Ellucian Banner Reviews

21 Ratings
<a href='https://www.trustradius.com/static/about-trustradius-scoring' target='_blank' rel='nofollow noopener noreferrer'>trScore algorithm: Learn more.</a>
Score 7.3 out of 100

Do you work for this company? Manage this listing

Overall Rating

Reviewer's Company Size

Last Updated

By Topic

Industry

Department

Experience

Job Type

Role

Reviews (1-13 of 13)

Cortney Reese | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 17, 2019

Banner makes campus life easier

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner is being used across our campus. Every department uses it. It is very helpful to all of us. When one person updates something we all immediately can see the changes/updates.
  • Makes distributing information across the campus very easy.
  • Keeps our employees and students records organized.
  • The codes are a little difficult to remember.
Banner allows us to keep personal information on all students and employees in one place so the entire college can access it without trying to hunt down information. Banner also allows us to report class grades to our students without the students having to wait to hear from their instructors. Banner allows us to keep track of all charges and payments and past due bills.
Read Cortney Reese's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 31, 2020

Colleges wishing to succeed and remain agile should look elsewhere

Score 1 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner is being used organization-wide by students and employees. We purchased it hoping it would be a reliable means to store student, HR, and finance data; these being the business problems it would address. Banner's poor product design, however, may (in fact) cause more business problems than it solves. Ellucian's popularity in higher education and their market presence seems to be an artifact of times past. Their software can do what they claim it can do only after exhaustive environmental customizations and the purchase of additional products not listed or mentioned in the initial quotes. Additionally, Banner represents a sprawling on-premises hardware footprint because of it's fragmented feature set and the need for 3rd party or "Ellucian partner" applications. Banner documentation is often poorly written and impossibly complicated due to the poor design of the functions to which it speaks.
  • Banner holds our data in an Oracle database well enough.
  • The self-service page design is comparable to other software solutions with similar offerings; the self service back-end and upkeep is a different story.
  • The most basic function of the software (inputting data and extracting data)is laborious at best in Banner. You must learn a special Banner-specific language to use the software. Most of the programmatic functionality of Banner was created in the early '90s and has not changed. Built-in reporting is virtually non-existent and wholly insufficient even for a small to medium sized school like ours. Ellucian must re-invent their product (banner) if they wish to survive the modern technological landscape.
  • Bugs and dysfunction around every corner in Banner's interface. Banner cannot keep up with the bugs in their own software and have developed problems into their product. For example, imagine your Bursar needs a report showing how much different students have paid in a given semester, in order to do this she must navigate through four different pages to find a specialized form each named a nonsensical code, type in the term code (this is the only value for which you are permitted to search), and wait up to 20 minutes while a poorly programmed back-end procedure looks at every student ever enrolled until it finds the students who meet the criteria (the only way to access this data); additionally, the screen that is used to run this function is not capable of showing a status for the job so the Bursar must call a database or system administrator to examine a log file on the server to determine the status of the job.
I would warn other colleges to stay away from this solution entirely. Ellucian is irresponsible. If you buy in you will most likely be stuck because of the tremendously insufficient data export capabilities of Banner. There is really no possibility of trying it out for a few years and finding another solution if it doesn't work out, I shouldn't have to say it but being stuck with all your software eggs in one basket with no other options is a very bad idea for universities who need to adapt to a changing educational landscape.

EDIT: As I write this, my review is the sole Banner review that has not
been incentivized (see the 'review source' button); above and below are
glistening reviews likely cherry picked and invited to send in a review
for $$ or gift cards. I was motivated to write my review by the pain
those in my organization have experienced using, maintaining, and supporting Banner.

Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 25, 2019

Love it and hate it, but can't live without it

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner is used across the organization to manage finances, student registration, alumni records, and transcripts. It synchronizes data across the school.
  • Sync information well across multiple platforms: Banner speaks well with SRM and other reporting systems.
  • Integrate information for various needs, including school transcripts, grades, tuition, finances, graduation reporting, etc.
  • The coding is cumbersome and sometimes difficult to navigate.
  • The interface is outdated and clunky.
  • Which one do I press? Execute or enter? I don't know so it's a hit or miss, trial and error. This is one example of other command keys that are not helpful and not explained well.
I can only speak in our context - Banner is excellent at tracking finances and allows all departments of our organization to speak with each other regarding student tuition and charges as well as payments due for professors, vendors, consultants, etc. It is versatile in tracking graduation documents, transcripts, student registration, among a myriad of other functions. It is perfect for a school or educational institution. The numbering system for the finances is based on accounting systems and takes getting used to. Really the only gripe is the unfriendly interface that looks like it's from the early '90s.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2019

The learning curve is steep, but the benefits are excellent!

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Ellucian Banner is a student information software system that allows for the tracking of student educational, financial, and personal information for colleges and universities. We utilize it for the purpose of enrollment, registration for classes, financial aid review and awarding, bill pay, and degree progress auditing/graduation verification. The entire school utilizes Banner because it is the way to affect the changes students request on their record. Changes made in one department affect the processes of another department, so it is the main software for our School. It is collaborative and ensures compliance with all educational privacy, financial aid, and other various regulations in Higher Education.
  • Banner does a good job creating snapshots of students' current, future, and career-based educational history. It applies coursework to pre-built educational audits to assist students in tracking progress toward a degree.
  • Banner is good at being up-to-date with policies for educational privacy, financial aid awards, and other areas of regulation on the industry of higher education.
  • Banner is highly collaborative. Changes made to a student's schedule that affect a student's full-time status will update the student's billing and financial aid eligibility in real-time.
  • Banner is term-based, which means that an inexperienced user could have issues navigating the data. It works largely on an SQL framework, storing data in tables, and reporting it out with a GUI that builds the queries with clicks instead of defining terms and composing SQL code, but being in the wrong academic term could return an outdated educational program or coursework that is not reflective of the student's current goals.
  • Banner's administrative platform, Internet-Native Banner, is far clunkier than the more slick, student-facing front end - Self-Service banner. INB speaks directly to the tables where data is stored but does not have a robust assistance feature. Without good training, the learning curve is fairly steep toward becoming a casually effective user.
  • Banner's reporting tools are lacking. It is good at recording and storing data, but there are very few prefabricated reports that are able to provide a level of customization via the user-defined parameters that can return valuable data to be used for analysis. A user should be well versed in basic SQL and a reporting tool such as Argos or Access to query the data contained within Banner's tables.
If a school is working with a student information software system that is highly buggy or not providing them with a baseline level of support or is looking for seamless integration with Ellucian's other suite of tools, such as Degree Works, Banner is a solid piece of software. Having technological support and a knowledgeable team for writing SQL queries to utilize the data in Banner's tables, as well as help with onboarding and familiarization for new users, is an important piece to Banner, as it can feel very different than other SIS software, such as PeopleSoft.
Read this authenticated review
Ken Turner | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 28, 2019

Banner Student Review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner Student is being used across campus. We create programs for banner with our databases. One of the problems is banner the upgrade plan of banner. The banner upgrade process is to frequent. It seems like we are upgrading monthly. Banner is a good product for higher education, simply because of the format the data is in and the ease of pulling data from banner.
  • Ease of querying data from the Oracle database.
  • Allows users to get data fast and effective.
  • Also, is a very good source of data for the student to pull his or her information.
  • Definitely, upgrading frequency.
  • Also, better documentation on the Ellucian website.
  • I would say also, addressing bugs within the program instead of doing a full upgrade.
Banner allows students easy access to their information. The interface of banner has gotten better since I started using it but still needs work. It could use some improvement in upgrading frequency and improvement of documentation on the website.
Read Ken Turner's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
September 27, 2019

Comfortable with Banner Student

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We utilize Banner Student across the entire organization. I use it heavily throughout the day to update information, publish items onto the web for public views and to correct registration issues we may have.
  • Entering information for registration - it helps those who need to see the information on the web
  • Easy to use - I can update or delete information very easily
  • Expanding knowledge - there always seems to be updates and new information with the new patchs that come along
  • As much as I prefer Banner, there are things which I can't do easily such as the ability to update certain items
  • It's not a one stop shop. I have to go through BannerWeb as well as different screens which can make it seem overwhelming to do certain things.
Banner Student is well suited for a college campus where you want students to see times/dates of classes, room assignments, course descriptions, teacher linked to the course as well as crosslistings and detailed information (not to mention attributes). The latest version brought us a cleaner look which goes a long way towards giving the environment a better overall feel.
Read this authenticated review
Amanda Carpenter | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 21, 2018

Banner: Great for Student Tracking

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It's used across the whole organization, as far as I know, administratively for sure. It's being used to keep records of students, their information, their class registration, their grades, their GPAs, etc. It is also used to schedule class times and rooms each semester. It's one place that you can go to to get information on a particular student or on a particular class.
  • I think it's great to use if you are tracking grades for certain classes, especially if you'd like to see how students do, comparing midterm to final grades. If you have the permissions, you can see both.
  • It's also good to track students individually. You can look up a certain semester, and see how they did in that particular time frame, but you can also see their cumulative gpa, or even look up their entire course history.
  • It can be cumbersome. It's definitely improved, but it can be slow as you have to fill in only some information and then wait for the rest to populate before you can do anything else.
  • I think the acronyms for different functions are not intuitive or easy to remember.
It's great for tracking students and classes. You can see a student's entire course history, if you'd like, or you can look in by each semester and see how they did. At the same time, you can also view their cumulative GPA to keep that in mind. If you'd like more background on the student you can also look up some of their information: age, address, phone number, email, etc. So you can also use it to contact students, if need be.
Read Amanda Carpenter's full review
Bartholomew Kallgren | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 18, 2019

Historical data is awesome

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Banner Student to track all student data and use a staging table to connect active student data with EMS (event management systems) to activate and deactivate students at the university.
  • Collect student data
  • Provides a detailed record of each inquiry
  • Ease of access for end-users when you know the codes
  • Learning the codes can be cumbersome
  • There is no auto spelling and grammar check in the free text field. For example, there is no auto spelling and grammar check between “&" and "and” so searches can be a headache.
  • The GUI can use some improvements for ease of use
It is well Integrated with the other online systems we use but that is also a downfall for any users that don't use systems such as EMS, Blackboard, or Workday.
Read Bartholomew Kallgren's full review
Stephanie Brown | TrustRadius Reviewer
January 07, 2019

Efficient student registering and records

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner Student is used across the entire University of Alaska system for accessing student, employee, faculty, course, and financial data. I utilize it in the Psychology Department primarily for student records. The program allows me simple, browser centered data access in an easy to find manner. There have been vast improvements recently to how data and forms are identified and found in banner Student and it has made my work much easier and faster in the past few months.
  • Easy to identify what form you should be using.
  • Fast and browser centered, reducing connection times and increasing accessibility.
  • Cross referencing of forms helps identify better ways to do your tasks.
  • Students have complained of issues with registering; I believe this to be a connectivity or compatibility issue.
  • Names of forms are gibberish or worse.
  • No auto sign out
Banner Student is well suited for large university systems needing access to student data or wanting to make the registering process for students more streamlined and easily accessible from a variety of locations or from different devices. It may not be appropriate for smaller systems with less students, data, or costs associated with implementation.
Read Stephanie Brown's full review
Cortney Belge | TrustRadius Reviewer
December 19, 2018

Banner for our Students

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Banner across our whole organization. Banner allows us to set up everything our students need to know from requirements, to financial aid (FA), schedules, grades, and so much more.
  • Allows students to see their grades in their classes.
  • Allows students to see their schedules.
  • Allows students to review their FA packages.
  • Allows students to see if their is anything they still need to do with the college in any of our 4 departments.
  • Navigating is a little rough at the beginning, but once you get into it, it's a breeze.
  • Some of the titles in Banner confuse you - you think you are on the right screen and you are not.
  • I would like if Banner could have a search button so I could just type in what I need and it would take me right there.
If I am a student and I need to know how much I still owe for my schooling, I can log into Banner and see my balance at any given time. [As a staff member,] I can see what has paid out and what still needs to come in, whether it be money from the student or Federal Aid.
Read Cortney Belge's full review
Pearce Muncy | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 14, 2018

Banner review

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner is used at our university to help manage student and faculty data.
  • Easy user interface
  • Customizable within our own web portals with functional links
  • Exports easily to our advancement database
  • Better hands-on support
  • More training documentation
  • Mobile interface friendliness
Well suited: students and acuity for scheduling and data management.

Not well suited: scheduling and marketing material gathering
Read Pearce Muncy's full review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
February 18, 2019

Banner - A One Stop Shop for Student Data

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
It is being used across the entire organization from the administrative side and the student side. Students have access to information about their financial aid, class schedules, personal information, and employment information. It is our ERP of record and it is used to coordinate student success across our different offices and departments.
  • Central database
  • Customizable
  • Powerful
  • Easy to use
  • Custom reports and data integrations
  • Creates easy channels of communications across multiple departments across campus
  • Save hours of phone calls by providing transparency to students and parents
  • Hard to learn
  • Hard to implement
  • Items are sometimes hidden
  • Not extremely functional on mobile devices
  • Does not connect with all of our campus systems
  • Quite expensive in terms of an ERP
As a student user, it is a little hard to use when you first get started, but now it is our go to place for information at the university. I can look up grades, schedule classes, change personal information, and see my paystubs all in one place instead of having to visit 20 different systems.
Read this authenticated review
Anonymous | TrustRadius Reviewer
November 29, 2018

Banner Student User

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Banner Student is used in departments that offer classes and work with students. I use Banner Student in a number of ways, creating the classes that students register for, and also register students. Overrides are required with some of our classes. We also use Banner Student to tag classes for student surveys. Overall Banner Student is user friendly once you get go through the training.
  • It is easy to add classes. Also easy to make certain changes to classes.
  • Banner Student help users to schedule classrooms and will alert you when you have scheduled more than one class in a classroom.
  • Banner Student also warns you about faculty schedules.
  • This issue has been addressed with Banner Student 9, they have made access to Banner easier.
I like Banner Student, it is easy to use and I feel it is a very powerful tool that is necessary for Colleges.
Read this authenticated review

About Ellucian Banner

Ellucian offers Banner educational ERP, including its student management system emphasizing control and reporting of process-oriented facets of education such as grading and attendance.
Categories:  Student Management

Ellucian Banner Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No