, or AutoCAD. Especially for the surface modeling (which is required for all the exterior and interior of the vehicle) and complex component modeling, and we are using CATIA software. So far, I'm delighted to use it due to its efficiency to resolve the design issues we have.
  • Surface modeling module is extremely developed and successful.
  • 2D drafting module is doing the job effectively (AutoCAD is no more required).
  • Not user friendly interface (a bit improved with v6)
  • Difficult mouse operations
CATIA is probably the most preferred 3D modeling tool in the automotive and aerospace industries. This specific surface (it can be handled well by the experienced users) is well suited to use parametric design principles and hence result in great products. One of the issues we have in the automotive industry is to work with large surfaces for body exterior (main body, gate, hood.) or interior trim (door, headliner.) panels. CATIA enable us to design surface perfectly through the lines. Also, assembly features for intricate designs (gearbox, exhaust, engine, suspension.) are more than adequate. I did not find any inefficiency while designing products with CATIA. Only the interface and handling of the menu and mouse is not the best - or at least you need time to get used to it.
I generally contact with IT or internal CATIA support team, so I cannot comment in detail. I remember we have struggled to move to v6 update, and it required a long and detailed work to update all the systems. There were some times we had limited support from Dassault, but it is normal for a company of our size. So I cannot criticize much.
Read Özgür Erkek, MSc, PRINCE2®'s full review
November 27, 2019
Stéfano Bellote | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
The whole organization uses it for 3D modeling of new and modified parts, and also modeling assemblies of partial or whole products. It is also used in other plants, but I'm not so sure if it's the standard software used for this type of activity.
  • Easy modeling with production steps in mind.
  • Surface modeling is pretty intuitive and makes possible to design complex geometries faster.
  • Model edit is practical, making possible to edit a geometry parameter and rerun the program to have the new parameters ready.
  • CATIA works very well for assemblies too, it makes possible to easily attach parts and bind specific parameters, also to hide parts that are not desirable for the analysis.
  • The software is pretty heavy, even with computers designed for heavy-duty loads, resulting in long wait times to load files and make changes, reducing productivity.
CATIA works well for modeling complex designs and dealing with assemblies, and also helping with analysis for production line assembly and manufacturing through stamping, molding, injection, and others. CATIA also integrates very well with Teamcenter, the PLM software which we use in our company, making it easy to upload files and dealing with approval processes for new designs - although the time it takes for loading parts and saving could be reduced to improve productivity.
I have never had to use support directly.
Read Stéfano Bellote's full review
October 25, 2019
Umurefe Demir | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using CATIA in our whole company. The main purpose is to draw parts, draft them, do their assemblies, create illustrations, and run optimization studies on them. To create digital models.
  • 3D design of parts
  • 2D drafting of your part
  • Assembly creating
  • Weight, dimension calculations.
  • Updating an existing design can become really frustrating. You have to reassign all the radiuses, for example, even if they moved slightly.
  • CAE function is not that good.
  • Radiuses are slightly bad and can cause you lots of problems.
You can draw any geometry with specific dimensions, with real ease. You can then assemble those geometries together, with a of couple clicks, to have a full finished product. For example, machine parts are very very easy, we have a full vehicle modeled through CATIA. But, CATIA lacks a bit of free-form drawing. It is hard to draw, for example, a face, since it needs lots of tiny touches.
We got frequent updates on CATIA. There are lots of update notes. Also, there are lots of lots of videos online to solve the issues that you can stumble upon. It also has a built-in help manual, which helps occasionally. I have gotten my education through a physical class on CATIA, so there are opportunities like that as well.
Read Umurefe Demir's full review
January 18, 2020
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Currently, we are using CATIA for our clients from the automotive and farm equipment domain. We develop 3D models and illustrations using CATIA. Our clients run multi-million dollar parts business, which is after-sales product maintenance. Thus, in such cases, they need to develop high-quality illustrations and 3D models of their parts and assemblies. Therefore, at my organization, we use CATIA to develop 3D models and address our clients' needs.
  • Easy user interface
  • Fast and responsive
  • Commands
  • Toolbars
Areas where CATIA is excellent: In my opinion, if one wants to develop 3D models at a rapid pace along with illustrations, then CATIA is a good option.
Less appropriate: In the cases where you need to focus on 2D drawings, CATIA has fewer options than its counterparts like AutoCAD, which is mainly used to create 2D drawings.
I gave a 9-star rating because CATIA's support system is excellent in terms of quick resolutions. As soon as we escalate any issue regarding this software, its support system resolves it in a short period. There was a scenario when we were unable to login to the CATIA server. At that time, our issue was resolved within an hour. Thus, in terms of support, CATIA is good.
Read this authenticated review
July 02, 2019
Alan Urbina | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
In my organization we have several programs, one of which is CATIA. Depending on each designer and project, one program or another is used. In particular, CATIA is used to model certain types of products that, due to their complexity or precision, cannot be made in others, whether they are separate pieces for later making in an assembly, or a one-piece product.
  • Good functions for automotive design.
  • Easy to use.
  • It is very precise with measurements.
  • Creates good renders.
  • Better design of the interface.
  • Is more expensive than others.
At first, it can be a little complex to use or learn how to handle it, but after you have practiced it becomes very easy and simple. You can generate different parts and then assemble without any mishap or problem. In the beginning, if you do not know any other program, it can be difficult to remember the different functions, operations or buttons.
Read Alan Urbina's full review
February 28, 2019
Sailender Naidu | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I have used CATIA throughout my Aerospace engineering studies in college as well as while working as an Engineer. I have designed everything from complete drones, to tools, screws. So, a wide variety of pieces with different complexities. Mainly, CATIA has been beneficial when having to design complex assemblies, since I think its manipulation tools are some of its main assets.
  • There really is no 3D software that offers all the design modules, drafting and assembly options and manipulation tools that CATIA offers.
  • There are a specific module and tool for just about anything you need to do, so the design process with CATIA can be very optimized.
  • Great surface modeling capabilities.
  • It is NOT user-friendly. It definitely takes a long time to get used to.
  • Another big disadvantage is that it is EXTREMELY expensive. It is hard to be able to afford a license for private use at home.
  • Mouse function is not easy to get the hang of in it.
I am using this software to design relatively small assemblies. In this context, even though the software is very powerful and offers many possibilities, it would be more convenient to use a less powerful and complex software since the power required for these assemblies is not that much. However, if designing large assemblies or very complex ones, especially in the aerospace industry, CATIA is the way to go.
Read Sailender Naidu's full review
February 28, 2019
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
Score 5 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Used to design products across the whole organization. It addresses the problems of having a design that cannot be viewed worldwide.
  • Creates 3D Parts that are easy to modify.
  • Creates 3D Assemblies that are easy to modify.
  • Creates 2D Drawings that are easy to modify.
  • Get rid of licenses for options and just have all options available.
  • Icons don't make sense.
  • Finding items in menus are difficult.
It is well suited for simple parts, not for more complex models.
Read this authenticated review

What is CATIA?

CATIA from Dassault Systemes is a 3D product modeling and design tool used across multiple industries.

CATIA Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No

Frequently Asked Questions

What is CATIA?

CATIA from Dassault Systemes is a 3D product modeling and design tool used across multiple industries.

What is CATIA's best feature?

Reviewers rate Support Rating highest, with a score of 8.

Who uses CATIA?

The most common users of CATIA are from Enterprises and the Automotive industry.