TrustRadius
https://dudodiprj2sv7.cloudfront.net/product-logos/3j/Dh/1RGR195BRZKB.PNGGoogle Classroom keeps students and teachers engaged!I use Google Classroom in all of the classes that I teach. At the beginning of each school year, I add all of my students (using their school provided emails) to our virtual classroom. This is the best place for me to post assignments and announcements. Students can also turn in homework, ask questions, fill out surveys. It keeps everything organized in one central location! Many of our teachers use it in their classrooms.,Helps teachers communicate with entire classes Helps teachers communicate with specific groups of students Allows me to schedule posts for future dates and times,Allowing me to edit a post and while editing, add another class to post it into. Allow students to edit work that has been turned in, without "un" turning it in,9,Helps kids stay organized Keeps them engaged Allows teachers to collaborate more efficiently,Weebly,Zoom, eFaxGoogle Classroom has revolutionized the way I teach!Google Classroom is being used by teachers in my school to help organize their teaching. Students are able to submit their work on this platform and it really supports a clutter-free teaching style. It is probably one of the best choices that I have personally made. I can give students direct feedback at any time.,Google classroom keeps all student documents organized. You can send students tests and quizzes through this site. You can give students direct feedback.,This only works if there is internet connectivity. If you don't have a classroom lab, you probably can't integrate it into the school day. Students may not have computers at home to continue working on material.,10,It has made me more organized. It has helped me give students more accurate feedback. It has kept me on my toes delivering interesting content.,Google Drive, Google Forms, Adobe PhotoshopGoogle Classroom, a fabulous digital platform starterGoogle Classroom is widely used at my school to organize classes and student work. It provides a clean and simple platform that is perfect to help students get into the world of digital platforms. It works especially well for students with LBLD because it is so clear cut and open. The platform is uncluttered, but has everything you need to get started.,Has great integration with the Google suite of programs such as Google Calendar and Drive. Mobile platform makes for easy upload of photos. Allows for collaboration in a classroom setting, be it with one student and teacher or multiple students.,A better discussion board ability would be useful. Ability to have editing permission for documents where "Make a Copy for Each Student" is utilized. Ability to drag and drop items to show on Home Screen would be useful.,9,Google Classroom has made it easier to organize materials for both myself and my students. It has helped ensure that students can always access their work. It has also helped make student/teacher contact simpler and cleaner, while integrating other google programs.,Canvas, Edmodo and Blackboard,Canvas, Skype, WeeblyGoogle Classroom ReviewOur district has access to Google classroom, but it is mostly implemented in Upper Elementary, Jr. High and High School. It is wonderful for research papers and large assignments. Each student in our district has access to their own email and sends their assignments to their teacher for review and grading.,Allows safe digital communication between the student and teacher Allows for digital classroom discussions Keeps assignments organized,I think it is very user friendly Students can access it easily, no complaints Teachers like it, no complaints except from teachers who have difficulty with technology,10,Parents like it Kids love it Teachers love it,,Renaissance Accelerated MathThe Google Classroom ReportGoogle Classroom is used district-wide and also implemented at specific sites. The two schools, within the district, that I have worked for have implemented Google Classroom. It is available for all teachers to use, but it is ultimately up to the teacher if they choose to fully implement it into the curriculum. It is a great way to integrate technology in a way that is meaningful for our students.,Google Classroom gives you the ability to differentiate work by groups. For example, you could post assignments for the entire class or for a specific group of students. With Google Classroom, parents can sign up to receive information about their child's progress on assignments. This includes any assignments that were missing or late.,Google Forms does a great job of visually displaying information from surveys; I would like to see something like that for Google Classroom. I think this would be helpful, specifically, when pulling up students overall points to conference with them.,10,Students are much more engaged in lessons throughout the day, making them more motivated to learn. The content is accessible to everyone since students have different modes they can respond in. For example, they might be viewing a PDF and answer on a sheet of paper, while other times they may be asked to create a presentation to demonstrate their understanding of a topic.,Edmodo,Edmodo
Unspecified
Google Classroom
87 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
TRScore

Google Classroom Reviews

Google Classroom
87 Ratings
Score 8.5 out of 101
Show Filters 
Hide Filters 
Filter 87 vetted Google Classroom reviews and ratings
Clear all filters
Overall Rating
Reviewer's Company Size
Last Updated
By Topic
Industry
Department
Experience
Job Type
Role
Reviews (1-20 of 20)
  Vendors can't alter or remove reviews. Here's why.
alise gold profile photo
May 03, 2018

Review: "Google Classroom keeps students and teachers engaged!"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use Google Classroom in all of the classes that I teach. At the beginning of each school year, I add all of my students (using their school provided emails) to our virtual classroom. This is the best place for me to post assignments and announcements. Students can also turn in homework, ask questions, fill out surveys. It keeps everything organized in one central location! Many of our teachers use it in their classrooms.
  • Helps teachers communicate with entire classes
  • Helps teachers communicate with specific groups of students
  • Allows me to schedule posts for future dates and times
  • Allowing me to edit a post and while editing, add another class to post it into.
  • Allow students to edit work that has been turned in, without "un" turning it in
It is great for schools in which the students all have email addresses provided by the school. It is also helpful if the students have devices to use in the classroom so that they can work in google docs and classroom during school also.
Read alise gold's full review
Ariana Medina profile photo
January 09, 2018

Review: "Google Classroom has revolutionized the way I teach!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is being used by teachers in my school to help organize their teaching. Students are able to submit their work on this platform and it really supports a clutter-free teaching style. It is probably one of the best choices that I have personally made. I can give students direct feedback at any time.
  • Google classroom keeps all student documents organized.
  • You can send students tests and quizzes through this site.
  • You can give students direct feedback.
  • This only works if there is internet connectivity.
  • If you don't have a classroom lab, you probably can't integrate it into the school day.
  • Students may not have computers at home to continue working on material.
Google Classroom can be used when you are teaching an older group such as middle and high school. It really works well with any subject including math. I teach Algebra 1 and AP Spanish at a high school level and I find Google Classrooms a perfect fit for both classes. When working with Algebra 1, students can do they work on a paper and submit a picture of their assignment.
Read Ariana Medina's full review
Sarah Ciras Rousseau profile photo
June 13, 2017

Review: "Google Classroom, a fabulous digital platform starter"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is widely used at my school to organize classes and student work. It provides a clean and simple platform that is perfect to help students get into the world of digital platforms. It works especially well for students with LBLD because it is so clear cut and open. The platform is uncluttered, but has everything you need to get started.
  • Has great integration with the Google suite of programs such as Google Calendar and Drive.
  • Mobile platform makes for easy upload of photos.
  • Allows for collaboration in a classroom setting, be it with one student and teacher or multiple students.
  • A better discussion board ability would be useful.
  • Ability to have editing permission for documents where "Make a Copy for Each Student" is utilized.
  • Ability to drag and drop items to show on Home Screen would be useful.
Google Classroom is great for almost any classroom environment. It is a simple digital platform, and works well at the high school level, particularly given there is an in class component as well. It may be a bit simplistic for a college setting, though it can definitely be as complex or simple as you want it to be. For instance, I have embedded HTML elements in Classroom.
Read Sarah Ciras Rousseau's full review
Meredith Sanders profile photo
April 11, 2017

"Google Classroom Review"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our district has access to Google classroom, but it is mostly implemented in Upper Elementary, Jr. High and High School. It is wonderful for research papers and large assignments. Each student in our district has access to their own email and sends their assignments to their teacher for review and grading.
  • Allows safe digital communication between the student and teacher
  • Allows for digital classroom discussions
  • Keeps assignments organized
  • I think it is very user friendly
  • Students can access it easily, no complaints
  • Teachers like it, no complaints except from teachers who have difficulty with technology
Teachers no longer have to bring home a large bag filled with papers. Google classroom makes it easy to send and receive assignments to students for grading. Teachers can also leave feedback in real time. Students get a quicker turn around on their assignments and grades with Google classroom. This also prepares them for the future in their career and college.
Read Meredith Sanders's full review
Marcia Castor Lopez profile photo
April 18, 2017

User Review: "The Google Classroom Report"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is used district-wide and also implemented at specific sites. The two schools, within the district, that I have worked for have implemented Google Classroom. It is available for all teachers to use, but it is ultimately up to the teacher if they choose to fully implement it into the curriculum. It is a great way to integrate technology in a way that is meaningful for our students.
  • Google Classroom gives you the ability to differentiate work by groups. For example, you could post assignments for the entire class or for a specific group of students.
  • With Google Classroom, parents can sign up to receive information about their child's progress on assignments. This includes any assignments that were missing or late.
  • Google Forms does a great job of visually displaying information from surveys; I would like to see something like that for Google Classroom. I think this would be helpful, specifically, when pulling up students overall points to conference with them.
Google Classroom is a great tool to use in the classroom, where technology is available. Many assignments can be posted, which saves so much paper! It's a great tool to use, and simple to use but it does require a bit of navigating through the site to understand it. Teachers would make the best use of it at a site where they are supported by someone who is familiar with the Google Suite.
Read Marcia Castor Lopez's full review
David Keech profile photo
April 13, 2017

User Review: "Google Classroom: in a class by itself"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Our entire middle school uses Google Classroom. Teachers use Google Classroom to post assignments, invite students to additional and optional assignments, engage them in online forums, and make announcements to classes and teams of students. Teachers use Google Classroom individually and also as grade level teams.
  • It organizes assignments in one easy place for students to see.
  • Google Classroom enables students and parents to see announcements and reminders.
  • Google Classroom enables students to access assignments from home, printing out handouts and worksheets, and also see links to important classroom materials.
  • The learning curve to understand basics of Google Classroom is small, but the learning curve to understand more detailed features takes considerable time.
Google Classroom is perfect for teachers with multiple sections of students at the same grade level and subject. Schools with Google Chromebooks mesh very well with the use of Google Classroom.
Read David Keech's full review
Ben Mund profile photo
April 10, 2017

Review: "Google Classroom - an Amazing tool for those already in G-Suite"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
As a private school, our faculty use Google classroom on a daily basis. As a free and integrated learning management system, it has been a powerful tool for interacting with the students. Teachers use it for submitting and receiving assignments, posting comments/notes//discussions/quizzes, or even taking grades.
  • Post Assignments: As a Google school with Chromebooks, classroom is by far the easiest and simplest way for faculty to post and receive assignments using Google Docs.
  • Quizzes: With built-in integrations with Google Forms, quizzes are easy to build and grade.
  • Building classes: Making a class is simple, and it is a great way to communicate directly with the students.
  • Grading: Since Google isn't really a Student Information System, grading has to be transposed into another system after they are done in Google Classroom.
  • Building Classes: Although building a class is simple, it isn't automatic. Once again, the lack of Student Information System integration means more direct work for our faculty.
  • Forums and open discussion features would be a big improvement.
The obvious use case is in a classroom environment with teachers and students. It is a direct form of communication and data sharing, and it is built directly into the G-Suite. However, I have also had success using it for other things such as Clubs/Sports, or even as a project management tool.
Read Ben Mund's full review
Brenda Kauffman profile photo
April 05, 2017

Review: "Google Classroom Making a Teacher's Life Easier"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is available to be used by any teacher in our school. It allows for teachers to post assignments and then have the students turn their work in online. A teacher can see at a glance who has not turned their work in and send out a reminder if they choose. The teacher can grade the work and put the grade online for the student to view. Students can send questions to the teacher if they do not understand the assignment and the teacher can respond back with an answer. Students can also collaborate together on their work.
  • It allows for teachers to post assignments online and students can check what the assignment is even when they are not at school.
  • A teacher can see at a glance who has not turned in their work.
  • The teacher can grade the work and put the grade online for the student to view.
  • Email can also be sent to parents to notify them of information they might need.
  • It would be nice if you could place the classes in a specific order rather than the order in which you entered them. This may be possible, but I have not found a way to change the list as I am viewing it from the Google Classroom list page.
  • Our school uses RenWeb as a school and it might be nice to have the ability to add the grades to RenWeb in addition to copying them to Google Sheets.
Middle school grades including 3rd/4th grade and above are perfect for the use of Google Classroom. It might be more complicated for elementary grades K-2 to use Google Classroom. It works very well with all the Google apps. An assignment given in Google Docs, Slides, or Sheets can be directly turned in to Google Classroom.
Read Brenda Kauffman's full review
Jennifer Acuna profile photo
March 14, 2017

"Google Classroom Review"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google classroom is an awesome resource to use when creating new assignments, giving student feedback or simply keeping all of your stuff in one place.
  • Assignments
  • Blogs
  • Organization
  • Videos
  • A way to make more fun
Well suited for discussions in a classroom setting, and keeping an organization's stuff together. Might not work in settings where there are thousands of employees.
Read Jennifer Acuna's full review
Jennifer DeSalme profile photo
May 16, 2016

Review: "Google Classroom = Stress Free Teacher Life!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is being used within the Affton Schools as one of two learning management systems available to the teachers. My building, the middle school, predominately focuses on using Google Classroom to post, turn in and grade assignments. I utilize it as a means to organize the daily posted math assignments and to post writing activities for my social studies classes. It makes sharing resources with students a breeze.
  • I can organize individual assignments in a stream, similar to Facebook, and pin the assignments that are a priority to the top of this stream.
  • It eliminates the, "I lost my homework" statements from students. They will always have the assignment, whether it is an essay, workhseet, documents to view, images, videos, etc.
  • Google Classroom allows for an easy stream of communication about an assignment between the teacher and the students. I create a master assignment that I then push out to all students in Google Classroom. This allows me to pop into their work and see their progress and make comments as they are progressing.
  • Google Classroom would be greately improved if a drop down menu was added that allowed assignments to be grouped under teacher created Units. Currently assignements are dispalyed in one long chronological stream.
  • Google Classroom works great on a computer but the iPad app has missing functionality. For example, you can not sort students alphabetically on the iPad like you can on a computer.
  • Currently, Google Classroom only shows the assignment as submitted late in the assignment feed. It would be greatly improved if it also included the date submitted.
I absolutely love Google Classroom as a learning management system for my history classes. I no longer have to try and interpret the poor handwriting of some of my students. For math, I have found that it is most useful for posting homework but I do not like having my students scan in or submit math work to me online.
Read Jennifer DeSalme's full review
Bailey Lowenthal profile photo
March 24, 2016

Review: "Google Classroom works great in a 1-to-1 technology school"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
At my organization we use Google Classroom as the main platform for all classes. All teachers use it and our students love it because they have one-to-one technology and it replaces the old school worksheets and agenda books they are used to (and hated.) It allows us to hyperlink websites, create documents, organize student submissions and keep track of deadlines.
  • Hyperlinks: Instead of asking kids to type in long urls, we can hyperlink websites right into their document. This cuts down on time and saves us from lots of possible confusion/mistakes.
  • Calendar function: This function helps kids visually keep track of due dates for all their assignments.
  • Make a copy: I love the GC makes a copy for each student instead of asking them to do it themselves, this way all the naming protocols are the same and documents can be found easily.
  • Parent Portal: So many of my parents request parent access but at this time I can only tell them to sign in under their child's account.
  • Tracking more than completion: As students become familiar with classroom they realize they can submit work without doing it, I would love a feature that checks for edits or work completion before allowing submission.
  • Edit posted assignments: It is hard to make edits to documents once you have posted the assignments.
Google Classroom (GC) is not the best for math because the keyboard hasn't caught up yet and the Google doc picture function is not easy to use. GC is best for research based classes because the internet (and links) are easily accessible.
Read Bailey Lowenthal's full review
Cassie Dunnam profile photo
March 22, 2016

Review: "Google Classroom for all your Teaching needs"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
I use google classroom with my students to turn in their writing work and assign them tests and quizzes. As a school the 4th and 5th grade classrooms use it on a regular basis. I like it because I don't have to carry around journals and keep up with papers that have been turned in to me.
  • I like the freedom that I have with google classroom to assign a blank document to all students or to send them a table to fill out.
  • I also like that there are other applications that connect with google classroom to grade assignments and give the students scores that they can access as needed.
  • It lets me add students without having to send them an email invite and they can get my feedback without the email.
  • Google classroom could improve by making a location for a collected grade book so that I do not have to go back to each assignment and find the grades.
  • There are some functional pieces that are missing but they are not impacting the work flow.
  • I wish it would mark an assignment complete when they submit with out them having to go back and hit complete.
Google classroom is well suited for the school setting. The nine year olds in my class can figure it out and maneuver through it then it is user friendly for all ages. if you are trying to do something more complex like spreadsheets and projects it might pose more problems in functionality.
Read Cassie Dunnam's full review
Trent Slaton profile photo
March 01, 2016

User Review: "Google Classroom, LMS prep"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom was selected as an option for web-based office productivity support. It was used in the middle school environment as a classroom management solution. Assignments were posted for students, forms were used for quiz assessments.
  • Prepares students for college level LMS interfaces.
  • Office productivity tools are a great alternative to MS Office.
  • Media add-ins, and classroom webspace.
  • iPad app struggles at times.
  • Can be overwhelming for those transitioning students.
  • Ownership of assignments once distributed to students.
It's great for classrooms or schools that are considered to be inclusive. It allows for students to have more freedom /opportunities to meet requirements of an assignment. However, I wouldn't rely on it too much as an assessment tool. It doesn't manage quizes like a true LMS.
Read Trent Slaton's full review
Rachel Wiebe profile photo
September 17, 2015

Review: "Why Google Classroom is the way forward in education."

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We are using Google Classroom in many of our own classrooms at NDE. I personally use it for all of the classes I teach, which are 6th, 7th, 8th grade science, and 8th grade religion. I use it to post assignments, presentations and any cool videos or links that I find that are relevant to what we are learning in class. The students also use Classroom as the main way to submit work to me. Following their submissions I grade their work on Classroom, before then returning it to them. Classroom has allowed me to essentially take my classes paperless which is very helpful for students because they lose their work less frequently, helpful for me because I do not lose or misplace papers, and helpful for the environment because we are using less paper.
  • Google Classroom is a great tool for students to submit papers electronically. I think this is probably Classroom's biggest strength, as well as the integration of the documents being submitted via Classroom with your linked Google Drive account.
  • Google Classroom is also very helpful in making important information available to students. Posting videos and articles that are relevant to our topic that are extra pieces of information for those students who are interested.
  • Google Classroom is a great tool for supporting students with extra needs. It allows teachers to post presentations and extra support for students to access at their own individual pace. It's also helpful for students who were absent for a particular class because they can catch up on information that they missed.
  • Google Classroom could be improved in its interface when grading student work. It is not user-friendly if you are also transferring grades into another gradebook program.
  • Another area that Classroom can be improved is in notifying students that graded work has been returned. Many of my students frequently tell me that they have no idea that I have graded and returned their work.
Google Classroom is well suited in any learning or classroom environment. Do you want to go paperless / have less papers to carry home? Then Google Classroom is for you. Do you want a way for students to communicate with each other and ask questions about assignments before coming to you as a last resort? Then Google Classroom is for you.
Read Rachel Wiebe's full review
Megan Fri profile photo
May 04, 2016

Google Classroom Review: "Basic"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google classroom to post assignments, links, pictures, and as a vehicle for students to turn in assignments receive feedback, and revise work. We also have set up Google Classroom for our department as a vehicle to collaborate and share ideas.
  • Collaborations and editing student assignments. It enables real time feedback.
  • Provide links to research based ideas. Students can quickly click on a link and access information.
  • Student to student collaboration.
Submitting and revising is awesome.
Read Megan Fri's full review
Jack Wepfer profile photo
September 25, 2015

Review: "Google Classroom - A continuum of progress"

Score 8 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is used based on teacher discretion. We are not forced to do it, though I create a Google Classroom for each one of my sections, each having varying levels of use. For me, it organizes/consolidates information (i.e. Slides, Assignment Sheets, Essays) into one easily accessible area, mitigating any "my printer didn't work last night" excuses. Further, because it is so easy to access, and most students now are familiar with Gmail, there is a small learning curve. For me, an English teacher, I especially love the ability to cut out paper copies of essays; further, I can use Google Docs' revision history function to see if edits have been done on the paper. Last, I find that it takes a burden off of me for when students are sick or miss school for other reasons. They know where the notes will be and can stay in touch with the content outside the classroom.
  • It allows for class-specific log of work done. In other words, all my notes and discussion questions can be posted, so students can use the classroom to study for tests or review ideas presented in class.
  • Working on a cloud-based platform eliminates excuses for adolescents. I can track every keystroke (just call me Mr. Big Brother). Their essays, then, are complete stories of their work. I can tell which students went through the writing process and which ones wrote something last minute despite some of the built in formative revisions we do in class.
  • It takes a little bit of time, but once you start merging and/or creating your teaching documents through Google, uploading and sharing the documents is fast and reliable. While Google Docs and Sheets may not have all the functionality that Microsoft Office provides, it is more than enough to fit my needs. Also, the variety of Google Apps gives you the freedom to create unique or interesting assignments to post on the Classroom, such as Google Forms.
  • Honestly, the best part for me is knowing that this is a project that is continuously improved multiple times per year. When I came back to work this year, I found new features, which really streamlined the process and lessened the issue of when I have the same post but to different sections of classes.
  • I believe they could include certain modules, like reliable Plagiarism checkers or grammar analysis (like Turnitin.com does). Yes, you can download add-ons, but I'm always weary of their performance.
  • My second point is knowingly ignorant but important to note anyhow: most of my time spent teaching is actually spent on grading essays. Google Classroom helps by assigning names to the documents, but I'd really love some improvements, such as a click-to-comment feature where I can just click on the word or area of the essay I'm talking about and a comment box automatically pops up. I'd also love to have a repeated comment bank where I can select commonly used comments instead of individually typing them.
It's great to post notes and writing-based assignments. If there could be a way to write multiple choice tests and deliver them electronically where the computer locks the screen during testing and the results are given immediately upon completion, I'd be on cloud nine. I can spend far more time prepping better lessons and teaching than grading.
Read Jack Wepfer's full review
Jessica Sprague profile photo
September 18, 2015

Review: "Google Classroom: The days of taking stacks of papers home to grade are no more!"

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Three of the four the core curriculum departments are using Google Classroom in some aspect, on a daily basis. Our English department uses it for all lessons, our science, and history departments use it more so as a classroom "hub" for students to access from home, whether they are out sick, or just needing to access classroom materials outside of school. It is invaluable at times, because in an increasingly paperless world, the Google Classroom platform is mobile friendly, and has a smart phone app that allows many of our students access, even without a computer. All documents are live, saved instantly and continuously, and everything is time-stamped, so there is not question or argument when deadlines are concerned. And all previous drafts can always be recovered, even when things are accidentally deleted.
  • Delivery of material to users through Google drive, all documents, sheets, and slides are compatible with Microsoft if downloaded.
  • Any document shared through Google Classroom can be a shared working document for collaborative purposes where users can live chat and edit within the document, or copies can be made for each individual if things need to be kept private.
  • The grade exporting system on CSV documents is seamless and allows for me to grade student work and effortlessly transfer those grades to our gradebook software.
  • Google Classroom is entirely mobile! I do not have to be at my computer! I can access anything I need via my iPhone or iPad, as well.
  • There is no way to disable the chat feature within a shared document, which can pose potential issues within a school setting where students may create a new document and share among other students for non-academic purposes.
I would recommend this product to any teacher, I would just stress that general computer literacy, and internet navigation, as well as typing skills are necessary. It is not impossible to use this with younger age-groups, it may just require more patience and time for trouble-shooting.
Read Jessica Sprague's full review
Emily Phelan profile photo
September 15, 2015

Google Classroom Review: "Going Google - Drive or Classroom"

Score 7 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source

Google Classroom is being used on a regular basis by most of the teachers in my building. It's a great way to share documents / readings / activities with students without printing the items. Students work in Google and submit their work back to the teacher using Google Classroom. It really does help the students find and work on documents. It does have one HUGE drawback. It won't let you share a folder with the students, only single documents.

Many students have trouble staying organized and teachers used to be able to share a folder in Google Drive and have the students make their own copy. This kept all the documents for a unit of study in one location. It seems that recently Google Drive has removed that ability. It seems now that in Google Drive the students can see the folder, but can no longer easily make their own copy.

Now that teachers can only share one document at a time whether in Drive or Classroom, it seems we might as well use Google Classroom to share and then try to help students with the resulting mayhem on the Drive side as they organize their documents.

  • Google Classroom allows you to easily see who has turned in work.
  • Google Classroom allows you to quickly access and comment on documents.
  • Google Classroom allows you to easily locate a document, see what students are working on and give comments in real time.
  • Google Classroom should really allow users to upload entire folders of work, not just single documents.
  • With younger users, the ability to change font / size / color in the directions would be quite helpful.

Google Classroom with its new updates allows you to ask the class a question AND require that each student respond BEFORE they can see the other class responses. This is a wonderful improvement that will be used often in my class.

It might not be the best way to go if you are trying to share 6 documents for a unit of study. Students will need to then go to their drive and gather the documents into a single folder.

Read Emily Phelan's full review
Amando Respicio Boncales, BA, MSED, MA, (PhD). profile photo
September 23, 2015

Review: "Google Classroom as a Learning Management System (LMS)."

Score 10 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
We use Google Classroom to teach online classes.
  • Easy to collect assignments.
  • Structuring online courses.
  • Collaboration using other Google apps, like Google Docs.
  • We want it to be a complete Learning Management System that can rival Blackboard.
  • We want more functionality to enable school administrators offer online courses.
  • We want functionality that will enable us to enroll students and monitor them as well, like transcripts, and other functions of the school.
Is Google Classroom affordable?

Will Google Classroom will serve our current school needs?
Read Amando Respicio Boncales, BA, MSED, MA, (PhD).'s full review
No photo available
May 03, 2016

Google Classroom Review: "Googliness at SJP"

Score 9 out of 10
Vetted Review
Verified User
Review Source
Google Classroom is being used by some, not all of the teachers at the school. I was one of the first teachers to use it. I am an English teacher and began using it in the fall of 2015 when the initial trial product was released. My school has a 1:1 iPad ratio per student. Now the the app is fully functional, the process of using Classroom easily allows for digital submission of student homework. I use it to manage clubs as well. I am the facilitator of our Student Government program. We use it to organize students, review proposals, and prepare for elections. It is also an easy way to get notifications pushed to students' iPads when we have updates.
  • Provide digital worksheets and rubrics for assignments
  • Deliver announcements and email updates with important reminders
  • I sync it with my calendar, so I am able to mange upcoming events/projects.
  • Google classroom is best paired with Google Drive. I wish that it helped students stay better organized by scaffolding the folders and assignments more effectively. It would be nice if teachers could create units within their posts.
  • The linear stream feed makes it difficult for students to search for assignments. A "search option" would be beneficial. It would also be nice if there was a way to organize posts by month or week, so that they were easier to find when looking back.
  • Students cannot see comments written on digital google doc submissions even when they are returned. This means I use Google Classroom exclusively for homework, and do not have essays/digital feedback for students. This is a big hinderance.
Google classroom is great for humanities subjects where students are doing a lot of reading and writing. Ideally there would be a way for students to submit digital homework for subjects like math and science. I don't know any math and science teachers who can use Google Classroom to its full potential simply because it doesn't easily allow for submissions that aren't word processing docs.
Read this authenticated review

Google Classroom Scorecard Summary

About Google Classroom

Categories:  Learning Management

Google Classroom Technical Details

Operating Systems: Unspecified
Mobile Application:No